User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 831 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 94 out of 831
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Max Payne 3 is a fantastic game!!! Multiplayer is the best!!! Great story and gameplay. The multiplayer looks like a Red Dead Rendenption, but a Rockstar make a good job and the multiplayer of Max Payne 3 is much better yet. Expand
  2. May 5, 2013
    10
    This was one of my GOTY contenders last year. It is just one of the most interesting and fun games i have ever played. I played this game straight through from beginning to end only stopping a few times. Just a beautiful piece of work. Max Payne is one of my favorite heros.
  3. Jun 20, 2012
    8
    This game of good games but I do not always look out for!!! Because they are not or do not have a very big change! The same story or the story of revenge! There should be open map!
  4. Jun 23, 2012
    9
    Max Payne 3 is a great game, maybe the best of the saga. Adult, mature, hard. It is not perfect because there are bugs and freeze, and the voice acting is in English only. But great game.
  5. May 25, 2012
    8
    I give Max Payne 3 a 4/5. What a fantastic game. Story is amazing, gameplay is a lot of fun, and the multiplayer is beyond addictive. I had never played a max Payne game before but decided to pick it up because I am a huge fan of rockstar. Very glad I bought this game...wish I hadn't also bought Dragons Dogma. Collapse
  6. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    Faithful to the original story line. Fantastic game to say the least. Racked up tons of hours and a ridiculous body count with this game. Outstanding scenery and level building make this game severely intense.
  7. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    Where do I begin? This game, man. Its just terrific! I've followed Max's journey since Max Payne 1 back in the Remedy days. Rockstar has done almost everything perfect with this game. The story is really, really good. The action never fails, but the one thing or two things I'm kind of bugged about is the cutscenes that cant be skipped. First time, of course you watch all the cutscenes andWhere do I begin? This game, man. Its just terrific! I've followed Max's journey since Max Payne 1 back in the Remedy days. Rockstar has done almost everything perfect with this game. The story is really, really good. The action never fails, but the one thing or two things I'm kind of bugged about is the cutscenes that cant be skipped. First time, of course you watch all the cutscenes and dont mind it the first time around. But when you want to play it on a higher difficulty or find another gold part you have to watch the long cutscenes again, which is kind of annoying since you just want to get through it.

    The multiplayer is just f*cking great! I love it, I've spent alot of hours online playing team deathmatches which is in my opinion the best gamemode online.
    Expand
  8. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    This is an excellent game, and not having played previous Max Payne games it felt as though it wasn't required. The presentation of the game is top notch from the graphics and menu design. I love small touches like the constant changing background in the menu depending on where you are in the story and the loading screens which have snapshots of what's happened in the story. The storyThis is an excellent game, and not having played previous Max Payne games it felt as though it wasn't required. The presentation of the game is top notch from the graphics and menu design. I love small touches like the constant changing background in the menu depending on where you are in the story and the loading screens which have snapshots of what's happened in the story. The story itself is compelling and interesting which leads onto simple but satisfying gameplay. There isn't much wrong with this game. It could be said that the pacing of the game isn't perfect and there isn't quite as much variation as expected. But what the game does it does very well. The singleplayer lasts about 10 hours and it's a singleplayer you're going to wanna replay. Expand
  9. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    I was not expecting this, the last few years have made me exceptionally picky about shooters; you get tons of them and they hardly ever have anything worthwile to diferenciate them from the bunch. Played the first Max Payne and loved it, but after nearly ten years and dozens of shooters along the way I was hoping for another corridor shooter with no soul.......... boy was I wrong. Max isI was not expecting this, the last few years have made me exceptionally picky about shooters; you get tons of them and they hardly ever have anything worthwile to diferenciate them from the bunch. Played the first Max Payne and loved it, but after nearly ten years and dozens of shooters along the way I was hoping for another corridor shooter with no soul.......... boy was I wrong. Max is as charming as I remember him, he's now middle aged and little more than a sewer rat, but he has this Bruce Willish air to him and hearing his gritty narration and wisecracks is a highlight in the game. Graphics are top notch, enemy AI is pretty decent, Rockstar shows again that no one does bullet time as well as they do, and the atmosphere is also incredible. Solid 8 for this one. Expand
  10. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    No experience playing the first games needed.The developers made a great job of explaing almost all of Max Payne's past tribulations.This game's extremely linear, but the shoot-outs compensate that with some of the most varied, savage and memorable 3rd person action I've ever seen this side of Uncharted 2 & 3.The bullet-time mechanic is gimmicky, but surprinsingly it never gets old.SomeNo experience playing the first games needed.The developers made a great job of explaing almost all of Max Payne's past tribulations.This game's extremely linear, but the shoot-outs compensate that with some of the most varied, savage and memorable 3rd person action I've ever seen this side of Uncharted 2 & 3.The bullet-time mechanic is gimmicky, but surprinsingly it never gets old.Some encounters are very challenging and require some strategy instead of going Rambo-esque on the enemies.But the truly high-point of this game is definitely the tormented central character.Masterful voice acting and writing combines to give us some of the more funny (in a dark sort of way), self-loathing, irony-filled lines ever to grace a videogame.The seamless way in which in-game cinematics and gameplay are blended together is worth noting too.Also, there are "no loading times" because the game loads content while showing you cinematics.All in all, a pretty perfect game that deserves to be in any serious gamer collection. Expand
  11. Jun 2, 2012
    8
    Rockstar is typically known for producing engrossing story driven, polished titles with a a heavy focus on gameplay. The former is here in spades while the latter is lackluster and disappointingly non-ehistant. Did I have a great time with Max? Hell yes. However, I was left feeling as though I'd been doing the same things over and over again. Meet a squad of thugs, slaughter them inRockstar is typically known for producing engrossing story driven, polished titles with a a heavy focus on gameplay. The former is here in spades while the latter is lackluster and disappointingly non-ehistant. Did I have a great time with Max? Hell yes. However, I was left feeling as though I'd been doing the same things over and over again. Meet a squad of thugs, slaughter them in slo-mo, and repeat was what happened far too often. Despite being backed with some brilliant voice acting and a dark, thoughtful campaign, Max Payne had such promise but left me feeling as though I was entirely done with the game. Multilayer and arcade try, but feel awkward. If you could still rent games, this would be one of them. If you're in dire need of a brutally violent 3rd person shooter, then I'd suggest waiting for the price to drop. Thank god Rockstar has GTAV next up on their roster, easily the most anticipated game in the next while.. Expand
  12. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    This is truly a fantastic game. Max Payne 3 is a great shooter with an extremely fascinating script and storyline that totally succeeds in delivering a perfect noir tale! The pacing is just the right speed and I personally had no trouble playing this game nonstop for more than a couple of hours. The graphics, full of detail and constantly very colorful and at times and very beautiful
  13. Jun 3, 2012
    9
    Enjoyed this very much. It's got elements of different things, yet its very much its own game. The multiplayer is fun, and makes you pick and choose wisely. Story was excellent, and well done. Great game.
  14. May 26, 2012
    8
    Let's start with the more superficial stuff â
  15. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    You can call me sucks but I think even though Max Payne 3 got some fascinating technologies to make gunfight feels very realistic but those realism really what makes the gunfight in the game a nightmare after another it's so realistic than I can feel myself playing my ass off but then AI just cheaply took me out with in few shots with their pinpoint accuracy it ridiculous,they also smartYou can call me sucks but I think even though Max Payne 3 got some fascinating technologies to make gunfight feels very realistic but those realism really what makes the gunfight in the game a nightmare after another it's so realistic than I can feel myself playing my ass off but then AI just cheaply took me out with in few shots with their pinpoint accuracy it ridiculous,they also smart too.
    Max Payne 3 is really the best example of how being too realistic can ruin the gameplay.
    But its realism is also means that every kill you made is so satisfying and every gunfight can give you that piss in your pants tension it gives you the unique experience that no other shooters can give! You could say that a serious skills are needed in order to complete anything harder than normal.
    Graphics can be rough in many areas due to its old age of RAGE engine but euphoria physics is awesome as ever.
    Sound is top notch even though I wish the weapons packs more punch than this.
    Story is you know pretty slick and Max Payne anti-hero attitude makes every cutscene a joy to watch and listen to..
    Multiplayer is every bit as good as the single player but feels a bit like a useless option since not so many people playing it.
    Despite its real life difficulty Max Payne 3 is a great 3rd person shooter that proves a single bullet can REALLY kill you.
    Expand
  16. Jun 17, 2012
    9
    Well guess what? it's been many years waiting for fans and critics to played this game and last year, the first trailer i see is what makes me look excited and also for Design and Technology trailer too.Now when i finish the game, unlike its predecessor a singleplayer story never contained in-game loading instead it continue with cut-scene, the graphic,gameplay and voice-acting looksWell guess what? it's been many years waiting for fans and critics to played this game and last year, the first trailer i see is what makes me look excited and also for Design and Technology trailer too.Now when i finish the game, unlike its predecessor a singleplayer story never contained in-game loading instead it continue with cut-scene, the graphic,gameplay and voice-acting looks topnotch and i really liked the story but some plot made me felt something that is completely loose and the cutscenes made me loose myself up and the bugs is frustating.The multiplayer have many modes you can played with two types of aim Free Aim and Soft Lock and Rookies and normal and also for singleplayer which had Soft Lock, Hard Lock and Free Aim.Shooting dodge and slow-mo gameplay is awesome and Euphoria helped this game alot too.If you want to play Third Person Shooter then here the most anticipated game of this year. Expand
  17. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Max Payne is a cop that has had a very hard life. His wife and baby were killed by drug addicts, he is framed for the murder of his best friend, and the other women he has feelings for is killed. Max abuses alcohol and painkillers because of what has happened to him.
    Max Payne 3 picks up almost a decade after the first two games, away from the dark and melancholy streets of New York to
    Max Payne is a cop that has had a very hard life. His wife and baby were killed by drug addicts, he is framed for the murder of his best friend, and the other women he has feelings for is killed. Max abuses alcohol and painkillers because of what has happened to him.
    Max Payne 3 picks up almost a decade after the first two games, away from the dark and melancholy streets of New York to the bright and gang filled favelas of Sau Paulo, Brazil. As Max you are tasked with protecting a rich family based in Sau Paulo. As with most of Max Payne's life things go horribly wrong when a gang of thugs kidnap someone in the family. It is up to Max and his friend, Passos to save her. This game has beautiful graphics, from the enormous favelas in Brazil to the night clubs were beats are pounding and lights are bright. Voice acting is superb and made me care for the characters. There is a lot of detail in this game.
    Gameplay is superb. Triggering bullet time and watching foes drop in slow motion never gets old. There is also a bullet cam, in which you watch a bullet in slow motion rip through your enemy. Max Payne 3 Is extremely violent, bullets destroy faces, leave entrance wounds and exit wounds, and there is a horror movie level of gore. I cringed every time bullet cam was initiated and I saw my target drop with a disgusting bullet wound to his face. Be careful Max is very fragile, prepare to die a lot.
    Multiplayer has made a first appearance in the series and it is very good. It was very addicting to jump into a round of multiplayer and use bullet time against other human players. There is incredibly deep customization for everything.
    Max Payne 3 is one of the best games I ever played. While its not perfect you will be doing a disservice to yourself if you don't experience this game for yourself.
    Max Payne 3 10/10
    Expand
  18. Jun 11, 2012
    8
    There is two sides to this game: The story and the gameplay. Looking strictly at the story, this is one of the best told stories out there. The whole Noir style of telling stories, when done right, is easily one of the best mediums to use in storytelling and it's done to perfection here. While Max Payne isn't a character you'll like, your able to associate with him and if your a veteran ofThere is two sides to this game: The story and the gameplay. Looking strictly at the story, this is one of the best told stories out there. The whole Noir style of telling stories, when done right, is easily one of the best mediums to use in storytelling and it's done to perfection here. While Max Payne isn't a character you'll like, your able to associate with him and if your a veteran of the series, you hope to see him find some solution to the endless pain he feels on a daily basis. It would help if you've played the other two games before this one as you'll be lost at certain parts of the story. However you dont HAVE to have had played the other two to enjoy this story. However, the gameplay leaves something to be desired. With all the innovations that the Gears franchise has brought to cover based shooters, Max Payne has set those types of shooters back a few years with this game. The game is made more difficult just by the controls and the gameplay itself. The gunplay itself is not very fun and the bullet time, at this point in time to series veterans, is nothing special and does get kinda old after awhile. It still is essential to completing the game but it's novelty will eventually wear you down to the point where you don't really even care how cool it is anymore. The PS3 version, the one I played, had a number of graphical bugs and glitches that definitely impacted how I enjoyed the game. There were tons of lag spikes, enemies running through walls and shooting through walls, and terrible sound glitches that caused me to miss out on whole sentences of dialogue,which was the biggest issue for me since the story is why you are able to sit through the subpar gameplay in the first place. I haven't played multiplayer and I won't. The shooting mechanics feel like they are stuck in 2004 and I can easily pick up and play Gears 3 or MW3 if I want to play a shooter online. To sum it up: If you play games for the story, then pick this game up right now. The story is very engaging and will keep you guessing (somewhat) till the end. However the gameplay and the glitches, at least on the PS3 version, will hinder your ability to enjoy this game to the fullest. But this game can be easily completed if you were to rent it for 5 days or so, which I would recommend over buying it at this point. You won't go wrong buying this game but there are better pure shooters out there today that don't have the AAA story to go along with them. Expand
  19. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    Max Payne 3 is the best game I've played all year. The story is engaging and very well written. The soundtrack and voice acting is fantastic. The gameplay is better than ever. The multiplayer is deep and rewarding, with great customization and unlockables. Max Payne 3 may suffer from a few minor hiccups, but it stands firmly on it's own two feet and delivers on all fronts. Don't miss outMax Payne 3 is the best game I've played all year. The story is engaging and very well written. The soundtrack and voice acting is fantastic. The gameplay is better than ever. The multiplayer is deep and rewarding, with great customization and unlockables. Max Payne 3 may suffer from a few minor hiccups, but it stands firmly on it's own two feet and delivers on all fronts. Don't miss out on this beautiful game from one of the best developers in the industry. Expand
  20. Jul 14, 2012
    9
    Max Payne 3 is a great game. There is no other way of saying it. I found myself immersed into the incredible story it tells. I only have one problem with it. The shooting got a bit dull by the end. It's great fun, but towards the end I needed to take a break. Nothing new was added. It was all the same over and over again. I loved the game, but just had a few problems with having to playMax Payne 3 is a great game. There is no other way of saying it. I found myself immersed into the incredible story it tells. I only have one problem with it. The shooting got a bit dull by the end. It's great fun, but towards the end I needed to take a break. Nothing new was added. It was all the same over and over again. I loved the game, but just had a few problems with having to play almost the same way all the way through. The game's story is it's strong point. And you have a lot of "Oh my god" moments, so the whole experience was great and worth it! Expand
  21. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    The story and the game play were superb. Graphics were top notch. Only knock is that it's another linear game. But it was a blast to play. A ton of heart-pumping moments and some neat surprises. Just really fun and extremely well made.
  22. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    the story line in this is superb, well paced and always keeps you guessing on whats coming next. The visual glitches can get annoying and distract you from the experience, but once you learn to look past them, it looks really nice (why did they even include them!?). The game play is awesome, as expected from rock star (or any other game publishers for that matter). However i have onethe story line in this is superb, well paced and always keeps you guessing on whats coming next. The visual glitches can get annoying and distract you from the experience, but once you learn to look past them, it looks really nice (why did they even include them!?). The game play is awesome, as expected from rock star (or any other game publishers for that matter). However i have one major gripe. In the single player you have an inability to throw grenades, yet enemies can throw them at you. Even worse is that when you go online, you suddenly have the ability to throw grenades!!!!!!! it seems small, but it really ticked me off. Any who, the online is some of the best i have played in years. It takes a while to get into, but once you do you feel right at home.
    Max Payne 3 is almost a masterpiece, but few minor misjudgments hold it back from being a masterpiece. However if you love film noir, the previous two games or action in general, you should definitely give it a go
    Expand
  23. Jun 30, 2012
    9
    I'll do this shortly: Max Payne 3 is an incredible game! Is it linear? Yep. Is the gameplay innovative? Nope. Has it good graphics? Hell yes, awesome graphics. Is the story good? IMO, nope. Why the hell is this game good then? Max Payne 3 is so good because it got GREAT narrative. Max has always a cynical tone and a strong personality. The cutscenes works together with Max' narration,I'll do this shortly: Max Payne 3 is an incredible game! Is it linear? Yep. Is the gameplay innovative? Nope. Has it good graphics? Hell yes, awesome graphics. Is the story good? IMO, nope. Why the hell is this game good then? Max Payne 3 is so good because it got GREAT narrative. Max has always a cynical tone and a strong personality. The cutscenes works together with Max' narration, building some sort of amazing interactive action movie. That proves that games are growing up and being closer to movies than ever. This is both good and bad, but it's not a matter to discuss here.
    The multiplayer is just like another third-person shooter but with the bullet-time and shootdodge. If you apreciate that kind of multiplayer, go for it.
    I'm a brazilian guy, and I can say that the amount of dirty words brazilian dudes speak is god damn high! In other words, pretty much the reality.
    In sum, Max Payne 3 is a mediocre game but with spetacular story-telling, what makes it more than worth picking up and giving a try.
    Expand
  24. Jul 23, 2012
    9
    Everything positive that's been said about the game is true. The dark, violent and amazingly well (voice)acted story is one of the best from Rockstar. The game play is simple, but works very well; and the graphics are awesome (including the feedback effects, and the detail to attention to detail). The musical score and soundtrack in the game is not only really fitting to the location, butEverything positive that's been said about the game is true. The dark, violent and amazingly well (voice)acted story is one of the best from Rockstar. The game play is simple, but works very well; and the graphics are awesome (including the feedback effects, and the detail to attention to detail). The musical score and soundtrack in the game is not only really fitting to the location, but also really great and adds to the mood of the story. The multi player is well done. The game modes are interesting and brings back all of the great game play from the single player including bullet time. Even though the single player is enough for the full price, Rockstar added this great multi player and adds more hours of game play. Overall, if you're into a story heavy game with great multi player this game is for you. Be warned though even on medium difficulty, you may sometimes find that the game can be challenging. Expand
  25. Nov 2, 2013
    8
    I was a huge fan of the first two Max Payne games. This game wasn't the overall slam dunk I had thought it would be. There are some things I absolutely loved and some I absolutely hated. First, we shall start with the positives. The environments are by far the best I have played in a game. It looks, feels real and alive. There were no shortcuts into making these environments. They are soI was a huge fan of the first two Max Payne games. This game wasn't the overall slam dunk I had thought it would be. There are some things I absolutely loved and some I absolutely hated. First, we shall start with the positives. The environments are by far the best I have played in a game. It looks, feels real and alive. There were no shortcuts into making these environments. They are so detailed that it was the first time I was stunned looking at the environments since Halo: Combat Evolved about ten years ago. Also, the writing is of course top notch. Sound fits the mood perfectly. Story is decent. Overall it is a pretty fun game. Now, the negatives. The first thing was the overall feel. It just didn't feel like Max Payne. I don't want to spoil the game, but there are a few chapters that nail the old Max Payne feel, while the rest almost get there, but it creates a feeling of a nostalgic hole of what Max Payne 3 could have been. I miss going to the secret 'underground' warehouses and run-down hotels in NY and basically flying around in bullet time spraying bullets everywhere. Next issue is the controls/gameplay. This Max Payne's bullet time is ruined with the cover system. The cover system basically makes it unnecessary to do the bullet time leaps (my favorite thing of the Max Payne games). Furthermore, controls and aiming just don't seem nearly as fluid as the previous two. While you could just keep bullet time leaping all over the place, it is impracticable when you can use the cover. Next, is the Noir storytelling of the games. This also just doesn't seem to cut it. There are not nearly as many of the storybook scenes, but instead we get an outrageous amount of (lengthy) cutscenes. This is a perfect example of how a game does not need cutscenes to be great. Lastly, The previous Max Payne's are far superior. Had this game not had the Max Payne title, it would be an easy 5 stars. I have not played the multiplayer nor do I really intend do. Expand
