MAG PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jan 26, 2010
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 554 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 554
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MatthewDawson
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Played this game found it to be awsome fun. So many different ways to attack. Never felt like a spawn fest and was never lagey or unbalanced. This game took me by suprise
  2. Chris
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    This game offers great multiplayer experience! Basically if you enjoy teamwork, then this game is waiting for you on the shelf at your local Gamestop. If you like being Rambo like in Modern Warfare 2, then don't bother getting this game.
  3. BuzBuff
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    This game is a blast. Been playing almost everyday for 3-5 hours. It is a great game, lots of shooting, lots of healing and lots of sweet weapons. CounterStrike + SOCOM + LOTS MORE PEOPLE = MAG. Even when you play with 256 players, you'd only see maybe 40 of them on screen. I wish there was more open space to see more people. But the best thing to do is go out guns blazing! This game is a blast. Been playing almost everyday for 3-5 hours. It is a great game, lots of shooting, lots of healing and lots of sweet weapons. CounterStrike + SOCOM + LOTS MORE PEOPLE = MAG. Even when you play with 256 players, you'd only see maybe 40 of them on screen. I wish there was more open space to see more people. But the best thing to do is go out guns blazing! Don't bother sniping, you'd get owned quick from behind, the side, the front or the sky! Snipers are rendered useless in some levels, and I'm a fan of that. One thing though, this game defiantly NEEDS some work. Just like LittleBigPlanet needed improvements, hopefully they will add on more extras FREE. I don't want to pay any more than my $60. These are necessary for me to give it a 10: 1. women characters 2. some way to find your people in your group easier. When there are 50 allies running around, it is so hard finding my best friend. 3. more variotions of costumes by each character. It's really hard to be unique. 4. being able to play music from your PS3 in the game. I would like to listen to my own music. 5. some sort of tournament mode where I can join a game with serious players. It is annoying getting a 10 year old screaming and spewing racist comments. I love trash talking, but serious intolerance is lame. (only met 1 so far ^_^) 6. more levels around the world! There are not enough levels in the Middle East or South America 7. 3 factions fighting at once. I want a game where SVER, Raven and Valor are all attacking for a certain base or vantage point. 8. faction block system, there are way too many people in SVER. I joined it first becuase I'd thought they would be the underdogs, but we dominate everything. 9. I want to fly a helicopter 10. I want more vechicles Expand
  4. MikeH.
    Jan 30, 2010
    8
    After a week of solid play, MAG is proving to be a lot of fun. Its squad-based approach to combat is way more engaging and rewarding than the host of other "Rambo-Style" run-and-gun shooters out there. When your teammates are communicating and working as a unit, the fights are AWESOME! Unfortunately, if you get stuck in a squad with a bunch of tools, the gameplay quickly becomes After a week of solid play, MAG is proving to be a lot of fun. Its squad-based approach to combat is way more engaging and rewarding than the host of other "Rambo-Style" run-and-gun shooters out there. When your teammates are communicating and working as a unit, the fights are AWESOME! Unfortunately, if you get stuck in a squad with a bunch of tools, the gameplay quickly becomes frustrating, because opting to go solo will just end up getting you killed. This isn't MAG's fault though... It's the reality of the online fps genre. While I don't miss having a standard -or garbage- single-player campaign/story/filler mode (I'm looking at you MW2), I do think that MAG's training mode could have been better. Very few of the strategies and game mechanics are fully explained before entering battle. Even fps vets will probably feel a little lost the first few times they do sabotage, acquisition, and domination matches, and noobs will run around like chickens with their heads cut off. More detail would have been helpful for getting your whole squad up to speed... Finally, my only real gripe with MAG has to do with skills and loadouts. In my opinion, if you want to specialize as say... a direct-action soldier, you will probably be using heavier gear than any of the other "classes", but will be stuck with the same weight cap as everyone else. It only seems natural that if you want specialize in some way or another, you should have some perks to help get the most out of your character (for example, more grenades for commandos, or more mines for field-support, or greater carrying capacity for direct-action). I don't understand why they didn't implement anything like this. All in all.. This is a great game! It is about tactics, not flash. And I hope to see all you campers soon!!! Expand
  5. Rajah
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    Best online action so far. It's like chess in 2054 when you get to lead over 100 guy troops to get rid of the other half. Don't understand notes about graphics sucking either.. Think its one of the best looking FPS games out there (havent played killzone) and I specially like the proportions of everything. It really feels like roaming trough real terrain.
  6. MoonPig
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    Great game, really fun. Takes a fair while to get into the game, its a pity reviewers finished up so early, its really hard to judge the game after a week. Domination is very complex. All the modes need a squad working together and reviewers often dont have the luxury of clans. There are serious balance issues, but hopefully they will be fixed, ignore the negative reviews give the game a Great game, really fun. Takes a fair while to get into the game, its a pity reviewers finished up so early, its really hard to judge the game after a week. Domination is very complex. All the modes need a squad working together and reviewers often dont have the luxury of clans. There are serious balance issues, but hopefully they will be fixed, ignore the negative reviews give the game a chance its a lot of fun. Expand
  7. SamL
    Feb 2, 2010
    9
    This game rocks. No, it's not a normal FPS. So don't expect Call of Duty. Some people have said this game lacks variety. It's a war game. Does real war have capture the flag? No. If you want to play a game, play Call of Duty. If you want to experience a war game, play MAG.
