User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 630 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 630

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 22, 2014
    9
    This game has amazing over-the-top action that deserves any hack and slash fans attention.
    It is challenging, has tons of unlockables and encourages you to replay levels to get a better scores.
    If it had a better camera and better stealth gameplay this game would be the BEST hack and slash brawler ever.
  2. Aug 19, 2014
    9
    As stupidly hilarious as this silly, yet awesome story is a game about a cyborg ninja killing cyborgs in the future starting as comical and ending... Well it's fun. You can't help but feel engaged and even proud as you play, and the combat is surprisingly really, really creative. This game needs its sales to encourage the trend of smarter combat it has started. I would love to see where this goes, because the more I learned to abandon my older god of war tactics and learn the tricks of the trade the more I found myself loving it. Simply put, a somewhat short, enjoyably stupid, admittedly bad-ass and curiously intelligent game. Turn your volume up. Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2014
    8
    I honestly didn't like this game at first. It had a lot working against it: The terrible wuss-rock soundtrack that seemed to come on every single time things started to get interesting and completely killed the mood (at least you can turn the music off in settings); the forced stealth sections which completely break the flow of the game and which don't really give you any clear idea what's going to send an enemy into alert, and the combat was just so-so, at least I thought, and as funny as hacking people up in slowmo and taking out there spine was, it got real old real fast.

    So, I played the first couple of stages and then it went back on my shelf, where it sat gathering dust while I contemplated selling it back for a pathetic fraction of what I paid for it on release. But then I gave the game another try, this time I began to better understand the parry system, which the game does a baffling poor job of explaining to you considering how many tutorials you have to wade through at the beginning. Parrying adds an exhilarating element to combat; it becomes all about perfect reaction timing and less about stringing together the same combo chains whenever you see an opening like so many other current hack'n'slash titles. Now I can't stop playing this game.

    It still has its flaws; it's waaaaay too short, main campaign is only about 5-6 hours; the additional VR missions aren't very fun and don't play to the games strengths; again, the music is terrible and doesn't match the feel of the game at all; those forced stealth sections are extremely annoying and unnecessary; waaay too many quick time events (can that **** just stop being in games), and if you miss your window for them they're often gone immediately, nothings more frustrating then effectively parrying and stunning an enemy, then having your figure slip and putting in 1 extra hit and missing your opportunity for an instant take down. But the good out weighs the bad, and the combat is just so addictive. It's not as good as, let's say, Devil May Cry 3, but seeing as there's been such a dearth of well made games like this lately, it's s certainly a step in the right direction. Here's hoping there's a sequel!
    Expand
  4. PMG
    Jul 24, 2014
    8
    This game is fantastic. It does have a few shortcomings, like the only about maybe 4 or 5 hours if you don't listen to the codec. But aside from that it is astonishing, the combat is deep savor the only 5 weapons, it maneges to make not only Raiden likeable, but a badass as well. The script is good and often funny, especially the villian Armstrong, the soundtrack is absolutly masterfull and awesome and the bosses, if MGS normally has some of the greatest bosses, then MGRR has the absolute greatest. All in all if you enjoy platinum's Action/Hack And Slash games with the Metal Gear lore, you will love this game. Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i love the game but the story line is not the best u have too fight a president or something and i tought it should end after u kill sam but is]t did not and how did wolf not die Expand
  6. Jul 1, 2014
    2
    Well, that was horrible... I had about an hour of fun with the blade mode, i'll give it that... but: The story and dialouge might is even worse than the second hobbit film... The only positive thing i have to say about this game, is that it subverted my expactation in one tiny detail: the german guy didn't betray you... Apart from that it's a mind numbingly dull experience with colourless characters and uninspired enemies...

    Do yourself a favour and don't play it or if you have to: rent it!
    Expand
  7. Jun 22, 2014
    0
    While the graphics and story are somewhat good, the game quickly turns into a mashing machine, becoming boring and frustrating at points, even more with quick time events in the middle of boss battles

    which seemed good at the beginning, but, turned out to be repetitive and even extremely boring at the end.

    good example of a game that promised a lot, delivered little and bored people
    half way to death... AVOID. Expand
  8. Mar 28, 2014
    10
    I was afraid of the story, everywhere you read that it isn't that good, but trust me it's fun. The fights are brilliant, parry or die, use your brain or your lightning fingerreflexes. It's a smart game that demands mastering. Now I feel a little bit like the good old Gray Fox.
  9. Mar 26, 2014
    7
    Completionists will have a blast unlocking outfits, weapons and trophies. I had enough after a dozen hours although the mechs and ninja moves drew a smile on my face. The gameplay can sometimes be like an interactive animé movie of high caliber. The camera is fast, the moves are smooth, and the visuals are clear and sharp. An overall improvement on Bayonetta's gameplay, although simpler and more hectic. I hesitate to call it a 'great game' since it's short and the battles are all variations on the same mechanics. Also, some trophies were out of my league and there's no online component. HINT: You can set health packs to auto-use, makes the game much easier. Expand
  10. Mar 23, 2014
    7
    I am a huge fan of the Metal Gear series! I have been ever since the days of Guns of the Patriots! I have such a great love for the series because of the character development, attention to detail and riveting stories that has graced every such Metal Gear title in the past. Sadly, Metal Gear Rising does not feature any of those things... It features dull environments, lack luster characters and a story that not only falls apart but fails to hit you on an any emotional level! Now don't get me wrong there is a fun hack and slash game here along with some really really cool set pieces and boss fights, you just have to get past the games many short comings first! Expand
  11. Mar 21, 2014
    0
    I don't know why Platinum has to make every game have a more convoluted control scheme than the last. This "learning curve" has nothing to do with real skill and only artificially produces difficulty by implementing nonsensical rules. The idiot that decided that having your parry ability bound to the same stick that requires movement should just stop making games. Mobility during combat is limited and frustrating, the graphics (outside of flashy character models) are atrocious and the story is absurd, even for a Metal Gear game. The protagonist is an outright, egotistical douche. Glad I waited for this game until it was in the bargain bin, where it belongs. Expand
  12. Feb 23, 2014
    8
    Metal Gear Rising is straight up fun. The story is absolutely bonkers and doesn't take itself all that serious. The swordplay feels great and the slicing mechanic is really satisfying.
    Big Metal Gear fans might be disappointed because the story is not as serious and it feels like it is set in a completely different universe than the other Metal Gear games.
    The most memorable part about
    this game are its insane and elaborate boss fights. Especially the last boss is one of the most fun and ridiculous boss fights i have played in the last couple of years. Expand
  13. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    I honestly love this game, Platinum did very well for what was only a year of production on this game, I have spent 100 hours easily on this game attaining secrets and getting S rank. It is very huge on re-playability which excuses the 2-3 hour game completion.

    Screw the VR missions though, what the hell, no mortal human can gold rank that ****
  14. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    platinum delivers once again... and what can you say? it is of course a master piece. Combining the goofyness and seriousness of Metal Gear and the awesome gameplay by platinum, this is one of the most satisfying games with a high learning curve. i love it
  15. Feb 2, 2014
    3
    One of the worst H&S games. Combat is awful. The block and counter mechanics is brain dead and only works half the time. Other then good graphics this game delivers nothing good what so ever. Waste of money and time. Once a again, a useless game have been made. The score is completely from the graphic and performance perspective. Game-play deserves nothing.
  16. Jan 29, 2014
    7
    Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is an exceptional action game. As you probably already know you literally cut through everything in the game. Cutting enemy soldiers into halves not enough? How about slicing entire helicopters and mechs into shreds? In Metal Gear Rising you will be doing that a lot. Yes its not realistic but who cares? Just enjoy being an overpowered cyborg ninja whereas listen to the game's awesome music. This is probably the most solid action game I have ever played, simple yet precise and very satisfying.
    Truth to be told there isn't much story in this game: just stopping the bad guys who try to bring the world to the chaos of war. Characters in Metal Gear Solid does not appear in the game but it is solely about Raiden this time, who fights against leaders of the organization Desperado.
    Speaking of which, boss fights are easily the best parts in Metal Gear Rising. Each boss is unique and powerful, and you will not win just by mashing attack button in this game. They all require special tactics to defeat, which is not easy to pull out but very satisfying when you do.
    The downfall of Metal Gear Rising, however, is that it is so short. Its only 6 hours! If not this game would have been a 9 out of 10. If you are an action game player you definitely want to check this game out. Its a must buy after its price has dropped.
    Expand
  17. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    When Metal Gear Rising was first announced, my reaction was basically, "So?" Having never played a Metal Gear game before, I really didn't care much. I decided to check it out of sheer curiosity, and my mind was irrevocably blown out of the back of my head. I was amazed at the graphics, gameplay, and music. Graphics first. You actually felt like the characters and locations were real, like you could stick your hand through the TV and grab Raiden's shoulder. Lip syncing and vocals are SPOT ON PERFECT. I was shocked. While gameplay can get repetitive at times, you never feel like you've had the same fight. Combos and "Zandatsu" are welcome additions to combat. Music... This music deserves awards on its own. A great mix of Techno and Heavy Metal, its sure to make you orgasm in your pants from how awesome it is and the music will stay with you. The lyrics during boss fights are not only catchy, but they describe your opponent indefinitely. Story is probably the best I've ever seen. Not gonna spoil anything, but get ready to think about your morals and who is really in charge. If your looking for a game that really makes you want to play again, feel like your REALLY SLICING THROUGH YOUR ENEMIES, then this game is for you. Enjoy guys. Expand
  18. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    I loved it, this is such a well created hack'n slash game that i can't even describe how impressed i am of it. Well done Platinum Games!

    Now, i am just waiting for the Solid series to come on the PC platform as well, Kojima.. i'm waiting.
  19. Jan 10, 2014
    2
    I can't understand the mostly good reception. I have played a lot genre similar games recently like the new new DMC, Batman Arkham Asylum or even Mutant Ninja Turtles. This game can't even get close to one of them neither storywise or in fighting dynamics. The Graphics are practicable though not great, for they don't have but not very detailed. Some of the Enemy are OK to fight, but it's mostly dull gameplay the dialogue is not relevant, the characters are just stereotypes sticked together.
    I would not buy this game again.
    Expand
  20. Jan 9, 2014
    9
    I have played this game, way too much. Metal Gear Rising Revengeance is one of the most satisfying hack 'n' slash game I have played. Not quite as good as DMC4, but still amazing nevertheless. You play as cyborg Raiden, which was one of the things I wished was in MGS4, and it is a truly great game. First visuals, it looks great. Controls are really good. My only complaint is when you're playing on higher difficulties you'll feel that some of the controls (mainly blocking) are poorly programmed that can lead to some really cheap hits if you're attempting you're Stormbringer playthrough. Combat is satisfying because you have a sword that can actually cut through stuff. This idea is made more noticeable through Blade Mode where you can slash any enemy into nothing, or rip out their spines, either or depends on your preferences. The soundtrack is the best thing to come out of 2013 in terms of music. Each song is fitting to each scenario. The boss themes match the fights exactly and each make the fight more memorable. Boss fights are still top notch, maybe even a little better then the MGS series because of the emphasis on sword play. My favorite boss is easily Monsoon, a magnetized cyborg that appears in chapter 3. As an introduction to Platinum Games, I am thoroughly impressed and will now be keeping a close eye out for Bayonetta, all thanks to the combat system. Now for the plot. It has its problems although minute in some cases. The plot follows Raiden as he goes to stop one private military corporation from training children's brains to become cyborg soldiers. This then leads into a conspiracy that leads up to the US Congress. The plot didn't come around until chapter 2. Despite this, it does look into the issue of child soldiers, which is still a pressing issue. People complain about how long the MGS cutscenes are, but I think they would agree that MGRR could use some long cutscenes as well as more. It could easily use an additional 2 hours in cutscenes, that way, it can really flesh out the characters. One example is the rival called Jetstream Sam. He disgraces Raiden in the prologue chapter, disappears, reappears in chapter 3 , disappears again, then you fight him in chapter 6. I feel that if they gave him another 30 minutes in cutscenes in other chapters, it would add to the fight with him and make it a more satisfying fight. It's also a short game, ranging to between 6 and 8 hours of gameplay. I felt as though they should have expanded the gameplay by up to four hours, making it so that you can enjoy testing the new skills you've earned against tougher scenarios. It would have fleshed out the combat a lot more too. The game also includes easily one of the hardest difficulty setting that I have played on, Revengeance mode. That mode, will teach why the game is called Revengeance and it will put your skills to the test. Overall, I'm giving this game 8.7/10. It's a good game, but die hard fans of Metal Gear may not like the heavy combat, so to them I recommend borrowing or renting the game before buying it. To hack 'n' slash fans, enjoy cutting through everything. Expand
  21. Jan 9, 2014
    6
    So if you're here looking for a thought-out, honest review of this games quality, then look no further than here because anyone who's given this game higher than a 7 is trying to justify their purchase of a gimmick. Lets start with the story, it's barely interesting at a general level, but when you get into specific character stories, it get's worse; you'll be begging for a skip button. The cutscenes are a strong point of the game and the quick time events make you feel engaged and powerful, but this is where the fun ends because the biggest flop of this game is the gameplay. The enemies are relentless and powerful which would be okay if the game had a much-needed dodge mechanic and boss fights feel loose; your sword swings go straight through them without phasing them while you're being thrown all over the place. For those begging the mention of Blade Mode, I barely consider it to be part of the gameplay. There is one difference between slashing an object into a million pieces and destroying it in one swing and that difference is visual appeal. Because of this, I consider the whole mechanic to be more like a cutscene, and therefore, a huge waste of time that's not worthy to be the selling point of the game. All of this adds up to one of the bigger disappointments of my gaming career, but I suppose that's what I get for falling for trailers of a seemingly deep and addicting experience. But isn't that how all gimmicks get you? Expand
  22. Jan 8, 2014
    9
    Metal Gear Rising is an amazing game. High intensity action, absurdly addicting gameplay, an above average story, amazing boss battles (some of the best i've ever played in a game) and topping it off with possibly the best soundtrack of any game this year. This game is meant to be replayed so the game being short is not a concern, at least for me anyway. While the game is not perfect (that camera), Rising deserves a spot in your library. I give this game a 9 for both the PS3 and Xbox 360 versions (woulda given it a 9.5, but the rating system won't let me). Expand
  23. Jan 5, 2014
    6
    Metal Gear Rising Reveangence starts explosive but gets real quick real boring. The enviroments do not offer any variety and the new weapons you get dont have many combos.
  24. Jan 1, 2014
    7
    Nice game, Not your typical Meta Gear game though. I would understand if few hated this game.
    The combat system is great and interesting. But the camera and free blade mode were really annoying. The game sometimes require stealth play. But actually It just doesn't fit in this one. Not realistic to play stealthy while your blade is making too much noise cuting something or someone.
    Boss
    fights were also annoying. I never understood how blocking is working. this is another thing I hated about the game.
    Back to story. Well, if you aren't fan of MGS then you might not like the story. The story is typical MG typeof story. coupl of returning charactersand lots of familier names.
    Overall it's not a must play if you are MG fan. I just played it because it was free on PSPlus.
    Expand
  25. Dec 29, 2013
    8
    The battle system is deep and fun, blade mode is amazing precise, the bad are the levels feel a little plain and dlc are made from recycled content and is duration is short, is an enjoyable game not for casuals players
  26. Dec 22, 2013
    2
    terrible. Atrocious camera control/system, poor choice of weapons, switching weapons and items is cumbersome and slow. Goofy, heavy handed anti-American story, lame Japanese style, etc etc. A far cry from God of War or Devil May Cry. Pissed I wasted time and money on this game.
  27. Dec 21, 2013
    3
    On the plus side of this game, graphics look good.

    However, that's about the only thing going for the game.
    Most of what is so stunningly shown, is just pure visceral violence. Now a bit I don't mind, but if the emphasis in a game is too much on gore, it just means to hide other issues in general in my experience. For example for this game: lack of a decent story, lack of a decent
    tutorial & lack of depth in gameplay in general Expand
  28. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    A very undervalued game in my opinion, it is really incredible why some magazines give so low score to this hyperdynamic and epic game, some parts of the game are great, the parrying system is superb, the effects are great and the pace is crazy,I think they would give him more score if any other company would have produced it...
  29. Dec 7, 2013
    1
    Very bad controlls, bad camera, bad gameplay, play DMC, GOW etc. instead of this crap. Big disappointment,. Im a great hack&slash fan, but this game is just for those who like being upset by
    horrible gameplay and by a horrible blocking mechanic.
  30. Nov 20, 2013
    7
    Its not bad, its not something a casual gamer could play. Its full of bad design choices that even a hardcore gamer cant overcome. When you have to fight 3 bosses without a single healing potion given you cut out everyone but the top players of action games. I started on normal as i do any game. It was so punishingly hard and controls weren't explained at all(i got to sam without even using dodge or parry), unless you play a very disjointed tutorial. Stealth is a joke they added cause its near impossible. Everyone but the character sam are forgettable or stupid. It makes you feel like Raiden is the weakest character in metal gear because every fight is to much for him. Well he wasn't liked by fans and sure wont be many fans for this game. Anyway the graphic music and some scenes i will remember. But this is bargin bin purchase. I wont allow Armstrong to live in my game library. Expand
  31. Nov 20, 2013
    0
    Wow. Never expected this steaming pile of excrement in the metal gear franchise. Haven't played many recent MG games but this is truly awful. Avoid at all cost. Shame the PS+ brigade gave it away free, they should be paying us to play it!
  32. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    Metal Gear Rising is a refreshing entry into the Metal Gear franchise. MGR has some of the best graphics ive seen on a Playstation 3 to date. The combat is addicting, fast and fluid and is the best thing about this game. The beginning of the game is really good, during the middle the action does slow down at times and the story can sometimes seem crazy, but this wouldn't be a Metal Gear game without a little craziness. The ending is quite amazing, and the last boss battle is one of the best boss battles ive ever played in any game. I cant wait until Platinum Games make a sequel for this great entry into the Metal Gear franchise. Overall Score= 83/100 Expand
  33. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    I have to say, I have yet to enjoy a game as much as I've enjoyed Metal Gear Rising. After seeing it and wanting it for months, it was more than worth the wait. So where should I start? Well for starters, the game is beautiful and polished very well. Looks fantastic, plain and simple, and runs smooth as silk. The story is actually very deep once you play through it, grasp it, do a little searching within the game itself and are familiar with (or read about) the Metal Gear Solid games. But even if Metal Gear Rising is your first entry into the metal gear series, as it is mine, the story is plenty standalone to be enjoyed.

    Raiden is one HELL of a bad-ass in MGR. The game is one insane ride of pure adrenaline pumping fun; you will most likely be resisting the urge to go "WOO!" many times from your first play-through. The combat is fun, flashy, incredibly skillful and fast paced, even on easy you'll feel it's not hard but enemies won't just roll over and die. The difficulty curve as you progress is very well done; you can't rely on the same button mashing combos for everything or you're going to find things getting tough. And of course there's the nod to the good old cardboard box of metal gear solid. Stealth is an option, but not at all necessary; it is never required to go undetected during any part of the game. But there are some areas that are emphasized to be stealthy. Usually that area will have a lot of tough enemies and be difficult for your first time through. Of course you could just have fun walking around as a cardboard box and laugh at the guys who don't think it's suspicious a box wasn't there 5 minutes ago.

    The soundtrack? 11/10. MGR's soundtrack could not be any better. I've yet to see a game with such an amazing and well done soundtrack. Each song will be pumping more of the oozing epic of this game into your mind.

    Enemies are pretty well done. They feel as they should; the regular grunts stand no chance, and the stronger enemies can be brought down fairly easily with proper skill or just hitting them enough if you want to go at it like a barbarian. Hey whichever way you enjoy the game right?

    Each boss is a masterpiece. They each get their own personalized theme for battle music, as well as all having different 'feels' to the battles; each one will feel like a different kind of battle. The final boss I would say is probably one of the greatest, maybe top 5 ever, of all time in terms of game-play, design & personality, and music.

    And of course even if you beat the main game, you're going to spend a lot of time replaying and searching the levels for the many hidden extras, items and such, or just trying to S-Rank everything.

    In all good conscience I cannot fault this game for anything. The ONLY things I would like to see was the game itself longer, I beat it in about 4 hours on easy my first time, and the camera. The camera angle isn't really a big deal itself too, just don't get up against walls too often. And for tracking enemies it's not even an issue really. And while the game is short, the amount of time you'll spend hunting the hidden items, S-Ranking battles, and collecting all the collectibles will keep you playing for a lot longer, if the already insane game-play and wonderful boss-fights aren't enough already.

    And if all that isn't enough, the price? A new copy is $40, $30 pre-owned at your local Gamestop. You will not regret buying this game if you're a fan of the metal gear series or bayonetta, or just love a good insanely fun hack&slash action game.
    Expand
  34. Nov 4, 2013
    8
    It's my first Platinum Games' title that I played and its good. I mean it's really good! It has great combat mechanics with awesome blade mode cuts and parrying system that is unforgivable on the hardest difficulty but also makes game really satisfying! Boss battles and music are really great too and it brings more and more ways to beat them if you collect up special items like ID-left hands or data storage chips that unlock new weapons and outfits for Raiden. The storyline is decent but it has many funny connections to Metal Gear Solid games like option to speak to your crew on "codec" while fighting with boss or anywhere else. The only really disadvantage is that the game ends really quickly (about 3-6h, depends on player skill) but still its worth an attention to slasher fans. Expand
  35. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Word Cannot Describe This Game. Its Full Of Fun, The Cut-scene Animation Is Great, Definitely Recommended For Those That Like Movies And The Game play Is Excellent Too As Well...All Of That "Zandatsu" Thing Is So Cool! I Already Beat This Game 9 Times Already! You'd Better Buy It As Soon As Possible! Expand
  36. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    The Best Hack n Slash game of 2013. This game is much more accessible to the ones new to the genre and the boss battles make god of war bosses pale in comparison. Sure the graphics may not be high end, but the gameplay is so satisfying and the soundtrack is amazing. After playing the game, my workout playlist were filled with MGR's soundtrack
    The game may not be as intricate and in-depth
    as DMC4 and Bayonetta, but what it aims for it totally nails it. The game is a little short but the added difficulties and VR is quite good addition.
    This spinoff to MGS is totally worth your time and money. This game is the very definition of hype.
    Expand
  37. Oct 2, 2013
    7
    Now...I'm not gonna lie I'm a little bit disappointed with this.I mean Bayonetta a game i literally had no hope for turned out to be one of my favourite hack and slashes like ever.That's not to say that this is a bad game because no it is far from bad.Raiden the dick from metal gear 2 turned badass in metal gear 4 is just as awesome in this like MGS4 however his voice actor at times in this game...it gets beyond the word cheesy.I know Bayonetta was but at least that game did it with style anyway with the gameplay? metal gear rising is pretty f*cking fun.I wont spoil any of the weapons but some of them seem useless while others are complete badass. Now metal gear rising is nothing like any other metal gear before it hence why i keep comparing it to bayonetta with alittle more DMC: devil may cry and again that is not a bad thing.Its really fun but not at full price...now I'm pretty sure you can pick it up for like 15 pound and that is more then worth it. Expand
  38. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    The perfect character-action game. The game is short and sweet with the best third-person melee combat that I have experienced in the past 3 years. If you liked Bayonetta (or Vanquish) then you NEED to play this game now.
  39. Sep 7, 2013
    8
    I'm a huge fan of MGS and have been looking for something to help stave off the hunger for the next gen installment. In comes Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance. Breaking away from the traditional MGS mold which mainly focuses on unparalleled storytelling that engrosses the player in an almost too-real world of corruption, in depth character designs, and plot twists galore, MGR:R takes a stab at producing an over-the-top and insane gameplay experience.

    And it succeeds.

    I have to admit I was skeptical at first. The gameplay opens up with a relatively basic storyline (although you certainly get that Kojima feel as the story develops), and introduces you to a very well done fighting system. You quickly begin hacking, slashing, and dismembering your enemies by the dozens and it is almost frightening how much I enjoyed it. You actually maintain your health and energy levels by absorbing your enemies insides (HELL YES) and you can slow down time with the blade mode system to put more precise cuts into your enemies for extra satisfaction. The blade mode implementation plays a huge role in the game, as you will need to it overcome some of the most well done, thought out, and smart boss battles I've ever experienced.

    Overall, if your an MGS fanatic like myself and you're looking for something to keep you busy while you wait for the next gen, pick this game up and give it a shot. I was pleasantly surprised by how ok I was with the different gameplay style presented here. I was still finding myself in the MG universe, and having a damn good time.
    Expand
  40. Sep 6, 2013
    0
    Giant flop, Impossible to grasp parry mechanic, awful story, lame uninspired boss fights. The slicing mechanic is fun for 5 secs, no stealth to speak of, this game is a total misleading pile of garbage and I will never rent again. I wish I never rented this because now I have a very sour taste in my mouth for the new upcoming next gen title, DO NOT waste your time on this POS.
  41. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    This game is not perfect, I am only giving it 10 to offset those idiot who gives it 1 because they judged this game as MGS stealth game. Seriously? You got to live under a rock to not know this is a spin-off action game. And really? You expect a spin-off action game to have an amazing plot?

    Anyway, the game itself is just so entertaining. The parry system feels very natural to me. For
    those of you say you just need to mash button, you suck. Every boss will destroy you if you don't learn their moves time your parry and attack. Button mashing only works on those normal enemies. The game itself is not that long, but there are tons of VR mission and a lot of replay value to unlock all the enhancement and upgrades. I never expected this to be as good as Bayonetta, but I was pleasantly surprised. (Not saying it's better than B, but it's a joy to play). This is a game that everyone should at least try. Well, worth every penny for me (bought it used for $15). Expand
  42. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am currently in the mists of playing this game and from what i have seen it is a revamp version of metal gear, in the cool way featuring cyborgs, and a hack and slash ninja theme. the graphics are immense in my opinion the game play may feel a little repetitive to some with only having a few attack combos to choose from but that's all made up for with the gore and violence of the new and improved raiden :D. I played metal gear solid sons of liberty and when playing as raiden i was so bummed out i felt i would have been better playing a female character as she would have been more macho, but after playing this game i have total respect for him now he comes across so much more confident and more prepared for battle. From the story aspect im a little unsure its a little hazy to start of but as i progress the story is starting to unfold so i can not really comment much. but over all a visually stunning, hack and slash ninja game that is enjoyable by new to the metal gear series as well as metal gear followers looking for something new. Expand
  43. Aug 9, 2013
    6
    Rising is an okay game. It's not the worst thing ever. But it's ridiculously short and not worth $60. It also has kind of a lazy-eye of a camera that bounces around and makes it hard to chop in certain scenarios. For around $30, it's a good game.
  44. Aug 2, 2013
    5
    Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a spin-off of the Metal Gear Solid series and the main character is Raiden from Metal Gear Solid 2. Raiden was never one of my favorite characters of the series, he did get in the way of Snake a couple of times. But the story tries to be way deeper than it needs to be. There is a whole storyline about killing for justice, yet you continue to mow enemies down left and right. The characters also feel like cardboard cutouts, as they don't really have any story arks. The gameplay is fast and fun, the controls were a major problem for me. The block/counter button was the same as the attack button. Blade mode is the key feature of this game and it works really well. The action is also fun to watch as the frame rate doesn't drop and graphics as a whole are pretty good. The boss battles can be extremely cheep as well, as they have attacks that can't be blocked or dodged. The campaign is pretty short, but the game has difficult spikes that might take a while a beat. There are also VR Missions, which are not bad, but don't really improve the game as a whole. Metal Gear Rising has a really cool premise but the execution is a bit lacking, and a wouldn't mind a sequel that improves the bad parts of this game. Expand
  45. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    First of all this isn't a MGS game. This has nothing to do with rifles,pistols or stealth. This is a well made hack and slash game. The game is a bit repetitive when there isn't a boss fight. But those 5 bosses are extrelemely well-designed. And also cutting an enemy in a blade mode is hell of a fun. Hack and slash lovers DO NOT MISS THIS GAME!
  46. Jul 24, 2013
    9
    Definitely one of the best hack'n'slash I have ever played! The story is engaging and interesting. The Blade Mode is Awesome! Hard difficulties are actually hard. The Graphics look great. My only gripes are: somewhat glitchy camera and a short Story.

    IMHO, this is a must-have for all the Hack'n'Slash fans!
  47. wou
    Jul 20, 2013
    10
    melhor metal gear de longe
    amantes do antigo metal gear podem falar oq for.. mas esse metal gear mostrou oq um jogo de verdade.. sem blablabla, sem enrolação, sempre indo direto ao ponto
  48. Jul 12, 2013
    3
    This game is truly bad. I've beaten over 130 different games in my lifetime, so I'm not just trashing this lightly. I'm also a big Metal Gear fan, all the way back to NES games. This however, should not be confused with a true Metal Gear game. This is some nightmare come to life. As HateApe points out in his review, this is a hack and slash. But, BUT, this is not even a poor hack and slash. This is a terrible hack and slash. You can slice a bridge in half, but can't jump up on it to move forward. You can slice through cars and solid steel, but that dry wall covered wall is too tough for your sword. The controls are horrible. The enemies, specifically bossfights, are ridiculous. The controls are already bad, but oh please, now have me hit entirely different keys that you put up on screen because that makes so much sense. I played the Xbox demo and thank goodness, because that was 30 min of my life I will never get back. You like this genre stick with Devil May Cry, Heavenly Sword, God of War, etc. Expand
  49. Jun 30, 2013
    9
    The Good:Graphics,Jack The ripper,enemies,bosses,story.,music!,ending.
    Bad:George style,PC release..

    This game is nearly perfect finally Raiden unleashed his true nature self Jack the ripper,we play an anti hero this is actually a pretty fantastic! and rare! and it would be greater if he later change to be a same as Solidus snake was until jack die.George was irritating by the way of
    he speaking.PC release a big negative this game should exist only for consoles.The ending was perfect. Expand
  50. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    This is one of my favorite games ever. While it's certainly not perfect, it has a very special place in my heart due to its battle system, music, characters, unlockables, etc. Unlike some other reviewers, I believe that the things the game does right easily overshadow the things that it does wrong. The "Zandatsu" cutting system is absolutely amazing and unlike anything I've ever seen. Once you start cutting, you just won't be able to stop. Aside from that, the battle system is of the typically high quality that we've come to expect from Platinum Games. The only real difference between it and, say, Bayonetta, is the lack of any kind of dodge or block button. In their place is a very interesting parry mechanic that might be a bit hard to master, but once you do it, it feels deeply satisfying to parry your opponents, and it adds a whole new level of depth to the battle system. The soundtrack is one of the best I've ever heard. The fact that I actually bought it and put most of the vocal tracks on my iPod should explain exactly what level of quality we're talking about here these are tracks that are absolutely amazing out of the game, but sound incredible when they start playing in the middle of a fight. It's also safe to say that this game features the most interesting squad of bosses seen in a "Metal Gear" title since "metal Gear Solid 3", with the cake going to Monsoon the cybernetic philosopher who can separate his body into tiny pieces and control magnetism.

    Of course, many people are turned off by the length of the game not counting cutscenes or replays, the campaign can be beaten in about 4 hours. Then again, this is one of those games that are supposed to be played again and again, using different weapons, cybernetic bodies and difficulty levels. The amount of collectibles is astounding you can collect data chips, chop off left arms, hunt for Men in Boxes, look for health extensions or just try to get trophies and titles. No matter what, there's always something new you can discover on repeated playthroughs, which can make up for the short length of the campaign. There's also literally hundreds of VR missions you can try that will take at least 4 hours on their own, so if the length is the reason why you might not want to pick this up, I'd say your fears aren't entirely justified.

    Bottom line if you want to play an absolutely excellent hack n slash, then ignore the trolls and look no further than Metal Gear Rising!
    Expand
  51. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    this game was awesome it is challenging and is as good is easily one of the best hack and slash games this year and is on par with the new Devil May Cry
  52. Jun 13, 2013
    8
    Makes up for Raiden being a complete b*tch in MGS2, he's actually badass in this. Music is really cool too. The campaign is a bit too short and when the story tries to be serious, its a bit stupid considering how silly the story is, but overall a really good game, Platinum fkin rule!!!
  53. Jun 11, 2013
    0
    this is a shame to the name metal gear solid its devil may cry basically no story really to follow you hack and slash like your playing the latest dynasty warrior game highly misleading as MGS games are usually stealth driven and a lot of deep storyline wouldn't even pick this up in a bargain bin for 50 pence.

    shocking
  54. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    I was very happy with this Metal Gear spin off and hope to see more installments of this game from Platinum Games. To me the game play and story over powered the negatives such as the game being too short and the camera angel at times being unpredictable. Although the game was short, with the reattempts in each chapter had it actually last about the length of any other game. The game keeps track of the time spent playing, but doesn't take into account the time of failed attempts in chapters or checkpoints, and it does not include the cut scene in that time. Once I finished the game it said I beat it in 5 hours but reality was that it took me closer to 10 hours to complete. As far as the camera angle being sporadic, it only behaved that way when too close to a wall and would do a 180 degree turn to look at the character but at the wall as well. This was only a problem when i was hugging the walls in attempt to stealth at certain parts. But once I realized and understood what caused this was able to adapt my playing to prevent that camera behavior; and did it without sacrificing the experience of the game. Overall I loved the game and beat it three times in a row and still am trying to unlock certain collectibles and new weapons so continue to replay certain chapters. Now I have about 20 hours of gaming attributed to this game, and don't regret a moment of it. Plus the DLC's available are short but give great insight into the world and help expand the experience that most people complained was too short. The mechanics and the game play are so amazing to me it was effortless to forget or not noticed any shortcomings. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys hack'n slash, and are Metal Gear fans looking for something different in the beloved universe. Expand
  55. Jun 5, 2013
    2
    Gameplay:
    Coming from Platinum games I expected more from them. Following the release of a less than stellar DmC from Ninja Theory I expected Platinum to pick up the ball NT had dropped. Sadly I was disappointed. What we got was a QTE filled, simple two button, mash square to win, mess of a hack and Slash for the casual audience instead of something on par with Vanquish and Bayonetta.


    Story:
    The story is a laughable mess that has had a backlash of fans of the MGS franchise because they have ruined Raiden (Jack da Rippah). I didn't have any claims of this because when I played MGR I hadn't played any of the MGS franchise whatsoever. I looked up which games Raiden was in in that franchise and bought the HD collection on PS3 and MGS4. After playing these games and bewildered that Raiden had done a complete 180 on terms of his characterization. I could then see why MGS fans were in outrage, it isn't much different than DMC fans angry over the angstonization of Dante in DmC. On top of the ruining of the character MGS fans have known to love I find out that his character in MGR is now officially part of the story in MGS instead of the spinoff it was slated to be.

    Music:
    The music in this game fit so perfectly it was almost good. The OST is so over the top and cheesy it cannot help but be this game's overall theme
    Expand
  56. May 30, 2013
    8
    The manliest game I have ever played! Addictive! Fun! Entertaining! Running and Slicing everything in to thousand pieces has never been so fun! "Cut at will". Excellent spin-off!! This is a great addition to metal gear games. But it's not perfect. The game is very short but it doesn't feel short because the game evolves itself so often. The story is also pretty weak(like in a action-film) but still entertaining. But you must remember that Hideo Kojima did not direct and write this one and that is the one main reasons why the story is weak. And just to remind. This is not a metal gear SOLID game just a spin-off and great one. Expand
  57. May 30, 2013
    6
    Metal gear rising is the worst metal gear game! The game is too short and filled with uninteresting codec calls. The stealth action is unbelievable. Lack of defense action other than parrying. Attacks skills seem to have no effects on every enemy! Although it is a spinoff but the game screws up the entire series!
  58. May 25, 2013
    6
    I really liked this game, and I would recommend it, conditionally. It doesn't have a whole lot of substance or depth, but the few hours of gameplay are dense, the boss battles are exciting, the general action is above average, replay value is there for higher difficulties/achievement completion which at least triples the game life. Then there's this one prominent pro that this game has, it's just plain fun. The issue I often find with this genre, high speed dexterity based action games, is that there always seems to be some way to break the system. In Bayonetta, that was the parry/block that cancelled damage and knocked back enemies, DMC3 it was Aerial Rave with weapon switching, 4, Nero's charge shot, NG Izuna Drop, there's always something. In this case, the parry/block system is too lenient and rewards spamming, dodging has way too many invincibility frames, combo variations don't really make all too much difference in the grand scheme, cancelling out of fully charged pincer blade attacks makes the already easy boss battles child's play. I really enjoy playing these games on a difficulty that rewards accurate response to known attack patterns and situations, with reflexes being the last resort fall back. However, MGR is just too broken, which is my real beef with it. There's also something that really nagged at me the whole time, Platinum did deliver, but I couldn't help but feel underwhelmed at points, thinking "they are capable of doing better than this" Sure it's fun, but success just didn't feel satisfying on my second and subsequent playthroughs. I'd recommend this game to people who like the genre, so if you're reading this review, please don't be discouraged from buying this game, the poor score I'm giving it here is because I couldn't overlook the flaws, not because the flaws undermined the positive aspects. However, I'd recommend DMC and NG3:RE before it, from a purely gameplay standpoint.

    Worthy mention, the OST is absolutely top notch. Not only is it good, it's empowering in the moment. With it, reloading saves for no hit boss runs felt much less monotonous.
    Expand
  59. May 16, 2013
    3
    I've been gaming for over 15 years now across all consoles released in my lifetime including PC, and it is safe to say that this is the worst game I have ever played.

    Horrible level designs. Too linear. Too many invisible walls. Same recycled textures and objects over and over. Players can't even explore the few side routes because of the visor that sees through walls and picks out
    enemies and treasure for you eliminating all of the fun.

    Gameplay is equally bad. There is no reason to use one combo over another except area of effect attacks vs. single target ones. Blocking is atrocious. Timing isn't that difficult; it's the terrible controls that make it so horrendous. Blocking is done by holding the left joystick in the direction of the enemy attacking you and pressing light attack. If enemies are too far (which most of the time they are), Raiden just runs at them and gets hit. The mechanic is meant to flow seamlessly with combat, but it doesn't at all. It interrupts the action. It's impossible to avoid damage when multiple enemies are attacking you at once from all sides. The camera is terrible which results in the player getting hit by enemies they can't even see.

    The story is actually pretty good. The dialogue is well written and funny (think cheesy self aware action movie). It also includes some insightful comments that are relevant in the world today. Cutscenes look amazing with all sorts of particle effects and well choreographed over the top fights.

    In closing, this game is a button masher that requires zero skill. Blocking ruins the game and blade mode is a shallow gimmick. The dodge mechanic is the best way of avoiding damage but it still doesn't work as well as it should. I wouldn't recommend this game to anyone unless they are getting it for around $10.
    Expand
  60. May 13, 2013
    8
    As an MGS fan I was really disappointed by the mediocre story and voice acting but the fun gameplay and music still made it an overall pleasant experience. Regarding voice acting, why did they tell Quinton Flynn to use a Christian Bale/Batman voice? It was laughable. Another let down was the character of Sam. They could have made him one of the all-time greats but sadly they failed.

    GOOD: Boss fights, music, gameplay.

    BAD: Story, Voice acting, game is too short.
    Expand
  61. May 10, 2013
    6
    The game is solid. Plays beautifully and it has a ˜god of war fell" to it when you see yourself chaining combos with extreme violence. Think of it of Ninja Gaiden meets Kratos. The main problem, in my opinion, (apart from the VERY SHORT LENGTH, since it's pretty much 4 hours long) is that Metal Gear Rising, like its main character, suffers from lack of charisma. We just don't care very much about Raiden, though the game keeps forcing us to understand (and believe he is the ultimate hero). In the end, the game is very bland, grey, with little personality. It's a good and entertaining game but very short and not very compelling. Expand
  62. May 4, 2013
    8
    Metal Gear Rising Revengeance is a fun game especially if you like hack-slash games like devil may cry. Just to be clear you don't have to play any other Metal Gear games to know what is going on, this is a completely different story. First of all the music in this game is very solid it settles the atmosphere very successfully and the Blade-mode is soo much fun, you can literally cut every single body part in half, it gives you tons of satisfaction when you cut someone in half with your blade. Bossfights are a lot of fun and your biggest foe who fought you at the beggining of the game, beating the sh'' out of you is well made. On the other hand, voice acting and the wonky camera is my only complain, if the could fix the camera which is one of the most important aspect in the hack-slash game, this game would have a higher score. Overall, Metal Gear Rising Revengeance is a great addition to the series but it is not replacing other metal gear games, it's a new series(just to clerify), with a great music and the solid gameplay this game is a must buy.

    *SORRY FOR ANY SPELLING MISTAKES, OR ANY OTHER MISTAKES*
    Expand
  63. May 4, 2013
    4
    I think it’s safe to say that none of us were expecting an honest and direct Metal Gear Solid game. I think it’s additionally safe to say that anyone with realistic expectations of MGR:R booted-up the game with an open mind and realization that this was a spin-off; not a sequel/prequel. With a great deal of artistic license taken by Platinum, however, what became the final MGR:R product is essentially only a Metal Gear game in the sense that it says so on the box art and title screen. The first thing many Metal Gear fans will note is the extreme use of blood and cringe-worthy use of profanity. Let it be said that I am not squeamish nor do I pull punches linguistically in my daily vocabulary. Raiden’s once underlying rage comes to the surface in MGR:R as he plunges and slashes his sword though nearly everything he sees—living, inanimate, or otherwise. The marketing tagline for this game is “cut what you will”. No lie! This game allows the player to slice and dice almost every object in the game in some fashion. In that sense, the game achieves a definite cool factor and is probably the most fun aspect. But Metal Gear games have always demanded more for themselves and thusly provided a deeper experience for the gamer. And that, dear readers, is where MGR:R fails. Again, we knew it would be a hack-and-slasher, but it is ONLY a hack-and-slasher. I find the controls in this game a little funky to get used to. Halfway through the game, I still hadn’t reached the point where I could relax from mentally concentrating on every single button push. The options menu offers three mildly differing control maps, but I find each one to be a bit clumsy. Again, a comparison to the controls of Vanquish cannot be ignored. The control scheme makes extensive use of both analog sticks, shoulder buttons, and four-button layout while the D-pad plays a lesser role of menu scrolling and item selection. The major problem I have concerns the camera control. The camera floats way too much and there is little to do to remedy it, especially in moments of intense combat when you’re surrounded by four separate attackers. There is a target lock option, but I find that it has very little effect and actually impedes battle effectiveness. The player has the ability to enter a bullet-time phase where they can freely slash away at a target for an almost obscene combination of hits which is probably the game’s best feature. There’s nothing quite like jumping over a helicopter in mid-air and calmly dissecting its rotors into hundreds of finite pieces whilst the guitar-driven rock score kicks your eardrums in. It’s in those few and far between moments that I found my inner Metal Gear voice saying “this isn’t such a bad game”. Seconds later, I would fall back to the ground with enemy defeated and, sadly, reality would return. I’m not necessarily saying that the controls are bad per se; I’m simply saying that they’re the wrong type of controls for this type of game. Camera control is paramount. You can’t attack what you can’t see. But what compounds the problem is that the game seems bent on rewarding button mashing—something that nearly every other Metal Gear game dissuades with the exception of surviving Revolver Ocelot’s torture machine or moments of the ilk. MGR:R is not an abomination, but it is simply not a very good game. Even if it were viewed from the perspective of a stand-alone, original game, it would fall short. If you’re looking for a truly amazing Metal Gear game to play, look to the HD collections, knockout a few trophies from the highly-requested trophy patch for MGS4, or dust off your NES. If you’re looking for a run-and-gun, kill everything experience, checkout Vanquish…or maybe rent MGR:R. It’s a relatively short game, too, so most gamers will likely complete it after not much time. Expand
  64. May 2, 2013
    10
    Metal Gear Rising: Reveangeance is one of the most epic games of 2013 and my entry into the Metal Gear franchise, even though Metal gear Rising is shorter than i expected it is a awesome game worthy a purchase and also slo-mo slice and dice, if you want a great hack and slash game i recommend this game
  65. Apr 29, 2013
    7
    I've never played a Metal Gear game before but when I heard about this game and its focus on action rather than stealth I decided to check it out. I'm glad I did, the action is fantastic. Combat feels great, there are some awesome set pieces, and chopping enemies into thousands of little pieces in slow motion and ripping out their spine before they even hit the ground never gets old. I also have to give special praise to the games outstanding soundtrack, it truly does get you pumped to fight and is one of the best soundtracks of 2013. Unfortunately the game does have some issues that keep it from being the next big action game. The action is great but I couldn't help feeling like there wasn't enough of it. This is the kind of combat system that has you wanting to slaughter endless hoards of enemies, but the game never gives you more than a few enemies at a time. This is perfectly fine because I was having fun, but I wanted more to kill. Another factor contributing to the feeling of a lack of combat is the short length of the game. I beat the story mode in under 4 hours. The game does have some challenge rooms but I never really got interested in them. The games story is also rough. It's completely bonkers and I honestly don't think I could tell you what is was about, all I remember is something about rescuing children's brains. It makes no sense and frequently pulls you out of the game with its overly long cutscenes and intrusive moments where a supporting cast member will call you and force you to talk to them about crap you don't care about. In the end I did enjoy my time with Revengeance, but felt it was too short. If they make a sequel they need to focus less on their crappy story and more on the fantastic combat system they've created. All in all it's a fun game, but not worth full retail price. Expand
  66. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    The game is fantastic, if a little short. It is what it is, simply an action game, the dialogue/story is hilariously bad, but it didn't bother me too much as i'm not a die-hard fan of the franchise. 1 major gripe, which is absolutely, categorically, giving me the is the camera. I H-A-T-E the camera, majority of the time the camera is more dangerous than the enemies are (other than the Mastiffs... those things), otherwise, it's a TONNE of fun, slicing up in blade mode never gets old, heaps of upgrades to keep you replaying it, vr missions are a good challenge, boss battles are loads of fun. Thoroughly recommend! Just try not to break your controller when camera ****s you in the ass Expand
  67. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    i do really like the cutting system on the game, i never had interested on MGS until i played this game (it's just because not really the type of my games). sadly, it's short, but it's worth the time i spend and makes you feel awesome! i replay it since i love the feel of cutting stuff, simple, kinda able to release your stress, and loving all the awesome choreography and cut scenes.
  68. Apr 25, 2013
    7
    I'm a huge Metal Gear fan and this game is no where near as good as the main games but it's still a good game. The story isn't as interesting as the main series but good, the music is fantastic, the graphics are ok, the game-play is repetitive and linear and the game is quite short.
  69. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    A worthy addition to the metal gear solid franchise featuring Raiden from MGS2 and 4, living proof that you really can polish a turd with the right materials.
  70. Apr 13, 2013
    9
    The game is attempt to see what if Hideo Kojima have a lower participation in Metal Gear games? The answer is: Good a breathtaking action/adventure game with very hard bosses and enemies, many secrets and extras doings, but that does not last long, and is far from be a Hideo Kojima's game, don't meaning that the game is bad. The plot of Rising is great, and nothing more than that, comparing with MGS1, MGS2 or MGS3, for don't be too complicated and interpretative, but contents a theme to debate: the Revenge. The graphics are not too good, having a lot of knurled images and animations, but the CG is from a good quality. The game's duration takes a place in 7-12 hours of game-play, depending if you want to make 100%, if you want to take the Platinum Trophy, you can do it within 17, being very determined. For the MGS fans, is a must buy, for the Hack n' Slash fans, play the demo, and make your opinion, and for anyone looking for a good plot, buy, I can ensure that you are not wasting money. Expand
  71. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    Platinum games does it again, this game demolishes DmC in terms of combos, variety and fluid action.
    The new zan-datsu mechanic is amazing. Can't wait to see what they do in MGR2.
  72. Apr 11, 2013
    9
    First of all, no, this is not the Metal Gear you are used to. No Tactical Espionage Action. But this doesn't mean it's a bad game!

