Max Payne 3 PlayStation 3

Max Payne 3 Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 781 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In addition to an expansive single-player campaign, Max Payne 3 is the first entry in the series to introduce a thorough multiplayer experience. In a unique twist, Max Payne 3 multiplayer delivers an experience that dynamically alters maps and mode progression for all players in a match.In addition to an expansive single-player campaign, Max Payne 3 is the first entry in the series to introduce a thorough multiplayer experience. In a unique twist, Max Payne 3 multiplayer delivers an experience that dynamically alters maps and mode progression for all players in a match. Along with traditional multiplayer modes, Max Payne 3 also includes a deep reward and leveling system, persistent clans and multiple strategic load-out options. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    May 30, 2012
    100
    A beautifully told, smartly paced, and relentlessly addictive shooter. [July 2012, p.70]
  2. May 21, 2012
    94
    The checkpoints aren't that well-placed, which may lead to some frustration along the way... that's the only complaint we have. What we actually want to say is that Max Payne 3 is a fantastic shooter with an unseen filmic flair that even holds up nicely in comparison with Uncharted 3. And that's saying A LOT.
  3. May 14, 2012
    90
    The gameplay is simple yet satisfying, but it's entirely in the service of a strongly-authored narrative. Players aren't at the liberty to roam, to explore, or to shake things up. Some might find this too controlling, but in return for your freedom, you're rewarded with a mature genre piece which is also a finely-realised character study.
  4. May 16, 2012
    90
    Max Payne 3 is a rip-roaring success on many levels. It relentlessly hammers at your emotions and nerves and keeps you perched on the edge of your seat. The borderline unfair difficulty towards the end of the campaign, noticeable issues with the shootdodge, and a couple minor glitches notwithstanding, this is one hell of an experience.
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    90
    An engaging story, extremely satisfying shoot-outs phenomenal graphics turn Max Payne 3 undoubtedly into one of the best shooters of 2012. It's a shame that Rockstar doesn't seem to know where to place their checkpoints.
  6. May 21, 2012
    85
    Max Payne 3 is not as revolutionary as the original, still this third-person shooter is one of the best games of 2012 so far. With it's phenomenal animations, suberb shoot-outs and it's breathtaking singleplayer it's a must have for shooterfans. Apart from a couple asperities as annoying checkpoints and a lack of variety, there is little to complain about Max Payne 3.
  7. May 16, 2012
    70
    If you label a game Max Payne you should put Max Payne in it. I loved Max, because he had style and character – like a good whiskey. But this tastes like a colorful cocktail and plays like an explosive military shooter with Latinas in their stringtangas dancing to the bullet-staccato. Nonetheless you'll get solid entertainment with cynical comments, convincing digital actors and the occasional bullet in the head.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 214
  1. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I give this game a 10 because i rarely finish a game thinking without thinking 'They could of added that' or 'This coulda been different'.I give this game a 10 because i rarely finish a game thinking without thinking 'They could of added that' or 'This coulda been different'. Incredible game from start to end. I like the merge of load screens with cut scenes and other developers should follow suit as you're not just staring at a bar filling up waiting for the next part, which loses you momentum. Kinda like, shooting - drama - drama - Shooting - -------Wait please----- Ok, now shoot again..Really is a great game in every way. The music that kicks in on the airport level is just too much! Really pulls you into it. Must buy. Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    the best game of the yearthe best game of the year oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa Expand
  3. May 15, 2012
    10
    I've been waiting for years. Max Payne 3 is a fantastic game by Rockstar, the company that has been on quite a roll for the past few years.I've been waiting for years. Max Payne 3 is a fantastic game by Rockstar, the company that has been on quite a roll for the past few years. However, their shooting mechanics have never been that great. MP3 changes that, because the mechanics are excellent. Bullet Time and shoot-dodge both work the same way as before, but even better. MP3 has a solid story, great voice acting, pretty graphics, and amazing animations. Dual-wielding has never been better! It's not open world like RDR or GTA 4, nor will it win as many awards, but gameplay-wise, it's much ahead. Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    Max Payne 3 destroys the first two and honestly may actually be one of the best video games I've played in quite a while. Max Payne 3 playsMax Payne 3 destroys the first two and honestly may actually be one of the best video games I've played in quite a while. Max Payne 3 plays much like the past ones. You run around through the environment and shoot enemies while diving in slow-motion or engaging in bullet time just by standing. The first thing I feel I need to address is the game's presentation. This is a big game and Max and Rockstar are both aware of that. It has an absolutely thrilling story that is tightly woven around each character. The characters are all really likeable even if a lot of them are traitors. These aren't just one dimensional bad guys that shoot at you for no reason. There is a reason you just have to wait a while and find out. My favorite character was Da Silva. He's a member of the Sao Paulo police force who Max ends up working with towards the end of the game. He's also brilliantly voiced, but then again so is everybody in this game. The whole scheme of things keeps getting bigger until the unbelievable finale. I also have no doubts that this is one of the best looking games of this generation so far. The attention to detail is amazing. Every single thing has been given complete attention to give you one of the most immersive linear game worlds you've ever been in. There is a multiplayer component and though I do enjoy it I feel that the controls for it are really clunky. It's a lot of fun anyways though. Really I only have two complaints with this game and they are kind of connected. If you play for long enough you'll notice that the game is relentlessly difficult on harder difficulties. The other complaint is the horrendous checkpoint system. I once had to shoot my way out of a room walk towards a door where five other enemies were kill them, go into another room where 3 more enemies were, then walk into a huge area with another 5 enemies, and then walk into a bar that was being held by 5 more enemies and then I finally hit a checkpoint. Not to mention there were no painkillers in between there besides the ones you end up spawning with after you die so much. Other than those minor flaws and the somewhat clunky multiplayer it is a fantastic game. Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2014
    8
    MP3 delivers great shootouts, probably the best I have ever played. The story is good and the setting is new and fresh. The game fells alsoMP3 delivers great shootouts, probably the best I have ever played. The story is good and the setting is new and fresh. The game fells also like a AAA Action movie blockbuster, with the cutscenes and the bullet time events put in.
    However its to linear and beside shooting you are not doing much. I know its a shooter but every 2 steps you make you have to take 15 guys out. Thats to much.
    Still enjoyed it.
    Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    In a market riddled with bullet time infested shooters, Max Payne 3 shows how to do it properly. The gunplay is very solid, though not withoutIn a market riddled with bullet time infested shooters, Max Payne 3 shows how to do it properly. The gunplay is very solid, though not without flaws. I must say that being pulled away from my character every 4 seconds to get a close up slow motion view of the poor fellow who I just gave a 9mm lobotomy is quite annoying, as was the feeling that bullet time was something you just used to quickly adjust your aim. The storyline of the game, while for some maybe a tad too cinematic and dramatic, is true to the franchise.

    The game also features quite a good soundtrack, and they did save the best for last as the final mission of the game features a very tension inducing track to complement your fight. The multiplayer portion of the game was surprisingly well done, though granted nothing that different from the pack it did stand to reason that many of the mechanics they have do give you a reason to try it.

    Overall, a satisfying game that I do recommend playing.
    Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2014
    0
    Esse jogo é péssimo. Ele se resume a 3 coisas. Andar pra frente, atirar em um grupo de inimigos e assistir cutscenes
    Não há liberdade alguma,
    Esse jogo é péssimo. Ele se resume a 3 coisas. Andar pra frente, atirar em um grupo de inimigos e assistir cutscenes
    Não há liberdade alguma, mapas completamente lineares, sem variedade de objetivos/missões, sem variedade de inimigos, não há nada para se explorar o jogo, nem quebra-cabeças, nem passagens secretas nada!
    Extremamente repetitivo, 2 minutos de tiroteio seguidos de 5 minutos de cutscenes até o fim do jogo.
    Isso não significa que ele seja fácil, ele tem muitos níveis de dificuldades podendo ficar bem difícil. Mas ele é repetitivo e tedioso de mais.
    Os únicos pontos positivos seriam a história, os gráficos... Mas se for para comprar um jogo que só tem histórias e gráficos compensa mais assistir um filme ou ler um livro
    Expand

See all 214 User Reviews