  26. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    It will disappoint veteran max payne fans, as it is a huge departure, but this huge departure and a new, exciting aesthetic, a new method of storytelling, and updates the gameplay so it is smoother than a syrup enema and sets the bar for third person shooters. I acknowledge that it
  27. May 24, 2012
    9
    Rockstar did it again.the storyteling is ausewme and gameplay is absolutely fun but also mature:multiplayer.is also fascinating. I was waiting a long time for max payne 3 but now I understand the.potential of this long developpement
  28. May 23, 2012
    8
    Pros Great Game Overall Great Voice acting
    Good Graphics
    Good Detail
    Nice Physics Great Transition from Cut scene's to Gameplay
    No Ingame Loading screens. Cons
    Feels outdated Gameplay mechanics can sometimes be frustrating checkpoints are extremely frustrating.
    Multiplayer isn't that fun.
  29. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    top of the line graphics and physics, everything plays like a movie, some cutscenes can be annoying but def like the story and colorful characters, gunplay is awesome, single player maybe a lil short, but great, i'd rate this game a 8.5 or higher, some frustrating checkpoint restarts, and hit accuracy but very minimal,multi player is fun, deathmatch and other modes available,
  30. Jun 11, 2012
    9
    Wow what a great game. I've gotta say I'm been impressed with every rockstar game I've played and this is one heck of a game. It has an exciting campaign that keeps you on your toes and twists to the campaign that you wouldn't guess what's coming next. Some cons are that the health sorta sucks and some times it glitches up and you can't use bullet time and you can randomly die. Some prosWow what a great game. I've gotta say I'm been impressed with every rockstar game I've played and this is one heck of a game. It has an exciting campaign that keeps you on your toes and twists to the campaign that you wouldn't guess what's coming next. Some cons are that the health sorta sucks and some times it glitches up and you can't use bullet time and you can randomly die. Some pros are awesome collectables, bullet time is a fun experience, and the AI is actually intelligent using tactics compared to red dead. I think this is a fun new experience that every gamer should play it Expand
  31. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    Probably the game of the year, Top 3 at least.
    When Max Payne and Max Payne 2 came out, was a different time. They bring something new and fresh, the gameplay and the story telling, just like some Marvel Noirâ
  32. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    After completing the campaign twice, investing many hours into multiplayer and collecting all of the golden guns i've came to the conclusion that Max Payne 3 is my favourite game of the year so far. The game is refreshing from gameplay to cut scenes and provides a challenge which seems to be missing in modern games. The feature bullet time is epic, there is nothing better than slow-moAfter completing the campaign twice, investing many hours into multiplayer and collecting all of the golden guns i've came to the conclusion that Max Payne 3 is my favourite game of the year so far. The game is refreshing from gameplay to cut scenes and provides a challenge which seems to be missing in modern games. The feature bullet time is epic, there is nothing better than slow-mo diving through the air while penetrating bullets into an enemies face. However, the game may not be for everyone as the game is often linear and the game likes to take control away from the player but only to deliver an awesome story. Max Payne 3 is a game which has long lasting appeal but it really doesn't matter the number of hours you play, you will be guaranteed to have fun. Expand
  33. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    HE IS BACK! He is screwed like always, now in BRAZIL! VAI MORRER FILHA DA PUTA! SEU ARROMBADO! PERDEU O BUZÃO TIOZÃO?! A very well dubbed portuguese, and the most unforgettable gameplay action in the series.
  34. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    Fantastic game, with a dark and gritty tone. It is very well presented with great graphics, the gameplay being fantastic and the cut scenes capturing the gritty tone of the game.
    Rockstar games usually have mediocre shooting mechanics, but this changes in Max Payne 3, where the shooting mechanics are superb with the shoot-dodge and bullet time being even better than the previous Max Payne
    Fantastic game, with a dark and gritty tone. It is very well presented with great graphics, the gameplay being fantastic and the cut scenes capturing the gritty tone of the game.
    Rockstar games usually have mediocre shooting mechanics, but this changes in Max Payne 3, where the shooting mechanics are superb with the shoot-dodge and bullet time being even better than the previous Max Payne Titles.
    The story mode is great with a great story and great action segments with many different options available for difficulty and aiming. There is also level select when the game is finished which I liked as it allowed me to play my favorite parts of the game again and again and helped when looking for the clues and the golden guns.
    The multiplayer is what you would expect with standard gamemodes like team deathmatch etc. with my favourite game mode being gang wars. I also like how you can play the multiplayer with free aim with others, or with lock on with others, this is good as it means that others don't have and advantage over you and makes the game fair.
    The Rockstar gangs feature is great allowing you and some friends to create a gang/clan to play online with tracking your gangs stats, starting rivalries with other gangs and creating a logo for you gang which can be used on some clothing items in multiplayer.
    9/10. Rockstar sure know how to make good games.
    Expand
  35. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    Max Payne 3 is an absolutely brilliant game, especially for fan of the franchise like myself. The mechanics are amazing, the gameplay is fluid; the physics engine is just brilliant. Rockstar did a terrific job on this max payne and its been a long time coming; the only reason I gave it a 9 is due to the storyline; I did enjoy the storyline but it felt out of place and less entertainingMax Payne 3 is an absolutely brilliant game, especially for fan of the franchise like myself. The mechanics are amazing, the gameplay is fluid; the physics engine is just brilliant. Rockstar did a terrific job on this max payne and its been a long time coming; the only reason I gave it a 9 is due to the storyline; I did enjoy the storyline but it felt out of place and less entertaining than the first 2, however the story mode was worth the playthrough, even if it was just the gameplay. The multiplayer is brilliant, the game modes are entertaining (especially gang wars) and the customisation is the most in-depth of its kind, I would recommend this game for any max payne fan (you probably bought it anyway) and even fans new to the series as its just a breathtaking game. 9/10, possibly 10/10 Expand
  36. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    Max Payne 3 is certainly not as good as Max Payne 2, but in terms of gameplay, the game definitely does better than the originals. While story isn't quite as dark (even though it still is), and shootdodge is not quite as effective. the addition of multiplayer is fantastic, and the overall feel of the game is a more matured Max. A must buy for any fan of slow motion, guns, dark story, andMax Payne 3 is certainly not as good as Max Payne 2, but in terms of gameplay, the game definitely does better than the originals. While story isn't quite as dark (even though it still is), and shootdodge is not quite as effective. the addition of multiplayer is fantastic, and the overall feel of the game is a more matured Max. A must buy for any fan of slow motion, guns, dark story, and third person shooters. Expand
  37. Sep 6, 2012
    9
    Max Payne 3 is GRAPHIC!!!! I love it a little repetitive yes Lame no. This is a good game with good reasons to return to story mode for arcade and new york minute. What suprised me the most is how fun the multiplayer is I have a great time with it sure it is easy to get kills but staying alive is the fun part. Also tons of cool perks and items to keep you busy with it for quite a while.Max Payne 3 is GRAPHIC!!!! I love it a little repetitive yes Lame no. This is a good game with good reasons to return to story mode for arcade and new york minute. What suprised me the most is how fun the multiplayer is I have a great time with it sure it is easy to get kills but staying alive is the fun part. Also tons of cool perks and items to keep you busy with it for quite a while. Way better multi than RDR makes me want GTA5 even more. Stop hatin on Max or die in slow motion Bullet Time!!! Expand
  38. Oct 16, 2012
    8
    It is clear that Max Payne 3 has been used "the latest technology, innovative design, large mechanical and absorbing narrative and people to redefine the third-person shooters", do not think they redefined anything, but have become one of shooting games I've played most powerful in the entire generation.
  39. Oct 27, 2012
    9
    Although I never really got into the Multiplayer and only played through the Campaign once, this game is definitely worthy of a purchase. The entire feel of the single player felt amazing, and it provided a great, cinematic, violent, and fun-as-hell experience. The narration done by Max really helps you understand what's going on, and there are many plot twists and surprises along the way.Although I never really got into the Multiplayer and only played through the Campaign once, this game is definitely worthy of a purchase. The entire feel of the single player felt amazing, and it provided a great, cinematic, violent, and fun-as-hell experience. The narration done by Max really helps you understand what's going on, and there are many plot twists and surprises along the way. The gameplay is solid, and the slow motion looks really satisfying when you shoot somebody in the face with it. So if you're a gamer who loves a cinematic experience (story, graphics, presentation), do yourself a favour and buy this game. It is one of my most memorable single player experiences in the last 5 years of so (with Fallout 3, BioShock, and Dead Space competing) Expand
  40. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    A gritty, full bloodied reincarnation of one of Rockstars most hailed characters. Max Payne returns in this 3rd installment with finely tuned gameplay, an interesting storyline, some great graphics, and a decent multiplayer component. Definitely worth the buy!
  41. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. Everything was perfect, an the story was beautifully sprinkled with film noire and a tale of loss. Max is one of the most engrossing characters of all time, and your interested in everything he says. If this Game does now win Game Of The Year, then I don't know what will.
  42. Nov 27, 2012
    9
    Drawing from all the things that made the first two Max Payne games a hit, adding in more expansive locations, better graphics, and making Max an older, more war-torn version of his ragged self, Rockstar has brought the man who deals death back from the brink of it.

    The guns are awesome, the gameplay is linear, but still good; and the slow motion is as fun as ever. If you like shooters,
    Drawing from all the things that made the first two Max Payne games a hit, adding in more expansive locations, better graphics, and making Max an older, more war-torn version of his ragged self, Rockstar has brought the man who deals death back from the brink of it.

    The guns are awesome, the gameplay is linear, but still good; and the slow motion is as fun as ever. If you like shooters, or the previous M.P. games, you'll love this. 9/10,
    Expand
  43. Dec 27, 2012
    8
    I am a huge fan of the original Max Payne games. They were stuffed with gritty themes and epic gameplay. Max Payne 3 is good. By today's gaming standards that is, Put the third installment up against it's predecessors and it will pale in comparison. However, put it up against other shooting games that you can purchase today and it offers a nice change. Gameplay: Very much theI am a huge fan of the original Max Payne games. They were stuffed with gritty themes and epic gameplay. Max Payne 3 is good. By today's gaming standards that is, Put the third installment up against it's predecessors and it will pale in comparison. However, put it up against other shooting games that you can purchase today and it offers a nice change. Gameplay: Very much the traditional jump around in slow mo and kill people. New features like the "x" on reticule to show when a guy is dead is nice and the introduction of cover to the series is helpful and feels right but overall makes it feel less "Payne-isn". I mean why jump around in different angles shooting people when you can just save pain killers and hide behind a knee high wall? Presentation: Max Payne 3 is a beautiful game. Brazil is an excellent setting to show off what Rockstar's engine is capable of. The physics engine is one of the best I have seen recently. Graphics are slick for the most part and the goriness of deaths of both Max and his enemies are wonderful. Story: Bland and straight forward. I enjoy that they kept the same voice actor for Max Payne. Kept some Noir style in the game which is nice. Overall: I enjoyed the return of Max Payne and while it was a little off from past installments it still is something fresh in today's gaming market. Enjoy! Expand
  44. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    Max Payne 3 it´s one of the best games of 2012, but still it has some problems.
    Pros and Cons:
    Pros: Nice story by Dan Houser, Envolving Score by Health, addictive gameplay, awesome slow-mo effects (Thank you, Euphoria engine) cool graphics and dual wielding! (That´s actually pretty fun BTW) Cons: It has SO MANY CUTSCENES. It ´s like every time you open a door SURPRISE! Cutscene.
    Max Payne 3 it´s one of the best games of 2012, but still it has some problems.
    Pros and Cons:

    Pros: Nice story by Dan Houser, Envolving Score by Health, addictive gameplay, awesome slow-mo effects (Thank you, Euphoria engine) cool graphics and dual wielding! (That´s actually pretty fun BTW)

    Cons: It has SO MANY CUTSCENES. It ´s like every time you open a door SURPRISE! Cutscene. Repetitive gameplay (cover, shoot, cover, shoot, SLOW-MO BIATCH! open door, cutscene)

    Even though, it´s a pretty nice game, and it´s not as difficult as some reviewers here say, maybe they say that because they tried to beat the whole game using bullet time and shootdodge. Tip: DON´T TRY TO THAT OR THE GAME WILL BE AS DIFFICULT AS F**K!
    Oh, an aiming, is perfectly done! I don´t know whyy people complain about it! You can choose the easy but boring Hard Lock, the not as easy but quite satisfying Soft Lock and OFF, which is pretty hard but gives you total freedom to aim.

    (Sorry for my english)
    Expand
  45. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    Max Payne 3 made a great comeback for the franchise and Max Payne comes back as hard as ever. One thing you will notice straight away is the superb graphic and the extreme details in the graphic. Max Payne 3 have of the BEST graphic I’ve seen with a TPS game. Max Payne 3 is a very cinematic game. And all the loading screens are replaced by cutscenes so you wouldn't be bored staring at aMax Payne 3 made a great comeback for the franchise and Max Payne comes back as hard as ever. One thing you will notice straight away is the superb graphic and the extreme details in the graphic. Max Payne 3 have of the BEST graphic I’ve seen with a TPS game. Max Payne 3 is a very cinematic game. And all the loading screens are replaced by cutscenes so you wouldn't be bored staring at a boring loading screen screen. The story is catchy and the single player campaign is tense and fun. Max Payne 3 also have one of the BEST dual wield mechanic and shooting mechanic for a TPS game. The AIs in MP3 are also one of the most realistic AIs I've seen in a game. The AIs are capable of gettin headshot of the player especially the elite soldier/cops. The AIs with shotguns can also get a one shot-kill of the player if the player gets too close. And don't forget the funs and grippy multiplayer complete with the bullet time mechanic and shoot dodge mechanic.There are the usual game modes such as death match team death match but one of the main game mode is the gang war which is a combination of different game modes including grabbing the bag, capturing the turf, one team tries to defend a turf while the other tries to capture the turf and when the turf is captured the capture team will move on to capture the next turf etc. There are also many different interesting and fun game modes in the gang war mode. This game mode really supports teamwork. Overall the Max Payne 3 is SUPERB game. The single player have a grippy and fun campaign. And the multiplayer is tense and very interesting. Max Payne 3 is a game shooter fans should NOT miss!!! Expand
  46. May 13, 2013
    9
    It's an awesome game, no doubts about it. The epic slow motion dives and the story are really what defines this kind of genre. My only problem is the cutscene-shoot-cutscene-shoot scheme.
  47. Mar 25, 2013
    8
    Max Payne has never looked better (and older.) I enjoyed the game while playing it. However I'll start with the faults. It doesn't have the same noir feeling like the old ones. The classic comics for cut scenes has been replaced with plain old cut scenes (which most you can't skip.) Bullet Time and shoot dodging works the same, but it lacks the ability to regain bullet time while in bulletMax Payne has never looked better (and older.) I enjoyed the game while playing it. However I'll start with the faults. It doesn't have the same noir feeling like the old ones. The classic comics for cut scenes has been replaced with plain old cut scenes (which most you can't skip.) Bullet Time and shoot dodging works the same, but it lacks the ability to regain bullet time while in bullet time. Max can no longer regenerate health. Painkillers seem a little more uncommon. Max's character is still pretty much the same, but he seems to complain a lot. The game also doesn't have grenades like its predecessors. Which is not really a problem, but the scream enemies made in Max Payne 1 when you threw one at them was hilarious. (Grenades are in the multiplayer though.) The cover system introduced was very well made, but you can't turn corners. I died this way many times because of it. The game seems to encourage you to stay in cover rather than go out in bullet time and shoot dodging like in the old games. It pretty much turns the game into your standard third-person shooter like Uncharted or Gears of War. The story is really well written and still has that sad feeling for Max. No recurring characters are in Max Payne 3, instead appearing as models for multiplayer. No story elements from the old games are here too. But these are understandable since all the recurring characters are pretty much dead. The story is a little weird since Max has no reason to go to Brazil. I mean I don't no why the would write Max into that situation. The multiplayer is something else. I have not played it a lot so I'm not going to go in depth with it. It is pretty ok, but I had a lot of frustration with it. I do like how Max kind of narrates what happens. Overall Max Payne 3 is enjoyable, but Max Payne Vets will find this a little unfamiliar. I must admit though. I had so much anger with this game during the soccer stadium level. Expand
  48. Jan 21, 2014
    8
    Max Payne it's quite an iconic series in video games, it always had a lot of a "unique essence to it" that no one could actually recreate, however the third installment in the series makes a lot of changes, some of them are welcomed, and some others, well... Not so much.
    The first complain that i have with the game it's that it destroys the outgoing journey for the player, you know
    Max Payne it's quite an iconic series in video games, it always had a lot of a "unique essence to it" that no one could actually recreate, however the third installment in the series makes a lot of changes, some of them are welcomed, and some others, well... Not so much.
    The first complain that i have with the game it's that it destroys the outgoing journey for the player, you know exactly which twists, and turns is the game going to have, it never truly steps away in trying to transport the player into a journey with as many memorable characters, as it did in the past entries to the franchise. I like to think it's because Rockstar was trying to develop the game with it's own personal experience, and "vibe", however the artistic integrity in a series like this is something that has to be noted, and even admired in one way, or another.
    The pursue to realism does not only affect the thematic, and overall style of the game, it angers me to say it but it also affects the gameplay, adding up a limit for the usual arsenal that you have learn to expect from the series, it's something that it's unforgivable to me as an already fan of the series.

    However the game excels at it's story telling, sharing us a much more darker twist, that does not only affect Max himself, but also the members of the Branco family (the entire thematic revolves around them).
    The game it's not telling the story about Max, but it's telling how Max reacts to the situation that the family it's experiencing, this just makes Max feel almost like his just in the game in order to fill a blank paper, that could've been filled by any angry, pessimistic, antagonist.

    It just never tries to even capture the substance from Max Payne, it just tries to ask for his opinion.
    Luckily it isn't such a bad opinion after all, Max throws the occasional joke here, and there, and eventually you begin to appreciate that his presence it's there.
    The game throws a huge amount of effort in making you feel like Max Payne, it tries to make you confused at first, but interested, and intrigued to find out what iconic event it's going to happen to the Branco family, and how Max it's going to have to deal with it. Not only that but the effects, from the cutscenes (which upset a lot of people from being annoying) are specifically placed there to evoque that kind of reaction, they want you to feel dazed, and not knowing exactly what's happening in a clear way, in my opinion it's an excellent way from Rockstar to adapt and understand how this new world that surrounds Max it's affecting him, same thing happens when Rockstar decided not to translate Portuguese, to english (they did it for the same reason).

    Overall the adventure, nor journey, that Max Payne 3 takes you to, it's not something forgettable by any means, but sadly it's just another empty chapter in Max's life that you could have passed and not even noticed, mostly if there's ever a follow up to what could've been, another remarkable entry, in an already incredible franchise.
    Expand
  49. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    Before I start reviewing the game I should point out that I haven't played any of the other Max Payne's so I can't compare but what I can say about this game is that it is great but not without flaws. Firstly the shooting mechanic, namely the dot reticule took me a couple of levels to get used to, I am just more used to a crosshair but when I got used to the dot reticule in this game laserBefore I start reviewing the game I should point out that I haven't played any of the other Max Payne's so I can't compare but what I can say about this game is that it is great but not without flaws. Firstly the shooting mechanic, namely the dot reticule took me a couple of levels to get used to, I am just more used to a crosshair but when I got used to the dot reticule in this game laser sights were added which I actually found they made me less accurate since your reticule disappears completely and you have to rely on where the laser hits the enemy which is hard at a long distance. Also shootdodge I found to be more cumbersome than useful. Leaping into the air action movie style looks cool but more often than not it got me killed since its usually wiser to just stay in cover. Bullettime on the other hand is very useful and is pretty much a must to complete some sections of the game. Another flaw though is that the story starts off slowly and is pretty boring for the first hour or two b ut perseverence will eventually pay off and after the slow start I really got interested in Max and grew to actually enjoy the cutscenes which I started off hating and warmed to Max's sarcastic sense of humour and running commentary. Another thing I loved was the action set-piece moments which often see max leaping into the air and surviving impossible odds against enemies. The graphics aren't too bad either and there is replayability due to new difficulties and some arcade challenge levels. This game is actually really good as it turns out as long as you can persevere for the first couple of hours. Expand
  50. ERB
    Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Max Payne is back with more realistic and cool graphics and with bullet time improved.Max Payne 3 continues it's story in Brazil which he was hired as a personal body guard for a wealthy or rich family the "Branco family".Max Payne 3 has awesome actions cool bullet time and a memorable story.Now the single player campaign is good but wait till you see the multiplayer of this game becauseMax Payne is back with more realistic and cool graphics and with bullet time improved.Max Payne 3 continues it's story in Brazil which he was hired as a personal body guard for a wealthy or rich family the "Branco family".Max Payne 3 has awesome actions cool bullet time and a memorable story.Now the single player campaign is good but wait till you see the multiplayer of this game because the multiplayer is fun.You got to form crews join crews and more.Hell there is even a gang wars in this game which two gangs fight each other and find out who will be the stronger gang.And there is also this death match where everyone in the map will fight each other or kill each other and the one with the most kills is declared the winner.And also you can customize your character in multiplayer which is good.The character development in this game is good,the voice acting in this game is really good,and even the world of Max Payne 3 is beautiful.You can interact with some items here which is like in the other Max Payne games.Max Payne 3 is awesome which deserves a 10/10 from me and all of you fans or not fans of this game buy this game or download this game .It is worth your money and you will have fun in this game. Expand
  51. Oct 24, 2013
    8
    Max Payne 3 may feel like a bit of a rampage at times when going up against an unrealistic immense amount of armed thugs, but Max Payne 3 still carries the fun and dark elements from the previous 2 games which is key while not taking itself to seriously
  52. Aug 18, 2013
    9
    Max Payne 3 I don't know where to start... The game is Excellent!
    Presentation:
    The game starts of with Max working as a body- guard for the Branco Family in Sao Paulo- Brazil with a new friend Raul Passos. During the game there are flashback missions which show how Max meets up with Raul. The story is fantastic with many plot- twists and memorable moments. Graphics are excellent and
    Max Payne 3 I don't know where to start... The game is Excellent!
    Presentation:
    The game starts of with Max working as a body- guard for the Branco Family in Sao Paulo- Brazil with a new friend Raul Passos. During the game there are flashback missions which show how Max meets up with Raul. The story is fantastic with many plot- twists and memorable moments. Graphics are excellent and voice acting is top notch.

    Gameplay:
    When the shooting starts you will find out why Max is such a bad-ass. The 'Bullet Time' and 'Shoot Dodge' mechanic from Max Payne 1 and 2 is back and heavily improved thanks to the R* Euphoria technology. Diving around and shooting accurately feels so good and when you kill the final enemy in the area, there is a kick-ass kill cam which looks and feels painfully satisfying. There are also pretty cool set pieces in the game such as shooting enemies from a moving boat with an LMG. There are a few game bugs here and there but aren't game breaking and the game can get a bit repetitive over time. Also the game sometimes throws a ridiculous amount of enemies at you which can be very frustrating.There is also a fantastic multiplayer mode with different game types and is very fun.

    Verdict: The game is a must buy if you are or aren't a Max Payne fan because it is just fantastic. The campaign is about 10 hours long and the multiplayer is simply awesome. You do not need to play the previous Max Payne games to understand the story of Max Payne 3.
    Expand
  53. Nov 21, 2013
    9
    Max Payne 3 improves upon the previous two games in two significant ways in terms of gameplay. Certainly its a graphical improvement, being on superior hardware but that isn't what made it stand out for me. First are the levels and their layouts. No more are you exclusively subjected to mostly corridors and cramped apartment building hallways. The locations are large and diverse, not onlyMax Payne 3 improves upon the previous two games in two significant ways in terms of gameplay. Certainly its a graphical improvement, being on superior hardware but that isn't what made it stand out for me. First are the levels and their layouts. No more are you exclusively subjected to mostly corridors and cramped apartment building hallways. The locations are large and diverse, not only providing lots of area to move or take cover but also gives enemy AI options on how to swarm you. The other major improvement is the cover system. A natural addition but gone are the days of strafing around corners as the only way to avoid enemy fire.

    Max Payne 3 is the best of a solid action series, creating a better gameplay experience while doing something fresh with its narrative by putting Max in new and unexpected locations and situations.
    Expand
  54. Sep 18, 2013
    8
    I never played any of the prior Max Payne games. Normally, I gravitate toward fantasy and sci-fi games. But Max Payne 3 got great reviews and was discounted on the PSN, so I figured I'd give it a try. And I'm really glad I did. The game is a noir third-person shooter about a down-on-his-luck ex-cop. At first, the noir vibe, the constant narration by the protagonist took some getting usedI never played any of the prior Max Payne games. Normally, I gravitate toward fantasy and sci-fi games. But Max Payne 3 got great reviews and was discounted on the PSN, so I figured I'd give it a try. And I'm really glad I did. The game is a noir third-person shooter about a down-on-his-luck ex-cop. At first, the noir vibe, the constant narration by the protagonist took some getting used to. By the time the second chapter rolled around, I was totally into the swing of it. Excellent voice acting and a compelling character pulled me through the story, which wasn't bad.

    Of course, this is a game, and what shines the most is the gameplay. It's got smooth cover mechanics and, once I got the hang of them, good shooting controls. Plus several options to enter bullet time and feel like a total badass. It was fun, well paced, and just about the right length.

    I recommend Max Payne to anyone that likes 3rd person shooters.
    Expand
  55. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    This game was ok but far from incredible. I did not like the whole being in South America for most of the game. Max should have stayed in the USA! and I did not like the story all that much.
  56. Sep 27, 2013
    8
    Max Payne 3 is a really violent game, the visuals are quite impressive, bullet time is the best thing about this game. Th first half of this game is slow and cant seem to find good pacing for the story, but during the second half is when this game really shines. This is a well thought out shooter that could have been a little better.
  57. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    At the very beginning it took me some time to really get into the game. I didn't touch it for a week or two after playing it for the first time but when I decided to give it a good go, the good things started to come along:

    The game is full of action, makes use of nice visual effects and has stunning soundtracks. The story is okay and it doesn't last too long or too short. The controls
    At the very beginning it took me some time to really get into the game. I didn't touch it for a week or two after playing it for the first time but when I decided to give it a good go, the good things started to come along:

    The game is full of action, makes use of nice visual effects and has stunning soundtracks. The story is okay and it doesn't last too long or too short. The controls are no problem to get used to but the slow-mo and hollywood diving can be abused to the max. HOWEVER, it suits perfectly if you only use it when you have to which is the way I used it. It's a game I'd happily play again on a higher difficulty.

    Along with a couple of other games, this is one of the best single player games I've played. One should not hestitate if he likes games with good storyline gameplays.
    Expand
  58. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    Now, I never played any Max Payne game in the past, but this actually earned my support as a newcomer of the series! The gunfights, awesome; the graphics, impressive; the cinematics, very movie-like; the voice acting, superb; the story.... well, to be honest, it wasn´t very good, however it was at least entertaining to play through, and I cared a lot for Max Payne in this bloody quest inNow, I never played any Max Payne game in the past, but this actually earned my support as a newcomer of the series! The gunfights, awesome; the graphics, impressive; the cinematics, very movie-like; the voice acting, superb; the story.... well, to be honest, it wasn´t very good, however it was at least entertaining to play through, and I cared a lot for Max Payne in this bloody quest in Brazil. The multiplayer in this game was fun: some of the matches I took part of were very chaotic, everybody using were using bullet time to each other... like a lot of times. Overall, a damn good game. Expand
  59. May 25, 2017
    10
    The perfect action game. I can't fault it, I've lost count of the amount of times I've played through it on different platforms.
    Max is the perfect protagonist, I love his flaws, I love his style, his voice, how he moves, his empathy, his apathy, his pain and his internal struggles.
    The narrative is mature and deep, it touches on multiple taboo subjects which are all too frequently
    The perfect action game. I can't fault it, I've lost count of the amount of times I've played through it on different platforms.
    Max is the perfect protagonist, I love his flaws, I love his style, his voice, how he moves, his empathy, his apathy, his pain and his internal struggles.
    The narrative is mature and deep, it touches on multiple taboo subjects which are all too frequently omitted from this type of medium.
    Health's soundtrack is beyond phenomenal, Tears is probably on of the best instrumentals of the past 20 years.
    The game itself is perfectly paced, the perfect length. The attention to detail is second to none with varied environments right down to Max's apartment and his gun case on the super yacht.
    I love this game and I'd take a Max Payne 4 over Red Dead 2 any day
    Gaming Heaven
    Expand
  60. Apr 10, 2015
    9
    Max Payne 3 is a divisive game. For many fans of the franchise, the game seems to have lost the hard-boiled charm which previous developer Remedy so heavily drenched the originals in. Gone is the gritty yet occasionally cheesy voice-acting. Gone is the melodrama and cliche flowing black trenchcoats. In their stead, Rockstar has replaced the cliche dialogue with gritty so-bad-it's-goodMax Payne 3 is a divisive game. For many fans of the franchise, the game seems to have lost the hard-boiled charm which previous developer Remedy so heavily drenched the originals in. Gone is the gritty yet occasionally cheesy voice-acting. Gone is the melodrama and cliche flowing black trenchcoats. In their stead, Rockstar has replaced the cliche dialogue with gritty so-bad-it's-good dialogue (with significantly better voice-actors), and a "Man on Fire" aesthetic and setting. To me, this departure is welcome. Yet, I understand the nostalgia driving so much of the vitriol toward this game.

    Gameplay-wise, Max Payne 3 is excellent. Rockstar keeps their excellent targeting reticule from RDR allowing for pin-point accuracy. The simplicity of the small dot doesn't hide characters or obfuscate the system; it's clean and simple. Shoot-dodging and going into bullet time are easy to get a handle on and feel excellent. Overall, Max Payne 3 is a great-feeling game.

    Story-wise, the game builds slowly, adhering rigidly to noir film conventions. It bubbles up like a stew steadily until it is bursting with intrigue and then stumbles for a moment before closing strong with one of my favorite endings to a videogame ever. In conclusion, Max Payne 3 is extraordinarily strong from a narrative standpoint, despite one or two minor foibles.

    In the end I give Max Payne 3 a 4.5/5 stars; a truly stellar experience that should not be missed by fans of the genre.
    Expand
  61. May 15, 2018
    9
    A weaker story, but the game-play here is fantastic and greatly improved. It's longer and a complete blast to play.
  62. Sep 1, 2015
    8
    İt's moving like a movie,the pyhsics are really great in this game.İt's really hard and good.But i think that Bioshock İnfinite is lot better.İt is my advice.But you might buy this game and slo-mo is AWESOME!!!
  63. Oct 29, 2017
    8
    Un auténtico juegazo. Me encanta toda la acción, toda la historia, todos los escenarios. Los logros son extremadamente difíciles, hasta te emocionas cuando sacas uno. Online inutil.
  64. Sep 24, 2017
    10
    This game is a really fun 3rd person shooter great story and single player compaign along with a fun multiplayer once you have finished the story the graphics are amazing some of the best feeling weapons the only problem is in single payer there might be two many cut scenes for some people but if you get invested into the story they are not a problem I really recommend this game
  65. Jul 22, 2017
    9
    un buen juego con una gran entretencion pero no mucha duracion ,mantiene la esencia de un Max payne pero fuera de nueva york,tiene mucha accion y hace que valga cada centabo ,excelente y con buena dificultad
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Jul 9, 2012
    90
    An engaging story, extremely satisfying shoot-outs phenomenal graphics turn Max Payne 3 undoubtedly into one of the best shooters of 2012. It's a shame that Rockstar doesn't seem to know where to place their checkpoints.
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    90
    Max Payne 3 brings back the depressed and trigger-happy former cop, in a new and surprisingly entertaining chapter of his life. Rockstar has brought the story to São Paulo, equipped Max with a few new tricks and made everything look a bit more polished and updated. The addition of a well-rounded multiplayer proves to be a stroke of genious that adds loads of extra hours of fun gameplay.
  3. Jun 22, 2012
    70
    Max Payne 3 is an excellent farewell, but ultimately it's not as relevant as it was in the past. It has nothing to teach to the "new" shooters.