    I really enjoyed the game. It's nice to see a game that challenges people to use skill instead of button-mashing the hell out of the controller. Really liked the cinematic feel of the cut-scenes and i especially enjoyed the boss-battles.

    The shortcomings
    of the game is maybe that it is a bit short. Still, a enjoyable experience that gets your blood flowing and puts your skills to test.

    Hoping for a second game of the series!
    Expand
  73. Apr 9, 2013
    9
    Hands down, we already know the name of the best action game of the year. Exaggerating much? I'm not. This game, although not following the same concept as the Solid Series, managed somehow to feel in essence like a metal gear game. Codecs? You got it. 540 of them. Stealth? Not as deep, but it's there nonetheless. Silly humor? You got it. All in together with a fresh action packed experience, making of Rising unique in its own rights.
    The fast paced gameplay may not be as deep as the likes of Bayonetta and the old DMC games, but feel fluid as much. Te story is silly, unnecessary even. Hm, what's about again? I can't tell, but I don't care. The game kept me busy enough with the awesome bosses fights followed by a KICKASS SOUNDTRACK.
    Expand
  74. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    Great game! Very addicting! There really is not much to criticize about it except that the camera angle can sometimes be in your way during boss battles. I would categorize the game as one of those more challenging games which is one of the reason it always motivates me to upgrade my weapons to conquer the enemies with a sense of accomplishment.
  75. Apr 8, 2013
    8
    Metal gear rising is a impressive game that takes place 14 years after the guns of the patriots campaign the gameplay is fast intense and will keep you on your toes with incredible attack animations But the game is lacking in freedom of movement and some interesting events being left in the shadows like raidens transformation and since this is a metal gear game. I was hoping that there would be a evade or dodge button that could help casual players if the new guard scheme was complicated or just plain stupid Boss battles are epic and includes flashy quick time events and a decent challenge from the expendable cyborgs
    You will encounter in the game. Metal gear rising also has a new blade mode that allows you too cut through anything and adds replayability too the game along side the fun vr missions that gives the player more of a challenge giving you set objectives but out of all that I was hoping the game could be longer ad some cameos would have been nice .
    8/10
    Expand
  76. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    Short... Biggest downfall. But with that said. Take an action game of 10 hours shrink it to 5 and make it non-stop go go go... Add in insane fights and a psychotic hero makes me smile inside. Riaden has redeemed himself and for the first time a MGS game spin-off that is enjoyable.
  77. Mar 28, 2013
    3
    First game I did not finish in a long while. EXTREMELY repetitive gameplay, boring and predictable story. Has nothing to do with MGS if thats what you are looking for. Just a generic button-masher a la block, roll away, attack, roll away, attack, special attack....repeat times 10.0000...game finished. For 10$ yes...60$...F That
  78. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    Bottom Line: This is the answer to all of those suffering with ADHD out in the gaming world. Revengeance is a comical hack and slash that has addictive combat mechanics and a high paced story line that is just as over the top as Raiden's high heels. The good: I went into this game expecting a fun experience and what I got was a high paced action packed thrill ride roller coaster that had me glued to my console for the next 5 hours, which unfortunately means that I finished the game. However, despite its short story I never felt like my time was wasted, but more so time well spent in what was a beautiful mix of over the top action with enough of a serious tone to make you actually believe that raiden is trying to do the impossible even if you think the plot is as silly as this game's name. Another praise worthy note for this game is that there is not much hand holding, your success as Raiden is completely dependent on how much time you take to learn how to combo and link attacks, parry and dodge in what is a master mix of violence. The bad: I mention this in the good section, but this game is just really short, which is a disappointment, but then again I certainly can't imagine how any game team could successfully maintain the type of pace revengeance sets. All good things come to an end. In addition, while the box was a nice touch to fans of the franchise it didn't fit well with the pace of the story and if Kojima was trying to set a different tone with this game I have to question why they decided to add stealth elements. Expand
  79. Mar 28, 2013
    8
    This game is just flat out fun. Combat is not as deep as DmC or other hack n slash games but it is still fluid and chopping enemies never gets old. The story is lacking which is a misstep considering how many things they could have done story wise. I probably wouldn't go out and purchase this till a price drop though, I went through it in about 5 hours.
  80. Mar 26, 2013
    7
    I thought this was a pretty solid game. The combat was pretty well done and fun, even though you could easily just get by with mashing and occasional blocks, still, there was the opportunity for more if you really wanted to make the game more fun.

    The game didn't have too much personality to it. There were different areas, but they lacked some of the excitement I was hoping for, even
    though I did pretty much know what to expect. The characters in the game didn't have a whole lot of personality to them until you were halfway through the game, then Raiden got more interesting, but a lot of the enemies were fairly generic for the most part. The story was pretty good though, so that helped to make up for a lot of that.

    As a whole I had a lot of fun playing this game. It's nowhere near one of the best hack and slash games I've ever played, but it's still a good game, and I'm glad I was able to play through it, even if it went by really quickly, and a huge chunk of that was the final battle.
    Expand
  81. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    This is my first review so I apolgize if it's a little long. Despite only having played 2 MGS games, namely Portable Ops and Peace Walker, I found that this game's plot was easy to understand and had very few references or spoilers to previous MGS games. Most people here and in other sites are giving this game a bad name, but I would like to correct this bad opinion. Let's start with the story (not giving out too many spoilers), it follows Raiden, the ninja turned cyborg from MGS 4 (who was also a child soldier in Liberia) who has joined a private military company (PMC) called Maverick Security. He is disgraced and humiliated after a mission to protect the prime minister of a country in Africa fails and ends with the prime minister being assassinated by another PMC known as Desperado. Raiden then embarks on a quest of vengeance, trying to stop Desperado's plot and also trying to keep his inner demons at bay. Like all MGS games there is a large amount of cutscenes that help move the story along. In one level especially, you'll find yourself feeling just like Raiden, questioning the morality of your actions, and even feeling sorry for the nameless other cyborgs you slaughter. In short, Raiden, despite being a powerful cyborg ninja, is quite a relatable character. For gameplay on the other hand, it's very fast-paced and full of action, especially with Blade Mode, which slows down time and allows you to slice enemies into pieces. Raiden can also perform a "zandatsu" in which after slicing a precise area of the enemy's body, he can pull out their spines and consume it for health and energy. One of my complaints is that the parrying movement is sort of confusing at first and in my opinion they should've just made it a one button counter (just as in Arkham City). Also, there is also a "stealth" mechanic to appease long-time fans of the series, but since Raiden is a cuborg ninja with a sword, the stealth mechanic's pretty useless and is something we can do without in future games. Unfortunately, the game only lasted about 6-7 hours, and, being a gamer who loves to play long games, was pretty disappointed that I couldn't do more other than replay the missions and have some VR training. I played this game on PS3, the graphics were amazingly detailed, both in cutscenes and actual gameplay. I just wish they could've added more ambience to the dull environment, or at least made the areas more open-ended. Overall, Metal Gear Rising is a great game, the PROs being great graphics, interesting storyline, character, and fun gameplay, the CONs being confusing parry mechanic, short game (6-7 hours), little replayability value, and dull environment. Expand
  82. Mar 21, 2013
    6
    This is not a 60 dollar game. It's, at best, MAYBE worth spending 40 dollars on but in reality it should be much less. MGRR does some really cool things and definitely stands up well next to its apparent inspiration Ninja Gaiden, but in the end this is an action game that you play once and has practically no replay value. Many games are like this, and none of them are worth full price in my opinion just because there are so many games out there today that you can be playing for 100 hours or more, nevermind the 6 hours is takes to finish this title. So, despite its decent quality and playability, currently it's overpriced. I also didn't like the quality of the cinematics. Bayonetta (another Platinum title) had a similar level of production values in this area which didn't seem to keep pace with other titles in the market. However, despite these issue, the game plays quite well and apes the same upgrade mechanics found in practically every game today. Wait until the price drops and keep in mind that this is a short game and adjust your expectations accordingly. Expand
  83. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    Formerly planned as a Kojima product, Metal Gear Rising (also known as Metal Gear Solid: Rising) was doomed to never see the light of the day. Because Hideo Kojima had to focus on the main Series, he scraped the idea with Rising. But, the game was also in developement. So much work for nothing? Eventually, Platinum Games (Bayonetta) has taken over the boat, and finished the game. But it dosen't look like the version Kojima has planned. Rising was planned as a more Action oriented Stealh Game. Also, the whole Beta Stuff showed a lot more gory game. You should also know, the original Story was set after Sons of Liberty.

