User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 848 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 848

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is an "amazing" game. Simply put. The storyline is well crafted to something brilliant. Game-play is fun and exciting. Since Mass Effect 2 arrived to the PS3, the graphics are stunning in HD. Mass Effect 2 will last you for about 30 hours. And there is PLENTY of replay value with side quests, decision making, and just exploring the beautiful planets and environments. But for this game being so big. You my incur some bugs or glitches, but they are small time glitches and bugs though so nothing to worry. At the end of the day, I recommend this game to everyone or anyone that appreciates great games. So i give Mass Effect 2 a "10". Good day! Expand
  2. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    This is easily the best game I've ever personally played. However. I had a computer melt down (totally my fault) and needed to reinstall ME2 in order to recover characters for ME3 (already purchased). This "Origin.com" download control was exactly zero help. 24 hours into a 48 hour download the process gagged and required restart. Origin cannot send a CD or DVD (even if you offer to pay) 100's of hours and money invested - gone. I cancelled my ME3 order. Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2011
    9
    This Review will not be lengthy, I will just have a line on each of m marking factors, when rating games.

    Presenation: 9- Everything is set out in the game efforlessly and the presentaion style is truly fantastic, especially as compared to the first (only on Xbox) the presentation is greatly improved.
    Graphics: 8 - The graphics are for the most part fantastic, but some of the grphical
    hiccups cannot be avoided such as jagged edges and very occasonal pop up.
    Sound: 10 - The sounds, music and sfx sounds within the game are truly amazing and really contribute to the atmosphere desired and the story told.
    Gameplay: 8 - The gameplay is engaging and the speech system and choosing between paragon or renegade actions is fantastically implemented. The reason this section is marked down is due to various gameplay glitches which occur in every version of the game be it PC or PS3. Lasting Appeal: 10- You'll remember how great an experience this was long after its over, and the main playthrough can weigh in at a substantial amount of hours especially if you want a perfect ending.
    Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2011
    9
    A very good game. I'm not into space games or RPG but this one got me. I missed the original, and never played this on the Xbox. I got this off a trade-in because of it's high reviews, which having played it, i agree with...for the most part. The story is great, and characters are also very well written. Mission wise, this game is very heavy. There are loads of missions to do and they are all fun. Each is vastly different in narrative, choices and outcomes so it goes without saying that replay value is very high, but i don't really like replaying stuff i've seen already just to see a slight alteration. Controls are occasionally stiff, but they are minor glitches. Shooting is very fun, but there's no melee combat though. Overall, it's definitely one of the best games this gen. Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    I was a little dissapointed with the game, but then again I had expectations that were through the roof... I'm content is saying that the game is incredible, though I have to admit the game failed a little to make me develop a connection between all characters. The game is cinematic and offers an incredible amount of replayability.
  6. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is the greatest entertainment experience i have seen so far. There are films out there with more epic storylines, but none of them can come close to the level of immersion that this game provides. The setting, characters and storyline all combine to carry you off on a great adventure. The gameplay mechanics also impress but the story is the main point of the game. The only fault i find with the gameplay is that the shooting feels less fluid and instinctive than the best cover shooters available, with an irritating need to take cover behind scenery before you can leap over it, and the weakness of the melee combat. There are upgradeable powers in the game, and you will need them as the standard melee attack is useless. The graphics of the game are near flawless, except in some of the DLC where the textures were very poor and my character repeatedly disappeared through walls. Overall this is an engaging, good-looking, challenging game, with a great deal of side quests and a play time of roughly thirty hours. However if your looking for a game that is driven more by gameplay than story you may be less forgiving of the flaws with the combat system. Expand
  7. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    A absolute masterpiece. Mass effect was a already amazing experience. BioWare made a even more emotional game, with better gameplay mechanics and character development. Shortlist for the best PS3, Xbox360 and PC game of all time.
