• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 27, 2008
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5119 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Not as big little planet, can be as little note to users. For me it is one of the best games of this generation.
    The story perhaps, could be improved ... But what this game is a masterpiece.
    In these times, innovate for me is the best. Many do not dare, play it safe .. SHOOTERS. In order to ensure sales ... instead there are companies, such as "Media Molecule" that take risks, and
    Not as big little planet, can be as little note to users. For me it is one of the best games of this generation.
    The story perhaps, could be improved ... But what this game is a masterpiece.
    In these times, innovate for me is the best. Many do not dare, play it safe .. SHOOTERS.
    In order to ensure sales ...
    instead there are companies, such as "Media Molecule" that take risks, and eventually make a great game.
    As "little big planet"
    Expand
  2. Aug 11, 2010
    10
    The greatest game ever!!! Introducing an entirely new and awesome genre of gaming, PLAY,CREATE,SHARE. The super fun Story mode is just the beginning...Creating levels and sharing them with the world is a blast, and so is playing the community's levels.
  3. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    My son loves this game and begs me to play it with him all the time.

    He is 9. I am 36 and I have to admit, I get a real kick out of playing it. The narrator is my favorite part. He likes designing the outfits and collecting the prizes. While you are playing in cooperation, at the end of each level it tells you who scored the most points so that is a fun little competition too. I would
    My son loves this game and begs me to play it with him all the time.

    He is 9. I am 36 and I have to admit, I get a real kick out of playing it. The narrator is my favorite part. He likes designing the outfits and collecting the prizes. While you are playing in cooperation, at the end of each level it tells you who scored the most points so that is a fun little competition too.

    I would definitely recommend this to any family that wants an all ages game that really is fun for all ages.
    Expand
  4. Sep 2, 2010
    8
    Even thought the Little Big Planet's stage builder might be the best ever made, as a platformer, it's to easy, not really original and very repetitive.

    When playing through the levels, I feel like the game gets boring pretty fast. The multiplayers only add a few hours of fun for there is only a few places where you can really take advantage of the co-op possibilities. My friends and I had
    Even thought the Little Big Planet's stage builder might be the best ever made, as a platformer, it's to easy, not really original and very repetitive.

    When playing through the levels, I feel like the game gets boring pretty fast. The multiplayers only add a few hours of fun for there is only a few places where you can really take advantage of the co-op possibilities. My friends and I had more fun using the original head, body and arms control to make awkwards situations instead of running through levels. In the other hand, never before a game has offered that much options to build your own levels. Not only you can build levels, but with the vast list of tools and the awesome physics, you can also create enemies, rides and much more. If you are creative and talented, you might very well get stuck in this universe for months to come.

    Buy it or not, It only depends on what you are looking for.
    Expand
  5. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    A truely inspirational game that captures the imagination of its fellow players. And to be honest I though this game would stink, however I had a big wake-up call when it came to the community levels (which are some of the most creative levels I had ever seen in any platforming games). Get it, play it, love it...I sure did. Here's hoping LBP2 will live up to its glory!
  6. Air
    Aug 27, 2010
    8
    As a video game, and considering what it has contributed to the industry, it's hard not to appreciate what Media Molecule has made here. LittleBigPlanet is charming, cute, innovative, and creative. Creating your own levels with its powerful designer is devilishly fun, but unfortunately, playing them proves to be a bore at times. LittleBigPlanet is an ever-growing game that really neverAs a video game, and considering what it has contributed to the industry, it's hard not to appreciate what Media Molecule has made here. LittleBigPlanet is charming, cute, innovative, and creative. Creating your own levels with its powerful designer is devilishly fun, but unfortunately, playing them proves to be a bore at times. LittleBigPlanet is an ever-growing game that really never ends, due to its dedicated community and large playerbase. There is a main story mode that really only serves to get trophies and new items to design your own levels with, because you will often find more creative levels made by other players. As well as the ability to create your own levels, there is an incredible amount of customization in this game. You have your own personal pod that you may customize to your heart's extent, and obviously, the cute little Sackboy player you control has many customization options. It's all fun and silly, making LittleBigPlanet the perfect game to play with friends. However, if you look at the gameplay at its core, there isn't much to it. The only buttons you use pertaining to traveling through levels are the left analog stick, the X button, and R1 (the action button). Everything else is dedicated to communication, customization, and custom emotes, only reinforcing the fact that LittleBigPlanet is meant to be played with other people. Overall, LittleBigPlanet should be played by those who enjoy the idea of creating their own levels for others to play, but don't expect anything prolific in the gameplay department. At $30 for the Game of the Year edition, there really is no reason not to have LittleBigPlanet in your collection, so do yourself a favor. Expand
  7. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    This is one extreme creative and intelligent game. No, its not childish! It only got a different style than the other games of this generation. LittleBigPlanet is fun, creative and beatiful. Media Molecule keeps patching and updating with new things for players. You can create your SackPerson any way you want, you can make a spaceship level, or just a place to hang out with friends, theThis is one extreme creative and intelligent game. No, its not childish! It only got a different style than the other games of this generation. LittleBigPlanet is fun, creative and beatiful. Media Molecule keeps patching and updating with new things for players. You can create your SackPerson any way you want, you can make a spaceship level, or just a place to hang out with friends, the choices are infinite! What more could you want on a game? (10.0) Expand
  8. Sep 30, 2010
    10
    I was shocked to see the user score for this game. This is not the score it deserves. An infinite playground of innovation and fun with creative potential rivaled only by its sequel certainly deserves better. I'm not a fan of insulting opinion, but this is just wrong.
  9. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    To truly enjoy this game, play with a friend or go online and join a game - the gameplay, puzzles and humour throughout this game can be lost when playing on one's own. However, other than the occasionally annoying plane switching mechanics, this is a thoroughly enjoyable game. The story will take you plenty of time to complete, without being overly long or drawn out, and the puzzles areTo truly enjoy this game, play with a friend or go online and join a game - the gameplay, puzzles and humour throughout this game can be lost when playing on one's own. However, other than the occasionally annoying plane switching mechanics, this is a thoroughly enjoyable game. The story will take you plenty of time to complete, without being overly long or drawn out, and the puzzles are mostly varied. Even once you've completed the story the unlockables offer much more game time, with prize bubbles to collect, bonus levels to unlock and other players' scores to beat. The level editor is also a great addition to this game and the community levels (which mainly consist of mini-games rather than full platforming levels) are some of the most fun you can have with a few mates on a console game. Expand
  10. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    8 LittleBigPlanet is good game with great qualities but suffers from boring game-play and a limited level creator that prevents it from being a masterpiece it could of been. It offers a great online and offline component that any gamer should happy with. It also shines in the main campaign as every level look hand crafted with attention to every level. It was a great experience in the main8 LittleBigPlanet is good game with great qualities but suffers from boring game-play and a limited level creator that prevents it from being a masterpiece it could of been. It offers a great online and offline component that any gamer should happy with. It also shines in the main campaign as every level look hand crafted with attention to every level. It was a great experience in the main campaign unlike anything out on the market. Unfortunately, the camera works against you in some level that prevents you from getting the prizes and some unreasonable level designed that could make levels imposable to pass. The level creator is average because the tutorials take forever to finish and unclear at some section on what to do. The level editor doesn`t recommend what objects worked well in a level and has glicthes. It dose offer a wide range from a variety of tools you can use to make the best level you possibly can. However, only dedicated players can stand how long it would take to make a level and dosen`t offer split screen for offline players. The reason that I gave it a eight is because it`s a game that the whole family can play which makes a for unforgettable experience. Expand
  11. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    Nary a fault to be found. This is platforming, community, and art direction blended into one of the most revolutionary games to hit the genre since Mario ate his first mushroom so many years ago. With Solid Snake out of the picture, Sackboy is arguably the frontrunner to be PlayStation's totem for years to come.
  12. Oct 2, 2010
    7
    This is a dream come true to the fans of the platformer genre, to the rest of us it's a very innovative and enjoyable experience but nothing out of this world. What keeps it fresh is the level of creative freedom you receive.
  13. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    Looking at the User Score and seeing a 6.5 really broke my heart. Littlebigplanet is perfect. Its simple as that. It's essentially a side-scrolling platfomer starring Sackboy, your character, as he explores worlds in order to stop an evil collector. The story mode is fun and kid friendly but creation is where Littlebigplanet really shines. You can create your own levels using differentLooking at the User Score and seeing a 6.5 really broke my heart. Littlebigplanet is perfect. Its simple as that. It's essentially a side-scrolling platfomer starring Sackboy, your character, as he explores worlds in order to stop an evil collector. The story mode is fun and kid friendly but creation is where Littlebigplanet really shines. You can create your own levels using different materials and tools. Its really incredible what you can create but little kids can have trouble with the level creator because its so immense. After creating your dream level you can publish it online for others to play. There's literally millions of levels to play so you never ever get bored. Please just ignore the users' low scores this is an amazingly perfect title that must be experienced by any video game lover. Expand
  14. Oct 16, 2010
    4
    LittleBigPlanet is one of the most overrated games on this console generation.For me,this game was just boring and repeative crap.I can´t understand what´s so amazing about this game
  15. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    greatgreat game................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................ Expand
  16. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    A game like none else. This is by far one of the best games of all time. It has amazing story levels, and ENDLESS, I mean ENDLESS opportunities for creating your own levels. You have an idea, you can make it. You wanna make Super Mario, you can make it. Metal Gear Solid? You can make it. Shortly said this is the best reason to buy a PS3, and the only thing you have to be afraid of is thatA game like none else. This is by far one of the best games of all time. It has amazing story levels, and ENDLESS, I mean ENDLESS opportunities for creating your own levels. You have an idea, you can make it. You wanna make Super Mario, you can make it. Metal Gear Solid? You can make it. Shortly said this is the best reason to buy a PS3, and the only thing you have to be afraid of is that it will give you sky-high expectations for Little big planet 2, but I think they will be able to handle it. If it was possible the score would be higher. Expand
  17. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    Ok, whoever reads this, ignore these ignorant Microsoft fanboys that are extremely jealous that they aren't able to get a game as good as this. Any score lower than a 9 is complete bull**** and are just jealous fanboys. This game is amazing and with over 3 million levels, it's time-consuming. Really Fanboys? Jealous? I think yes. Now go play your oversaturated Mario and Halo games.
  18. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    For all those people who complain that either "the graphics are bad, this is boring, or this game sucks" do not listen to them. LittleBigPlanet is one of the greatest games I have ever played. Not only that but it is amazing and fun. The graphics are stunning, the gameplay is dangerously addictive, and it is one of the best games avaliable right now (for all ages). If you own a PS3, and itFor all those people who complain that either "the graphics are bad, this is boring, or this game sucks" do not listen to them. LittleBigPlanet is one of the greatest games I have ever played. Not only that but it is amazing and fun. The graphics are stunning, the gameplay is dangerously addictive, and it is one of the best games avaliable right now (for all ages). If you own a PS3, and it works, buy this game. Oh, bd get the game of the year addition. Good times. Expand
  19. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    Just when you thought the Playstation was lacking amazing exclusive's along comes LittleBigPlanet, you will see some review's from older audience's (And The Non-Creative) Among Us saying that it's a baby-ish child's game. Don't let that spoil your purchase idea's, if your buying a game for your children (I recommend around the ages from 5-15) this game is fun, if you don't likeJust when you thought the Playstation was lacking amazing exclusive's along comes LittleBigPlanet, you will see some review's from older audience's (And The Non-Creative) Among Us saying that it's a baby-ish child's game. Don't let that spoil your purchase idea's, if your buying a game for your children (I recommend around the ages from 5-15) this game is fun, if you don't like creativeness then don't buy it, its that simple. This is a must purchase. Expand
  20. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I have to say this game is one of the best I've ever played. Graphically it's gorgeous, the presentation is top-notch, and beyond all that the gameplay is refreshing and a throwback to the platformers of old. I could be considered a M$ fanboy in most respects as I did not own a single PS3 game since I bought it back 2 years ago (I use it mostly as a blu-ray player), until now. It is simplyI have to say this game is one of the best I've ever played. Graphically it's gorgeous, the presentation is top-notch, and beyond all that the gameplay is refreshing and a throwback to the platformers of old. I could be considered a M$ fanboy in most respects as I did not own a single PS3 game since I bought it back 2 years ago (I use it mostly as a blu-ray player), until now. It is simply amazing how the developers were able to push the graphics on the PS3 like they did. Let's face it, the PS3 in terms of it's GPU performance is out-matched by the xbox360 (most developers like me would agree). LBP forces us to think about that sentiment. Major props for Media Molecule for developing a game for the history books. Expand
  21. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    Fun, creative, endless multiplayer, amazing music, wondrous possibility await you in one of the most innovative gaming experiences ever. Although appearing as a childish game it is far from it. Packed with content for all, this game pushes your imagination past its limits and opens your mind up to new levels.
  22. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    This is one of the best games I've ever played. First off the game contains 50 pre-built levels, this is the main storyline of the games. It takes you across many different locations. The game also has 3 million+ community levels. Tis is a must buy for PS3
  23. Oct 30, 2011
    7
    Art direction, imagination, originality.. all over. It sucks to say it, but the controls are so BAD that it becomes nothing more than frustration that simply isn't worth continuing to put up with, no matter how cool the game is.
  24. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    I absolutely adore this game. Sack boy, he should be the new playstation mascot. PS1: Crash and spyro as mascots.
    PS2: Ratchet and clank as mascots.
    PS3: Never had one. So i guess sackboy?


    The good: Everything.
    The bad: Slow load times.
  25. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    When I got my PS3, one of the first games I bought was LittleBigPlanet. I'd heard LOTS about this game, and I was expecting it to be really, really good. And this game not only met that expectation, but surpassed it. I loved it. Well, you have some butler guy telling you stuff about the game, and it really makes it feel like a children's game. But his voice his gone soon enough, and youWhen I got my PS3, one of the first games I bought was LittleBigPlanet. I'd heard LOTS about this game, and I was expecting it to be really, really good. And this game not only met that expectation, but surpassed it. I loved it. Well, you have some butler guy telling you stuff about the game, and it really makes it feel like a children's game. But his voice his gone soon enough, and you are sucked into the world called Little Big Planet. It's really epic. The missions all connect together, and you get prizes for beating each level, and more or less prizes depending on whether you beat the level without dying, etc.

    There are three rows which you can walk along, and sometimes which row you walk along determines if you live... or die. But you respawn anyway. So it's fine. All joking aside, the gameplay is fantastic. Jumping is cool, the swinging off things propels you further through the air depending on how far you go back and when you let go of what you're holding onto. You can push and pull some materials such as sponge, and you can grab hold of stuff while you are on top of it. Achieving all this is very impressive for a 2 inch tall Sackboy or Sackgirl. All in all, the gameplay is fantastic. The controls, there aren't many. I don't think the D-Pad does a whole lot of anything in game, neither does the Right Thumbstick. L2 and R2 are used for waving your arms around for no apparent reason as if you are starting the Macarena, so the only buttons you will ever need are X, R1 and the Left Thumbstick. X is for jumping, R1 is for grabbing, and Left Thumbstick is for moving. The controls... sort of lacked in this game. It's not a major disaster, and it is a very simple game. The HD graphics in LittleBigPlanet amazed me from the start. Mix this with the incredible variety or groovy sounds, and it just makes the game that much more fun to play. In Online, you can make your own levels and post them online, or play other people's creations. You can heart their level, heart the author who made the level, tag the level or comment on it. Some levels are labelled "Heart4Heart" and usually involve you 'hearting' the author and the level in exchange for a heart for your levels and you as an author. Some "Heart4Heart" levels give you trophies, like 'Incredible Speed' and Incredible Height', which are achieved by going at a very fast speed and going very high in the air, respectively. There are levels where the author has just literally spammed prize bubbles into the level in order for players to achieve the 2x, 8x and 20x Multiplier trophies, which usually end up in the player getting a 100x Multiplier (you don't get a trophy for that) and 1 million points. (There is a trophy for that.) And there are much better levels, like Super Mario PS3 which is like a Super Mario level which you play through and rescue Princess Peach from King Bomb-Omb. The levels are very creative and enjoyable to play. Well, the replay value in this game is infinite. You will literally not run out of new costumes to make, levels to create, and the trophies, if you are into trophies, can be very time consuming, especially if there's a part in that level where you keep dying and spend a few minutes devising a strategy on how to get past it without dying, and if you are looking for that last sticker, decoration or prize bubble. The replay value is literally infinite, and you can play it forever and ever. Last Word Little Big Planet is a fantastic game, one you should definitely pick up. It has amazing gameplay, controls, graphics, sound, online and replay value. It is a very enjoyable game for all ages - kids, teenagers, adults, everyone. You will have loads of fun playing Multiplayer, and making levels together. I could not put this game down. It is just fantastic. Excellent game.
    Expand
  26. Aug 15, 2010
    8
    this game is probably the best platformer i have ever played the only problem is that i dont think the the story mode is interesting enough also getting prize bubbles can be hard sometimes, and level creation can get confusing to some users
  27. Aug 21, 2010
    3
    I can see how people liked this game. But I didn't. I personally believe that games should be able to stand up on single player alone. LBP does the opposite of that. Furthermore, it is just far too boring to create a beautiful level. Downloadling levels off PSN is terrible too. Sure, there are excellent levels, but most are terrible, and I'm not wading though a river of sewage to find one diamond.
  28. Dec 20, 2010
    2
    Wooooow, this game isn't just bad, it's horrid. It looks like something a stupid 3 year old would play. This game is bad with a capital B! Graphics were awful and game play was trash. It's an attempt at a platformer and it failed. I mean, a sack kid as a main character? Really!? This game has no skill involved. It's stupid, lame and a waste of time!
  29. Apr 19, 2011
    4
    Awful game. When I see multiple Game of the Year awards I get excited. But LittleBIgPlanet offers nothing new. The ability to create, play and share user generated content has been in other games already. The jumping is also awful. Which is the most important part of any platforming game. I can't recommend this game to anyone but 5 year old kids.
  30. Sep 5, 2012
    6
    If you're looking for an innovative, creative and fun multiplayer experience, you're in for a treat. Thousands of unique, user created levels overflowing with surprises and perfect for team games. It is a great online community and it is easy to create and share your creations. On the other hand, the single player story mode is thoroughly disappointing. It keeps you happy with lots ofIf you're looking for an innovative, creative and fun multiplayer experience, you're in for a treat. Thousands of unique, user created levels overflowing with surprises and perfect for team games. It is a great online community and it is easy to create and share your creations. On the other hand, the single player story mode is thoroughly disappointing. It keeps you happy with lots of enjoyable levels from the start to middle of the story. They are challenging but just easy enough to keep you wanting to play. However, one of the final levels, The Bunker, is almost impossible. The developers have not thought about what the player is prepared to go through before giving up. It is almost impossible. Only a handful of players have got past it but many, including me, gave up on the unpassable "big wheel" obstacle. It is a poorly designed level and loses the player's interest almost immediately. Thoroughly disappointing. Expand
  31. May 5, 2012
    10
    This is definitely in my "Top 5" List. This game was the reason I wanted a PS3 so badly. It's for Kids, but Adults too! Kids will love going through the multiple obstacle courses throughout the game, and if they're good at that, making levels of their own will be even more fun! I highly recommend this game for all players with a PS3!
  32. May 12, 2012
    10
    Not a ps3 owner myself but my cousin occasionally brings his ps3 and he had a demo of this game i gotta say its really awesome the transition from keyboard and mouse to controller really confuses you. But this game is really friendly so people who recently bought ps3 should definitely get this game along its fun and challenging platforming.
  33. May 25, 2013
    10
    The funniest part of this game is creating. I have made in total around 70 levels with almost 2 hours of gameplay on each one. You can create almost any kind of 2D level as you want and you can play on them online or offline with your friends up to 4 players or maby both of them together if you want. In total, the players created over 4 million levels together and every one of them areThe funniest part of this game is creating. I have made in total around 70 levels with almost 2 hours of gameplay on each one. You can create almost any kind of 2D level as you want and you can play on them online or offline with your friends up to 4 players or maby both of them together if you want. In total, the players created over 4 million levels together and every one of them are stored in the huge community available for you to play. The story are fun and sometimes hard. If you are an creative person or know one this is the ultimate game for you. Expand
  34. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    This game relinquishes all my worries and just lets my imagination take control again. Seriously, this game is addictive. The user created levels using the tools MM has given you is the selling point of the game. Unlimited levels across the world from people who are incredibly talented at this never ceases to amaze me. You don't go into LittleBigPlanet expecting a superb story, you justThis game relinquishes all my worries and just lets my imagination take control again. Seriously, this game is addictive. The user created levels using the tools MM has given you is the selling point of the game. Unlimited levels across the world from people who are incredibly talented at this never ceases to amaze me. You don't go into LittleBigPlanet expecting a superb story, you just want to have some mindless fun with your friends! And the connection is pretty stable. Needless to say, I've looked tons of hours socialising with other players, playing levels with them, creating levels with them and then screwing them over by b****slapping them. :p The levels are unique and the interface is concise and helpful so you can find exactly what you're looking for. The story missions are pretty creative aswell, I especially like the prizes you get for not dying and the prizes you get for collecting prizes bubbles. Did I mention this is one of the few games that gets collectables right? For one they're actually useful in designing your own levels and they are located in places you'de have to think to look. Adding a degree of challenge to the game. The only critiscm I can give is that it can be a bit laggy online, especially on the last level of the story mode. With everything else the game does right it's easily rectified though.

    BTW: The narrator (Stephen Fry) is awesome. He also guides you through mechanics of the game (Such as prize bubbles or level creating.)
    Expand
  35. Apr 23, 2013
    7
    This game is hit and miss. The level creator is one of the largest emphasis of the game. To create levels for others. It is poorly designed and lacks good, concise tutorials. The story is pretty standard but it does show some of the great possibilities out of littlebigplanet.

    Littlebigplanet relies on imagination to keep this game going. It is one of the unique games out there that are
    This game is hit and miss. The level creator is one of the largest emphasis of the game. To create levels for others. It is poorly designed and lacks good, concise tutorials. The story is pretty standard but it does show some of the great possibilities out of littlebigplanet.

    Littlebigplanet relies on imagination to keep this game going. It is one of the unique games out there that are hard to rank. The story is most welcome showing some decent sideways platforming. The plot is very weak, but you wouldn't expect too much from this game.

    Playing online is poor, long loading times, poor connectivity and a lot of lag. However, it is very fun to play online with all the nice levels out there.

    One of the major drawbacks of this game is bad levels pop up on the cool levels all too frequent and good levels are often overlooked. The poor interface has crippled this games potential.

    This game is very fun to play, but this is a review. As a game, it lacks polish but it is a massive game.
    Play one of the unique games out there on the market.

    7/10
    Expand
  36. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    The game that captured my heart. Filled with endless possibilities from taking off on an epic adventure to having a hilarious mess around making whatever you can think of with some friends.

    The community for LittleBigPlanet is the best game community you can find, and that is saying something! The millions of levels created by users and uploaded are all very unique and offer as much
    The game that captured my heart. Filled with endless possibilities from taking off on an epic adventure to having a hilarious mess around making whatever you can think of with some friends.

