• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 27, 2008
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5372 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisB.
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    Excellent side scrolling platformer! Its a must buy if you own a PS3. Its a build and share your own platforming game. You or friends create and share stages. Your able to play then with friends online and rate other user created stages you've played. Only complaint I have is dealing with the 3d'ish movement to the fore or aft of the screen can be a little annoying.
  2. DmytrykD.
    Oct 25, 2008
    4
    Slick all through but that's not saying much since there is so little gameplay unless you take about a weeks work of building level only to see yourself play through your own penbox. Except there's little fun to be had since you build it.
  3. HershellM.
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    Looking at the user average score in comparison to the critic average would lead one to believe their is b.s. amidst. You would be correct in assuming so as that score was averaged far prior to LBP's release. Let me assure you that the user score is utter b.s. , as I've played LBP and its actually fun to play. The intro is very unique and memorable as the english narrator guides Looking at the user average score in comparison to the critic average would lead one to believe their is b.s. amidst. You would be correct in assuming so as that score was averaged far prior to LBP's release. Let me assure you that the user score is utter b.s. , as I've played LBP and its actually fun to play. The intro is very unique and memorable as the english narrator guides you from a dark room through a level that serves as a tutorial and the credits pop up in the background. You won't have to worry about opening that book as the narrator will provide instructions for you during the early part of LBP. The sp campaign has a total of 50 levels that vary in complexity and style. One memorable one is a level where you must guide a hot air ballon towards a volcano and actually go inside the mouth of the volcano. I wont spoil the rest for you. You can choose to go through them solo, or team up with a buddy to access parts of the levels otherwise inaccessible. You also have the option of creating your own levels as you see fit, uploading them, and sharing them with friends. The game in its simplest form is a platformer, but its engaging in the fact that it challenges you as you progress. You'll even encounter boss battles through the campaign. OOPS!!!! Forgot to put up the spoiler warning. If I had to complain about one thing it would be the controls. Jumping can often times be frustrating especially in the later levels where platforming becomes more challenging. Go buy this game its worth owning. Expand
  4. ChrisE.
    Oct 4, 2008
    5
    After playing the beta, I cannot understand the hype for the game. Sure, creating your own levels and sharing them amongst friends is an awe-inspiring feature; but this has been done many times in the past. Where's the innovation; playing a 2D sackboy? I'm taking this off my Christmas list.
  5. BenRobbins
    Jan 12, 2009
    9
    This is a great game and it is worth buying just to see some of the content that has been produced already (ie. LBP Silent Hill). The metal gear solid add-on is a must as it has the paintinator gun!

    Everyone is entitled to their own views but if anyone gives this anything below 5 they are not giving it a chance or just don't get it! It's not perfect, but I don't believe
    This is a great game and it is worth buying just to see some of the content that has been produced already (ie. LBP Silent Hill). The metal gear solid add-on is a must as it has the paintinator gun!

    Everyone is entitled to their own views but if anyone gives this anything below 5 they are not giving it a chance or just don't get it! It's not perfect, but I don't believe there is such a thing as a perfect game.
    Expand
  6. Usher
    Nov 7, 2009
    5
    Not really sure how this game gets such great ratings. It is boring, repetitive, and lacks purpose. No offense to anyone who liked it but I can't really get into this game at all
  7. FelipeL
    Dec 1, 2009
    8
    Very good game, with great visual, and easy controls, good internet content wich makes it the best suported psn game containing countless stages created by the gamers themselves. woths its value
  8. TomP
    Jan 28, 2009
    9
    To start this off, I don't know exactly what all of the 360-fanboy-ism complaints are about, when games like Gears 2 have 6.2 user averages, but oh well. The fact is that (as a 360 only owner) this is still one of the most entertaining games I've played in years. Having grown up on Super Nintendo platforming, the nostagia brought about is stunning. It is not perfect though, To start this off, I don't know exactly what all of the 360-fanboy-ism complaints are about, when games like Gears 2 have 6.2 user averages, but oh well. The fact is that (as a 360 only owner) this is still one of the most entertaining games I've played in years. Having grown up on Super Nintendo platforming, the nostagia brought about is stunning. It is not perfect though, jumping is occasionally imprecise, 4 player camera stretching gets aggravating, and plane-switching can be awkward at times, but other than those minor issues, no complaints whatsoever. playing with two people is the most fun though. Also, Sackboy is the best new character I've seen in awhile. If you own a PS3 without this game...well what's the point? Expand
  9. ColinM.
    Feb 9, 2009
    9
    This definitely the multiplayer powerhouse of 2008. The creativity and utter zany fun you'll have is unmatched. But that being said, this game's single-player is average. I don't have the game, but I have 3 friends who do. And whenever I go to their house, guess what we're playing. LittleBigPlanet. This game is not really meant for hardcore, action lovers. It's This definitely the multiplayer powerhouse of 2008. The creativity and utter zany fun you'll have is unmatched. But that being said, this game's single-player is average. I don't have the game, but I have 3 friends who do. And whenever I go to their house, guess what we're playing. LittleBigPlanet. This game is not really meant for hardcore, action lovers. It's more for light and casual gamers who are just looking for a little fun. But that being said, even if you are an action lover, you still need to at least rent this game. And then call your friends over. I guarantee that you will have a blast. Pros. -Suberb Artistic Direction and Graphics -Extremely fun multiplayer -Extraordinary creative level design and online components -Hilarious character customization -Really cool add-on packs Cons. -repetive single-player mode -boring story -fun lasts for a little while before being replaced by slight boredom -not meant for hardcore action lovers. Expand
  10. DReynolds
    Mar 10, 2009
    9
    You got to love comments like the one saying critics liked it based on its creativity! Well, shock horror. Imagine! Then he goes on to say it's for kids and not proper gamers. True, you have to be creative to get the most out of this game. I didn't realise being creative meant you couldn't be a serious gamer!
  11. JohnF.
    Mar 10, 2009
    9
    A terrific game that is better online than offline. At its core, LBP is a solid, if not simplistic, side-scrolling platformer with a ton of charm and cuteness, but once you get online and see the wonderful creativity of some of the custom levels, the game really finds its niche. LBP has a powerful level editor that can create some amazing levels, and even if you don't have it in you A terrific game that is better online than offline. At its core, LBP is a solid, if not simplistic, side-scrolling platformer with a ton of charm and cuteness, but once you get online and see the wonderful creativity of some of the custom levels, the game really finds its niche. LBP has a powerful level editor that can create some amazing levels, and even if you don't have it in you to create one of your own, there is a large number of quality levels online that you can play, giving this game a large lifespan. It's also real fun to play with someone else. If you just play a couple of the single-player stages and decide you've seen everything the game can offer, you couldn't be more wrong. Yes, it's targeted at kids first and foremost, but like a Pixar movie, LittleBigPlanet is something that someone of any age can enjoy. Expand
  12. WilfGlover
    Mar 8, 2009
    0
    A greatbig pile of $*** One of the worst games I have played on in my life
    and even worse the part that advertises the game "unlimeted stages...new ones made everyday"
