Mass Effect Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 190 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: "Mass Effect" will deliver an immersive, story-driven gameplay experience presented in a cinematic style with high production values, extraordinary levels of visual fidelity, incredible exploration and realistic digital actors. Players assume the role of an elite human Spectre agent, Commander Shepard, entrusted with keeping law and order in the galaxy. As they discover and explore the uncharted edges of the galaxy, they come closer to an overwhelming truth learning that the placid and serene universe they know is about to come to a violent end and that they are the only being who can stop it. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    98
    Mass Effect is quality. The story is very well done. The characters are well written, and it's amazing to see how they were at the beginning. It's like I got to see them as they were, and can now appreciate how they've grown from Mass Effect to Mass Effect 2 and 3.
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    90
    I'm in the camp that believes the games simply get better the further you get into the series, meaning that for as amazing as Mass Effect is, its sequels are more amazing yet. So if you like this game, just imagine how much you'll like what follows it.
  3. The game's appearance remains unaltered, which sounds good, but unfortunately it isn't. The game doesn't look bad, but it certainly looks dated. From a cinematic standpoint everything's fine, but the numerous lip-sync errors bothered us immensely. [February 2013, p.80]
  4. 83
    The original Mass Effect has finally arrived on the PlayStation 3, which completes the trilogy without hopping consoles. Even though the game shows obvious and often obtrusive signs of age, the original shooter RPG still holds up and delivers an experience to fans who have wanted it for so long.
  5. As an interactive story it's one hell of a good piece of entertainment. Taking your first tentative steps into this seriously rich universe, planting the seeds for larger implications later in the series, and tangling with one of the best antagonists ever, Saren, is a trip well worth taking. There's a rich, colourful cast you'll want to meet for the first time (Urdnot Wrex in particular) and very poignant moments to be had (e.g. becoming a Spectre). These are watershed gaming moments that the ME2's 'introductory' comic book could never hope to encapsulate. [January 2013, p69]
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    60
    Mass Effect's gameplay is unashamedly stuck in 2007. It's unpolished, frustrating, and much of it feels unnecessary. Fortunately, the plot and writing are enough to carry the experience. If you've already dipped into either of the series' superior sequels, prepare for a learning curve if you absolutely must explore the franchise's roots.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    Just finished this awesome game. I loved ME2 and liked ME3 (not as much 2 by far) so having the first one available for the PS3 is great and explains all the background narratives. And uploading your ME1 character into ME2 opens up new dialog options. ME1 is perhaps the best of the series. Gameplay is fun, if not as polished as ME2. It was fun being a badass as you levelled up. It's more of an RPG than the others, and has great storylines. There were some occasional framerate issues and I had to restart once or twice. Also, the final battle froze twice so I had to delete and reinstall the game data. But it was totally worth it. It was nowhere near as glitchy as Skyrim, and similairly worth it for a great game. Expand
  2. May 27, 2013
    10
    A great introduction to an excellent series, well worth a purchase if you are a fan of the later two. The characterisation is exquisite, the combat mechanics are solid. Expand
  3. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    Bioware have created an incredible galaxy here, in my opinion its arguably better than star wars. The gameplay may be a little clunky, but its fun, collecting new weapons, armour and mods is tons of fun. The story is so engrossing and the characters are so believable and 3 dimensional, you will feel some emotion towards each of the main cast. It is a fantastic game, not too pricey, but worth every penny. Expand
  4. Jan 5, 2013
    8
    Mass Effect for the Playstation 3 is a downgraded port that appears to amplify the bugs and issues that plagued the original, and in the long run this subtracts from the overall enjoyment that Xbox 360 owners were inclined to. However, if the Playstation 3 is your only entryway into the series, then don't let these trivial issues barricade you from one of of the richest RPG stories to ever ever grace the gaming community. Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2013
    8
    Nice story, nice gameplay and overall a pretty nice experience. Nothing revolutionizing though and if it hadn't been for the other games in the series i probably wouldn't have played it more than once. Expand
  6. May 3, 2013
    7
    The first Xbox exclusive, now multi-platform Mass Effect trilogy is without a doubt one of the most important games of the generation, where decision-based games starred in the front cover with GOTY Awards and financial reception. I thought I should try Mass Effect, and as I saw the trilogy in offer in PlayStation Store, why not jump in? Maybe buying it on this platform this way wasn't the best idea.
    The Ps3 version of ME is unfortunately, not as polished and detailed as the PC or Xbox versions. Some glitches, bugs and textures can be passed, some can not. The game, still, is visually impressive. Sometimes, breathtaking sights from an asteroid to an unknown planet pop out and I simply awe, amazed. But Mass Effect's visuals are another page. The main thing (Or at least at the trilogy, as the first entry didn't deliver as much) is the story, or even further, the decisions. Mass Effect's story feels like a summer blockbuster from beginning to end, but with some REALLY tough choices to make in the middle that change your story. Sometimes, I've spent 20 minutes trying to figure out the pros and cons of each choice. The story delivers for its duration. Mass Effect isn't really as long as they sey. You have both Primary and Secondary missions. Doing only Primary missions will take you about 12 hours only. Doing the Secondary and Exploring will extend your gameplay further, around 30 hours. Unfortunately, the secondary missions are ridiculously similar: Although some are effective and enjoyable (Mostly DLC), most of them feel like doing the same thing in a place with a different skin, or scavenging for cheap collectibles. The worst thing is that ones you complete the primary missions, you can't go back to complete the remaining assignments. Its a big detail. I played through the game for 24 hours completing most of the assignments, except the ones you have to collect stuff. I really wanted to complete them, but I finished all primary missions, and the game made me start everything all over again. This was also positive, as I could make different decisions and see their outbacks, although watching everything again is a little bit unappealing.
    Now, something really arguable about the game is the Gameplay. You may found it confusing at first, and half the game beaten, you will start getting used to it. That's because ME's gameplay isn't polished or well-explained. They basically tell you "Shoot Stuff" but that's not all you have to do. During the game, you gather XP points so then you can upgrade skills (And skills of your squad) and those skills unlock different kind of super-powers for battle. Some of this super-powers are great. Some others are awfully unuseful. The game also presents three difficulties at first (Casual, Normal and Hard) and then unlocks two alternative modes (Hardcore and Insanity). I've found challenge only in the alternative modes and found the original difficulties incredibly easies. Some boss battles (Of the few) pushed me to limits once, but never twice. ME was meant to be played on Hard, and if you want some more spice, push yourself to the alternative modes (Specially Hardcore, as Insanity feels more as a bugged, unfair mode).
    At first, I wasn't convinced at all about Mass Effect. The buggy Ps3 version, the piece-of-cake difficulty and the clunky gameplay made me feel lost in the dazzle of the game. It is when you get the game when it truly shines, although never achieving the heights of its sequel and sequel's sequel. Mass Effect is a game you can play if you want, but will not harm you if pass out this one in the trilogy. It was fun ride, but I had a bitter taste hard to wash since the beginning
    Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    0
    To many bugs made this game absolutely unplayable.

    this is a total shame... i never played a game like this before... I have to redo the
    ending so many many times because of massives freezes... Collapse

See all 26 User Reviews