Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 650 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In addition to an expansive single-player campaign, Max Payne 3 is the first entry in the series to introduce a thorough multiplayer experience. In a unique twist, Max Payne 3 multiplayer delivers an experience that dynamically alters maps and mode progression for all players in a match. Along with traditional multiplayer modes, Max Payne 3 also includes a deep reward and leveling system, persistent clans and multiple strategic load-out options. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. A beautifully told, smartly paced, and relentlessly addictive shooter. [July 2012, p.70]
  2. May 21, 2012
    94
    The checkpoints aren't that well-placed, which may lead to some frustration along the way... that's the only complaint we have. What we actually want to say is that Max Payne 3 is a fantastic shooter with an unseen filmic flair that even holds up nicely in comparison with Uncharted 3. And that's saying A LOT.
  3. May 14, 2012
    90
    The gameplay is simple yet satisfying, but it's entirely in the service of a strongly-authored narrative. Players aren't at the liberty to roam, to explore, or to shake things up. Some might find this too controlling, but in return for your freedom, you're rewarded with a mature genre piece which is also a finely-realised character study.
  4. May 16, 2012
    90
    Max Payne 3 is a rip-roaring success on many levels. It relentlessly hammers at your emotions and nerves and keeps you perched on the edge of your seat. The borderline unfair difficulty towards the end of the campaign, noticeable issues with the shootdodge, and a couple minor glitches notwithstanding, this is one hell of an experience.
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    90
    An engaging story, extremely satisfying shoot-outs phenomenal graphics turn Max Payne 3 undoubtedly into one of the best shooters of 2012. It's a shame that Rockstar doesn't seem to know where to place their checkpoints.
  6. May 21, 2012
    85
    Max Payne 3 is not as revolutionary as the original, still this third-person shooter is one of the best games of 2012 so far. With it's phenomenal animations, suberb shoot-outs and it's breathtaking singleplayer it's a must have for shooterfans. Apart from a couple asperities as annoying checkpoints and a lack of variety, there is little to complain about Max Payne 3.
  7. May 16, 2012
    70
    If you label a game Max Payne you should put Max Payne in it. I loved Max, because he had style and character – like a good whiskey. But this tastes like a colorful cocktail and plays like an explosive military shooter with Latinas in their stringtangas dancing to the bullet-staccato. Nonetheless you'll get solid entertainment with cynical comments, convincing digital actors and the occasional bullet in the head.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 200
  1. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    I watched its trailer for about 4 to 5 times..each time i watched its trailer i became desperate to buy this game...and yea i Love this Game, Rockstar really worked Hard on this one .. and they proved (to me) that they r the best game-makers in the whole damn world!! Expand
  2. May 17, 2012
    10
    sure that the 360 version is superior because all the multiplatform games are best on the 360 but is ok that the litle ps3 can enjoy max payne 3 so ok the 360 version is incredible but im sure that the ps3 also looks kinda good enjoy the payne Expand
  3. May 15, 2012
    10
    I've been waiting for years. Max Payne 3 is a fantastic game by Rockstar, the company that has been on quite a roll for the past few years. However, their shooting mechanics have never been that great. MP3 changes that, because the mechanics are excellent. Bullet Time and shoot-dodge both work the same way as before, but even better. MP3 has a solid story, great voice acting, pretty graphics, and amazing animations. Dual-wielding has never been better! It's not open world like RDR or GTA 4, nor will it win as many awards, but gameplay-wise, it's much ahead. Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Max Payne 3 is a fantastic game!!! Multiplayer is the best!!! Great story and gameplay. The multiplayer looks like a Red Dead Rendenption, but a Rockstar make a good job and the multiplayer of Max Payne 3 is much better yet. Expand
  5. May 19, 2012
    8
    I'm about 3 chapters in and the story is great. I pill poppin' drunk Max Payne is on a new job in Brazil. With all the heat Max needs a drunk or two or three... I can't judge the multiplayer cause I never played it yet, but I don't think from what I seen of people playing it online it will be very popular for very long. Not as good as the story mode. The story mode offers a lot more replay value. Expand
  6. May 25, 2012
    8
    I give Max Payne 3 a 4/5. What a fantastic game. Story is amazing, gameplay is a lot of fun, and the multiplayer is beyond addictive. I had never played a max Payne game before but decided to pick it up because I am a huge fan of rockstar. Very glad I bought this game...wish I hadn't also bought Dragons Dogma. Collapse Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2014
    0
    This Game is more like a movie than a game. I buy video games to play them not watch a cut scene for 10 plus minutes. If I wanted to watch a movie that is what I would buy. This is just programers being cheap and not doing there job. It is a lot easier to make a movie with little or no interaction and use it as game filler to make it seem longer to the player. I feel very ripped off I bought a game NOT A MOVIE!!!!!!! Expand

See all 200 User Reviews