Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Jun 13, 2012
    84
    It's not perfect, but it's insane amounts of incredibly stylized, so-moronic-it's-almost-genius fun.
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    70
    Lollipop Chainsaw is an average brawler made interesting and memorable by a slick, sickly sweet presentation. It does what it set out to do: tell a goofy zombie story starring a lollipop-loving cheerleader who dispatches her foes with cutesy gusto. The gameplay doesn't really do anything to set itself apart from other games of the genre and in some cases, it feels like Suda51 is dipping from his own well.
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    86
    Amidst an important layer of absurdity brought to you by the likes of Suda51, James Gunn, and Jimmy Urine, Lollipop Chainsaw has a lot in common with the delightful 8-bit games of my youth.
  4. Jul 11, 2012
    70
    Suda is an undisciplined designer. As with his comedy, he throws every idea at his game design, hoping something will stick. He's an artistic, if idiosyncratic, thinker, so invariably some ideas do succeed, but the assault of jokes, ideas and vignettes ends up as unwieldy as it is characterful. The result is a game in which there's as much to celebrate as to berate, as much to admire as there is to admonish.
  5. Jun 15, 2012
    60
    Grasshopper's latest really is a bit of a lollipop: it's sugary, colourful, insubstantial - and perhaps a bit sickly with it.
  6. Jun 25, 2012
    60
    Lollipop Chainsaw is fun, outrageous and quite original, as you'd expect from Suda 51. The problem is that it's just not that good as a videogame.
  7. Jun 15, 2012
    60
    All in all the atmosphere and the high pace in Lollipop Chainsaw are enough to make the first run-through of approximately six hours rather enjoyable, with certain slumps and peaks. But low replay ability and childish humor drag the show down like an anchor.
  8. Jun 12, 2012
    75
    After finishing Lollipop Chainsaw, I was left with the same feeling I had after playing other titles from creative director Suda 51. Like Killer 7 and No More Heroes, the premise is exciting and imaginative, but the gameplay execution has too many holes to embrace completely. However, also like those previous games, I'm glad I played Lollipop Chainsaw.
  9. Jun 14, 2012
    60
    Lollipop Chainsaw is a nice candy piece, a love-apple, cute like its main character Juliet, and one that Suda51's fans will be delighted to swallow in a single afternoon of play. But once the sugar's been digested, don't expect any chewing-gum core to keep you going: it's a short, one-time thing, that has both the qualities and shortcomings of all Suda51's games.
  10. Jun 19, 2012
    60
    There is no doubt Lollipop Chainsaw is heavily marketed to be an indulgent romp through pop culture and appeal to our baser sensibilities. But once the façade of plastic fantastic is stripped away the game has to survive on basic combo repetitions and mediocre game play.
  11. Jun 29, 2012
    80
    While it may be summarized as merely being style over substance, Lollipop Chainsaw is fun and engaging enough to keep you entertained all throughout its eight hour playtime. Unlockable costumes, music and concept art and more collectables will also have you coming back for more.
  12. 60
    Make no mistake, I think Lollipop Chainsaw is immensely entertaining, has plenty of laughs and offers a presentation and a concept so twisted that you'll really miss out on somethingby not playing it. But the actual gameplay is completely ordinary and average.
  13. Jul 24, 2012
    74
    Short, sweet and one of its kind, Lollipop loses its great flavour faster than cheap bubblegum. [Sept 2012, p.98]
  14. Aug 6, 2012
    60
    A truly crazy zombie slasher that's putting the absurd style of the main heroine and the game's fetishistic stylization of a lollipop flavour up to the front. If you have a look at the actual gameplay, you get a sinusoid of a stereotype and enjoyment, up and down, up and down. If this kind of style and humour suits you, try it. However, do not expect Dead Rising out of it, this is really different.
  15. Jun 18, 2012
    65
    Actually, Lollipop Chainsaw is built for return visits: the game lasts for five hours or so, pushing you to chase high scores and buy enough combos to earn a fabulous end-level grade.
  16. Jun 27, 2012
    55
    Even for a budget title, Lollipop Chainsaw has plenty of shortcomings. Repetitive combat, bland levels and an insistence on sexual humour will leave many players disappointed. That said, it does produce a few moments worthy of your time.
  17. Jun 12, 2012
    73
    Lollipop Chainsaw delivers a solid zombie action experience, but the creative humorous aha reaction fails to appear. Despite nice boss designs and a somewhat new take on the whole zombie thing, the game falls short of expectations.
  18. Jun 18, 2012
    70
    Lollipop Chainsaw doesn't have to appeal to all slasher fans, but I think that both the design and behavior of the main character have a chance of breaking ice during the encounter with a conservative gamer that is not accustomed to Japanese style. Suda51 and his team seem to be on the rise recently - a good idea is paired with good execution.
  19. Jun 14, 2012
    50
    Lollipop Chainsaw doesn't even attempt to differentiate itself from the genre, and most of what it does try new in the realm of its characters and writing ultimately ends up taking away from an incredible-on-paper action game.
  20. Jul 2, 2012
    75
    Lollipop Chainsaw is a game with two aspects: on the one side you have this great game full of absurdity, humour and stylish action, only to be followed up by annoying mini-games.
