User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 132
  2. Negative: 72 out of 132
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    Worst cover ever. Mr Pick six. Great job for setting the record #4 in career picks. This game is uninspiring and is not innovative. I never bought this dumb version thankfully. I have played as far back as m 2000. The best is still 2003. 2k5 in my own opinion is the best game play for football to todays date.
  2. Mar 24, 2011
    3
    First Madden game since 06 and I think it'll be my last. This series just doesn't capture the essence of football anymore. The difference in game play from rookie to pro is huge. I'm either throwing eight touchdowns a game or throwing eight interceptions a game. I do pass a lot because the run game in almost non-existent no matter how high a level my runner is. The menus are horrid to lookFirst Madden game since 06 and I think it'll be my last. This series just doesn't capture the essence of football anymore. The difference in game play from rookie to pro is huge. I'm either throwing eight touchdowns a game or throwing eight interceptions a game. I do pass a lot because the run game in almost non-existent no matter how high a level my runner is. The menus are horrid to look at and the announcing is very, very, very, very bad. Please NFL commish, don't give EA unlimited rights anymore. Expand
  3. TylerH
    Mar 22, 2009
    1
    I was just looking around at different scores of games and realized that I still own this game that I regretfully purchased 2 or so days after its release. I give it a 1 because its score is too high on here, its probably a 3, only a 3 because it has a little bit of fun against a friend, but thats it. Player progression in franchise mode is non-exsistant, computer teams are stupid, willI was just looking around at different scores of games and realized that I still own this game that I regretfully purchased 2 or so days after its release. I give it a 1 because its score is too high on here, its probably a 3, only a 3 because it has a little bit of fun against a friend, but thats it. Player progression in franchise mode is non-exsistant, computer teams are stupid, will have 4 wideouts all 90+ but have a 70 overall qb for 3 years. Drafted players suck. Actual game play at first looks nice because its HD, but after 10 minutes, its boring and the cpu is cheap as hell. your teammates dont help at all. continously spot the ball a couple yards off from where your actually at. you can watch replays and completely know that you've won the challenge, only to have the refs say you didnt. game is crap. I think i'm done playing Madden. It was best in the day on my now sold ps2. Its just a past memory now, now more will my PS3 be subject to playing this trash, no more will my precious blue ray lazer need to waste energy on the Madden series :p So long Madden, no more for me. If they took longer than 4 or so months to copy and paste each year, maybe the game wouldnt be crap. Madden should go to an every other year formula, with a $10 roster upgrade in the off year. that'd be the only way i'd get it again. Collapse
  4. Tyeson
    Jan 29, 2009
    8
    This game is much more better than any madden game so far. The switching ability on defense sucks. I can so many user picks online. most the time i can't cause they don't let me switch. doesn't let me switch on time. switches me to the wrong dude. I'm just tired of that but I'm pretty good. I'm ranked 5000 online. Can't wait till 2010 hope they fix that.
  5. EraldoU.
    Nov 20, 2008
    5
    This is about an average game to me. The superstar is completely wrecked; they should have kept the old superstar from 08. In the 08 version of superstar, the player actually had to put effort into becoming a hall of famer; in 09, it can be beat in 1 season.
  6. RonW.
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    this game is amazing all you people that say it sucks, well thats cause u suck at it. how is that the games fault u morons ha ur sad. and whoever likes anything less then 09 more is dumb you only like it more cause you can break a 90 yard td run everytime u touch the effin ball. so quit complaing and grow up.
  7. BrianL.
    Oct 26, 2008
    3
    Wow look at all the madden fan boys complain about how low ppl are rating this piece of crap. if you say this game is good then u are sad. it is terribly broken. AU (Artificial Unintelligence) is worthless. and most ppl who are not on their knees to EA can see this. you want proof look at the dozens of videos on youtube showcasing this broken EA crap. i paid 60 bucks and ended up throwing Wow look at all the madden fan boys complain about how low ppl are rating this piece of crap. if you say this game is good then u are sad. it is terribly broken. AU (Artificial Unintelligence) is worthless. and most ppl who are not on their knees to EA can see this. you want proof look at the dozens of videos on youtube showcasing this broken EA crap. i paid 60 bucks and ended up throwing it away 2 weeks later....... worthless. open your eyes and see that just because millions of ppl are buying it dosent make it good. the best part is when your passing the ball, when you hike it ,your offensive line ALL just stand thereblocking no one, and let the defensive line sake you unless you throw it away or try and make a quick pass which will usually result in interception. this is just one of MANY problems. these are not just rare occurances, these are problems that occure a MAJORITY of the plays. like i said go to youtube, im not the only one who thinks this. as for those of you who disagree, open your eyes and form your own opinion and quit being a bunch of followers. football is a great game but EA has butchered it and they are getting rich from it. Expand
  8. EricJeanneret
    Oct 6, 2008
    9
    While it has it's glitches, this is the best game of Madden I've played yet. Yes the running game is hard, BUT THAT'S FOOTBALL. When you're playing somebody who understands and appreciates the game of football, this game is most rewarding. When you play somebody who tries to exploit the game just for a cheap win, that's where this game loses it's merit.
