Medal of Honor: Warfighter PlayStation 3

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 253 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 87 out of 253
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 24, 2012
    1
    I wish only people who actually bought the game could review this, because most would say it is terrible. There is a reason EA handcuffed reviewers with a day one update, the game is actually worse than the 2010 MOH. It continues to try and be Call of Duty, contains a pathetic 3 hour campaign, and has multiplayer that won't even dent Battlefield 3. Keep playing BF3, or wait for Black OpsI wish only people who actually bought the game could review this, because most would say it is terrible. There is a reason EA handcuffed reviewers with a day one update, the game is actually worse than the 2010 MOH. It continues to try and be Call of Duty, contains a pathetic 3 hour campaign, and has multiplayer that won't even dent Battlefield 3. Keep playing BF3, or wait for Black Ops 2, when a game tries to be something else you might as well play that something else. Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2012
    0
    This is the worst multi-player game I have ever played. I said after the first one they wouldn't get me again but I just wanted something different then COD. The interface sucks it spawned me out of the map a couple of times and the gun attachments WTF?. If anybody says this game is any good either works for EA or just plain old hates COD. I don't really prefer COD but after this POS gameThis is the worst multi-player game I have ever played. I said after the first one they wouldn't get me again but I just wanted something different then COD. The interface sucks it spawned me out of the map a couple of times and the gun attachments WTF?. If anybody says this game is any good either works for EA or just plain old hates COD. I don't really prefer COD but after this POS game it's all I have left in the shooter genre. Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2012
    4
    Mediocre game with just enough 'shooting and explosions' to make it tolerable for one play-through. I really like the first MOH reboot but this one had a story arc that absolutely went nowhere. Unnecessary confusing without any emotional payoff (you're pretty much placed in one scenario after another to shoot a multitude of baddies - rinse and repeat). Plus, what's up with all the doorMediocre game with just enough 'shooting and explosions' to make it tolerable for one play-through. I really like the first MOH reboot but this one had a story arc that absolutely went nowhere. Unnecessary confusing without any emotional payoff (you're pretty much placed in one scenario after another to shoot a multitude of baddies - rinse and repeat). Plus, what's up with all the door breaching??? I've never in breached that many doors in any FPS! The developers literally made it a bullet point feature in the game.

    There were some very off putting technical issues with the game including not being able to advance in the single player campaign without triggering the proper sequence of events. The AI for enemies and allies both were broken (i.e. just stood there doing nothing while the target was 2 feet away; not moving up, clipping into walls, getting lost from traveling from one set piece to another, etc). Multi-player was a mess with hard to understand UI and ranking system. Map layout is very confining that funneled players into tight corridor zones where people would just camp. Hit detection is also suspect and uneven (sometimes takes 2 shots to take a guy out - sometimes a full clip wouldn't do it). Do yourself a favor and rent it first before putting money in to buy this. I had higher expectations for this game and it let me down big time. From all the competition of modern military FPS's on the market today (BF3, CODs, Bad Company, etc), you would think the devs would put more time to really make this shine from the rest. Alas, we get a product destined for the bargain bin in about 2 months.
    Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2012
    4
    I was surprised at the user reviews on the site--this is one of the times the paid critics got the game scores just about dead on. This outing falls somewhere between mediocre and outright lousy.
    The firefights are repetitive and boring; the whole game felt like running one of the shooting galleries in the MW series over and over for that 3rd star. And the character models were awful--was
    I was surprised at the user reviews on the site--this is one of the times the paid critics got the game scores just about dead on. This outing falls somewhere between mediocre and outright lousy.
    The firefights are repetitive and boring; the whole game felt like running one of the shooting galleries in the MW series over and over for that 3rd star. And the character models were awful--was this really the Frostbite engine from BF3? The emotional family elements they tried to graft on to the story might have worked better if the main character's wife and daughter hadn't looked like hideous mutant people. There are hundreds of other modern military shooters out there--I recommend you play ANY other one of them.
    Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2012
    3
    Ok right from the start i will tell you, i am not a big fan of multiplayer , the single player experience is the thing that i like most in a game. That is why i hate this game, my god only 6 hours campaign are you kidding me EA, you could put a little more effort! The graphics are beautiful, but camon everything else is the same thing that you already saw in a FPS shooter nowadays.Ok right from the start i will tell you, i am not a big fan of multiplayer , the single player experience is the thing that i like most in a game. That is why i hate this game, my god only 6 hours campaign are you kidding me EA, you could put a little more effort! The graphics are beautiful, but camon everything else is the same thing that you already saw in a FPS shooter nowadays. Extreme linearity, hand holding game (telling you what to do, who to kill, where to go), regenerating health i dont feel like a soldier in this game i fell like a super hero or the terminator. Buy this game if you only want the same thing from a fps with good graphics. Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2012
    1
    A loathsome and bitter disappointment. I don't typically pre-order and I don't typically buy new games but I so loved the previous MOH that I was willing to risk my precious duckets on the possibility of an incredible gaming experience. Two words: NEVER. AGAIN. The graphics were average, the gameplay was wobbly unfocused and cumbersome (the breach choices? Really?) and the story was asA loathsome and bitter disappointment. I don't typically pre-order and I don't typically buy new games but I so loved the previous MOH that I was willing to risk my precious duckets on the possibility of an incredible gaming experience. Two words: NEVER. AGAIN. The graphics were average, the gameplay was wobbly unfocused and cumbersome (the breach choices? Really?) and the story was as riveting as a room temperature cup of chamomile tea. Oh, and Danger Close... You kick a door, you shoulder a door, you ram a door, hell, you even blow a door off it's hinges, but I have NEVER, in 20 years in the field, used an effing tomahawk to do a fast breach. Seriously, it will not work. Whoever did your technical advising on that part of it, get your money back.

