Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Jun 15, 2012
    60
    All in all the atmosphere and the high pace in Lollipop Chainsaw are enough to make the first run-through of approximately six hours rather enjoyable, with certain slumps and peaks. But low replay ability and childish humor drag the show down like an anchor.
  2. Jun 14, 2012
    60
    Lollipop Chainsaw is a nice candy piece, a love-apple, cute like its main character Juliet, and one that Suda51's fans will be delighted to swallow in a single afternoon of play. But once the sugar's been digested, don't expect any chewing-gum core to keep you going: it's a short, one-time thing, that has both the qualities and shortcomings of all Suda51's games.
  3. 60
    Make no mistake, I think Lollipop Chainsaw is immensely entertaining, has plenty of laughs and offers a presentation and a concept so twisted that you'll really miss out on somethingby not playing it. But the actual gameplay is completely ordinary and average.
  4. Jun 27, 2012
    55
    Even for a budget title, Lollipop Chainsaw has plenty of shortcomings. Repetitive combat, bland levels and an insistence on sexual humour will leave many players disappointed. That said, it does produce a few moments worthy of your time.
  5. Jul 2, 2012
    50
    Lacks expertise in all-important areas. But hey, there's a cheerleader and she's got a chainsaw. [Aug 2012, p.100]
  6. 50
    You can forgive the shoddy dialogue and lame jokes as that is what they were going for, but you cannot forgive rather boring combat, a short game, and absolutely zero replay value.
  7. Jun 14, 2012
    50
    Lollipop Chainsaw doesn't even attempt to differentiate itself from the genre, and most of what it does try new in the realm of its characters and writing ultimately ends up taking away from an incredible-on-paper action game.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 173 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 47
  2. Negative: 5 out of 47
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    this game is so good so funny gory too with alot of swearing and skimpy outfit i love it she next larry croft only she teenage cheerleader............................................................................ Full Review »
  2. Jun 13, 2012
    5
    I *really* wanted to like this game. The concept is hilarious. The artwork and the voice acting are also excellent. I was hoping this would feel something like an early Buffy episode with more chutzpah and zombies. Here's the problem. The gameplay stinks. Basically you have one wave of zombies after another, mash some control buttons to execute random combos, knock down the zombies then move on. Batman Arkham city was a bit button mashy like this but there you had much more scope for positioning, tactics and you really felt like you were reacting to attacks and planning out how to take down groups carefully. Here it's just mash square, circle, triangle then move on. This gets boring fast. The other criticism is that the writing falls flat. I was hoping that the lines here would be somewhat snappy and clever. Instead, it feels more like a 13 year old clumsily taunting you and the result is just uninteresting. It's sad, I wanted this to be a really great game but the mediocre writing and gameplay ruined it for me. Full Review »
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    Suda51, the quirky mind behind Killer7, No More Heroes and Shadows of the Damned, returns with another **** zombie outbreak. Hey, I'm going to make a zombie game of my very own. It will be an apocalyptic survival game in which you and a small group of desperate survivors with complementary skills must navigate a deserted city without being crushed under an avalanche of zombie games, movies, and reinterpretations of classic literature. I'll call it 'Enough with the **** Zombies Already'. Honestly, at this point you people just won't be able to cope if civilization ends any other way, will you. But that's neither here or there, what is here is some fun hacko-slasho-button-masho combat, and there is some fun, quirky humor that Suda51 is so fond of. Juliet is so much more likable that Lara Croft. Lara Croft is a sassy action girl who flips arbitrarily between the two, Juliet is just an over-the- top, sexy and violent action hero. Of course, the chainsaw has been used more on zombies in games more than trees in real life, and it is really over the top in Lollipop Chainsaw, but it's balanced with Suda51's desire to make the funniest, quirkiest game ever. If you loved Killer7 or Nomeroes then you will certainly love this. It is certainly a spectacle, but that's not a problem because the gratuitous, sexy, bloody violence compensates. I have a few gripes with the game; Juliet is an example of how poorly women are treated as a main character, Bayonetta was an example because everything Bayonetta does was **** I know Suda51 isn't trying to make a true female character, he was intending Juliet to be over-the-top, and it certainly delivered. So yeah, I **** loved Killer7, though it was a completely different game, but the humor and quirkiness is still here. So if you want a fun weekend, I would recommend Lollipop Chainsaw Full Review »