Lost: Via Domus Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After Oceanic Air flight 815 tore apart in mid-air and crashed on a seemingly deserted Pacific island, its survivors were forced to find inner strength they never knew they had in order to survive. The band of friends, family, enemies and strangers has become reluctant heroes who must work together against the cruel weather and harsh terrain if they want to stay alive. Danger and mystery loom behind every corner on the island, and those they thought could be trusted may turn against them. Even heroes have secrets. As a passenger of Oceanic flight 815, you survived the crash and find yourself on an uncharted island somewhere in the Pacific Ocean. As you begin to unravel mysteries of the island, you begin to discover secrets of your own. You will have to understand your past mistakes in order to survive and find your way home. Confront your dark past, seek your redemption, and ultimately find a way home. Explore familiar locations, unravel mysteries, and interact with the main characters from the show. Survive the challenges that the island throws at you: Solve puzzles, outsmart enemies, battle the smoke monster, and overcome many other challenges to survive the island and come out alive. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 30
  2. Negative: 9 out of 30
  1. A little Lost goes a long way with diehard fans. So, while I wished there were some deeper gameplay moments or a longer adventure (the game clocks in at about seven hours), I couldn't imagine, as a Lost fan, not playing this game and loving what it has to offer.
  2. This game expands the show’s fiction and reveals a few mind-blowing twists, including one that has completely altered all of my theories about the show. As of the time of this writing, it is one of the biggest reveals yet.
  3. 65
    The real draw to Via Domus is the sheer amount of fan service poured into this disc. From the subtle nuances to the show to the proverbial flashback in each episode the game does a lot to appease its fanbase. Unfortunately that won't be enough to warrant a sixty dollar price tag for a game that can be completed in roughly 5-6 hours.
  4. 55
    This is a quick game, and beating it feels like being dumped by someone you were just about to break up with: you tell yourself you'll just beat one more level and all of a sudden, it's over.
  5. In its attempt not to spoil the TV show, Lost on PS3 simply skirts all the good stuff. [Apr 2008, p.103]
  6. Worst of all, Via Domus fails to work as a decent game - thanks to its refusal to let you explore, dull puzzling and an appalling ending that was already cheesy when "Dallas" did it 20 years ago. [Apr 2008, p.78]
  7. 38
    It's not a particularly fun game, but it does manage to capture the essence of the series pretty well, and has a couple of clever ideas that do make it enjoyable enough to play. [Issue#164, p.93]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. GibFloord
    Mar 6, 2008
    10
    Absolutely flooring. The graphics, voice acting, musical compositions and everything else drew me to watch the show, and now I'm hooked. For the people who were already hooked this game must be utterly cultish. There are... NOT spoilers, really, but I would rather not get into the plot, because just like in the show itself, you would probably much rather experience the adventure yourself. Expand
  2. MannyHouston
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    Explore more of the island in this great roll playing adventure. I really enjoyed experiencing some of the places from the show, but my favorite parts involved all new places created just for the game. You got enough of the show Expand
  3. chrissmack
    Mar 9, 2008
    9
    i very much revere whoever decided to make navigating the jungle IMPOSSIBLE. while it is frustrating, it's realistic.
    too realistic,
    really. but worth the travel. watching the plot go on in a parallel to my favorite show EVER, i can withstand a little bit of running around in circles.

    something else i'd say to back up my 9/10 score would be that the music is quite good, too. music is very important, especially when you're playing a game based in a movie or television show. the matrix video game did a good job of this, as well as that king kong release a year ago or so. i was worried about before i played it, but it's really good. plus there's sexyness. lol. 9/10.
    Expand
  4. MaxBelly
    Apr 18, 2009
    6
    I am a huge fan of lost, and even though it's ridiculous at series 5, I still enjoy it. The game, however, was very different. I honestly tried to like it, but it was boring. Find this suitcase, find food etc. The actors were realistic and it was quite true to the show, but I found it very boring. If you literally want to play every bit of the show (just animated) then you will love it. For gamers, I'd avoid. Expand
  5. May 10, 2012
    6
    The better graphics makes it's up. But the game endings make it's down. I hate this game after the game ending. The time i beat it's only 3/4 hours, nothing special from this game. Only if you watch the movie... Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2014
    4
    I picked this game for 7 dollars. And I got to tell you it’s pretty bad. So the premise is, you’re stranded on the island from Lost, but you’re not one of the TV serie’s characters (you are some other guy who by the way is probably the least likeable character of any video game in history). You need to find your way out and to do that you have to navigate through the jungle, fix electrical panels (a boring mini-game that you have to beat about half a dozen times) and do other pointless stuff.
    The controls are the lousiest I’ve seen in a game. Doing something as simple as walking is a miserable experience. Navigating in the jungle is a pain in the a$$, the graphics are an eyesore and the voice acting sucks. Most of the action in this game is running away from the black smoke (you also get to fire two shots with a gun). I loved the TV series but as a game this has no merit. The cave mission was fun but that’s about it.
    If you liked Lost and can get this for 5 bucks, go ahead. If not stay away, not worth your time.
    Collapse
  7. Dec 5, 2010
    2
    TLDR Version: This game is awful. Rent it, bang your head for a few minutes and move on with life.

    The non-TLDR version: The greatest
    strength of the Internet is also one of its shortcomings. People with access to the internet can write whatever they want without facts to back it up. People who barely have an idea of how videos game were over the years can pick up a copy and get satisfied that a particular game meeds their mediocre standards and then write glowing reviews on the web. That's what you see from the other reviewers here.

    Graphics: Mediocre at best - 4/10
    Voice Acting: Very poor imitation of the original voices - 2/10
    Storyline: Decent but weak and stretched way too much - 3/10
    Gameplay and Control: Exceedingly annoying at times with invisible textures stopping you at key moments. Camera angle and movement is a pain to deal with - 2/10
    Environment: Very poor. Very fixed and restricted paths and cannot explore anything beyond your immediate vicinity - 1/10
    Ending - 1/10

    The bottom line is this feels more like a fan based half-baked product instead of a professional video game (lol @ you Montreal Ubisoft). As to all the professional critic reviews here that gave this game a 70+, shame on you, grow a spine and adopt some standards.
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews