Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mercenaries 2: World in Flames is an explosive open-world action game set in a massive, highly reactive, war-torn world. A power-hungry tyrant messes with Venezuela's oil supply, sparking an invasion that turns the country into a warzone. But for you, international crisis is all upside: You are a mercenary, and you profit from chaos. Mercenaries 2 features a slew of potential clients, all willing to pay you to do their dirty work. Dirty deeds, done for exorbitant fees. These are world powers with deep pockets, deep grudges, and enough arms and ammo to start World War III. This is your kind of environment. Mercenaries 2 features the latest and most dangerous in civilian and military tech, everything from shiny new sports cars, to the future-tech satellite-guided bunker-busting mini-nuke. Tanks, APCs, boats, luxury automobiles – you name it, you can have it delivered to you in real time. And if you run out of cash you can always 'acquire' the gear you need in the field. If you see it, you can buy it, steal it, or blow the living crap out of it. Play your own way, or play with the help of a friend in the new cooperative multiplayer mode. You are not a soldier. You don't have to play by anyone's rules. You have your own code: you will fulfill the terms of the contract, no matter what. Not everyone in the world of Mercenaries is as honorable. Everyone will try and screw you, given the chance. They think they can get away with it, because they don't know rule #1: EVERYBODY PAYS. [Pandemic Studios] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. 90
    Innumerable games strive for a cinematic vibe, but most fail to pull it off when they take themselves too seriously and overburden the gameplay with content better left in movies. Mercenaries 2 is the rare videogame that gets the balance just right.
  2. 80
    Mercenaries 2 is a lot of fun if you don't get bogged down by its rough-hewn minutiae and relish the simple pleasures of blowing things up.
  3. World In Flames has a satisfying amount of destruction, whether you blow up an oilrig with a well-armed helicopter or bring down a building with C4 and gas tanks. It's engaging and exciting, especially if you play co-op.
  4. I suppose it’s fitting that Mercs 2, like most topics bearing the weight of political posturing, is ultimately flaccid. But that doesn’t stop me from expecting more.
  5. Mercenaries 2 is arguably a bigger and more ambitious game than the original, but it feels less polished and less satisfying.
  6. While the games action and explosive atmosphere are fun to behold the repetitive nature of the missions and mainly the glitches keep happening so repeatedly that enjoyment is fleeting.
  7. 40
    It’s unfortunate that so much of the game world is so irredeemably broken.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 35
  2. Negative: 6 out of 35
  1. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    Maybe they closed the studio, but this game really deserved more. Maybe it wasn't the best game ever made, but if they could just make a better shooting system, then the gameplay would be on the top quality. That's what ruined this game in my opinion, because it affected every single second of the gameplay. But it was actually good. So many hours of gameplay, so MANY unclockable cars and other vehicles, SO MANY NUKE BOMBS and so much entertaining. Don't say you didn't like it if you played it for 20 - 30 hours. It is addicting and bunch of fun. There are always something to do and the map is SO BIG. You have to try this game out before you die one day. Expand
  2. KenH
    Sep 2, 2008
    10
    When I first played the game 3 days ago on my PS3, I wasn't sure about it. There were little annoyances and things I was nit picking about. I was horribly unimpressed with not being able to shoot through spaces on oil derrick looking objects (many different sizes and shapes) when I was taking cover behind them. But I stuck it out and now I haven't put the game down for 3 days solid. There are over 150 vehicles in the game alone. The sheer size of the game world when opened is amazing. This is easily my favorite ps3 game ever and I like most games and very picky about quality. There are a few glitches here and there that are in every giant sand box game. First and only game I have given a 10 to simply because I can't seem to put it down and that's not happened to me since WoW first came out. The variety of the vehicles is so distinctly different. You can capture anything, detroy everything, and when the last 2 factions enter the game as you advance through the story, it's endless pandemonium. I can also state this game is solid on the PS3, none of the tearing and graphic glitches I am hearing from Xbox owners. System selling title in my book. I imagine computer multiplayer will be amazing if they ever get 16x16 player (or more) players going at each other. This game is set up for it. Expand
  3. Devon
    Sep 4, 2008
    9
    If you liked the first Mercs, then I would say definitely get this game. The game offers so many vehicles, weapons, and ordinances. Not to mention you actually get a nuke. The story wasn't as deep as MGS, but in a game where everything is about blowing stuff up do you really need a blockbuster story? If you can look past the minor glitches and decent graphics then definitely check this one out. Did I mention you get a nuke? Expand
  4. Kyrandos
    Sep 12, 2008
    8
    This game obviously didn't spend enough money on improving its rating with the various reviewers. The fact of the matter is, it is tremendously fun, especially if you enjoyed the first game. The destructible environments put Bad Company to shame, the gameplay itself is quite fun as well. There's a lot of replayability to be had in this game, and even though its made under the worst producer in human history (EA) I would have to recommend this game. Expand
  5. JustinS
    Jan 16, 2010
    8
    Mercenaries 2 is a sandbox game from Pandemic Studios set in Venezuela. And it is, in a word, awesome. Sure, it''s not particularly deep or pretty and it is a little glitchy. But It is so satisfying to pump rocket after rocket into a building, and watch it explode in a cathartic furor of shrapnel and explosives. Like I said, awesome. Expand
  6. Jun 16, 2014
    7
    I really don't know how I feel about this game.. Originally I bought the game for $5 (just for the **** and giggles) and was semi disappointed.

    Really, all I can say is the vehicles in this game are awesome. I had a blast riding around in the monster truck and plowing over my enemys. What makes it even better are the arcade style driving mechanics that offer a crazy taxi sort of feel.

    The only reason this game got bad reviews was the shooting mechanics and boring missions (this is coming from someone who finished 1/3 of the game). Mercs 2 biggest selling point is destruction, so why cant we have more destruction missions? The game offers more hunt the targets or capture the base sort of gameplay which isn't all that bad and not all that good. Also the tedious shooting mechanics make it feel as if your bullets are flying around in the entire circle reticle.

    Personally I didn't get a chance to try the co-op since the game keeps freezing upon launch - due to pandemic studios closure. This was a bit of a downer but for paying $5 it wasn't too much of a problem.

    Overall 7.5/10

    I still don't know if I plan on finishing the game..
    Expand
  7. Mar 29, 2011
    0
    I imagine this could be a fun game. Unfortunately it freezes up your entire system at the main menu as soon as the game attempts to connect to the online servers. This makes mercs 2 the unquestioned definition of a broken game. Glad I picked it up from the bargin bin. Its now an expensive coaster! Collapse

See all 35 User Reviews