Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Oct 23, 2012
    82
    Too much has been thrown in at once, and that grates on the overall enjoyment of the exceptional on-field action. [Dec 2012, p.104]
  2. The problem - and the reason Maddden doesn't creep into 9/10 territory - is the (Connected Careers) mode feels like a bets. [Nov 2012, p.113]
  3. Oct 2, 2012
    86
    An essential purchase for owners of last year's Madden? Probably not but if you haven't tried this series yet, you're missing out. [Issue#223, p.79]
  4. The time you spend playing the game – when you're on the field – isn't as rewarding as all the stuff that goes on around it. Scouting is a dream, and the commentary on each player in this mode adds a sense of realism and character, backed by a stream of social media feeds. So, yeah, it's still good, but next year ought to be even better. [October 2012, p76]
  5. Sep 23, 2012
    78
    Although the new features are welcome, Madden NFL 13 has nothing that will draw you in if you've tried the games before, and found them cluttered, confusing, and just plain hard to get into. But, for those who enjoy some pixelated pigskin, Madden 13 is solid, occasionally slick, and not afraid to wear some big hits in order to gain a few yards.
  6. This is the football game we've wanted since the PS3 era began. [Nov 2012, p.83]
  7. Sep 12, 2012
    80
    Connected Career, new Infinity Engine for new physics and Madden classic gameplay make Madden NFL 13 best than his predecessors.
  8. Sep 10, 2012
    60
    Almost alone on his playing field, Madden NFL 13 can take its time to make progress. Nevertheless, EA switched to the new Infinity Engine for the better, in terms of contacts, animations, and the like, even though visually, the game isn't looking any better than the previous one. The content is there, but there still is some bugs (sometimes funny ones), and it doesn't quite stand up to other sports simulations that may or may not have competition to overcome.
  9. Sep 5, 2012
    80
    The best Madden of this generation and the only one to have made genuine progress. Some new features still need work, but at least there finally are some new features.
  10. Aug 31, 2012
    84
    Yes, it's just Madden but the "just" part is sort of an insult to a series that has delivered so consistently. They just need to recognize that a few more important steps must be taken as we enter a new generation…
  11. Aug 30, 2012
    80
    It's a solid game, and the improvements show a lot of promise. It fixes a lot of problems from last year, though some things are continuously overlooked. Next year should really make or break the Infinity Engine, as 13 was a test run.
  12. Aug 27, 2012
    100
    If one thing can be said about what EA has accomplished this year it is that they have taken their efforts seriously and have delivered the most realistic playing version of the pigskin classic that gamers have ever witnessed.
  13. Aug 25, 2012
    80
    New, niggling concerns and abhorrent commentary aside, this is the most playable and robust Madden in years. The Infinity engine is shot in the arm the dulled, increasingly frustrated core gameplay needed. It makes plays more dynamic, fluid, realistic, and satisfying.
  14. Aug 25, 2012
    90
    I'll go ahead and say it – this year's Madden is the best football game I've played in a very long time. Is the game perfect? No. But the changes to this year's edition are more than enough for me to recommend it for even the most casual fans of football. The changes aren't merely cosmetic, but intended to make this year's version more like the real game that so many of us love. And you know what? Madden's never been closer.
  15. Aug 25, 2012
    88
    Madden NFL 13 is strong in certain elements of gameplay, such as the addition of Connected Careers and its improved presentation. With that said, it still has room to grow, but it certainly is more focused and enjoyable, as a whole, than any other Madden titles prior.
  16. Aug 24, 2012
    90
    Madden NFL 13 may not be the answer to why you still pick up the same old franchises year after year, but there's no denying that it's amazing fun.
  17. 80
    Even though not all the touted features may be immediately noticeable, they greatly contribute to improving the overall experience. Most importantly, though, Madden offers a fun game of football with or without friends.
  18. Aug 24, 2012
    83
    If there's one glaring mistake that brings Madden 13 down, it's the new Infinity physics engine. It sometimes makes good on its intent to bring more realistic physics, varied hits, and multiple contact points on the body, but the effects of player collision are inconsistent.
  19. 85
    One of the best Madden game[s] of this generation.
  20. 85
    It's not a generational leap, but there's enough new for returning armchair quarterbacks and enough good for fans even mildly interested in simulating their favorite sport.
  21. Aug 24, 2012
    75
    Despite a few small issues, Madden NFL 13 is the best version of the same basic game that has existed for years. Nominal improvements in most aspects create a more believable experience, both on the field and off, and the expanded career mode lets you decide how much control you want in creating your team. But these changes never go beyond what you'd expect for a yearly sequel.
  22. Aug 24, 2012
    90
    Madden NFL 13 does something the Madden franchise hasn't done in years: it makes me want to keep playing.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 50
  2. Negative: 20 out of 50
  1. Aug 29, 2012
    4
    The physics engine is really good. The game play feels much more fluid. It is not perfect but it is so much better than previous versions of Madden using this generations hardware.

    That said there are some major features missing or moved. No fantasy draft. No co-op play in offline career mode. No created players in offline or online career mode. No NCAA draft import.

    Rent or borrow this Madden before you buy it to make sure it has the features you want. Personally I will be selling or trading this one in. Next year Madden is no longer and automatic buy. I will wait until I read about it and rent or borrow it. EA stole my money this year.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 29, 2012
    0
    The graphics are great! The rest of the game not so much. When you take away things that are not broken and replace them with things that no one wants, then you have a failed attempt at re-writing a prominent franchise. There are so many things wrong with the game that I will just create a list:

    1. No True Franchise Mode
    2. No Importing Rosters from NCAA Football
    3. Incorrect uniforms
    4. Players flopping on the field after a tackle has been made. 5. Inability to change the opposing teams uniforms in offline career mode. 6. When you go to My Madden and change the settings, they should transfer to your career automatically. For instance, in career mode there is no way to change the play calling out of game to Conventional because it is defaulted to Game Flow. 7. Did I mention uniforms? The Chicago Bears have never had orange pants! 8. The logos only show up half the time on the uniforms during a game. 9. The interface is not user friendly
    10. The most important detail: Don't change something that was not broken!
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    0
    Buyer Beware!

    If you're like me and play the offline franchise mode, then you are in for a enormous disappointment. The Franchise mode has
    been 'watered down' into something called Connected Careers. I won't need to explain further except:

    1) No custom playbooks
    2) No fantasy drafts
    3) NO CUSTOM ROSTERS
    4) No ability to upload NCAA rosters

    In retrospect, I should have done my research before wasting time and money. I've been playing Madden on and off for the last 8 years and this reiteration is a MONUMENTAL failure.
    Full Review »