Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 215 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: "Mass Effect" will deliver an immersive, story-driven gameplay experience presented in a cinematic style with high production values, extraordinary levels of visual fidelity, incredible exploration and realistic digital actors. Players assume the role of an elite human Spectre agent, Commander Shepard, entrusted with keeping law and order in the galaxy. As they discover and explore the uncharted edges of the galaxy, they come closer to an overwhelming truth learning that the placid and serene universe they know is about to come to a violent end and that they are the only being who can stop it. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    98
    Mass Effect is quality. The story is very well done. The characters are well written, and it's amazing to see how they were at the beginning. It's like I got to see them as they were, and can now appreciate how they've grown from Mass Effect to Mass Effect 2 and 3.
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    90
    I'm in the camp that believes the games simply get better the further you get into the series, meaning that for as amazing as Mass Effect is, its sequels are more amazing yet. So if you like this game, just imagine how much you'll like what follows it.
  3. The game's appearance remains unaltered, which sounds good, but unfortunately it isn't. The game doesn't look bad, but it certainly looks dated. From a cinematic standpoint everything's fine, but the numerous lip-sync errors bothered us immensely. [February 2013, p.80]
  4. 83
    The original Mass Effect has finally arrived on the PlayStation 3, which completes the trilogy without hopping consoles. Even though the game shows obvious and often obtrusive signs of age, the original shooter RPG still holds up and delivers an experience to fans who have wanted it for so long.
  5. As an interactive story it's one hell of a good piece of entertainment. Taking your first tentative steps into this seriously rich universe, planting the seeds for larger implications later in the series, and tangling with one of the best antagonists ever, Saren, is a trip well worth taking. There's a rich, colourful cast you'll want to meet for the first time (Urdnot Wrex in particular) and very poignant moments to be had (e.g. becoming a Spectre). These are watershed gaming moments that the ME2's 'introductory' comic book could never hope to encapsulate. [January 2013, p69]
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    60
    Mass Effect's gameplay is unashamedly stuck in 2007. It's unpolished, frustrating, and much of it feels unnecessary. Fortunately, the plot and writing are enough to carry the experience. If you've already dipped into either of the series' superior sequels, prepare for a learning curve if you absolutely must explore the franchise's roots.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    Just finished this awesome game. I loved ME2 and liked ME3 (not as much 2 by far) so having the first one available for the PS3 is great and explains all the background narratives. And uploading your ME1 character into ME2 opens up new dialog options. ME1 is perhaps the best of the series. Gameplay is fun, if not as polished as ME2. It was fun being a badass as you levelled up. It's more of an RPG than the others, and has great storylines. There were some occasional framerate issues and I had to restart once or twice. Also, the final battle froze twice so I had to delete and reinstall the game data. But it was totally worth it. It was nowhere near as glitchy as Skyrim, and similairly worth it for a great game. Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    Without a doubt the best series i've ever come to play! So much replay value! Its insane and I can't describe it enough. THIS IS A MUST BUY AND PLAY EXPERIENCE. Trust me on this!

    Pros:
    Just... wow (useless pros. I know :v)
    Story and characters are so well done!

    Cons:
    Combat can get a little linear
    No coop
    Expand
  3. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    The Very Game that nobody believe would EVER be seen and played on Sony's Console. but five years, a buyout from EA of Bioware and improved graphics later, here we are. Even though playing a downgradable version of the sequels to come, the gameplay, the graphics and characters look very crisp, clean and awesome to look and play again and again. Shout Out to Bioware and Edge of Reality for bringing Shepard's opening adventure against Saren. Mass Effect on PS3 is not just game, it's an Experience. Expand
  4. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers. Of course Bioware would eventually bundle the mass effect games together and finally have the first mass effect game imported to the ps3. They wanted to piss me off and have me spend more money of the mass effect 2 and 3 games separate first before having me spend half of what I paid for those 2 separate games on the complete set, knowing that I would pay for the whole trilogy because I love it so much and I finally get to experience the first game. Luckily they have a digital copy of it online, I guess it wasn't all bad. RIGHT?

    +Well, what can I say about the game, the story is set as the beginning of Commander Shepard's rise to glory, the introduction to the Mass Effect universe, as well as the introduction to your companions. So the storyline is solid. +Game play wise it's not as refined as the ME2; for example the sprinting seems random at times and the enemy AI is borderline annoying to stupid, however it's still an enjoyable shooting game. +The RPG aspect is really good; customization of armor and weapons plus a lot more to class skill tree than in ME2 and ME3; like how certain classes has the ability to increase the chances of opening containers or hack electronic equipments. I now understand that the RPG aspect for the latter installments really got dumb down for the more action packed shooting aspect of the game. +The ending and the end boss was also solid, except for the whole being shot in the head twice and still coming back to live and try to kill you. (So if the first two installment have a boss battle, how come the third installment didn't?) +Also, patches from Bioware gave PS3 Mass Effect games the function to import properly from beginning to end and ignore the need for the Dark Horse Comic book in Mass Effect 2. -Now granted this game is not without its' flaw, the glitches in this game can be really annoying to down right game breaking, luckily for me the glitches only happen once in my play through(really early in the game and not midway). -The freaking slow frame rate for the skin materials to appear on the character model can be really annoying, but hey, if I can kind of tolerate the messed up sync of the audio and the visual in Mass Effect 2, I can kind of tolerate the messed up frame rate in this game. -I cannot believe I would ever want to play through the vehicle stages from the second installment, over the mandatory vehicle stages covering almost halve of the game. Now I do like this terrain tank more than the hover craft in the second installment, since I can still save while in the tank, it takes more hit, and wields a secondary weapon. However, it is still too much, too many. -Finally, this game is only for the ps3 owners who wanted the whole experience of playing through Mass Effect from beginning to end. It doesn't offer anything new to the players that already played through the trilogy from beginning to end. No new weapon, no new armor, no new mission, no new characters, no new cut scenes, etc,. -In fact, not all the dlc from the XBOX version got imported into the PS3 version.
    Collapse
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    8
    played mass effect on xbox,now playing on ps3, always fun! Bugs are in all games, just stop to compare xbox and ps3 it is stupid and pointless! tastes are different! Just enjoy and have fun, that is what is missing today! how game looks become more important then how it plays! Mass effect 1 is better then ME2 in so many ways, ME3 combines 1 and 2, and gives a great filling how it should be from the start! Expand
  6. May 3, 2013
    7
    The first Xbox exclusive, now multi-platform Mass Effect trilogy is without a doubt one of the most important games of the generation, where decision-based games starred in the front cover with GOTY Awards and financial reception. I thought I should try Mass Effect, and as I saw the trilogy in offer in PlayStation Store, why not jump in? Maybe buying it on this platform this way wasn't the best idea.
    The Ps3 version of ME is unfortunately, not as polished and detailed as the PC or Xbox versions. Some glitches, bugs and textures can be passed, some can not. The game, still, is visually impressive. Sometimes, breathtaking sights from an asteroid to an unknown planet pop out and I simply awe, amazed. But Mass Effect's visuals are another page. The main thing (Or at least at the trilogy, as the first entry didn't deliver as much) is the story, or even further, the decisions. Mass Effect's story feels like a summer blockbuster from beginning to end, but with some REALLY tough choices to make in the middle that change your story. Sometimes, I've spent 20 minutes trying to figure out the pros and cons of each choice. The story delivers for its duration. Mass Effect isn't really as long as they sey. You have both Primary and Secondary missions. Doing only Primary missions will take you about 12 hours only. Doing the Secondary and Exploring will extend your gameplay further, around 30 hours. Unfortunately, the secondary missions are ridiculously similar: Although some are effective and enjoyable (Mostly DLC), most of them feel like doing the same thing in a place with a different skin, or scavenging for cheap collectibles. The worst thing is that ones you complete the primary missions, you can't go back to complete the remaining assignments. Its a big detail. I played through the game for 24 hours completing most of the assignments, except the ones you have to collect stuff. I really wanted to complete them, but I finished all primary missions, and the game made me start everything all over again. This was also positive, as I could make different decisions and see their outbacks, although watching everything again is a little bit unappealing.
    Now, something really arguable about the game is the Gameplay. You may found it confusing at first, and half the game beaten, you will start getting used to it. That's because ME's gameplay isn't polished or well-explained. They basically tell you "Shoot Stuff" but that's not all you have to do. During the game, you gather XP points so then you can upgrade skills (And skills of your squad) and those skills unlock different kind of super-powers for battle. Some of this super-powers are great. Some others are awfully unuseful. The game also presents three difficulties at first (Casual, Normal and Hard) and then unlocks two alternative modes (Hardcore and Insanity). I've found challenge only in the alternative modes and found the original difficulties incredibly easies. Some boss battles (Of the few) pushed me to limits once, but never twice. ME was meant to be played on Hard, and if you want some more spice, push yourself to the alternative modes (Specially Hardcore, as Insanity feels more as a bugged, unfair mode).
    At first, I wasn't convinced at all about Mass Effect. The buggy Ps3 version, the piece-of-cake difficulty and the clunky gameplay made me feel lost in the dazzle of the game. It is when you get the game when it truly shines, although never achieving the heights of its sequel and sequel's sequel. Mass Effect is a game you can play if you want, but will not harm you if pass out this one in the trilogy. It was fun ride, but I had a bitter taste hard to wash since the beginning
    Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    0
    To many bugs made this game absolutely unplayable.

    this is a total shame... i never played a game like this before... I have to redo the
    ending so many many times because of massives freezes... Expand

See all 33 User Reviews