    half of them are rubbish and you can get somegames like that for free online
    so to put a $50 dollar label on it
    ... it's a disgrace
  13. ValC.
    Nov 13, 2008
    6
    LittleBigPlanet in every sense of the word was over hyped. Of course graphically the game might have well been superb but overall gaming the game gets incredible dull. The level creation has its benefits but the levels were enveloped in complete idiocy and ludicrously sewn together. As, Ps3 games a gamer, i predict that this game wont get very far. To it's credit. the game doesLittleBigPlanet in every sense of the word was over hyped. Of course graphically the game might have well been superb but overall gaming the game gets incredible dull. The level creation has its benefits but the levels were enveloped in complete idiocy and ludicrously sewn together. As, Ps3 games a gamer, i predict that this game wont get very far. To it's credit. the game does contain what most Ps3 games are lacking nowadays, fun (at least for a while anyway). Expand
  14. SebR.
    Nov 19, 2008
    4
    This game is one of the reasons why I traded my PS3 in. I just got gradually fed up that all the good games were either multi-platform or on other platforms, and that FF13 will both be out on XBox and PS3. When LBP came out, I was thrilled, because of the review... ...Only to find a game I played for about 30 minutes before getting utterly bored. Sure, the first few levels are fun, but This game is one of the reasons why I traded my PS3 in. I just got gradually fed up that all the good games were either multi-platform or on other platforms, and that FF13 will both be out on XBox and PS3. When LBP came out, I was thrilled, because of the review... ...Only to find a game I played for about 30 minutes before getting utterly bored. Sure, the first few levels are fun, but seriously: how much time can someone possibly spend working with/against the same gravity engine, doing the same thing, solving the same puzzles, over and over AGAIN? Not even the races are fun. Plus, the game is geared torwards, what, 10-year-old kids? That does not help, either, and there's no way to skip dialogues entirely. Half of the features are pointless, and let's not mention custom stages. I tried a few, all of them boiled down to the same thing. Plus sides are the credits at the start (which I thought to be really ingenious) and general graphics. The sackboy idea, however, is another failed avatar idea (much like what XBox live brought us today). Mind you, I'm not a terrible fan of PS3, but I frankly expected better than this. Expand
  15. JeffH
    Nov 29, 2008
    8
    Game was really fun at first and the art style is awesome. Got boring after a couple days though. For the story mode, the difficulty isn't too bad for most of the levels; fun and not too frustrating, but there are a few levels that are truly annoying (Bunker & Sensei castle). Normally, that isn't a problem, but you get locked out of a lot of materials in the create mode if you Game was really fun at first and the art style is awesome. Got boring after a couple days though. For the story mode, the difficulty isn't too bad for most of the levels; fun and not too frustrating, but there are a few levels that are truly annoying (Bunker & Sensei castle). Normally, that isn't a problem, but you get locked out of a lot of materials in the create mode if you don't complete them. The level editing was nice, but the gluing/ungluing behavior started to annoy me pretty quickly. Coming from editing tools for 3D PC games, it really didn't stack up. That's probably an unfair comparison though since the controller is a bit limiting for that. Online has a few good user created levels, but you have to go through a bunch of junk to see it (search sucks, really confusing). Didn't get the point of multi-player with this game either. Made it harder to play since the camera keeps moving around to fit the players in the frame. Tired of folks asking for hearts. Note to Sony: never make getting a trophy dependent on other users helping you out. Too much spam. Overall: Good attempt, but needs some tuning. Expand
  16. BillH
    Nov 3, 2008
    8
    I don't think the people giving this game a 0 are quite being fair, but I can understand their feeling that their voices aren't being heard. This is a solid game with notable problems. If you've ever considered yourself a fan of the genre I'd say it's worth a play-through, just don't buy into the hype that it's the greatest thing since sliced bread, I don't think the people giving this game a 0 are quite being fair, but I can understand their feeling that their voices aren't being heard. This is a solid game with notable problems. If you've ever considered yourself a fan of the genre I'd say it's worth a play-through, just don't buy into the hype that it's the greatest thing since sliced bread, because while I guarantee the first couple days you have it you'll be thoroughly engaged, it is rather surprising how quickly it becomes tired and the flaws you initially overlooked start to grate on you... much in the way that a really hot girlfriend is great at first, but then just starts to annoy the hell out of you. The physics and controls really are problematic (while at the same time, oddly enough, the physics for objects seems to be VERY solid, when it's applied to your avatar it becomes splotchy, particularly in regards to jumping, which... in a platformer becomes frustrating). I was also surprised to see basic innovations in the platforming genre absent (such as grabbing onto ledges and wall-jumping). However, at the same time, you do have the capability to grab ahold of certain objects and pull-triggers, but as this capacity to interact is selective in level design it becomes the equivalent of a quick-time event due to it's restrictions. Overall, I haven't played it for a few days, but know in the back of my mind, I'll likely pick it up and play a few levels online today or tommorrow or the next day and it strikes me that that may well be the best measure of whether or not this is a "good" game, is it something I'll wax ecstatic about for years to come? No, not really, but it's a decent game that I'll check in on from time to time and spend a half hour to 45 minutes fooling around with before putting down and going on about my day. It's casual gaming, it's very pretty, the presentation is exceedingly well-done, and there are plenty of moments that will be both elate and infuriate you as a result of it's design - but don't expect the second coming, this simply isn't the killer app PS3 owners have been waiting for and I don't expect you'll see a boost in system sales as a result of this game. Remember, any game that will do that has to be damn good to get people to choke up $400 in the mass market and, to date, there hasn't been any game on any of the seventh gen consoles that has been that good, but here's hoping Sony will turn it around yet! Expand
  17. jewmcface
    Nov 3, 2008
    0
    It's fun for about ...5 hours and then its complete shovelware.
  18. JeffG.
    Nov 4, 2008
    3
    The game is average at best. With just really not that much to do, LBP will not keep you coming back.
  19. MarcG
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    With a solid story mode game and an amazing level builder system, this game goes beyond what any other game has before or will for quite some time. If you own a PS3, preorder it now, so you can get the added goodies, and even a giftcard if you go to the right place.
  20. Gmoney
    Nov 4, 2008
    9
    Great game, very few flaws. Cooperative platforming is very fun. Build and share makes for unlimited replay value.
  21. MichaelPowers
    Nov 5, 2008
    9
    This has to be the most fun I've had playing a platformer since Mario64. Its a most buy if you own a PS3. The only reason I'm giving it a 9 is because of the 2.5D auto switching when running or jumping. Its not always perfect but it doesn't hurt the game any as the developers animated the cute and cuddly sackboy, or sackgirl, so damn well. I'd give it a solid 9.5 if I could.
  22. DonnyH.
    Oct 15, 2008
    7
    This merely a simple game, it can only jump around, making face and expression.. the fact that this game give the player a tools kit to make a level does not make this a game deserve a 10 score.. for me this is a mediocre game.
  23. Anon
    Nov 5, 2008
    0
    Hyped game, that really doesnt appeal, I thought PS3 was going to be the bloody gore monster of next gen... hmmm maybe they should have released this crap of a game at launch to get some better numbers... Sony is dumb, I loved the PS2, its not about the money, its how they are doing it...
  24. DanielBarber
    Nov 5, 2008
    9
    Even my other half loves it.
  25. Simon
    Nov 6, 2008
    1
    Why on earth is this game being rated so highly? I was playing games similar to this back in the days of the atari 2600, run, jump, run, jump some more. Innovation my arse. Do yourself a favour save £40 and download a snes emulator and play much better platformers for free.
