Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After a decade of waiting, iconic Marvel and Capcom characters join forces again in a re-envisioned team fighting game for a new generation. Fill the shoes of legendary characters from the most beloved franchises in entertainment as you battle in a living comic book brought to life in a VS.After a decade of waiting, iconic Marvel and Capcom characters join forces again in a re-envisioned team fighting game for a new generation. Fill the shoes of legendary characters from the most beloved franchises in entertainment as you battle in a living comic book brought to life in a VS. fighting game for the first time by Capcom’s MT Framework. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Feb 19, 2011
    100
    MvC3 is the same crazy, over-the-top fighting game that fans loved back in 2000, just with a fresh control scheme and a new coat of 3D, hi-res paint. Fighting game fans will fall in love with the "easy to play, hard to master" format.
  2. Feb 16, 2011
    90
    Pretty much exactly how I expected it - epileptic, frantic fun. Sure, it has a few balancing issues (Sentinel) and it might be a little too frantic at times, but at its core it's a great fighter for those who don't have the patience to learn SSFIV's endless move lists.
  3. Mar 27, 2011
    90
    For those having a hard time comprehending today's fighters, MvC3 is there for you. Meanwhile, veterans can definitely say that this title hits the spot.
  4. Feb 14, 2011
    85
    The balance and depth in the game is astonishing, and even the odd characters have their distinct charms...What's really a shame here is that the developer didn't manage to find a way to supplement the core experience with extras that would extend the life of the game by adding some variety to the package.
  5. Feb 27, 2011
    85
    Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds is definitely not just another fighting game. It's one of the most advanced games you can get so just go ahead and buy it.
  6. Mar 1, 2011
    80
    An explosion of colours and cool combos and at the same time a great depth, smooth controls and even a great fighting game for beginners.
  7. Feb 16, 2011
    70
    MvC3 tends to emphasize flash over substance... and that's totally cool, for some folks, as MvC3 is going to divide the fighting game audience, including series faithful. Some will like that it's more accessible (if a bit stripped down), while others will decry the dumbing-down of their favorite series and its lack of arcade sauce.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    This is a great game. The graphics are good sound us cool too (and includes remixes of 'wanna take you for a ride from mvc2). The charactersThis is a great game. The graphics are good sound us cool too (and includes remixes of 'wanna take you for a ride from mvc2). The characters are great and I think it was a good idea of using more unknown characters instead of bog standard marvel and capcom ones (e.g has zero instead of megaman). My only problem is that dlc characters have already been announced 2 months before the games release meaning they could have easily been fitted into the game ( and the game already has 20 less characters then mvc2). But that's just capcom being greedy and shouldn't put people of buying the game. Overall a excellent game! Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    The game is all around fantastic. It' has a great fighting system, strong presentation values, some nice extra modes, and a terrific onlineThe game is all around fantastic. It' has a great fighting system, strong presentation values, some nice extra modes, and a terrific online component. It's a bit lacking in modes when compared to something like Super Street Fighter IV, but it's still a terrific game all around. Yes the roster is smaller than it was in MvC2, but with that comes better balance. If you can't have fun in this game, you might just be dead inside. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    This game is solid. The only reason why I don't give it a 10 is because of Capcom's DLC holding our characters hostage. This practice is notThis game is solid. The only reason why I don't give it a 10 is because of Capcom's DLC holding our characters hostage. This practice is not ideal, but I understand the need for them to make money, but at the expensive of the users...well that is the reason it is a 9. Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2011
    8
    If I was forced to review MvC3 a week after its release, I would have given it a 10. Now that 6 weeks have passed, the new-game-high hasIf I was forced to review MvC3 a week after its release, I would have given it a 10. Now that 6 weeks have passed, the new-game-high has passed and players are starting to stick to their teams. The game is ridiculously unbalanced. Almost everybody online has a combination of these characters as their team: Sentinel, Wesker, Phoenix, Dante, akuma. All of these people play with the exact same extremely effective strategy: spam sentinel/dante's assist while rampantly teleporting with wesker. Its extremely frustrating to play online because of this. Unlike street fighter 4, where winning matches requires smart and skillful play, winning in mvc3 requires picking the strongest characters and spamming the hell out of assist/hyper combo chains. Don't expect thoughtful matches with clever mindgames.

    Other problems with the game include the ridiculous power of X-Factor, where akuma/dark phoenix's hyper combos will kill you with chip damage alone, and the fact that the default 99 seconds is often too short to finish the match fair and square.

    Overall the game is still incredible fun granted you find someone to play who doesnt use sentinel.
    SSF4 is a better game.
    Expand
  5. Feb 17, 2011
    8
    Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 is a great fighting game. The characters and environments pop with life and color and the match up combinations seemMarvel Vs. Capcom 3 is a great fighting game. The characters and environments pop with life and color and the match up combinations seem endless. I've been playing it since its release and I find it difficult to put down. This is the most extravagant, candy colored fighting game, I've ever seen. The game mechanics are completely different from MvC 2 and SFIV. Instead of traditional punch and kick buttons, there are three attacks (Low, Medium and High) as well as a special attack which launches opponents vertically, perfect for air combos. This is true hyper fighting. MvC 3 operates using different priorities than past Capcom fighting games, yet it remains a welcome addition to the family. I personally prefer Street Fighter IV to this game, because it seems more focused and more confident in its style and presentation. The only downside to MvC 3 would be the in-game menus and presentation. Everything in between the actual matches themselves feels lackluster and clumsy. The game doesn't feel truly polished as it should. Another problem is that the game pays no homage to the MvC titles that have come before it. The game's creators seem very preoccupied with the idea of moving the series forward, so it eventually feels like we're playing a brand new franchise. These negative points, however, don't really affect the core gameplay: the fighting. The game moves at a blisteringly fast speed and it is deep and varied. And that's really the bread and butter of all fighting games. Expand
  6. May 5, 2011
    8
    I was very much hyped for this game. I enjoyed MVC2 ungodly and the idea of 3 with updated graphics was awesome. Then as time grew on, II was very much hyped for this game. I enjoyed MVC2 ungodly and the idea of 3 with updated graphics was awesome. Then as time grew on, I discovered the cast of characters wasn't great. Then the DLC, which initially thought to be more, was only 2 characters, albeit important characters. So going in I was still hyped. The game played fast and I enjoyed it at first, then you play online and it just gets way too fast. Out of a dozen matches, I won zero. So I gave that up. Unlocking characters and getting trophies is where the addiction is in this game, especially the trophies. Is good to play friends in this game. It is playable for everyone, but there is an advanced degree of difficulty is actually trying to be good. I'm not a fan of fighting games where juggling occurs. But the game has wolverine and deadpool. There also is clearly a lack of balance in this game in the overall spectrum. But if you can match up the right people, you can have some good fights. The biggest perk I like is the voice acting honestly. The little things people say against their rivals or as a team is really awesome. They have released some costumes, but honestly Capcom hasn't done enough to support this game, especially when you see what WB did with MK. I still think it initially falls below SSF4 had is on the podium of best fighting games this generation. Expand
  7. Apr 3, 2013
    1
    No, NOOOOOOOOOO I hate this game and you should to. This game is so horrible that I am going to sell it. If your a noob at fighters (I'llNo, NOOOOOOOOOO I hate this game and you should to. This game is so horrible that I am going to sell it. If your a noob at fighters (I'll admit I am one) does not help at all. I just hope TO GOD that Injustice is a good, because if it turns out like this hunk of crap did, then I will SCREAM like a 15 year old girl reacting over 1D Expand

See all 39 User Reviews