  8. Oct 14, 2011
    9
    Mass Effect II is one of the most enjoyable games on the PS3. The story is deep and interesting, the characters feel almost real, the visuals are stunning and the gameplay is as smooth as it can be. Sure it has some flaws like cheap parts in the story e.g. the "trap" Sheppard walks into on the Reaper spaceship; sometimes the stunning visuals are missing, especially on the small individual mission on the "mineable planets"; on PS3 the game has several visual and crash bugs and so on, but all in all, Mass Effect II is one of the best games I have ever played on my precious PS3. Expand
  9. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. EA has created something they haven't had in recent years, a game that shows how polished it can really be, an epic that memorizes you until the final battle. Characters you fall in love with and role you play that you can relive countless times that can always have different outcomes. This game already had a 9 at the get-go when I saw Tali was back and can be romanced. This game earned a 10 when the story had me locked on the screen, screaming and cheering on and the symphony of music counted on. This is what you call a masterpiece in all it's glory. And I'm so pleased this has come to my console of preference, the PS3. If you're still debating on getting this when it's new for only 20 bucks, there is no more hesitating, this game is worth every penny . Expand
  10. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Epic is not a good enough word to describe this game. At the time I was getting this game, it was between Crysis 2 or Mass Effect 2... and I am glad of my decision. Although, I do not own a copy of Mass Effect 1, I have played it and completed it on my friends PC, but it was okay because I didn't really get to enjoy it as much as if it had been my own game. Mass Effect 2 is a great game for any newcomer to the series as there is an Interactive back story comic, which is based on the decisions of Mass Effect 1 and available on the PS3 version and now available on Xbox Live to download. I never enjoyed playing a video game as much as I enjoyed playing Mass Effect 2. To be honest I personally am not a fan of Sci-fi, space themes and what not, but this is amazing and unique to your everyday playthrough of Call of Duty multiplayer. Everything about this game is brilliant in my opinion, we all have different tastes, but if you like action and decision based consequences which can be brought forward to Mass Effect 3, if you decide to get it, this is your game! Expand
  11. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    This game is fantastic, I can't explain how good this game is. I haven't played part 1, but this game has me hyped for ME3. Bought this game for 20 bucks, worth every single penny. Took me 50 hours on my first run, excellent story with great replay value and it's fun the whole way through. Love the paragon / renegade system. You can tell that these guys brought a lot of ideas over from KOTOR and that's not a bad thing at all. Best game I have played in a long time. Nearly perfect minus the long load times, and minor glitches. Last boss is intimidating and the graphics are really good as well. Expand
  12. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    A great game, love ability to import character from me 1. Good - great RPG, nice story, multiple playthroughs, lengthy game
    Bad - at times too long dialogue
  13. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Seriously, if you haven't played this game yet, get it now before the third installment comes out; the storyline once again centres around Commander Shepard and his (or her) battle against the Reapers. Character development is fantastic, together with excellent graphics, great voice acting and a musical score that is second to none.

    The way you can shape the storyline and modify your
    character pretty much demands that you play through multiple times, and the PS3 version includes a large chunk of dlc that XBOX players had to buy separately. You can get at least 25 hours worth of gameplay out of a single playthrough. There are very few games out there that offer this kind of in depth story telling where you genuinely feel emotional attachment to the characters.

    I cant wait for ME3, next March can't come soon enough - please don't let us down Bioware!!
    Expand
  14. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    One of the better games ever made- not as good as the first ME, but still fantastic. Great job on story and making the series look absolutely epic. Side quests were very well done, and the combat is smooth and works well.
  15. Jan 30, 2012
    9
    Mass Effect 2 is even better looking than the xbox 360 version *I played both versions*and all I can say is *wow*the new graphics look amazing and the game runs very well, with barley any frame rate drops and very little amount of bugs/glitches since the final patch on ps3 for mass effect 2.however there are still some minor problems and that's why I'm giving me2 a 9 out of 10,even though this game king on ps3 and Bioware Did a Great Job on rewriting codes for ps3 *unlike Bethesda and broken Skyrim*.I love the Dragon age series and Mass Effect series and hope to see Bioware give us ps3 gamers some of the best games ever. Expand
  16. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    I'm playing the Mass Effect series quite a long time after release, but I've just completed the trilogy.

    ME 2 is a great follow on to ME 1, but has a darker feel to itt. The story is good. You build your team and care about them. The mechanics are good. The follow through from one game to the next (you import your character to the next game) is good. The Sound, music and voice acting is
    good. The graphics get noticeably better from one game to the next. In ME 2 the locations may feel a bit smaller than ME1, but that fits the tone of the sequel.

    ME is right up there with Skyrim as an epic RPG.
    Expand
  17. Apr 19, 2012
    9
    I arrived a little late at the Mass Effect party; when I first started playing the first game the second had already been released for some time. When I moved on for Mass Effect 2, it was natural for me to get it on the PS3 since it had all DLC to date included on the disc. I expected great things from it, and was pleasantly unsurprised; Mass Effect 2 is a great game. The story is serious and very well written; even if now and then you have the feeling it is more a bridge between Mass Effect and Mass Effect 3 than a story by its own. Both the old and new characters are interesting, and it is always fun to see how their different personalities interact. Combat (shooting) was greatly improved from the last game, and the character evolution mechanic was simplified. This makes Mass Effect 2 much more dynamic than the original, and speeds up the action to frenetic levels. The moral choices are deeper than ever, and everything you say may or may not have severe consequences later; and not knowing is great. The Mass Effect Genesis interactive comic allowed me to choose many things I had done in the original's PC version, but still lacked many important moral choices. DLC is pretty weak, and I assume I would not have been happy had I bought it separately. Expand
  18. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mass Effect 2 is absolutely brilliant. I picked this game up around 2 months ago and didn't really start playing it until about 2 weeks ago. From the moment I picked it up I was hooked. I kept telling myself to stop playing and just go to bed, but I couldn't It was just so damn addictive. Mass Effect 2 tells the story of Commander Shepard (who can be male or female and can be fully customized) leading a suicide mission against a supposedly mythical alien race known as the Collectors. It was discovered that Collectors were abducting humans from their space colonies and taking them off to their home world to do god knows what. Commander Shepard is tasked with building up a super-squad of some of the best soldiers, assassins, engineers and biotics and scientists in the galaxy. It's a fantastic story with absolutely amazing characters. The amazing thing about the Mass Effect series is that every single choice you make matters. I was sad when I lost my favourite character in the end, but then I realised that if I'd upgraded my ship at all I wouldn't have had my ship partially destroyed, and all of my crew taken away from me. I also lost some other characters due to the fact that I accidentally stuffed up their loyalty missions, causing them to lose focus on the mission in the end. It sucked, but I was still absolutely amazed at how well Bioware pulled off this "every choice you make matters" style. If you ask me the story and RPG elements are what make this game shine, the gameplay not so much. The controls can be clunky at times with fairly stiff movement, and having to deal with enemies up close is an absolute pain. Husks are incredibly easy enemies and yet if I was surrounded by 1 or 2 of them I'd still usually die thanks to the piss-poor melee system. That as well as graphical glitches, laggy sound in cuts-scenes and tedious load screens just to go to places one floor above you are some of the down points of the game. However the good certainly outweighs the bad. Oh and a little treat, when probing planets for minerals go to the local cluster and probe Uranus. Be prepared to laugh at what EDI (the Normandy SR2's AI) says. Overall this game is a 9.8/10. Expand
  19. Jan 26, 2012
    9
    Great game, another good Bioware game. The only flaws would be at times boring because of repetitive combat. Highly recommend especially if you're into Sci-fi and RPGs. Enjoyed having dialogue choices and the fact there are actual consequences for some of your actions/choices.
  20. Feb 28, 2012
    9
    A damn fine game, that more than delivers on the promise of its predecessor. Combining BioWare's signature world building and interactive narratives with a polished third person shooter mechanic Mass Effect 2 is an atmospheric, character based action-roleplayer that continues Commander Shepard's struggle against the godlike Reapers and their proxies. Although not without a few minor flaws (inventory and skills a bit too streamlined for some tastes, a bland planet scanning mechanic replacing the wonky driving sections of ME1, and a few levels that are not much more than corridors), Mass Effect 2 certainly deserves all of its GOTY awards for 2010. The art direction, voice acting, and music are all part of a quality presentation that more than makes up for those minor nitpicks, and it also succeeds in a rarely tried experiment of importing saves from ME1, providing a unique and personalised continuous experience throughout the franchise for each player. Add to this a selection of reasonably chunky DLC, including the excellent "Lair of the Shadow Broker", this is a grand space opera to even rival the likes of Star Wars and Star Trek. Expand
  21. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    Amazing game with excellent replay value. Have completed over 10 play throughs and still love it. Even after completing ME3 (which sucked balls) I still love it. The characters and the story are awesome, you genuinely care about your crew and the mission. 10 for being so engaging and enjoyable at the same time.
  22. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect is one of the best sci fi dramas around, and I don't just mean in gaming. This game gets so many things right, the shooting has a great feel to it despite the occasional glitch with the cover system and you get a satisfying level of customisation to your character, it may not be as in depth as over RPGs but it's still good. However the real reason people play Mass Effect is for its story and characters which are nailed brilliantly. You get so much time to bond with the characters which makes their fate being determined upon your choices in the amazing end game all the more powerful. The story itself is very engaging, I don't want to spoil anything but just know that it'll make you want to get to the end of the game and find out the answers to your questions desperately. Overall, this game is amazing, its epic, emotional, fun, action packed and immersive so don't miss out on it! Expand
  23. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    Unique third person Shooter-Style Game. The Game Story is fascinating, the characters are charismatic, Unlike most recent games, from the Hardcore mode on the game gets really hard (REAL PLAYERS NEED REAL CHALLENGES). The decision-making thing makes you feel that you ARE the commander, not just the player. Online mode is fun. There could be more Side Missions (I finished the game too fast... Wanted to play more missions.) Expand
  24. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is so Amazing. I Love the game's Story, Characters, Cinematic Cutscenes and Everything. Iv'e Beaten this game 2 times and i Still Enjoyed. Having 12 Squad Members and also Great Weapons (Such as Assault Rifles and Heavy Weapons). My Character Level was 30 and My Class was Soldier. If you wanna Buy this, This is the only game where you can make decisions to import them on mass effect 3. Expand
  25. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    mass effect 2 is a great game with a amazing story and design. You while the story can be repetive when it delivers you will not care cause this game is amazing. gameplay ripped out of gears of war but manages to still make it feel fresh good for begginers to the series too u wont want to miss this
  26. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    This is the second part of the best trilogy of all time, and it doesn't dissapoint at all.
    Great Characters, great story, wow.
    Just a masterpiece of gaming.
  27. May 25, 2012
    9
    Tremendous main story coupled with strong enough RPG and combat elements.

    Severely let down by excruciatingly long "recruit your crew" filler sub-plots.
  28. May 28, 2012
    10
    Very rarely does a game make you so interested in the characters and the universe that you have to talk to every crew member after every mission and almost every character you see just to listen to their excellent personalities, Mass effect 2 makes you care about the characters, even hate some maybe which just adds real depth to the game itself. There are so many decisions and choices and different ways to play through the game that each experience can be different, What you do in Mass effect 2 can largely effect who lives or dies in the final mission. The added plot lines and decisions make Mass effect 2 the perfect set-up for the conclusion of the series and a great game in itself. Expand
  29. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    After hearing about me3 and all the hype it was getting, I decided to try out the series myself. As a ps3 owner I couldn't play me1 so I went ahead and bought me2... the best decision I ever made. The back story comic gave me a clear description of what happened in me1 and the choices give the game HUGE replay value. The game play is average to good, but that's not what makes this game, the story, writing, characters, and pure epicness of the game makes it what it is. The end is hands down the best ending I have ever had the pleasure to experience. I can almost find no flaws with this game. easy 10/10 Expand
  30. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    OK, I am Kazakstan gamer, I love Sci-Fi, and Mass Effect 2 is the same for me as Doctor Who. This Masterpiece of an experience has 10 on athmosphere, 10 on Gameplay, 9 on graphics, 11 on story. Most usually my reviews are longer, but words are not needed. I have just completed this Masterpiece, And I am listening to epic credits music (Music is 10 by the way)
  31. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    By far the best Mass Effect game out of the trilogy. Only dilemma I had at the beginning is that I struggled to import my ME1 character, so certain decisions I made in 1 was not carried over to 2. But at the end of the day, that did not take away from what was a truely amazing experience. The concept and gameplay made it an absolute delight. Definately a game that should be played at least 3 times to experience all the excellent narrative and appreciate the time that was put into this award winning game. Expand
  32. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Mass effect is not only a game is much more than that. It's a culture much like Star Wars or Star Trek. One looks at Shepard and we can help to see the charisma much like Luke Skywalker or James T. Kirk. So with that in the game's favour it could only be one of the best action/rpg ever made.