    The final product became a very good game. In other words, it's totally "Solid", even without a Snake in the game. The Action is one of the finest in this Genre for the current Generation. The graphics are detailed (when there is much Action, even Hollywood will say: Chapeau!). The citys are all a bit empty, there is a soul missing. Making them look like abandoned ghost towns.

    The Boss Battles are also very unique. They're totally challenging even in the normal mode. Absolute praise goes out to the Soundtrack played when you fight a Boss. This will definitely push you even more.

    The overall playtime is a bit short. On the easy mode, you can finish the game in under 5 hours. But there are so many collectibles, you will definitely come back for another playthrough. Don't forget to mention the VR Missions. And there are a lot.

    Verdict:

    Raiden was a good character long before Guns of the Patriots and Rising. In Sons of Liberty, his Character was doomed because of the fame of Solid Snake. Kojima did not kill Raiden. He likes him, and he made him for the second time the main protagonist of a game. Making him one of the most Bad Ass Cyborg in Gaming history. 8/10

    Trivia:

    The planned main character was the famous Gray Fox. That idea was scrapped. At least, you can play as Gray Fox via the downloadable costume.
    Expand
  84. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    "METAL GEAR RISING: REVENGEANCE is a acceptable indulging take on the METAL GEAR universe. The gameplay is lighting fast, ridiculous & offers some interesting mechanics for fans to master that keeps the replay value up. The boss battles are interesting for the most part harkening to a real Mega Man feel & the visceral annihilation of all your foes is hilariously good fun. But it’s also extremely short, frustrating at times & has a forgettable story & cast about redemption & other meaningful moody stuff.

    It doesn’t quite live up to the METAL GEAR name completely, but it’s still a perfectly fun & accessible detour from the usual stealth & hour long cutscene sagas before it. Just don’t expect to be blown away in amazement."

    Read my full review: http://tmblr.co/ZOA6EyfFK9Jd
    Expand
  85. Mar 19, 2013
    4
    I kinda wish I would've waited a year to purchase this one at apx. $20 opposed to full price. Repititious is an understatement. The entire (short) game is spent button mashing, with little to no attention paid to tactics. I have been a big fan of the old-school Metal Gear Solid franchise and I love the tactical yet badassedness of snake. This one, however, just seems to use visual ploys to convince people that it is comparably fun. I mean, yea, the graphics look great... congrats. I bought this one based on its Metascore, and you let me down this time. Expand
  86. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    MGR:R is presented as a fast paced action game, set in the Metal Gear universe, with insanely accurate slicing mechanics. It is exactly that. Sleek and smooth, this game offers something that has never been done, and it does it very well. I haven't seen action so smooth as well as fast paced since the original God of War. The experience draws from the mythos of the Metal Gear Universe, and it ties it all in brilliantly with this kind of game. The main character is presented as a badass, and that is one thing I felt throughout my entire experience with this game. Bad Ass. I think after playing MGS4, seeing raiden's new look, we all wanted to see where the series would take him. What we have been given is better than anything I would've imagined. If the short length deters you, I beg of you, don't let it. This game is made for Hardcore gamers, through and through. It stays true to it's roots, while offering something fresh and new to an already established franchise. Final Verdict- Pros- Insanely Accurate Swordplay Cutting Mechanics are Fluid, Flawless, and Extremely Fun Hack N' Slash Gameplay Molded Seamlessly with Tactical Strategy VR Missions are Fun with More On The Way Through DLC Brilliant Depiction of the Metal Gear Universe Offers Something Brand New and Innovative to Gaming Musical Score Helps to Ramp Up The Action 60 FPS Gameplay Keeps You Focused on The Action Cons- Iffy Camera Sometimes Takes Away from the Experience A Completion time of 4 8 Hours, Just Left Me Craving More Expand
  87. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    One of the most entertaining fast paced action games since Bayonetta that unfortunatley is plagued by the most infuriating and messed up camera I have ever experienced in a game. The reactive combat and need to be very precise with your input on higher difficulties makes the game very satisfying to play, but when the camera goes bonkers just because the enemies forces you to consecutively parry and get pushed into the corner makes the game very annoying at the times this happen. The story is more than ok for this type of game and fits nicely into the MG-universe with a corrupt faction hiding behind the law to create a PMC-army for their own agenda. The lack of depth behind all the characters is a bit sad, but to be expected from an action game. Would've been nice to have more fleshed out dialgoues between more characters than only Raiden and the one he calls over the codec, also there is barely any mentioning of any characters personal life.

    Solid action game that will fall speak to anyone who enjoy difficult, but not unfair, action games.
    Expand
  88. Mar 14, 2013
    6
    Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a title frantic, fun, enjoyable from the first moment, but for all those who were waiting for a masterpiece, Rising is a real hole in the water. The title of Platinum Games fails to emerge from mediocrity, touching on various aspects such as excessive graphics bugs found and the poor longevity of the title amounted to 5 hours on Normal, not to mention a narrative does not always live up to expectations. Ultimately, Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a recommended title in the circle of fans and all those who are looking for an action game light, unpretentious. http://www.4news.it/14048-recensione-metal-gear-rising-revengeance.php Expand
  89. Mar 13, 2013
    8
    I've never been a hater of Raiden, but also not thie biggest fan. He never rubbed me the wrong way. MGR:R shows the potential Raiden has carrying his own series...and he can. I consider this game a teaser though. It IS short, and the graphics are great, despite the environment being on the bland side. The game is definately ambitious though, and the free slicing has TONS of potential for future Raiden titles. The Metal Gear series EASILY has the best Bosses/Boss battles in gaming history by a long shot. That's where Revengeance falls a little short. This is due to there not being much background or introductions to them, and they're VERY difficult until you figure out, "wow, THAT'S what you gotta do." The bosses did have the MGS feel to them, and starting with Monsoon, were UBER DIFFICULT. It took me about 30 tries to defeat him and the following ones, and that was just on normal. My biggest complaint though is the lack of health regeneration items. Trying to defeat the later bosses with just 1, even on normal, is insane. All in all, it's very SOLID, and can be summed up as a cool Cyborg Fruit Ninja. That's a compliment. Expand
  90. Mar 13, 2013
    6
    hgfhgfhjgggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggghgfhgfhjgggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg
  91. Mar 11, 2013
    8
    Rising Revengeance is one of those hack and slash action games that appear simple on the surface, until you delve into the juicy depths below. You will start out button spamming your way through fights before learning the inner intricacies of the engine. Blade mode is the most obvious and touted addition, allowing you to manually slice, whilst the action is momentarily stilted. The affects of blade mode depend largely on your suit's power storage. Parrying is also an art worth mastering, though not a complete necessity for completion. As you progress, you gain access to more powerful weapons like a heavy blade for maximum damage, and lighter weapons such as the Sai, which is great for flashy attacks. MGS Rising congeals elements from Platinum's own established slashers like Bayonetta and mixes them with MGS tropes. Where this is most evident is with codec calls and cardboard boxes being used in stealth, meshing with the exhilarating combos of the former. Stealth itself is a minor element in Revengeance, offsetting the base combat. Stealth works very well, and is simple to master- though there are no hidden depths to it, which charge the action in other areas of Revengeance. The game can be visually striking too, with hulking boss battles, which are few, but memorable. The colours bouncing off screen while you fight give the essence of power to your blade thrusting- which looks dazzling in motion. The only dings are that the difficulty spikes on higher settings tend to drag you into frustration, and a main game which is remarkably brief- especially towards the end. But Revengeance is a shining case of quality over quantity, where finesse and skill are rewarded in spades and diligence pays off massively. Expand
  92. Mar 11, 2013
    1
    Why did they bring back Raiden. He sucks and the fans hate him. This game looks more like devil may cry than a tactical masterpiece that is metal gear. This game needs a breather. Please stop screwing up this franschise.
  93. Mar 10, 2013
    7
    Good game,but too easy at times and annoyingly difficult at others. Too much of the same and levels are bland and straight forward. Hideo released a game half assed to save his studio. Bah
  94. Mar 10, 2013
    3
    I truly wanted to like this game, I really did, but the flaws in it are just too hard to ignore. I will say straight off the bat that the visuals and music are top notch, and it likely won't get much better in that department. But if music and visual made a game great... the gameplay is atrocious, camera control in an action game like this is so rarely done right and this game doesn't get it right either, The whole cutting thing is beyond gimmicky, making me wish they had just stuck to QTE's and make Raiden do some sick moves to finish off his opponents rather than resorting to this mediocrity. Sure it's fun the first 5 times but after that it's done, and you just wish there's an auto function for it. The story is the same thing we've come to expect from Kojima, convoluted beyond belief and way too much in love with itself. I honestly wouldn't be surprised if the majority of the years it took to develop this game were spent writing the script for it. I literally spent more time listening to pointless codec conversation than actually playing the game. The fact alone you can get a GOLD trophy for listening to most of the conversations is proof enough that they are way overdone. But the thing that truly drove me over the edge was that the game completely wiped my progress clean without warning whatsoever. I finished everything on easy and normal, upgraded the majority of everything, and then decided to go to hard mode, now my entire profile's been reset... truly atrocious, mind boggling how a game so infinitely hyped by the metal gear fanbase has turned out so ridiculously mediocre. The best I can do is recommend a rental of this game, for that's exactly what it's worth, you pay 5 bucks rental to play a 5 hour game (+10 hours of listening to pointless codec garbage). Do not pay 60 dollars for this disc of fail. Expand
  95. Mar 9, 2013
    8
    I made a video review for this game, which you can check out here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3x2-ZU0K2VI