    As far as sniping, well, real sniping is hard, video game sniping shouldn't be. A gamer shouldn't have to have a BDC calculation sheet to play the game. This thing is NOT worth the price of admission, and it's going the hell back to Game Stop tomorrow morning.
    Expand
  7. Nov 4, 2012
    3
    The multiplayer bugs that cripples this game have not been fixed. The main, and huge, problem is still VOIP (the voice chat). It simply doesn't work. Here's a basic tip for you, EA and Danger Close; When you make a multiplayer game, make sure that the players can play with eachother. I wish that VOIP was the only problem but there are scores of other bugs that needle at your gamingThe multiplayer bugs that cripples this game have not been fixed. The main, and huge, problem is still VOIP (the voice chat). It simply doesn't work. Here's a basic tip for you, EA and Danger Close; When you make a multiplayer game, make sure that the players can play with eachother. I wish that VOIP was the only problem but there are scores of other bugs that needle at your gaming experience, fireteams splitting up, game freezing, servers crashing, tons of graphic bugs and so on but the lack of a working VOIP is what kills it. Expand
  8. Oct 31, 2012
    2
    What a disapointment, their are so much better games out there,i.e. Dishonored, Kill Zone,Ghostrecon, and so on. Why programers want to make game that are not fun, too hard even on easy I do not get or want, how about a chllange But FUN???! dON T WASTE YOUR MONEY
  9. Oct 27, 2012
    4
    I tried to like this and look past the negative reviews, but I have to be honest: this game is not worth the price of admission. I remember how terribly disappointed I was when I started playing the first reboot (Medal of Honor, 2010); however, I kept going and I had a decent enough time that I didn't feel genuinely ripped off - much like how I'm feeling right now. I have bought 20+ EAI tried to like this and look past the negative reviews, but I have to be honest: this game is not worth the price of admission. I remember how terribly disappointed I was when I started playing the first reboot (Medal of Honor, 2010); however, I kept going and I had a decent enough time that I didn't feel genuinely ripped off - much like how I'm feeling right now. I have bought 20+ EA games in my life and I usually disregard the naysayers that suggest that the company gouges its supporters. This time, I have never felt it so evident that a product was rushed to take the money of those impatiently waiting for the new Halo or COD or, in my case, Assassin's Creed. Thank goodness EB Games offers the full price of the game back as a trade-in credit, minus a dollar for every day after the release date. Wait until this game is $20 if you HAVE to try it. Cheers. Expand
  10. Oct 29, 2012
    0
    I cannot comprehend how anyone can can give this game any positive review whatsoever. The only thing I can figure out is they must not have ever played any other FPS games in their lives. It is totally unplayable online and the single player...well. In my opinion the last decent FPS EA did was BF Bad Company 2. I will stick to COD even though it has become a very repetitive series. SideI cannot comprehend how anyone can can give this game any positive review whatsoever. The only thing I can figure out is they must not have ever played any other FPS games in their lives. It is totally unplayable online and the single player...well. In my opinion the last decent FPS EA did was BF Bad Company 2. I will stick to COD even though it has become a very repetitive series. Side note, I was never a fan of COD, but the garbage in BF3 and MOH last year have me trapped in the last decent FPS game. Expand
  11. Nov 1, 2012
    4
    Medal of Honor: Warfighter has amazing visuals, and as usual, a fun multiplayer but when you nail it down to the game itself, it isn't worth your time or money. The game is like a crappy version of Battlefield 3 with a load of bugs and a terrible campaign. The story is forgettable and is not well written at all. I'd actually recommend this to any massive EA fan because of the graphics andMedal of Honor: Warfighter has amazing visuals, and as usual, a fun multiplayer but when you nail it down to the game itself, it isn't worth your time or money. The game is like a crappy version of Battlefield 3 with a load of bugs and a terrible campaign. The story is forgettable and is not well written at all. I'd actually recommend this to any massive EA fan because of the graphics and it's not a terrible game, but casual gamers stay away. Expand
  12. Oct 28, 2012
    3
    As an avid gamer of the original 'Medal of Honor' 2010 title, I awaited the 'Warfighter' sequel excitedly. After several hours of online gameplay with 'Warfighter', I am left feeling incredibly disappointed, unfulfilled and saddened. The elements that made the orignal game so addicitve to play online have been completely omitted; the simplicity, the graphics, the scorechain accumulationAs an avid gamer of the original 'Medal of Honor' 2010 title, I awaited the 'Warfighter' sequel excitedly. After several hours of online gameplay with 'Warfighter', I am left feeling incredibly disappointed, unfulfilled and saddened. The elements that made the orignal game so addicitve to play online have been completely omitted; the simplicity, the graphics, the scorechain accumulation tension - all lost in 'Warfighter'. Many words have been spoken by the developers on how they attempt to differentiate themselves from the other FPS in the genre by adding a strong element of 'authenticity' to their titles. Yes, this was achieved in 2010 Medal of Honor - however clearly lost in the ridiculous and confusing 'Warfighter' - This game makes no effort to immerse the gamer into a gritty, tough warzone environment, unlike the first title; where the audio and visual elements were far superior to it's sequel.

    Every weapon somehow sounds suppressed, the graphics are shockingly bad and unclear, the gameplay has no 'tension' or authenticity. Warfighter is simply the unwanted lovechild of the CoD series mated with Battlefield 3! I sincerely hope this is not the template for the next generation of FPS.

    In Medal of Honor (2010) myself and my online friends had clocked up thousands of online hours gameplay. We were inside the top 250 players globally on the PS3. This is not a boast, simply a statement to hopefully add weight to my argument when we all generally believe this sequel is such a shameful letdown to the Medal series, and feels like it has 'sold out' to the CoD franchise. The only interesting feature of the game is how many customisations can be made with weapons, kit, soldiers and skins etc. However, none of this seems appropriate or necessary, when the game creates no interest for the gamer in the first instance.

    Would the makers of 'Warfighter' please please realise they have made an epic mistake with this game? Take the strong elements from the 2010 game, and go back to the drawing board, because this latest offering deserves not the title of MOH. Disappointment reigns.
    Expand
  13. Oct 27, 2012
    1
    This game has more bugs than a Costa Rican Rain Forest!!!
    I sold it today for a $40 gift card @ Best Buy.
    EA really blew it on this one.
    Their last PS3 MOH game was decent so not sure WTF happened?
  14. Oct 28, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Having played the last edtion for quite some time, i found this new installment so bad, graphics on multi player are child like at the best, the fluidity from the last game has gone, so inconsistent are the guns on the new one i am sick off using a full clip only to be kill by a hand pistol, to be honest the game is copying COD, B3, instead of staying true to the original game which developers had promise all they have done is copy job. Please if do read this don't waste your money on this game it will have no longevity to it, and i am saying this as a real fan from the last game which was considered a gamers game, sometimes to much choice can ruin a game which has also happened to this new installment so if you like a lot of options stick with COD, and talking to experts, spec op's etc, to find out the reality of war sounds good but i want to play a game which hasn't certain boundaries to it so if i want real life i would join the army, so sometimes the imagination of a programmer is far better to come up with a great game than trying to be true to real life. (the idea of computer games is to take you away from the mundane hoy p'loy of life). All i can hope Bio Shock 3 is as good as the last two, Expand
  15. Nov 10, 2012
    0
    crappiest game ever made in the history of the world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  16. Oct 27, 2012
    2
    Bummed. I feel like the kid that keeps touching the hot stove after he burned his hand the first time. From now on, good luck selling anything w/ the words "Medal Of Honor" on it, it has now become synonymous w/ mediocrity. The game wasn't even "rushed". 2 years?!? 2 years to make this game w/ a well known, often used & very agile engine. & this is what they came up with.... Trading....Bummed. I feel like the kid that keeps touching the hot stove after he burned his hand the first time. From now on, good luck selling anything w/ the words "Medal Of Honor" on it, it has now become synonymous w/ mediocrity. The game wasn't even "rushed". 2 years?!? 2 years to make this game w/ a well known, often used & very agile engine. & this is what they came up with.... Trading....

