Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2 Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The "greatest Super Hero action/RPG of all time" is back with the world’s largest army of heroes and villains in Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2. Incorporating elements of the acclaimed Marvel Civil War storyline, the game allows players to choose their side and team up with revered heroes andThe "greatest Super Hero action/RPG of all time" is back with the world’s largest army of heroes and villains in Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2. Incorporating elements of the acclaimed Marvel Civil War storyline, the game allows players to choose their side and team up with revered heroes and villains, including Spider-Man, Wolverine, Hulk, Iron Man, Deadpool, Venom, Green Goblin and Captain America. Players can combine characters’ powers and unleash astonishing new attacks. [Activision] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2 doesn't try to reinvent the wheel, it just tightens a few of the lug nuts.
  2. If you never played the original and the particulars of this title likely suit your gaming tastes, especially if you have friends who'll play along through the missions, by all means strap on your alter ego and get to saving the world.
  3. With less focus on micromanagement and a solid, cohesive story, there's a lot more action this time around for Marvel's action-RPG franchise.
  4. Another solid entry into the Marvel Universe, this action-RPG gives us another dose of the tried-and-true four-character slugfest. Nothing overly exciting here, but entertaining all the same.
  5. But it’s short on new ideas, with a fundamental template that hasn’t changed in the last five years. And in this brave, new, post-Arkham Asylum world, we need a little more than that to be really awed.
  6. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    70
    It just lacks a certain freshness. [Dec 2009, p.78]
  7. Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2 will only entertain players that love Marvel's super heroes and the Civil War storyline. If you don't you'd do better to play a game with better controls and more challenging difficulty.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. CrashX
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    kind of a marvel buff, and ive been playing these games since X-men Legends 1. this game is quality. the whole system(though you need to get kind of a marvel buff, and ive been playing these games since X-men Legends 1. this game is quality. the whole system(though you need to get use to it b/c its refined from the last one) is tight and streamlined. they handled the Civil War story very well. not 100% accurate but the liberties they take are more than acceptable. now im not usually a basher, but Krit U's review is simply useless. dont listen to it. sorry bro but the things you complain about are simply untrue. Expand
  2. EzraR
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    As a huge fan of the first title, this is exactly what I wanted. Same basic game play with a better mix of characters (and hopefully some DLC As a huge fan of the first title, this is exactly what I wanted. Same basic game play with a better mix of characters (and hopefully some DLC for us non-Xbox folk... That really cheesed me off before). The Civil War storyline gives an excellent opportunity to play with heroes and villains against other heroes and villains. (Can't wait to team up Spidey and Venom!) I'm only through the first stage so far and I am so stoked. The Fusions are cool and the action is a notch above the first game. I'd like more variations on the powers (including Fusions) as they are heavily recycled among characters with different graphics but I also accept the more accessible gameplay this allows since I'm mostly playing with my six-year-old this time around. If you liked MUA, you LOVE MUA2. If you didn't care before, not enough has changed to make you care now. Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have to admit this game is not as good as the first, but it's still awesome... I gave 9 out of 10, because this game seemed smaller than the first, had a less interesting story and had less heroes. If you liked the first one, you will like this one. If you love Marvel and the Civil War storyline from the comics, you will play this game over and over again. Expand
  4. Steve
    Oct 1, 2009
    7
    Online co-op play is INCREDIBLY laggy, worse than any other PS3 game I've ever played. Even some of the videos stutter on playback whenOnline co-op play is INCREDIBLY laggy, worse than any other PS3 game I've ever played. Even some of the videos stutter on playback when doing co-op online. It's awful.

    I thought a lot of the moves were better in the last version. The combined powers thing isn't as spectacular as I hoped.

    The game is still fun and very similar to the first one. Despite the lag, I'm still enjoying playing co-op with my brother and sister-in-law. The graphics, story, and sound are pretty polished.
    Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2012
    7
    If your a marvel fan & and RPG fan this is a game for you, the character dialogue and 1 liners will have you nostalgic with the older comics,If your a marvel fan & and RPG fan this is a game for you, the character dialogue and 1 liners will have you nostalgic with the older comics, The combat is a lot of fun but a little repetitive at times..
    A great game to play if you've got more then 2 people with you as it doesn't divide the screen, but it may cause some camera issues..

    The variety of characters to play as will give you plenty to do, and the collectibles give this game somewhat of a replay value..

    Definitely worth picking up if you see it for $30>(AUS)..
    Expand
  6. May 12, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  7. KritU
    Sep 16, 2009
    0
    I love the series and hoping I would love this one. while playing I don't even know where the character I'm controlling is, my I love the series and hoping I would love this one. while playing I don't even know where the character I'm controlling is, my enemies are, nor my allies are. The whole thing look confusing. I was gonna give it a chance for at least a few hours before judging it. But after 30 minutes I asked myself, why would I wast my time on this piece of crap? So I stopped. Collapse

See all 20 User Reviews