  8. BenM.
    Feb 3, 2010
    9
    MAG is not MW2. Let me repeat this again. MAG is NOT MW2! The comparisons need to stop, as the two games have different goals and styles, and only share guns and xp as common ground. I've run into more than enough people in-game complaining that MW2 did this or that better. One fellow was swearing and screaming because he couldn't climb up rocks, which apparently MW2 allowed. MAG is not MW2. Let me repeat this again. MAG is NOT MW2! The comparisons need to stop, as the two games have different goals and styles, and only share guns and xp as common ground. I've run into more than enough people in-game complaining that MW2 did this or that better. One fellow was swearing and screaming because he couldn't climb up rocks, which apparently MW2 allowed. But this isn't Modern Warfare 2. This is MAG. MAG is a team-based tactical online FPS. Emphasis on the team. You can choose to go solo, but you risk being the link that breaks the chain of command and sends your team to death at the hands of the opposing faction. Or not. It's entirely dependent on how skilled and connected your other teammates are. With a poor squad, you can leave open defenses long enough for the attackers to gain the footing they need for a push, jeopardizing your victory. But with a well-informed and cooperative team, you become part of the Shadow War, playing your part to bring victory to your faction. Everything comes together once you join a clan. It can be you and a few of your friends, or a larger community based on certain characteristics. But clans bring a cohesive, steady unit to the game, with the familiarity of the same squadmates. Learn how to play with your friends, and you can become an unstoppable fighting force, able to defend any objective and capture any control point. Being in a clan is not required, but the differences can make or break your impressions of the game. And teamwork is valuable, to both yourself and your squad. You're rewarded more xp for healing and reviving squad members (10 XP per revive), and completing FRAGO objectives that your Squad Leader set (double XP) than outright killing. Unlike any other online FPS out there, I almost never heard people ripping on one another based on (lack of) skill. Instead, I heard players calling out for medics, giving their location, and thanking the medics once they were revived! This is new, untread ground. And amazing too, considering the abrasive nature of online gaming. As much as I'd like to recommend MAG to any FPS fan, I can't tell you to get it if you want a game like Modern Warfare 2. I can suggest that you rent it, and hope that you'll approach it with a fresh set of eyes, not tainted by what MW2 is. But that is entirely up to you. And I hope you do give it a chance, since we need more fighters in the Shadow War. Expand
  9. QuinnH.
    Jan 26, 2010
    8
    A solid, teamwork-based FPS, MAG's control scheme will cause some stumbling, but the leveling system, expansive maps, and immediate rewards for support roles can keep casual and more team-oriented players in their seats for hours.
  10. Steve
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Great game that compete with COD franchise. MAG have a bit better graphics and an immersive FPS experience never seen on console until now. The sacrifice made on SOCOM Confrontation to use the excellent team that made every SOCOM except Confrontation, worth it. Zipper Interactive have shown us that it doesn't matter what name their game have, as long as the game is made by Zipper it Great game that compete with COD franchise. MAG have a bit better graphics and an immersive FPS experience never seen on console until now. The sacrifice made on SOCOM Confrontation to use the excellent team that made every SOCOM except Confrontation, worth it. Zipper Interactive have shown us that it doesn't matter what name their game have, as long as the game is made by Zipper it would be certainly a success. Expand
  11. AlexB.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Fantastic premise, unfortunately there are to many stupid people to play this alone. Play with group of friends and this might be your favorite online shooter, if you play alone you might hate it.
  12. ChristopherM.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    MAG is a little tough to initially break into, but if you do it will swallow you whole. Currently I am waiting for all my daily obligations like class, work, and eating to roll over and die so that I can get back to playing it. The combat is incredibly satisfying and the skill tree adds another layer of addictive game play. On top of all this, the more you play the more loyal and MAG is a little tough to initially break into, but if you do it will swallow you whole. Currently I am waiting for all my daily obligations like class, work, and eating to roll over and die so that I can get back to playing it. The combat is incredibly satisfying and the skill tree adds another layer of addictive game play. On top of all this, the more you play the more loyal and feverishly you wish you faction to be the best. I will help push Ravens to the top if it kills me! Expand
  13. RushS.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Mag is a game for those willing to invest a little more time than their usual fps. Mw2 is a game u can pick up and plau a round and leave where mag makes u learn a new but fresh system and hud. Where the casual gamer might b turned off to investing several hours at a time i think more hardcore gamers will be pleasantly surprised. 8.5/10
  14. RagzPSN
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    An intense multiplayer experience that changes how an online FPS feels and is played. While not for everyone (namely lone wolves or those fixated on Kill-Death Ratio), there is no denying Zipper Interactive has made a quality product with long lasting appeal.
  15. JayF.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    This game is so fun and addictive. Best shooter I've played in a long time including MW2. Play and coordinate with friends for the best experience. It's just such a tactical shooter compared to everything else.
  16. MatteoM>
    Jan 27, 2010
    8
    this is a good game but the weqpons aren't good and the veichle is very hard driving but is a good game and more large
  17. MichaelD.
    Jan 27, 2010
    8
    nothing special besides player count. more customization would have been better. will get better as community matures.
  18. J.Frosty
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Very good FPS for people looking for a more team based shooter on a massive battle scale. If you like to run and gun then this game is not for you(EX. Halo,COD:MW1-2) I recommend this only for mature parties who are not afraid of teamwork,cooperation, and strategy. The graphics are fine, I have a 50" LED TV. The learning curve is steep, but once you get the hang of things you will find it Very good FPS for people looking for a more team based shooter on a massive battle scale. If you like to run and gun then this game is not for you(EX. Halo,COD:MW1-2) I recommend this only for mature parties who are not afraid of teamwork,cooperation, and strategy. The graphics are fine, I have a 50" LED TV. The learning curve is steep, but once you get the hang of things you will find it very hard to go back to run-n-gun fps titles Expand
  19. JimmyS.
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    This game is a lot of fun. The fact that there's a back story involving everyone in the game and it benefits the particular faction members via points boosts is a nice twist. This is a "man's" war game.
  20. KEvinH.
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    Once you get to the level where you can command a squad or at least have a good squad leader and comprehend that you need to listen to your leadership then this game unfolds into the most deep rewarding experience I have had playing FPS.
  21. SteveM.
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    This is a great game if you like working with a team. It is completely awful if you don't. You can see this in the scores. People love it or hate it. If you just want a FPS that is all about K/D ratios then you will not like MAG. It does not have a anything that sets it apart except being big and requiring you to work as a team. I am very happy that I bought the game.
  22. BrianN.
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    Fantastic game, once you realize that the scope of the battle is bigger than you are and you start to work with your platoon rather than lone gunning it, you'll get alot of enjoyment out of playing 'MAG'. The graphics, although not on par with 'Killzone 2' are still great considering the vast amount of players ingame. We've all only recently got this game so Fantastic game, once you realize that the scope of the battle is bigger than you are and you start to work with your platoon rather than lone gunning it, you'll get alot of enjoyment out of playing 'MAG'. The graphics, although not on par with 'Killzone 2' are still great considering the vast amount of players ingame. We've all only recently got this game so the full potential hasn't been reached, but I have high confidence in 'MAG' becoming a solid online title for PS3. Expand
  23. PeterR.
    Jan 31, 2010
    9
    The game takes a bit time to unfold, but once it does, you will be rewarded with intense multiplayer battles. The controls and aiming are smooth. The maps are well-designed, even though the graphics are average compared to the likes of Killzone 2. When you look past it, you will find a deep rank system and some truely innovative mechanics that make mass battles more tactical than they used to be.
