Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 611 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In addition to an expansive single-player campaign, Max Payne 3 is the first entry in the series to introduce a thorough multiplayer experience. In a unique twist, Max Payne 3 multiplayer delivers an experience that dynamically alters maps and mode progression for all players in a match. Along with traditional multiplayer modes, Max Payne 3 also includes a deep reward and leveling system, persistent clans and multiple strategic load-out options. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. A beautifully told, smartly paced, and relentlessly addictive shooter. [July 2012, p.70]
  2. May 21, 2012
    94
    The checkpoints aren't that well-placed, which may lead to some frustration along the way... that's the only complaint we have. What we actually want to say is that Max Payne 3 is a fantastic shooter with an unseen filmic flair that even holds up nicely in comparison with Uncharted 3. And that's saying A LOT.
  3. May 14, 2012
    90
    The gameplay is simple yet satisfying, but it's entirely in the service of a strongly-authored narrative. Players aren't at the liberty to roam, to explore, or to shake things up. Some might find this too controlling, but in return for your freedom, you're rewarded with a mature genre piece which is also a finely-realised character study.
  4. May 16, 2012
    90
    Max Payne 3 is a rip-roaring success on many levels. It relentlessly hammers at your emotions and nerves and keeps you perched on the edge of your seat. The borderline unfair difficulty towards the end of the campaign, noticeable issues with the shootdodge, and a couple minor glitches notwithstanding, this is one hell of an experience.
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    90
    An engaging story, extremely satisfying shoot-outs phenomenal graphics turn Max Payne 3 undoubtedly into one of the best shooters of 2012. It's a shame that Rockstar doesn't seem to know where to place their checkpoints.
  6. May 21, 2012
    85
    Max Payne 3 is not as revolutionary as the original, still this third-person shooter is one of the best games of 2012 so far. With it's phenomenal animations, suberb shoot-outs and it's breathtaking singleplayer it's a must have for shooterfans. Apart from a couple asperities as annoying checkpoints and a lack of variety, there is little to complain about Max Payne 3.
  7. May 16, 2012
    70
    If you label a game Max Payne you should put Max Payne in it. I loved Max, because he had style and character – like a good whiskey. But this tastes like a colorful cocktail and plays like an explosive military shooter with Latinas in their stringtangas dancing to the bullet-staccato. Nonetheless you'll get solid entertainment with cynical comments, convincing digital actors and the occasional bullet in the head.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 194
  1. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    Max Payne 3 Review
    Gameplay is Good and fun to play 10/10
    Story is Dark 10/10
    The effects for the cutscenes are good Single player is Long and
    hard 10/10
    Soundtrack is Good and credits song is awesome 10/10
    Multiplayer is so fun 10/10

    Max Payne 3 10/10
    Expand
  2. May 27, 2012
    10
    This game is just an amazing third person shooter that has an awesome cinematic campaign with cool cutscenes and some decent multiplayer and arcade modes that will keep you coming back. Expand
  3. May 15, 2012
    10
    I've been waiting for years. Max Payne 3 is a fantastic game by Rockstar, the company that has been on quite a roll for the past few years. However, their shooting mechanics have never been that great. MP3 changes that, because the mechanics are excellent. Bullet Time and shoot-dodge both work the same way as before, but even better. MP3 has a solid story, great voice acting, pretty graphics, and amazing animations. Dual-wielding has never been better! It's not open world like RDR or GTA 4, nor will it win as many awards, but gameplay-wise, it's much ahead. Expand
  4. Jul 16, 2012
    9
    This is a really good followup game. Iv played all the Max Payne games and this stays true to the franchise, the grapics, game play and story are good and the decent multiplayer is just the icing on the cake. This game is a must buy if you like shooters and good storytelling Expand
  5. May 19, 2012
    8
    I'm about 3 chapters in and the story is great. I pill poppin' drunk Max Payne is on a new job in Brazil. With all the heat Max needs a drunk or two or three... I can't judge the multiplayer cause I never played it yet, but I don't think from what I seen of people playing it online it will be very popular for very long. Not as good as the story mode. The story mode offers a lot more replay value. Expand
  6. May 25, 2012
    8
    I give Max Payne 3 a 4/5. What a fantastic game. Story is amazing, gameplay is a lot of fun, and the multiplayer is beyond addictive. I had never played a max Payne game before but decided to pick it up because I am a huge fan of rockstar. Very glad I bought this game...wish I hadn't also bought Dragons Dogma. Collapse Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2012
    0
    I can not begin to even explain how much I hate this game. Considering how much I hated being a fat, unemployed European immigrant in Grand Theft Auto 4 I thought perhaps Rockstar was beginning to lose their skill. The shooting mechanics in my opinion are incredibly poorly implemented in conjunction with the cover system. Bad guys abound and all you have is your gun, your balls and a ton of cover, sounds easy right? Instead as soon as you pop out to take a shot you're immediately getting ripped apart. That wouldn't bother me so much if, say, you could actually kill an enemy with just a few bullets there by limiting your need to pop out of cover. But no, you can dump 3/4's your magazine, watch the goon go down and he'll still get back up. Cover also in this game is pretty poor. Sure it covers and protects you while you frantically try to figure out what to do since that last guy took almost all your ammo and there are 3 more people to kill, but it literally takes an act of God to reposition yourself since you literally have to be standing in front of the cover to actually utilize it. Worse, I guess sticking to realism about Max's age means you move like turtles **** Bullet time is a bad joke, you move slow as hell already but go ahead and activate that bullet time so you can take a few quick shots while doing your best imitation of "slower than molasses". It doesn't even help mitigate or dampen the damage you take so that moron at the end of the hall will go ahead and aerate your internal organs for you. There is no way around it in this game, you have to fight tactically but it doesn't feel like an option at all. The initial shooting controls also completely clash with any other shooter type game I can remember playing.

    Max is a morally bankrupt, unscrupulous, cynical drunk and has probably punched a couple of babies in his day. I don't get at all how Rockstar thought this was the direction to take Max as a person, I was literally praying someone would permanently kill him just so he could stop hating everything and sobbing about his past. The only 2 decent things about this game to me are that I bought it for under 20 bucks and the graphics are pretty good. But this is all solely my opinion.
    Expand

See all 194 User Reviews