  9. JonasW.
    Oct 2, 2008
    6
    It's fun vs another person, but the CPU AI is just terrible. The OL/DL and WR/DB interaction needs a major overhaul. CPU playcalling is very predictable, and the same team to team. Also, CPU QB is unstoppable while CPU HB is horrible. Challenging system doesn't work, and there seems to be no awareness of the sidelines or LOS either.
  10. BryanM.
    Sep 18, 2008
    6
    at first I thought this game is pritty cool, but boy did It turn bad quick! after your first year in Francise mode you can not save it because it keeps frezzing! I noticed this also in the other Maddens that are for the next gen! so that gets me mad, I mean why buy the game if all you can play is the first season? the 2nd thing is the Superstar! it was bad in 06 but now its just crap! why at first I thought this game is pritty cool, but boy did It turn bad quick! after your first year in Francise mode you can not save it because it keeps frezzing! I noticed this also in the other Maddens that are for the next gen! so that gets me mad, I mean why buy the game if all you can play is the first season? the 2nd thing is the Superstar! it was bad in 06 but now its just crap! why even play its not fun! you can be a 93 ratting and you will still be picked in the 3rd round I mean your better then the other players so why would the teams wait untill the 3rd round? its not really a draft you just get picked like trash! the other thing is even if you go to the draft its like your not! you don't know where you get picked only by what team! I am sorry, but I liked 08 better and thats sad! maybe its good to play with your friends but other then that its no fun! Expand
  11. SteveB.
    Sep 16, 2008
    1
    Terrible game. Graphics are not polished at all, the QB throwing animation is downright pathetic. LB interceptions are still ridiculous, the overall gameplay feels forced and unrealistic. Numerous unacceptable and unexcusable clipping errors. Not worth the plastic it's printed on.
  12. schlittmehr
    Sep 14, 2008
    8
    This is a solid game, the idea that the difficulty adjusts to your playing ability is good, as it does not leave you getting beaten on all madden, and winning easily on all pro. The graphics are pretty good, as are the in game alterations of backtrack and rewind. It could use some more revamping both online and in the franchise mode.
  13. DalmacioL.
    Sep 3, 2008
    2
    The more you play this game, the less you like. Good game during the first hour. From then on? Bad game, disappointing. If you are very good at pass offense (in example), the game will re-adjust and no matter how good players you have you will be intercepted. Same in the contrary, if you are very bad, no matter if you play with your third string players, the game will re-adjust and you The more you play this game, the less you like. Good game during the first hour. From then on? Bad game, disappointing. If you are very good at pass offense (in example), the game will re-adjust and no matter how good players you have you will be intercepted. Same in the contrary, if you are very bad, no matter if you play with your third string players, the game will re-adjust and you will complete passes very easy. Is that funny? Expand
  14. DonM.
    Aug 27, 2008
    4
    This game does not deserve the outstanding praise that its getting from the major review sites. The AI is completely broken, your teammates will either be catching long bombs without looking or bobbling easy passes to the chest. The adaptive difficulty doesn't work the way its suppose to, it rewards you for playing well by making your teammates play horribly. Superstar mode is a This game does not deserve the outstanding praise that its getting from the major review sites. The AI is completely broken, your teammates will either be catching long bombs without looking or bobbling easy passes to the chest. The adaptive difficulty doesn't work the way its suppose to, it rewards you for playing well by making your teammates play horribly. Superstar mode is a tedious affair, you don't feel that you're making progress as your stats go up since the game makes you play horribly no matter how good your guy is. Online is full of whiners and quitters, about 90% of my games resulted in the other person quitting or leaving it on pause. The graphic are alright, not the best but not horrible enough to distract. The animation is poor, especially the running (watch in slow motion). The menus are good, sometimes poorly laid out but usable. Controls are overly complex and sometimes are not responsive, this makes passing a hassle and could make you miss a good throwing opportunity. Also, sometimes my QB would run for a false start when I fake hut the ball (probably a glitch with the AI). This is a very unpolished game with major problems, mainly bad AI and controls, some may be fixed through patches. This is a rental if you like football games (though there's not much choice), anyone else should stay away. Expand
  15. MomarG
    Aug 25, 2008
    10
    I think it is a fun game. And I like it.