  26. StephenS.
    Oct 16, 2008
    9
    Yes, I've only played the beta version so far, but that thing alone kept me entertained for hours. Designing your own levels is really fun as well as changing up the pre-constructed levels as you play them. The sackboys and girls have a lot of character as well as the card board cut outs you find in the game. I honestly don't understand how this game as an average of 6 coming Yes, I've only played the beta version so far, but that thing alone kept me entertained for hours. Designing your own levels is really fun as well as changing up the pre-constructed levels as you play them. The sackboys and girls have a lot of character as well as the card board cut outs you find in the game. I honestly don't understand how this game as an average of 6 coming from users. If you remember mario paint and loved it, then get this game. It's even better. Expand
  27. MarcDoyle
    Oct 16, 2008
    7
    My advice for our faithful users is focus your attention on the Metascore for this game and not the thousands of user votes, most of which have been submitted before said users have played the game. This is a gaming community, and if people want to stuff the ballot box, there's not much I can do at this point. I When we redesign the site, this type of thing won't happen.My advice for our faithful users is focus your attention on the Metascore for this game and not the thousands of user votes, most of which have been submitted before said users have played the game. This is a gaming community, and if people want to stuff the ballot box, there's not much I can do at this point. I When we redesign the site, this type of thing won't happen. We'll post the full legitimate user reviews upon the game's release. Expand
  28. HarryL
    Nov 7, 2008
    0
    Utter rubbish, played it for 10 minutes, and every level was as poor and cliche as the next, the story line is terrible, the graphics are the only thin i could see right with this game, and wiht its im not a dork, im a video game maker look to it, if you want to run around with fluffy animals and have a fun time with it, viva pinata is for you
  29. JackD
    Nov 8, 2008
    7
    There isn
  30. SILOLauncher
    Oct 18, 2008
    1
    I don't care if the game is great and its rated highly by the critics but it certainly sucks.The gameplay is repetitive and boring.They even offended Islam.Surely this is not my type of games.
  31. KayNitro
    Dec 2, 2008
    4
    Innovation and fun are two different things, while this game is probably one of the most innovative games to come out this year, its also very boring and repetitive . The lack of story or goal makes this game hard to get into, you are not feuled by your motivation to find out what happens next, but that is just the story mode which is not great. The online isn't excellent either, it Innovation and fun are two different things, while this game is probably one of the most innovative games to come out this year, its also very boring and repetitive . The lack of story or goal makes this game hard to get into, you are not feuled by your motivation to find out what happens next, but that is just the story mode which is not great. The online isn't excellent either, it may take you hours to find a decent level, some levels that are rated highly aren't even good so its hard to go by what the raters have said like the Mirrors Edge level, that got over 20000 hearts yet the level has an awful design and is stupidly hard. Most of the time if you are playing online line the game will lag BADLY, and you will teleport across the screen frustratingly. Speaking of frustraing, what were they thinking putting a life system into the game? You could spend 20 minutes playing a really hard level, and if you mess up 4 times, you have to start at the beginning, that is very stupid because you can't judge levels if you can't even finish them. The controls are stupid as well, sometimes your Sackboy will attract to different objects, so he will jump towards something that you do not want to jump to. Sometimes if you jump off a ledge he wont react and drop off, and jumping varies in height from time to time. Sackboys jumping distance is not great, and lacks any moves other than Jump, Grab and Slap, slapping isn't fun either because once you slap, you are stuck for 2 seconds and cannot move, giving the other player time to slap back. Now to the create mode. This is what sealed the deal for me, and insured I'd not be wasting any money, creating can leave you sitting for 6 or 7 hours watching tutorials, and its not like you can avoid tutorials, you have to watch, some features take common sense but there is a tutorial anyway, not giving you an option to see the tutorial or not, the create mode has an incredibly steep learning curve that an 8 year old or a parent cannot master, it would require a week to figure how to do this stuff, its not as simple as they make it, imagination is not your limit as they say, its actually your understanding of the create mode that stands between you making a level just how you imagine it, which is almost impossible, the navigation system could have been more simple as well. Sorry its just overrated Expand
  32. TomJ.
    Oct 22, 2008
    3
    Good game if you want to make levels within a confined environment. garbage if you just want to play a game. the 50 included levels offer no continuity, even mario and sonic back in the day had a small underlying story. i think this game is great for casuals, but overall its a step backwards in gaming.
  33. AidenLangan
    Dec 2, 2008
    8
    This game is good however it is not perfect as many PS3 fanboys are saying and it is not terrible as 360 fanboys are saying. It's fun and brings out your creative side. It is like a video game version of Youtube, but it is not as good as SMB3 or as bad as Carnival Games. I will say I am a bit of PS3 fan but still.
  34. JackJ.
    Oct 23, 2008
    0
    A huge disappointment in my imo, and what happens? Everybody on the web posts a review of at least a score of 8 just because everybody else reviewed this game good. This is just like MGS4 (which was a great game), it also happened with Haze, if IGN gave the game a good rating, everybody else whould have kissed up to them.
  35. LeeB.
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    Very good game. The story mode is more for killing time when you have nothing to do and the creation mode is where the fun is at. You must do some off the story mode to unlock the creation and to get more things for your levels but the story mode is not that bad at all. Only thing I dock for was the control. Im just so use to the nes/snes 2d plane controls(donkey kong country, SMB3, Very good game. The story mode is more for killing time when you have nothing to do and the creation mode is where the fun is at. You must do some off the story mode to unlock the creation and to get more things for your levels but the story mode is not that bad at all. Only thing I dock for was the control. Im just so use to the nes/snes 2d plane controls(donkey kong country, SMB3, ext...). It does take a while to get use to but once you get it down there is no problem. Expand
  36. DavidD.
    Oct 23, 2008
    0
    The game sucks, its too hard to make own levels and campaign is over in less than 10 hours. Very basic platforming. This game should have been made in the Snes era becuz its features fall in that context.
  37. TylerD.
    Oct 24, 2008
    2
    This game I found to be really disappointing, the actual game play is horrible, if you are into the whole make your own levels then this is cool but if you just want to sit down and play this game is pretty mediocre. You'd be better off buying Viva Pinata, now that's a good game.
  38. MarkK.
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    I played the beta and was immediately hooked! I don't know if I'll design my own levels, but I really loved seeing what others can do. I think this game is infinitely replayable. Some of the levels were buggy or had problems, but as people learn the game, they'll get better and better.
  39. EricH.
    Oct 25, 2008
    0
    Got an early copy from Target! I can't stop playing this game, more specifically the level editor. There is so much potential and it just blows my mind how creative it lets you be. There is tons to do and create; I think this game is taking gaming in a whole new direction.
  40. ScottR
    Oct 25, 2008
    1
    Horrible game. is this suppose to be a "next generation" game? this game really lacks gameplay once you get past the pretty graphics and all. a definite pass for anyone that has common sense.
  41. JacobB.
    Oct 26, 2008
    1
    I was disappointed after i got this gamewith the supposively good reviews. It basically is not even a game or it is a game without a goal. I would not reccommend.
  42. AnthonyLongcock
    Oct 26, 2008
    0
    Typical idealistic/marxist piece of garbage. Play as hitler and kill the jews? No Thanks. I do not support the extermination of hundreds of thousands if not millions. This game is pure garbage. Watch this game around children. There are breaking reports of swastikas visible in the fibers of the dolls.
  43. HairyN.
    Oct 27, 2008
    0
    This was the worst rpg i have ever played in my life. It takes way to long to level up your characters and the voice acting was terrible. I called Media Molecule about this and they told me if i ever called back they would kill my family. As you've probably already assumed I was outraged by this and retaliated with a very harsh "good day!" and left to cry in a corner. i would not This was the worst rpg i have ever played in my life. It takes way to long to level up your characters and the voice acting was terrible. I called Media Molecule about this and they told me if i ever called back they would kill my family. As you've probably already assumed I was outraged by this and retaliated with a very harsh "good day!" and left to cry in a corner. i would not recommend this game to any rpg fans out there and do not recommend you call the company either they are very violent this game received a zero do to the pointlessness and completely ridiculous turn based style. Expand
  44. JohnS.
    Oct 27, 2008
    0
    Boring.. Not much more than your standard side scrolling platformer. Overhyped, pretty and run, jump run.. There are better examples on the market or this style of game and the editor for all of it's massive easy to use functionality is actually complex for the average user.
  45. StevenC
    Oct 27, 2008
    9
    This game is one of the best platform games that I have ever played. It ranks right up there with Mario and Ratchet, I hope the game sells well as I would love to see a sequel. There is not much else to say besides that I welcome anyone's created content.
  46. RayC
    Oct 30, 2008
    9
    Very addictive game, fun and spirited. It's great to be able to build your own levels, game is very polished aside from the laggy server when it first came out. With all the user content people can make this should keep most occupied for some time to come well after the single player game is finished.
  47. LukasG.
    Jan 18, 2009
    9
    I really enjoyed playing this game with my little brother and my friends. The graphics are very good, the level design is highly creative and the game play is fun. I feel that I got a good value for my money, especially with the online component, where you can design and share your own levels. I am not certain why this game is only a 6.3 user rating, as I see very few flaws in the game. I really enjoyed playing this game with my little brother and my friends. The graphics are very good, the level design is highly creative and the game play is fun. I feel that I got a good value for my money, especially with the online component, where you can design and share your own levels. I am not certain why this game is only a 6.3 user rating, as I see very few flaws in the game. Perhaps the biggest problem I have had is some technical issues, but not anything major. The new MGS4 pack has also been fun, as it adds a paint gun to the mix. Overall, I think this is well worth a purchase. Expand
  48. marks
    Oct 25, 2009
    7
    really cool idea. good for my kids. but i never had time or patience to create. i would score higher than 7.5 if it didnt lose appeal so quickly
  49. CarlG
    Jan 3, 2009
    9
    LittleBigPlanet is one of the finest games of this generation. Unlike some other reviewers on this site, I have a good deal of patience and can stand to go through one or two tutorial levels to get through to some of the most clever, inventive, and downright fun platforming ever. The premade levels really inspire creation- once you've opened up the Create mode, you realize how much LittleBigPlanet is one of the finest games of this generation. Unlike some other reviewers on this site, I have a good deal of patience and can stand to go through one or two tutorial levels to get through to some of the most clever, inventive, and downright fun platforming ever. The premade levels really inspire creation- once you've opened up the Create mode, you realize how much inventiveness, talent, and beauty there is in this game. The controls are spot-on; don't listen to those idiots who say that the jumping is bad. If you can't figure out that you need to mash X to jump high, and tap X to hop a little, then you don't need to be gaming at all. My non-gaming girlfriend has a blast with the game, and not once has she blamed the game's physics for any mistakes she makes. In summary, LittleBigPlanet is one of the few games that, as you play it, will bring a smile to your face. It's really that good. Believe the hype, this is one game that deserves it. Expand
  50. DanielD
    Oct 5, 2009
    9
    This game caught my attention the moment I saw it, and it still does. It appeals to people of any age and the constant user generated levels keeps bringing me back. This game probably has the potential to have an infinite amount of lasting appeal because of how high creativity and imagination soars. It's not just a platformer, as many people say it is. Little Big Planet is so big This game caught my attention the moment I saw it, and it still does. It appeals to people of any age and the constant user generated levels keeps bringing me back. This game probably has the potential to have an infinite amount of lasting appeal because of how high creativity and imagination soars. It's not just a platformer, as many people say it is. Little Big Planet is so big that you can make a shooting level, puzzle level, music level, draw-on-a-piece-of-cardboard-level? Heck, I've even seen someone create a guitar hero concept. This game truly lived up to my expectations, and then some. The only problem I have is the online and the way people attempt to invite/join you in game. I'm hoping Mm can fix these problems as well as some data corruption, as they are very annoying. Other than that a terrific game that will keep people hooked for quite a while. Expand
  51. matthewMurphy
    Mar 11, 2009
    7
    If You're playing with at least 2 people, this game is a 10. If you're playing by yourself, it's a 5...so i met myself in the middle. Single player is definitely creative, but very monotonous. Grab a buddy, and the fun starts...and doesn't stop. Wierd, but that's the way it goes. Buy if you've got a couple buddies who will play with you.
  52. DaveC
    Apr 13, 2009
    5
    Dull, repetitive, shallow gameplay, made even worse by the unresponsive spongy controls - presumably the controls are bad to extend the life of the game as if it had decent controls you would easily fly through the levels in no time. Also, I'm willing to bet that most of the 9s and 10s reviewers are no longer playing this game as the novelty wears off very quickly. If you feel the Dull, repetitive, shallow gameplay, made even worse by the unresponsive spongy controls - presumably the controls are bad to extend the life of the game as if it had decent controls you would easily fly through the levels in no time. Also, I'm willing to bet that most of the 9s and 10s reviewers are no longer playing this game as the novelty wears off very quickly. If you feel the need to give it a go, rent it first. Expand
  53. ShawnD
    Jun 28, 2009
    1
    This game is not worth $60. It's a simple platforming game you would expect to see on a Sega Genesis or Super Nintendo, not a PS3. It's worth renting from the video store, but spending $60 is just a waste.
  54. GamingN
    Jul 27, 2009
    3
    Beginning gears you up for more than it obtained once you have created numerous sack outfits and personalities the hype has died out. The large multitude of levels and worlds to explore become so repetitive it is painful to finish. I definitely expected more from this game of my "dreams" however I experienced a daytime nightmare while I was awake.
  55. SeanMurphy
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    I've only had the game for less than a week and I can already firmly say that the game is one of the most engaging gaming experiences I've ever had. From the quirky, jaw-dropping graphics, to the remarkablly intuitive use of the entire PS3 controller for everything from game action, interactive pop-up menus, controls for Sackboy's arms, and even his expressions (an entireI've only had the game for less than a week and I can already firmly say that the game is one of the most engaging gaming experiences I've ever had. From the quirky, jaw-dropping graphics, to the remarkablly intuitive use of the entire PS3 controller for everything from game action, interactive pop-up menus, controls for Sackboy's arms, and even his expressions (an entire range of tongue out happy to open mouth crying based on up and down button pushes on the original directional buttons). The gameplay is based on the classic platformer (i.e. Mario/Crash etc.) but really takes it into the next generation of gaming with the gorgeous textures, lighting and fun to be had everywhere you look. The further you get into the game, the more items you collect. Items that can be used for everything from personalizing your Sackboy to your own tastes, to using those items and textures to create your own levels to play yourself or share via the PSN for everyone to enjoy your creativity. As long as your connected to the PSN at the end of challenges and/or levels a Hi-Score board is shown showing how your score ranks among the entire world, which brings back memories of classic arcade game leader boards. This game will surely be a system seller, and a very hot item this holiday season. If you own a PS3 you absolutely must own this game. This game will almost certainly serve as a touch point where video gaming went to another level. I can't wait to get home and continue with my journey. Expand
  56. MilesM
    Nov 18, 2008
    9
    Maybe game of the year. I only say maybe because of Fallout 3, which just barely beats this one out, IMHO.
    The platforming is a bit... floaty, as in the controls are not as precise as they should be, but the level creation is amazing, and probably the only reason to own this game. That said, it does have some limitations - which you will probably only see if you have played with a true
    Maybe game of the year. I only say maybe because of Fallout 3, which just barely beats this one out, IMHO.
