User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 29
  2. Negative: 12 out of 29

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MiguelJimenez
    Aug 7, 2008
    4
    Madden is the best video game ever, the ps2 games are great and the online game was flawless. People using cheesy plays were meant to be blacked out, I could seriously kick some butt when someone went 20 yards back with the qb and send a bomb to T.O. Moss or anyone. Not in Madden for ps3. The wrs are magicians who just jump for the ball, it sucks. People run the same scramble over andMadden is the best video game ever, the ps2 games are great and the online game was flawless. People using cheesy plays were meant to be blacked out, I could seriously kick some butt when someone went 20 yards back with the qb and send a bomb to T.O. Moss or anyone. Not in Madden for ps3. The wrs are magicians who just jump for the ball, it sucks. People run the same scramble over and over just to pass to a crossing route or a bomb in case you are playing zone, just to see a wr jump for the ball ang grab it sometimes with just one hand. The worst thing is that madden 09 seem to have the same button configuration and leaping grabs. This may be the last madden I ever buy. Collapse
  2. NickR.
    Jan 24, 2008
    3
    Madden 08 has got to be the worst football game I have ever played. The presentation is nil and graphically, I think they found some of the old Geocities members and asked them for their input. (That depth of field effect is butt ugly) Let's not forget that every drive is always interrupted with a fumble or interception. If you get down the field you're lucky. Your WR always Madden 08 has got to be the worst football game I have ever played. The presentation is nil and graphically, I think they found some of the old Geocities members and asked them for their input. (That depth of field effect is butt ugly) Let's not forget that every drive is always interrupted with a fumble or interception. If you get down the field you're lucky. Your WR always break route and your quarterback never figured out how to lead his receivers with the ball either. Maybe once you figure out all the weird quirks, you can enjoy it. But you'd have probably find yourself with the game traded in or smashed into a million pieces by then. There just is nothing here, period. I only gave it a 3 because I know I am not that hardcore of a sports gamer. (I prefer actually playing them outside.) Expand
  3. GaryH.
    Nov 15, 2007
    5
    I have been playing Madden for a long time, faithfully every year since the arrival of the PS2 and even years before. I was elated to recieve my PS3 and could not wait to play Madden 2008 on it. The previous year I was playing Madden 07 on PS2 and loved it but I must say that I am completely disappointed with the gameplay of Madden 08 on PS3. 1) the button arrangement is horrible.....why I have been playing Madden for a long time, faithfully every year since the arrival of the PS2 and even years before. I was elated to recieve my PS3 and could not wait to play Madden 2008 on it. The previous year I was playing Madden 07 on PS2 and loved it but I must say that I am completely disappointed with the gameplay of Madden 08 on PS3. 1) the button arrangement is horrible.....why is X sprint, why can't I juke, why can't I stiff arm left and right with L2 and R2, respectively...... 2) whats the deal with the play calling, the old way is way better, yeah i know you can pick a play and keep scrolling to offset your opponent if they're looking, but c'mon what the point. 3) Why is there no more squib kick, return left/right......I do have many more, but I don't wanna sound like too negative because after all, MADDEN is my favorite game.....just not this year Expand
  4. AlexanderB.
    Sep 14, 2007
    3
    This is quite possibly the worst video game I have ever purchased. The gameplay is slower than 10-yard fight. I'ts like playing an online game with a really slow DSL connection, except if feels like this even when you're playing the CPU. The menus are confusing, the game is slow to respond to inputs from the controllers, and it takes forever for the CPU to simulate games. The This is quite possibly the worst video game I have ever purchased. The gameplay is slower than 10-yard fight. I'ts like playing an online game with a really slow DSL connection, except if feels like this even when you're playing the CPU. The menus are confusing, the game is slow to respond to inputs from the controllers, and it takes forever for the CPU to simulate games. The graphics are amazing. Of course, the special effect in Battlefield Earth were pretty good, but that doesn't make it a watchable movie. Expand
