Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 89 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lost Planet 3 is the third entry in the Lost Planet franchise. With numerous multiplayer modes and a cinematic single player experience, Lost Planet 3 delves deeper into the Lost Planet universe, uncovering hidden truths within the unique environment of E.D.N. III.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Sep 29, 2013
    85
    Those flaws are easy to forgive in light of what the game gets right, though. As a reviewer who's constantly in search of games which try new things or buck expectations, Lost Planet 3 was quietly, calmly fantastic. Everything about it has a very mature, measured approach which sets it apart from the pack, and the character work on display is some of the best I've seen in quite some time.
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    75
    Spark Unlimited has drastically changed the Lost Planet formula, making Lost Planet 3 feel more like a reboot than a sequel. The gameplay feels tighter and more accessible than ever, but comes at the price of the diversity and openness found in previous titles. Fans of the series might not like these changes, but the big amount of content, beautiful environments and exciting boss battles make this a quality title that stands above the average third-person shooter.
  3. Sep 5, 2013
    70
    We believed in Lost Planet 3. Capcom wanted to come back to the origins of the series, focusing on solo mode and had some good arguments to get us absorbed again by the planet EDN-III's atmosphere. Everything is here: a nice character, efficient gameplay, and interesting content. But nothing really makes Lost Planet 3 a really big game. Graphics aren't that impressive, really commonplace and the game lacks of rhythm and epic moments. Nowhere near the first episode.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    60
    With a few eyes on Alien, The Thing or EA's Dead Space, Capcom make use one more time of an external western developer to carry a project. Spark Unlimited brings us back to where we shouldn't have left, to the frozen landscapes of that lost planet in a prequel where mechas are not carrying guns. Simple, straightforward entertainment, drive a gunless mecha and explore lost space ships in this TPS with touches of survival horror is fun, but there's nothing in this game we have seen a few times before on bigger titles of the genre.
  5. Sep 11, 2013
    60
    The game can be highly frustrating, annoying and borderline upsetting, but the brilliantly told story and intense atmosphere keep you going. Jim Peyton is one of the best defined protagonists in a video game, and his story deserves to be experienced.
  6. Sep 3, 2013
    60
    It starts very promising but after only a few hours you’ll get monotonous action with framerate issues and sometimes poor visuals. From time to time you can feel the games’ strengths, but they are soon overwhelmed by run-of-the mill design.
  7. Sep 1, 2013
    40
    Lost Planet 3 isn't a lost cause. There's some genuine emotion to be found in its storyline and a spattering of variety to its combat, but this is marred by unoriginal core gameplay and lackluster level design.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Pros:Story/Ending is fantastic its tell a whole life of a man...and E.d.n.3 planet,music pretty good,
    robot view,places,characters,non
    linear gameplay.
    Cons:can't play old jim...Graphics, sometimes even lost planet 1 is nicer...Unreal3 engine is too old.
    gameplay sometimes get boring.
    Expand
  2. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    What's with the bad reviews? I waited to buy this until I was able to purchase it for $20 because the reviews were so lousy, yet this is the best game in the Lost Planet series. Lost Planet 1 was mediocre, Lost Planet 2 was flat out bad, but Lost Planet 3 is like a love letter to Aliens inspired by elements of Dead Space 1 with hub environments, side quests, interactivity within the hub environments, great atmosphere, excellent graphics, great gameplay, etc. Again, what were the reviews going on about? It's a travesty that this has such a low Metacritic score. This has far more depth, far better voice acting, far better characters, far better gameplay, etc. than prior Lost Planet titles. Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    The story is engaging and got me invested early especially the interactions between Jim and Grace. That was unique. I appreciated the gameplay and the option to go hand-to-hand or in the mech. I have played several other games from Spark in the past few years and this was by far the most thoughtful and most fun to play. Of the LP games, I started with 2 and felt the story in 3 was more interesting and fleshed out. It's good, summer fun and I'd recommend it. Expand
  4. Sep 12, 2013
    6
    There is nothing really wrong with this game, on a alarming amount of glitches and bugs. The problem with this game is that it is just boring as it takes now new concepts are ideas and instead is very generic with standard graphics, undeveloped characters which have no development through out the campaign leaving with nothing and no memory's to take away from it. I have not tested the multi player enough to be able to give detailed review but it seems to be an improvement on the reparative and dull story line.

    In a nut shell this game does not loose any points but it does not gain any either which makes it a mediocre at best with only the multi player bosting the final score slightly. If you played the previous games or are a fan of the series I recommend you don't purchase this one as this is a real let down.
    Collapse
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    5
    Lost Planet 2, was a criminally underrated gem. Just about everything in it was nigh-flawless: beautiful and varied scenery, impressively detailed characters and creatures, some of the greatest boss battles I've ever played, a variety of exciting missions, gunplay that's tight at best and tolerable at worst, and much more.
    For the follow-up, Lost Planet 3, all of that was removed.
    Now, let me just get this out of the way LP3 is not a terrible game. The plot is surprisingly well-acted, packed with likable, realistic characters and some intriguing developments. It's just when the gameplay rolls around that problems start to spring up. I don't usually say this about video games, because story-based games almost consistently do something unique for the medium to make them stick out, but this game probably would have been better served as a movie or in-universe novel.
    Now, the many flaws in the game itself.
    The high standard in graphical variety set by LP2 is actually downgraded here. There are no lush jungles, desert villages, bustling cities, or grotesquely active Akrid hives to be found here; from start to finish, it's almost all icy, barren tundra and identical cave after identical cave. I realize that this is explained in-universe, as it's a prequel to the global warming event that causes the varied settings, but it still feels lazy. Speaking of graphics, the Akrid are also much less impressive to look at; they lack the texture and spark of life LP2 gave them, and now are just run-of-the-mill blue-grey cannon fodder. Some of the larger ones (almost never matching the size of LP2's very first boss) even feel cartoony, and none are even mildly threatening in appearance.
    On the topic of the Akrid, they were once a thrill to fight. Holding down an outpost against a tide of oncoming Akrid after reuniting with your team in LP2 hits that point home. Now... doing battle with them is monotonous, frustrating, and almost always feels like a chore. Against a swarm of the weakest enemies in the game a swarm that would have taken all of six seconds to cut through in LP2 it's very easy to suffer repeated deaths. I'm all for a good challenge, and I understand that survival in an unforgiving environ is a main theme of the game, but this is to the point of cheapness and frustration. It's only compounded by the lackluster, piss-weak weaponry and generic cover-based gunplay. I could forgive the frustration if they were at least still exciting to fight, but as you've probably guessed, that is sadly not true. The bosses take the worst hit; they repeat endlessly, are mostly tiny, and choreograph every attack.
    Whereas LP2 had you taking down a mine by collapsing its drill, commandeering a submarine and guiding it to freedom, and engaging in a strategic raid on a space station (complete with zero-gravity and a stratospheric freefall) very mission in this game involves trudging through the aforementioned mediocre environment, most often to fetch or repair something, before backtracking from the endless wastes to your base again.

    TL;DR: Capcom wanted to emulate recent games like Dead Space 3, so this happened. It's a massive wasted opportunity.
    Expand
  6. Aug 29, 2013
    5
    Just a game. Interesting station,interesting machine. Boring story. Without blacklist,sr4, dragons crown and coming rayman maybe this game could be longer for me. Expand
  7. Sep 4, 2013
    0
    I'll spend 150 characters to explain that if you click on the shining review by Jinxie you can see that the only 3 games this person has ever reviewed are all the various versions of this game, it's clear then to everyone 2 things
    1. this person had a part in making this game because this is a game which could only be rated highly by the games mother
    2. It's bull 100% if it wasn't such stand out from every other review for this game it might not draw much attention, perhaps if they'd given it an 8, maybe reviewed 1 or 2 games just at random which weren't their own product, but nope, blatantly just trying to fluff their own games score up on here.

    Dire game, dire practices by capcom trying to inflate scores here, Dire franchise that needs to just have the good grace to die now so capcom can return to making Horror games with actual horror in them.
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews