Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance PlayStation 3

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 741 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 84 out of 741
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    8
    Rising Revengeance is one of those hack and slash action games that appear simple on the surface, until you delve into the juicy depths below. You will start out button spamming your way through fights before learning the inner intricacies of the engine. Blade mode is the most obvious and touted addition, allowing you to manually slice, whilst the action is momentarily stilted. The affectsRising Revengeance is one of those hack and slash action games that appear simple on the surface, until you delve into the juicy depths below. You will start out button spamming your way through fights before learning the inner intricacies of the engine. Blade mode is the most obvious and touted addition, allowing you to manually slice, whilst the action is momentarily stilted. The affects of blade mode depend largely on your suit's power storage. Parrying is also an art worth mastering, though not a complete necessity for completion. As you progress, you gain access to more powerful weapons like a heavy blade for maximum damage, and lighter weapons such as the Sai, which is great for flashy attacks. MGS Rising congeals elements from Platinum's own established slashers like Bayonetta and mixes them with MGS tropes. Where this is most evident is with codec calls and cardboard boxes being used in stealth, meshing with the exhilarating combos of the former. Stealth itself is a minor element in Revengeance, offsetting the base combat. Stealth works very well, and is simple to master- though there are no hidden depths to it, which charge the action in other areas of Revengeance. The game can be visually striking too, with hulking boss battles, which are few, but memorable. The colours bouncing off screen while you fight give the essence of power to your blade thrusting- which looks dazzling in motion. The only dings are that the difficulty spikes on higher settings tend to drag you into frustration, and a main game which is remarkably brief- especially towards the end. But Revengeance is a shining case of quality over quantity, where finesse and skill are rewarded in spades and diligence pays off massively. Expand
  2. Feb 20, 2013
    10
    Platinum proves that they can make games. Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance seems like it would be a dud. But, this title is definitely worth playing. If you're not entirely sold, just download the demo! I quiet enjoy Raiden as a character and I think he deserved his own title to show a little more on his background. Gameplay Crazy, over the top and absolutely fun! Slicing away at will justPlatinum proves that they can make games. Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance seems like it would be a dud. But, this title is definitely worth playing. If you're not entirely sold, just download the demo! I quiet enjoy Raiden as a character and I think he deserved his own title to show a little more on his background. Gameplay Crazy, over the top and absolutely fun! Slicing away at will just never gets tiring.
    Story Raiden is "revealed" and his "jack the ripper" persona gets a little spotlight. A tad short and little bit rushed for me (As I wanted more!!) But, overall a satisfying story.
    Conclusion If you are a little disappointed because it's not a true "Metal Gear" game, well look again. It's not supposed to be true to Metal Gear as Kojima stated it's an entirely new package featuring Raiden. If you are a big hack and slash fan with and love action then this is the game for you!
