Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Play UK
    Aug 9, 2011
    70
    Far more interesting than it first appears. [Issue#208, p.98]
  2. games(TM)
    Aug 8, 2011
    70
    For the most part this is an excellent strategy game with plenty of mileage. [Issue#112, p.128]
  3. Jul 5, 2011
    70
    Magic the Gathering: Duels of the Planeswalkers 2012 is a decent game that may become a nice starting point for beginners. However, the most loyal fans of cards games will be annoyed by the limited customization capabilities of the decks.
  4. Jun 28, 2011
    70
    This is the best Magic game ever in terms of learning curve and tutorials, so it is a perfect way for newcomers to familiarize themselves with the world of Magic cards. But for seasoned Magic players, the game will not offer that much of a challenge.
  5. Jun 25, 2011
    65
    Duels of the Planeswalkers 2012 offers fast, fun games of Magic: the Gathering, but is hampered by a less-than-ideal control scheme and limited deck building.
  6. Jun 27, 2011
    60
    Duels of the Planeswalkers 2012 is indeed an enhanced version of the previous one, but it still holds the same shortcomings. Two in particular are particularly displeasing : no way to personally manage your mana, and no way to create your own decks with the cards of this edition. It still is an affordable and fun way to start playing Magic : The Gathering, or to enjoy casually a game or two once in a while against human players through the internet, despite its limited card collection and the two aforementioned flaws.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    I have to say, its a big improvement from the previous game, the general layout is much better. Edit the full deck is a MASSIVE improvement. II have to say, its a big improvement from the previous game, the general layout is much better. Edit the full deck is a MASSIVE improvement. I have not played Magic since my school days, and its really fun to get back in the game 12 years later and play online and pick up cards without losing all my money on real cards, excellent for casual magic players like me. Full Review »
  2. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    I've played the previous Dual of the Planeswalkers and I've got to say, this one is MUCH better. Not many features has been added, but theI've played the previous Dual of the Planeswalkers and I've got to say, this one is MUCH better. Not many features has been added, but the simple fact that I can edit the full deck and not just the unlockable cards is a major improvement. Also, it's to be noted that we are still dealing with the same decks ( artifacts, equipments, etc.) as we were in the previous, but the 2012 added MANY new cards that changed the whole dynamic of each one of those decks. In example, the equipment deck is now fearsome while tezzeret is now not so good. As for the archenemy mode, as it has already been reported, the difficulty level is incredibly high. It's more about finding the right deck combination to beat the boss than actual magic "skills". In conclusion, I've been a MTG for many years and this game can satisfy me when I have a craving. I would definitely recommend this game to every player interested. Even the ones that never played before. There is a good tutorial system that will explain the terms and strategies to be used.

    -fr3ddyc
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    4
    I wanted to like this game, but the user interface gets annoying (almost lost a duel because of it) and the deck restrictions is silly. WhyI wanted to like this game, but the user interface gets annoying (almost lost a duel because of it) and the deck restrictions is silly. Why can't I make my own deck from scratch? The way they due dlc is also annoying because they force you to buy everything after they kept everything separate for a while. Load times are horrible. I sometimes play handheld games while waiting for it and even after all that loading you will still get lag in game. I recommend playing the in real life version or the official magic online for pc. I doubt 2013 version will be any better. So hopefully 2014 can fix some of those concerns. One thing I will give it credit for, is that it is the most cheapest alternative to play the game and can really teach beginners how to play (excluding some of the challenges because of the poor user interface). Full Review »