Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 264 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: "Mass Effect" will deliver an immersive, story-driven gameplay experience presented in a cinematic style with high production values, extraordinary levels of visual fidelity, incredible exploration and realistic digital actors. Players assume the role of an elite human Spectre"Mass Effect" will deliver an immersive, story-driven gameplay experience presented in a cinematic style with high production values, extraordinary levels of visual fidelity, incredible exploration and realistic digital actors. Players assume the role of an elite human Spectre agent, Commander Shepard, entrusted with keeping law and order in the galaxy. As they discover and explore the uncharted edges of the galaxy, they come closer to an overwhelming truth learning that the placid and serene universe they know is about to come to a violent end and that they are the only being who can stop it. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    98
    Mass Effect is quality. The story is very well done. The characters are well written, and it's amazing to see how they were at the beginning. It's like I got to see them as they were, and can now appreciate how they've grown from Mass Effect to Mass Effect 2 and 3.
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    90
    I'm in the camp that believes the games simply get better the further you get into the series, meaning that for as amazing as Mass Effect is, its sequels are more amazing yet. So if you like this game, just imagine how much you'll like what follows it.
  3. The game's appearance remains unaltered, which sounds good, but unfortunately it isn't. The game doesn't look bad, but it certainly looks dated. From a cinematic standpoint everything's fine, but the numerous lip-sync errors bothered us immensely. [February 2013, p.80]
  4. 83
    The original Mass Effect has finally arrived on the PlayStation 3, which completes the trilogy without hopping consoles. Even though the game shows obvious and often obtrusive signs of age, the original shooter RPG still holds up and delivers an experience to fans who have wanted it for so long.
  5. As an interactive story it's one hell of a good piece of entertainment. Taking your first tentative steps into this seriously rich universe, planting the seeds for larger implications later in the series, and tangling with one of the best antagonists ever, Saren, is a trip well worth taking. There's a rich, colourful cast you'll want to meet for the first time (Urdnot Wrex in particular) and very poignant moments to be had (e.g. becoming a Spectre). These are watershed gaming moments that the ME2's 'introductory' comic book could never hope to encapsulate. [January 2013, p69]
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    60
    Mass Effect's gameplay is unashamedly stuck in 2007. It's unpolished, frustrating, and much of it feels unnecessary. Fortunately, the plot and writing are enough to carry the experience. If you've already dipped into either of the series' superior sequels, prepare for a learning curve if you absolutely must explore the franchise's roots.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
  1. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    Just finished this awesome game. I loved ME2 and liked ME3 (not as much 2 by far) so having the first one available for the PS3 is great andJust finished this awesome game. I loved ME2 and liked ME3 (not as much 2 by far) so having the first one available for the PS3 is great and explains all the background narratives. And uploading your ME1 character into ME2 opens up new dialog options. ME1 is perhaps the best of the series. Gameplay is fun, if not as polished as ME2. It was fun being a badass as you levelled up. It's more of an RPG than the others, and has great storylines. There were some occasional framerate issues and I had to restart once or twice. Also, the final battle froze twice so I had to delete and reinstall the game data. But it was totally worth it. It was nowhere near as glitchy as Skyrim, and similairly worth it for a great game. Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    Without a doubt the best series i've ever come to play! So much replay value! Its insane and I can't describe it enough. THIS IS A MUST BUYWithout a doubt the best series i've ever come to play! So much replay value! Its insane and I can't describe it enough. THIS IS A MUST BUY AND PLAY EXPERIENCE. Trust me on this!

    Pros:
    Just... wow (useless pros. I know :v)
    Story and characters are so well done!

    Cons:
    Combat can get a little linear
    No coop
    Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2015
    10
    I arrived with a delay of eight years to play this game, but recently (knowing the prestige it had) I played and finished the whole trilogy.I arrived with a delay of eight years to play this game, but recently (knowing the prestige it had) I played and finished the whole trilogy.

    It must be said right away: with Mass Effect, BioWare has created a fantastic universe, with many facets, articulate but at the same time consistently; inspired and with many references to series like Star Trek and Star Wars. In other words BioWare deserves an Oscar just for this. Personally I found the story of Mass Effect incredibly beautiful, it catches you from the first minute. Characters, protagonists and antagonists, each have their own personality, their own history, and relations that are created with each of them manage to make the background of the plot even more beautiful, more complex. A praise for creating characters like Saren and the Reapers, who are truly ones of the most beautiful I've ever seen.

    At first glance, Mass Effect, might look like a common third-person shooter and nothing more. But actually what BioWare did was to create an hybrid blend with the genre of rpg, creating in fact one of the best of games of this genre. This fusion of genres has managed to perfection: the gameplay is deep and fun, with inventory, statistics, weapons and armor, upgrades, abilities, exploration of planets and recovery of minerals. Even the editor to create the character Shepard at the beginning is well structured and offers many choices, both in terms of physical appearance and customization of the story of the character as the place of origin, the psychological profile, the class and the skills that result. The dialogue system is very well done and convenient to use, the choices really change the course of story, and Paragon & Renegade moral points add something significant to the vision that Shepard gives of himself. The longevity of the game is great, from 20 to beyond 30 hours. Nothing is missing, there is everything and it works perfectly.

