Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom, a once thriving society is suddenly engulfed by a dark force that nearly eradicates all of its inhabitants. Many tried to reclaim their fallen homeland but were annihilated by strange warriors who rose from the darkness. A hundred years later, a cunningIn Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom, a once thriving society is suddenly engulfed by a dark force that nearly eradicates all of its inhabitants. Many tried to reclaim their fallen homeland but were annihilated by strange warriors who rose from the darkness. A hundred years later, a cunning young outsider is drawn to this forsaken kingdom where he encounters and befriends Majin, a mysterious monster-like being with incredible strength. Now in an effort to restore the empire, the two set out to uncover Majin's forgotten past and the secrets that lie within the ancient land. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    90
    A warm and wonderful game that will make you smile and laugh in company with it's charming characters. You don't want to miss this magical and challenging journey.
  2. Dec 20, 2010
    80
    It is a lengthy adventure with a wonderful story that will keep you entertained through most of the game.
  3. Dec 20, 2010
    76
    But it's a decent game that almost feels like a throwback to a time when 3D action/adventure without much in the way of frills dominated. It's fun, engaging, and that co-op emphasis works out extremely well.
  4. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    Game Republic's effort lacks polish and elegance, but, thanks to charm and the in-built strength of its setup, it is an experience worth partnering with.
  5. So while you'll be unconvinced by the visuals and voices behind the boy and his beast, when the Majin goes harumphing into battle to save you from the latest onslaught of sinister humanoid ooze, stopping only to breathe his healing gingivitis all over your battered body, you'll find yourself wondering; why this has done for you what the massive production of Enslaved could not. The answer? Heart, baby. Kid's got heart. [January 2011 p72]
  6. Dec 20, 2010
    67
    While Majin isn't overtly a kids' game, the translations and voice acting are almost comically silly.
  7. Jan 26, 2011
    42
    Majin and the Forsaken is the definition of a mediocre title. Nearly every aspect of the game is bland and unoriginal, with the exception of a great control scheme when it comes to controlling the non-playable Majin. Some players may find a tolerable adventure in the game, but don't expect much else.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Maiin and the Forsaken Kingdom surprised the hell out of me. I bought it at amazon for 22.99 on BF and wow this game just amazes me. The worldMaiin and the Forsaken Kingdom surprised the hell out of me. I bought it at amazon for 22.99 on BF and wow this game just amazes me. The world detail is so vividly imaginative and descriptive it often reminds me of my first time entering into the Shivering Ilse's back on The Elder Scrolls. Noting the reference, don't be mistaken that this game plays or actually looks anything like Oblivion since it doesn't. Moreover it's not suppose to. Game Republic has crafted a gem of its own that will be often compared with games like Ico and perhaps even Zelda, but the story bond between gamer and characters has truly been mastered in the senses that if one of the characters died (as in story line) then you would shed a tear or two (something movies can hardly ever achieve). Lastly following my last sentence I want to note that is not a spoiler of any kind, for all you or I know they could die Majin and the main character, or they could live and save the Kingdom from ultimate darkness. Hence, I will not go into plot details or anything of the sorts since the games itself is to be best played going in blind and discovering the world and it's mysteries for yourself. Please buy this game whenever you get the opportunity since this has been Game Republic's finest game and its company truly needs the funds after the utter fail of Folklore on the PS3. (fail as in sales) Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    i didnt think anything of this game when it was being announced, teased, trailered, etc. But then the demo came out, i was bored that day andi didnt think anything of this game when it was being announced, teased, trailered, etc. But then the demo came out, i was bored that day and thought "eh, ill try it." which was one of the best choices i have ever made when deciding to purchase this game. Like i said, i had no previous opinoin about this game before trying this demo and i LOVED it. A few weeks later the game was released and i bought it on day 1... But let me explain the reasons i love this game so much. It was a game for PS3 that i was playing that i had for some reason been reminded of Zelda when i was playing it, with the puzzles, the action adventure element in it, the story, etc. Everything about this game is amazing to me, its one of my few games i got 100% on.
    And to me, it was worth every penny.
    this goes on my PS3 shelf on "All Time Favorite PS3 Games" (along with 3D.Game Heroes, Wet, Catherine, and more)
    Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2014
    10
    Very emotional game. Gameplay wise it's very simple and intuitive, but what shines in this game is the story. The relationship between ourVery emotional game. Gameplay wise it's very simple and intuitive, but what shines in this game is the story. The relationship between our main hero and Majin, the cutscenes and the way their friendship evolves can't be matched by any game I've played.

    Awesome game, 10/10.
    Expand
  4. May 29, 2011
    9
    The bad reviews on this game were way too harsh. The colors and the artistic design were lush, and the puzzles challenging but not too hard.The bad reviews on this game were way too harsh. The colors and the artistic design were lush, and the puzzles challenging but not too hard. Most of the voice acting was horrible, though. Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2014
    9
    Majin Is an all round great adventure / puzzle game when other similar titles seem really lacking on the PS3
    Positives: All round great
    Majin Is an all round great adventure / puzzle game when other similar titles seem really lacking on the PS3
    Positives: All round great adventure, has the vibe of a Zelda but has is its own journey
    Negatives: Minor - Majin tends to get in the way
    Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom hits all the right notes. Solid combat gameplay, well thought out puzzles, interesting and appealing worldMajin and the Forsaken Kingdom hits all the right notes. Solid combat gameplay, well thought out puzzles, interesting and appealing world design, beautiful aesthetics, and a charming fairytale story. The only negative is hammy voice acting. Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2011
    7
    Fun and creative puzzle platformer. Nothing groundbreaking, but it was good. I would say if you can get this game for less than $40 it wouldFun and creative puzzle platformer. Nothing groundbreaking, but it was good. I would say if you can get this game for less than $40 it would be a good buy. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews