Mass Effect PlayStation 3

Mass Effect Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 310 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: "Mass Effect" will deliver an immersive, story-driven gameplay experience presented in a cinematic style with high production values, extraordinary levels of visual fidelity, incredible exploration and realistic digital actors. Players assume the role of an elite human Spectre"Mass Effect" will deliver an immersive, story-driven gameplay experience presented in a cinematic style with high production values, extraordinary levels of visual fidelity, incredible exploration and realistic digital actors. Players assume the role of an elite human Spectre agent, Commander Shepard, entrusted with keeping law and order in the galaxy. As they discover and explore the uncharted edges of the galaxy, they come closer to an overwhelming truth learning that the placid and serene universe they know is about to come to a violent end and that they are the only being who can stop it. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    98
    Mass Effect is quality. The story is very well done. The characters are well written, and it's amazing to see how they were at the beginning. It's like I got to see them as they were, and can now appreciate how they've grown from Mass Effect to Mass Effect 2 and 3.
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    90
    I'm in the camp that believes the games simply get better the further you get into the series, meaning that for as amazing as Mass Effect is, its sequels are more amazing yet. So if you like this game, just imagine how much you'll like what follows it.
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Mar 14, 2013
    84
    The game's appearance remains unaltered, which sounds good, but unfortunately it isn't. The game doesn't look bad, but it certainly looks dated. From a cinematic standpoint everything's fine, but the numerous lip-sync errors bothered us immensely. [February 2013, p.80]
  4. 83
    The original Mass Effect has finally arrived on the PlayStation 3, which completes the trilogy without hopping consoles. Even though the game shows obvious and often obtrusive signs of age, the original shooter RPG still holds up and delivers an experience to fans who have wanted it for so long.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jan 28, 2013
    80
    As an interactive story it's one hell of a good piece of entertainment. Taking your first tentative steps into this seriously rich universe, planting the seeds for larger implications later in the series, and tangling with one of the best antagonists ever, Saren, is a trip well worth taking. There's a rich, colourful cast you'll want to meet for the first time (Urdnot Wrex in particular) and very poignant moments to be had (e.g. becoming a Spectre). These are watershed gaming moments that the ME2's 'introductory' comic book could never hope to encapsulate. [January 2013, p69]
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    60
    Mass Effect's gameplay is unashamedly stuck in 2007. It's unpolished, frustrating, and much of it feels unnecessary. Fortunately, the plot and writing are enough to carry the experience. If you've already dipped into either of the series' superior sequels, prepare for a learning curve if you absolutely must explore the franchise's roots.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 47
  2. Negative: 4 out of 47
  1. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    Just finished this awesome game. I loved ME2 and liked ME3 (not as much 2 by far) so having the first one available for the PS3 is great andJust finished this awesome game. I loved ME2 and liked ME3 (not as much 2 by far) so having the first one available for the PS3 is great and explains all the background narratives. And uploading your ME1 character into ME2 opens up new dialog options. ME1 is perhaps the best of the series. Gameplay is fun, if not as polished as ME2. It was fun being a badass as you levelled up. It's more of an RPG than the others, and has great storylines. There were some occasional framerate issues and I had to restart once or twice. Also, the final battle froze twice so I had to delete and reinstall the game data. But it was totally worth it. It was nowhere near as glitchy as Skyrim, and similairly worth it for a great game. Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2014
    10
    I have a long experience in RPGs and action RPGs. Started with master system but my most intensive experience in the genre was with the SNESI have a long experience in RPGs and action RPGs. Started with master system but my most intensive experience in the genre was with the SNES with games like Legend of the Zelda, Mario RPG, Chrono Trigger (my ever favorite game - I have more than 200 hours in that game), FFV and FFVI, Secret of Mana, Secret of Evermore, Lufia I and II, Breath of Fire VI (not sure if is the VI) and many many others.

    After that, loads of RPGs and action RPGs on PC, like Diablo I and II, Baldur's Gate II, FFVII and many others. With this introduction I want to say that I have some experience in the *real* RPGs and Mass Effect I is one of the best of the best, maybe the best PC action RPG that I've played, together with Diablo I.

    The RPG elements are all there, like the level progression, the incredible plot, the choices and the consequences, an astounding soundtrack and sound effects (I CAN'T forget the ringing sound that plays some times, haha). So, to sum up, it's an unforgetable game and experience.

    I've finished it 5 times and now is the time for a new game, on the hardest but this time I have no hurry in finishing that. My intention is to enjoy this precious jewel in all its rarity. So rare that the sequences aren't worth even the name "sequence".

    If you never played Mass Effect I and like RPGs, do it as soon as you can because this game will make you content.
    Expand
  3. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    The best game in the trilogy & the only true RPG of the bunch. This game sets the tone of the story, lays the groundwork for friendships &The best game in the trilogy & the only true RPG of the bunch. This game sets the tone of the story, lays the groundwork for friendships & gives you hope for what's to come... before EA ruins everything. Expand
  4. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Of course Bioware would eventually bundle the mass effect games together and finally have the first mass effect game imported to the ps3. They wanted to piss me off and have me spend more money of the mass effect 2 and 3 games separate first before having me spend half of what I paid for those 2 separate games on the complete set, knowing that I would pay for the whole trilogy because I love it so much and I finally get to experience the first game. Luckily they have a digital copy of it online, I guess it wasn't all bad. RIGHT?