    The community for LittleBigPlanet is the best game community you can find, and that is saying something! The millions of levels created by users and uploaded are all very unique and offer as much entertainment as you can dare to find!

    Also Steven Fry is the icing on the cake.
    Expand
  37. May 10, 2013
    10
    Guys, trust me, this game is amazing, people who give this game a 0 are Nintendo fanboys who can't stand any reputation, there was even a retard here that said that this game's about the holocaust.. seriously people, grow up.
  38. Mar 7, 2011
    10
    What can you really say to a game or experience like this but "Holy SHxx".Who else has even tried to bring such a brilliant idea for the gaming industry.This game is so good that there is no end and all of the gameplay,levels,ideas is genius.I can't give enough praise to this game and I've been playing video games since the 70's.There is good news and bad news.The good news is that we willWhat can you really say to a game or experience like this but "Holy SHxx".Who else has even tried to bring such a brilliant idea for the gaming industry.This game is so good that there is no end and all of the gameplay,levels,ideas is genius.I can't give enough praise to this game and I've been playing video games since the 70's.There is good news and bad news.The good news is that we will be seing and playing the genius ideas that people have and enjoy the shix out of it and the bad news is because of the brilliant ideas of little big planet people won't be getting payed for there games like I'm sure there dreams of becoming game developers. Expand
  39. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Innovative in every way, It was amazing to me that no one had this brilliant idea to start with. This game is near perfection!!
  40. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    Best Game that has ever been made in my life time. I love it like my dog. If you gave this game anything below a 9 your a loser and dont have any kind of life or tast of good games.
  41. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    This game is a lot of fun and I only just played a demo version and it rocked so I can't wait to get the full version! This little game is full of BIG surprises and is appropriate for all ages, and the cat. I recommend you go and buy this game!
  42. May 18, 2011
    8
    I love RPG's, I love shooting some guy in his virtual face as much as anyone else, and I still love LBP. Though the main story is short, the real fun is playing with friends, and seeing all of the wonderful creations peopl troducing an entirely new and awesome genre of gaming, PLAY,CREATE,SHARE. The super fun Story mode is just the beginning...Creating levels and sharing them with theI love RPG's, I love shooting some guy in his virtual face as much as anyone else, and I still love LBP. Though the main story is short, the real fun is playing with friends, and seeing all of the wonderful creations peopl troducing an entirely new and awesome genre of gaming, PLAY,CREATE,SHARE. The super fun Story mode is just the beginning...Creating levels and sharing them with the world is a blast, and so is playing the com Expand
  43. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    Holy crap. I'm shocked! User score of this game is 6.5, that was surprising. But I'm giving this game a 10 cause this game is something special. It's fun, it's relaxing (sometimes not, which is good), it's cute, it's fun online and even funnier with a buddy (coop). The story is charming, the soundtrack is amazing, the gameplay and the physics are incredible. And it's great to be able toHoly crap. I'm shocked! User score of this game is 6.5, that was surprising. But I'm giving this game a 10 cause this game is something special. It's fun, it's relaxing (sometimes not, which is good), it's cute, it's fun online and even funnier with a buddy (coop). The story is charming, the soundtrack is amazing, the gameplay and the physics are incredible. And it's great to be able to create you're own levels. It's like being God, who doesn't want to be God? Expand
  44. Nov 30, 2011
    8
    Enjoyed that game very much. Of course its much much better in multiplayer. especially local more than online but still fun. I actually quite enjoy the story too.
  45. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest games of all time. For this game to have a user score of 6.5 is a reflection of society itself. If you can't appreciate this game in its entirety then you are either ignorant, insecure, lazy, stupid, a liar, or all of the above. It has no bugs, no gimmicks, millions of levels to play, great sound and video. It could be the closest thing to a perfect game I'veThis is one of the greatest games of all time. For this game to have a user score of 6.5 is a reflection of society itself. If you can't appreciate this game in its entirety then you are either ignorant, insecure, lazy, stupid, a liar, or all of the above. It has no bugs, no gimmicks, millions of levels to play, great sound and video. It could be the closest thing to a perfect game I've ever seen. Very few games these days offer this much without asking for anything in return. Normally if you spend close to 1000 hours playing a game there is a monthly subscription included. Don't miss out on this masterpiece because you're too cool to play it. Expand
  46. Jan 18, 2013
    4
    I bough this, played for about a half hour, and have not put it in my PS3 since... Seems fun however I will not finish playing it because I absolutly can not stand the fact that you have to use the goddamn control stick to move... It is a side scroller/platformer and the PS3 has a D-pad(not sure what to call it?) so there is no excuse why I can't use it...
  47. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    I have had LBP for a long time now. I have platinum in the game so am suitably experience to review it. I think this game is wonderful. Its solid gameplay and endearing graphics make it a real treat for all gamers alike. Create a level to have even more enjoyment. These controls are brilliantly thought out with excellent tutorials. The voice over by Stephen Fry is simply the best II have had LBP for a long time now. I have platinum in the game so am suitably experience to review it. I think this game is wonderful. Its solid gameplay and endearing graphics make it a real treat for all gamers alike. Create a level to have even more enjoyment. These controls are brilliantly thought out with excellent tutorials. The voice over by Stephen Fry is simply the best I have ever experienced in a game. What a laugh. What a beautiful voice. So much fun. So much replay value. So much game. This is also fully compatible with LBP2, so all the DLC that was excitingly bought can be utilised again and again. Expand
  48. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    Amazing. Fantastic. Incredible. Colourful. Whimsical. Unique. Refreshing. This is one of the best games on the PS3, the best family friendly game of all time and one of the best games of all time. Experiences like these are rarely seen, so I suggest you go pick this up.
  49. Dec 11, 2013
    1
    Probably the most overrated game of recent years. The idea off the community making all kinds of levels and sharing them is amazing. However, what's the point if the gameplay is aweful? The sackthings are uncontrollable and playing this game is just a chore.
    This last one is just opinion, but I'm not a fan of the world created here either. Everything is made out of cardboard or something?
    Probably the most overrated game of recent years. The idea off the community making all kinds of levels and sharing them is amazing. However, what's the point if the gameplay is aweful? The sackthings are uncontrollable and playing this game is just a chore.
    This last one is just opinion, but I'm not a fan of the world created here either. Everything is made out of cardboard or something? Don't like it at all.
    Expand
  50. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    People who hate this game might be these stupid xbox fans or nintendo fans. I say this game is one of my favorite. It has alot of fun and i can customize these amazing levels. Overall, this game is superb.
  51. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    A Very good game, the fact that you have to Co-Operate in levels helps with friendship. but the thing is, there are 2x zones that require 2 players, 3x zones that require 3 players. and 4x zones, that will get annoying. you need 4 controllers to get through those. and controllers are $50 each. 50 x 4 = $200... which is $100 cheaper than the most expensive type of PS3, it's ridiculous. ButA Very good game, the fact that you have to Co-Operate in levels helps with friendship. but the thing is, there are 2x zones that require 2 players, 3x zones that require 3 players. and 4x zones, that will get annoying. you need 4 controllers to get through those. and controllers are $50 each. 50 x 4 = $200... which is $100 cheaper than the most expensive type of PS3, it's ridiculous. But what makes up for that is the DLC(Downloadable content) such as POTC(Pirates of the Caribbean) and MGS(Metal Gear Solid). Those add new levels to play. and with Online gaming, the fun is infinite expanded. with community levels, made by other people, there's like 100 new ones per day. The really really REALLY annoying thing is the massive amounts of Back-Tracking. There are switch triggers where you need a certain sticker to get items, which those you don't get until a later level. Like let's say you're missing some stickers due to switch triggers, 20 levels later you find it, than have to go back to that level and beat it again. than that switch trigger gives you more switch triggers, and on and on and on. some switch triggers you have to go through2,3,and 4x zones to get. The conclusion: i give this game. a 9.9 :) have fun, and totally get this game. let's say you have your own ideas than you can make your ideas in your levels! you can make rockets,cars, everything. in the level editor, now go to gamestop/wal*mart and get this game........ WHY ARE YOU STILL READING THIS!!!! GO GET IT! Expand
  52. May 25, 2012
    6
    The controls feel off and although the world's the game are well designed it did feel like an uphill struggle to finish the game just for the sake of it.
  53. May 9, 2012
    9
    LittleBigPlanet haves it unique gameplay, that makes this game great, and haves some clever puzzles, in single player, even in multiplayer. In multiplayer you can create your own levels, and edit your avatars. Sometimes the game gets boring and repetitive, but that's a rare thing. (9.4)
  54. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Anything that meets up to par with LittleBigPlanet isn't LittleBigPlanet. This games stands out from any other platformer or puzzler, or puzzle-platformer. After you've played the multiplayer portion of the game, the believable storyline should explain everything. (Or most things, anyways.) Whether it be gandering for friends, or just simply playing it for the trophies, you should findAnything that meets up to par with LittleBigPlanet isn't LittleBigPlanet. This games stands out from any other platformer or puzzler, or puzzle-platformer. After you've played the multiplayer portion of the game, the believable storyline should explain everything. (Or most things, anyways.) Whether it be gandering for friends, or just simply playing it for the trophies, you should find some entertainment in this non-repetitive linear-ish masterpiece that is also called a video game. Expand
  55. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    I'm confused by some of the negative reviews that seem to imply that because this game is a platformer, it doesn't deserve a high rating or good reviews...Well, that's just dumb. It's a genre of video games, if you like that genre it doesn't make the game bad, it's just not for you...learn to be more objective..or preferably more open minded about games.

