Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The most significant change in Connected Franchise is the introduction of Owner mode. Take control of your franchise and manage all aspects of the day-to-day operation of your team. Create yourself as an owner or take on the persona of one of the NFL’s 32 current head honchos. Hire and fire personnel, set prices on everything from parking to concessions, manage stadium upgrades or even build a new one if your current facility just isn’t cutting it. Or, if you’d prefer a truly fresh start for your team, you can relocate your franchise to a new city and try to build a new fanbase from scratch. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Aug 23, 2013
    92
    With all of the great changes and smart moves made this year by EA Sports, Madden NFL 25 is a surprising success in nearly every facet of sports gaming. While there are still small issues that need to be worked out, Madden 25 is a vast improvement over the lackluster entries in the series over the past few years.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    90
    Madden 25 is a fantastic culmination of a generation. There is plenty to do, and the game feels as good or better in all aspects. If you’re a fan of football and the series, you owe it to yourself to pick it up.
  3. 85
    Madden NFL 25 is the epitome of what makes Madden great. It’s a refined experience, slightly improved in every way—just as it is each year.
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    78
    The game is chock full of content, the new animations are awfully sweet (despite the repetition of use), a few of the new gameplay mechanics are intriguing, and multiplayer with the right peeps is great. But why are all QBs Joe Montana? Why does even the best defensive line struggle to get any penetration? Why do all the crowd-pleasing moves and additions do little to fix this lack of realism? Why is the interface so slow? Why am I still seeing brain-dead AI?
  5. Aug 23, 2013
    75
    Madden 25 is an improved version of the clumsy Madden 13, which was better than any Madden game that released on this generation of consoles. The physics are good and make manipulating these hulking brutes in a fabricated 3D space feel comfortable and occasionally interesting. Ultimate Team is still nothing I want to do, ever.
  6. Anniversary features disappoint. [Nov 2013, p.94]
  7. Aug 26, 2013
    60
    Madden NFL 25 marks a quarter-century of football gaming with a disappointing addition to this venerable franchise.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 35
  2. Negative: 17 out of 35
  1. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    EA has refined and polished what was introduced last year with the infinity engine, and it feels like one of the most complete games for a Madden game in the last decade.

    The User Interface is intuitive and brilliant. Mobile Quarterbacks also have a slurry of new moves with the addition of Total Control Passing. Also a bunch of new plays and formations with the influx of the pistol sets into the NFL!

    Owner Mode made some huge upgrades with the ability to fully control your franchise from top to bottom (literally). Setting prices for everything at the stadium, moving your team to a new city, create new uniforms and more. This upgraded Owner Mode is a much waited Godsend for the hardcore Madden fans that really want the entire NFL experience as an NFL Executive.

    If you haven't bought Madden in a few years there hasn’t been a much better time to hop back on this Madden Bandwagon, they have assembled a great Dev Team I believe this series will continue to trend upward for years to come.

    So grab a cold beer (or cola) and Madden 25 and remember who told you about this year’s great game.

    ~G-Unit (David)
    Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    I don't understand why all ratings are so low? The game is very good and show a lot of progression from Madden NFL 13- better graphics and better mechanics. Really good new owner mode, trainings and etc. I give to this game 8/10, because of online. Still bad multiplayer realization and boring Ultimate Team mode Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    8
    Madden 25 has hit the shelves and by far has been the best Madden franchise game released to date. With the ALL new engine, it provides the most powerful running attack that one can ask for! The different animation catches that you see and the dive tackling system gives madden 25 a great boost. And lets not forget about the all new Skill trainer that will give you the edge once you perfect each and every skill set.
    Connect Franchise Mode has took a 360 degree improvement verse last yr. Connected Career mode.
    As we continue to put In the long hours on the gridiron, we are yet to see what else easports has for us with NexGen gaming coming soon. Good Job easports!
    Expand
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    5
    The game itself looks great and the animations are amazing. However, the menus and the response to the controller is lacking. Animated sequences between plays cannot be skipped through, which effects the experience and can cause problems. The game menu's move at a snail's pace, which is completely unacceptable. Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2013
    3
    It's the same game as always, with a new cover. A disappointment for the 25th anniversary. EA either start trying or give up your monopoly. Barely worth a rental. Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2014
    2
    Madden 07 beats this game hands down. Madden 25 is too slow between plays, unbearable sideline shots (should be an option to opt out), no hurry up after an incomplete pass, more steps when you change an individual assignment, defensive playbook has no contain D, receiver hot routes are lacking doubt and up and hitch corners, the running stick is too sensitive, and you can't create your own team. Almost forgot, you can't direct the football on onside kicks and the view sucks for punts and punt blocking ability. Last thing, why can't you change controller layout? Please go back to the Madden 07 format.See Madden 07! Expand
  7. Jun 26, 2014
    0
    This is by far the worst Madden game I have ever played. The new running controls are the only good thing about the game, and even they aren't that great. Most of my experiences with ball hawking mode have ended in myself wanting to throw my controller across the room. High arcing lob pass waaay down field, Richard Sherman standing there, waiting, almost like the ball was thrown directly to him, in ball hawking mode, jumps up, an invisible force field about 3 inches from his hands blocks the INT. In one game, 12 attempts to get an INT while ball hawking, 11 dropped INT's. 12 passes that appeared to have been thrown at my defenders instead of their receivers and still 11 dropped INT's... no, not against Seattle's secondary. Here's another example of their major failure with this game. Running play breaks through on the sideline, Bruce Irvin is running side by side with the runner (Adrian Peterson) All Irvin has to do is veer to the left to wrap him up, so i move the thumb stick to the left, Irvin continues to run straight forward, i move the stick all the way to the left, Irvin continues running forward, I repeatedly move the stick to the left, he continued forward, touchdown Peterson..... no, absolutely unacceptable. Here's yet another unacceptable aspect of this horrendous game. Making a pass down field, Harvin is there to make the catch, defender comes in pushes Harvin completely out of the way, jumps up and gets the INT, no pass interference call... Really?!?!?! This next one didn't happen to me, it happened to the computer instead, benefited me, however was still a major glitch that needs to be addressed. QB drops back, survey's the field, throws right, arm glitches, goes through his mid section, ball is released in an awkward position and ball only travels maybe 3 yds before hitting the ground... REALLY?!?!? Was there NO testing done on this game at all??? No quality assurance whatsoever? Just as another review i read earlier stated, this game is nothing more than a pathetic cash grab. Once again, BY FAR THE WORST MADDEN GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED!!! And i've been playing them since the early 90's. I'd rather play the original Techmo Superbowl on the NES than this piece of garbage. If next year's game isn't any better, and they don't prove that they're trying to make a good football simulation game, but instead just throw out more garbage as a pathetic cash grab, I will refuse to buy, or play, a single Madden game again. This game, brand new ,with how horrible it's game play really is, shouldn't have been priced any more than $15. EA, pull your heads out of your @$$'s and do Madden justice. With how much money us fans have thrown away on your games, you owe us that much. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews