Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Mass Effect: Arrival, Commander Shepard is sent to the edge of the galaxy to rescue an undercover operative who may have evidence of an imminent Reaper invasion that has been looming since the very beginning of the series. Returning and playing a prominent role in Mass Effect: Arrival is fan favorite Admiral Hackett, who is voiced by legendary science-fiction actor Lance Henriksen (Alien, Terminator). Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 29, 2011
    85
    Don't get me wrong, Arrival sits comfortably between Overlord and Lair of the Shadow Broker in terms of quality and I still want to play Mass Effect 3 badly, but I don't want play it that much more badly after having played Arrival.
  2. Mar 30, 2011
    80
    Rationalizing the cost versus the content is a tough one, but I can say this will not hold you over till the release of Mass Effect 3.
  3. 80
    Arrival is Bioware's farewell to Mass Effect 2, and what a farewell this is. It's a really exiting mission that explains things leading to Mass Effect 3 and after you've finished it, you're left wanting nothing but more of this. Now, if only it was a little longer.
  4. Apr 1, 2011
    70
    It sets up the tone of urgency that's prevalent in the Mass Effect 3 trailer, but don't expect it to explain a lot.
  5. Mar 31, 2011
    65
    Bridging the second and the third chapter was surely a great idea, a shame for the very rushed narrative and the repetitive gameplay. Suited just for the true fans of the saga.
  6. May 17, 2011
    64
    One of BioWare's weaker DLC efforts. [Issue#205, p.94]
  7. Apr 5, 2011
    50
    Even though the combat is thrilling and the premise somewhat interesting, this DLC's very short and clumsily constructed story in detriment of gameplay makes skipping it an easy decision.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    I enjoyed this DLC. Early scenes in a batarian prison are dark, with elements of sneaking to avoid combat. There is an interesting section where you have to work with an escaping prisoner to beat off guards, and seal off sections where guards are coming through. This is finished with an exciting shuttle break out, and moves to a scene on an asteroid. The scene on the asteroid has excellent music, and moments of genuine terror, where you face off against enemies armed with flame throwers in enclosed spaces. This level moves to a final battle on the surface of an asteriod, which is against the clock, as you must escape the asteroid before it crashes. I found the DLC gave me around 8 hours entertainment on insanity engineer level, and good value at around £5. Many complain the DLC is short, but they were playing on lower difficulty levels, which in my view are too easy. Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2011
    7
    Unquestionably, this is the weakest ME2's DLC. Still, it is fun to play and brings some light over our expectations on the future events in Mass Effect 3. I don't agree with people who say it is a short chapter, though. For me, it had just the right size. On the other hand, the fact that this is a solo mission felt kind of a downer. I really wished I could take the old fellows with me (Miranda, at least. Ah... Miranda). Anyway. But even so, there is a lot to do, investigate and discover - and with a handful of perils along the way. In the end, although less inspired, this is an important part fo Mass Effect canon that cannot be missed. If you enjoyed ME2 and all its extra contents, you should not let this pass you by. Expand
  3. Apr 1, 2011
    7
    Overall i think this is a decent bit of DLC. Id say its better than Overlord but not as good as Lair of the shadowbroker. It lacks the emotional punch and the very good pacing that DLC had, then again it is cheaper in price. It look me about 1 hour and 20 minutes to complete on 'casual' mode. I was exploring every little nook and cranny though. In my opinion the ending is worth seeing and if you have any vested interest in ME3 then you best buy this. There is some nice little set-pieces but the combat gets alittle samey. It becomes more challenging as you do this mission solo so it makes you approach fights differently. Collapse
  4. Oct 12, 2012
    0
    Short: Its the worst DLC ever... They didn't anything right, all is just so ridiculous I cant belive it. They even use human-models for Batarian... Story is same ridiculous (for example: now a astroid can do what a supernova cant ?) .... Did noone cheked it before they released it ? So complete DLC is so bad, Bioware should recompense all who waste time on this ... Waste of money; Waste of time or Short: DONT BUY THIS **** Expand