Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 231 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: "Mass Effect" will deliver an immersive, story-driven gameplay experience presented in a cinematic style with high production values, extraordinary levels of visual fidelity, incredible exploration and realistic digital actors. Players assume the role of an elite human Spectre"Mass Effect" will deliver an immersive, story-driven gameplay experience presented in a cinematic style with high production values, extraordinary levels of visual fidelity, incredible exploration and realistic digital actors. Players assume the role of an elite human Spectre agent, Commander Shepard, entrusted with keeping law and order in the galaxy. As they discover and explore the uncharted edges of the galaxy, they come closer to an overwhelming truth learning that the placid and serene universe they know is about to come to a violent end and that they are the only being who can stop it. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    98
    Mass Effect is quality. The story is very well done. The characters are well written, and it's amazing to see how they were at the beginning. It's like I got to see them as they were, and can now appreciate how they've grown from Mass Effect to Mass Effect 2 and 3.
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    90
    I'm in the camp that believes the games simply get better the further you get into the series, meaning that for as amazing as Mass Effect is, its sequels are more amazing yet. So if you like this game, just imagine how much you'll like what follows it.
  3. The game's appearance remains unaltered, which sounds good, but unfortunately it isn't. The game doesn't look bad, but it certainly looks dated. From a cinematic standpoint everything's fine, but the numerous lip-sync errors bothered us immensely. [February 2013, p.80]
  4. 83
    The original Mass Effect has finally arrived on the PlayStation 3, which completes the trilogy without hopping consoles. Even though the game shows obvious and often obtrusive signs of age, the original shooter RPG still holds up and delivers an experience to fans who have wanted it for so long.
  5. As an interactive story it's one hell of a good piece of entertainment. Taking your first tentative steps into this seriously rich universe, planting the seeds for larger implications later in the series, and tangling with one of the best antagonists ever, Saren, is a trip well worth taking. There's a rich, colourful cast you'll want to meet for the first time (Urdnot Wrex in particular) and very poignant moments to be had (e.g. becoming a Spectre). These are watershed gaming moments that the ME2's 'introductory' comic book could never hope to encapsulate. [January 2013, p69]
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    60
    Mass Effect's gameplay is unashamedly stuck in 2007. It's unpolished, frustrating, and much of it feels unnecessary. Fortunately, the plot and writing are enough to carry the experience. If you've already dipped into either of the series' superior sequels, prepare for a learning curve if you absolutely must explore the franchise's roots.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    Just finished this awesome game. I loved ME2 and liked ME3 (not as much 2 by far) so having the first one available for the PS3 is great andJust finished this awesome game. I loved ME2 and liked ME3 (not as much 2 by far) so having the first one available for the PS3 is great and explains all the background narratives. And uploading your ME1 character into ME2 opens up new dialog options. ME1 is perhaps the best of the series. Gameplay is fun, if not as polished as ME2. It was fun being a badass as you levelled up. It's more of an RPG than the others, and has great storylines. There were some occasional framerate issues and I had to restart once or twice. Also, the final battle froze twice so I had to delete and reinstall the game data. But it was totally worth it. It was nowhere near as glitchy as Skyrim, and similairly worth it for a great game. Expand
  2. May 18, 2014
    10
    Awesome game! especially because its Bioware before they sold out to the cash cow that is Electronic Arts. In terms of being an RPG, MassAwesome game! especially because its Bioware before they sold out to the cash cow that is Electronic Arts. In terms of being an RPG, Mass effect 1 is probably the best in the series. It puts alot more emphasis on individual squad development in terms of upgrades and customization than both its sequels( which are more first-person shooters with RPG elements) with most of the character customization elements taken out. Weapon Customization returns in Mass Effect 3 but for some reason they never went back to the ability to customize your squad in the ways you could in ME1. The Mechanics and gameplay can get clunky at times but you get used to it as the story progresses, the story itself is pretty good and the romances are the best in the series with none of the favoritisms toward a specific LI like you see in ME3. Every romance has a admirable and compelling quality to them which unfortunately was left out in the sequels but overall, its a great game and I greatly recommend playing it even if you are a newcomer to the series Expand
  3. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    The Very Game that nobody believe would EVER be seen and played on Sony's Console. but five years, a buyout from EA of Bioware and improvedThe Very Game that nobody believe would EVER be seen and played on Sony's Console. but five years, a buyout from EA of Bioware and improved graphics later, here we are. Even though playing a downgradable version of the sequels to come, the gameplay, the graphics and characters look very crisp, clean and awesome to look and play again and again. Shout Out to Bioware and Edge of Reality for bringing Shepard's opening adventure against Saren. Mass Effect on PS3 is not just game, it's an Experience. Expand
  4. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers. Of course Bioware would eventually bundle the mass effect games together and finally have the first mass effect game imported to the ps3. They wanted to piss me off and have me spend more money of the mass effect 2 and 3 games separate first before having me spend half of what I paid for those 2 separate games on the complete set, knowing that I would pay for the whole trilogy because I love it so much and I finally get to experience the first game. Luckily they have a digital copy of it online, I guess it wasn't all bad. RIGHT?

    +Well, what can I say about the game, the story is set as the beginning of Commander Shepard's rise to glory, the introduction to the Mass Effect universe, as well as the introduction to your companions. So the storyline is solid. +Game play wise it's not as refined as the ME2; for example the sprinting seems random at times and the enemy AI is borderline annoying to stupid, however it's still an enjoyable shooting game. +The RPG aspect is really good; customization of armor and weapons plus a lot more to class skill tree than in ME2 and ME3; like how certain classes has the ability to increase the chances of opening containers or hack electronic equipments. I now understand that the RPG aspect for the latter installments really got dumb down for the more action packed shooting aspect of the game. +The ending and the end boss was also solid, except for the whole being shot in the head twice and still coming back to live and try to kill you. (So if the first two installment have a boss battle, how come the third installment didn't?) +Also, patches from Bioware gave PS3 Mass Effect games the function to import properly from beginning to end and ignore the need for the Dark Horse Comic book in Mass Effect 2. -Now granted this game is not without its' flaw, the glitches in this game can be really annoying to down right game breaking, luckily for me the glitches only happen once in my play through(really early in the game and not midway). -The freaking slow frame rate for the skin materials to appear on the character model can be really annoying, but hey, if I can kind of tolerate the messed up sync of the audio and the visual in Mass Effect 2, I can kind of tolerate the messed up frame rate in this game. -I cannot believe I would ever want to play through the vehicle stages from the second installment, over the mandatory vehicle stages covering almost halve of the game. Now I do like this terrain tank more than the hover craft in the second installment, since I can still save while in the tank, it takes more hit, and wields a secondary weapon. However, it is still too much, too many. -Finally, this game is only for the ps3 owners who wanted the whole experience of playing through Mass Effect from beginning to end. It doesn't offer anything new to the players that already played through the trilogy from beginning to end. No new weapon, no new armor, no new mission, no new characters, no new cut scenes, etc,. -In fact, not all the dlc from the XBOX version got imported into the PS3 version.
    Collapse
  5. Mar 9, 2013
    8
    Nice story, nice gameplay and overall a pretty nice experience. Nothing revolutionizing though and if it hadn't been for the other games inNice story, nice gameplay and overall a pretty nice experience. Nothing revolutionizing though and if it hadn't been for the other games in the series i probably wouldn't have played it more than once. Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    7
    Interesting game, good RPG personalization, but the controls are really weird, sometimes frustrating.
    PS3 version has a lot of bugs,
    Interesting game, good RPG personalization, but the controls are really weird, sometimes frustrating.
    PS3 version has a lot of bugs, freezing, and sometimes takes a world to load an stage.
    Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    0
    To many bugs made this game absolutely unplayable.

    this is a total shame... i never played a game like this before... I have to redo the
    To many bugs made this game absolutely unplayable.

    this is a total shame... i never played a game like this before... I have to redo the ending so many many times because of massives freezes...
    Expand

See all 36 User Reviews