    The platforming is a bit... floaty, as in the controls are not as precise as they should be, but the level creation is amazing, and probably the only reason to own this game. That said, it does have some limitations - which you will probably only see if you have played with a true 3D editor.
    If you own a PS3, you should have this game. It's probably the only reason to own Sony's black box (as of 11/08).
    Expand
  57. BobM.
    Oct 12, 2008
    7
    Good game but doesn't deliver on all fronts, Playing online is a lag fest, finding a usercreated level that is acutally good is unheard of, allows one to make their own level and use their creativity to guide them.
  58. joehasham
    Nov 30, 2008
    2
    this game drops from a 9/10 down to a 2/10 due to the killing of the user created contnet community by the developers over zealous moderation of user created contnet
    as it stands all the good levels in LBP have been deleted an blocked from being shared online again
    way to cut off the hand that feeds you
  59. TimL.
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    This is by far the most fun and inovative game in a very very long time.The games Textures are top notch,The possibilies are endless as is creative user levels,Its very charming and the narative can be extremly funny and witty,My only gripe about this game is the floaty controls,but that can be fixed via a patch .Overall I give this game a 9.9 rounded to 10,If your a PS3 owner this is a This is by far the most fun and inovative game in a very very long time.The games Textures are top notch,The possibilies are endless as is creative user levels,Its very charming and the narative can be extremly funny and witty,My only gripe about this game is the floaty controls,but that can be fixed via a patch .Overall I give this game a 9.9 rounded to 10,If your a PS3 owner this is a Must have! Expand
  60. TimD
    Oct 14, 2008
    7
    Standard platforming with poorly-implemented, overly-robust physics engine. User-generated content is a big plus, but level-design tools are weak, time-consuming, and condescending. It's not fun to make your own level - feels like a chore. The potential for greatness if users create amazing levels, but you can't score for potential... Cuteness factor will appeal to a large Standard platforming with poorly-implemented, overly-robust physics engine. User-generated content is a big plus, but level-design tools are weak, time-consuming, and condescending. It's not fun to make your own level - feels like a chore. The potential for greatness if users create amazing levels, but you can't score for potential... Cuteness factor will appeal to a large audience but likely turn off core gamers in a big way. Expand
  61. jimsmith
    Oct 14, 2008
    3
    This game is really dumb, it lacks any kind of story, and really fails to appeal to any kind of gamer over the age of 4. Do yourself a favor and pass on this one because it is nothing more than a waste of time. It seems the PS3 fails once again to claim a good exclusive.
  62. HiamM.
    Oct 15, 2008
    9
    I had the privilege of previewing this game a few days ago, and all I can say is that is like NOTHING you have ever played before. The integration of game development into user gameplay is genius and will keep you playing for a very long time. Great great value. Uniqueness at it's best.
  63. KyleY
    Nov 5, 2008
    9
    In the land of FPS/3PS and MMO's its about time a good platformer came out. All in all it's an amazing game, kept me hooked until the end of the boxed levels. Challenging and frustrating at points, but still playable. The replay factor is high because face it, you gotta get all those stickers and objects, as well as ace the levels. Playing online is a little laggy (horribly so In the land of FPS/3PS and MMO's its about time a good platformer came out. All in all it's an amazing game, kept me hooked until the end of the boxed levels. Challenging and frustrating at points, but still playable. The replay factor is high because face it, you gotta get all those stickers and objects, as well as ace the levels. Playing online is a little laggy (horribly so when you connect to the game occasionally). Most of the player made levels range from amazing to not bad, with very few terrible ones. All in all a very good game, and a must have for any real fan of platformers or level creation. Expand
  64. AaronChapman
    Nov 5, 2008
    0
    This game is absolute rubbish. I'm sure microsoft would of done a better job with this. The PS3 will never stand up to the XBox 360 and Wii, and i am ashamed to admit it as i am a PS3 owner.
    If you want to discuss this further, add me on msn : lil-azza@hotmail.com
    Or talk to me on myspace =]
  65. Lazlo
    Oct 18, 2008
    8
    Okay, I own a 360 but I also own a PS3 and Wii so don't claim that I'm just some fanboy. I loved this game (beta) in a lot of different ways, but disliked it in a lot too. The single-player levels were decent, a little boring and lacked any real heart, but decent nonetheless. The level editor was really cool. Some of the features seemed really odd, like limiting how much stuff Okay, I own a 360 but I also own a PS3 and Wii so don't claim that I'm just some fanboy. I loved this game (beta) in a lot of different ways, but disliked it in a lot too. The single-player levels were decent, a little boring and lacked any real heart, but decent nonetheless. The level editor was really cool. Some of the features seemed really odd, like limiting how much stuff you can put on an object, and not being able to change the color of the material w/o a sticker (seriously, what the crap?) but the creator overall was a blast. The only reason I give it a lower score is because the tools for a great game do necessarily make a great game. That's like saying a pile of lumber is awesome because it could be a huge mansion, or that a blank canvas and a bucket of paint is brilliant because it has the ability to be turned into a masterpiece. No, what the players do with those tools is great, not the tools themselves. I praise Media Molecule for offering such a rich tapestry of creation tools, but those alone do not make the game for me. Can't wait to play the final copy, though. Expand
  66. TomRadd
    Dec 1, 2008
    1
    OK, before I tell you what I think about the game let me briefly explain my background on this: Im a pretty 'early adopter' of the PS3 system. I like it a lot, enjoy many of the games. I feel from a general entertainment perspective (i.e. not just games, also video / internet / BluRay / etc etc), there is no comparable system on the market currently. I've been eagerly OK, before I tell you what I think about the game let me briefly explain my background on this: Im a pretty 'early adopter' of the PS3 system. I like it a lot, enjoy many of the games. I feel from a general entertainment perspective (i.e. not just games, also video / internet / BluRay / etc etc), there is no comparable system on the market currently. I've been eagerly anticipating LBP from day one. I instantly fell in love with the first trailers, the cute Sackboy character, the phantastic music score in the trailers. I have to admit, I then almost lost interest in the title, almost forgot about it, due to the constant launch delays. However when the game eventually came out, I felt I had to buy not. Not so much because I still really really wanted it bad, but because it was one of those titles I had 'planned' to buy ever since I bought my PS3 1.5 yrs ago. Oh, and another thing, I consider myself a gamer who enjoys new game concepts. I think there's nothing more exciting than experiencing a new and well-crafted game concept that tries something new in an inspired and well-devised way. I'm even ready to accept a number of flaws in a game, if I can tell that the underlying concept is really exciting and new. (Point in case: Assassin's Creed - certainly a game with quite a number of flaws, but the general underlying idea ist great. Even though the game has issues, I could still enjoy it a lot due to its general 'vision' that simply clicked with me.) OK, so I bought LBP. First letdown when I looked at the info on the game box: it's only 720p!!! Somehow, I think from the trailers, I was under the impression this was a 1080p game. Not the case.
    Huge disappointment! But what the heck, I thought, let's move on. So I installed it. To make things short: I invested about two sessions of about 45 minutes each into this thing, and I dont't think I'll ever play it again. It's one of the most boringt bits of software / games / whatever I've ever played. As a matter of fact, I haven't even gotten past the first few tutorial levels (at least I assume that I was still in a tutorial environment, as it felt like one). I have never even gotten the chance of playing an actual level or one of those 'user generated levels' simply because I DIDNT GET THERE!!! The tutorial is incredibly boring, most of the time your character just stands around watching unbelievably long explanatory videos with a narrator that talks soooooo slow... I probably should've gotten suspicious in the very beginning when the opening credits where mostly a gallery of photographs (!!!!!!) of the development team... Anyway... Bottom line: what we have got here is what happens when clever developers show a cute little demo with a cute little character (Sackboy) to some marketing guys, tell them a lot of bull about user generated content blah blah social networking blah blah 'the youtube of the gamers community' blah blah... I think Sony is just generally pretty open to that kind of bull (point in case: Home -- I BET by now this is going to be the next big boring disappointment -- at least the symptoms are the same: feels right at first sight, then launch date is pushed more and more...). The only thing that really worries me about all this (apart from the fact that I should've spent my money for something else) is that the game keeps getting all these phantastic high scores. What is wrong with these reviewers? Are they all bribed or are they afraid they're considerd "not cool" if they do not give this game 100%??? End of text. Oh, why do I rate this game "1" instead of "0"? There's one really nice background tune in the game. I liked that. Shame it's the best part about the game.
    Expand
  67. Scott
    Dec 29, 2008
    5
    First of all, I am not a 360 fan trying to lower the score of this game. In fact, I don't even own a 360. That said, I do not see what all the hype is about. So far I've finished single player, downloaded a few levels, and made a few of my own. None of this was as much fun as it was cracked up to be, so I went to multiplayer. Multiplayer with your buddies is pretty fun, First of all, I am not a 360 fan trying to lower the score of this game. In fact, I don't even own a 360. That said, I do not see what all the hype is about. So far I've finished single player, downloaded a few levels, and made a few of my own. None of this was as much fun as it was cracked up to be, so I went to multiplayer. Multiplayer with your buddies is pretty fun, I'll admit. If you plan on playing with anonymous players, look elsewhere. See, there's a gate at the beginning of each level. Once someone crosses this gate, anyone else who joins the game is forced to sit and watch, and cannot play with the group. This results in common occurrences where you'll join 10-20 games in a row, only to not be able to play, and be expected to sit and watch. It's absolutely absurd! There are checkpoints everywhere, and you ought to be able to join in at the next checkpoint! I figured this was how it worked, since in single player I was completely baffled by how many checkpoints there were. Then I figured that is must be so players can join in with little waiting. Wrong! What's left is an okay game. Not great, not even good, but okay. It's still fun to round up a few friends and run through some levels, but with such a focus on community, I really looked forward to playing with some fellow PS3 owners out in the wild, and the game practically hates you for trying to do that. I'm giving it a 5, because that was THE aspect I was most excited for in this game, and it's completely butchered. I'm not much of a level creator, as this literally takes hours to accomplish and I just do not have that kind of time. That said, it is a very robust editor if you're willing to devote hours on end to finishing your work. All in all, without a doubt my biggest disappointment this year. I was really excited to give this game a try, and it's not anything like it was cracked up to be. I've seen nothing but acclaim for this game, and I seriously wonder what I'm missing. Sure it's cute, sure it's charming, but so are games like Ratchet & Clank Future, and that game has character, and a good story, and great voice acting, and tremendous amounts of fun. This has creativity, but falls flat on its face in all other aspects. I would strongly suggest renting this game first, as I wish I had. Expand
  68. HarryJ.
    Oct 23, 2008
    1
    The first time you play it or see it, it impress a lot, the "infinite posibilities", but thats all. It gets really boring if we assume that everybody is not a born level creator, without the level creator it sucks. the game is pretty, but i dont think it deserves a perfect score.
  69. AndrewR.
    Oct 23, 2008
    0
    I am very disapointed with LBP. I was in the beta and was impressed with the detail of the visuals. Thats it. It was kind of fun to play but very repetative. Also very offensive to some americans. I played one level where I flew a plane into the world trade center and onother where I had to escape off the top of the wtc building only to find every escape led to certain death. Because of I am very disapointed with LBP. I was in the beta and was impressed with the detail of the visuals. Thats it. It was kind of fun to play but very repetative. Also very offensive to some americans. I played one level where I flew a plane into the world trade center and onother where I had to escape off the top of the wtc building only to find every escape led to certain death. Because of these levels I have to vote the game 0/10 because of the recall over "offensive quran quotes". Even though I was excited to play originally I have canceled my preorder and I will be stayin clear of this game whos with me? Expand
  70. RyanA.
    Oct 24, 2008
    0
    See those older 5-star reviews from 2007 (one year before the game was released)? Well, they had a reason to be excited. LBP was supposed to be a revolutionary experience. Fast forward two years and here we have the finished product, ready to be installed on our hard drives. First of all, the game incorporates a draconian DRM system that requires you to activate over the internet, and See those older 5-star reviews from 2007 (one year before the game was released)? Well, they had a reason to be excited. LBP was supposed to be a revolutionary experience. Fast forward two years and here we have the finished product, ready to be installed on our hard drives. First of all, the game incorporates a draconian DRM system that requires you to activate over the internet, and limits you to a grand total of 3 activations. If you reach that limit, then you'll have to call Sony in order to add one extra activation. That's not as simple as it sounds, since when you reach that point Sony will assume that you, the paying customer, are a filthy pirating thief. You will need to provide proof of purchase, reasons why the limit was reached, etc, etc (it has all happened before with another recent Sony product, Home). Sony, of course, is not obligated to grant you that extra activation or even provide that service. In a couple of years they might very well even shut down the general activation servers, because "it's not financially feasible" to keep them running. What you will be left with is a nice, colorful $50 coaster. And you will be required to pay for another copy/license if you want to continue playing. This basically means that you are actually RENTING the game, instead of owning it. The game WILL stop to function in the future. That's inevitable, because even if Sony keeps the activation servers going, there IS going to be a time when Sony will simply cease to exist because of financial issues or federal laws (like most businesses eventually do). Second, the game was dumbed down to oblivion. Stickers don'tt even matter anymore. For example, you can add as many stickers to a creature as you want, but the multi-sticker creature won't be any faster than a single-sticker one with higher leg stats. This gameplay element makes "creating" your creatures entirely pointless (cosmetic only, because everything is based on stats), and brings you about the same amount of excitement as dressing up a sack doll. Metal Gear Solid 4 was a disappointment, I'm selling my PS3 one ebay to pay for a gaming PC. Expand
  71. MarkyMark
    Oct 24, 2008
    0
    The game is a bit too much childish. All you do is create scrolling level and not fully 3-d and on top of that, the controls for the charcater is floaty. Don not buy this lame level creator, buy a true game creator for your PC to actually create something worth playing.
  72. TD.
    Oct 25, 2008
    0
    This game is the absolutely the dumbest idea ever. Besides the 10% of gamers who actually have the time to waste to create levels, no one will play this game. All it is, is a stupid old washed up platformer! This game blows!!!
  73. CliffL.
    Oct 25, 2008
    1
    Wow it is like the single player mode from smash brothers on the GC - what is the point in 2008? i wanna play games that have nice graphics and new gamplay - or massive guns and chainsaws.
  74. NANA
    Oct 26, 2008
    0
    First this game is made by the people that made rag doll rag doll kung fu a Half-life 2 mod. Then theres Garry's mod which is also a Half-life 2 mod and a addon for it called wire mod. So there is absolutely no way the developers can say they did not ripe off garry mod they worked on a mod for the same game so they had to of seen it more likely played it. Just you tube "garrys mod"First this game is made by the people that made rag doll rag doll kung fu a Half-life 2 mod. Then theres Garry's mod which is also a Half-life 2 mod and a addon for it called wire mod. So there is absolutely no way the developers can say they did not ripe off garry mod they worked on a mod for the same game so they had to of seen it more likely played it. Just you tube "garrys mod" and you will see.
