Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1694 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: BioWare completes the Mass Effect Trilogy with Mass Effect 3. Earth is burning. Striking from beyond known space, a race of terrifying machines have begun their destruction of the human race. As Commander Shepard, an Alliance Marine, the only hope for saving mankind is to rally theBioWare completes the Mass Effect Trilogy with Mass Effect 3. Earth is burning. Striking from beyond known space, a race of terrifying machines have begun their destruction of the human race. As Commander Shepard, an Alliance Marine, the only hope for saving mankind is to rally the civilizations of the galaxy and launch one final mission to take back the Earth. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Not a lot of games – almost no games, in fact – manage to establish the kind of white-hot emotional connection between player, cast and setting that Mass Effect 3 somehow conjures. That's the reason this story of Earth, the galaxy and Shepard's last stand is so harrowing, and why people will be talking about it for years to come.
  2. 100
    With Mass Effect, Bioware created something really unique. A fascinating universe, that not only rivals Star Wars and Star Trek, but – at least for me – exceeds those. Mass Effect 3 is the crowning achievement for this trilogy. A true masterpiece.
  3. Mass Effect 3 is an amazing experience in and of itself. It's also the perfect capstone to a true AAA franchise, offering a poignant conclusion that'll stick long after the credits have rolled. You're standing on the precipice of one of the best games Earth money can buy. [April 2012, p.60]
  4. Mar 28, 2012
    93
    Shepard's story ends with a journey that's exhilarating and dramatic, with fantastic moments that beg to be replayed so you can see what other outcomes are available. [Issue#216, p.68]
  5. Mar 12, 2012
    91
    What separates the truly stupendous from the merely amazing is that often elusive je ne sais quoi. Mass Effect 3 burns brightly. But that extra spark would have transformed it from a shining star, into a blazing supernova.
  6. Mar 14, 2012
    90
    Whilst there's some issues with writing, some of the mechanics and various other glitches, the epic scale and relatively strong narrative push these aside, giving Mass Effect 3 its rightful place amongst the great, sci-fi epics of our time and acting as a satisfying conclusion to the trilogy.
  7. Mar 7, 2012
    75
    You meet old friends and you feel at home on the Normandy. But this is the weakest and most monotonous episode of a futuristic adventure that went the wrong way over time. The action is not varied enough, relies too heavily on surviving wave after wave and rarely equals the tension of shooters like Killzone or Gears of War. On all levels I missed variety and challenge. If you started this odyssey with Shepherd a few years ago, you'll want to end this nonetheless – and you won't be disappointed. But after the credits I didn't think about a possible sequel but the missing headshot statistics.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Hahahahahahahahahahahaha! Look at all these haters for hating on a game. If you hate the ending, I doubt that this game is scores 0 because ofHahahahahahahahahahahaha! Look at all these haters for hating on a game. If you hate the ending, I doubt that this game is scores 0 because of that. Man, these people are retards. Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    I love the coolness of a pc game-title o n my ps3. I almost feel like a hardcore gamer when playing this game. It looks and plays almost a sI love the coolness of a pc game-title o n my ps3. I almost feel like a hardcore gamer when playing this game. It looks and plays almost a s good as it does on a real pc system. Crap I don't have 3GB video-memory like they do though. Maybe when I'm good all year I will have a cool system in a year! Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    Do not listen to the people rating this game badly. Mass Effect 3 is utterly amazing and if you liked the first 2 this won't change that.Do not listen to the people rating this game badly. Mass Effect 3 is utterly amazing and if you liked the first 2 this won't change that.

    Some of the people writing on here either had completely unrealistic expectations of what Bioware would pull off with the import stuff (although pretty much everything but the end is influenced quite a lot by what you do) or just weren't pleased because the series didn't end exactly as they wanted.

    Get this game, and ignore the haters. They are the same kind of supergeeks that hate on Star Wars etc for tiny little things that really don't matter at all. Honestly. Get. A. Life.
    Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2012
    8
    Mass Effect was a good game in my opening and DLC at 1st day is not the best way to make consumers happy. The story was great and theMass Effect was a good game in my opening and DLC at 1st day is not the best way to make consumers happy. The story was great and the multiplier is optional which is great for who just want to play the story aspect and want to ignore the multiplier. The ending was not as bad as i thought reading all the review on who terribly it is but if you are looking for a game that makes all of your decisions of the past years matter mass effect 3 is a good game. There are little texture drops and a few bugs but if you looking for a solid multiplier and a great finale to a story that you have been waiting for then this a good game. It lost some points due to the fact of fetch quests that are there in the game that takes the weight of the story away and the DLC was actually important to the story line, and should have been provided in the game it self. Expand
  5. May 13, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of the best games I have ever played up until the final ten minutes. The series is predicated on cause and effect, but despite your best efforts, there is no true positive ending. I had fun playing this game, but the ending ruined this game, and all prior mass effect games for me. Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    1
    Terrible animations, graphics, and gameplay. All wrapped together in the first game that allows you to skip the game. The clear worst in theTerrible animations, graphics, and gameplay. All wrapped together in the first game that allows you to skip the game. The clear worst in the series, and everything wrong with modern videogames. Expand
  7. Sep 7, 2012
    0
    The animations are pitiful, the choices lead you to the same end, and it desperately lacks originality. Do not buy, do not rent, and do notThe animations are pitiful, the choices lead you to the same end, and it desperately lacks originality. Do not buy, do not rent, and do not give this game any of your time, unless for mockery's sake. Expand

See all 444 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.