LittleBigPlanet PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
LittleBigPlanet Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 85 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5269 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In LittleBigPlanet Players meet on a blue and green planet scattered with individual plots – and use their character's amazing abilities to play, create and share what they build with other gamers throughout the world via the Playstation Network. The LittleBigPlanet experience starts withIn LittleBigPlanet Players meet on a blue and green planet scattered with individual plots – and use their character's amazing abilities to play, create and share what they build with other gamers throughout the world via the Playstation Network. The LittleBigPlanet experience starts with players learning about their character’s powers to interact physically with the environment. There are places to explore, creative resources to collect and puzzles to solve – all requiring a combination of brains and collaborative teamwork. As soon as players begin their creative skills will grow and they will soon be ready to start creating and modifying their surroundings – the first step to sharing them with the whole community.Characters have the power to move anything in this glued and stitched-together 3D landscape; they have the power to design, shape and build both objects and entire locations for others to view and play. There’s no complicated level editor; all of these skills can be learned by simply playing the game. Creativity is part of the gameplay experience and playing is part of the creative experience. Players can make their world as open or as secretive to explore as they like. When it’s ready, they can invite anyone within the LittleBigPlanet community to come and explore their patch – or can go and explore everybody else's. [SCEA] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 85
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 85
  3. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    It's too early yet to declare a new era or direction in gaming, but LittleBigPlanet feels like the birth of a revolution; like through sharing our collective creativity we'll somehow become better, stronger, closer to each other. [Holiday 2008, p.56]
  2. 100
    Consider the purchase of your PS3 more than justified.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    100
    There simply isn't anything else like LBP on any system, anywhere. It's a beautifully elegant and powerful creative tool that puts unlimited potential in the palm of your hand. [Nov 2008, p.92]
  4. This game belongs in every single PS3 owner's collection. It's that good.
  5. 94
    LittleBigPlanet is certainly more difficult to master than we first imagined, but it pays off on its promise and then some. Media Molecule has created a game that deserves to take the world by storm, and this really is just the beginning.
  6. Play. Create. Share. These three simple words make up developer Media Molecule’s little big blueprint for a charming and unique game that wonderfully brings out the creative side in people. Apparently there are already plans for a sequel, but I can’t imagine how the developers can possibly top this.
  7. Having a continuous supply of new levels helps LittleBigPlanet remain fresh – there’s always something new to fool around with, even though there are plenty of half-assed levels out there.

See all 85 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 440
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Not as big little planet, can be as little note to users. For me it is one of the best games of this generation.
    The story perhaps, could be
    Not as big little planet, can be as little note to users. For me it is one of the best games of this generation.
    The story perhaps, could be improved ... But what this game is a masterpiece.
    In these times, innovate for me is the best. Many do not dare, play it safe .. SHOOTERS.
    In order to ensure sales ...
    instead there are companies, such as "Media Molecule" that take risks, and eventually make a great game.
    As "little big planet"
    Expand
  2. stu
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    I gave it 10. Its a 10 because this game is amazing. I have not felt like this about a game since playing Jet Set Willy in 1984!!! This gameI gave it 10. Its a 10 because this game is amazing. I have not felt like this about a game since playing Jet Set Willy in 1984!!! This game took me back to the joy of playing games. It's what gaming should be about, it should be fun, it should be about playing with a mate, it should take your imagination for a ride that you wont forget. Thats what LBP does and it does it brilliantly!!! You must get this game. Expand
  3. ChrisN.
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    I rate this game a 10 simply because, while I was playing the beta I couldn't remember a time when a video game made me more happy than I rate this game a 10 simply because, while I was playing the beta I couldn't remember a time when a video game made me more happy than little big planet. Whether you are creating your own world or playing around in someone else' world, there simply is no end to the joy in which this game brings forth. Expand
  4. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    A Very good game, the fact that you have to Co-Operate in levels helps with friendship. but the thing is, there are 2x zones that require 2A Very good game, the fact that you have to Co-Operate in levels helps with friendship. but the thing is, there are 2x zones that require 2 players, 3x zones that require 3 players. and 4x zones, that will get annoying. you need 4 controllers to get through those. and controllers are $50 each. 50 x 4 = $200... which is $100 cheaper than the most expensive type of PS3, it's ridiculous. But what makes up for that is the DLC(Downloadable content) such as POTC(Pirates of the Caribbean) and MGS(Metal Gear Solid). Those add new levels to play. and with Online gaming, the fun is infinite expanded. with community levels, made by other people, there's like 100 new ones per day. The really really REALLY annoying thing is the massive amounts of Back-Tracking. There are switch triggers where you need a certain sticker to get items, which those you don't get until a later level. Like let's say you're missing some stickers due to switch triggers, 20 levels later you find it, than have to go back to that level and beat it again. than that switch trigger gives you more switch triggers, and on and on and on. some switch triggers you have to go through2,3,and 4x zones to get. The conclusion: i give this game. a 9.9 :) have fun, and totally get this game. let's say you have your own ideas than you can make your ideas in your levels! you can make rockets,cars, everything. in the level editor, now go to gamestop/wal*mart and get this game........ WHY ARE YOU STILL READING THIS!!!! GO GET IT! Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    I cant believe this game has a 6.6 currently. Littlebigplanet is innovative, exciting, fresh and although its occasionally frustrating, itsI cant believe this game has a 6.6 currently. Littlebigplanet is innovative, exciting, fresh and although its occasionally frustrating, its just fun!! The level creator is great, and how can you hate the sackboy?? No character has been this heartwarming since Yoshi from the mario series. Fokes you need to try this game, its not just for kids its very challenging. Please for your sake at least rent Littlebigplanet. Expand
  6. FelipeL
    Dec 1, 2009
    8
    Very good game, with great visual, and easy controls, good internet content wich makes it the best suported psn game containing countless Very good game, with great visual, and easy controls, good internet content wich makes it the best suported psn game containing countless stages created by the gamers themselves. woths its value Expand
  7. JackJ.
    Oct 23, 2008
    0
    A huge disappointment in my imo, and what happens? Everybody on the web posts a review of at least a score of 8 just because everybody else A huge disappointment in my imo, and what happens? Everybody on the web posts a review of at least a score of 8 just because everybody else reviewed this game good. This is just like MGS4 (which was a great game), it also happened with Haze, if IGN gave the game a good rating, everybody else whould have kissed up to them. Expand

See all 440 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Disconnect: When Gamers Disagree With Critics

    The Disconnect: When Gamers Disagree With Critics Image
    Published: May 4, 2011
    The release of Portal 2 exposed a divide between game critics and users. While that title's user scores have rebounded, others haven't. We take a look at the games with the biggest score differentials between professional reviewers and gamers.