Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 215 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Medal of Honor Warfighter is an up close and personal look at today's battlefield and the fight against the ongoing global terror threat.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    74
    Good, but still far from what EA is attempting to achieve. It will be enough for those looking for their annual war-themed FPS, but its gameplay needs to reach the high levels seen in its audio and visual aspects.
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    70
    Warfighter has a nice multiplayer mode (although not better than Call of Duty or Battlefield). It's just a shame that the single player campaign ends up being so bad.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    69
    Warfighter isn't big or clever, and it's definitely not original. [Christmas 2012, p.88]
  4. Assuming you can patch it and it works, what you've got here is a basic shooter that, when it remembers what it is, can be fun, and when it forgets, goes mad.
  5. 55
    Beneath the awkward plotline and the average gameplay, you can see the game that it was meant to be, and that is the saddest story of all.
  6. Buggy as hell, and multiplayer is severely lacking. [Christmas 2012, p.83]
  7. Dec 19, 2012
    30
    Where COD maintains a smooth 60fps, Warfighter gets a nosebleed trying to put out 30fps. Modern Warfare boasts near-instant restarts after death; here, lengthy loading times merely add to the frustration.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 83
  2. Negative: 23 out of 83
  1. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Follow this link for a well written article. Most of the press is owned by Doritos, Mountain Dew, or some sponser. Don't be a lemming. Reading is fundamental. http://pcgmedia.com/what-are-journalists-missing-when-it-comes-to-medal-of-honor-warfighter/ Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    Obliterates CoD IMO. I played CoD Black Ops before this and I thought this was so much better for single player. Story line was much better and gameplay was also better IMO. I'll seek out the others now. Loved it. Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    Medal of Honor is simply put, a great game. A lot of critics truly did not analyze all aspects of the title, but instead rated the title very harshly due to it's minor problems. I will agree that this game definitely feels as though it could've used a couple more hours in the oven, but the core gameplay, customization, sound, and visuals are so fantastic, that the minor issues and problems bear almost no weight. The story is pretty great, the CG cutscenes are beyond beautiful, the guns sound fierce and incredible, and the simple beauty that ensues whenever one of my stray bullets hits a piece of the enemy cover and dust and particles fly everywhere, is beyond incredible. The multiplayer is also a lot of fun! The customization is fantastic, with all of the different accessories that I have the option of adding to my gun, as well as how I can represent the Nation of my choice with my classes is also a welcome addition to the franchise! The support actions are fun to use and help your team. The ability to spawn on your fireteam buddy and even create a platoon of several fireteams is also fantastic. There are so many creative and new aspects of this game that make it a no-brainer buy.

    I do however have to mention the cons, because that is only fair. The worst things that I can honestly think of when I really look into the game are four things. Sometimes there is texture pop-in when spawning, or at the beginning of the map, but when it happens it is quick and it isn't constant. I also noticed that 1 in about 50 matches I spawned in a place that was either behind or below the map. There is also some audio cut-in and out when reloading the weapon sometimes, but again, this is rather infrequent. The final con that I found really to be a problem, was the amount of hours that this game sucked out of my nights, getting lost in the incredible multiplayer! ;)

    In short, I believe that Warfighter is a great game that shooter fans everywhere can really enjoy. There are some minor bugs and glitches, but they are not game-breaking, nor do I think that they wouldn't be able to fix them with a patch or two. PROS:
    - Great Sound and Visuals
    - Incredible Multiplayer Suite that will keep you coming back for more
    - Incredible gun effects, bullet, effects, and overall high quality experience with weapons and reactions to them

    CONS:
    - Minor texture pop-in in MP
    - Minor sound cut-out issues (only noticed in MP)
    Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2012
    8
    The multiplayer is awesome. The multiplayer encourages teamwork and is great to play with a buddy. The weapons are very customizable theirs an ample selection of weapons. The game gets some getting used and is by no means easy to do well. Perhaps, all the negative reviews are because people didn't give MOH a chance and lacked patience. Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2012
    7
    As an avid gamer and FPS lover, I approached this game with some anticipation. I expected more from the 2nd edition in 2010 as DICE was asked to handle the multiplayer and that was disappointing..so now with the 2012 version having heard that a few DICE developers had crossed over to Danger close I was expecting a much more BF3 stance to the game...slight bigger maps..as its not a BF game I wasnt expecting awesome vehicles and to be able to pilot anything...but I was expecting more destruction...the same opening VOIP issues..when you build a "team" FPS game..you need to be able to communicate. I hate the trash talking COD like lobby and the BF3 easiness of swapping squads, teaming up etc. Overall though I am impressed with the elements of fun yes I said FUN. The ability to work with a fireteam buddy. Great hit detection and pretty well balanced. I score it a 7 due tot he fact that it claims "authenticity" by saying they have real tier 1 input into the game but honestly I dont know any military adviser whom would say that Sweden and Norway are in the TOP tier 1 nations listing...France, Israel, South Africa (in terms of Africa) would be much more global and real. Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2012
    4
    I was surprised at the user reviews on the site--this is one of the times the paid critics got the game scores just about dead on. This outing falls somewhere between mediocre and outright lousy.
    The firefights are repetitive and boring; the whole game felt like running one of the shooting galleries in the MW series over and over for that 3rd star. And the character models were awful--was this really the Frostbite engine from BF3? The emotional family elements they tried to graft on to the story might have worked better if the main character's wife and daughter hadn't looked like hideous mutant people. There are hundreds of other modern military shooters out there--I recommend you play ANY other one of them.
    Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2012
    0
    BAD BAD BAD.

    alpha or beta full vesion is not!

    multilayer respawn in thin air falling down thru house., bullets detection awful, support
    for game equal to none. on the day of relase patch 400mb. and didnt help not one bit. HACKERS on first day! singleplayer first mission you cant die no matter what you do, ripp off game! Collapse

See all 83 User Reviews