Mass Effect PlayStation 3

Mass Effect Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 293 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: "Mass Effect" will deliver an immersive, story-driven gameplay experience presented in a cinematic style with high production values, extraordinary levels of visual fidelity, incredible exploration and realistic digital actors. Players assume the role of an elite human Spectre"Mass Effect" will deliver an immersive, story-driven gameplay experience presented in a cinematic style with high production values, extraordinary levels of visual fidelity, incredible exploration and realistic digital actors. Players assume the role of an elite human Spectre agent, Commander Shepard, entrusted with keeping law and order in the galaxy. As they discover and explore the uncharted edges of the galaxy, they come closer to an overwhelming truth learning that the placid and serene universe they know is about to come to a violent end and that they are the only being who can stop it. Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    98
    Mass Effect is quality. The story is very well done. The characters are well written, and it's amazing to see how they were at the beginning. It's like I got to see them as they were, and can now appreciate how they've grown from Mass Effect to Mass Effect 2 and 3.
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    90
    I'm in the camp that believes the games simply get better the further you get into the series, meaning that for as amazing as Mass Effect is, its sequels are more amazing yet. So if you like this game, just imagine how much you'll like what follows it.
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Mar 14, 2013
    84
    The game's appearance remains unaltered, which sounds good, but unfortunately it isn't. The game doesn't look bad, but it certainly looks dated. From a cinematic standpoint everything's fine, but the numerous lip-sync errors bothered us immensely. [February 2013, p.80]
  4. 83
    The original Mass Effect has finally arrived on the PlayStation 3, which completes the trilogy without hopping consoles. Even though the game shows obvious and often obtrusive signs of age, the original shooter RPG still holds up and delivers an experience to fans who have wanted it for so long.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jan 28, 2013
    80
    As an interactive story it's one hell of a good piece of entertainment. Taking your first tentative steps into this seriously rich universe, planting the seeds for larger implications later in the series, and tangling with one of the best antagonists ever, Saren, is a trip well worth taking. There's a rich, colourful cast you'll want to meet for the first time (Urdnot Wrex in particular) and very poignant moments to be had (e.g. becoming a Spectre). These are watershed gaming moments that the ME2's 'introductory' comic book could never hope to encapsulate. [January 2013, p69]
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    60
    Mass Effect's gameplay is unashamedly stuck in 2007. It's unpolished, frustrating, and much of it feels unnecessary. Fortunately, the plot and writing are enough to carry the experience. If you've already dipped into either of the series' superior sequels, prepare for a learning curve if you absolutely must explore the franchise's roots.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42
  1. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    Just finished this awesome game. I loved ME2 and liked ME3 (not as much 2 by far) so having the first one available for the PS3 is great andJust finished this awesome game. I loved ME2 and liked ME3 (not as much 2 by far) so having the first one available for the PS3 is great and explains all the background narratives. And uploading your ME1 character into ME2 opens up new dialog options. ME1 is perhaps the best of the series. Gameplay is fun, if not as polished as ME2. It was fun being a badass as you levelled up. It's more of an RPG than the others, and has great storylines. There were some occasional framerate issues and I had to restart once or twice. Also, the final battle froze twice so I had to delete and reinstall the game data. But it was totally worth it. It was nowhere near as glitchy as Skyrim, and similairly worth it for a great game. Expand
  2. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    I was given ME 2 & 3 as a present and was urged to play the first one (couldn't find it in stores bought on PSN) At first I was unsure. II was given ME 2 & 3 as a present and was urged to play the first one (couldn't find it in stores bought on PSN) At first I was unsure. I must admit the first few hours were a little slow but once it started. Boy it started! The game was addicting! The story line was great the customization awesome! I love ME! I am a fan. Sure as with all games there are always flaws but they were nothing to worry about! I would suggest this game to anyone who likes FUN GAMES! Expand
  3. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    The best game in the trilogy & the only true RPG of the bunch. This game sets the tone of the story, lays the groundwork for friendships &The best game in the trilogy & the only true RPG of the bunch. This game sets the tone of the story, lays the groundwork for friendships & gives you hope for what's to come... before EA ruins everything. Expand
  4. May 27, 2015
    8
    It's funny, finally playing and completing Mass Effect after having already thoroughly enjoyed 2 and 3 (2 being my favourite game of all time)It's funny, finally playing and completing Mass Effect after having already thoroughly enjoyed 2 and 3 (2 being my favourite game of all time) made me truly appreciate what I love most about this trilogy: the characters, the dialogue and the story.