    Expand
  3. Jul 12, 2013
    3
    This game is truly bad. I've beaten over 130 different games in my lifetime, so I'm not just trashing this lightly. I'm also a big Metal Gear fan, all the way back to NES games. This however, should not be confused with a true Metal Gear game. This is some nightmare come to life. As HateApe points out in his review, this is a hack and slash. But, BUT, this is not even a poor hack andThis game is truly bad. I've beaten over 130 different games in my lifetime, so I'm not just trashing this lightly. I'm also a big Metal Gear fan, all the way back to NES games. This however, should not be confused with a true Metal Gear game. This is some nightmare come to life. As HateApe points out in his review, this is a hack and slash. But, BUT, this is not even a poor hack and slash. This is a terrible hack and slash. You can slice a bridge in half, but can't jump up on it to move forward. You can slice through cars and solid steel, but that dry wall covered wall is too tough for your sword. The controls are horrible. The enemies, specifically bossfights, are ridiculous. The controls are already bad, but oh please, now have me hit entirely different keys that you put up on screen because that makes so much sense. I played the Xbox demo and thank goodness, because that was 30 min of my life I will never get back. You like this genre stick with Devil May Cry, Heavenly Sword, God of War, etc. Expand
  4. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    i feel sad that real gaming critics rate this game so low because they think its broken, the gameplay in rising is leaps and bounds beyond anything else this generation except for platinums bayonetta. I might actually follow the websites that are honoring this game, thank you platinum games along with from soft ware u show me that hardcore gamers will always be appreciated :D
  5. Mar 4, 2013
    8
    Anyone expecting a traditional Metal Gear game out of Rising, this isn't the game for you. Instead of stealth and sneaking, Rising is a full out action, hack n'slash game. The gameplay is crazy fast and the visuals are stunning. The controls are tight, although it's frustrating there isn't a dedicated block button. Like all Metal Gear games, the plot is involving and deep. The onlyAnyone expecting a traditional Metal Gear game out of Rising, this isn't the game for you. Instead of stealth and sneaking, Rising is a full out action, hack n'slash game. The gameplay is crazy fast and the visuals are stunning. The controls are tight, although it's frustrating there isn't a dedicated block button. Like all Metal Gear games, the plot is involving and deep. The only real complaints I have with this game, are the lousy camera angles and the short length of the game (5-6 hours). Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    This game is stellar. This may be the fastest action game ever created (and that's a good thing) The heavy metal soundtrack only intensifies this, but the real star of the game is the ridiculously triumphant boss encounters. These are so epic and insane that I found myself explaining each one to my wife (who could care less) pantomiming katana strikes and all. If you like feeling like theThis game is stellar. This may be the fastest action game ever created (and that's a good thing) The heavy metal soundtrack only intensifies this, but the real star of the game is the ridiculously triumphant boss encounters. These are so epic and insane that I found myself explaining each one to my wife (who could care less) pantomiming katana strikes and all. If you like feeling like the ultimate badass, are a metal gear fan, or just plain love good, old school action games, go get this now! Expand
  7. Feb 20, 2013
    8
    Terrible first impression. Dated graphics- how can people think these are good graphics? Look at the ground, look at a wall, look at the majority of objects- these are graphics from 5 years ago. And a bad camera until you get used to it and learn how to lock/unlock as needed. Still a bad camera though. But the gameplay totally gets better and better as time goes on. Get into a zone andTerrible first impression. Dated graphics- how can people think these are good graphics? Look at the ground, look at a wall, look at the majority of objects- these are graphics from 5 years ago. And a bad camera until you get used to it and learn how to lock/unlock as needed. Still a bad camera though. But the gameplay totally gets better and better as time goes on. Get into a zone and just enjoy the sweet spot. Expand
  8. Apr 29, 2013
    7
    I've never played a Metal Gear game before but when I heard about this game and its focus on action rather than stealth I decided to check it out. I'm glad I did, the action is fantastic. Combat feels great, there are some awesome set pieces, and chopping enemies into thousands of little pieces in slow motion and ripping out their spine before they even hit the ground never gets old. II've never played a Metal Gear game before but when I heard about this game and its focus on action rather than stealth I decided to check it out. I'm glad I did, the action is fantastic. Combat feels great, there are some awesome set pieces, and chopping enemies into thousands of little pieces in slow motion and ripping out their spine before they even hit the ground never gets old. I also have to give special praise to the games outstanding soundtrack, it truly does get you pumped to fight and is one of the best soundtracks of 2013. Unfortunately the game does have some issues that keep it from being the next big action game. The action is great but I couldn't help feeling like there wasn't enough of it. This is the kind of combat system that has you wanting to slaughter endless hoards of enemies, but the game never gives you more than a few enemies at a time. This is perfectly fine because I was having fun, but I wanted more to kill. Another factor contributing to the feeling of a lack of combat is the short length of the game. I beat the story mode in under 4 hours. The game does have some challenge rooms but I never really got interested in them. The games story is also rough. It's completely bonkers and I honestly don't think I could tell you what is was about, all I remember is something about rescuing children's brains. It makes no sense and frequently pulls you out of the game with its overly long cutscenes and intrusive moments where a supporting cast member will call you and force you to talk to them about crap you don't care about. In the end I did enjoy my time with Revengeance, but felt it was too short. If they make a sequel they need to focus less on their crappy story and more on the fantastic combat system they've created. All in all it's a fun game, but not worth full retail price. Expand
  9. Dec 22, 2013
    2
    terrible. Atrocious camera control/system, poor choice of weapons, switching weapons and items is cumbersome and slow. Goofy, heavy handed anti-American story, lame Japanese style, etc etc. A far cry from God of War or Devil May Cry. Pissed I wasted time and money on this game.