    That said, the game is a near
    I'm confused by some of the negative reviews that seem to imply that because this game is a platformer, it doesn't deserve a high rating or good reviews...Well, that's just dumb. It's a genre of video games, if you like that genre it doesn't make the game bad, it's just not for you...learn to be more objective..or preferably more open minded about games.

    That said, the game is a near perfect modern day puzzle/platformer that incorporates tons of cool mini-games and features within different levels that benefit or require having multiple players playing together. It's a very visually appealing game, it's cute, creative and imaginative. I've heard another complaint being how quickly the main story can be completed. This is true, the game can be beat with probably 5-10 hours of gameplay. But each level has tons of unlockable areas or features, awesome soundtracks, you can try to get all the stickers, but most of all this game gets its replay value from the minigames. I love this game, and I think people who really like platformers and puzzles and the art design of the game will enjoy it to. But considering how many people seem to not enjoy it, or just be horrible reviewers, I'd suggest trying a demo first.

    My one legitimate criticism though, is that at times the game can get very frustrating because of one mechanical flaw... The game is a bit 3D, you can jump "closer" and "further" away from the screen in order to jump or climb over things or hide from something...That movement sometimes is hard to actually maneuver, and something so crucial to the gameplay shouldn't at all be remotely difficult...but it is, and so you might yell at your TV for that now and again.
    Expand
  56. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Great game for both single and multiplayer with enough challenges to have you coming back over and over. Like many games now, it's primarily built for social play, but more than holds it's own as a single player game. Subjectively, I've voted this game a 10 considering the endless hours I've played both alone and with friends, but objectively I cannot see how the game can be faulted belowGreat game for both single and multiplayer with enough challenges to have you coming back over and over. Like many games now, it's primarily built for social play, but more than holds it's own as a single player game. Subjectively, I've voted this game a 10 considering the endless hours I've played both alone and with friends, but objectively I cannot see how the game can be faulted below a 7/10. It's a definition of the genre. Expand
  57. Nov 10, 2013
    6
    I recognize that LBP is probably the most original game of this console's generation, and a good one too, i mean i see the (high) reviews that it has and i understand them. This is the game that i most desperately want to like. But...
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: Sackboy is awesome. It has character and it has charisma. Sony wanted a mascot? This is the best one that they will ever encounter.
    I recognize that LBP is probably the most original game of this console's generation, and a good one too, i mean i see the (high) reviews that it has and i understand them. This is the game that i most desperately want to like. But...
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: Sackboy is awesome. It has character and it has charisma. Sony wanted a mascot? This is the best one that they will ever encounter. Mario and Sonic you have met your match!
    PRESENTATION: Very inventive and very creative. And the fact that you can make your own map and play as a community. The possibilities are limitless.
    GAMEPLAY: Here is where it gets tricky. Although i recognize the game's strong points it gets old really fast to me. Not a great fan of platforming games and the controls are not as responsive. Played it but immediately put it away.
    LBP is innovative a creative with a great new character but it just doesn't work for me...
    Expand
  58. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    One of the best game for the ps3 when i started playing this game i got totally addicted to it, i passed it on co-op it was very amusement. This game is for all ages. A great multiplayer, original creating tools. This game has everything, you can do any time of level you want with your imagination.
  59. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    All I can say is "wow". These guys got my money, and it was all worth it. I played the entire story to it, and can I say that this is one of the best games I have ever played on the Playstation? If you want to see my LittleBigPlanet 2 review, head over to my profile. But wow, this game was amazing. It had a really good story to it as well as a multiplayer mode to it, I enjoy sitting downAll I can say is "wow". These guys got my money, and it was all worth it. I played the entire story to it, and can I say that this is one of the best games I have ever played on the Playstation? If you want to see my LittleBigPlanet 2 review, head over to my profile. But wow, this game was amazing. It had a really good story to it as well as a multiplayer mode to it, I enjoy sitting down to play it with my friends, and will continue to. This is definitely an advantage to having a Playstation. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  60. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Why is this game belittled by metacritic users? These people have such bad taste in games. This is one of the best games ever made, of all time as well as for the PS3, and should be highly respected. It's similar to Mario so if you love Mario and you have PS3, this game is for you. Sackboy is a great character, really cute. Girls dig him, lol. This might be the game you want to show toWhy is this game belittled by metacritic users? These people have such bad taste in games. This is one of the best games ever made, of all time as well as for the PS3, and should be highly respected. It's similar to Mario so if you love Mario and you have PS3, this game is for you. Sackboy is a great character, really cute. Girls dig him, lol. This might be the game you want to show to your girlfriend if she's not really into gaming. Graphics and presentation looks fantastic. It's unforgettable, unique and beautiful. A lot of creativity as well as freedom in this game thanks to it's array of customization and online features. One of the reasons you should get a PS3 is this game, just like Xbox for Halo and PS2 for GTA. The sound is incredible and it's probably the only console game, or one of the only console game, where you can design your own levels, just like Minecraft or the PC version of Skyrim. You can spend countless hours doing so if that's your kind of thing. I do have some issues with the controls and some of the level designs aren't that good. The controls don't always respond quick enough or how you want it to go, especially when you come across challenges that requires timing, it's like you're playing a flash game, but that's a minor problem. LittleBigPlanet is among the best games ever, highly recommended for kids and adults alike! Expand
  61. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    Ok, the user score is at 6.6 at the moment which LittleBigPlanet doesn't deserve. LittleBigPlanet is one of those games, through all the shooters, actually doesn't something different and original. Yes, this game is kiddy one and that second to last level can go die in hell, but I got to say, there are redeeming qualities. The controls are slick, the environments are beautiful, theOk, the user score is at 6.6 at the moment which LittleBigPlanet doesn't deserve. LittleBigPlanet is one of those games, through all the shooters, actually doesn't something different and original. Yes, this game is kiddy one and that second to last level can go die in hell, but I got to say, there are redeeming qualities. The controls are slick, the environments are beautiful, the characters are weird and interesting and the map creator is the best I've ever used (Haven't played Far Cry 3 yet). Expand
  62. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    I'm shocked that this game only has a user score of 6.6 because it deserves a score of at least an 8. The visuals are great, the level editor is easily the best I've ever seen in a console exclusive, and the entire game has this really great sense of joy to it while playing that very few other games can offer. The online play is actually rather smooth, which is a surprise to me. The levelI'm shocked that this game only has a user score of 6.6 because it deserves a score of at least an 8. The visuals are great, the level editor is easily the best I've ever seen in a console exclusive, and the entire game has this really great sense of joy to it while playing that very few other games can offer. The online play is actually rather smooth, which is a surprise to me. The level editor is a blast to mess around with, and it often feels like a 2.5D version of Garry's Mod, which was a huge turn-on for me. Not to mention the soundtrack is superb and all of the levels are expertly crafted. The game never once feels unfair. Expand
  63. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    Incredibly charming and full of replay value, LittleBigPlanet is a unique puzzle-platformer with gorgeous sound and level design. Tons of unlockables, tons of online content, tons of fun. One of the PS3's best exclusives.
  64. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    I was 20 years old when i bought this game...invited 3 of my friends for a fun evening multiplayer....

