Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The most significant change in Connected Franchise is the introduction of Owner mode. Take control of your franchise and manage all aspects of the day-to-day operation of your team. Create yourself as an owner or take on the persona of one of the NFL’s 32 current head honchos. Hire and fire personnel, set prices on everything from parking to concessions, manage stadium upgrades or even build a new one if your current facility just isn’t cutting it. Or, if you’d prefer a truly fresh start for your team, you can relocate your franchise to a new city and try to build a new fanbase from scratch. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Aug 23, 2013
    92
    With all of the great changes and smart moves made this year by EA Sports, Madden NFL 25 is a surprising success in nearly every facet of sports gaming. While there are still small issues that need to be worked out, Madden 25 is a vast improvement over the lackluster entries in the series over the past few years.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    90
    Madden 25 is a fantastic culmination of a generation. There is plenty to do, and the game feels as good or better in all aspects. If you’re a fan of football and the series, you owe it to yourself to pick it up.
  3. 85
    Madden NFL 25 is the epitome of what makes Madden great. It’s a refined experience, slightly improved in every way—just as it is each year.
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    78
    The game is chock full of content, the new animations are awfully sweet (despite the repetition of use), a few of the new gameplay mechanics are intriguing, and multiplayer with the right peeps is great. But why are all QBs Joe Montana? Why does even the best defensive line struggle to get any penetration? Why do all the crowd-pleasing moves and additions do little to fix this lack of realism? Why is the interface so slow? Why am I still seeing brain-dead AI?
  5. Aug 23, 2013
    75
    Madden 25 is an improved version of the clumsy Madden 13, which was better than any Madden game that released on this generation of consoles. The physics are good and make manipulating these hulking brutes in a fabricated 3D space feel comfortable and occasionally interesting. Ultimate Team is still nothing I want to do, ever.
  6. Anniversary features disappoint. [Nov 2013, p.94]
  7. Aug 26, 2013
    60
    Madden NFL 25 marks a quarter-century of football gaming with a disappointing addition to this venerable franchise.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 32
  2. Negative: 14 out of 32
  1. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    EA has refined and polished what was introduced last year with the infinity engine, and it feels like one of the most complete games for a Madden game in the last decade.

    The User Interface is intuitive and brilliant. Mobile Quarterbacks also have a slurry of new moves with the addition of Total Control Passing. Also a bunch of new plays and formations with the influx of the pistol sets into the NFL!

    Owner Mode made some huge upgrades with the ability to fully control your franchise from top to bottom (literally). Setting prices for everything at the stadium, moving your team to a new city, create new uniforms and more. This upgraded Owner Mode is a much waited Godsend for the hardcore Madden fans that really want the entire NFL experience as an NFL Executive.

    If you haven't bought Madden in a few years there hasn’t been a much better time to hop back on this Madden Bandwagon, they have assembled a great Dev Team I believe this series will continue to trend upward for years to come.

    So grab a cold beer (or cola) and Madden 25 and remember who told you about this year’s great game.

    ~G-Unit (David)
    Collapse
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    I don't understand why all ratings are so low? The game is very good and show a lot of progression from Madden NFL 13- better graphics and better mechanics. Really good new owner mode, trainings and etc. I give to this game 8/10, because of online. Still bad multiplayer realization and boring Ultimate Team mode Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    8
    Madden 25 has hit the shelves and by far has been the best Madden franchise game released to date. With the ALL new engine, it provides the most powerful running attack that one can ask for! The different animation catches that you see and the dive tackling system gives madden 25 a great boost. And lets not forget about the all new Skill trainer that will give you the edge once you perfect each and every skill set.
    Connect Franchise Mode has took a 360 degree improvement verse last yr. Connected Career mode.
    As we continue to put In the long hours on the gridiron, we are yet to see what else easports has for us with NexGen gaming coming soon. Good Job easports!
    Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2013
    5
    If you pick choose madden, or choose your own plays, or hit random buttons while you choose a defensive play- it makes no difference. what you do on defense is irrelevant. I can't believe I'm giving this a passing grade. It's because everything else is good. Expand
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    4
    There are not many differences at all versus madden 13 but the new engine improvements make the action feel and look better than last year, however that is where it ends. Im not quite sure what EA did but defensive ai is the worst I can recall on madden ps3 and every match is just a offensive showdown. Actually every match is who can run the pistol better, even my Rams have a version of it in our default playbook! If your like me the only reason you buy madden is for the on/offline franchise and that continues to be this games saving grace. NFL PA please stop selling off to these clowns at EA Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2013
    1
    They took defense completely out of the game. Every game that is played will come down to who has possession last! Rushing 4 down linemen will never get you a sack. Kick returns are stupid if you cut hard to the left around the 15 yrd line and get to the sideline its big yards for any player who doesn't already know that. The only strategy left now is making sure you maintain the final possession and burn the clock on your opponent. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    0
    This madden is by far the worst madden ever!!! I mean reaction time is horrible!! If you press jump, dive, juke or anything it takes like 5 seconds to react! And I'm talking about offline! Not only that but I have videos of the most unrealistic crap that I have ever seen on madden like I'm on defense in front of a WR and I press triangle to intercept and my guys arm goes through the WR and he still catches it!! I just don't feel like its in the game at all!! One the main problems is if I'm on defense and going after the ball carrier and I press the button to switch players, it will switch to someone nowhere near the ball carrier and there is clearly enough time and a player closer to the ball carrier! This the 25th anniversary of madden and the creators screwed it all up!! Even madden 97 was a lot better than this crap!! Expand

See all 32 User Reviews