• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 27, 2008
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5176 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Not as big little planet, can be as little note to users. For me it is one of the best games of this generation.
    The story perhaps, could be improved ... But what this game is a masterpiece.
    In these times, innovate for me is the best. Many do not dare, play it safe .. SHOOTERS. In order to ensure sales ... instead there are companies, such as "Media Molecule" that take risks, and
    Not as big little planet, can be as little note to users. For me it is one of the best games of this generation.
    The story perhaps, could be improved ... But what this game is a masterpiece.
    In these times, innovate for me is the best. Many do not dare, play it safe .. SHOOTERS.
    In order to ensure sales ...
    instead there are companies, such as "Media Molecule" that take risks, and eventually make a great game.
    As "little big planet"
    Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    This is one extreme creative and intelligent game. No, its not childish! It only got a different style than the other games of this generation. LittleBigPlanet is fun, creative and beatiful. Media Molecule keeps patching and updating with new things for players. You can create your SackPerson any way you want, you can make a spaceship level, or just a place to hang out with friends, theThis is one extreme creative and intelligent game. No, its not childish! It only got a different style than the other games of this generation. LittleBigPlanet is fun, creative and beatiful. Media Molecule keeps patching and updating with new things for players. You can create your SackPerson any way you want, you can make a spaceship level, or just a place to hang out with friends, the choices are infinite! What more could you want on a game? (10.0) Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2010
    10
    I was shocked to see the user score for this game. This is not the score it deserves. An infinite playground of innovation and fun with creative potential rivaled only by its sequel certainly deserves better. I'm not a fan of insulting opinion, but this is just wrong.
  4. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    To truly enjoy this game, play with a friend or go online and join a game - the gameplay, puzzles and humour throughout this game can be lost when playing on one's own. However, other than the occasionally annoying plane switching mechanics, this is a thoroughly enjoyable game. The story will take you plenty of time to complete, without being overly long or drawn out, and the puzzles areTo truly enjoy this game, play with a friend or go online and join a game - the gameplay, puzzles and humour throughout this game can be lost when playing on one's own. However, other than the occasionally annoying plane switching mechanics, this is a thoroughly enjoyable game. The story will take you plenty of time to complete, without being overly long or drawn out, and the puzzles are mostly varied. Even once you've completed the story the unlockables offer much more game time, with prize bubbles to collect, bonus levels to unlock and other players' scores to beat. The level editor is also a great addition to this game and the community levels (which mainly consist of mini-games rather than full platforming levels) are some of the most fun you can have with a few mates on a console game. Expand
  5. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    8 LittleBigPlanet is good game with great qualities but suffers from boring game-play and a limited level creator that prevents it from being a masterpiece it could of been. It offers a great online and offline component that any gamer should happy with. It also shines in the main campaign as every level look hand crafted with attention to every level. It was a great experience in the main8 LittleBigPlanet is good game with great qualities but suffers from boring game-play and a limited level creator that prevents it from being a masterpiece it could of been. It offers a great online and offline component that any gamer should happy with. It also shines in the main campaign as every level look hand crafted with attention to every level. It was a great experience in the main campaign unlike anything out on the market. Unfortunately, the camera works against you in some level that prevents you from getting the prizes and some unreasonable level designed that could make levels imposable to pass. The level creator is average because the tutorials take forever to finish and unclear at some section on what to do. The level editor doesn`t recommend what objects worked well in a level and has glicthes. It dose offer a wide range from a variety of tools you can use to make the best level you possibly can. However, only dedicated players can stand how long it would take to make a level and dosen`t offer split screen for offline players. The reason that I gave it a eight is because it`s a game that the whole family can play which makes a for unforgettable experience. Expand
  6. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    Nary a fault to be found. This is platforming, community, and art direction blended into one of the most revolutionary games to hit the genre since Mario ate his first mushroom so many years ago. With Solid Snake out of the picture, Sackboy is arguably the frontrunner to be PlayStation's totem for years to come.
  7. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    Looking at the User Score and seeing a 6.5 really broke my heart. Littlebigplanet is perfect. Its simple as that. It's essentially a side-scrolling platfomer starring Sackboy, your character, as he explores worlds in order to stop an evil collector. The story mode is fun and kid friendly but creation is where Littlebigplanet really shines. You can create your own levels using differentLooking at the User Score and seeing a 6.5 really broke my heart. Littlebigplanet is perfect. Its simple as that. It's essentially a side-scrolling platfomer starring Sackboy, your character, as he explores worlds in order to stop an evil collector. The story mode is fun and kid friendly but creation is where Littlebigplanet really shines. You can create your own levels using different materials and tools. Its really incredible what you can create but little kids can have trouble with the level creator because its so immense. After creating your dream level you can publish it online for others to play. There's literally millions of levels to play so you never ever get bored. Please just ignore the users' low scores this is an amazingly perfect title that must be experienced by any video game lover. Expand
  8. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    greatgreat game................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................ Expand
  9. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    A game like none else. This is by far one of the best games of all time. It has amazing story levels, and ENDLESS, I mean ENDLESS opportunities for creating your own levels. You have an idea, you can make it. You wanna make Super Mario, you can make it. Metal Gear Solid? You can make it. Shortly said this is the best reason to buy a PS3, and the only thing you have to be afraid of is thatA game like none else. This is by far one of the best games of all time. It has amazing story levels, and ENDLESS, I mean ENDLESS opportunities for creating your own levels. You have an idea, you can make it. You wanna make Super Mario, you can make it. Metal Gear Solid? You can make it. Shortly said this is the best reason to buy a PS3, and the only thing you have to be afraid of is that it will give you sky-high expectations for Little big planet 2, but I think they will be able to handle it. If it was possible the score would be higher. Expand
  10. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    Ok, whoever reads this, ignore these ignorant Microsoft fanboys that are extremely jealous that they aren't able to get a game as good as this. Any score lower than a 9 is complete bull**** and are just jealous fanboys. This game is amazing and with over 3 million levels, it's time-consuming. Really Fanboys? Jealous? I think yes. Now go play your oversaturated Mario and Halo games.
  11. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    For all those people who complain that either "the graphics are bad, this is boring, or this game sucks" do not listen to them. LittleBigPlanet is one of the greatest games I have ever played. Not only that but it is amazing and fun. The graphics are stunning, the gameplay is dangerously addictive, and it is one of the best games avaliable right now (for all ages). If you own a PS3, and itFor all those people who complain that either "the graphics are bad, this is boring, or this game sucks" do not listen to them. LittleBigPlanet is one of the greatest games I have ever played. Not only that but it is amazing and fun. The graphics are stunning, the gameplay is dangerously addictive, and it is one of the best games avaliable right now (for all ages). If you own a PS3, and it works, buy this game. Oh, bd get the game of the year addition. Good times. Expand
  12. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    Just when you thought the Playstation was lacking amazing exclusive's along comes LittleBigPlanet, you will see some review's from older audience's (And The Non-Creative) Among Us saying that it's a baby-ish child's game. Don't let that spoil your purchase idea's, if your buying a game for your children (I recommend around the ages from 5-15) this game is fun, if you don't likeJust when you thought the Playstation was lacking amazing exclusive's along comes LittleBigPlanet, you will see some review's from older audience's (And The Non-Creative) Among Us saying that it's a baby-ish child's game. Don't let that spoil your purchase idea's, if your buying a game for your children (I recommend around the ages from 5-15) this game is fun, if you don't like creativeness then don't buy it, its that simple. This is a must purchase. Expand
  13. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I have to say this game is one of the best I've ever played. Graphically it's gorgeous, the presentation is top-notch, and beyond all that the gameplay is refreshing and a throwback to the platformers of old. I could be considered a M$ fanboy in most respects as I did not own a single PS3 game since I bought it back 2 years ago (I use it mostly as a blu-ray player), until now. It is simplyI have to say this game is one of the best I've ever played. Graphically it's gorgeous, the presentation is top-notch, and beyond all that the gameplay is refreshing and a throwback to the platformers of old. I could be considered a M$ fanboy in most respects as I did not own a single PS3 game since I bought it back 2 years ago (I use it mostly as a blu-ray player), until now. It is simply amazing how the developers were able to push the graphics on the PS3 like they did. Let's face it, the PS3 in terms of it's GPU performance is out-matched by the xbox360 (most developers like me would agree). LBP forces us to think about that sentiment. Major props for Media Molecule for developing a game for the history books. Expand
  14. RyanS
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    The game play is simple... but that doesn't mean bad. Super Mario Bros. is simple... and only people who think they are "too cool" claim to no like that classic. LBP has some of the coolest levels I've seen in a platformer. The physics and machinery used in level creation give this game such an "alive" feeling. And these things are at your finger tips as well. I spent anThe game play is simple... but that doesn't mean bad. Super Mario Bros. is simple... and only people who think they are "too cool" claim to no like that classic. LBP has some of the coolest levels I've seen in a platformer. The physics and machinery used in level creation give this game such an "alive" feeling. And these things are at your finger tips as well. I spent an hour having my sackboy grab on to a rocket car and blast off into the sky ramming into random things. It's amazing how much fun this game is. It's virtual legos, erector sets, and tinker toys... all in one virtual toy box. The music and graphics are amazing as well. It's easily one of the most beautiful games I've seen with such a clever and fun art style. The tag line, "Fun will overcome" sums this game up nicely. When asked what the point of it all is, such as saving a princess or stoping an evil bad guy... I smale and say, "To have fun, of course!" Expand
  15. trackk.
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    I thought this game was gonna be total s*** - then i played the beta. it was my best gaming moment since i first played gta III, i had that same stupid smile on my face. although i admit most of my own creations were pretty rubbish i still had hours of fun playing in the creator mode and (more importantly) a hell of a lot of other people created BRILLIANT levels in the beta, which were I thought this game was gonna be total s*** - then i played the beta. it was my best gaming moment since i first played gta III, i had that same stupid smile on my face. although i admit most of my own creations were pretty rubbish i still had hours of fun playing in the creator mode and (more importantly) a hell of a lot of other people created BRILLIANT levels in the beta, which were just awesome fun to check out, and totally validated the whole concept of creating a game based around user generated content (something i myself was initially very sceptical of). i would've paid a hundred dollars just to be able to keep playing the beta, it was that good. Expand
  16. TannerMcFarlen
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    This game only has a low user-rating because xbox 360 fanboys are lowering it when they neither own this game, played it, or own a PS3.

    I got an early copy of this game and I must say: this is the best platformer I have ever played - better than Mario!
  17. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    This is one of the best games I've ever played. First off the game contains 50 pre-built levels, this is the main storyline of the games. It takes you across many different locations. The game also has 3 million+ community levels. Tis is a must buy for PS3
  18. RobertoRocher
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    This game is a small miracle. You have to marvel at the imagination and creativity of its creators, who also knew how to give it almost infinite replay value: even in the story mode, replaying old levels can be a thrill when playing with others online, discovering new ways of solving puzzles and interacting via hand gestures and funny faces.
  19. GaryW
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    Its a shame that an excellent site like this is being used by idiots who post comments based on their preferred console system rather than the game itself. Just look at some of the banal comments posted with scores of 0 for this game. Well I have all the consoles and think that this game is very innovative and fun - right up there with Nintendo and just what the PS3 needs. The graphics Its a shame that an excellent site like this is being used by idiots who post comments based on their preferred console system rather than the game itself. Just look at some of the banal comments posted with scores of 0 for this game. Well I have all the consoles and think that this game is very innovative and fun - right up there with Nintendo and just what the PS3 needs. The graphics and physics system is spot on and although online play can be slow at times it is early days and hopefully capacity will be improved. So back to my first point, I hope that the moderators on this site remove stupid scores that have no meaningful comment (e.g. Zero - PS3 sucks!). Expand
  20. KwasiA.
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    You know, I actually didn't expect LittleBigPlanet to live up to all it's hype. But my god it does. Everything just has a sort of cutesy and comfortable feel to it. This is definitely going to be a system seller. If I could give a game an eleven, it would be this - and Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots - it is a must-add to your PlayStation library of Triple A titles. :) You know, I actually didn't expect LittleBigPlanet to live up to all it's hype. But my god it does. Everything just has a sort of cutesy and comfortable feel to it. This is definitely going to be a system seller. If I could give a game an eleven, it would be this - and Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots - it is a must-add to your PlayStation library of Triple A titles. :) Kwasi Amoako. Expand
  21. AlbertoRamis
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    Es el mejor juego que he visto en años a nivel de innovacion y de diversion. Desde luego se nota que los americanos sois todos unos boxers cerrados¬¬. Tuve a la beta y desde luego es increible lo que hace la gente con los niveles. Y se supone que lo mejor es el editor, que no me dio tiempo a ver del vicio que llevaba :P
  22. May 5, 2012
    10
    This is definitely in my "Top 5" List. This game was the reason I wanted a PS3 so badly. It's for Kids, but Adults too! Kids will love going through the multiple obstacle courses throughout the game, and if they're good at that, making levels of their own will be even more fun! I highly recommend this game for all players with a PS3!
  23. May 12, 2012
    10
    Not a ps3 owner myself but my cousin occasionally brings his ps3 and he had a demo of this game i gotta say its really awesome the transition from keyboard and mouse to controller really confuses you. But this game is really friendly so people who recently bought ps3 should definitely get this game along its fun and challenging platforming.
  24. May 25, 2013
    10
    The funniest part of this game is creating. I have made in total around 70 levels with almost 2 hours of gameplay on each one. You can create almost any kind of 2D level as you want and you can play on them online or offline with your friends up to 4 players or maby both of them together if you want. In total, the players created over 4 million levels together and every one of them areThe funniest part of this game is creating. I have made in total around 70 levels with almost 2 hours of gameplay on each one. You can create almost any kind of 2D level as you want and you can play on them online or offline with your friends up to 4 players or maby both of them together if you want. In total, the players created over 4 million levels together and every one of them are stored in the huge community available for you to play. The story are fun and sometimes hard. If you are an creative person or know one this is the ultimate game for you. Expand
  25. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    This game relinquishes all my worries and just lets my imagination take control again. Seriously, this game is addictive. The user created levels using the tools MM has given you is the selling point of the game. Unlimited levels across the world from people who are incredibly talented at this never ceases to amaze me. You don't go into LittleBigPlanet expecting a superb story, you justThis game relinquishes all my worries and just lets my imagination take control again. Seriously, this game is addictive. The user created levels using the tools MM has given you is the selling point of the game. Unlimited levels across the world from people who are incredibly talented at this never ceases to amaze me. You don't go into LittleBigPlanet expecting a superb story, you just want to have some mindless fun with your friends! And the connection is pretty stable. Needless to say, I've looked tons of hours socialising with other players, playing levels with them, creating levels with them and then screwing them over by b****slapping them. :p The levels are unique and the interface is concise and helpful so you can find exactly what you're looking for. The story missions are pretty creative aswell, I especially like the prizes you get for not dying and the prizes you get for collecting prizes bubbles. Did I mention this is one of the few games that gets collectables right? For one they're actually useful in designing your own levels and they are located in places you'de have to think to look. Adding a degree of challenge to the game. The only critiscm I can give is that it can be a bit laggy online, especially on the last level of the story mode. With everything else the game does right it's easily rectified though.

    BTW: The narrator (Stephen Fry) is awesome. He also guides you through mechanics of the game (Such as prize bubbles or level creating.)
    Expand
  26. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    The game that captured my heart. Filled with endless possibilities from taking off on an epic adventure to having a hilarious mess around making whatever you can think of with some friends.

    The community for LittleBigPlanet is the best game community you can find, and that is saying something! The millions of levels created by users and uploaded are all very unique and offer as much
    The game that captured my heart. Filled with endless possibilities from taking off on an epic adventure to having a hilarious mess around making whatever you can think of with some friends.

    The community for LittleBigPlanet is the best game community you can find, and that is saying something! The millions of levels created by users and uploaded are all very unique and offer as much entertainment as you can dare to find!

    Also Steven Fry is the icing on the cake.
    Expand
  27. May 10, 2013
    10
    Guys, trust me, this game is amazing, people who give this game a 0 are Nintendo fanboys who can't stand any reputation, there was even a retard here that said that this game's about the holocaust.. seriously people, grow up.
  28. eeganrac
    Dec 19, 2008
    10
    I love this game! I have all three next gen systems, and this is only game I play on my ps3! I bought my ps3 just for this game (and god of war 3). there is so much to love about this game i do not even know where to begin. i will just say this. my gaming life began with super mario bros on the nes. this game takes me back to those days.
  29. HardcoreH
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    LIttle Big Planet I reckon is one of the best games releases this decade. Fun physics is at the core of LBP which I had heaps of fun figuring out what to do in the levels. Some people may may be bummed to finish the made levels sooner than they think. If so, they will have plenty of time to waste by making their own levels!!! The objects within the made levels can be use to make your own LIttle Big Planet I reckon is one of the best games releases this decade. Fun physics is at the core of LBP which I had heaps of fun figuring out what to do in the levels. Some people may may be bummed to finish the made levels sooner than they think. If so, they will have plenty of time to waste by making their own levels!!! The objects within the made levels can be use to make your own levels and even make it possible to create them to be bigger and better than before. The tutorials for this are wonderful in explaining how to build the player's levels which making the levels were lots of fun. There are some other features on the game that are great but I would leave it up to player to enjoy finding them. If you own a PS3, buy it today If not, get one. Expand
  30. AnonymousMC
    Mar 3, 2009
    10
    Great game, so creative and a fun experience for all types of gamers. its kinda nice to get away from the mindless killing every once in a while. I know i never thought a non violent game would come along that would actually make me say such a drastic thing, but LittleBigPlanet proved me wrong.
  31. liz
    Mar 5, 2009
    10
    This game was awesome. I loved it. It's very creative. It's for people of all ages. My 11 yr old niece and 9 yr old nephew plays it, I (27 yrs old) play it and even my 52 yr old mom plays it! I don't know anyone who has played it that hasn't loved this game and the little characters (sack people).
  32. ScottC.
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    The great thing about this game is the user-donated levels. I've gotten to play two "Batman" levels, a God of War inspired level, and quite a few others that are simply amazing (try Pac-Man in it; it won't disappoint). Is this a retro-style game? Yes. But it's a brilliant one because of user-designed levels (if I find the time, I just might make some of my own).
  33. JayJ.
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    If a game can interest my wife, who never plays games, then it deserves a 10 in my book. It's a great throw back to the 80's when mario was the man. Throw in user created content and the sky is the limit. Thank you Sony for taking a chance on such a great game, a game that Nintendo and Microsoft both passed up.
  34. Kevin
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    The excellence of this game cannot be exceeded. It's so fun and quirky. I quickly gained interest after watching gameplay videos... I was hesitant to buy it at first but after watching more and more videos I was set. After purchasing it, from the very moment you put it in, you're just sucked into this awesome game. As others have said, it's so nice to have something light The excellence of this game cannot be exceeded. It's so fun and quirky. I quickly gained interest after watching gameplay videos... I was hesitant to buy it at first but after watching more and more videos I was set. After purchasing it, from the very moment you put it in, you're just sucked into this awesome game. As others have said, it's so nice to have something light hearted and fun as opposed to the death competitions that are Halo, GoW, etc... (Granted, I still play Halo 3 everyday). LittleBigPlanet refreshes my love for video games and an era that has passed... or has it? Expand
  35. AliM.
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    The amazing thing about this game is how much you get for your moneys worth. The game would actually be possible to dissect into three parts, the singelplayer campaign, the online mode and the creat mode. Which ever is your choice, you wont be disappointed. The campaign mode alone is more then enough to justify the score this game is getting. Because its really just that good. Definitely The amazing thing about this game is how much you get for your moneys worth. The game would actually be possible to dissect into three parts, the singelplayer campaign, the online mode and the creat mode. Which ever is your choice, you wont be disappointed. The campaign mode alone is more then enough to justify the score this game is getting. Because its really just that good. Definitely game of the year! Expand
  36. JeffreyH.
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    Having beta tested this game, I can say this game has GOTY candidate written all over it. As IGN said: "If you own a PlayStation 3, you cannot miss this. If you don't have a PS3 yet, this is the reason to get one."
  37. AnthonyW.
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    This is one of the very rare games today that had me smiling all the time while playing. The Beta on it's own felt like the full game, but with 50+ levels burned onto the blu-ray disc and fixed glitches from the beta, calling the game perfect is an understatment.
  38. MarkJ.
    Oct 14, 2008
    9
    Having played the beta for some time i can honestly say it's one of the best games I've played. first it's a solid platformer, secondly there's the create mode which is the most comprehensive I've ever seen and thirdly there's the share feature which is essentially youtube and works just as well. There's a few concerns mainly in that it's just so Having played the beta for some time i can honestly say it's one of the best games I've played. first it's a solid platformer, secondly there's the create mode which is the most comprehensive I've ever seen and thirdly there's the share feature which is essentially youtube and works just as well. There's a few concerns mainly in that it's just so very overwhelming. it's easy to get intimidated by and this will put people off. There's also an annoyance with with 2.5d style, which makes navigating some levels difficult. These aren't enough to dampen my spirits and it's been pre-ordered long ago. Expand
  39. RafyK.
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    It isn't perfect! but compared to other games it deserves a 10/10 I had some network issues ( BETA) but im sure they fix this along with the minor level editor problems I had ( camera,gluing, corner edit tool etc) I personally didn't like playing the game thhat much especially alone it can get kinda boring but the creation aspect of the game is just pure awesomenessss..... You It isn't perfect! but compared to other games it deserves a 10/10 I had some network issues ( BETA) but im sure they fix this along with the minor level editor problems I had ( camera,gluing, corner edit tool etc) I personally didn't like playing the game thhat much especially alone it can get kinda boring but the creation aspect of the game is just pure awesomenessss..... You can easily work 30h on a level and be surprised how it all works out at the end. Expand
  40. BenWalters
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    Highly original, and appealing to everyone. A must have for any PS3 owner (and a must have for anyone who hasn't got one!)
  41. AarneLehikoinen
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    The Best, better than all the rest platformers on ps3! Reason to buy the console!
  42. gold5225gold
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    This is the most innovative and outstanfding game ever made if you review this game bad your a 360 fanboy if you try this game you will love it i recomend that everyone buy this game i played the beta and i just love this game soo much.
  43. AReviewer
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    I'm in the beta; great so far, and all previews and reviews suggest the full release will be even better. It's extremely disheartening to see bitter 360 fanboys out in force to lower the rating for such a great game. Any rating below an 8 is made by a fanboy of a rival console who has never played the game, and has no intention to.
  44. DaveSimons
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    This game i ssimply amazing. From the spectacular visuals to the addictive gameplay, its a refreshing change to find a game that doesn't take itself so seriously and represents what a game should be - fun.
  45. GrahamBurt
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    These ratings should really be only open to people who've actually played the game, and not idiots who're just angry xbox owners, or people with no sense of creativity. :P

    The game is awesome fun. The combination of physics and platforming works really well, and the posibilities of the level editor are only limited by your imagination. It's the gaming equivalent of Lego
    These ratings should really be only open to people who've actually played the game, and not idiots who're just angry xbox owners, or people with no sense of creativity. :P

    The game is awesome fun. The combination of physics and platforming works really well, and the posibilities of the level editor are only limited by your imagination. It's the gaming equivalent of Lego Technics, if lego technics had flamethrowers and rocketboosters.
    Expand
  46. LJR
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    This game is the most innovative game I have played this gen on any console (I own both PS3 and 360). The character and ingenuity is second to none and I take my hat off to Media Molecule for daring to do something as ambitious as LBP - and pulling it off with finesse! This is my GotY (although Gears 2 is a very very close second)
  47. AidenG.
    Oct 17, 2008
    10
    After beta testing this for about a fortnight, it dawned on me that it is absolutely brilliant. There is such a vast scope for creativity, I myself, making a drivable replica of an Audi R8 (and I am not particularly good at designing things generally). Other user-made levels were outstanding: from Shadow of the Colossus parodies to remakes of Metal Gear Solid's opening sections. This After beta testing this for about a fortnight, it dawned on me that it is absolutely brilliant. There is such a vast scope for creativity, I myself, making a drivable replica of an Audi R8 (and I am not particularly good at designing things generally). Other user-made levels were outstanding: from Shadow of the Colossus parodies to remakes of Metal Gear Solid's opening sections. This game is pure class, and anyone who fails to experience such a jewel, really is missing out. Expand
  48. BlockJuice
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    This is easily one of the best games of the year. A stellar set of designer-made levels and quite a sleuth of items to find help make the story mode worth playing. The level creator is truly powerful on all aspects, and easy to use, and the online community is very flexible. But, the game only has a few problems, such as switching back and forth from the layers in a level can be This is easily one of the best games of the year. A stellar set of designer-made levels and quite a sleuth of items to find help make the story mode worth playing. The level creator is truly powerful on all aspects, and easy to use, and the online community is very flexible. But, the game only has a few problems, such as switching back and forth from the layers in a level can be complicated, the level editor's undo feature doesn't work so well, and whenever you play multiplayer, and then you play alone, only the person playing alone gets a lot of items, and it doesn't transfer to the other controller/s. Other than that, this is a truly great game, and it's a good reason to buy the PS3. Expand
  49. Dave
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    I've had the XBOX 360 and now own the PS3. IMO this is by far the best game to come out in years. In a world where every 2nd game is a shooter this is a nice breath of fresh air. Some of the levels are ingenius and the multiplayer aspect is kick @(#(. I know this looks like a kids game, but try it before you lay down your judgement....I've never laughed so hard for a 3 hour I've had the XBOX 360 and now own the PS3. IMO this is by far the best game to come out in years. In a world where every 2nd game is a shooter this is a nice breath of fresh air. Some of the levels are ingenius and the multiplayer aspect is kick @(#(. I know this looks like a kids game, but try it before you lay down your judgement....I've never laughed so hard for a 3 hour period :-) If I could give a 10.5 I would. Expand
  50. PatrickDolan
    Oct 19, 2008
    10
    It has a couple of minor flaws, but the overall scope & vision of this game make it one of the most impressive titles on the market, and quite possibly a new classic.
    And FWIW, this is coming from a guy who rates the PS3 as the worst choice of the big three consoles, so I'm not just being a fanboy... :)
  51. JohnD
    Dec 20, 2008
    10
    This is absolutely perfect in every concept.