    And for a game that is getting so much credit for being innovative its just really messed up that so few know about garrys mod if they did they would not be thinking this game was so inavative and just a rip off.

    Please pass this on to other.
    Expand
  75. Dustin
    Oct 27, 2008
    9
    This is a fantastic game. Do not look at the user rating, it does not reflect the simplicity in design but the power in which it gives the users in this game. Its fun and accessible. Simple to learn, hard to master.
  76. JayH.
    Oct 29, 2008
    3
    There's nothing more to be said that hasn't been said before. It's a simple platformer with a level editor. I find the game harder than it should be because of the extremely loose controls and physics. Infuriating in some instances. The story mode cannot be played completely by a single person and every attempt to play online results in failure. However, I seem to be able There's nothing more to be said that hasn't been said before. It's a simple platformer with a level editor. I find the game harder than it should be because of the extremely loose controls and physics. Infuriating in some instances. The story mode cannot be played completely by a single person and every attempt to play online results in failure. However, I seem to be able to play community levels just fine. This game went from "I must beat it NOW!" to "If I get a few minutes I'll play it" very quickly. The level editor is nice, if you've got the patience. Expand
  77. S.D.
    Nov 13, 2009
    9
    Anyone who gives this game a score of 7 or less simply hasnt either played it or is too thick skinned to appreciate it, LittleBigPlanet is a true gem among the games of this generation, I continue to be astounded at how innovative and powerful the CREATE mode is. Along with MGS4 and Uncharted 1/2 its right up there with the best PS3 exclusives.
  78. timh
    Nov 3, 2009
    5
    This game is simply over rated. There is really nothing in this game that hasnt been done b4 except customizable sack people. After the first three levels, it gets extremely repetitive. and after u get through the crappy campaign, there is the level designer. this is for the patient. i often find myself looking through multiple lists to find what i am looking for, a simple platform. Sure This game is simply over rated. There is really nothing in this game that hasnt been done b4 except customizable sack people. After the first three levels, it gets extremely repetitive. and after u get through the crappy campaign, there is the level designer. this is for the patient. i often find myself looking through multiple lists to find what i am looking for, a simple platform. Sure there is online, but its still more of the same run, jump, and grab onto random sponges as the campaign, only now with random people. This game does not deserve to be the 3rd highest rated PS3 game by any means. It doesn't even deserve a ranking in the top 15. Please don't trust the critics. this game is boring. so many people say the replay value is high. its not. like i said the multiplayer introduces nothing new. it adds a little more challenge over the long and pointless single player(or single machine multiplayer) campaign. trust me. if u want ur moneys worth, get a long game with a gripping story. might i reccomend orange box or the Fallout 3 Game of the year edition. both great values. Expand
  79. TimT.
    Mar 14, 2009
    9
    This game is for dedicated gamers. The kiddish, cutesy look may turn off some gamers, but they should look beyond that into the real gem in this game. The tools provided in this game, not to mention the physics system, allow many creative levels to be made.Those who are dedicated creators and artists will spend almost limitless hours into this game. Those who prefer to be more passive in This game is for dedicated gamers. The kiddish, cutesy look may turn off some gamers, but they should look beyond that into the real gem in this game. The tools provided in this game, not to mention the physics system, allow many creative levels to be made.Those who are dedicated creators and artists will spend almost limitless hours into this game. Those who prefer to be more passive in the creative process can go online and play the beautiful and fun levels that others created. Without online, you can play around with the physics system, and the levels that are already on the games made from the creators may spark your creative side. And with a friend online or off the longevity of this game will practically be doubled.Those who are too "hardcore" for this game are probably just too self conscious about what their friends think about them playing a game with kiddy graphics.But those who are willing to try it will truly be satisfied. Expand
  80. CiaranW
    Mar 31, 2009
    9
    Yes its good, but the campaign gets boring if you are not playing with a friend. The levels on the community search will never get old though, because there is such a variety. The Level creator is the highlight of the game, creating you own vehicles, enemys and obstacles is really rewarding. But this still shouldn't have beaten Killzone.
  81. P.R.
    Aug 12, 2009
    8
    It's a very very fun game for 6 hours. By then you've finished the single player and you got bored of the multiplayer. Maybe its because I don't know anyone else who plays on playstation network. IDK, but if you like making levels go for it. Hopefully you won't get bored like me.
  82. dsg
    Nov 16, 2008
    9
    I have realised that almost all of the comments that give this game a low score are written in a childish manner and are (in some cases) completely irrelevant to the game. I have a suspicion that too many people believed that this game would have them drooling over their mothers lap in amazement. If you are going to buy a game please look to see what it is like and if you don't likeI have realised that almost all of the comments that give this game a low score are written in a childish manner and are (in some cases) completely irrelevant to the game. I have a suspicion that too many people believed that this game would have them drooling over their mothers lap in amazement. If you are going to buy a game please look to see what it is like and if you don't like it don't ruin the reveiws. Another suspicion is that xbox fanboys have tried to ruin the game's reveiws out of spite. The game is brilliant, the graphics are superb, the physics are solid and the game has a happy, fun feel to it. If you want to be childish don't ruin this game for everyone else please. Expand
  83. JordanL.
    Nov 25, 2008
    7
    It's cute... but after the hype machine leaves you're left with a game that's really pretty unremarkable. The construction set is incredibly deep and that's cool... but if you aren't interested in building anything and just want to play a game you'll find the actual play pretty mundane. It's a platform game. Nothing we haven't seen a couple thousand It's cute... but after the hype machine leaves you're left with a game that's really pretty unremarkable. The construction set is incredibly deep and that's cool... but if you aren't interested in building anything and just want to play a game you'll find the actual play pretty mundane. It's a platform game. Nothing we haven't seen a couple thousand times before. Expand
  84. chrisestes
    Nov 28, 2008
    0
    Just played online. It is terrible. This game is all hype. A certain type of payola obviously exists in the gaming world. If you want a game where you can build your own levels, buy Excite Bike. If you are thinking about buying this game, please rent it first. -That way you will only be out $5. There is a reason you cannot demo this game online - if you could you would never buy it.
  85. FrankZ
    Dec 27, 2008
    5
    I seriously do not understand why all the critics are crazy about this game. I simply found it as an average platform game. The fact that you can "design" your own levels is not a new concept and has been around for several years. I think the reviewers are being a bit bias towards this game for some reason. If you are looking for a great platformer, I suggest Super Mario Galaxy. This game I seriously do not understand why all the critics are crazy about this game. I simply found it as an average platform game. The fact that you can "design" your own levels is not a new concept and has been around for several years. I think the reviewers are being a bit bias towards this game for some reason. If you are looking for a great platformer, I suggest Super Mario Galaxy. This game is average at best. Expand
  86. Mar 24, 2011
    8
    sound idea i thought when i heard about this game . it for the most part pulls it off you can build the side scrolling platformer of your dreams if you have the talant and patiance to work on it . playing some of the levels other people made is just amazing i was really wowed by some of them . the story mode is ok and the co op is a nice idea but wasnt implemented in the best waysound idea i thought when i heard about this game . it for the most part pulls it off you can build the side scrolling platformer of your dreams if you have the talant and patiance to work on it . playing some of the levels other people made is just amazing i was really wowed by some of them . the story mode is ok and the co op is a nice idea but wasnt implemented in the best way especially when the main person has camera . every one should have had there own when playing online . there is alot of custimaztion you can do to your sack boy and give him a real look unto him self . controls are pretty good although i wish you could jump alittle higher . if you are a big platforming fan you will most likey fall in love with LBP. Expand
  87. Sep 6, 2010
    5
    i think this game is your average platformer that is fun for about a week then goes stale like clams. It is extremely overrated. i only reccomend picking this up if you have kids 4-7. i have more fun with super monkey ballllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll
  88. Oct 5, 2010
    6
    I am very neutral about LittleBigPlanet. The character designs and the variety of special features are impressive, but I still feel this game is slightly overrated. I wouldn't say LittleBiPlanet is a bad game, I'm just saying if you aren't into the platformer genre, then it's best to just stay away.
  89. Dec 20, 2010
    5
    This game consists of jumping around, collecting things, and simple physics based platforming. Yes you can customize basically everything and build your own levels and whatnot, but after everything it's just jumping and collecting things. I'm 19, and this game is boring. I don't expect anyone past the age of 13 to really enjoy this game.
  90. Jan 25, 2011
    6
    This game was a huge disappointment for me. I bought it right away for hefty price of 60 Euro because I had read all those positive reviews in magazines and all the hype on the internet over the LittleBigPlanet. The campaign was a lot of fun but way too short and too easy. It's fun playing a platformer with 4 people, but the lag that came with it was horrible and some of those people wereThis game was a huge disappointment for me. I bought it right away for hefty price of 60 Euro because I had read all those positive reviews in magazines and all the hype on the internet over the LittleBigPlanet. The campaign was a lot of fun but way too short and too easy. It's fun playing a platformer with 4 people, but the lag that came with it was horrible and some of those people were real idiots, ruining the game for the rest of us. The online levels were fun for a day, then they just lost their appeal. The most fun in the game was the editing of your sackboy, differentiating it from everyone else's sackboy, but even that gets boring after a while. Expand
  91. Jul 9, 2011
    9
    A great PS3 exclusive even almost 3 years after its release. There is no real story here because the game really only relies on gameplay: platforming. For a platformer, this game is a hit because of the level designs. The mission creator is also sweet because of its potential and how innovative it is. LBP is a great game to check out and must I say that the Sackboy characters are kind of cute!
  92. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    A revolutionary platformer and a joy to play.The user created content is among the very best there is and I recommend this to anyone who wants a bit of fun without shooting or hacking something to death.(Just for something different)
  93. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    My personal game experience with it leaves me bored. Why do I give it such a high score? Because my wife and two daughters, age 5 and 4, are enthralled with it. They have had many hours of fun playing together (plays up to four players!). Dressing them up is a big charm for them. It's definitely a chick-game, but I've seen the results of how much it is enjoyed.
  94. Apr 3, 2011
    7
    i think that this game is alright with its fun gamplay in story mode and cute graphics and i also love all the different possibilities for the outfit your sack boy can wear but the online is lacking and i find it more fun to play a couple levels in story mode with a couple friends that are actually in the room with me. all in all its all right and is defenatly worth playing and you willi think that this game is alright with its fun gamplay in story mode and cute graphics and i also love all the different possibilities for the outfit your sack boy can wear but the online is lacking and i find it more fun to play a couple levels in story mode with a couple friends that are actually in the room with me. all in all its all right and is defenatly worth playing and you will have a blast playing just be warned this game can get boring just playing by yourself Expand
  95. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    Charming and endearing little sack boys, they're so cute. The platforming is not the best or clever but it's far from entertaining , getting the responsibility to find the stickers add more content to the already lot of fun. Customizing your Sackboy is addictive, and pulls you to combine with all the clothes. Neat
  96. May 1, 2011
    9
    Great to play and have fun novelty for a long time, create their own doing something really cool, fun without limits, your imagination will take you where the best games quiser.One of the best when it was released.90
  97. May 9, 2011
    9
    I don't why there is alot fuss from the users that are reviewing LittleBigPlanet! It's a great game! The Graphics seem dated but are still good, I love the controls, Creation mode is really innovative and plus you can play other user created levels, how cool is that!!! So screw you bad taste, screw you.
  98. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    A revolutionary game which gives the power of creation to the user. The story levels are fun and challenging. However you get the best experience by playing the plethora of user created levels. Some of them are absolutely breathtaking. It is astonishing that you can go back to this game after a few months and still have lots to do, since there are new fantastic levels created by peopleA revolutionary game which gives the power of creation to the user. The story levels are fun and challenging. However you get the best experience by playing the plethora of user created levels. Some of them are absolutely breathtaking. It is astonishing that you can go back to this game after a few months and still have lots to do, since there are new fantastic levels created by people around the world. Highly recommended for all PS3 users. Expand
  99. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    A platformer with puzzle elements, Little Big Planet has certainly grabbed my attention. The 3D side scrolling style certainly has a charm that many will not find in other games of the same genre.

    It's amazing how this game includes physics in it's simple gameplay. Even though LBP may seem childish at first, it does challenge the player quite heavily, especially towards the end. With the
    A platformer with puzzle elements, Little Big Planet has certainly grabbed my attention. The 3D side scrolling style certainly has a charm that many will not find in other games of the same genre.

    It's amazing how this game includes physics in it's simple gameplay. Even though LBP may seem childish at first, it does challenge the player quite heavily, especially towards the end. With the option to play with 3 others, totally 4 players, this can include everyone in the room. The game mechanics are simple: grab, run, and jump. There are many moments when you have to time the combination of the three, and it's truly fantastic. Level designs are top notch and can have players smiling after solving a complex puzzle. There is a great amount of satisfaction to be had while running in and out of each level, yet there is more to be had with LBP numerous features, such as a level editor and a giant community of literally hundreds of thousands of levels to be downloaded. The characters can be edited beyond your imagination and it's incredibly fun to do so. The level editor may have it's flaws, but can be ignored when most creative ideas can be implemented and made possible. This is a must have for any PS3 owner.
    Expand
  100. Oct 1, 2012
    2
    Little credit can be ascribed to this title. Its appearance and overall tone is ugly. It is not for everyone at all, and is very childish and patronising even though it's not aimed specifically at children. They really couldn't have done worse in terms of graphical style, characters and context. While levels and gameplay elements can vary, the actual difference controls-wise is notLittle credit can be ascribed to this title. Its appearance and overall tone is ugly. It is not for everyone at all, and is very childish and patronising even though it's not aimed specifically at children. They really couldn't have done worse in terms of graphical style, characters and context. While levels and gameplay elements can vary, the actual difference controls-wise is not noticeable. It is a VERY boring platformer and brings almost no new innovations to the classic genre. It may be co-operative but it isn't fun, has one of the cheesiest and worst soundtracks and overall it's neither challenging, satisfying nor fun to play. I don't see why critics are praising this game, other than its lousy attempt at making a 7th-gen platformer for the masses. Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 85
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 85
  3. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    100
    There simply isn't anything else like LBP on any system, anywhere. It's a beautifully elegant and powerful creative tool that puts unlimited potential in the palm of your hand. [Nov 2008, p.92]
  2. We're just happy to see a flagship game for a modern system that's about running from left to right and jumping over things. New ideas are great, great old ideas are better, and LittleBigPlanet has both: it's the future and the past of videogames, rolled into one.
  3. Little Big Planet is revolutionary thanks to its flexible, fun and powerful editor. Creating a quality level takes time but the feeling of achievement is overwhelming. A must for everyone who loves creativity or likes to explore what the creativity of a passionate community can produce.