Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 642 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In addition to an expansive single-player campaign, Max Payne 3 is the first entry in the series to introduce a thorough multiplayer experience. In a unique twist, Max Payne 3 multiplayer delivers an experience that dynamically alters maps and mode progression for all players in a match. Along with traditional multiplayer modes, Max Payne 3 also includes a deep reward and leveling system, persistent clans and multiple strategic load-out options. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. A beautifully told, smartly paced, and relentlessly addictive shooter. [July 2012, p.70]
  2. May 21, 2012
    94
    The checkpoints aren't that well-placed, which may lead to some frustration along the way... that's the only complaint we have. What we actually want to say is that Max Payne 3 is a fantastic shooter with an unseen filmic flair that even holds up nicely in comparison with Uncharted 3. And that's saying A LOT.
  3. May 14, 2012
    90
    The gameplay is simple yet satisfying, but it's entirely in the service of a strongly-authored narrative. Players aren't at the liberty to roam, to explore, or to shake things up. Some might find this too controlling, but in return for your freedom, you're rewarded with a mature genre piece which is also a finely-realised character study.
  4. May 16, 2012
    90
    Max Payne 3 is a rip-roaring success on many levels. It relentlessly hammers at your emotions and nerves and keeps you perched on the edge of your seat. The borderline unfair difficulty towards the end of the campaign, noticeable issues with the shootdodge, and a couple minor glitches notwithstanding, this is one hell of an experience.
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    90
    An engaging story, extremely satisfying shoot-outs phenomenal graphics turn Max Payne 3 undoubtedly into one of the best shooters of 2012. It's a shame that Rockstar doesn't seem to know where to place their checkpoints.
  6. May 21, 2012
    85
    Max Payne 3 is not as revolutionary as the original, still this third-person shooter is one of the best games of 2012 so far. With it's phenomenal animations, suberb shoot-outs and it's breathtaking singleplayer it's a must have for shooterfans. Apart from a couple asperities as annoying checkpoints and a lack of variety, there is little to complain about Max Payne 3.
  7. May 16, 2012
    70
    If you label a game Max Payne you should put Max Payne in it. I loved Max, because he had style and character – like a good whiskey. But this tastes like a colorful cocktail and plays like an explosive military shooter with Latinas in their stringtangas dancing to the bullet-staccato. Nonetheless you'll get solid entertainment with cynical comments, convincing digital actors and the occasional bullet in the head.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 199
  1. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    I watched its trailer for about 4 to 5 times..each time i watched its trailer i became desperate to buy this game...and yea i Love this Game, Rockstar really worked Hard on this one .. and they proved (to me) that they r the best game-makers in the whole damn world!! Expand
  2. May 17, 2012
    10
    sure that the 360 version is superior because all the multiplatform games are best on the 360 but is ok that the litle ps3 can enjoy max payne 3 so ok the 360 version is incredible but im sure that the ps3 also looks kinda good enjoy the payne Expand
  3. May 15, 2012
    10
    I've been waiting for years. Max Payne 3 is a fantastic game by Rockstar, the company that has been on quite a roll for the past few years. However, their shooting mechanics have never been that great. MP3 changes that, because the mechanics are excellent. Bullet Time and shoot-dodge both work the same way as before, but even better. MP3 has a solid story, great voice acting, pretty graphics, and amazing animations. Dual-wielding has never been better! It's not open world like RDR or GTA 4, nor will it win as many awards, but gameplay-wise, it's much ahead. Expand
  4. Jul 14, 2012
    9
    Max Payne 3 is a great game. There is no other way of saying it. I found myself immersed into the incredible story it tells. I only have one problem with it. The shooting got a bit dull by the end. It's great fun, but towards the end I needed to take a break. Nothing new was added. It was all the same over and over again. I loved the game, but just had a few problems with having to play almost the same way all the way through. The game's story is it's strong point. And you have a lot of "Oh my god" moments, so the whole experience was great and worth it! Expand
  5. May 24, 2012
    8
    For such a pretty game with awesome graphics, it would be kinda cool if you were given more to do than just shoot people over and over again. That's really all you do. Shoot people. Mostly brown people, but it's Brazil so whaddya gonna do. The themes of recovery and relapse are great, but Rockstar has still yet to truly breakthrough the great wall of cliches, which are offered in abundance especially during Max's groan-inducing soliloquies. "he's a hard boiled cop... On the edge. Mmm... Indeed. Especially if "the edge" is a tolerable cop drama on ABC. Max Payne 3's only real innovation is achieved through the inventive visual effects, which are constantly skidding into vibrant blurs of color, as if in a drunken haze, but these effects have no clear relation to Max's sobriety or, really, anything besides looking really cool. The rest of it has all been done before and better, most notably in Rockstar's own LA Noire' which gave u a lot to do in addition to just shooting people in the face. Max Payne 3 is nevertheless a well made title that at least gives you a lot of what it offers - shooting lots a people. Expand
  6. May 23, 2012
    8
    Pros Great Game Overall Great Voice acting
    Good Graphics
    Good Detail
    Nice Physics Great Transition from Cut scene's to Gameplay
    No Ingame
    Loading screens. Cons
    Feels outdated Gameplay mechanics can sometimes be frustrating checkpoints are extremely frustrating.
    Multiplayer isn't that fun.
    Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2014
    0
    This Game is more like a movie than a game. I buy video games to play them not watch a cut scene for 10 plus minutes. If I wanted to watch a movie that is what I would buy. This is just programers being cheap and not doing there job. It is a lot easier to make a movie with little or no interaction and use it as game filler to make it seem longer to the player. I feel very ripped off I bought a game NOT A MOVIE!!!!!!! Expand

See all 199 User Reviews