    after SIX HOURS, we stopped playing...we had so much fun! this game offered anything it promised! and you can also build your own level! which was a lot of fun, i have to agree, not everything worked with first try, but the moment i ended it, uploaded and had my first "awesome"
    I was 20 years old when i bought this game...invited 3 of my friends for a fun evening multiplayer....

    after SIX HOURS, we stopped playing...we had so much fun! this game offered anything it promised!
    and you can also build your own level! which was a lot of fun, i have to agree, not everything worked with first try, but the moment i ended it, uploaded and had my first "awesome" comment, i was really proud! also my friends liked it a lot!
    the game has over 1million self made levels...

    also an epic story teller with an epic soundtrack! it´s a masterpiece for the whole family!

    not sure how you can rate it lower as 8.0...
    Expand
  65. Nov 3, 2013
    6
    this game is fun
    but is nothing new
    nothing deep and i think
    is a little overated
    what can i say, this game was not for me
    its not the game, i think its me
  66. Feb 3, 2014
    5
    LittleBigPlanet is a ‘platformer’ type game with a lot of community interaction and community generated game-play branching from the main game.

    The game’s platforms, even the newer ones and community ones, quickly became boring and repetitive. Controls for some actions/movements were difficult to execute and were not smooth. Graphics were average. The game seemed to cater to gamers in
    LittleBigPlanet is a ‘platformer’ type game with a lot of community interaction and community generated game-play branching from the main game.

    The game’s platforms, even the newer ones and community ones, quickly became boring and repetitive. Controls for some actions/movements were difficult to execute and were not smooth. Graphics were average. The game seemed to cater to gamers in the age range of 5 years to 12 years old. However, there are many adults that enjoy this game - but not me!
    Expand
  67. Mar 24, 2011
    8
    sound idea i thought when i heard about this game . it for the most part pulls it off you can build the side scrolling platformer of your dreams if you have the talant and patiance to work on it . playing some of the levels other people made is just amazing i was really wowed by some of them . the story mode is ok and the co op is a nice idea but wasnt implemented in the best waysound idea i thought when i heard about this game . it for the most part pulls it off you can build the side scrolling platformer of your dreams if you have the talant and patiance to work on it . playing some of the levels other people made is just amazing i was really wowed by some of them . the story mode is ok and the co op is a nice idea but wasnt implemented in the best way especially when the main person has camera . every one should have had there own when playing online . there is alot of custimaztion you can do to your sack boy and give him a real look unto him self . controls are pretty good although i wish you could jump alittle higher . if you are a big platforming fan you will most likey fall in love with LBP. Expand
  68. Sep 6, 2010
    5
    i think this game is your average platformer that is fun for about a week then goes stale like clams. It is extremely overrated. i only reccomend picking this up if you have kids 4-7. i have more fun with super monkey ballllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll
  69. Oct 5, 2010
    6
    I am very neutral about LittleBigPlanet. The character designs and the variety of special features are impressive, but I still feel this game is slightly overrated. I wouldn't say LittleBiPlanet is a bad game, I'm just saying if you aren't into the platformer genre, then it's best to just stay away.
  70. Dec 20, 2010
    5
    This game consists of jumping around, collecting things, and simple physics based platforming. Yes you can customize basically everything and build your own levels and whatnot, but after everything it's just jumping and collecting things. I'm 19, and this game is boring. I don't expect anyone past the age of 13 to really enjoy this game.
  71. Apr 15, 2011
    9
    If there's one word to define this game, it's "originality". The ability to create your own world, experience brilliant graphic design, and customize everything from your character to the levels you play are all at your fingertips. Pick up LittleBigPlanet if you want to have a good time; I guarantee you will.
  72. Jan 25, 2011
    6
    This game was a huge disappointment for me. I bought it right away for hefty price of 60 Euro because I had read all those positive reviews in magazines and all the hype on the internet over the LittleBigPlanet. The campaign was a lot of fun but way too short and too easy. It's fun playing a platformer with 4 people, but the lag that came with it was horrible and some of those people wereThis game was a huge disappointment for me. I bought it right away for hefty price of 60 Euro because I had read all those positive reviews in magazines and all the hype on the internet over the LittleBigPlanet. The campaign was a lot of fun but way too short and too easy. It's fun playing a platformer with 4 people, but the lag that came with it was horrible and some of those people were real idiots, ruining the game for the rest of us. The online levels were fun for a day, then they just lost their appeal. The most fun in the game was the editing of your sackboy, differentiating it from everyone else's sackboy, but even that gets boring after a while. Expand
  73. Jul 9, 2011
    9
    A great PS3 exclusive even almost 3 years after its release. There is no real story here because the game really only relies on gameplay: platforming. For a platformer, this game is a hit because of the level designs. The mission creator is also sweet because of its potential and how innovative it is. LBP is a great game to check out and must I say that the Sackboy characters are kind of cute!
  74. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    A revolutionary platformer and a joy to play.The user created content is among the very best there is and I recommend this to anyone who wants a bit of fun without shooting or hacking something to death.(Just for something different)
  75. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    My personal game experience with it leaves me bored. Why do I give it such a high score? Because my wife and two daughters, age 5 and 4, are enthralled with it. They have had many hours of fun playing together (plays up to four players!). Dressing them up is a big charm for them. It's definitely a chick-game, but I've seen the results of how much it is enjoyed.
  76. Apr 3, 2011
    7
    i think that this game is alright with its fun gamplay in story mode and cute graphics and i also love all the different possibilities for the outfit your sack boy can wear but the online is lacking and i find it more fun to play a couple levels in story mode with a couple friends that are actually in the room with me. all in all its all right and is defenatly worth playing and you willi think that this game is alright with its fun gamplay in story mode and cute graphics and i also love all the different possibilities for the outfit your sack boy can wear but the online is lacking and i find it more fun to play a couple levels in story mode with a couple friends that are actually in the room with me. all in all its all right and is defenatly worth playing and you will have a blast playing just be warned this game can get boring just playing by yourself Expand
  77. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    Charming and endearing little sack boys, they're so cute. The platforming is not the best or clever but it's far from entertaining , getting the responsibility to find the stickers add more content to the already lot of fun. Customizing your Sackboy is addictive, and pulls you to combine with all the clothes. Neat
  78. May 1, 2011
    9
    Great to play and have fun novelty for a long time, create their own doing something really cool, fun without limits, your imagination will take you where the best games quiser.One of the best when it was released.90
  79. May 9, 2011
    9
    I don't why there is alot fuss from the users that are reviewing LittleBigPlanet! It's a great game! The Graphics seem dated but are still good, I love the controls, Creation mode is really innovative and plus you can play other user created levels, how cool is that!!! So screw you bad taste, screw you.
  80. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    A revolutionary game which gives the power of creation to the user. The story levels are fun and challenging. However you get the best experience by playing the plethora of user created levels. Some of them are absolutely breathtaking. It is astonishing that you can go back to this game after a few months and still have lots to do, since there are new fantastic levels created by peopleA revolutionary game which gives the power of creation to the user. The story levels are fun and challenging. However you get the best experience by playing the plethora of user created levels. Some of them are absolutely breathtaking. It is astonishing that you can go back to this game after a few months and still have lots to do, since there are new fantastic levels created by people around the world. Highly recommended for all PS3 users. Expand
  81. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    A platformer with puzzle elements, Little Big Planet has certainly grabbed my attention. The 3D side scrolling style certainly has a charm that many will not find in other games of the same genre.

