• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 85 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5059 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In LittleBigPlanet Players meet on a blue and green planet scattered with individual plots – and use their character's amazing abilities to play, create and share what they build with other gamers throughout the world via the Playstation Network. The LittleBigPlanet experience starts with players learning about their character’s powers to interact physically with the environment. There are places to explore, creative resources to collect and puzzles to solve – all requiring a combination of brains and collaborative teamwork. As soon as players begin their creative skills will grow and they will soon be ready to start creating and modifying their surroundings – the first step to sharing them with the whole community.Characters have the power to move anything in this glued and stitched-together 3D landscape; they have the power to design, shape and build both objects and entire locations for others to view and play. There’s no complicated level editor; all of these skills can be learned by simply playing the game. Creativity is part of the gameplay experience and playing is part of the creative experience. Players can make their world as open or as secretive to explore as they like. When it’s ready, they can invite anyone within the LittleBigPlanet community to come and explore their patch – or can go and explore everybody else's. [SCEA] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 85
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 85
  3. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. LittleBigPlanet is a beautiful, happy, extremely eye-pleasing game that will put a smile on anyone's face who plays or merely watches it. Like Sackboy himself, it's impossible to not find the game both attractive and aesthetically pleasing.
  2. Yes, it's the most charming game I've ever played, and it's one of the most enjoyable. [Dec 2008, p.72]
  3. It’s a multiplayer riot, a visual landmark, a feat of engineering, and one of the most charming games ever made. But even those accolades are dwarfed by its scope, its potential, and the apparent endlessness of them both. [Dec 2008, p.76]
  4. This game is a true delight, making us point proudly to our PS3 and say "THIS is why I play video games."
  5. LittleBigPlanet is a fantastic game. It's a great platformer with incredible artistic direction and sound, and with some great gameplay to back it up.
  6. The idea around the Sackboy is great - and the gameplay also - easy and intuitive. A game for the young and the old, which can also be a competitor for the Wii.
  7. Having a continuous supply of new levels helps LittleBigPlanet remain fresh – there’s always something new to fool around with, even though there are plenty of half-assed levels out there.

See all 85 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 425
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Not as big little planet, can be as little note to users. For me it is one of the best games of this generation.
    The story perhaps, could be
    improved ... But what this game is a masterpiece.
    In these times, innovate for me is the best. Many do not dare, play it safe .. SHOOTERS.
    In order to ensure sales ...
    instead there are companies, such as "Media Molecule" that take risks, and eventually make a great game.
    As "little big planet"
    Expand
  2. KevinLoiselle
    Nov 28, 2008
    10
    a must buy for any REAL PS3 owner, this game can be fun for little kids, but can be even more fun for adults who can use the level creator. Even if you are not into creating levels, people have already made some great levels, Gradius remake! Don't believe those zero rating reviews, they don't realize the point of this game is to have fun, not just blow stuff up like all the other games, and FPSs Expand
  3. AReviewer
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    I'm in the beta; great so far, and all previews and reviews suggest the full release will be even better. It's extremely disheartening to see bitter 360 fanboys out in force to lower the rating for such a great game. Any rating below an 8 is made by a fanboy of a rival console who has never played the game, and has no intention to. Expand
  4. May 5, 2012
    10
    This is definitely in my "Top 5" List. This game was the reason I wanted a PS3 so badly. It's for Kids, but Adults too! Kids will love going through the multiple obstacle courses throughout the game, and if they're good at that, making levels of their own will be even more fun! I highly recommend this game for all players with a PS3! Expand
  5. May 9, 2012
    9
    LittleBigPlanet haves it unique gameplay, that makes this game great, and haves some clever puzzles, in single player, even in multiplayer. In multiplayer you can create your own levels, and edit your avatars. Sometimes the game gets boring and repetitive, but that's a rare thing. (9.4) Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2011
    8
    sound idea i thought when i heard about this game . it for the most part pulls it off you can build the side scrolling platformer of your dreams if you have the talant and patiance to work on it . playing some of the levels other people made is just amazing i was really wowed by some of them . the story mode is ok and the co op is a nice idea but wasnt implemented in the best way especially when the main person has camera . every one should have had there own when playing online . there is alot of custimaztion you can do to your sack boy and give him a real look unto him self . controls are pretty good although i wish you could jump alittle higher . if you are a big platforming fan you will most likey fall in love with LBP. Expand
  7. JackJ.
    Oct 23, 2008
    0
    A huge disappointment in my imo, and what happens? Everybody on the web posts a review of at least a score of 8 just because everybody else reviewed this game good. This is just like MGS4 (which was a great game), it also happened with Haze, if IGN gave the game a good rating, everybody else whould have kissed up to them. Expand

See all 425 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Disconnect: When Gamers Disagree With Critics

    The Disconnect: When Gamers Disagree With Critics Image
    Published: May 4, 2011
    The release of Portal 2 exposed a divide between game critics and users. While that title's user scores have rebounded, others haven't. We take a look at the games with the biggest score differentials between professional reviewers and gamers.