    If you look at some of the bad reviews down the page of comments, you can tell they are XBOX/PC "fans". I hate fans... snobbish. I mean, 7/10 of the reviews aren't even talking about this game! Like r-tard Hairy N. Play this game for your PS3 now, it DOESN'T lag, the jumping could use a bit more work, but this game is completely
    This is absolutely perfect in every concept.

    If you look at some of the bad reviews down the page of comments, you can tell they are XBOX/PC "fans". I hate fans... snobbish. I mean, 7/10 of the reviews aren't even talking about this game! Like r-tard Hairy N.

    Play this game for your PS3 now, it DOESN'T lag, the jumping could use a bit more work, but this game is completely innovative and beautiful. IT'S NOT A KIDS GAME!
    Expand
  52. ShelbyS.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    Wow! This game blows my mind! The most fun I've had since Kingdom Hearts back on PS2!!! I had extremely high expectations and this game went far beyond them! I wasnt even expecting me to be this excited and to have as much fun as i have been. My only gripe is that it doesnt upscale to 1080i, i have a TV that only supports 1080i so instead LBP is forced to downgrade to 480i. Im sure Wow! This game blows my mind! The most fun I've had since Kingdom Hearts back on PS2!!! I had extremely high expectations and this game went far beyond them! I wasnt even expecting me to be this excited and to have as much fun as i have been. My only gripe is that it doesnt upscale to 1080i, i have a TV that only supports 1080i so instead LBP is forced to downgrade to 480i. Im sure that an update will fix this in the future though!!! Otherwise just plain phenomenal Expand
  53. AustinB.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    This game is incredibly fun. I bought it today and have just beaten the first section (castle), and I LOVE it! Don't listen to the overall "user rating," as it is horribly skewed (much like that of Resistance 2 and Gears of War 2) by people who have nothing better to do with their time than to bash games that they cannot have: fanboys. Get it if you don't already have it... This game is incredibly fun. I bought it today and have just beaten the first section (castle), and I LOVE it! Don't listen to the overall "user rating," as it is horribly skewed (much like that of Resistance 2 and Gears of War 2) by people who have nothing better to do with their time than to bash games that they cannot have: fanboys. Get it if you don't already have it... it's worth the $60! Expand
  54. VladmirM.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    This game is fantastic. This is my opinion, and if you disagree with it than I respect that. Anyway, if you like platformers than you should enjoy this. LittleBigPlanet is a game where you can create a level, send it to a database, and also download other levels. Some are really creative and that is, in a nutshell, why I love this game.
  55. JonathanK
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    This game is truly amazing. It's got brilliant character and art direction, along with infinant replayability. The subject matter is such that anyone can really enjoy this title. The level editor combined with a realistic physics engine results in endless possibilities to express your creativity and share it with the entire community. This really is a revulotionary title for any This game is truly amazing. It's got brilliant character and art direction, along with infinant replayability. The subject matter is such that anyone can really enjoy this title. The level editor combined with a realistic physics engine results in endless possibilities to express your creativity and share it with the entire community. This really is a revulotionary title for any console, and is a must have if you own a PS3. Expand
  56. MaciejB.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    This is the most exciting platformer ever and the creation and sharing feature is the first true 3.0, user generated content implementation of the next gen!!! Great visuals, sound, physics, and mostly it's just plain fun and cutesy and good for the whole family!!!
  57. JamesH.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    I played the beta of this, after finally getting a beta key, and it is no surprise for me to tell you that I loved it. The gameplay and controls seem very good and the popit is a joy to navigate, and sdackboys seem to have more charm and personality when they stick their tongues up and wave their hands in the air than most lead character do in a lifetime. The main reason though I loved it I played the beta of this, after finally getting a beta key, and it is no surprise for me to tell you that I loved it. The gameplay and controls seem very good and the popit is a joy to navigate, and sdackboys seem to have more charm and personality when they stick their tongues up and wave their hands in the air than most lead character do in a lifetime. The main reason though I loved it though was it really brought back that inner-child in me and it is just so joyously fun. In an era when games seem to be more about fanboy wars, as this voting system has shown and which has the shiniest graphics, it is nice to play something that brings back what games were really meant to be - fun. Two slight negatives though, one is that there are a lot of tutorials but these would become more of a problem without the fantastic Stephen Fry narrating; and problem #2 is that I have important exams all through this next 8 months and LBP is going to spoil all my preparations for them :) Expand
  58. AndrewS.
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing. I picked up my copy this last Saturday and have to say that not only was I addicted but my wife and children were glued to the TV all weekend. It is by far the best fun I have had since Mario on the NES. Great fun for you and the family.
  59. MarkM.
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    Perfect for all ages, and designed not only for the hardcore computer and game savye, but also for those less inclined to play video games. A team spirited, fun, and challenging game which brings you back to the Mario Bros genre but with the added twist of being able to design and interact with the levels on a different way!
  60. TomL.
    Oct 31, 2008
    10
    Since many people are gicing this game a 0 for no apparent reason, I'm giving it a 10 to even the score. Unlike what other people say, it's not a RPG, it's not turn based. It proves most people didn't even bother watching the trailers before posting their ratings. Shame on all! It's a great game
  61. VictorF.
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    A throwback to the 80s years of the platformer with a web 2.0 mentallity LBP manages to bring fun to an industry plaged by violence. It's hard not to love the adorable sackboy and the well thought levels already premade make for a lot of fun but the creating just makes this game one of the best of the year.
  62. SteveL.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    I love this game.
  63. [Anonymous]
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    After playing the beta I simply cannot get enough of this game. It can be frustrating at times, especially with the player created levels. this game is highly addictive whether it is playing or creating there are not enough hours in the day to get your fix.
  64. ENOUGH!!
    Jan 10, 2009
    10
    I am tired of These FANBOY rampages. We respect your games enough, so DON'T TARGET US! This is an INSULT to the gaming community. DO NOTRATE SOMETHING YOU HAVE NOT PLAYED. It's almost as disrespectful as insulting a person you've never even heard of, seen of, or even thought of. This is ludicrous; you all may be 20+, but your attitude is infantile. I may be vouching for a I am tired of These FANBOY rampages. We respect your games enough, so DON'T TARGET US! This is an INSULT to the gaming community. DO NOTRATE SOMETHING YOU HAVE NOT PLAYED. It's almost as disrespectful as insulting a person you've never even heard of, seen of, or even thought of. This is ludicrous; you all may be 20+, but your attitude is infantile. I may be vouching for a Ps3 game, but I respect Xbox games too (HALO FTW!), so there will be no accusations of Fanboyism. THE ACTUAL REVIEW: LttleBIG planet is actually one of the most creative pieces of hardware to come out at this time of the overcrowded action game department. THe graphics are smooth, the actual gameplay is fluid, and the creation tools are unlimited. I cannot say more about the game; it has already been said by countless other reviewers. Expand
  65. AmyL
    Jan 5, 2009
    10
    Love this game!!! We rented it first because my husband wanted to check it out. I don't play to many video games these days because most of them are mind numbing and boring with long boring levels that have no specific path or real goal. They become repetative and annoying. But once I started on this game I've had a hard time putting it down! My husband and I sat on the couch Love this game!!! We rented it first because my husband wanted to check it out. I don't play to many video games these days because most of them are mind numbing and boring with long boring levels that have no specific path or real goal. They become repetative and annoying. But once I started on this game I've had a hard time putting it down! My husband and I sat on the couch and played for 5 hours without ever realizing it! My 12 year old son (who I have to fight with over which shooting/army games he can buy) liked it so much he decided to go buy with Christmas money 2 days after we rented it. What I actually like about the game: The graphics are great - so much so that when we turn it off and just watch tv it's boring. There is also a 'never ending' amount of levels if you have an internet connection. You can play other gamer created levels via internet in which some of them are absolutely unbeleiveable. It's amazing what can be created. I love the little sack person. You can make him smile, frawn, smirk or whatever. Shake his head - swirl his hips - blow himself up to get out of tight spots....or - get close enough to whoevers playing with you and you can smack'em in the head! Let's see your infantry solider do that! :) Not to mention - you can dress it to look any way you want. You do have to unlock costumes and stuff - but that alone gets addicting - just trying to beat someone else to the new stuff! :) Then there's the giggle factor. Holy cow - that's a big one. There are so many different things that will have you rolling. From shooting each other with paintball guns - to flying crazy with speeding rockets while you try to hold on - to driving monster trucks and motorcycles and riding on skateboards.......and - of course - smacking each other with stickers that temporarily change your costume......anything from monkey faces to 3D flowers to oversized sunglasses to making donkey tails swing from your hat or your head. I highly recommend playing it with someone else - even if it's on-line. You work together to get new items and help each other through out the whole game....besides - you won't have anyone to smack if you're by yourself!! :) I could go on and on. It's simply a fun, extremely interactive, happy go lucky game. Expand
  66. DavidS.
    Feb 1, 2009
    10
    I put off buying this game for many reasons. It looked a little too childish, kitsch, etc. Also, I cringed at the idea that a 2d platforming game could be relevant in this souped up generation of video game delights. Boy, was I wrong! Thank God I went and picked this game up. Original, utterly charming, challenging, creative, beautiful. These are just a few adjectives I could use to I put off buying this game for many reasons. It looked a little too childish, kitsch, etc. Also, I cringed at the idea that a 2d platforming game could be relevant in this souped up generation of video game delights. Boy, was I wrong! Thank God I went and picked this game up. Original, utterly charming, challenging, creative, beautiful. These are just a few adjectives I could use to describe the game. It is an experience like no other, with endless possibilities. Don't judge a game by its cover! Expand
  67. KevinO
    Feb 23, 2009
    10
    Little Big Planet is a fantastic game that encourages it's users to have creativity by creating their own levels and characters. The game play is simple and can be complex or even challenging depending on the level you are playing. The music and sounds are fantastic and the number of ways you can customize your characters and levels are endless. This game is a lot more fun and Little Big Planet is a fantastic game that encourages it's users to have creativity by creating their own levels and characters. The game play is simple and can be complex or even challenging depending on the level you are playing. The music and sounds are fantastic and the number of ways you can customize your characters and levels are endless. This game is a lot more fun and playing it with friends is even more so. You can play with your friends locally and over the PlayStation Network. The happy tone and cute characters is refreshing and different from the thousands of generic shooters out there. If you love platforming games, then this is for you. Finally, let me finish this off by saying that Douglas A.'s review is fraudulent and his definition of "serious gamers" is laughable. Rating down a game because without giving a good reason is against the rules. Let me tell you something, kiddo, before Gears of War and Halo, there was a genre called Platforming, that you apparently do not understand. Expand
  68. LiamH.
    Feb 5, 2009
    10
    Very rarely does a game deserve a ten. This is one of those occassions. A phenomenal achievement of originality, humour, sharing, making new freinds, discovering and making new worlds. Gameplay of the highest order, brilliant soundtrack and visually stunning. I started gaming back in the days of Specturm, Commador 64 and Nintendo/master systemn and would have to say this is in my top 20 Very rarely does a game deserve a ten. This is one of those occassions. A phenomenal achievement of originality, humour, sharing, making new freinds, discovering and making new worlds. Gameplay of the highest order, brilliant soundtrack and visually stunning. I started gaming back in the days of Specturm, Commador 64 and Nintendo/master systemn and would have to say this is in my top 20 games ive ever played. In a year, it could even be in the top 10. Amazing! Expand
  69. RoyC
    May 25, 2009
    10
    This game is perfect, it takes a simple formula and combines it with excellent level design and a charming sense of humor and it becomes double fun in coop. The level design tool is actually really fun to use and creating a level is really satisfying. Looking for user made levels can be hard sometimes but the search tool makes it easy to find some of the really innovative and fun levels. This game is perfect, it takes a simple formula and combines it with excellent level design and a charming sense of humor and it becomes double fun in coop. The level design tool is actually really fun to use and creating a level is really satisfying. Looking for user made levels can be hard sometimes but the search tool makes it easy to find some of the really innovative and fun levels. If you own a ps3, buy this game, if you don't own one it is almost worth buying one just for little big planet. I know a lot of people dismiss it as childish, I pity you, go back to your exploding heads. Expand
  70. CaptainTragedy
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    Best game I have played in years. Normally co-op doesnt appeal to me but in this game having a friend, spouse or random stranger pick up a free controller and tag team a level is insanely fun. I have seen many different games and bluray movies on my HD display but they all pale in comparison to the visual treat that LBP provides. One thing that I do find frustrating about the game is how Best game I have played in years. Normally co-op doesnt appeal to me but in this game having a friend, spouse or random stranger pick up a free controller and tag team a level is insanely fun. I have seen many different games and bluray movies on my HD display but they all pale in comparison to the visual treat that LBP provides. One thing that I do find frustrating about the game is how hard it is to explain to people what the game is! It really is a game that has to be experienced to truly understand why all the hype and why all the high scores. Expand
  71. LukeK.
    Oct 11, 2008
    10
    I was lucky enough to grab a beta code and, though I can admit that only four single player levels and an incomplete set of level creation tools were included in this beta, it is clear to me that the full game will be an essential purchase. At last, the ps3 has a killer app.The developer created content oozes charm from every pore, and creating your own levels/vehicles/enemies is fun and, I was lucky enough to grab a beta code and, though I can admit that only four single player levels and an incomplete set of level creation tools were included in this beta, it is clear to me that the full game will be an essential purchase. At last, the ps3 has a killer app.The developer created content oozes charm from every pore, and creating your own levels/vehicles/enemies is fun and, crucially, easier than anyone could have expected. There is virtually no limit on what you can create, either. I honestly do not see how LBP could be any better than it already is. BUY IT!!! Expand
  72. k..
    Nov 14, 2008
    10
    I love everything about this game, that is apart from the multiplayer sections in story mode, but thats not enough to bring the overall score down. Its an excellent game, exactly what the ps3 needs, and good for all ages, certainly not a 'kiddie' game as creating a decent level of your own would be quite challenging. Some of the other user reviews that rated the game 0 should beI love everything about this game, that is apart from the multiplayer sections in story mode, but thats not enough to bring the overall score down. Its an excellent game, exactly what the ps3 needs, and good for all ages, certainly not a 'kiddie' game as creating a decent level of your own would be quite challenging. Some of the other user reviews that rated the game 0 should be ignored, blatent lies. Get the game, you wont regret it ;) Expand
  73. GeorgeP.
    Oct 11, 2008
    10
    Rating based on extensive play of the beta. A genuinely important moment in gaming: already the community is producing some astonishing new levels. Combined with some great inbuilt levels and Stephen Fry's narration, this is a classic.
  74. RoelBinnendijk
    Nov 15, 2008
    10
    Great graphic style, fantastic atmosphere and music, incredibly fun gameplay mechanics, and especially fun with 2 players playing the game in co-op. There's also a competitive element in the multiplayer. Creating your own images and sticker them all over the place, customize your character, create your own levels, and make your way through all the physics-based madness.. replaying theGreat graphic style, fantastic atmosphere and music, incredibly fun gameplay mechanics, and especially fun with 2 players playing the game in co-op. There's also a competitive element in the multiplayer. Creating your own images and sticker them all over the place, customize your character, create your own levels, and make your way through all the physics-based madness.. replaying the levels to find all the secrets, Just really... really great. It's pollished to the smallest detail. Expand
  75. SexySquad
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    This is probably the most beautiful and inspiring game i have played in years. its simple, creative, and innovative game. this game pretty much like a fresh air with the cute characters and beautiful Presentation. I hardly recommend it to any gamer casual or hardcore. So if you have a ps3 BUY the game now and If you dont have a ps3 Buy a PS3 and buy the game.
  76. KristianL.
    Oct 12, 2008
    10
    incredably addicting, indefinate lasting apeal due to player made levels, sharp and crisp craphics. the whole idea of Play Create Share makes this game a must buy for most people. Con: Possible lag due to Peer 2 Peer use of online aspects.
  77. TonyC.
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    You people giving it a 4 or less are completely ignorant! The most innovative game that has come out in a long time, Yeah sure its cutsey and the graphics are not like gears of war or somting. Thats the style they went for and it works. The game lacks only if your own imagination does. And whoever called this an rpg is an idiot!!! Learn your games first losers.
  78. damonm
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    in beta - fun side scrolling action, 3 depths to take advantage of. unique look (cloth and stitch effects), great graphics. Lots or repeat play available with custom levels created by yourself or others, rating system to find levels tailored to your liking (need network connection to take advantage of this). must have for any ps3 owner, good game to start with for any new ps3 owner.
  79. TomK.
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    This game looks amazing, plays smooth, and it's an engrossing time sink to create your own levels. It's the best 4 player cooperative party game this gen. Though, some levels require a bit of skill so being unused to games or intoxicated could be an issue. Has amazing graphics and depth.
  80. EtanL.
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    This game is awesome. I love creating my own levels in this game. I have almost all the trophies. The graphics don't have to be good in this game; when you play mario bros. (If you must), Do you care about the graphics? No! For shooters maybe, but this game has the best gameplay I've ever seen. (Minus Half-life) Buy this game; Seriously!
  81. RobertR.
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    I did not play this game nor do I even own the console that it's released on. I just hate the PS3 or I just usually hate kiddie looking games as I'm soon turning 14. I hate innovation as it only brings out the fun in people, I prefer gloom and doom. The bigger and more badass, the better the game. I despise the fact that Media Molecule has created a too simple, too easy to use I did not play this game nor do I even own the console that it's released on. I just hate the PS3 or I just usually hate kiddie looking games as I'm soon turning 14. I hate innovation as it only brings out the fun in people, I prefer gloom and doom. The bigger and more badass, the better the game. I despise the fact that Media Molecule has created a too simple, too easy to use interface to make levels on a gamepad, because I prefer more complex and difficult controls of a PC. I think it's much better to create on the PC even though it's really hard, slow and requires a ton of web manuals, opposed to creating almost anything on a gaming console for anyone to try and make better. Personally, I think gaming consoles are flooded with do-it-yourself platformers/puzzle games, so we definitely need more shooters. I also cling onto the only small fact that the controls are a bit wonly to codemn a classic game into a pile of turd. I also hate sackboys in general as they are cute and cudly. My mom says im cute and pinches my cheek and I hate when she does that. I want to be a man, a real man that shoots with a canon and blows stuff up. I don't want to blow stuff up in a cute game, and want all things to be shades of gray or brown. I think my opinion on this game is the only truth and other people should respect that decision. or not. Instant classic. Expand
  82. EduardoR.
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    I beta tested this game and I can tell you one thing... LBP is the best "game" that has been released in a long time. It's just addictive. Makes the whole "create, play, share" to be really awesome. From the cheesy levels that make you laugh to the really cute and ingenious ones playing user generated levels in little LBP is just plain fun.
  83. Jean-KarloR.
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    The creative possibilities of this game are limitless. Not only can you play, create, and share levels online, but the game brings a good amount of developer created levels that not only offer a good source of inspiration, but are wondrously created and fun to play on their own. This is, without a doubt, the must own title on PS3.
  84. JohnJ.
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    Ths game is simply one of the best this year. If you want a great platformer for core gamers and newer ones its all there and once the core players get done with the main game there are very deep level building tools to make your own levels which your can share with others. For the new casual player there is a great platformer that has a wonderful charm to it. Ita also narreted by Steven Ths game is simply one of the best this year. If you want a great platformer for core gamers and newer ones its all there and once the core players get done with the main game there are very deep level building tools to make your own levels which your can share with others. For the new casual player there is a great platformer that has a wonderful charm to it. Ita also narreted by Steven fry which is very cool. This game offer both new players and core gamers a unique playing experience. Expand
  85. ChrisM.
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    This game is exceptional. It's really versatile too. It's not just a platformer but it can be so many things like an old arcade classic, to a mini game like tetris. It's hard to imagine what all this game can't be. It really is big.
