User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 51
  2. Negative: 6 out of 51
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CrashX
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    kind of a marvel buff, and ive been playing these games since X-men Legends 1. this game is quality. the whole system(though you need to get use to it b/c its refined from the last one) is tight and streamlined. they handled the Civil War story very well. not 100% accurate but the liberties they take are more than acceptable. now im not usually a basher, but Krit U's review is simply kind of a marvel buff, and ive been playing these games since X-men Legends 1. this game is quality. the whole system(though you need to get use to it b/c its refined from the last one) is tight and streamlined. they handled the Civil War story very well. not 100% accurate but the liberties they take are more than acceptable. now im not usually a basher, but Krit U's review is simply useless. dont listen to it. sorry bro but the things you complain about are simply untrue. Expand
  2. May 31, 2013
    8
    This was a really good game and this is coming from a Marvel fan. I love playing as Spider-Man, Gambit, Ms. Marvel and Deadpool. You can play as the Avengers, X-Men and Fantastic Four. I just wish there were more characters to play as such as Loki and Doctor Octopus.
  3. RockmanX
    Sep 18, 2009
    8
    I been playing this game for a while now and I have to say that the game is very good. It is no Batman Arkham Asylum, but there is a lot of elements that makes this game good. Why I could not rate this game a 10 is because of the game play mechanics. After playing a game like Arkham Asylum, I wish there was more collision in the fighting. I could feel the hits in Arkham, vs in this game I been playing this game for a while now and I have to say that the game is very good. It is no Batman Arkham Asylum, but there is a lot of elements that makes this game good. Why I could not rate this game a 10 is because of the game play mechanics. After playing a game like Arkham Asylum, I wish there was more collision in the fighting. I could feel the hits in Arkham, vs in this game you could punch a character and there isn't much reaction. The replay value is very high however which adds to the game. You can probably get close to 30 hours playing everything in this game, and you have to beat the game once to unlock the hardest level. It does seem a bit glitchy as you can easily get caught between items in the levels and I wish that the action moved faster than it does. The fusions are nice, but a lot of it is reused, nevertheless it is enjoyable to use. It is definitely worth playing and even buying. Expand
  4. AndrewP
    Sep 16, 2009
    8
    I think that this game is great. It improves on most of what I found annoying in the first game. I have yet to get bored with it. The cut-scenes are slick and the story is really great (compared to the first game). All of the characters are fun to play, but I'm addicted to Juggernaut and Deadpool :-D. I would recommend this game to anyone that even remotely enjoyed the first one. If I think that this game is great. It improves on most of what I found annoying in the first game. I have yet to get bored with it. The cut-scenes are slick and the story is really great (compared to the first game). All of the characters are fun to play, but I'm addicted to Juggernaut and Deadpool :-D. I would recommend this game to anyone that even remotely enjoyed the first one. If anyone is trying to judge this game harshly, yes, it has a few flaws (random video skipping/a bugged mission that finally fixed itself, etc), but it is just soooo much fun!!! I don't know if I'll ever be tired of it. That is, until the third one comes out :-) Expand
  5. EzraR
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    As a huge fan of the first title, this is exactly what I wanted. Same basic game play with a better mix of characters (and hopefully some DLC for us non-Xbox folk... That really cheesed me off before). The Civil War storyline gives an excellent opportunity to play with heroes and villains against other heroes and villains. (Can't wait to team up Spidey and Venom!) I'm only As a huge fan of the first title, this is exactly what I wanted. Same basic game play with a better mix of characters (and hopefully some DLC for us non-Xbox folk... That really cheesed me off before). The Civil War storyline gives an excellent opportunity to play with heroes and villains against other heroes and villains. (Can't wait to team up Spidey and Venom!) I'm only through the first stage so far and I am so stoked. The Fusions are cool and the action is a notch above the first game. I'd like more variations on the powers (including Fusions) as they are heavily recycled among characters with different graphics but I also accept the more accessible gameplay this allows since I'm mostly playing with my six-year-old this time around. If you liked MUA, you LOVE MUA2. If you didn't care before, not enough has changed to make you care now. Expand
  6. maxg
    Sep 16, 2009
    9
    This game is much better than the reviews it is getting. I played the firs one a ton (and am totally sick of it now) and I have to say that the improvements to this game are many. The story, action, characters, menus, are all very well done. The fusions also add a nice layer to the game. The graphics are much better than the first and the game play feels tighter and more fun than the This game is much better than the reviews it is getting. I played the firs one a ton (and am totally sick of it now) and I have to say that the improvements to this game are many. The story, action, characters, menus, are all very well done. The fusions also add a nice layer to the game. The graphics are much better than the first and the game play feels tighter and more fun than the first. The story is a million times better than the first and the new camera makes co-op a lot better to look at (now you see your character in detail instead of just the top of everyone's head. Do not sleep on this title - a must buy! Expand
  7. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    Games like these never get old, especially when you watched Avengers on big screen. Playing this game would make it a worthwhile living as Marvel's best superheroes. Unlocking HULK & Thor would make it not just better but crazy good. I wish they had installed audio plugin for HULK 'Puny God'. Deadpool is the winner of this game, not only his game play & cool moves, Witty one liners are aGames like these never get old, especially when you watched Avengers on big screen. Playing this game would make it a worthwhile living as Marvel's best superheroes. Unlocking HULK & Thor would make it not just better but crazy good. I wish they had installed audio plugin for HULK 'Puny God'. Deadpool is the winner of this game, not only his game play & cool moves, Witty one liners are a relief to otherwise engaging game play. Bring down friends (multiplayer offline 1-4) over a weekend & you'll have an ultimate alliance. Expand
  8. Jul 11, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have to admit this game is not as good as the first, but it's still awesome... I gave 9 out of 10, because this game seemed smaller than the first, had a less interesting story and had less heroes. If you liked the first one, you will like this one. If you love Marvel and the Civil War storyline from the comics, you will play this game over and over again. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Most of the time when I see a developer change between products, it spells inevitable doom or a watered down shadow of the previous title. In this case, I think Vicarious Visions has taken what Raven started and managed to not only match it but improve upon it.
  2. 67
    But ultimately, even though a lot of things about MUA2 aggravate me, the moment-to-moment gameplay of superheroes beating the crap out of robots/mutants/soldiers with fists, mystical hammers, repulsor rays, giant tongues, and what-have-you feels solid and enjoyable.
  3. A solid follow-up to the 2006 release, with great new characters and fusion powers. The game looks very nice and plays well.