  24. ScottyA.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    Theres one question I really have to ask as a 360 and a PS3 owner why oh why is the whole world biased against PS3 I played Halo 3 for years and it got really good scores now Ive found a better online game for my PS3 with 256 players which is simply put a gaming masterpiece yet the reviews have give it sucky scores so I ask again why are the reviews so biased so basically the reviews are Theres one question I really have to ask as a 360 and a PS3 owner why oh why is the whole world biased against PS3 I played Halo 3 for years and it got really good scores now Ive found a better online game for my PS3 with 256 players which is simply put a gaming masterpiece yet the reviews have give it sucky scores so I ask again why are the reviews so biased so basically the reviews are trying to say that halo 3 is better than MAG and as a halo 3 veteran I can honestly say that its complete bull @!*# MAG is not one of the best multiplayer games ever to be played its THE BEST multiplayer game i have ever played those of you lucky enough to own a PS3 take my word for it and buy MAG its a experience like nothing youve ever experienced in gaming 256 players and NO LAG well done Sony and Zipper. Expand
  25. DanielM.
    Jan 30, 2010
    9
    This game is a technological feat, and should not be ignored. Anyone saying that this game is "nothing special" has not taken the time to learn to process the copious amount of information on the screen at any given time, and has failed to work as a team. The game rewards teamwork like never before. It is a game that can be frustrating, given that everyone will have their bad games. This game is a technological feat, and should not be ignored. Anyone saying that this game is "nothing special" has not taken the time to learn to process the copious amount of information on the screen at any given time, and has failed to work as a team. The game rewards teamwork like never before. It is a game that can be frustrating, given that everyone will have their bad games. I've had games where I die 6 times in a row without accomplishing anything whatsoever. The other drawback to MAG is the lack of a proper tutorial. There is so very much to learn about this game, and it's downright confusing for everyone on their first bunch of missions. A website with information would have been useful. Yet, given these problems, never before have I been so interested in a FPS. The game is beautiful chaos at so many points. It's you and 7 other people working together through hell to accomplish some sort of small goal: fix this gate, hold that AA gun. Meanwhile there are artillery bombardments hitting the ground beside you, paratroopers dropping in, and and insane ground battle taking place while you're trying to protect one guy with a repair kit. This game rocked my world. Expand
  26. ZacH
    Jan 30, 2010
    9
    Very good game. The graphics have VERY deep drawing distances. Squad commanding is a very neat feature, not to mention the 128vs128 (256-player) matches. A lot more realism than other games. Communication could improve (but that is a self-fulfilling requirement, as more people need to get decent headsets. USB headsets work on the PS3, too.) The game gets very busy. A great contender Very good game. The graphics have VERY deep drawing distances. Squad commanding is a very neat feature, not to mention the 128vs128 (256-player) matches. A lot more realism than other games. Communication could improve (but that is a self-fulfilling requirement, as more people need to get decent headsets. USB headsets work on the PS3, too.) The game gets very busy. A great contender against the top dog at this time. [Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2] Expand
  27. ChrisN.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    I was on the fence with this one. I played the beta and it piqued my curiosity enough to take the plunge. Wow. What a ride this has become. I'm at level 21 and can't get enough. It's like peeling away the layers of an onion. There is a lot of depth and it's all about teamwork, communication, and playing smart. It's toppled BF2 as my all time favorite FPS.
  28. JamesF.
    Jan 31, 2010
    9
    This game is not for everyone (how many games are?!?), but what it does it does exceptionally well. The graphics are incredible (for the size of the maps and number of players), the gameplay is varied and immersive. Really can't get enough of this at the moment - MW2 is being very neglected by me right now...
  29. agamerdude
    Feb 1, 2010
    9
    This game is really good, i love the feel it has to it, at first i was kind of like : meh this games not gonna get higher then 6, but when i had my first 256 player game and got to a higher place in the map, i could see all those players swarming and fighting, i swear you people it was breath taking. I absolutely love it, it has a nice feel to it and it makes some nice variety after This game is really good, i love the feel it has to it, at first i was kind of like : meh this games not gonna get higher then 6, but when i had my first 256 player game and got to a higher place in the map, i could see all those players swarming and fighting, i swear you people it was breath taking. I absolutely love it, it has a nice feel to it and it makes some nice variety after playing mw2. This + uncharted 2 + gow 3, will make my year great. Expand
  30. JohnT.
    Feb 1, 2010
    8
    It took me a little bit to get into. Once I leveled up some and my friends were playing with me I really into it. I 've read some reviews that there is never an epic moment. When playing Domination after points A and B have been taken over, all players must go to C. Capturing C with only seconds left can become very intense when both teams are giving it their all. Side-note: people It took me a little bit to get into. Once I leveled up some and my friends were playing with me I really into it. I 've read some reviews that there is never an epic moment. When playing Domination after points A and B have been taken over, all players must go to C. Capturing C with only seconds left can become very intense when both teams are giving it their all. Side-note: people giving this game anything lower than 5...WTF! No matter how much you dislike this game, it is nothing lower than a 5. I have a feeling that this game will only get better over time. I am happy with my purchase. Expand
  31. MohsD
    Feb 1, 2010
    9
    This is actually a very good game, Mod Warfare this is not. this is a team orientated shooter, about objectives, and not your kill death ratio or killstreak. Personally it is a refreshing change from current shooters on the market. In all of the games i have played i have not experienced any lag, which is mind blowing for a game of this magnitude, with so much going on at once.
  32. WillG
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    A truly brilliant online game. 128 v 128 is incredible. This game is nothing like MW2, it is a tactical shooter. It has a score of 78 on here, but that is ridiculous considering there were reviews released on the first day, before people had even reached the level required to play in a 128 v 128 match.
  33. TheoP
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    This game has depth, and involves skill. If you enjoy Call of Duty, because of the reaction shooter gameplay, and the fact that you can be decent at it in 10 minutes, you will hate this. You have to put some serious hours into this game to get the most out of it. Once you understand the mechanics of the game, and play with friends in a coordinated way, you will start to enjoy this game This game has depth, and involves skill. If you enjoy Call of Duty, because of the reaction shooter gameplay, and the fact that you can be decent at it in 10 minutes, you will hate this. You have to put some serious hours into this game to get the most out of it. Once you understand the mechanics of the game, and play with friends in a coordinated way, you will start to enjoy this game greatly. A headset is nearly essential to get the most out of this game. The controls take a bit to get used to, but are more effective and can be more fun than other control schemes used by other shooters. This game is a love it/hate it game, and not everyone will like it. Unless you prefer going Rambo style, this game is brilliant, if you are willing to play the game properly. It has a few faults, but none of them really ruin the gameplay, which is better than any FPS I have ever played. Expand
  34. jordanh
    Feb 2, 2010
    9
    This game is truly fantastic its nothing like mw2 in a good way this game has teamwork unlike most. you WILL fail without teamwork. this game has a problem right now with too many sver and there base is too good but this game is defiantly worth the price tag and deserves better than the scores it got.
  35. DanN
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    This is got to be my favorite shooter of all time. What more can you ask for from a game. Sure it doesnt have the polish of some games, but it certainly makes up from it from the unparralled scale of combat and just the sheer amount of hours you you will pour into this game. Seriously if you love your life as is don't play this game!
  36. CruzC.
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    Overall, it's innovative and somewhat original. Which is why I bought the game... Another PS3 exclusive that brings a lot of variety to my library of games. Makes you want to anticipate Zipper Interactive's next game.
  37. Tom
    Feb 2, 2010
    8
    At first, I found the game to be pretty "meh". However, after putting some time into it and leveling up some to unlock some gear, I really started to enjoy it. It keeps up quite well with the online considering the scale of the game. There are some interesting elements as far as unlockables and game modes, but not a tremendous amount of innovation. They pretty much take what others have At first, I found the game to be pretty "meh". However, after putting some time into it and leveling up some to unlock some gear, I really started to enjoy it. It keeps up quite well with the online considering the scale of the game. There are some interesting elements as far as unlockables and game modes, but not a tremendous amount of innovation. They pretty much take what others have done before them and tweaked it a bit, not that its a bad thing. There seems to be a lack of maps, probably due to the money to be made after sale with DLC. My only big gripes are that there are some choke points coming out of spawns where snipers on the other side of the map tend to have a clear shot at, and you know how frustrating it can be to have some skill-less pansy camped out on the other side of the map cheesing his way to a good score. There are also a few bugs that seem to take place, mostly with respawning. At times I get stuck on the respawn screen and the respawn clock will just keep resetting it self, 4-5 times. Ive also had an issue where I just couldn't respawn at all, with no clock to speak of at all. Overall, I think the good far outways the bad. Some of the negatives reviews Ive read on here sound like some of these people haven't even played the game. At least or more than an hour before passing judgment. Expand
  38. GregSmith
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Stands out as the best exclusively online FPS on the market. 256 players and completely lag-free. An extraordinary achievement
  39. Nate
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    I really love the fact that teamwork makes or breaks the match in this game. You could have 128 great players and still lose to a better coordinated team.
  40. JohnM.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    I have to say that this game is intense. It caters to the hardcore and the strategic mind. Play together or fail together is the only option. At the end of the day, the game has some flaws. However, with how many people are packed into the game it's hard not to begrudge them a little leeway. I refuse to judge this game on what some matches will be like but rather on the ones that the I have to say that this game is intense. It caters to the hardcore and the strategic mind. Play together or fail together is the only option. At the end of the day, the game has some flaws. However, with how many people are packed into the game it's hard not to begrudge them a little leeway. I refuse to judge this game on what some matches will be like but rather on the ones that the game is supposed to be like. And in that the game is amazing. This is not a twitch shooter, patience is required. You can not run in and kill everything and the amount of people in the game at one time makes for some hectic fighting sequences. This game is not for everyone...People who mostly play MW2 and KZ2, Halo and Gears, will have a bit of a learners curve. Some will get it right away, others will have to grow into it. This is an amazing game and as long as people learn how to play it...it should lead to some interesting moments. Expand
  41. jeffs.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    game is amazing. 256 players makes for the most tactical fps on a console to date. If you get a full group of 8 clan members you will really see the game shine,
  42. WendellM.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    It was an Excellent game And I found Myself with quite a few people who used mikes in the game . Despite that and lack of a team Leader. So far We Have been able to Relay alot of information around the battle field and had our squads move quite smoothly. As people gain more experience with he game I can see this becoming on of the sleeper hits on the PS3.
  43. DrakeB.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    The best first person shooter i have ever played, and ground breaking technology put into this game. 256 playes online on one map!!! WOW!!! Epic
  44. MysteryManwithhair
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    It Delivers in every prospect , but its not for Runner and Gunner fans , it takes skill and team work , its not Call of Duty , This is Massive Action Game.
  45. mattg.
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    Most people seem to be comparing this to other titles,compared to them this game does not stack up due to the fact if you bought games like (MW2,Battlefeild ect..) your obviously not into a game like this,but if you throw away your impressions and feeling for the other big titles and look at this game by itself,it is truly a "massive action game" like nothing you have ever played,with the Most people seem to be comparing this to other titles,compared to them this game does not stack up due to the fact if you bought games like (MW2,Battlefeild ect..) your obviously not into a game like this,but if you throw away your impressions and feeling for the other big titles and look at this game by itself,it is truly a "massive action game" like nothing you have ever played,with the right people in the game with you this game can be an absolute blast,good job sony/zipper! Expand
  46. WilliamB.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    this game is fantastic i havent had this much fun with an fps since cs1.6
  47. ClintonH.
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    Great game. Not without some issues such as long spawn times, and some balancing issues with the weapons, but very fun.
