Madden NFL 07 PlayStation 3

User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 21
  2. Negative: 13 out of 21
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 17, 2015
    3
    The game was almost flawless on the last gen version of the game, but it was absolutely butchered on next-gen. The graphics are the only thing improved from the transition. The franchise mode went down a peg, the on-field action is worse, it's just not good. I know this is 2015 but Madden 07 on the PS2 remains my favorite game of all time. The game was brought down a ton on the next gen.The game was almost flawless on the last gen version of the game, but it was absolutely butchered on next-gen. The graphics are the only thing improved from the transition. The franchise mode went down a peg, the on-field action is worse, it's just not good. I know this is 2015 but Madden 07 on the PS2 remains my favorite game of all time. The game was brought down a ton on the next gen. It just didn't do the last-gen justice. Expand
  2. Dec 27, 2013
    1
    Madden is such a disappointment. I put my faith in them a few times and EA lets me down each time. Roster updates is all they are and rehashed lame polishing uninspired game play mechanics. Espn still has game play that is more fun and more realistic. It will hold the test of time like last generations techmo bowl. I have play madden 2000, 2003 was the best. 06 terrible 07 not as good asMadden is such a disappointment. I put my faith in them a few times and EA lets me down each time. Roster updates is all they are and rehashed lame polishing uninspired game play mechanics. Espn still has game play that is more fun and more realistic. It will hold the test of time like last generations techmo bowl. I have play madden 2000, 2003 was the best. 06 terrible 07 not as good as espn. 08 in my opinion was good, 09 and up is so lame and pathetic to call them football video games. The Players act and move like robots. They don't have any flow to their movements. Expand
  3. ShaunF.
    Jul 18, 2007
    1
    How is the next gen game worse than the current gen of the same year? What is with this cheesey 8 bit style NFL combine contest I have to play in order to set my created player's attributes? In the old one you could customize the game the way you wanted. Now you have to waste time with this new feature that has nothing to do with the mechanics of the game on the field. Franchise mode How is the next gen game worse than the current gen of the same year? What is with this cheesey 8 bit style NFL combine contest I have to play in order to set my created player's attributes? In the old one you could customize the game the way you wanted. Now you have to waste time with this new feature that has nothing to do with the mechanics of the game on the field. Franchise mode is horrible. The words on the menu screens are so tiny are barely readable. The controller configuration was completely changed. What are these guys smoking? They need to issue a public apology for this. This is highway robbery. Why is the original game download not available for the 360 on XBOX live? So we could all are forced to go out and purchase this piece of crap!?! I used to respect EA. Expand
  4. EricJ.
    Mar 4, 2007
    2
    This Madden is weak. No editing players. The create a player way to difficult. They took away all of the cool franchise features.
  5. BrianH.
    Feb 27, 2007
    2
    Defense in this game feels like it is totally based on luck (an 8 man front and all out blitz should stop a run up the gut 70% of the time; in this game, it stops the run about 10% of the time). Not fun, just infuriating.
  6. RickC.
    Feb 20, 2007
    3
    3 might be a little high...but I have respected the madden line for years.Horrible announcing, even worse franchise mode (no fantasy draft...who's decision was it to leave that out...they should fire them right now), terrible controls..it felt like I was on ice skates, terrible minigames, terrible superstar mode, smudged graphics on downfield views... EA sports has dropped the ball 3 might be a little high...but I have respected the madden line for years.Horrible announcing, even worse franchise mode (no fantasy draft...who's decision was it to leave that out...they should fire them right now), terrible controls..it felt like I was on ice skates, terrible minigames, terrible superstar mode, smudged graphics on downfield views... EA sports has dropped the ball on yet another sports title... Madden used to be the best. Now we just have to hope Sega can get the NFL license back. Expand
  7. RogerThis
    Jan 26, 2007
    1
    This is the first Madden that I've ever disliked. I cannot bear to play a game. Who's running the show at EA these days? They've lost it.
  8. StinkyP.
    Jan 16, 2007
    0
    Shame on these mainstream reviewers. The lowest score is a 60%? I wouldn't give this a 6%. Terrible lighting, terrible announcing, terribe dynasty, terrible create-a-player, terrible controls, terrible minigames, terrible superstar mode, terrible jersey choices, terrible hot routes, terrible defensive controls, terrible editing choices, terrible game. I give it a 4 out of a 100. EA Shame on these mainstream reviewers. The lowest score is a 60%? I wouldn't give this a 6%. Terrible lighting, terrible announcing, terribe dynasty, terrible create-a-player, terrible controls, terrible minigames, terrible superstar mode, terrible jersey choices, terrible hot routes, terrible defensive controls, terrible editing choices, terrible game. I give it a 4 out of a 100. EA used to be the best. Now the define what's so bad about gaming. They're the Michael Bay of video games -- all flash and no substance. Expand
  9. JohnnyG.
    Jan 16, 2007
    3
    This game feels really rushed and not very fun. Playing defense is a chore ... throwing the ball is a coin flip ... and running up the middle is impossible. Graphically it's better than the PS2, but by no means impressive. The franchise mode has no ambiance or feel that you're in control of a team. The menus are clunky. Why did they change the control scheme? The highlight stick This game feels really rushed and not very fun. Playing defense is a chore ... throwing the ball is a coin flip ... and running up the middle is impossible. Graphically it's better than the PS2, but by no means impressive. The franchise mode has no ambiance or feel that you're in control of a team. The menus are clunky. Why did they change the control scheme? The highlight stick instead of giving you more control takes away control. The minigames are tedious, but unfortuantely necessary. WHy do I have to play first person mode in superstar? It's awful. I paid $60 for the game but they won;t let me edit players how I want -- it's my game -- let me edit it to my tastes. And they only give you two uniform options per team (home and away) what a joke ... $60 for this? I'm an EA stockholder and I'm disgusted. Expand
  10. AlecB.
    Dec 28, 2006
    7
    Its a great game but it only supports 480 and 720p and I was hoping that it supported 1080p so I can play it in the best high definition graphics PS3 has to offer.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. An extremely solid game of football. The motion-sensing SIXAXIS controller does nothing to improve the gridiron experience, but by and large, EA includes everything that makes the franchise great, from the easy to learn controls to the bone jarring tackles.
  2. 83
    If you're moving from the PS2 to the PS3, you'll most likely be impressed by the title, but if you happen to own the 360 version, there's not really anything included here that would make you want to purchase this title again.
  3. 65
    Like its next-gen stablemate, Madden for the PS3 has a "maybe next year" outing this season, leaving the title of best Madden for the PlayStation to the PS2 version, which is $20 cheaper to boot.