  5. TimothyD.
    Aug 31, 2007
    8
    Based on its own merits this game is a solid football title that will certainly whet your football appetite; but when compared to other iterations of Madden you can't help but notice that Madden is frustratingly missing some of the little things. For example; 1) Timeouts aren't readily visible on screen to alert you to how many you have. 2) The kicking game is once again Based on its own merits this game is a solid football title that will certainly whet your football appetite; but when compared to other iterations of Madden you can't help but notice that Madden is frustratingly missing some of the little things. For example; 1) Timeouts aren't readily visible on screen to alert you to how many you have. 2) The kicking game is once again stripped down; No squib kicks. The return game as well is stripped down. You no longer can chose to return left, middle, or right. The framerate issue is really not an issue at all. The game plays very well and the new features make the gameplay that much better but until EA get the little things right It wont get into the 90's. Expand
  6. duke
    Aug 25, 2007
    6
    Remember playing madden for the first time? well this is pretty much the same game. nothing has changed except now it has icons telling us that payton manning is an accurate quarterback and brian urlacher is a heavy hitter, and so on. thanks EA, i wouldn't have known that otherwise. also if you're carrying the ball and run into the back of your guard or a fallen player you can Remember playing madden for the first time? well this is pretty much the same game. nothing has changed except now it has icons telling us that payton manning is an accurate quarterback and brian urlacher is a heavy hitter, and so on. thanks EA, i wouldn't have known that otherwise. also if you're carrying the ball and run into the back of your guard or a fallen player you can be knocked back a dozen feet. that being said the game looks amazing. anyone who complains about the frame rate is just being anti - PS3, because after playing a quarter you can't even tell the difference. the game runs smooth and there are no major glitches that will ruin your experience. in conclusion this is a solid game that should feed any football appetite you might be having but it won't fill you up. Expand
  7. JeffL.
    Aug 24, 2007
    8
    This game is definitely better then last years version, as far as the frame rate, well, to me it runs very smooth, the gameplay is better then last years, graphics are a tad better, certain players are a bit more noticable then last year. The animations are fantastic, very relaistic, gang tackles, new catch animations, they look very realistic, one thing they can work on is the kicking This game is definitely better then last years version, as far as the frame rate, well, to me it runs very smooth, the gameplay is better then last years, graphics are a tad better, certain players are a bit more noticable then last year. The animations are fantastic, very relaistic, gang tackles, new catch animations, they look very realistic, one thing they can work on is the kicking game, especially on kickoffs, hardly any kickers boot kicks into the endzone, in this game it is inevtiable, also there should be custom moves for certain key retunr players that have the ability to retunrn kicks and punts to the endzone all the time. The annoucner is not horrible, but tiresome and annoying, they desperately need a real announcer to spice things up, and the presentation is lacking, although I like how they showcase key plays at half time andat the end of the game, it just needs to feel more like watching an actual football game. it controls very well, very responsive, and as far as everyone talking about a lot of fumbles, well, I have not expereinced that many, but I can see what they are talking about, there should be a specific slider that increases fumbles or decreases, something like that would help balance the game. i say if you played madden last year on the ps3 and liked it, you will like this version, just dont expect it to blow you away, maybe next year. Expand
  8. RealReview..
    Aug 22, 2007
    6
    This game is compeletly average. i thought the frame rate was fine and that whole issue was overblown but the game just wasn't good. so many features are still missing. i'd rather be play a madden from two years ago with an updated roster.
  9. DionysusJ.
    Aug 19, 2007
    1
    To J.G: Sony screwed you, again? What in god's name are you talking about, boy? It's Electronic Arts' fault for being a lazy-ass developer, and has nothing to do with Sony. Yes, Sony had to green-light the game for release on its console...but what did you want them to do? Not release Madden 08 at all? That would have pissed even more PS3 owners off. But no, myTo J.G: Sony screwed you, again? What in god's name are you talking about, boy? It's Electronic Arts' fault for being a lazy-ass developer, and has nothing to do with Sony. Yes, Sony had to green-light the game for release on its console...but what did you want them to do? Not release Madden 08 at all? That would have pissed even more PS3 owners off. But no, my friend...Sony did not "screw" you. But EA is raping you for every cent that you're worth. So boycott Electronic Arts if you must. I certainly did. And while we're on the topic, you can boycott Ubisoft too (aka. Ubi-port). Expand
  10. EdgeG.
    Aug 18, 2007
    9
    Don't play into the negative 30 fps hype, it is barely noticeable and does NOT detract from the game play at all. This game is fantastic and highly recommended. 30 fps is fine.