    Sure, there's an entire universe that Bioware has created, with detailed backstories for every single race, planet and bureaucratic component (in which you can easily lose yourself when you're learning about them for the first time). However, what makes Mass Effect as a trilogy distinctive is the attachment you develop to your squad as you complete missions and talk with them. Like 2 and 3, the greatest strength of Mass Effect is its story. Though I experienced Bioware's fully realized product in the latter two games, I enjoyed properly learning how Shepard's story began. Almost every single conversation was worthwhile, and every character was interesting in some way, and that includes more than just the squad and the Normandy's crew. The game had me fully immersed for nearly all of its 30 hours.

    The gameplay is generally a success. Again, the sequels are superior in this category, so the learning (ergo enjoyment) curve was all the more steep for me. It took me a solid 5 or 6 hours to properly get the hang of shooting and pausing and using the biotic power and shooting and pausing and shooting, etc., etc. Once I did, and once my weapons began to get more powerful, I found the combat to be solid. The cover mechanic, though perhaps unorthodox, is passable. The greater level of weapon variety and customization is nice, but the organization of all the weapons and weapon upgrades felt cluttered, especially when I had to sell all of the obsolete material or convert it to omni-gel.

    The flaws? First of all, there are technical problems galore in Mass Effect. This is indeed a recurring issue in 2 and 3, but not nearly to this extent. The framerate drops pretty consistently, the graphics hiccup and render slowly every time a new environment is loaded. There was even one instance where I was stuck in combat mode when I was supposed to be engaged in dialogue with a malevolent character. I re-loaded the save, but the character did not appear again (some kind of glitch, I'm sure). Lip-syncing is pretty dodgy. Most of the time, these issues are negligible, but I'd be lying if I said it didn't detract from the gaming experience.

    Then there's the exploration. This cost the game at least a point for me. Visually, the planets may seem different from one another, but they're all really quite similar. I learned to cope with the Mako, but I never truly enjoyed driving it. The controls were frustrating and its weapons often aimed in strange directions. Exploration as a whole is quite bland. You are dropped in the middle of nowhere on the planet and are required to navigate to a few significant points on the map. Some interesting things are collected along the way, but I found ME's "looting" mechanic to be better implemented in later games, when you are simply picking things up as you move, on foot, through the mission. The buildings you enter while on these planets also vary minimally; it really does feel like your going to the same places and doing the same things over and over again. These side-quests began to feel like chores as the final mission was approaching.

    All of Mass Effect's flaws are very well compensated by its fantastic story. Stuff like this makes me want to write science fiction novels for a living. And, though I consider the "ME1 has the best story of the trilogy" statement to be an unfair slight to the next two games, it is an undeniable strength and I believe that even today, 8 years after the game was initially released, it should be considered the standard by which all other plot-driven games must live up to.
    Expand
  5. May 6, 2013
    8
    Bought the Trilogy since this was the first time I've had the luxury of playing any of the Mass Effect games. So unlike other people, I hadBought the Trilogy since this was the first time I've had the luxury of playing any of the Mass Effect games. So unlike other people, I had nothing to compare it to and no backstory to fill in any gaps. The story is awesome and so is the gameplay, and you can't help but play it more than once so that you can hear all the different diologues when going renegade or paragon. A truely enjoyable game. Now.. on to the 2nd one!! Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    7
    Interesting game, good RPG personalization, but the controls are really weird, sometimes frustrating.
    PS3 version has a lot of bugs,
    Interesting game, good RPG personalization, but the controls are really weird, sometimes frustrating.
    PS3 version has a lot of bugs, freezing, and sometimes takes a world to load an stage.
    Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2014
    0
    This game doesnt work... load times are horrible, checkpoints dont exist, one time i died and had to go back 1 hour... it has framerate issuesThis game doesnt work... load times are horrible, checkpoints dont exist, one time i died and had to go back 1 hour... it has framerate issues aswell... buy it for another plataform Expand

See all 42 User Reviews