  48. MysticStrummer
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    Gotta love people who say it's tough to understand what to do in MAG. The game only puts the objective on your screen as a flashing icon at all times AND uses an AI voice to annouce what your objective is AND has mics implemented so you can ask one of your squad mates if you still can't figure it out. MAG is awesome. It doesn't reinvent the genre and it's not perfect, Gotta love people who say it's tough to understand what to do in MAG. The game only puts the objective on your screen as a flashing icon at all times AND uses an AI voice to annouce what your objective is AND has mics implemented so you can ask one of your squad mates if you still can't figure it out. MAG is awesome. It doesn't reinvent the genre and it's not perfect, but it puts you into a huge battle instead of a minor skirmish... without lag or framerate issues I might add. Any review less than an 8 is suspect in my opinion, and somewhere in the 8.5 to 9 range is where I would put it. Great fun. Expand
  49. flowjo
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    ok so plain and simple this game is not , their will be a lot of players that jump into this game thinking its your typical shooter... wrong . this shooter goes much much further into the depths of MMO territory if you have played a game with guilds you will understand MAG that much more. planning out exactly what your clan wants to execute is not for the simple minds that want a quick ok so plain and simple this game is not , their will be a lot of players that jump into this game thinking its your typical shooter... wrong . this shooter goes much much further into the depths of MMO territory if you have played a game with guilds you will understand MAG that much more. planning out exactly what your clan wants to execute is not for the simple minds that want a quick TDM this is very large scale planning it takes a little time to understand but be warned if you do not have the concentration and ability to communicate goals then you will not like this shooter for people that want strategy in character builds and planning on the field will absolutely love it Expand
  50. kays
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    I admit i did not enjoy MAG at first, but after a while, I grew to love the game. It is amazing playing with 256 other people the best part is that it works. Great buy.
  51. RobertW.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    I know ten is a very high rating but I could not see any flaws with this game. More complex than COD and with more players, more realistic graphic's and of course the little mentioned customization. And with the MAG blog promising more of everything buy MAG now and say you saw how good it was from the start.
  52. AlanH.
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    The game is EPIC, handles very well and there's something about running into battle with 100 other avatars that's satisfyingly visceral! It's not for everyone, but those who do like it will LOVE it!
  53. JeffW.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    I'm not gonna write some elaborate review; suffice it to say this game is no slouch. Takes a bit to "warm up," but once you unlock the missions with 64, 128 and 256 players, it's so effing intense it'll knock your socks off. Great, great game. I love, love, love it.
  54. KenjiT.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    The game is great no matter what.
  55. CarlL.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    This game was fun throughout the whole time i'ved had it.
  56. ScottK.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Excellent Game if you're into Multi-Player Only Games. Overall there is Good Balance between the 3 PMCs except for one SVER Map where they are Defending. That one Can be Pretty Tough to Push Forward. There are Nice Character Skills you can Progress Through and You can Customize to your Taste. Medic, Engineer, Sniper, Assault, etc... You can Choose things like Anti-Personnel Mines, Excellent Game if you're into Multi-Player Only Games. Overall there is Good Balance between the 3 PMCs except for one SVER Map where they are Defending. That one Can be Pretty Tough to Push Forward. There are Nice Character Skills you can Progress Through and You can Customize to your Taste. Medic, Engineer, Sniper, Assault, etc... You can Choose things like Anti-Personnel Mines, Poisonous Gas, Upgraded Guns, Bi-Pods, Fore Grips. You can Improve your Character to Fit what you are good at. Expand
  57. JoshA.
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    This game seems to combine the scope pf Battlefield 2 with the shooting mechanics and leveling system of something like Modern Warfare. The initial gametype, which consists of just 64 players, seems cluttered and too hectic. But once you level up enough to play the gametypes with higher player counts, MAG shows its true colors. It is an addicting game, one I will be playing a lot in the This game seems to combine the scope pf Battlefield 2 with the shooting mechanics and leveling system of something like Modern Warfare. The initial gametype, which consists of just 64 players, seems cluttered and too hectic. But once you level up enough to play the gametypes with higher player counts, MAG shows its true colors. It is an addicting game, one I will be playing a lot in the days to come. Expand
  58. [Anonymous]
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    Overall awesome experience. The game play is a bit different than other shooters, in that you have to play a bit more defensively such as backing up and healing because you don't regain health over time, but once you get the hang of it, MAG becomes incredibly addicting. I haven't gotten to play in the 200+ player battles yet as the queue seems to not have enough people (You have Overall awesome experience. The game play is a bit different than other shooters, in that you have to play a bit more defensively such as backing up and healing because you don't regain health over time, but once you get the hang of it, MAG becomes incredibly addicting. I haven't gotten to play in the 200+ player battles yet as the queue seems to not have enough people (You have to be at least lvl 8 in order to do those missions so maybe its just too early?) but I seriously enjoyed even the lower player count games. Definitely pick this one up if you own a PS3. Expand
  59. JoaoS.
    Jan 27, 2010
    8
    not perfect,not best graphics but have the rest,good online,good shooter and very lot of fun.;)
  60. DanC.
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    Gameplay, Gameplay, Gameplay. Think of bf2 but with people actually everywhere that matters. Yes the 256 player maps are chaotic but that is what makes them great. MP is where a fps has always lived anyways.
  61. IanV.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    I find this game incredibly engrossing and flat-out fun. The gameplay is strategic and deep. The graphics are amazing when considering all that's going on. Also, surprisingly, the communication among squadmates is pretty much unrivaled on the PS3. If you have this game, please get a microphone. While I'm Raven, I find it incredibly awesome that Perttu and Mikko of Apocalyptica I find this game incredibly engrossing and flat-out fun. The gameplay is strategic and deep. The graphics are amazing when considering all that's going on. Also, surprisingly, the communication among squadmates is pretty much unrivaled on the PS3. If you have this game, please get a microphone. While I'm Raven, I find it incredibly awesome that Perttu and Mikko of Apocalyptica wrote the score for the opening cinematic and soundtrack for S.V.E.R. I recommend this to everyone who is tired of the arcade trend set very well by Counter Strike and Call of Duty in favor of a squad-based, strategy shooter. It's great. :) Expand
  62. TaylorC.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    If MW2 deserved 10's, and I'm having more fun with MAG, that means MAG deserves a 10 too, yes?
  63. ExpendableSoldier
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    MAG is a deep, tactical game that rewards teamwork over individual play. It also requires a great deal of attention from all ranks of the command chain so paying attention to the people with microphones becomes a necessity for leadership and troop coordination. It's not arcadey in the sense of Halo or Modern Warfare 2. If you die and if you're lucky, you'll be "bleeding to MAG is a deep, tactical game that rewards teamwork over individual play. It also requires a great deal of attention from all ranks of the command chain so paying attention to the people with microphones becomes a necessity for leadership and troop coordination. It's not arcadey in the sense of Halo or Modern Warfare 2. If you die and if you're lucky, you'll be "bleeding to death" during which time you can still speak with your teammates and hope that a medic will revive you so that you don't have to sprint your way across the map. Spawn points are very important in that respect so working together as a team to destroy or protect a spawn point becomes that much more rewarding with success. Expand
  64. DaveE.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    This game is pure win. It takes skill to rise in this game. It's the first game I've played where there's no friendly fire, no auto aim not even cheats. if you don't like it, it's because you have no skill.
  65. Spenok
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    After playing the beta for this game my hype level for this game dropped from a 9 to about a 6.5. It could have been much better with less issues. Even still i went out and bought it day one (midnight actually) and i couldnt have been more wrong about this game. Though the graphics (could) be better, i know they aren't because of the massive levels and player count. The objective After playing the beta for this game my hype level for this game dropped from a 9 to about a 6.5. It could have been much better with less issues. Even still i went out and bought it day one (midnight actually) and i couldnt have been more wrong about this game. Though the graphics (could) be better, i know they aren't because of the massive levels and player count. The objective based modes are where this game shines. From attacking an enemy base to defending your home turf this game is solid. When you get a team working together this game easily becomes an 11! (to bad that doesnt happen as often as it should) All in all this game is a must own for all fps fans who own a ps3 Expand
  66. RagzPSN
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    An intense multiplayer experience that changes how an online FPS feels and is played. While not for everyone (namely lone wolves or those fixated on Kill-Death Ratio), there is no denying Zipper Interactive has made a quality product with long lasting appeal.
  67. LyleS.
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    I love Modern Warfare 2. After playing MAG for a few days, I think I love MAG more. If you like the Battlefield type of gameplay, with vehicles, and where sniping is fun, you'll probably like this more than MW2. It doesn't have the crazy perks (2 headshots, 1 bullet) which is too bad. I found no problem with the controls, other than it wouldn't let me swap L1 and R1 (aim & I love Modern Warfare 2. After playing MAG for a few days, I think I love MAG more. If you like the Battlefield type of gameplay, with vehicles, and where sniping is fun, you'll probably like this more than MW2. It doesn't have the crazy perks (2 headshots, 1 bullet) which is too bad. I found no problem with the controls, other than it wouldn't let me swap L1 and R1 (aim & fire), but I've adjusted. The maps are really nice. The graphics are great. Not that much worse than most games of this type. I'm engrossed in playing, not looking around to see litter fluttering through the air. The games are always full. I't's not overwhelming at all, and if I get in a squad that isn't communicating, I "lone wolf" it, and it's still awesome. Without team communication, the team may not win, but you can still rack up a ton of points lone wolfing...just not the bonus for victory. This game can be played in so many ways: You can find a nice tower or hill and snipe, or drive in an armored vehicle to the front and get into the chaos (ala MW2). I've got a feeling I"m going to like Bad Company 2 better than both MW2 and MAG. I played the BC2 beta, and it's amazing. I'll miss the games with more than 32 players though. As mentioned the game has no colorblind option (so he rates it a 2?!?) How many PS3 games do you have that have a colorblind option? I don't think I've ever seen ANY game with that option. Getting revived by a medic is great but only happens one out of 5 times you die. It's not overdone. Someone mentioned 256 ppl with headsets is too much. Obviously they've never played the game. You only hear your 7 squadmates on the headsets, half of which won't be using headsets, so that's a stupid complaint. As far as walking around and not finding anyone, just click the select button for map, and see where the action is, and head that way. Be careful though, that enemy could be around the next building... The controls are not sluggish at all. I moved the stick sensitivity up from 30 to 70. A lot of things are more realistic in MAG. It takes 2 quick clicks to throw a grenade: 1 to grab it and one to throw it. It would take a lot longer in real life, but it's more realistic than MW2's instant throw. Friendly fire is always on, and you lose points for team killing. It takes adjusting, but ends up being the better for it. You can't just spray a crowd of people with bullets and watch the bad guys drop and the good guys walk away. The spawn time is 16 seconds or less. It's not a big deal. Definitely stick with MW2 if you need to die, spawn and kill the guy that just killed you within 5 seconds. MAG is more realistic. It also forces you to think about what you should be doing next. The guy who returned the game because it was so bad didn't realize it was a PS3 game, and tried to play it on his Xbox. That's the only reason I can think of for returning it. One user rated a 2 said it was "kinda frantic and confusing". Has he played MW2. MW2 is more frantic than this. The game does take a few hours of play to really get comfortable with. For me MW2 took way longer to get good at. One user said he doesn't like that there are 256 players but you are confined to a squad of 8 vs 8. I don't know what he was playing, but you aren't confined to anything. Pick any equipment, mix and match, and get out there, lone wolf, with your squad, or play alongside a completely different platoon...it's up to you. One user give it a 2 and says the lvl system is flawed because you can have 1 or 2 weapons fully upgraded by the time you are top level. I like that a lot better than in MW2 where even a level 5 can pick up a BFG from a dead enemy and use it ,,, Anyway. The game is as good as MW2, which I"d rate the same, but for different reasons. Expand
  68. MattM.
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    This game is amazing. If you're a COD fanboy, who likes to run and gun and be a one man team, please DO NOT buy MAG. MAG relies on each player knowing what their job is, and having the ability to get it done. Teamwork is key. To everyone complaining about long spawn times... God forbid you get punished for dying! Soldiers spawn in waves, so you could wait up to 20 seconds to respawn, This game is amazing. If you're a COD fanboy, who likes to run and gun and be a one man team, please DO NOT buy MAG. MAG relies on each player knowing what their job is, and having the ability to get it done. Teamwork is key. To everyone complaining about long spawn times... God forbid you get punished for dying! Soldiers spawn in waves, so you could wait up to 20 seconds to respawn, but you may end up re-spawning instantly. As for the graphics, of course they're not as good as a game like MW2, but MW2 doesn't have 256 players running around on the map. All in all, I highly recommend this game, and wish people would stop trashing it based on ridiculous expectations and things that are beyond the developers' control (such as players not working as a team) Expand
  69. JoshBoynton
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    A really well executed FPS, bring something absolutely fresh to the table. Having commanded a team, I have not experienced anything as satisfying for a long time, especially in the FPS genre.
  70. JonE.
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    MAG is the type of a game where you shouldn't judge it by it's cover. What i mean by this statement is that the more you play this game and the higher rank you are, the more you will enjoy this game. Graphic may not compete against the competition but the scale of this massive game makes up for it. At first you might think that with 256 players, it will be chaotic and your going MAG is the type of a game where you shouldn't judge it by it's cover. What i mean by this statement is that the more you play this game and the higher rank you are, the more you will enjoy this game. Graphic may not compete against the competition but the scale of this massive game makes up for it. At first you might think that with 256 players, it will be chaotic and your going to lag like crazy. But the truth is that the way this game is structure, massive lag and getting killed every 2 sec is pretty much non existent. The game doesn't offer a single player but who cares, if i did you would just play it for 5 hours and never again, but that doesn't mean that your 60$ purchase doesn't come with a story behind it. The story is built-in the heart of the game which is online and you truly feel that you have an impact in the game. In my opinion, this is a successful game and zipper has once again creating an online game that will last for years to come. Yes at launch many had experienced lag in domination, but that's because the game is running on dedicate server and zipper was managing the huge number of gamers coming in. If you love fps and prefer tactics and strategy over simply run & gun, than i highly recommend you to try this ambitious game. I gave it a 10/10 not because it deserve it but to bring the overall user voted score to 8,7 (my true rating for this game). PS: It's from zipper, so expect a lot of patches to improve the game, dlc and much more. Expand
  71. Ryan
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    Fantastic game, so much more in-depth than most traditional FPS games. If you enjoy strategy, working as a team towards objectives then MAG is for you.
  72. BryankK
    Jan 29, 2010
    9
    I love this game. Give you a sense of a large scale battle with an team focus. No one person can take over a game with 256 players. This game takes teamwork. Never been great at FPS, but love that I can help my team through healing and repairing.
  73. JasonS.
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    Amazing game... I don't understand why the reviewers are giving it so low score. They seem to only care about graphics, which are relatively good in this game. Well well...
  74. Cuban__B
    Feb 1, 2010
    9
    Very impressed. Really forces player to play a team game (whether you have a headset or not). Going off the beaten path and trying to play solo, players will quickly realize that this will usually lead to instant death and not a recommended course of action. The squad spawning further re-enforces the team work mentality. Medics to get an inordinate amount of points. The leveling system Very impressed. Really forces player to play a team game (whether you have a headset or not). Going off the beaten path and trying to play solo, players will quickly realize that this will usually lead to instant death and not a recommended course of action. The squad spawning further re-enforces the team work mentality. Medics to get an inordinate amount of points. The leveling system actually gives the users something to build towards and lets the user fully customize their characters abilities. I personally think Zipper hit a homerun. If they stick with it and release a couple of DLCs (maybe a few or maps/gun or maybe a new faction), this game will be an instant classic. Expand
  75. DanM.
    Feb 1, 2010
    9
    Took me a while to get into it, but after investing some time into the game I can safely say I like it a lot. Lots of fun when you know what you're doing.
  76. MattN.
    Feb 1, 2010
    9
    This is my favorite shooter since battlefield 1943. Finally a game the requires be to work together for the benefit of all instead of lone wolfing it like most games. The gameplay isn't that complicated just think cod with no lag and a hit detection system that actually works. The game has only been out for a little less than a week and i have easily poured over 20 hours into this This is my favorite shooter since battlefield 1943. Finally a game the requires be to work together for the benefit of all instead of lone wolfing it like most games. The gameplay isn't that complicated just think cod with no lag and a hit detection system that actually works. The game has only been out for a little less than a week and i have easily poured over 20 hours into this game. My only complaint over this game is the fact that their are some respawn issues, but I hear that if you play with the internet plugged directly into the PS3. Heres hoping they get the few glitches in the game fixed. Expand
  77. ChaseF
    Feb 1, 2010
    8
    My vote says it all. If you like tactical and strategic based FPS's, this is your game. If you like to run and gun and play individually on a game like COD MW2, this is not your game.
  78. JoeyS
    Feb 2, 2010
    9
    As a semi-pro fps gamer, I have a ton of experience in the genre. And I have to say- this game is a home run. With all of the great games being released right now, and with mw2 in the not-too-distant past, MAG is the game always in my ps3. The graphics are just kind of... there, and yes, the factions are a little unbalanced, but the game is great. For those who claim lack of content, As a semi-pro fps gamer, I have a ton of experience in the genre. And I have to say- this game is a home run. With all of the great games being released right now, and with mw2 in the not-too-distant past, MAG is the game always in my ps3. The graphics are just kind of... there, and yes, the factions are a little unbalanced, but the game is great. For those who claim lack of content, I'm about 30 hours in and I am level 30, which is about 1/4 of the way through one of the 3 teams on the game. This game is, or ought to be, the future of fps for a while. Get it now and get in on the shadow war! And hey- bring your microphone please! Expand
  79. GregL
    Feb 2, 2010
    9
    This game is way better than the ratings it has received. I have been around awhile, all COD's, socoms, battlefields...yada, yada. This game actually pulled me away form CODMW2 and I thought that this would never happen. Yes It does take some getting used to but the whole teamwork concept was what I was after. Most people do work together, the weapons are cool, aim is true. I believe This game is way better than the ratings it has received. I have been around awhile, all COD's, socoms, battlefields...yada, yada. This game actually pulled me away form CODMW2 and I thought that this would never happen. Yes It does take some getting used to but the whole teamwork concept was what I was after. Most people do work together, the weapons are cool, aim is true. I believe all these ratings are skewed because they were not basing this on the game on hand but the beta. I an surely attest that this game deserves at least a 9, is fun to play and you won't put it down for a long time. Expand
  80. JeffF
    Feb 3, 2010
    9
    Anyone else find it strange how practically everyone who has played the game is giving it 8 -10s? The only thing bringing this review score down are two-year old fanboys giving it ones and twos, well, and IGN... It's hard to tell the difference between the two anymore though.
  81. BobL
    Feb 3, 2010
    9
    Wow. How many reviewers are giving this game a low rating because it might only appeal to hard core gamers and has nothing new to offer to the genre? How unfair and unprofessional of the reviewers. I mean if I was giving a review on a minivan I wouldn
  82. JonH
    Mar 5, 2010
    8
    I loved this game, but the story mode can be boring sometimes. I'm glad I got it.
  83. IsaacL.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    i like this game and you should buy it.
  84. JohnD.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Don't expect the the second coming of Christ, but this game certainly lives up to it's name. It is MASSIVE! This is as standard as your regular FPS can get but MAG adds a little more to that. Giant battles where teamwork is a must. Is teamwork you kind of thing and you want to experience war? This game is as close as it gets.
  85. Graham
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    This is a seriously fresh approach to the FPS genre. The tactical side is brilliant in which you have to work well as a squad to earn more XP. The maps are huge but never feel empty or crowded and the progression system sorts the men(hardcore) from the boys(noobs). Overall this is a brilliant game well worthy of many hours of my life.
  86. MArkKidd
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Don't believe the hate. Just because a game is not CoD doesn't make it bad. Most early reviews are clearly based on the beta.
  87. JoseV.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    If you like large scale tactical battles than MAG is right up your alley.
  88. MiguelF.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    This game takes off the complex story of MW2 and multiplies the whole online experience by 256. Great fun and addicting game play, this is what online shooters need, a little dose of massive action. Also to mention the fun you get trying to get you PMC to the top position globally. If you own a PlayStation 3 and have online, this is a must buy!
  89. BrockD.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    this game is really really great. all of the reviews that are up for it are turd zipper didnt send out reviews copies until saturday. now tell me how did they review this game in 3 days. with no people online???
  90. JoshuaS.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    This is a great game, even with the large battles, there is no lag and i can wait to get into another session.
  91. BrianD.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    The reviews so far are garbage based on the beta. This game is excellent. Domination mode is the best FPS experience I have ever had. No other game simulates war so effectively. How could they a war isn't 12 vs. 12; that isn't even a squad. The sound is excellent in DTS HD and it's THX certified. Players be warned this isn't COD: MW2 or any other COD or HALO or The reviews so far are garbage based on the beta. This game is excellent. Domination mode is the best FPS experience I have ever had. No other game simulates war so effectively. How could they a war isn't 12 vs. 12; that isn't even a squad. The sound is excellent in DTS HD and it's THX certified. Players be warned this isn't COD: MW2 or any other COD or HALO or Resistance so if you are thinking you are going to lone wolf this game, think again. You might actually hate this game because you will die so often. The factions are balanced and only squad/platoon leaders can call in air strikes. I really liked how there isn't a spawn grenade that you can place and people magically apear there, instead you get airdropped to a spot chosen by your squad leader. As for replayability I see myself playing this game until a new Resistance or Killzone comes out. Expand
  92. JinnyR.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    People reviewing MAG seem to forget three main things, the fantastic moments when it all comes togther, the other roles that can be as simple as a medic to add some real depth and finally they keep mentioning 256 but forget other modes like 32 vs 32 deathmatch, they seem just as deep and there is, if anything, more strategy involved.
  93. JeffG.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Awesome game. Need to have a little more play time to really get into it unlike some reviewers who play for 30 mins and give it a low score. I haven't been this excited for a FPS since Counter Strike on the PC.
  94. Kyle
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    Remarkably smooth gameplay, no lag whatsoever. The graphics are slightly dated, although they still look pretty good, and don't interfere with the gameplay whatsoever. Plain and simple, worth it.
  95. MikeS.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    MAG is the future of online FPSs... and it's available now! Honestly, this is a great game... plain and simple. Some will complain, "It's not like MW2," and "this isn't like any online shooter I've played before!" EXACTLY! This is MAG, it's own beast and the benchmark for online games to come period. It works as promised. It's beautiful to behold. Check this MAG is the future of online FPSs... and it's available now! Honestly, this is a great game... plain and simple. Some will complain, "It's not like MW2," and "this isn't like any online shooter I've played before!" EXACTLY! This is MAG, it's own beast and the benchmark for online games to come period. It works as promised. It's beautiful to behold. Check this game out if the idea of the FPS genre being sent back to the drawing board excites you! Be prepared for a ton of imitators. Expand
  96. JoshL
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Once again the 'professional' reviewers show their ignorance and preference for petty graphics and gimmicks over true gameplay. This game is genre-defining and offers all kinds of new possibilities to the player. It is massive, it works, and it is absolutely fun and engaging once you give it an hour or two.
  97. kennyJ.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    This game deserves 9, but I gave it a 10 to balance the idiots' score. If you like fps genre, then this is a must for you. Teamplay is important and where the fun lies, something lacking in most fps's. The only thing I can complain is a bit dated graphics but not really that much. I think I'll play it for a long time.
  98. PhillR.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    when i first heard about this i expected the best game ever. I then realized the game did nothing to innovate but sometimes that is not a bad thing. what it does it does perfect. Fun, plenty, communication useful, multiplayer, the best i have ever seen and it sets a new standard for shooters MAG is a massive action game
  99. NickC.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    This is really incomparable to games like MW2. If you play call of duty style you will hate this game die a lot. If you at least attempt to work along with your teammates and form strategies it becomes one of the best experiences you can get from a FPS. Even if your not the best FPS player, you can still do decent and have fun in this game.
  100. MarkD.
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    This game isn't MW2, it's more difficult, less forgiving and way more team-based. It's a total different experience. The graphics might not be the greatest, but when you understand they couldn't make breath-taking graphics without lagging, you'll find them more than satisfying. The gameplay is this game's jewel, when you unlock the 256 mode, you'll This game isn't MW2, it's more difficult, less forgiving and way more team-based. It's a total different experience. The graphics might not be the greatest, but when you understand they couldn't make breath-taking graphics without lagging, you'll find them more than satisfying. The gameplay is this game's jewel, when you unlock the 256 mode, you'll understand that you are nothing more than an ant. You will need to fight as a team to win, without doing so, you will just die countless of times. I've played the beta more than I've played some game that I bought. I would recommend this game to FPS fans that don't just run and gun. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Massive Action Game delivers on the promise of its name. It's certainly massive, and there is more than enough action to go around. MAG's biggest draw, however, is that it's perfect for both hardcore multiplayer FPS fans and newcomers alike.
  2. The challenge of branding MAG with a number (much smaller than its trademarked 256 and between 1 and 10) to denote its quality is akin to rating World of Warcraft after a weekend of gold-farming, long before the full majesty of the game has blossomed and shown its true potential. The best we can do is rate our early impressions, undoubtedly influenced by the game’s prospects for the future.
  3. 256 players in the same battlefield is clearly a new step beyond what console online gaming was offering. Spectacular in its size, MAG allows at the same time a deep approach for the hardcore FPS lovers, and also an easier gameplay appealing for those more casual action gamers. The lack of any non-online mode can limit its influence, and the visuals are not over the top, but in the end, MAG achieves success delivering the closest experience to fighting on a living battlefield.