  11. KyleW.
    Aug 15, 2007
    9
    Much better than last year and still very smooth despite the frame rate difference from the 360. EA still leaves more to improve on, but that's why we come back every year to see what else has been added.
  12. MannyC.
    Aug 14, 2007
    9
    Honestly, you'll only notice the difference in framerate if you are playing the game on both consoles everyday. Both versions look and play great. And while the 360 version does run a bit faster and smoother, the PS3 version isnt a rushed, broken port like last years. 08 features an all new animation system, Superstar mode has been vastly improved, Owner mode is back, and the games Honestly, you'll only notice the difference in framerate if you are playing the game on both consoles everyday. Both versions look and play great. And while the 360 version does run a bit faster and smoother, the PS3 version isnt a rushed, broken port like last years. 08 features an all new animation system, Superstar mode has been vastly improved, Owner mode is back, and the games engine and controls feel less clunky. If you love Madden and own a Playstation 3 you will love this game. Expand
  13. RavenX301
    Aug 14, 2007
    8
    Look....I own all the next gen consoles....The 360, Wii, and this PS3. and altought I admit I am much more impressed with the 360 thus far (and you canot denie that) I am looking for that small light at the end of the tunnel for PS3. This game is in no comparsions better than the 360 version ONLY becasue the frame rate is really, really not good when looking at them side by side. The gameLook....I own all the next gen consoles....The 360, Wii, and this PS3. and altought I admit I am much more impressed with the 360 thus far (and you canot denie that) I am looking for that small light at the end of the tunnel for PS3. This game is in no comparsions better than the 360 version ONLY becasue the frame rate is really, really not good when looking at them side by side. The game is still great, but in a sports game there is no room for frame rate drops. I really dont believe this is becasue sonys a piece of sh!t, but merely some develping problem or mishap. Thankfully i rented this on both to really see whhat these poeple were talking about. Still, if you only own a PS3 its not as bad as popele make it out to be. There are alot of stuipid FANBOYS on both sides of PS and Microsoft. In my mind...I just hope every game that comes out is as good as they say it should be no matter what console. Alot of games on the PS suck bad....theres also alot on the 360 that suck bad, and the Wii. Why do you poeple seem to stop at a single console and completly hate the other? 360 has cleary got a better online support, however, I trust my PS3 to hold up better than my 360 (paying almost twice cvertainly should help this!) and I think in the long run PS will certianly have there share of great games and 360 will have theres and the Wii....will....lets just keep our fingers crossed......All in all So far the PS3's best titles have come from the 360 ports. I'm not sure why this is. maybe sonys trying to buy itself time, but trust therre both great systems with there own problems and set backs, but so far there is no contest in preformance for many games. Good job 360, and and give the PS3 some time to grow into the monster its supoose to be. Expand
  14. JeffA.
    Aug 13, 2007
    0
    Boycott Madden 08 for the PS3. Send EA a message. The PS3 is capable of running games like Lair, MGS4 and Killzone 2. Don't buy a game that runs at 30 f.p.s.
  15. JG.
    Aug 13, 2007
    2
    30 Frames Per Second!?. BOOO!!!!! Online sucks also on the PS3...should have gotten the 360 version where it is 60 Frames Per Second and flawless online play. You screwed me again Sony!
  16. JoeT.
    Aug 13, 2007
    8
    Far better than last years, however it still could use some work. The secondary feels almost cheap to me with the amount of interceptions both sides get a game. 30fps isn't a deal breaker but if you look hard enough you will notice the difference. I doubt the mainstream even knows or cares about the frame rate difference.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 85
    Sadly, just like with "NCAA Football 08" and "All-Pro Football 2K8," PS3 owners are stuck with an inferior version of Madden. While the game runs at 60 frames per second on Microsoft's box, Madden only clocks in at 30fps on Sony's console. The result? The gameplay isn't nearly as smooth as the 360 version and even stutters at times.
  2. It knows what works best, and rather than reinvent the wheel it focuses on smoothing out the kinks. Visual and performance drawbacks aside, Madden NFL 08 more than suffices.
  3. All the modes have finally made the starting lineup, and there are successful tweaks and additions to both the gameplay and options. It's still more of an evolution than a revolution, but that's like saying LaDanian [la-dane-ian] Tomlinson just got better.