    The multiplayer is buggy, sometimes on respawn, you fall through the map which adds a death to your count. Damage is inconsistent @ best. Seems to take me damn near a mag to kill a guy, even when I get the drop on him, while the other guy hits me about 3 times & I'm dead. Other times I hit a guy 2-3 times & he falls dead.. go figure.

    Single player was fun enough, kind of a lotta re do though. Too much time spent on details like the differences of how a GROM operative reloads a weapon vs. how a SEAL might & not enough on the polish of the experience as a whole....
    Expand
  17. Oct 26, 2012
    3
    I honestly just can't be bothered with another mission after a couple hrs, and if there is something worthy of stimulation burried in this heap, I'll probably never see it. This should've been an improvement over the last one, and it seems as though EA and Danger Close think too highly of there partnership. I simply can't imagine anyone who's been playing the likes of cod or bf would careI honestly just can't be bothered with another mission after a couple hrs, and if there is something worthy of stimulation burried in this heap, I'll probably never see it. This should've been an improvement over the last one, and it seems as though EA and Danger Close think too highly of there partnership. I simply can't imagine anyone who's been playing the likes of cod or bf would care for its online offerings let alone the drag that is the campaign. Expand
  18. Nov 12, 2012
    0
    BAD BAD BAD.

    alpha or beta full vesion is not!

    multilayer respawn in thin air falling down thru house., bullets detection awful, support for game equal to none. on the day of relase patch 400mb. and didnt help not one bit. HACKERS on first day! singleplayer first mission you cant die no matter what you do, ripp off game!
  19. Nov 28, 2012
    0
    I bought this game on PSN thanks to a friend who told me it was a great game. What a waste of time and money. The first thing I noticed were the hideous graphics. The campaign was boring and uninspired. The multiplayer was not fun in any way, and there were constant issues with lag and getting stuck on rocks or debris. Terrible. My candidate for worst game of 2012.
  20. Jan 23, 2013
    2
    I bought this game on release, and returned it the very next day. It really is that bad. On the back of a release like BF3 EA really could and should have done better. The campaign is marginally playable, and the multiplayer is pretty much the dullest online shooter experience I have ever had. This may have been patched or fixed, although I imagine most people who did give this more timeI bought this game on release, and returned it the very next day. It really is that bad. On the back of a release like BF3 EA really could and should have done better. The campaign is marginally playable, and the multiplayer is pretty much the dullest online shooter experience I have ever had. This may have been patched or fixed, although I imagine most people who did give this more time went on to buy either BO2 or went back to BF3. This game is appalling. The only really positive point I can think of is that the game allowed you to have purple gun camo. That's it. Don't buy, it'll just end up as an expensive coaster. Don't buy it second hand either, come to think of it, as you need an online pass to play. Just. Don't. Buy. It. Expand
  21. Mar 5, 2014
    3
    Poor Medal of Honor. Once the best name in WW2 FPS games, the series has struggled to find a place with it's new modern setting. I was hoping that this latest attempt to bring the series back would succeed, but all it ended up doing was making me think that this series is better off either going back to WW2 or just dying. This shooter stumbles at just about every turn.

    One good thing I
    Poor Medal of Honor. Once the best name in WW2 FPS games, the series has struggled to find a place with it's new modern setting. I was hoping that this latest attempt to bring the series back would succeed, but all it ended up doing was making me think that this series is better off either going back to WW2 or just dying. This shooter stumbles at just about every turn.

    One good thing I can say about this game is that it is both good looking and great sounding. Guns have a nice pop to them and everything looks top-notch. However frame rate issues, screen tearing, and slowdown do rear their ugly heads far too often. The game's story, which is supposedly written by actual military operatives, is nonsensical and fails to achieve the emotional resonance it was going for. These areas aren't that major, but they do bring down the quality of the game.

    The single-player campaign is literally exactly what you would expect from a military shooter, but with noticeable technical issues. The core shooting is nice, and pulling off a well placed head shot is incredibly satisfying, but everything else around the shooting is pretty awful. It's clear that the campaign is trying hard to be like Battlefield and COD, but poor diversions, dull shootouts, technical issues, and an over reliance on breach segments keep this game from being as enjoyable as some of those games have been. Overall the campaign is a tedious wannabe that fails to live up to a lot of the games it is trying so hard to mimic.

    As for the multiplayer it isn't much better. Everything from finding a match to customizing a weapon is buried in cluttered and ugly menus. The matches can be fun at times on a very basic level, but slow respawns, an emphasis on camping, and confusing map layout means you're better off going with one of the many better options out there. There's also a high likelihood of getting spawn-killed and there aren't many people still playing it. It's incredibly skippable.

    In a time where lackluster military FPS games are literally filling up store shelves, "Warfighter" manages to stand out as particularly crappy. It's glitchy, boring, and filled with poor design choices. Literally everything that is done here has been done better elsewhere, which is incredibly disappointing. I was hoping that this series would one day return to relevance, but Warfighter might be the final nail in the coffin. This is a shooter that I don't recommend you spend any time with, because it fails at just about everything it sets out to do and there are MANY better options out there. Warfighter manages to stand out from the crowd, but for all the wrong reasons.
    Expand
  22. Nov 11, 2016
    0
    Probably one of the worst game of the PS3. Graphics are an insult to every games and so is the gameplay. It's a shame for the people who made this thing... They really have to find another job. Please do not make another game....
  23. Jun 10, 2013
    3
    Medal of honor: warfighter is a big big disappointment.
    Short story (but whit a good graphic) in single player, caotic menu in multiplayer (after the patch has worsened!!), few weapons and a bad use of the maps. You can not break anything (explosives do no damage to the huts of straw, for example), and the roads are required. There is a grove? I can not cross it, have to go around as is
    Medal of honor: warfighter is a big big disappointment.
    Short story (but whit a good graphic) in single player, caotic menu in multiplayer (after the patch has worsened!!), few weapons and a bad use of the maps. You can not break anything (explosives do no damage to the huts of straw, for example), and the roads are required. There is a grove? I can not cross it, have to go around as is the '90?!
    70 euro at day one is a big price for a retrogame.... the poor version of battlefield 3
    Expand
  24. Mar 13, 2014
    3
    I guess the game qualifies as... playable, but nothing else. I literally watched a NPC unload an entire clip into an enemies head, and the enemy got back up and shot at me. The enemies only focus on you, which makes the NPC's as useless as they have ever been and the controls are lackluster at best. There are upgrades, but they are useless at best and do nothing to add to the experienceI guess the game qualifies as... playable, but nothing else. I literally watched a NPC unload an entire clip into an enemies head, and the enemy got back up and shot at me. The enemies only focus on you, which makes the NPC's as useless as they have ever been and the controls are lackluster at best. There are upgrades, but they are useless at best and do nothing to add to the experience not do they serve as fun little goals. Expand
  25. Aug 25, 2016
    4
    Medal of Honor: Warfighter is a first-person shooter video game developed by Danger Close Games and published by Electronic Arts.

    + Cinematics Looks Gorgeous
    - Bland Story
    - Bad Gameplay
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Dec 19, 2012
    30
    Where COD maintains a smooth 60fps, Warfighter gets a nosebleed trying to put out 30fps. Modern Warfare boasts near-instant restarts after death; here, lengthy loading times merely add to the frustration.
  2. Dec 14, 2012
    60
    As a complete package, Medal of Honor: Warfighter is disappointing when you consider the amount of hype surrounding it.
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Dec 4, 2012
    67
    Every once in a while Danger Close breaks the endless mould of duck & cover gameplay by letting you mark a building for an air strike, chase down an informant or provide sniper support. But even these sequences repeat themselves multiple times throughout the game. [December 2012, p.68]