Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance PlayStation 3

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 61
  2. Negative: 3 out of 61
Buy On
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 4, 2013
    70
    Fact is, when Revengeance is firing on all cylinders it’s a great, albeit short (six hours, tops) action game. [April 2013, p78]
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    70
    For better and for worse Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a game as crazy and nonsensical as its title, but because of that strong core, it’s one that just about makes the cut.
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    70
    A solid game with sparks of excellence, but difficulty niggles and occasionally obtuse controls let it down.
  4. Feb 19, 2013
    70
    While Rising’s combat is hugely satisfying to experiment with, and a sight to behold when played well, it’s undermined by technical issues and a singleplayer campaign that peters out just as you think it’s getting going. There’s replay value here, and for Platinum’s most devoted fans it won’t matter if the game is five or 50 hours long, but others will, rightly, feel a little short-changed.
  5. Feb 19, 2013
    70
    Revengeance isn't for everybody and stands for everything we don't expect from the Metal Gear series. But if you love Platinum Games' previous action titles, love j-rock and have an appetite for manga, this is the right game for you.
  6. 70
    Not the best action game to come from Platinum’s hands, and nowhere near the best Metal Gear game. Revengeance doesn’t live up to the franchise and the huge expectations placed upon its shoulders, but it remains solid enough to stand on its own. Just leave your expectations at the door.
  7. Feb 19, 2013
    70
    Revengeance is pretty sweet, then, but the aftertaste it leaves can be disappointingly bitter.
  8. Sadly, the combat doesn’t have enough depth to trouble the genre’s best (it certainly can’t touch Ninja Theory’s DmC reboot), and there’s a disappointing disposability about the whole experience. This is a project that has been rightfully and respectably salvaged, but one that can’t quite cut it at the top.
  9. Feb 19, 2013
    60
    There's no denying that, for me at least, it was as fun as it was irritating, as stylish as it was silly. It could've used some tweaking, some more suitable level design in places, and perhaps more thought gone into making the game a cohesive whole. It's not close to Platinum's best, or Kojima's best, but is a game worth checking out, even if just as a rental.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 735 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 183
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    this game proves once again that platinum can make an over the top crazy action game its a great spin off to a great series. if mgs fans dontthis game proves once again that platinum can make an over the top crazy action game its a great spin off to a great series. if mgs fans dont like it there is ground zeroes to look forward to but in the mean time you can enjoy this crazy fuelled game Full Review »
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    8
    this game is straight-forward fun in the vein of Vanquish more so than Bayonetta. Combat is not as deep as Bayonetta but is still frenetic andthis game is straight-forward fun in the vein of Vanquish more so than Bayonetta. Combat is not as deep as Bayonetta but is still frenetic and fluid and feels great. The combinations of your light and heavy attacks with the moves you attain along the way allow for creativity and strategy for dealing with groups of enemies. The secondary weapons take the place of your heavy attack and are best equipped to handle particular enemies, though never necessary. I'd say Hard mode would be your Normal mode so start there. Very Hard mode with New Game is when you really start to feel the fast pace of the action and how challenging the game can get. The parrying works well and is satisfying when you're stringing them and countering during intense battles, although the camera angle may sometimes be where it's hard to judge the direction to parry. That's why the Dodging ability is also important. Ducking, weaving, parrying, countering, running while deflecting bullets toward the dude in the distance, all happening in quick, fluid succession creates really cool moments. This is what the game is about. It is on the short side but this is more for the arcade-style gamers like myself who love getting better and chasing ranks. Expect high-level gamers posting speed runs on youtube that will surely expose how the game can truly be played. I give this an 8.5 but the scoring system only allows whole numbers. Don't really care about story though i do wish there were options to change language and subtitles like in Vanquish. I dont consider this to be Platinum's best game, which is understandable given their circumstances and time constraints. But if they are given the chance at a sequel i bet they can create a true masterpiece. This game is still fun for what it is and therefore receives a good score from me! Have fun with this one. Full Review »
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    1
    I've got to admit, I'm kind of surprised by just how terrible this game is. Having played Bayonetta I expected a top of the line hack andI've got to admit, I'm kind of surprised by just how terrible this game is. Having played Bayonetta I expected a top of the line hack and slash experience taking inspirations from the greats. What I got was a gimmick filled ride with very little actual substance to it. Let's start with the gameplay. Rising's gameplay isn't particularly deep or rewarding. The time not spent wildly mashing buttons will be spent in blade mode, the game's big gimmick. This pauses the action and lets you cut through enemies. The way they've balanced this is that certain enemies require you to beat on them for a while before blade mode actually starts cutting. Unfortunately the beating itself is exceedingly tedious with enemies acting like glorified punching bags rather than actual threats and since there isn't much variety in Raiden's limited moveset and you'll soon find yourself bored to tears. A few boss fights breaks away from the tedium by mandating more advanced techniques but these are so few and far in between that it ultimately doesn't matter.

    Now since this is a Metal Gear game I know what you're all really looking forward to is the plot. There's just one tiny problem here. There isn't any. After you're done mashing your way through a bunch of random bad guys with absolutely no bearing on the overall universe you're back where you started and I think that's by far my biggest issue with this game as a Metal Gear fan. NOTHING actually happens. If you really have to play this then do yourself a favor and rent it. It'll be over before you know it.
    Full Review »