    The graphic is pretty good and appreciable, even the artistic level is great and very cinematographical. Not bad also the game soundtrack. Unfortunately, at least for the PlayStation 3 version, the game is unstable from the technical point of view: there are many bugs, and sometimes the game causes a freezing of the console, but afterall this is forgettable because of all that the game has to give.

    Mass Effect is certainly one of the highest points of BioWare, and one of its best games. A great rpg-game, and a masterpiece.
    Expand
  4. Jan 16, 2014
    8
    I absolutely love Mass Effect. The game looks good and the story is entertaining. The choices you make effect your experience throughout allI absolutely love Mass Effect. The game looks good and the story is entertaining. The choices you make effect your experience throughout all three Mass Effect games, which gives the older Mass Effect installments higher replay value. It's not perfect, but it is close! Mass Effect 2 only improves on ME1's mechanics and offers a slightly higher degree of complexity to the game.. but play this first though! Great game. Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    8
    played mass effect on xbox,now playing on ps3, always fun! Bugs are in all games, just stop to compare xbox and ps3 it is stupid andplayed mass effect on xbox,now playing on ps3, always fun! Bugs are in all games, just stop to compare xbox and ps3 it is stupid and pointless! tastes are different! Just enjoy and have fun, that is what is missing today! how game looks become more important then how it plays! Mass effect 1 is better then ME2 in so many ways, ME3 combines 1 and 2, and gives a great filling how it should be from the start! Expand
  6. May 3, 2013
    7
    The first Xbox exclusive, now multi-platform Mass Effect trilogy is without a doubt one of the most important games of the generation, whereThe first Xbox exclusive, now multi-platform Mass Effect trilogy is without a doubt one of the most important games of the generation, where decision-based games starred in the front cover with GOTY Awards and financial reception. I thought I should try Mass Effect, and as I saw the trilogy in offer in PlayStation Store, why not jump in? Maybe buying it on this platform this way wasn't the best idea.
    The Ps3 version of ME is unfortunately, not as polished and detailed as the PC or Xbox versions. Some glitches, bugs and textures can be passed, some can not. The game, still, is visually impressive. Sometimes, breathtaking sights from an asteroid to an unknown planet pop out and I simply awe, amazed. But Mass Effect's visuals are another page. The main thing (Or at least at the trilogy, as the first entry didn't deliver as much) is the story, or even further, the decisions. Mass Effect's story feels like a summer blockbuster from beginning to end, but with some REALLY tough choices to make in the middle that change your story. Sometimes, I've spent 20 minutes trying to figure out the pros and cons of each choice. The story delivers for its duration. Mass Effect isn't really as long as they sey. You have both Primary and Secondary missions. Doing only Primary missions will take you about 12 hours only. Doing the Secondary and Exploring will extend your gameplay further, around 30 hours. Unfortunately, the secondary missions are ridiculously similar: Although some are effective and enjoyable (Mostly DLC), most of them feel like doing the same thing in a place with a different skin, or scavenging for cheap collectibles. The worst thing is that ones you complete the primary missions, you can't go back to complete the remaining assignments. Its a big detail. I played through the game for 24 hours completing most of the assignments, except the ones you have to collect stuff. I really wanted to complete them, but I finished all primary missions, and the game made me start everything all over again. This was also positive, as I could make different decisions and see their outbacks, although watching everything again is a little bit unappealing.
    Now, something really arguable about the game is the Gameplay. You may found it confusing at first, and half the game beaten, you will start getting used to it. That's because ME's gameplay isn't polished or well-explained. They basically tell you "Shoot Stuff" but that's not all you have to do. During the game, you gather XP points so then you can upgrade skills (And skills of your squad) and those skills unlock different kind of super-powers for battle. Some of this super-powers are great. Some others are awfully unuseful. The game also presents three difficulties at first (Casual, Normal and Hard) and then unlocks two alternative modes (Hardcore and Insanity). I've found challenge only in the alternative modes and found the original difficulties incredibly easies. Some boss battles (Of the few) pushed me to limits once, but never twice. ME was meant to be played on Hard, and if you want some more spice, push yourself to the alternative modes (Specially Hardcore, as Insanity feels more as a bugged, unfair mode).
    At first, I wasn't convinced at all about Mass Effect. The buggy Ps3 version, the piece-of-cake difficulty and the clunky gameplay made me feel lost in the dazzle of the game. It is when you get the game when it truly shines, although never achieving the heights of its sequel and sequel's sequel. Mass Effect is a game you can play if you want, but will not harm you if pass out this one in the trilogy. It was fun ride, but I had a bitter taste hard to wash since the beginning
    Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2014
    0
    This game doesnt work... load times are horrible, checkpoints dont exist, one time i died and had to go back 1 hour... it has framerate issuesThis game doesnt work... load times are horrible, checkpoints dont exist, one time i died and had to go back 1 hour... it has framerate issues aswell... buy it for another plataform Expand

See all 41 User Reviews