  21. Jun 17, 2012
    70
    Its heroine may be the only thing that's not rough around the edges, but this is another fascinating mess by Suda51 and a great arcade style actioner.
  22. So let`s summarize: zombies, a cheerleader and a horny beheaded boyfriend rotting in front of the school gates. And let`s not forget that the 18+ rating isn't just because of a few rampaging zombies. There's a reason why Juliet just turned 18 at the start of the game. [July p.72]
  23. Oct 13, 2012
    80
    A highly amusing arcade-style group beat 'em up many over-the-top elements. Only in Japan, baby, only in Japan. [Aug 2012]
  24. Jun 20, 2012
    72
    If you're a Grasshopper or Suda51 fan, add about 18% to this score. From an objective viewpoint, it's a fun but flawed hack-and-slash game with a quirky setting. From a subjective viewpoint, it's bloody brilliant – so much so you can overlook its clunkier elements.
  25. 50
    You can forgive the shoddy dialogue and lame jokes as that is what they were going for, but you cannot forgive rather boring combat, a short game, and absolutely zero replay value.
  26. Buoyed by a promising concept and Suda51's reputation, we expected and experience comparable to God Hand or Bayonetta. What we got is witless – an embarrassment that shames itself and the industry as a whole. It's idiocy that outstays its in record time. [July 2012, p78]
  27. Lollipop Chainsaw's core gameplay is distinctly second-tier, and for every endearing exchange between characters or LOL-worthy line, there's a crude sexual innuendo or lingering shot of Juliet's jiggling breasts. Maybe we haven't come a long way, baby.
  28. 60
    Lollipop Chainsaw is too repetitive for its own good. While it's always fun to play a game that doesn't take itself too seriously, Lollipop doesn't offer much else besides silly sexuality and gory combat.
  29. Don't get us wrong--watching Juliet dash across the battlefield, chainsaw in hand, was entertaining in its own right. We just wish more emphasis was placed on making it fun to play and not just fun to watch. [Aug 2012, p.75]
  30. Jul 2, 2012
    50
    Lacks expertise in all-important areas. But hey, there's a cheerleader and she's got a chainsaw. [Aug 2012, p.100]
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 181 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 50
  2. Negative: 5 out of 50
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    this game is so good so funny gory too with alot of swearing and skimpy outfit i love it she next larry croft only she teenagethis game is so good so funny gory too with alot of swearing and skimpy outfit i love it she next larry croft only she teenage cheerleader............................................................................ Full Review »
  2. Jun 13, 2012
    5
    I *really* wanted to like this game. The concept is hilarious. The artwork and the voice acting are also excellent. I was hoping this wouldI *really* wanted to like this game. The concept is hilarious. The artwork and the voice acting are also excellent. I was hoping this would feel something like an early Buffy episode with more chutzpah and zombies. Here's the problem. The gameplay stinks. Basically you have one wave of zombies after another, mash some control buttons to execute random combos, knock down the zombies then move on. Batman Arkham city was a bit button mashy like this but there you had much more scope for positioning, tactics and you really felt like you were reacting to attacks and planning out how to take down groups carefully. Here it's just mash square, circle, triangle then move on. This gets boring fast. The other criticism is that the writing falls flat. I was hoping that the lines here would be somewhat snappy and clever. Instead, it feels more like a 13 year old clumsily taunting you and the result is just uninteresting. It's sad, I wanted this to be a really great game but the mediocre writing and gameplay ruined it for me. Full Review »
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    Suda51, the quirky mind behind Killer7, No More Heroes and Shadows of the Damned, returns with another **** zombie outbreak. Hey, I'm going toSuda51, the quirky mind behind Killer7, No More Heroes and Shadows of the Damned, returns with another **** zombie outbreak. Hey, I'm going to make a zombie game of my very own. It will be an apocalyptic survival game in which you and a small group of desperate survivors with complementary skills must navigate a deserted city without being crushed under an avalanche of zombie games, movies, and reinterpretations of classic literature. I'll call it 'Enough with the **** Zombies Already'. Honestly, at this point you people just won't be able to cope if civilization ends any other way, will you. But that's neither here or there, what is here is some fun hacko-slasho-button-masho combat, and there is some fun, quirky humor that Suda51 is so fond of. Juliet is so much more likable that Lara Croft. Lara Croft is a sassy action girl who flips arbitrarily between the two, Juliet is just an over-the- top, sexy and violent action hero. Of course, the chainsaw has been used more on zombies in games more than trees in real life, and it is really over the top in Lollipop Chainsaw, but it's balanced with Suda51's desire to make the funniest, quirkiest game ever. If you loved Killer7 or Nomeroes then you will certainly love this. It is certainly a spectacle, but that's not a problem because the gratuitous, sexy, bloody violence compensates. I have a few gripes with the game; Juliet is an example of how poorly women are treated as a main character, Bayonetta was an example because everything Bayonetta does was **** I know Suda51 isn't trying to make a true female character, he was intending Juliet to be over-the-top, and it certainly delivered. So yeah, I **** loved Killer7, though it was a completely different game, but the humor and quirkiness is still here. So if you want a fun weekend, I would recommend Lollipop Chainsaw Full Review »