    It's amazing how this game includes physics in it's simple gameplay. Even though LBP may seem childish at first, it does challenge the player quite heavily, especially towards the end. With the
    A platformer with puzzle elements, Little Big Planet has certainly grabbed my attention. The 3D side scrolling style certainly has a charm that many will not find in other games of the same genre.

    It's amazing how this game includes physics in it's simple gameplay. Even though LBP may seem childish at first, it does challenge the player quite heavily, especially towards the end. With the option to play with 3 others, totally 4 players, this can include everyone in the room. The game mechanics are simple: grab, run, and jump. There are many moments when you have to time the combination of the three, and it's truly fantastic. Level designs are top notch and can have players smiling after solving a complex puzzle. There is a great amount of satisfaction to be had while running in and out of each level, yet there is more to be had with LBP numerous features, such as a level editor and a giant community of literally hundreds of thousands of levels to be downloaded. The characters can be edited beyond your imagination and it's incredibly fun to do so. The level editor may have it's flaws, but can be ignored when most creative ideas can be implemented and made possible. This is a must have for any PS3 owner.
    Expand
  82. Oct 1, 2012
    2
    Little credit can be ascribed to this title. Its appearance and overall tone is ugly. It is not for everyone at all, and is very childish and patronising even though it's not aimed specifically at children. They really couldn't have done worse in terms of graphical style, characters and context. While levels and gameplay elements can vary, the actual difference controls-wise is notLittle credit can be ascribed to this title. Its appearance and overall tone is ugly. It is not for everyone at all, and is very childish and patronising even though it's not aimed specifically at children. They really couldn't have done worse in terms of graphical style, characters and context. While levels and gameplay elements can vary, the actual difference controls-wise is not noticeable. It is a VERY boring platformer and brings almost no new innovations to the classic genre. It may be co-operative but it isn't fun, has one of the cheesiest and worst soundtracks and overall it's neither challenging, satisfying nor fun to play. I don't see why critics are praising this game, other than its lousy attempt at making a 7th-gen platformer for the masses. Expand
  83. May 22, 2012
    6
    I can see why it is appealing to some audiences, but the visual style and gameplay just wasn't for me. I got about four hours into the game and couldn't carry on. Level editing is surely entertaining, as is decorating your little sackboy, but I will personally still to other platformers.
  84. Jan 4, 2012
    4
    Incredibly overrated game. If you're looking for a platformer to play, stick to Mario. When I saw the multiple awards this game had I was delighted and I was even more pleased when I found out I could get it free with Playstation Plus, but I ended up really disappointed as about three levels through the game I started to get bored. The create, play and share ability is well done but aIncredibly overrated game. If you're looking for a platformer to play, stick to Mario. When I saw the multiple awards this game had I was delighted and I was even more pleased when I found out I could get it free with Playstation Plus, but I ended up really disappointed as about three levels through the game I started to get bored. The create, play and share ability is well done but a good game must have a good storyline (yes even in platformers) and this game certainly does not have one. Expand
  85. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    The user score is way to low. This is a great game! There is tons of content, being able to create your own platforming levels, play others created, play the levels with friends, and plenty of reason to go back to levels to get some items use missed the first couple times around. The art style is cool, and they stylize everything in a unique way. The presentation is the best I've seen inThe user score is way to low. This is a great game! There is tons of content, being able to create your own platforming levels, play others created, play the levels with friends, and plenty of reason to go back to levels to get some items use missed the first couple times around. The art style is cool, and they stylize everything in a unique way. The presentation is the best I've seen in any game ever - the way your little sackboy reacts to fire or spikes, and the yarn-world level selection menu. Granted, this game is not perfect, and didn't get a ten for a reason. The controls are frustrating and clunky, and the level design can get pretty basic, (though there are a few nice levels, and this is mostly made up for anyway through the player level creation). I recommend this game to people of all ages, so don't skip on it because it is not ridiculously violent. This is easily one of, if not the best PS3 exclusive game. Expand
  86. Mar 15, 2013
    7
    Originally I couldn't get into Little Big Planet but after giving it a chance and playing the whole game for the first time I have to admit it's a good game. The graphics and art design is very unique compared to other games on the market and the platforming gameplay is very simple. The costumes, decorations and stickers etc. are all very appealing and the level creator and multiplayerOriginally I couldn't get into Little Big Planet but after giving it a chance and playing the whole game for the first time I have to admit it's a good game. The graphics and art design is very unique compared to other games on the market and the platforming gameplay is very simple. The costumes, decorations and stickers etc. are all very appealing and the level creator and multiplayer aspect really gets across to a wider audience. The only niggles really I can think of was that I did feel the tiniest bit of lag between pressing the jump-button and Sackboy actually jumping, and the other characters are only really cardboard cutouts that make noises when speaking. Overall, a good unique platformer in today's current age with great design. Expand
  87. Mar 16, 2012
    7
    It's a nice game, but i'm not into children's games, i prefer shooting than putting a nice little guy new outfits. It's ok but i'm not a fan of games likes these. Big disappointment for me as my very first game for the ps3 to be such a "cute" game.
  88. Feb 4, 2012
    8
    Multiplayer: Laggy, 2-4 people

    Love this game. The concept of the game is undoubtedly ingenious and, in my opinion, perfect - but like every game ever made, the execution is only half as good. This is obvious from when you start the story, so I'll get it out of the way: it's VERY glitchy. A lot like The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (Perfect idea, glitchy execution). But the fun of the the
    Multiplayer: Laggy, 2-4 people

    Love this game. The concept of the game is undoubtedly ingenious and, in my opinion, perfect - but like every game ever made, the execution is only half as good. This is obvious from when you start the story, so I'll get it out of the way: it's VERY glitchy. A lot like The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (Perfect idea, glitchy execution). But the fun of the the story levels don't even stop you thinking it, because it's not that fun. The levels are very 'empty-feeling'. It feels like Media Molecule could've tried much harder with creativity, varying gameplay and simple care put into the levels. Then there's the restriction of tools, which I won't go into; but that's it. It's an excellent game, perfect if not for glitches and restrictions.

