Mega Man 9 PlayStation 3

Mega Man 9 Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Playstation Network] In the year 200X, as the advanced science of the era has created industrial robots that co-exist with humans. However, an evil genius, Dr. Wily, plots for world domination and creates his own robot army to take over mankind. Luckily for humanity, Dr. Light outfits one[Playstation Network] In the year 200X, as the advanced science of the era has created industrial robots that co-exist with humans. However, an evil genius, Dr. Wily, plots for world domination and creates his own robot army to take over mankind. Luckily for humanity, Dr. Light outfits one of his domestic robots "Rock" to fight Dr. Wily’s creations and Mega Man is born.Set after the events of Mega Man 8, multiple riots have sprung up all over the world. Whilst many people suspect that this is another plot from Dr. Wily, Dr. Light is stunned to recognize that some of the robots rioting on the TV screen are his own creations. Even more stunning, Dr. Wily appears on television to proclaim that Dr. Light is the evil mastermind behind these latest catastrophic incidents and it’s up to Mega Man to clear his creator’s name. The original 2D classic Mega Man returns, bringing the series back to its roots with retroaction-platform gameplay and NES-inspired old school graphics. Relive the Mega Man experience with maniacally themed environments, a host of power-ups, and classically-inspired bosses, each with their own unique weapons and weaknesses. [Capcom] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Experimenting with Black Hole Bombs and other special weapons is great fun in Mega Man 9, a welcome departure from recent entries in the series, where an enhanced Mega Buster made other weaponry less relevant.
  2. If you liked the old Mega Man games then you probably already bought this, but if not do it immediately, and if you have never played one before, it’s a good time to start.
  3. Mega Man 9 is an extraordinary accomplishment through and through and has come at the right time.
  4. Bringing the Blue Bomber out of his 12 year retirement proves to be a great move. This game will have old school gamers remembering the "good ol’ days". A definite must-have for 2D platformer fans, who are up for a challenge.
  5. The pixel-like graphics and outdated gameplay lets you think that you are dealing with a very old videogame. But you couldn't be more wrong. Mega Man 9 is not a fresh and new adventure in the Mega Man franchise. Nevertheless, Mega Man 9 is already a classic that shows that a 2D game can still pack a lot of punch.
  6. Play UK
    75
    Its gameplay is undeniably pure. [Issue#172, p.92]
  7. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    50
    Great stuff for masochists who think progress ended with 8-bit gaming - not so much if you're looking to have fun. [Dec 2008, p.121]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. OddA
    Jul 23, 2009
    10
    This is has all that is needed to make a great game.
    Gameplay = 10/10
    Story = 9/10 (Classic Megaman story, Love it!) Graphics = 10/10 (They
    This is has all that is needed to make a great game.
    Gameplay = 10/10
    Story = 9/10 (Classic Megaman story, Love it!)
    Graphics = 10/10 (They managed to do EXACTLY what they were aiming for)
    Replayability = 9/10 (10/10 compared to other MM games, 8/10 compared to modern games)
    The little bonus =
    Nr. 1. It's a Megaman game! (FINALLY)
    Nr. 2. Who did NOT take something around your arm and pretend it was a gun when you were a kid? WHO? No one, that's who. This game let's you use that fantasy to save the world!!
    Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    Insultingly underrated. Capcom made one of the smartest moves I've ever seen with their work on Mega Man 9! Not only does it captureInsultingly underrated. Capcom made one of the smartest moves I've ever seen with their work on Mega Man 9! Not only does it capture everything that's great about the Classic Series, but they also managed to make it fresh and fun for newcomers.

    The game is the best nostalgic field trip a guy could ever ask for and it's really sad that some people don't appreciate the greatness that is this game.
    Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2016
    7
    It's Megaman in his original form. Not much to say beside that. It's worth a playthrough because the gameplay is allot smoother than itsIt's Megaman in his original form. Not much to say beside that. It's worth a playthrough because the gameplay is allot smoother than its original NES counterparts. I can't give it more than a 7 because it is an homage to an already existing series. Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2010
    5
    It was great that mega man returned old school but that doesn't give it an excuse that the story had to be so dull and repetitive. The musicIt was great that mega man returned old school but that doesn't give it an excuse that the story had to be so dull and repetitive. The music and the stages were great but there was limited game options. It wasted 4 hours of my life and I haven't even finished it yet. I would've gave it 7 if it came with the warning: THIS GAME CAN BE EXTREMELY BORING! YOU CAN ONLY PLAY THIS GAME IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A LIFE! Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2012
    4
    OMG! I have so much power! Barelyu anyone's reviewd this! Okay MM9.... i've played you so many times. But, you go out of your way to makeOMG! I have so much power! Barelyu anyone's reviewd this! Okay MM9.... i've played you so many times. But, you go out of your way to make people hate you. And you deserved to be hated. Thank you for a few hours of kinda-fun. Un thankyou for creating a game, on purpose, that I couldn't progress. You should've been MM10 and give me a mode that at least let's me play the game., That game get's a 9. Collapse
  6. Jun 10, 2014
    4
    Are you an older gamer? Do you fondly remember Mega Man from the golden days of Nintendo? Did you love those games? Have you not playedAre you an older gamer? Do you fondly remember Mega Man from the golden days of Nintendo? Did you love those games? Have you not played them in a long time, but sometimes sit around and reminisce with friends in a "hey you guys remember Mega Man? those games were awesome!!!!" kind of way?

    Then you will enjoy MM9.

    If you are a big MM fan, as in you STILL play those old games, then you will hate this game with a burning passion.

    I could go on and on, but the im going to keep this short. There is one statement that a friend said (another one of those "still plays MM games" kind of person) about this game that sums it up perfectly. To paraphrase:

    "Its like Capcom suddenly realized that the NES Mega Man games were popular on the internet, and then they went to gaming forums and searched out discussions about those games, noted that everyone talked about how hard they used to be challenging and that it took real skill and dedication to beat them, and rewarded said attributes with excellent gameplay, and wrote all this down on a checklist. Then the lead designer, at the beginning of the project somehow distilled all those qualities down to one statement about what gamers wanted: GAME MUST BE REALLY HARD. They mistook "Challenge" for "Hardness" and built the entire game around that. And to boot, the guy must have been a really crappy designer because the entire source of the challenge in this game is a whose who list of terrible things that the AVGN has made a career out of lampooning."

    That sums it up. This game is as hamfisted in its "challenge" as Mega Man 8, but with a dose of HGH. And yes, I mean that in a bad way.

    However, this game has some of the best music of the entire franchise. They got that part right at least.
    Expand
  7. growup
    Sep 26, 2008
    3
    Okay, this game is old school garbage...actually a step back for mega man...for critics to sing glory to this is just rediculous, surely we Okay, this game is old school garbage...actually a step back for mega man...for critics to sing glory to this is just rediculous, surely we can all just go download a ROM for an oldschool megaman or just hook up our old nintendos (some blowing required)...it's the same old megaman we've played over and over again. STALE. get with the times. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews