Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. This is the football game we've wanted since the PS3 era began. [Nov 2012, p.83]
  2. Aug 27, 2012
    100
    If one thing can be said about what EA has accomplished this year it is that they have taken their efforts seriously and have delivered the most realistic playing version of the pigskin classic that gamers have ever witnessed.
  3. Aug 25, 2012
    90
    I'll go ahead and say it – this year's Madden is the best football game I've played in a very long time. Is the game perfect? No. But the changes to this year's edition are more than enough for me to recommend it for even the most casual fans of football. The changes aren't merely cosmetic, but intended to make this year's version more like the real game that so many of us love. And you know what? Madden's never been closer.
  4. Aug 25, 2012
    88
    Madden NFL 13 is strong in certain elements of gameplay, such as the addition of Connected Careers and its improved presentation. With that said, it still has room to grow, but it certainly is more focused and enjoyable, as a whole, than any other Madden titles prior.
  5. Aug 24, 2012
    90
    Madden NFL 13 may not be the answer to why you still pick up the same old franchises year after year, but there's no denying that it's amazing fun.
  6. Aug 24, 2012
    90
    Madden NFL 13 does something the Madden franchise hasn't done in years: it makes me want to keep playing.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 51
  2. Negative: 20 out of 51
  1. Aug 29, 2012
    4
    The physics engine is really good. The game play feels much more fluid. It is not perfect but it is so much better than previous versions of Madden using this generations hardware.

    That said there are some major features missing or moved. No fantasy draft. No co-op play in offline career mode. No created players in offline or online career mode. No NCAA draft import.

    Rent or borrow this Madden before you buy it to make sure it has the features you want. Personally I will be selling or trading this one in. Next year Madden is no longer and automatic buy. I will wait until I read about it and rent or borrow it. EA stole my money this year.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 29, 2012
    0
    The graphics are great! The rest of the game not so much. When you take away things that are not broken and replace them with things that no one wants, then you have a failed attempt at re-writing a prominent franchise. There are so many things wrong with the game that I will just create a list:

    1. No True Franchise Mode
    2. No Importing Rosters from NCAA Football
    3. Incorrect uniforms
    4. Players flopping on the field after a tackle has been made. 5. Inability to change the opposing teams uniforms in offline career mode. 6. When you go to My Madden and change the settings, they should transfer to your career automatically. For instance, in career mode there is no way to change the play calling out of game to Conventional because it is defaulted to Game Flow. 7. Did I mention uniforms? The Chicago Bears have never had orange pants! 8. The logos only show up half the time on the uniforms during a game. 9. The interface is not user friendly
    10. The most important detail: Don't change something that was not broken!
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    0
    Buyer Beware!

    If you're like me and play the offline franchise mode, then you are in for a enormous disappointment. The Franchise mode has
    been 'watered down' into something called Connected Careers. I won't need to explain further except:

    1) No custom playbooks
    2) No fantasy drafts
    3) NO CUSTOM ROSTERS
    4) No ability to upload NCAA rosters

    In retrospect, I should have done my research before wasting time and money. I've been playing Madden on and off for the last 8 years and this reiteration is a MONUMENTAL failure.
    Full Review »