  16. RickLord
    Aug 24, 2008
    3
    The game is slow, the play doesn't allow you to set and is hard to determine on D who you control especially with "quick snapers". The game experience online is poor, I found that the people like to run the same routes over and over and while I have only played 5 games, I have seen enough in 5 hrs of play to determine my 60 dollars spent was trash again. The speed and just overall The game is slow, the play doesn't allow you to set and is hard to determine on D who you control especially with "quick snapers". The game experience online is poor, I found that the people like to run the same routes over and over and while I have only played 5 games, I have seen enough in 5 hrs of play to determine my 60 dollars spent was trash again. The speed and just overall experience when you get over the "eye candy" is not good. I would recommend you save your money and wait for madden franchise to go back and make the game play well vs all the high def eye candy, after all it's about playing the game and having good control that matters. The controls are just way too sensitive. It's a nice attempt to eliminate some of the past versions distractions but they still miss the mark in my book. Expand
  17. BrentA.
    Aug 22, 2008
    8
    Solid game. Needs a better franchise mode with more features and better presentation.
  18. JordanS.
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    madden always said "if you dont got anything good to say then don't say anything at all" or maybe it was my mom. either way. STOP YOU'RE CRYING. stop giving the game a 0. you think anyone gonna listen to your cry baby tactics, madden has the strongest and biggest contingent of gamer fans in America, its been like that for a long time and wont stop. so keep playing madden 95 on madden always said "if you dont got anything good to say then don't say anything at all" or maybe it was my mom. either way. STOP YOU'RE CRYING. stop giving the game a 0. you think anyone gonna listen to your cry baby tactics, madden has the strongest and biggest contingent of gamer fans in America, its been like that for a long time and wont stop. so keep playing madden 95 on ps2 or your lego star wars, until then MADDEN RULES! its a fantastic game once again and any NFL/gamer fan should own it. PERIOD. the one problem with the game i find is the the AI, i usually play online, and user control my players, but its crybabies online, DNF% , friendly quit offers, pausing, blah blah blah, and of course some glitches, whatever. buy the game its better then most games out there. Expand
  19. CodyB.
    Aug 20, 2008
    0
    I have to say that this game is broken. I would have given it a higher score for the fundamentals of the game, but we have been seeing Madden's fundamentals for 20 years now. The adaptive gameplay does not work. My passing/catch rating was high. So what does the game do to adapt to me being good in this area. It repeatedly causes me to dro WIDE OPEN passes. If my running rating is I have to say that this game is broken. I would have given it a higher score for the fundamentals of the game, but we have been seeing Madden's fundamentals for 20 years now. The adaptive gameplay does not work. My passing/catch rating was high. So what does the game do to adapt to me being good in this area. It repeatedly causes me to dro WIDE OPEN passes. If my running rating is high. The game makes my offensive line suck at blocking. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. This is the last Madden I will buy. period! Expand
  20. MikalS.
    Aug 19, 2008
    0
    Ea puts out a worse Madden game every year, dont buy this horrid junk.
  21. MattP.
    Aug 19, 2008
    8
    No consistency. There is either perfect QB play or your offense is like babies running around a field.
  22. ChrisM.
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    You fools have no idea what your talking about, madden is the best game ever made it is the evolution of the gaming world. Anyone who rates this game below an 8 is a moron.
  23. TouchyEd
    Aug 18, 2008
    4
    As a game considered in complete isolation, Madden 2009 is a pretty darn good football game. But when you start comparing it to existing Madden products (2008 and 2007 in particular), you start to realize that the game just hasn't evolved much over the last few years. Better graphics? They don't appear to be. Better gameplay? Nope. Better sound? Well yah, with the commentary. As a game considered in complete isolation, Madden 2009 is a pretty darn good football game. But when you start comparing it to existing Madden products (2008 and 2007 in particular), you start to realize that the game just hasn't evolved much over the last few years. Better graphics? They don't appear to be. Better gameplay? Nope. Better sound? Well yah, with the commentary. But overall, we're just seeing the same product packaged year after year. Disappointing. Avoid. Expand
  24. AdamH
    Aug 17, 2008
    10
    This game combines everything I ever loved about madden, but adds new features that I love (like supersim which allows you to play the game but simulate certain plays or possesions). 10/10 w/o a doubt.