    +Well, what can I say about the game, the story is set as the beginning of Commander Shepard's rise to glory, the introduction to the Mass Effect universe, as well as the introduction to your companions. So the storyline is solid. +Game play wise it's not as refined as the ME2; for example the sprinting seems random at times and the enemy AI is borderline annoying to stupid, however it's still an enjoyable shooting game. +The RPG aspect is really good; customization of armor and weapons plus a lot more to class skill tree than in ME2 and ME3; like how certain classes has the ability to increase the chances of opening containers or hack electronic equipments. I now understand that the RPG aspect for the latter installments really got dumb down for the more action packed shooting aspect of the game. +The ending and the end boss was also solid, except for the whole being shot in the head twice and still coming back to live and try to kill you. (So if the first two installment have a boss battle, how come the third installment didn't?) +Also, patches from Bioware gave PS3 Mass Effect games the function to import properly from beginning to end and ignore the need for the Dark Horse Comic book in Mass Effect 2. -Now granted this game is not without its' flaw, the glitches in this game can be really annoying to down right game breaking, luckily for me the glitches only happen once in my play through(really early in the game and not midway). -The freaking slow frame rate for the skin materials to appear on the character model can be really annoying, but hey, if I can kind of tolerate the messed up sync of the audio and the visual in Mass Effect 2, I can kind of tolerate the messed up frame rate in this game. -I cannot believe I would ever want to play through the vehicle stages from the second installment, over the mandatory vehicle stages covering almost halve of the game. Now I do like this terrain tank more than the hover craft in the second installment, since I can still save while in the tank, it takes more hit, and wields a secondary weapon. However, it is still too much, too many. -Finally, this game is only for the ps3 owners who wanted the whole experience of playing through Mass Effect from beginning to end. It doesn't offer anything new to the players that already played through the trilogy from beginning to end. No new weapon, no new armor, no new mission, no new characters, no new cut scenes, etc,. -In fact, not all the dlc from the XBOX version got imported into the PS3 version.
    Expand
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    8
    If you've played Mass Effect 2 and 3 before you played Mass Effect, it will take a little while to get used to how this game is set up,If you've played Mass Effect 2 and 3 before you played Mass Effect, it will take a little while to get used to how this game is set up, because it is very different from the other two games in the series. First, I'll start with the things I like about this game compared to the others. First of all, this game is extremely fun to play as a biotic. The powers are good and they work how they should. Also, each power has it's own recharge time, so you can almost constantly be using your powers. I've also played through the game as a soldier, which was fun, but I didn't find it as enjoyable as the biotic playthrough. This game definitely feels more like an RPG than ME2 and ME3, some ways are good, some ways are bad. First of all, I prefer the combat without the thermal clips. It makes the game feel more unique. Secondly, I like how much you can explore places like the Citadel. I also prefer this level up system to the other two games'. The first negative element is that the game has much worse graphics than ME2 and ME3. Secondly, the combat isn't as smooth. Another problem is that after missions you often have to run all the way back to the Normandy, which is annoying, (See Noveria). The inventory system is a mess. It wouldn't be a problem if there wasn't a limit, but there is and it's annoying to have to clear it out. Overall though, the game is good. You can definitely tell BioWare cleaned up ME2 and ME3 when compared to this game, unfortunately in some areas they cut out a little too much, but the series as a whole is really good. Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2014
    7
    Finished playing this science fiction RPG!

    Mass Effect, well at first i'm totally not interested in it. I mean, lots of alien races? space
    Finished playing this science fiction RPG!

    Mass Effect, well at first i'm totally not interested in it. I mean, lots of alien races? space stuffs? Those things are serious and i'm afraid i can't really understand any of it. But luckily this game changed my point of view. We play as John Shepherd, you can choose your background for your characters, i chose to be the War Hero. You were a commander in a fleet called Normandy, the most advanced ship in the earth colony. Your first mission is to retrieve a beacon from a long lost races` technology. Saren, A Spectre, a commando unit directly under the council, betrayed them, and try to bring the Reaper, an alien races that annihilated lots of planet before. Saving this world, no..the galaxy from Saren is your mission now.

    Plus point:
    - This game is really fresh for me. I mean yes it's a 3rd person shooting game, but it is an RPG too. And you can have like a lot of Skills.
    - The story is epic, i mean yeah saving the galaxy from a mean Alien? That's just badass.
    But that's all. This game is good, but without any strong points other than the story.
    - Sometimes the choices are really hard. And you really have to choose & act by your nature, that's the best way to dealt with the situation. Like who are you going to save and stuffs. Those choices will really affect the storyline. But not all of it, only some.

    Minus Point:
    - This game is kinda boring. I mean the sub mission is repetitive. You went to a planet, you ride the Mako, Explore, Kill all enemies, quest finished! And there are just too many of this kind of mission. Takes a lot of times to finish each of it.
    - Choices doesn't really change the way the game goes. Well of course there are Renegade and Paragon points which define what kind of hero you are, but that's all. I mean you gave us 3 choices but it doesn't really change the way Shepherd react to it. I mean what he said and the choices sometimes doesn't fit at all. Which is totally weird.

    I'm just finishing the first game and going for the 2nd one. Considering the game has a good story, i kinda recommend it to a sci-fi fans.
    7.5/10 for this game.
    Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2014
    0
    This game doesnt work... load times are horrible, checkpoints dont exist, one time i died and had to go back 1 hour... it has framerate issuesThis game doesnt work... load times are horrible, checkpoints dont exist, one time i died and had to go back 1 hour... it has framerate issues aswell... buy it for another plataform Expand

See all 47 User Reviews