    80%/8 out of 10
    Expand
  89. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    I cant believe this game has a 6.6 currently. Littlebigplanet is innovative, exciting, fresh and although its occasionally frustrating, its just fun!! The level creator is great, and how can you hate the sackboy?? No character has been this heartwarming since Yoshi from the mario series. Fokes you need to try this game, its not just for kids its very challenging. Please for your sake atI cant believe this game has a 6.6 currently. Littlebigplanet is innovative, exciting, fresh and although its occasionally frustrating, its just fun!! The level creator is great, and how can you hate the sackboy?? No character has been this heartwarming since Yoshi from the mario series. Fokes you need to try this game, its not just for kids its very challenging. Please for your sake at least rent Littlebigplanet. Expand
  90. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    Greatest Co-Op game I've played in a while. Very innovative, cute, addictive, and fun. Although a bit challenging at times and parts where it may get a bit frustrating. This game is an instant classic, and the platforming is incredible, with great replay value from the levels that can be created by the community, there are some great ones.
  91. Jul 10, 2012
    9
    This game provided me with hours upon hours of fun and was the first game to persuade me to get PSN. I had so much fun on this even without online play completing the challenging yet still fun campaign and making my own levels to play with my friends which I then published online.
    The platforming may be challenging at times but the levels are always possible: alternate methods can be used
    This game provided me with hours upon hours of fun and was the first game to persuade me to get PSN. I had so much fun on this even without online play completing the challenging yet still fun campaign and making my own levels to play with my friends which I then published online.
    The platforming may be challenging at times but the levels are always possible: alternate methods can be used to navigate. With superb co-op and online, believe the hype, the possibilities are endless. These game of the year awards do not lie (unlike others - rage????).
    Expand
  92. Jul 31, 2012
    8
    Fun fun fun game. Beautiful and nice game. Lots to do. Online and Co--op are also very nice. "A beautifully elegant and powerful creative tool that puts unlimited potential in the palm of your hand".
  93. Oct 14, 2012
    8
    Lovely game. If only the community could be better. Story mode is amazing, and creating is fun. If only this game were 3-D. Oh yes, maybe someday.....
  94. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    one of the best game's ever made and probably one of the 3 best ps3 games too
    this game is classic and fun the story issn't long and not really good but still you have so much collectibles and so much online levels that you will never get bored remakes of movies to play as levels
    bomb survival's shark survival's and many more different levels one of the perfect games too meat people
    one of the best game's ever made and probably one of the 3 best ps3 games too
    this game is classic and fun the story issn't long and not really good but still you have so much collectibles and so much online levels that you will never get bored remakes of movies to play as levels
    bomb survival's
    shark survival's
    and many more different levels one of the perfect games too meat people on and i advise you too buy a keyboard for the ps3 so that you can talk fast and easy with each other
    so is there anything bad about this game
    well not really there are no long loading times as in modnation racers where you spend about 2 minutes waiting for the load to complete in this game mostly 10 to 15 seconds and 40 max
    Expand
  95. Mar 22, 2013
    9
    BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies forBenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! BenTen eats puppies for dessert, oh and btw, he eats elephant feces in his spare time, but he spends all that time goats! Expand
  96. Mar 7, 2014
    7
    In my opinion, write a review about LBP is a difficult task, but now, finished and raising the 100% of the game, have one conclusion: This game is absolutely over-rated and over-valuated.
    LBP isn´t a bad game, a decent platform game, with a powerful engine to create "new worlds", a good artistic design and good music, but nothing special and unique.
    Sackboy is like a drunk Luigi, the
    In my opinion, write a review about LBP is a difficult task, but now, finished and raising the 100% of the game, have one conclusion: This game is absolutely over-rated and over-valuated.
    LBP isn´t a bad game, a decent platform game, with a powerful engine to create "new worlds", a good artistic design and good music, but nothing special and unique.
    Sackboy is like a drunk Luigi, the physics are terrible and adds the real difficulties in the game.
    I can be objective, and valuate the creation engine, but I don't wanna waste 3 minutes of my live creating levels, sorry, I´m a hardcore gamer, and the game 2.0 doesn't exist for me.
    And, as a hardcore gamer, like cold beer, women with curves, and if I wanna play an excellent platform game, I will play Super Meat Boy or Super Mario Galaxy.
    Expand
  97. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    One of the best exclusive platforming games of this generation great fun to play with family and friends. To have so many user friendly tools at your hands only enhances the great value this game offers I've never had so much fun collecting stickers before. This game gets a 9.4 from me and the seal of approval.
  98. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    LittleBigPlanet is a fantastic game. It's a great platformer with incredible artistic direction and sound, and with some great gameplay to back it up.
    In the game you can bluid ANYTHING
  99. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Sometimes in life it’s the little things that make you smile, hearing a cheesy joke from a good friend, perhaps finding a pound in your pocket, little big planet delivers this in an immaculate bundle of creative fun.
    Media Molecule has create a game that doesn’t strive to deliver complexes plot points or attempt to create the best possible dynamics at any given point. Instead they’ve done
    Sometimes in life it’s the little things that make you smile, hearing a cheesy joke from a good friend, perhaps finding a pound in your pocket, little big planet delivers this in an immaculate bundle of creative fun.
    Media Molecule has create a game that doesn’t strive to deliver complexes plot points or attempt to create the best possible dynamics at any given point. Instead they’ve done something a lot more ambitious, they have produced a beautiful sand box for players to fill with their imagination. Truthfully the only limit to this game is your own creativity.
    The game is divided in three very different experiences; the first is a ‘campaign’ where you are plunged onto little big planet from your ‘pod’ to experience what can only be described as one of gaming’s most random and spontaneous stories. I have no grievance to the chaos of the story, as a solid plot is not what the game is striving to achieve. Instead you are submerged into beautifully crafted play sets with vibrant areas, beautiful art style and extraordinary focus. Its hard to communicate what exactly brings these levels to life but its perfection can be put down to the sheer amount of love that has clearly been poured into this game at every level of production. As well as simply playing threw these platform levels you can explore to find ‘prize bubbles’ that will unlock new materials, stickers and music that you can then use in your own levels.
    This brings me to the second section of the game, ‘creator mode’. Here you start of with a set of tools that you can use to make anything from a simple car all the way to a vastly complicated Godzilla robot that can fire lava from its nostrils and crush cities. This mode can be as simple or complex as you want it to be, there are good tutorials at the beginning giving you the basics to have fun and more have been added with a patch, there are also countless publicly made tutorials that can teach you everything from making a trap door to how to make your own killer shark. When you have made something you’re proud of, you are then given a major opportunity and perhaps the most ambitious aim of media molecule yet, you can publish your work to the world.
    The final section of the game is the LBP community, with a few simple clicks you can publish your level so that the entire world can play it. A robust rating system will give you both feed back and praise and your work can easily rise up and even be placed on the world stage. The possibilities of this feature theoretically creates an infinite amount of content and although not all of this is worth playing the sheer concept of how much fun there is out there is mind-boggling.
    There are other features of this game that make it special, sack boy being one of them. This little sack of joy doesn’t utter a single line threw out the entire game, however the amount of communication portrayed threw his moment and facial expressions is staggering. He is truly one of the most loveable characters you’ll meet in a game, standing along side Sony mascots like Ratchet or Spiro. Another astonishingly impressive feature of this game is its music, with a large library of songs from the supper alternative band of ‘Battles’ to the Mexican band ‘‪Café Tacvba’, there is truly a wealth of interesting and appropriate music woven into the identity of this game.
    Last but not least is the inclusion of multi player. At any time, local and online friends can jump into your game. Hosting up to four players per party at any time the presents of others truly enriches the experience further, giving you access to new areas, multi player focused puzzles and games.
    Little Big Planet is a truly special game that doesn’t come around every generation. There really isn’t a target market for it as anyone with a soul can enjoy the humor, thrive with the creativity and have a little big load of fun.
    Expand
  100. Feb 4, 2014
    8
    Thoroughly enjoyed this one. I would call it a rare gem, but sony just pushes out so many top tier exclusives that great sony games are a dime a dozen. The gameplay is great, graphics are interesting, coop is awesome, custom mode is deep... 8/10
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 85
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 85
  3. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. There simply isn't anything else like LBP on any system, anywhere. It's a beautifully elegant and powerful creative tool that puts unlimited potential in the palm of your hand. [Nov 2008, p.92]
  2. We're just happy to see a flagship game for a modern system that's about running from left to right and jumping over things. New ideas are great, great old ideas are better, and LittleBigPlanet has both: it's the future and the past of videogames, rolled into one.
  3. Little Big Planet is revolutionary thanks to its flexible, fun and powerful editor. Creating a quality level takes time but the feeling of achievement is overwhelming. A must for everyone who loves creativity or likes to explore what the creativity of a passionate community can produce.