  86. AnonymousMC
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    An addictive, quirky, charming and absolutely delightful game. It's taken from fun to extraordinary with the inclusion of the multiplayer support. This gem belongs in every PS3 owner's library.
  87. ShawnKuhn
    Nov 4, 2008
    9
    Wonderful game. Nearly endlessly entertaining so long as user content keeps flowing. There is already many user created gems floating about, id recommend picking this game up ASAP if you own a PS3, you don't know what you missing out on. A completely unique experience.
  88. PhilO.
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    I have always been intrigued by the game and the idea of sharing user created content, but never once let my expectations reach a level of easy disappointment. I must say, after playing the beta (with limited content) what Media Molecule has created is a pure gem. The game is, simply put, Amazing. The content created by users range from top notch platforming to riduculously hilarious I have always been intrigued by the game and the idea of sharing user created content, but never once let my expectations reach a level of easy disappointment. I must say, after playing the beta (with limited content) what Media Molecule has created is a pure gem. The game is, simply put, Amazing. The content created by users range from top notch platforming to riduculously hilarious pointless fun. I have never played any video game in my life that has literally put me into tears from laughing (See: Rocket Ship). When you play this game (best with a friend) be sure to play Rocket Ship. Probably still one of my favorite. Even with minor control issues present as stated in many reviews, it is no where nearly enough to keep anyone from playing or partake in the plethora of creation possibilities. The community is by far the best offering available on any console today that is best compared to YouTube. I give the game 10/10 (is 11 possible?) Expand
  89. AlexR.
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    This game is an absolute blast, i was in the beta and even though it was just a beta, it had so many tools and functions it could have sold as a full release. You can really make anything you want, and whats great about it is that it isnt just make it and go, there are two parts to creating a level, the first is to build it, and the second is to make it work and tweaking it and such, This game is an absolute blast, i was in the beta and even though it was just a beta, it had so many tools and functions it could have sold as a full release. You can really make anything you want, and whats great about it is that it isnt just make it and go, there are two parts to creating a level, the first is to build it, and the second is to make it work and tweaking it and such, things like rocket powered or switch powered vehicles, Slide gates, traps, monsters. you can make it all. even the narrative for you level, This game is AAA material and im glad to see a dev take an old style game and turn it into one of the best ones ive ever played, Like one said before "MGS4 blew my mind, LittleBIGPlanet gave me the tools to put it back together, and then blow it again". Expand
  90. ChrisN.
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    I rate this game a 10 simply because, while I was playing the beta I couldn't remember a time when a video game made me more happy than little big planet. Whether you are creating your own world or playing around in someone else' world, there simply is no end to the joy in which this game brings forth.
  91. AdamH
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    This game is pure fun. While I enjoy the game even while playing alone, the real fun is the chaotic nature of playing with multiple players that are at different platforming skill levels. Many people have expressed that they would like more precise controls, but the feel of the controls matches the game perfectly and adds to the party-fun aspect to the game. Practice will bring the This game is pure fun. While I enjoy the game even while playing alone, the real fun is the chaotic nature of playing with multiple players that are at different platforming skill levels. Many people have expressed that they would like more precise controls, but the feel of the controls matches the game perfectly and adds to the party-fun aspect to the game. Practice will bring the precision if you want it, but I do not think I would enjoy the game nearly as much if I was forced to use tight controls. Expand
  92. JackHanoy
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    Best game to come out in years it is a must own for anyone. If you were looking for a reason to buy a PS3 this is it. No matter your gaming level hardcore casual etc... this game will meet your needs. Fantastic effort from MM and should be game of the year.
  93. JackC.
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    After spending hours on the public beta back in August, I simply relised I was addicted to this game. It could be the interactivity, the smile of the sackboys face or even the fluent gameplay. For a game that has only 30fps you can see why. There are no grenades or bullet penatrations like in CoD4 to make the game lag, so 30fps works just fine. Now, the soundtrack. Immersive quick and After spending hours on the public beta back in August, I simply relised I was addicted to this game. It could be the interactivity, the smile of the sackboys face or even the fluent gameplay. For a game that has only 30fps you can see why. There are no grenades or bullet penatrations like in CoD4 to make the game lag, so 30fps works just fine. Now, the soundtrack. Immersive quick and even comical style music is played here. Which really sets the atmosphere for gameplay, and I think MM captures what LBP was built on perfectly with the soundtrack. Expand
  94. ChrisIannitti
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    A beautiful game. This is the first game I've played in a long time that actually made me feel like it was made to be fun and not just for the money.
  95. BenB.
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    After playing the beta, I've got to say this game is great. Might be the best game I've ever played. Why is it a 5.9? Some 360 fanboys got to this, it looks like.
  96. JamesK
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    Sorry, but this game has left me speechless. Buy it. If you haven't got a PS3, buy one. Then buy LBP. You will not be disappointed. I'm not joking.
  97. JenniferR.
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    This is absolutely the most fun I have had on a console in the last decade. LittleBigPlanet is childlike joy incarnate; pure blue-sky fun of the kind we have not seen in years. This is the game I have waited for my entire life.
  98. DustinW.
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    One of the best developed games i have ever played in my 20 years of gaming. I think the initial level designs are brilliant and the create portion of this game will keep the community alive, growing and happy.
  99. uzi
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    SIMPLY ROCKS.
  100. AlexC.
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    Given over 1300 votes for a game not even released things look strange. Given those votes (currently 59%) are substantially out of whack with genuine criticism (currently 96%) seems stranger. The strange fanboyism permeating any debate on LBP is frankly disturbing and is obviously a major force in this voting strategy. As a 360 owner I am want to distance myself from my fellow players. Given over 1300 votes for a game not even released things look strange. Given those votes (currently 59%) are substantially out of whack with genuine criticism (currently 96%) seems stranger. The strange fanboyism permeating any debate on LBP is frankly disturbing and is obviously a major force in this voting strategy. As a 360 owner I am want to distance myself from my fellow players. Too many people are seeing an attack on LBP as an attack on Sony in their strange deluded world. If LBP and Sony is successful it does not take anything away from the 360 experience, it will in the long run add to it as the new ideas permeate across. Envy is a destructive and unpleasant emotion Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 85
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 85
  3. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. There simply isn't anything else like LBP on any system, anywhere. It's a beautifully elegant and powerful creative tool that puts unlimited potential in the palm of your hand. [Nov 2008, p.92]
  2. We're just happy to see a flagship game for a modern system that's about running from left to right and jumping over things. New ideas are great, great old ideas are better, and LittleBigPlanet has both: it's the future and the past of videogames, rolled into one.
  3. Little Big Planet is revolutionary thanks to its flexible, fun and powerful editor. Creating a quality level takes time but the feeling of achievement is overwhelming. A must for everyone who loves creativity or likes to explore what the creativity of a passionate community can produce.