  25. ML.
    Aug 16, 2008
    7
    This is a good game. There are enough changes that I actually have to re-learn how to do certain aspects of the game. Not perfect, and the insrtuction manual leaves far too much out,,,but it's a good game.
  26. anonymousgamer
    Aug 15, 2008
    0
    EA-----stinks----stop giving them money for titles like this that are just cash cow iterations of the past madden titles.
  27. WesM.
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    360 fanboy troll alerts; note the discrepancy in ranking between the two identical games.
  28. tdog
    Aug 13, 2008
    3
    With a couple of additions added, it seems they also subtract each year too from the little details, like adding tattoos or choosing what hair you want in create a player. instead you only have a buzz cut and a guy who looks to be 38. wheres the online franchises? guess thats next years ploy to get us to waste more money. this madden is nothing more than updated rosters, added contrast to With a couple of additions added, it seems they also subtract each year too from the little details, like adding tattoos or choosing what hair you want in create a player. instead you only have a buzz cut and a guy who looks to be 38. wheres the online franchises? guess thats next years ploy to get us to waste more money. this madden is nothing more than updated rosters, added contrast to the graphics, some ok commentary, and a sub par ai system that doesn't really adapt to your play the way it should. huge disappointment, will never buy another madden. this is the same as the past 2. no more wasting $60 when at Christmas this will probably be 30 or 40. so long EA. keep gettin the rest of the suckers with your amazing claims and reviews each year... there all the same damn thing Expand
  29. licardio
    Aug 13, 2008
    2
    This game is a ripoff. Don't buy this junk.
  30. JoshP.
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    How coul some people rate madden as 3.7 out of ten madden is the best game ever created.
  31. BenH
    Aug 13, 2008
    9
    Looks great, plays great. Only issue I have is how hard it is to play pass defense. A patch would be great.
  32. BernardB.
    Aug 12, 2008
    4
    It is not in the game. This game is wack, players dissapearing behind walls, same annimation, etc... Save your money! I can't believe I paid $60 for this.
  33. BrettF.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    I'm on the Cover so its a 10!!!!!
  34. hsxccc
    Aug 11, 2008
    0
    This game is broken beyond belief. It sucks.
  35. EricJ.
    Aug 9, 2008
    1
    Madden is the poster boy for "the game company that just slaps a new year on the box and calls this a NEW game!" ESPN 2K5 is still a much more complete game and a heck of a lot more FUN! This is pretty pathetic being that EA had 4 yrs and a "next generation system to get the gameplay and presentation right, but just can't do it!! Or should I say, just don't care to do it due to Madden is the poster boy for "the game company that just slaps a new year on the box and calls this a NEW game!" ESPN 2K5 is still a much more complete game and a heck of a lot more FUN! This is pretty pathetic being that EA had 4 yrs and a "next generation system to get the gameplay and presentation right, but just can't do it!! Or should I say, just don't care to do it due to the NFL license theft. Perhaps EA predicted the future after 2005! Expand
  36. AaronL.
    Aug 9, 2008
    10
    There seems to be a lot of EA haters voting here. Play the game before you judge it, it's the best of the modern era, which isn't hard, but it's also an incredible game.
  37. Richardvw
    Aug 7, 2008
    4
    Amazing how lame the graphics are... its almost as if they are getting worse. The video Madden has a coolness to it, but overall, it feels like they are following a formula applied across every gaming platform, and utilizing about 1/10th of the PS3's capabilities as a result. Booo.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Everything from the visuals, audio, and presentation have been bumped up a notch to a level that would make any fan who has turned their heads for the last 3 years take notice.
  2. We’ll happily play all season long, during which we’ll invent a thousand more reasons to love and hate it all at the same time. No matter what, though, we’d be lying if we said we weren’t a tad disappointed that this year’s version didn’t make the same jump we’d gotten accustomed to the last two years.
  3. There are a lot of new features this year, but none of them are of much consequence. If you own Madden 08, there is no truly outstanding aspect that makes a repurchase necessary. In fact, the Superstar and Franchise game modes are nearly identical, and the Online Leagues aren't impressive enough to outshine the excellent online play of last year.