User Score
2.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 59
  2. Negative: 45 out of 59

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    0
    Day 1 DLC. Prothean squadmate, on the disc. I don't care if it's not important to the main story. I don't care if you had a separate team working on it. You had it ready to be released alongside the game and on the disc itself. There is no excuse for this not being free for everyone. Shame on EA. Shame on Bioware. And shame on consumers for still blindly buying their crap and letting EA get away with it. Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2012
    0
    Day 1 DLC. Way to milk your fans, Bioware, real classy. So the game ends up being $70, really? I never knew a game developer could stoop to such ridiculously low levels. Bioware, and many others, are straight out killing the gaming community and should be stopped, but they wont. Everyone will buy this **** DLC and eat it up thinking they made a good investment.
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    626 MB download means the content wasn't on the disc. Nice size expansion and bonus that they've included for real fans who bought the collector's edition.
  4. Mar 6, 2012
    5
    Do forgive me for this... but the Day 1 DLC is free to those who bought the collector's edition. It was meant to be a gift to those who paid the extra cash. It clearly isn't on disc and anyone who gave this a 0 on that demerit alone should have their review wiped from metacritic, as should mine.

    I'll re-review this after I actually play it... you know, like a real reviewer would do?
    For now, it gets a middle of the road score. Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2012
    0
    To EA and Bioware (company that I adored for a decade now); you guys are pathetic capitalism whores. You are not true gamers! What you are now thinking? Ok, let's fool them again but next time we will not say them that we are making day one DLC, instead we will make DLC second week. I'm done with you guys, this is last game that I will buy from you!
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    I find it depressing when a developer releases a daring game or piece of DLC, because people are so quick to criticise it. This expansion adds something that no other game has. The option to pursue a homosexual relationship in a game! Not many games have the option to have sex in any form, and those that do in every game I know of always go for the man-on-woman option. A developers efforts to include the sexuality of different people should be applauded, not booed and hissed at. This kind of backwards mentality is sad and must stop. (By the way the game itself is grand, touching and an epic conclusion to a saga that deserves full praise) Expand
  7. Apr 20, 2012
    7
    So! The prothean character model was already on the disc. This is normal and done so that the integration of new models with the rest of the game runs smoother. And this DLC was released on the same day the game was! It was developed by a different production team, and had a much shorter period of tests. Now that we are through that, let us get to the real point: is this worth its price? For ten dollars you get a new character, a new mission, a new weapon and a new outfit for each of your squadmates. The new outfits are disposable. The new weapon is kind of fun as it works in a very different way from other assault rifles. The new mission is very boring as it involves going somewhere, killing a bunch of enemies and repeating those steps ten more times. But the start of From Ashes is Javik, the prothean squadmate. He is a very interesting character both in combat (see him as an offensive Garrus) and in conversations. As a matter of fact, I daresay Shepard shares the best dialogues in the game with this ruthless, vengeful prothean warrior. My suggestion is: do not buy this DLC for your first run through Mass Effect 3. If you like the game and plan to play it again, then buy it and you probably will not be disappointed. Expand
  8. Mar 6, 2012
    0
    I'd just like to interject for a moment. What you're referring to as Mass Effect 3, is in fact, DLC/Mass Effect 3, or as I've recently taken to calling it, DLC plus Mass Effect 3. Mass Effect 3 is not an operating system unto itself, but rather another free component of a fully functioning DLC system made useful by the DLC corelibs, shell utilities and vital system components comprising a full OS as defined by POSIX. Many computer users run a modified version of the DLC system every day, without realizing it. Through a peculiar turn of events, the version of DLC which is widely used today is often called "Mass Effect 3", and many of its users are not aware that it is basically the DLC system, developed by the DLC Project. There really is a Mass Effect 3, and these people are using it, but it is just a part of the system they use. Mass Effect 3 is the kernel: the program in the system that allocates the machine's resources to the other programs that you run. The kernel is an essential part of an operating system, but useless by itself; it can only function in the context of a complete operating system. Mass Effect 3 is normally used in combination with the DLC operating system: the whole system is basically DLC with Mass Effect 3 added, or DLC/Mass Effect 3. All the so-called "Mass Effect 3" distributions are really distributions of DLC/Mass Effect 3. Expand
  9. Mar 7, 2012
    0
    This content should have been on the disc, or at least freely available to everyone who purchased a new copy of the game. This was the case with the first story DLC for Mass Effect 2, in order to encourage players to buy a new copy of the game instead of a used one. But now EA goes a step further and charges money for the day 1 DLC. No one should buy this DLC, if only to discourage EA from such schemes. Expand
  10. Mar 30, 2012
    7
    The DLC was not on the disc first off. And if they released this 3 months down the road a lot of people would end up re buying it (most likely used) just to play the DLC. Now for the DLC its self, the squad member isn't too shabby and its nice to have a feeling for the protheans.
  11. Jan 27, 2013
    8
    Do not Listen to all these negative reviews. This review is non-biased and i from a true opinion not some whiny fan boy's opinion. First of all of this day one DLC stuff is pointless. Anyone who got mass effect 3 special edition got this free. Plus are you so cheap you don't have 10-20 dollars for a Playstation Card? First lets talk about story. The story of the mission is good and it doesn't feel out of place. It adds a nice back story to the overall game and you learn some things you wouldn't have known with out the DLC, Gameplay is well the same, but the prothean beama rifle is extremely overpowered and unless you are looking to speed through the entire game don't use it (However this makes insanity super easy)
    The soundtrack is well.. mass effect not anything special. Presentation of dlc is good and the concept is really good. The character of Javik is awesome. He is basically a troll who trolls EVERYONE through the entire game and it adds a sense of humor to the game. His voice actor is good and he is a good squad mate. It isn't worth 9 dollars, it should have been at least 5 dollars. Other than the awesome character all the other stuff isn't really that special, the mission is just a regular average mission. The extra war assets included is just tacked on there it isn't really necessary. The extra outfit will appeal to some people. Overall you should buy this DLC for the awesome character and the cheap weapon. Don't worry about this day 1 dlc thing, YOU NEED THIS. Oh and buy the way Prothy the prothean says hi
    Expand
  12. Mar 9, 2012
    0
    This so called DLC was made long before the game was being sold, even having associated files on the retail disk. Ultimately, you're being charged for an "extra" which has been intentionally cut from the game to make it an "extra".
  13. Mar 15, 2012
    3
    From Ashes is one of the worst examples of DLC in recent memory. An example of a game developer removing content from the main game in order to get you to pay extra the only thing your really "downloading" is the lackluster mission to wake the character. The truth is you already have him with your Mass Effect 3 purchase and it only takes editing one game file to get him.
  14. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    I found this piece of DLC to be very fun. It was not necessarily important to the overall story but did add some fun elements to the overall game, more specifically the squadmate. It was a lot of fun to bring him on mission with various other people to hear his opinions and reactions to the mission or people you talk to. Please don't let the negative views of so many bitter people negatively impact your desire to try this DLC. It's well worth the money. Expand
  15. Jan 6, 2014
    5
    I have mixed feelings about this DLC. The character included is interesting, and helps expand on the history of the Mass Effect universe. His interactions with Shepherd on the Normandy and on various missions goes from decent to very good (recommend you bring him to Thessia). On the other hand, this content should never have been a DLC. The content does not add new gameplay, or an extensive multi-part mission, or bring in content that is colorful but separate from the main mission. Instead, you get a relatively short single-part mission that feels completely like a part of the main game that was ripped out for cash. It is well done, and up to Mass Effect's standards, but leaves a sour taste in your mouth to have to pay extra for core gameplay. It feels like being cheated by something that is supposed to be entertainment, and Bioware's reputation should decline because of it. Expand
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 3 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Apr 17, 2012
    78
    Great for Mass Effect fans wanting more back story then, a little unremarkable for everyone else. [Issue#217, p.83]
  2. Mar 21, 2012
    60
    You don´t need From the Ashes if you think it'll add something relevant to the main plot. If you're looking for some background information, a new squad-member, a fresh weapon and a few war assets as well as outfits, it delivers exactly that.
  3. Mar 15, 2012
    70
    From Ashes is easily the best character-centric DLC the series has to offer. Unlike Kasumi or Zaeed in Mass Effect 2, Javik is a persistent personality, his integration a lot smoother and substantial. With that said, From Ashes is clearly at aimed at those who want to dig deeper in to the rich sci-fi universe. If you're only in it for an extra mission, forking out £7.99 is steep by anyone's standards.