  10. Feb 24, 2013
    8
    This game will go into history as the masters of game music and its innovative use.

    The Boss fights are also memorable, grinding kept to a minimum and gives that overthetop epic live-action feeling about self performance! If only they'd learn camera control...
  11. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    WORTH EVERY PENNY! One of the best hack n slash games of this ganeration. So much fun with slashing enemies, environment with you katana blade. Although, don't buy Xbox 360 version if you have PS3. Microsoft console version have worse looking cut scenes than PS 3 version. In terms of gameplay they are the same. 60 FPS of instant action!
  12. May 10, 2013
    6
    The game is solid. Plays beautifully and it has a ˜god of war fell" to it when you see yourself chaining combos with extreme violence. Think of it of Ninja Gaiden meets Kratos. The main problem, in my opinion, (apart from the VERY SHORT LENGTH, since it's pretty much 4 hours long) is that Metal Gear Rising, like its main character, suffers from lack of charisma. We just don't care veryThe game is solid. Plays beautifully and it has a ˜god of war fell" to it when you see yourself chaining combos with extreme violence. Think of it of Ninja Gaiden meets Kratos. The main problem, in my opinion, (apart from the VERY SHORT LENGTH, since it's pretty much 4 hours long) is that Metal Gear Rising, like its main character, suffers from lack of charisma. We just don't care very much about Raiden, though the game keeps forcing us to understand (and believe he is the ultimate hero). In the end, the game is very bland, grey, with little personality. It's a good and entertaining game but very short and not very compelling. Expand
  13. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    This game is not perfect, I am only giving it 10 to offset those idiot who gives it 1 because they judged this game as MGS stealth game. Seriously? You got to live under a rock to not know this is a spin-off action game. And really? You expect a spin-off action game to have an amazing plot?

    Anyway, the game itself is just so entertaining. The parry system feels very natural to me. For
    This game is not perfect, I am only giving it 10 to offset those idiot who gives it 1 because they judged this game as MGS stealth game. Seriously? You got to live under a rock to not know this is a spin-off action game. And really? You expect a spin-off action game to have an amazing plot?

    Anyway, the game itself is just so entertaining. The parry system feels very natural to me. For those of you say you just need to mash button, you suck. Every boss will destroy you if you don't learn their moves time your parry and attack. Button mashing only works on those normal enemies. The game itself is not that long, but there are tons of VR mission and a lot of replay value to unlock all the enhancement and upgrades. I never expected this to be as good as Bayonetta, but I was pleasantly surprised. (Not saying it's better than B, but it's a joy to play). This is a game that everyone should at least try. Well, worth every penny for me (bought it used for $15).
    Expand
  14. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    the real name for this game should me "fruit ninja 2 mariachi murder town", honestly i really like this game but i just cant take it seriously, nor should it be. anything platinum makes is a work of art in terms of gameplay but even with konami's help the story falls a bit flat. but then again the gameplay is action perfection. so its a trade off. if you love the mgs series story and itsthe real name for this game should me "fruit ninja 2 mariachi murder town", honestly i really like this game but i just cant take it seriously, nor should it be. anything platinum makes is a work of art in terms of gameplay but even with konami's help the story falls a bit flat. but then again the gameplay is action perfection. so its a trade off. if you love the mgs series story and its realism and hate the ridiculous...run...run away from this and never look back. but if you dont mind ridiculous and and want to have a great time with gameplay i highly reccommend this. Expand
  15. Dec 7, 2013
    1
    Very bad controlls, bad camera, bad gameplay, play DMC, GOW etc. instead of this crap. Big disappointment,. Im a great hack&slash fan, but this game is just for those who like being upset by
    horrible gameplay and by a horrible blocking mechanic.
