• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 149 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Race through your favourite themes from the world of LittleBigPlanet, using a variety of gadgets to bounce, grapple or grab your way into 1st place. Battle your friends online via PSN or in split-screen mode, complete challenges or dive into the community to discover new player-created tracks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 69
  2. Negative: 3 out of 69
  1. Nov 6, 2012
    94
    The stupid grins on our faces, the uncontrollable laughs and the humming of the music long after the race was over, show that his game is fun right through to its adorable little core.
  2. Nov 9, 2012
    85
    LittleBigPlanet Karting is the first racer in the LBP universe and it's immediately a success. The game is varied, filled with fun races and other gameplay aspects. The level editor works great, increasing the score even more. The only negative point we could find was the lack of challenge in the single-player, which is fortunately the only negative point.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    80
    Despite the fact the developer only uses three different concepts and truly creative and innovative levels rarely race you by, LitteBigPlanet Karting is still a very fun game. The diversity of worlds is impressive and using gadgets of the LittleBigPlanet world make the game feel refreshing. On top of that the creation mode is an absolute joy to play around with.
  4. Nov 6, 2012
    79
    United Front Games has done a phenomenal job of re-creating the look and feel of the Craftworld while applying its kart racing expertise with imaginative tracks and responsive controls. And the Create mode is nothing short of stunning, even if I don't have the patience for it. Depending on how the community of players respond, it might be the only kart racing game you'll ever need.
  5. Nov 25, 2012
    70
    Fans of LittleBigPlanet will surely enjoy LittleBigPlanet Karting, as it manages to take the essence of Media Molecule's platforming joy and translate that into a solid and enjoyable kart racer, with all the charm you would expect. It's a shame the developers felt that they needed to take every aspect of LittleBigPlanet and use that as a base to create this game, as it has hurt it in some regards and has made the online multiplayer an awkward mode to participate in.
  6. Nov 6, 2012
    70
    If you can look past the fact that it's essentially ModNation Racers with a Sackboy-colored coat of paint, LittleBigPlanet Karting is an enjoyable enough vehicular romp. Still, it's hard to shake the sense that United Front has already made this game once-and they did it better the first time.
  7. Jan 24, 2013
    40
    Clunky, unpolished and altogether flimsy. [Feb 2013, p.73]

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 46
  2. Negative: 9 out of 46
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    Great game. The creation portion of it is fantastic, like all other LBP's. You have tutorials teaching you how to do every little thing, andGreat game. The creation portion of it is fantastic, like all other LBP's. You have tutorials teaching you how to do every little thing, and can create anything your mind can come up with. The story is a good amount of fun, especially with friends or family. The karts handle well and you can also customize them. One of the best racing games I've ever played! Expand
  2. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    I think that this game is great! A lot of games now are competitive but this game brings you back to the noncompetitive, sure its challengingI think that this game is great! A lot of games now are competitive but this game brings you back to the noncompetitive, sure its challenging but it almost never makes you rage. The level building system is great! Tutorials are spot on. It can be hard to make a level but that just shows how much of YOU, you put in the level. Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    I was really skeptical about this game at first. I didn't think that it would have the look and feel of an authentic LBP game. Boy was II was really skeptical about this game at first. I didn't think that it would have the look and feel of an authentic LBP game. Boy was I wrong. The narration, music, and style is all authentic LBP. Once I played the beta that this game would deliver and it did. Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    This is an excellent karting game set in the world of LBP. There is a learning curve to the driving style which I think might have caused someThis is an excellent karting game set in the world of LBP. There is a learning curve to the driving style which I think might have caused some of the lower reviews but it really is a lot of fun and with the level creator and online community there is an endless supply of levels to enjoy (karting, sidescroller, top down shooting, battle arenas, boss battles etc) Expand
  5. Apr 18, 2014
    7
    Never played any of the Little Big Planet stuff, nor would I ever buy a kiddie karting game like this, but since it was released on PS plus INever played any of the Little Big Planet stuff, nor would I ever buy a kiddie karting game like this, but since it was released on PS plus I gave it a try and had loads of fun with it. It's funny how these crazy little karting games are usually so much more entertaining than a serious racing material. Don't expect a masterpiece here, but for purely fun purposes this is very good, the gameplay feels fluid, the music and songs are really cool, so when Devo's "Fresh!" starts to rock out and you're drifting the corners of some crazy turtle beach or whatever with your handmade customized sackboy and shooting rockets at your friends, you know you're having a good time. 7/10 Expand
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    6
    The game is developed by United Front Games (creators of ModNation Racers) and MediaMolecule (creators of LittleBigPlanet).
    With that being
    The game is developed by United Front Games (creators of ModNation Racers) and MediaMolecule (creators of LittleBigPlanet).
    With that being said, I'm personally very disappointed in this game. I was expecting it to be a WOW factor having a good ModNation feel and a good LittleBigPlanet feel, however it falls short in each. The driving is very similar to that in ModNation Racers, but falls short in execution. The game is fun for a while but unlike past LittleBigPlanet games and ModNation racers, it loses it's appeal way too fast. Overall it's an okay game that's fun, but doesn't have that lasting appeal that the other LittleBigPlanet games and ModNation Racers had.
    Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    0
    Would be a decent game if the online-play with a friend would work without causing multiple freezing and booting issues. This was NOT worthWould be a decent game if the online-play with a friend would work without causing multiple freezing and booting issues. This was NOT worth $60 when i bought it day one which irks me to give this a 0, which is something i will rarely do.

    The creator was just okay, many on here are over reacting to it. It's pretty generic after awhile as everyone's courses have started to look the same. And the story is bland and boring.
    Expand

See all 46 User Reviews