Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    60
    Mad Riders is not a bad game. It has some truly fun moments that remind me of the best arcade racers. The unfortunate part is that there are a lot of games that are simply better than Mad Riders. The game is cheap enough, at $10, that those who are interested in off road racing should consider checking it out. All others should probably look elsewhere for their racing needs.
  2. Jun 22, 2012
    50
    Mad Riders has many of the problems of the previous game and there isn't anything that stands out. In addition, the gameplay is a little boring.
  3. May 31, 2012
    78
    Although Mad Riders might not feature anything in the way of innovation in either its core gameplay or race modes, I appreciate how developer Techland has honed its racing craft and made it so I never have to let up on the throttle.
  4. Jul 1, 2012
    70
    A good, solid game. Looks good, plays good, is good. But, if you've bought any racing game in the last few years, any game at all, Mad Riders probably doesn't offer anything you haven't got already.
  5. Mad Riders' set-up is as old as the ATV itself, a throwback to the classic over-the-top racing, but succeeds in giving it all a refreshing new coat of paint. And the best part is that can get all of this fun for the price of a single pizza. [July 2012, p.92]
  6. Jul 10, 2012
    70
    It's quick, responsive, reasonably over-the-top and keeps you playing for longer than you might expect. [Issue#220, p.81]
  7. 60
    In a weird way, Mad Riders is a game that seems to have too many different race types. The fact is that the game seems to be at its best when the event is just a simple race.
  8. Think: a cheaper, slightly nastier version of 2008's Pure, and you're not too far off the track. [July 2012, p83]
  9. Mad Riders' only real problem is a lack of originality, as most of its makeup is borrowed from ATV games that have come before. But it's tweaked and mixed these ingredients together so well that it deserves to be called the best of them – and at £7.99 there's more than enough value on offer to appeal to anyone out there.
  10. Jun 4, 2012
    60
    Once it gets going and the tricks begin to unlock, Mad Riders is extremely fast and quite fun. There are several niggles that drag this racer down, though, such as the slow introduction of stunts and the harsh quickness of some respawns which directly opposes the multi-pathed style of the courses, and it never really does enough out of the ordinary to live up to its title.
  11. Jun 12, 2012
    70
    Quite a frantic arcade racer that genre lovers will like. However, it is a bit monotonous and its tracks reuse a lot of sections. It also lacks a split-screen multiplayer option, but still it is a fun game at a very affordable price.
User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Sep 21, 2013
    0
    I played a bit of "Mad Riders" and I can't believe that someone pays for this game... Totally crap!
    And graphics... well, they are are
    good... if you were playing on DreamCast. Full Review »
  2. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    Easily the best offroad racing game out there. I play it on PC but the game is basically the same on all consoles minus the graphic tweaks. I cannot believe the low scores. The game is like MotorStorm: PR without all the vehicles and better graphics at least on PC. The jumps are insane in this game and remind of SSX of old times. Way off base here giving this 10 dollar title a 6. Go back to COD you tards. I got the DLC and game on Steam for 4 bucks and you can find sales on XBL and PSN as well. Full 10 because it's cheap and damn near a full game off road style. A lot of love was put into these tracks. The tournies have the usual Stunt, Clock, Race, etc. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this game. Insane air and tons of variety with the DLC. I thought they did the island theme about as good as it can possibly be done for DL title. Full Review »