User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 58
  2. Negative: 13 out of 58
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Peaches
    Oct 6, 2009
    5
    Were the reviewers playing the version of Madden 10 we got? I wouldn't think so reading their reviews, when it shows players on the sidelines there numbers often show up as 00 for 6 different guys! The game itself is decent but the superstar mode SUCKS! No interviews, no movie deals, no progression nothing that would make you want to play it. I think people get paid to give games good scores
  2. TylerH
    Aug 15, 2009
    0
    I have to counter that 10 score because that is just ludacris. This is maybe a 2 and only because of the graphics. This is a terrible game with a nice coat of paint to hide the rust. Once you get past the glitter there is no depth... and at other times, too much. Roughly 30 features were blantently left out of the game to be used as overpriced dlc on PSN and LIVE, that were all released I have to counter that 10 score because that is just ludacris. This is maybe a 2 and only because of the graphics. This is a terrible game with a nice coat of paint to hide the rust. Once you get past the glitter there is no depth... and at other times, too much. Roughly 30 features were blantently left out of the game to be used as overpriced dlc on PSN and LIVE, that were all released on the same day of the game. This is rediculous that EA would go so low for are money. I for one got away with a rental and not a full waste of $60. Slow, unblanced, and boring gameplay. So what if the players have authetic 'cleats' and 'towels'? EA is a corporatation built on blantent greed, and every year were fed with the same crap that each year will be better and better, but sadly, every year something is always left out, and every year is worse than the previous. How can the ps2 versions of madden 04 and 05 be so superior compared to these 'next gen' versions? Do not buy this trash, do not waste your money. EA needs competition, and until they get some, they will continue to make terrible games that were led to believe from the critics are actually good, and the day after its released, they will immedatiately begin making the next years, forgetting this years version quicker than you can blink. Expand
  3. MikeW.
    Aug 23, 2009
    9
    I'm not what you'd refer too as a wrist-jockey. More of a strategy fan in the thinking man's sense of things. I enjoy football and especially Madden NFL 10. I've been a loyalist since 1989, and I'm here to tell you this is the smoothest version release of Madden yet. It's not perfect mind you, but it's way solid on multiple fronts. The player animations I'm not what you'd refer too as a wrist-jockey. More of a strategy fan in the thinking man's sense of things. I enjoy football and especially Madden NFL 10. I've been a loyalist since 1989, and I'm here to tell you this is the smoothest version release of Madden yet. It's not perfect mind you, but it's way solid on multiple fronts. The player animations are realistic to the point even non football fans will drop what their doing and marvel at the environment and grid-iron moxie. Its so good that I enjoy just watching the game run by itself, its almost like a television broadcast, yes - it is that good. Needless to say this years version of Madden Football is the best yet! If you are a true fan of the NFL - then you should not (under any circumstances) miss this jewel. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  4. RickK
    Sep 3, 2009
    1
    The only reason I give it a 1 is because of the graphics, just as another review stated: terrible game with nice coat of paint to hide it's rust. That's about all it amounts too, and again on that same review it's more then likely due to buying out any possibility of competition. 2K Sports was kicking EA Sports a$$ in the football category. It was becoming too much for EA The only reason I give it a 1 is because of the graphics, just as another review stated: terrible game with nice coat of paint to hide it's rust. That's about all it amounts too, and again on that same review it's more then likely due to buying out any possibility of competition. 2K Sports was kicking EA Sports a$$ in the football category. It was becoming too much for EA Sports to take with the annual humiliation from the up-start 2K Sports so they just bought the NFL rights to creating football video games. That was nothing but a pu$$y move on their part... can't beat 'em so buy out the rights to make it at all??? Yeah, you really showed them... EA Sports aren't Gods of anything... they're ruthless dictators with no ba11s. Expand
  5. MikeM
    Sep 8, 2009
    7
    I gave this a 7, although it's more like 7.5 Although this is EA Sports strongest Madden showing on the next gen consoles it still is an incomplete package. Some of the graphical and programming problems that existed in Madden 09 still exist in Madden 10. These problems really stand out in gamers minds given the fact that it looks like EA spent a fair share of time working out their I gave this a 7, although it's more like 7.5 Although this is EA Sports strongest Madden showing on the next gen consoles it still is an incomplete package. Some of the graphical and programming problems that existed in Madden 09 still exist in Madden 10. These problems really stand out in gamers minds given the fact that it looks like EA spent a fair share of time working out their micro-transaction strategies as they did nailing down all the core gameplay bugs and issues. We are in 2010 yet Madden is losing components that were free in other versions of Madden, like medical staff and player boosts in favor charging a fee for download this year. Also missing in the console version is a play creator. Although it IS in the PSP version and allows you to import them to PS3. Forcing people to yet again, purchase another version of the game in order to have a feature that used to be included in the package. The presentation, although touted as being "New and Improved" only offer us things that existed as well in past Madden titles and were later inexplicably removed. Chain gangs and Injury Carts date back to the Sega Genesis era and shouldn't be anything for the Madden Dev team to hang their hats on. As for the Halftime show......I'd rather have the option to turn it off. NFL2K5 was the only game that did this right. In fact NFL2K5 has Madden10 beat in the presentation department, contrary to what EA or other review outlets may claim. Gamers should be happy to finally have a playable and enjoyable NFL game again, but hopefully they are still far from satisfied. Expand
  6. licardiol
    Dec 2, 2009
    1
    I do not understand why the ps2 versions are always so much better and smoother. The gampleay seems slow again and the running is stiff and unresponsive. Bo back to the drawing board and base upon the fast and fun paced PS2 versions.
  7. loyt.
    Aug 20, 2009
    4
    This game isnt bad however it is not very good. It does show that Ea, Peter, Ian and crew are to lazy to start from scratch. They need to throw away all past madden game engines, game logic, game graphics and start fresh instead of building on what has already been established as a poor game. They are cocky and stubborn and it shows with their sub-par releases every year.
  8. EnzoP.
    Sep 17, 2009
    9
    Madden NFL 10 was a huge hit the critics liked it, it made a lot of money. But me personally I LOVED IT! It's very close to 10 but night quite the full cigar though. So far it's the best sport game of the year but with NHL 10 getting very good reviews they might not have the crown for long. Also something I have to add in this review is what a good cover. The cover is great, the Madden NFL 10 was a huge hit the critics liked it, it made a lot of money. But me personally I LOVED IT! It's very close to 10 but night quite the full cigar though. So far it's the best sport game of the year but with NHL 10 getting very good reviews they might not have the crown for long. Also something I have to add in this review is what a good cover. The cover is great, the cover actually has a big part in the intro and at the main menu. It's all Troy Polamalu and Larry Fitzgerald. To add on loving this game I am a big fan of the halftime report. When you do a season it shows the scores around the league and the big stats. Of course, the highlights too. This is a very smart video game I am a big fan of EA Sports. I also liked NBA Live 09 but the critics thought it was a lot worse then my perspective. I'm not that big of a fan of 2K sports the only one I liked was 2K5 football but they don't make football games anymore! To wrap this review up Madden NFL 10 is so far the best sports game of the year. Expand
  9. cd
    Sep 20, 2009
    6
    The commentary is all wrong, like they are not watching the game, rather hear nothing, the other really big deal is when the opponent is in the no huddle they catch your defense offside all the time, this is terrible when you stop them jus to get a 5 yard penilty and down over, this to me takes away from the game, not realilistic at all, 09 was better, next time ea should learn the game.
  10. ThomasZ
    Nov 30, 2009
    2
    This game stunk, it looked so good the main menu was graphic, and realistic, and then I started playing, and it was the slowest, most boring game where the quarterback looked like a defensive lineman, a big disappointment.
  11. Zach
    Aug 18, 2009
    10
    This is, by far, the best Madden they've made. I've been playing Madden since 1994, and this is the most complete, true-to-the-game incarnation. They've gotten rid of irritating things, like the mini-games when you create a superstar, and have added cool things like Pro-Tak. If you've been staying away from Madden for a few years, now is the time to come back.
  12. DWill
    Aug 21, 2009
    8
    I can honestly say that I am happy with this years effort to make Madden NFL 10 the best football game in the series on next gen consoles. I was a huge fan of the NFL 2k series and it hurt when i had to give up great presentation & comentary in those games for the less than stellar recent Madden games. (I would really fall asleep on many occasions when playing madden alone.) Madden has I can honestly say that I am happy with this years effort to make Madden NFL 10 the best football game in the series on next gen consoles. I was a huge fan of the NFL 2k series and it hurt when i had to give up great presentation & comentary in those games for the less than stellar recent Madden games. (I would really fall asleep on many occasions when playing madden alone.) Madden has always had a solid franchise mode, and great gameplay, but it was hard for me to be excited or interested to play more than a game or two at one sitting with 5min/ quarter. Well that has changed with this years game. I know, almost, feel like i am experiencing the magic of an NFL t.v. broadcast; almost! PRESENTATION: 8 +Easy and simple to navigate menues. +Great camera tricks during games. +halftime show that breakdown stats and show highlights -uninteresting comentary. -certain parts like the halftime show, feels empty & incomplete. GAMEPLAY: 8 +same solid madden controls you are use to. +fluid and responsive.(though some may not agree, I like the slower pace of this years game because it feels more realistic) -same gamplay quirks as previous Maddens (receviers running out bounds after a catch close to the sideline, etc) AUDIO: 8 + the audio for the most part is solid. the crowds chant things they really would at their home stadium. the player chattering is nicley done and believable. +the music plays low during the games but is effective and suites this game well. great selection of audio tracks by various artist. GRAPHICS: 8.5 +Very believable and realistic animations +Simply the best looking football game available, and it looks very good in HD. -the really good animations causes the poor ones to stick out a lot more. -many player faces need help. -textures pop in late some times on sidline shots. +these negatives dont really detract from the overall experience. *there is now a franchise mode online! *If your a football fan & have a PS3 or xbox 360, then you can be sure to find a satisfiying game in Madden NFL 10. Expand
  13. Cory
    Aug 21, 2009
    9
    I think it's an absolutely fun game. Everyone else that gave it low rankings takes Madden too seriously. The slow settings tooke me a bit to get used to, but, I love it now. Finding the holes and cutting back as a runner has never been so much fun.
  14. td
    Aug 30, 2009
    9
    Basically all the nay sayers are clearly 2k fanboys who are still living in 2005. Get over it already. 2k is finished. All Pro Football 2k8 was there chance to prove to the world they are the dominant developers and they FAILED MISERABLY. Now basing Madden 10 on its own merits, it is a very good game and a DEFINITE improvement over the past iterations of the game. The game will never Basically all the nay sayers are clearly 2k fanboys who are still living in 2005. Get over it already. 2k is finished. All Pro Football 2k8 was there chance to prove to the world they are the dominant developers and they FAILED MISERABLY. Now basing Madden 10 on its own merits, it is a very good game and a DEFINITE improvement over the past iterations of the game. The game will never appeal to everyone and there will always be people wanting more. Well you can't have it all but this game is far from a bad rating. Perhaps if EA switched to the PS3 as its lead console and take advantage of the 50GB disc space we will "HAVE IT ALL" but as long as we are limited by the disc space of the Xbox 360 we will just have to settle with what we got...........and that aint bad. Expand
  15. AnonymousMC
    Aug 28, 2009
    7
    I boycotted Madden after their first attempt for the PS3. However, after reading all the "professional" reviews I finally thought they hit gold. While the game play is good there are still a ton of annoying glitches that make a very unpolished game once again. Till EA loses the exclusive rights they will never be pushed to create another great football game.
  16. Feb 25, 2015
    7
    The IQ test is really fun to do. The graphics are a great improvement from the PS2, this was my first game I ever bought for the PS3. Gameplay wise, its Madden, its fun!
  17. Oct 6, 2015
    3
    The modeling for this game was weak, nothing appeared realistic and after a while the game became dull. This has to be the worst sports related game I have ever played.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 89
    Madden NFL 10 doesn’t redefine the series or innovate in any monumental way, but that doesn’t stop it from being a truly great football game.
  2. In the end Madden 10 is the kind of game that I am willing to look past the shortcomings because what’s good is really, really good. It’s worth putting up with the faults in order to experience what works.
  3. 90
    Being able to focus on finding an open receiver without worrying as much about the split-second paranoia of protecting my player was a welcome relief.