  16. Jan 5, 2014
    6
    Metal Gear Rising Reveangence starts explosive but gets real quick real boring. The enviroments do not offer any variety and the new weapons you get dont have many combos.
  17. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    Metal Gear rising is almost perfect for what it is. There were only a few issues with the game. The camera could be really annoying at times, the length was far too short for a metal gear game and the story just didn't hold as much weight with you as a metal gear "solid" game. As far as positives go however, this game was so fun I'll actually play through it again and i never do that withMetal Gear rising is almost perfect for what it is. There were only a few issues with the game. The camera could be really annoying at times, the length was far too short for a metal gear game and the story just didn't hold as much weight with you as a metal gear "solid" game. As far as positives go however, this game was so fun I'll actually play through it again and i never do that with games. The graphics were cool, the soundtrack was really unique and i promise you have never played a sword game like this before...ever. Platinum Games did an awesome job with the blade mode.

    I'm personally not regretting my purchase of this game. It was exactly what video games are supposed to be; clever ideas and tons of fun.
    Expand
  18. Mar 14, 2013
    6
    Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a title frantic, fun, enjoyable from the first moment, but for all those who were waiting for a masterpiece, Rising is a real hole in the water. The title of Platinum Games fails to emerge from mediocrity, touching on various aspects such as excessive graphics bugs found and the poor longevity of the title amounted to 5 hours on Normal, not to mention aMetal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a title frantic, fun, enjoyable from the first moment, but for all those who were waiting for a masterpiece, Rising is a real hole in the water. The title of Platinum Games fails to emerge from mediocrity, touching on various aspects such as excessive graphics bugs found and the poor longevity of the title amounted to 5 hours on Normal, not to mention a narrative does not always live up to expectations. Ultimately, Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a recommended title in the circle of fans and all those who are looking for an action game light, unpretentious. http://www.4news.it/14048-recensione-metal-gear-rising-revengeance.php Expand
  19. May 13, 2013
    8
    As an MGS fan I was really disappointed by the mediocre story and voice acting but the fun gameplay and music still made it an overall pleasant experience. Regarding voice acting, why did they tell Quinton Flynn to use a Christian Bale/Batman voice? It was laughable. Another let down was the character of Sam. They could have made him one of the all-time greats but sadly they failed.As an MGS fan I was really disappointed by the mediocre story and voice acting but the fun gameplay and music still made it an overall pleasant experience. Regarding voice acting, why did they tell Quinton Flynn to use a Christian Bale/Batman voice? It was laughable. Another let down was the character of Sam. They could have made him one of the all-time greats but sadly they failed.

    GOOD: Boss fights, music, gameplay.

    BAD: Story, Voice acting, game is too short.
    Expand
  20. Feb 27, 2013
    7
    Story is boring and predictable. Recovering a pile of brains and fighting cyborgs. Radio calls are useless and full of meaningless chatter. The combat at times is very annoying. You basically use the same basic combos from Chapter 1 all the way to completion because the varieties are very limited. New unlocked weapons are not really useful and you lose all yr advanced sword combos if uStory is boring and predictable. Recovering a pile of brains and fighting cyborgs. Radio calls are useless and full of meaningless chatter. The combat at times is very annoying. You basically use the same basic combos from Chapter 1 all the way to completion because the varieties are very limited. New unlocked weapons are not really useful and you lose all yr advanced sword combos if u use it. Metal Gear Rising combat is nothing like DMC or God of War. You generally just spam the same old basic combos the whole game and then use blade mode to finish the enemy.
    The insane amount of enemy grapple and dizzy status makes wiggling the left thumb stick to break free for the 100th time annoying as hell. If you strip away the whole Metal Gear thing, it is only a decent action game.
    Expand
  21. Mar 21, 2013
    6
    This is not a 60 dollar game. It's, at best, MAYBE worth spending 40 dollars on but in reality it should be much less. MGRR does some really cool things and definitely stands up well next to its apparent inspiration Ninja Gaiden, but in the end this is an action game that you play once and has practically no replay value. Many games are like this, and none of them are worth full priceThis is not a 60 dollar game. It's, at best, MAYBE worth spending 40 dollars on but in reality it should be much less. MGRR does some really cool things and definitely stands up well next to its apparent inspiration Ninja Gaiden, but in the end this is an action game that you play once and has practically no replay value. Many games are like this, and none of them are worth full price in my opinion just because there are so many games out there today that you can be playing for 100 hours or more, nevermind the 6 hours is takes to finish this title. So, despite its decent quality and playability, currently it's overpriced. I also didn't like the quality of the cinematics. Bayonetta (another Platinum title) had a similar level of production values in this area which didn't seem to keep pace with other titles in the market. However, despite these issue, the game plays quite well and apes the same upgrade mechanics found in practically every game today. Wait until the price drops and keep in mind that this is a short game and adjust your expectations accordingly. Expand
  22. Mar 1, 2013
    9
    This game is straight to the point, without much ado, like ninja gaiden in their glory days, the story is not as impressive as that of MGS4 but it's a good excuse to get out slicing everything.
  23. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    A worthy addition to the metal gear solid franchise featuring Raiden from MGS2 and 4, living proof that you really can polish a turd with the right materials.
  24. Feb 25, 2013
    9
    Metal Gear Rising is a great addition to the series. platinum games have done a great job of creating a first class game based around sword skills and martial arts weapons like Raidens default nano energy sword, sai swords, 3 section staff/ long pole and more than likely a few more i have not yet seen. The game allows you too upgrade weapons armor and skills by using the points scored inMetal Gear Rising is a great addition to the series. platinum games have done a great job of creating a first class game based around sword skills and martial arts weapons like Raidens default nano energy sword, sai swords, 3 section staff/ long pole and more than likely a few more i have not yet seen. The game allows you too upgrade weapons armor and skills by using the points scored in a mission too buy the upgrades. The better your score the quicker you can upgrade. Metal gear rising is a challenge even on normal difficulty at first you will die a lot especially on boss fights but as you learn and progress when you finally beat the boss or enemy that was causing you all the grief. you feel you have mastered raidens skills and this is were the addiction factor kicks in trying to beat previous area best scores. Some reviews said the game was very short but its actually not that short and with different weapons to collect as well as battle armors/cyborg suits that have different skill stats attached the replay value is high. The story is one of political intrigue mixed with raidens back story and the morals of war. (No Spoilers) The graphics look great and the game runs at a smooth 60fps. This is a next gen game running on this gens tech. The destruction engine that is used to count how many pieces an object gets cut into works great and you even spend time chopping wood just too see how many pieces you can cut it into. Metal gear rising game of a thousand cuts. Platinums best yet. if you like swordplay games with a decent story this game is highly recommended there is nothing else like it available this gen. Expand
  25. Feb 19, 2013
    8
    Game is fun. Cutting mechanism is as promised. Graphics and animations are ok, only levels designs feel empty and uninspired. Good character creations, feels like Kojima himself put some of his genius into it. There is some atmosphere of MGS frenchise. Combat system is simple, but the trick of zendetsu and arms cutting makes it much more interesting. Its very short, too short. Story is 5-6Game is fun. Cutting mechanism is as promised. Graphics and animations are ok, only levels designs feel empty and uninspired. Good character creations, feels like Kojima himself put some of his genius into it. There is some atmosphere of MGS frenchise. Combat system is simple, but the trick of zendetsu and arms cutting makes it much more interesting. Its very short, too short. Story is 5-6 hours max.