  33. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. Not only is the concept of the game really awesome, but the execution is top-notch too. The combat is great, the classes and powers are great, the levelling up system is great, the story is great with a particularly good ending, and the general gameplay and controls are also pretty good. The character development is fantastic as well. It also has great replay value. The only place where I could fault it is the HUD/menus/interface, which are kind of annoying to look at/navigate through and difficult to read sometimes... definitely could use some improvement. But that is way too minor a matter to detract a point off. In short, enjoyable and original game with cool gameplay and an excellent story. Would definitely recommend. Expand
  34. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    Mass Effect 2 is my favorite game in the Mass Effect Trilogy, It introduces tons of great characters and has some great third person shooter gameplay, It's a shame that it loses some of it's RPG elements but the choices you make and the world that you experience in Mass Effect 2 is just amazing, the PS3 version comes with extra DLC on the disc which would have to be bought separately on Xbox 360 and PC so the PS3 version is the best to get in terms of what you get from your purchase, It will last you about 20-40 hours depending how fast you play and what side content you do, This is an easy recommendation for any gamer. Expand
  35. Aug 28, 2013
    9
    This is The best game i have played in ages i can play ME2 from start to finish in a single session because it is such a good game. it has likable characters great voice acting great shooting mechanics. Mass effect 2 is the best one of the series because the story is good from start to finish unlike mass effect 3 with its terrible ending. But i cant rate this game a 10 even though it is my favorite game of all time because it has quite a few glitches especially on the ps3 where the game will freeze and tons of frame rate drops and lengthy loading time can kind of drop you out of the game and cause you to have to restart it which can be annoying. other than that it is a tremendous game and i recommend getting the 3 disk trilogy so you can have an imported save all the way through every mass effect. Expand
  36. Feb 24, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Incredible game with beautiful graphics, a few interesting characters, deep storyline, and a great RPG elements and combat system but it also has its flaws. One of the few small problems is that it feels like more of a first person shooter than a RPG like what was ME1 Theres also not a lot of emphasis on character development unless you're romancing a certain character which didn't really work out for me because I usually stay faithful to Ashley from ME1, the equipment management is terrible and too simple, and there was too many side quests. I also wish the Collector Base mission could have been a bit longer and more difficult, also the human-proto reaper was downright underwhelming to me at least. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. May 24, 2011
    90
    Mass Effect 2 is a masterpiece of Sci-Fi-Storytelling. The characters in the Mass Effect universe are offering a deep background. The Game is exciting until the very end.
  2. Mar 29, 2011
    95
    Mass Effect 2 is still a game you shouldn't miss at all costs, and one of the best RPG's of this generation of consoles. You need an internet connection to download all of the contents which EA didn't include on the main BR disk.
  3. Yes, ME2 isn't perhaps the most technical RPG ever created, but it's easily one of the slickest, bearing the unmistakable master craftsmanship of RPG luminaries, BioWare. Not only is this supersized Sony edition of ME2 outstanding value for money – it also represents a sound long-term investment. If the Mass Effect 3 reveals are anything to go by, the conclusion of this saga will be similarly unmissable and the galactic apocalypse will be decided in our own backyard: Earth. [March 2011, p70]