Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 182 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lollipop Chainsaw is the un-deadly story of sweet, killer zombie-slayer Juliet Starling and her mission to uncover the root of a zombie outbreak. Juliet must balance the drama of high school while carrying out her zombie-hunting lineage. Players hone their cheerleading acrobatics andLollipop Chainsaw is the un-deadly story of sweet, killer zombie-slayer Juliet Starling and her mission to uncover the root of a zombie outbreak. Juliet must balance the drama of high school while carrying out her zombie-hunting lineage. Players hone their cheerleading acrobatics and chainsaw skills to string together lethal combo moves, taking out scores of the undead. The game was developed by GRASSHOPPER MANUFACTURE, led by game develop Goichi Suda (aka SUDA 51) and featuring the music of the Akira Yamaoka. In addition, Hollywood director and writer James Gunn (Super, Slither, Dawn of the Dead, Tromeo and Juliet) has brought his cult humor and edgy storytelling to Lollipop Chainsaw’s script. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    86
    Amidst an important layer of absurdity brought to you by the likes of Suda51, James Gunn, and Jimmy Urine, Lollipop Chainsaw has a lot in common with the delightful 8-bit games of my youth.
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    80
    While it may be summarized as merely being style over substance, Lollipop Chainsaw is fun and engaging enough to keep you entertained all throughout its eight hour playtime. Unlockable costumes, music and concept art and more collectables will also have you coming back for more.
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    75
    After finishing Lollipop Chainsaw, I was left with the same feeling I had after playing other titles from creative director Suda 51. Like Killer 7 and No More Heroes, the premise is exciting and imaginative, but the gameplay execution has too many holes to embrace completely. However, also like those previous games, I'm glad I played Lollipop Chainsaw.
  4. Jun 17, 2012
    70
    Its heroine may be the only thing that's not rough around the edges, but this is another fascinating mess by Suda51 and a great arcade style actioner.
  5. Buoyed by a promising concept and Suda51's reputation, we expected and experience comparable to God Hand or Bayonetta. What we got is witless – an embarrassment that shames itself and the industry as a whole. It's idiocy that outstays its in record time. [July 2012, p78]
  6. Lollipop Chainsaw's core gameplay is distinctly second-tier, and for every endearing exchange between characters or LOL-worthy line, there's a crude sexual innuendo or lingering shot of Juliet's jiggling breasts. Maybe we haven't come a long way, baby.
  7. Jun 14, 2012
    50
    Lollipop Chainsaw doesn't even attempt to differentiate itself from the genre, and most of what it does try new in the realm of its characters and writing ultimately ends up taking away from an incredible-on-paper action game.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 51
  2. Negative: 5 out of 51
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    this game is so good so funny gory too with alot of swearing and skimpy outfit i love it she next larry croft only she teenagethis game is so good so funny gory too with alot of swearing and skimpy outfit i love it she next larry croft only she teenage cheerleader............................................................................ Collapse
  2. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    This game is the coolest ever and it's short but you can play you how many times you want , i'm playing it right now , and i'm loving it , soThis game is the coolest ever and it's short but you can play you how many times you want , i'm playing it right now , and i'm loving it , so i advise all who like funny games and want to laugh to buy it :D Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2012
    9
    I have played many games this year but, Lollipop Chainsaw was by far one of the most anticipated games for me. The story although silly andI have played many games this year but, Lollipop Chainsaw was by far one of the most anticipated games for me. The story although silly and over the top was enjoyable as was the game play. With a plethora of unlock able costumes and upgrades it has a high replay value. If you want an a triple A game this is not for you but, if you are looking for a fun, over the top intense joy ride look no further! Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2012
    8
    This game is absurd, crazy and funny on so many levels. I'm just going to say it right now. Video games have had a habit of taking themselvesThis game is absurd, crazy and funny on so many levels. I'm just going to say it right now. Video games have had a habit of taking themselves a bit too seriously and this game is the exact opposite. It's silly, ludicrous and vulgar. Two things I've heard as complaints are blatant misogyny and that the game is too vulgar. That's because the people who rip this game don't "get it". That's done on purpose because the grindhouse films of the '70s were both vulgar and blatantly misogynistc. This game is a B-movie done into a video game. I admit the game is difficult, especially to earn "Sparkle Hunters" bonuses, which are needed to gain the powerups and make your character better, really. Here's what I think in a nutshell. Video games have been taking themselves too seriously lately. This game is the anti-Devil May Cry. It's the anti-House of the Dead: Overkill. It's actually even sillier and funnier than the Ratchet and Clank series. If you're expecting "VIDEO GAMES R SERIOUS BUSINESS!" then you'll hate this game. But if you want something that's sexy, naughty, vulgar and so downright bad that it's actually good, pick up this game. Most of the people who wrote this game down or gave it a rating below about 6.8 didn't "get it". Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2014
    8
    It's not the best game of all times, it's not the best zombie game of all times, but if you wish to get lost in anything for a couple ofIt's not the best game of all times, it's not the best zombie game of all times, but if you wish to get lost in anything for a couple of hours, it's just perfect Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2012
    7
    Lollipop chainsaw is considerably better than Deadrising 2 and showed a lot of potential. The zombie killing is fun and better than DeadrisingLollipop chainsaw is considerably better than Deadrising 2 and showed a lot of potential. The zombie killing is fun and better than Deadrising 2 but that doesn't say much! Consider before you go out and buy, but buy instead of Deadrising 2. Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    0
    I got this game as a present from my dad. He doesn't know much about me or my taste in games and when he asked me I said "Zombie survivalI got this game as a present from my dad. He doesn't know much about me or my taste in games and when he asked me I said "Zombie survival games" and he picked this up….I played it while he was at my mom's house so I wouldn't seem ungrateful....Its a games clearly made for guys its a simple 5 level game with repetitive everything. Expand

See all 51 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.