    The game leaves excellent base for slasher of the incoming next gens.
    Expand
  26. Feb 19, 2013
    1
    I've got to admit, I'm kind of surprised by just how terrible this game is. Having played Bayonetta I expected a top of the line hack and slash experience taking inspirations from the greats. What I got was a gimmick filled ride with very little actual substance to it. Let's start with the gameplay. Rising's gameplay isn't particularly deep or rewarding. The time not spent wildly mashingI've got to admit, I'm kind of surprised by just how terrible this game is. Having played Bayonetta I expected a top of the line hack and slash experience taking inspirations from the greats. What I got was a gimmick filled ride with very little actual substance to it. Let's start with the gameplay. Rising's gameplay isn't particularly deep or rewarding. The time not spent wildly mashing buttons will be spent in blade mode, the game's big gimmick. This pauses the action and lets you cut through enemies. The way they've balanced this is that certain enemies require you to beat on them for a while before blade mode actually starts cutting. Unfortunately the beating itself is exceedingly tedious with enemies acting like glorified punching bags rather than actual threats and since there isn't much variety in Raiden's limited moveset and you'll soon find yourself bored to tears. A few boss fights breaks away from the tedium by mandating more advanced techniques but these are so few and far in between that it ultimately doesn't matter.

    Now since this is a Metal Gear game I know what you're all really looking forward to is the plot. There's just one tiny problem here. There isn't any. After you're done mashing your way through a bunch of random bad guys with absolutely no bearing on the overall universe you're back where you started and I think that's by far my biggest issue with this game as a Metal Gear fan. NOTHING actually happens. If you really have to play this then do yourself a favor and rent it. It'll be over before you know it.
    Expand
  27. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    The perfect character-action game. The game is short and sweet with the best third-person melee combat that I have experienced in the past 3 years. If you liked Bayonetta (or Vanquish) then you NEED to play this game now.
  28. Mar 26, 2014
    7
    Completionists will have a blast unlocking outfits, weapons and trophies. I had enough after a dozen hours although the mechs and ninja moves drew a smile on my face. The gameplay can sometimes be like an interactive animé movie of high caliber. The camera is fast, the moves are smooth, and the visuals are clear and sharp. An overall improvement on Bayonetta's gameplay, although simplerCompletionists will have a blast unlocking outfits, weapons and trophies. I had enough after a dozen hours although the mechs and ninja moves drew a smile on my face. The gameplay can sometimes be like an interactive animé movie of high caliber. The camera is fast, the moves are smooth, and the visuals are clear and sharp. An overall improvement on Bayonetta's gameplay, although simpler and more hectic. I hesitate to call it a 'great game' since it's short and the battles are all variations on the same mechanics. Also, some trophies were out of my league and there's no online component. HINT: You can set health packs to auto-use, makes the game much easier. Expand
  29. Feb 28, 2013
    8
    This new direction for Metal Gear has the potential for greatness. With more diversity, i.e.,
    open-world exploration, an expanded stealth component, varied locales, etc., this could be
    a top-tier series. The thunderstorm combat in Rising is fast, deep, and strategic. Incredibly fun!
  30. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    I had low expectations regarding this game, despite that it turned out to be amazing. 60 fps non-stop action has some never before seen features. It kept me hooked from start to finish. Story and characters belong in MGS universe. Cheesy but soo good. If you love MGS and open for a new slasher experience don't miss on this game!
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 61
  2. Negative: 3 out of 61
  1. Apr 9, 2013
    89
    Improvements need to be made, but Metal Gear Rising has already established itself to be an action game well worth buying.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 4, 2013
    70
    Fact is, when Revengeance is firing on all cylinders it’s a great, albeit short (six hours, tops) action game. [April 2013, p78]
  3. Games Master UK
    Mar 24, 2013
    75
    Its shortness will dissuade many, but cut deeper and an innovative parry system impresses. [Apr 2013, p.70]