    The good:
    -Fun
    -The best animation I've seen in a game
    -Amazing character designs
    -Music

    The bad:
    -Camera gets wonky
    -The dialogue sucks
    -Voice acting is mediocre
  96. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    This game deserves a second slice! Metal Gear Rising is pretty fantastic. Boss fights are insane for me, so as VR missions. The graphics looked very sharped! What a Perfect Weapon out of this world! It was very insane for any Metal Gear fan!
  97. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This is THE game to get for the best action hack and slash this year!
    Yea it might be a little short but within that short time you will be cutting up enemies upside down, battling big ass crazy mecs fighting robotic killer dogs with chainsaws and jumping on missiles to shred choppers. Not to sound like a deranged psycho but It just never gets old cutting enemies up to tine bits and
    ripping their spine out before they hit the ground. Just get this game! Expand
  98. Mar 6, 2013
    8
    Full review can be located at http://www.one-quest.com/blog/metal-gear-rising-revengeance-review/

    Over the past two weeks I’ve had nothing but Metal Gear Rising on my mind. In the first look I had a handful of problems with the game, but I still maintained high hopes.

    Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is set a few years after the events of Metal Gear Solid 4. With the patriots gone, an
    increase in development of nanotechnologies and cyborgs have created a higher demand for PMCs(Private Military Corporations). Raiden, a sword wielding ninja cyborg, works for a mercenary group known as Maverick. Maverick was hired with the task of working as peacekeepers for a war torn country as a new head of state is brought into power. Let’s just say that everything spirals out of control which pits Raiden and Maverick against another mercenary group known as Desperado. The plot holds together well throughout the game. Metal Gear Rising is peppered with information about Raiden’s past, references to previous Metal Gear games, and an immersive new political state in the Metal Gear universe. The script and voice acting are great, captivating, and a often humorous. They were able to throw in a few subtle jokes and flat out ridiculous moments, even in the most serious portions of the game. Although the final boss was a little bit of a stretch, I really enjoyed the story, and it nicely complements the game play. Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance clearly has Kojimas charm written all over it.

    Konami made a smart decision putting PlatinumGames Inc. in charge of the development. When people hear the name Metal Gear they think of that classic tactical espionage action. However, Raiden has since moved away from the tactical espionage, and more toward the action. Keeping with the tactical espionage roots there are some stealth moments in the game for Raiden, but there wasn’t much of a benefit to playing this way. I found myself running in, sword swinging, no matter what enemies lie before me. The controls aren’t configured for stealthy game play either. You do get items, such as boxes and barrels, that help you sneak around, but there isn’t much of use for them. Like I said, the focus of this game is on the action, and there are some heavy doses of action in MGR:R.
    One of the big focuses of the game is the “Blade Mode.” This ability slows time, which allows you to position your blade to cut enemies to pieces, big or small. The primary use of Blade Mode is for “Zan Datsu”, the ability to cut open an enemy and grab their cyborg spine to heal yourself and recover electrolytes. Blade Mode is also used to just cut things into small pieces. because it’s fun.
    As you play the game you’ll be able to unlock new sword abilities as well as different sub weapons, main weapons, and special items. The unlockables and upgrades are very reminiscent of games such as Bayonetta and Devil May Cry, with a bit of a Metal Gear Solid flair. You get Battle Points by getting higher grades throughout the missions, as well as cutting off specific limbs. You use the Battle Points to purchase upgrades and items. In order to unlock new weapons and special items you need to complete specific objectives, e.g. Beat the game on Hard Difficulty, Collect all I.D. Chips, or complete all VR Missions.

    I’m also glad to report that there is a dodge ability which comes in handy. Unfortunately the camera does get a little confusing, but for the most part you are playing in wide open areas, so it doesn’t play a major factor past the first few, confined, areas. In the end Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a great game, and a total blast to play. Keep in mind that this isn’t the Metal Gear we have all grown up with. The focus here is on action, although the story is still full of crazy Kojima politics. Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance features a new game play style for the Metal Gear saga and it works spectacularly. While the story is a bit on the short side, about 7 hours, there’s still plenty of replay value. With new weapons and costumes to unlock, and the always daunting “perfect rating” for each level, you could spend quite a bit of time with this one. Also, the music in the game is awesome! Pay attention to the ever changing audio as you play through each mission, you’ll be impressed. The soundtrack actually features some local friends of ours, The Maniac Agenda, which makes the music that much more exciting. If this is how 2013 is going to start then we have an epic year ahead of us. Pickup, play, and enjoy Konami’s Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance.
    Expand
  99. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    As long time MG fan, i feel this is a very good entry into the series's already decorated history. Graphically, character models are top-notch. The Art style as intriguing as ever, boasting some of the most Uniquely designed enemies you'll encounter, visually and in function. Visuals are especially impressive in regards to handling the frame rate well despite the wild amount of accelerated action that takes place. As expected, the Action level is far higher than the Snake installments; even past Raiden segments are idle in comparison. Controls are solid, what you can expect from a Team Ninja action title. (Compare to DMC). This combat flow is definitely the fastest thus far. Love the Ninja-Run feature, as it allows Raiden to easily navigate all terrain and any geometrical obstacles, adding a necessary smoothness to his mobility. Weapons are fun to use and learning the combos is worth it. Upgrades are meaningful. Enemies are fierce and satisfyingly competitive. Hard Mode) The boss battles are the game's best offerings, providing rewarding challenge and visual spectacles that won't come close to disappointing you. The camera may only be an issue for the unsavvy.

    The story is as cheesy as every other Metal Gear. Still, fun and masterfully written. Codec conversations provide interesting dialogues. Neglecting those would mean missing some of the best writing in the game. Great game overall for fans of the genre and should satisfy most Metal Gear enthusiast. 9/10
    Expand
  100. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    Honestly at first, I only considered getting this game to spite Capcom and Ninja Theory for DmC. Then I actually watched a preview of the game. Let me tell you, I've never played any of the other MG games, So I can't speak from a hardcore MG fans perspective. But I can speak from the perspective of a hardcore hack n' slash fan. Metal Gear Rising is amazing, it has everything a hack n' slash game should have. The gameplay is fluid and fun, tons of action, the soundtrack is amazing, and I know a lot of hardcore MG fans don't like him, but I freakin love Raiden, My only criticism is the game's a little short. But whatever, it has replay value Expand
  101. Feb 19, 2013
    0
    this game is straight-forward fun in the vein of Vanquish more so than Bayonetta. Combat is not as deep as Bayonetta but is still frenetic and fluid and feels great. The combinations of your light and heavy attacks with the moves you attain along the way allow for creativity and strategy for dealing with groups of enemies. The secondary weapons take the place of your heavy attack and are best equipped to handle particular enemies, though never necessary. I'd say Hard mode would be your Normal mode so start there. Very Hard mode with New Game is when you really start to feel the fast pace of the action and how challenging the game can get. The parrying works well and is satisfying when you're stringing them and countering during intense battles, although the camera angle may sometimes be where it's hard to judge the direction to parry. That's why the Dodging ability is also important. Ducking, weaving, parrying, countering, running while deflecting bullets toward the dude in the distance, all happening in quick, fluid succession creates really cool moments. This is what the game is about. It is on the short side but this is more for the arcade-style gamers like myself who love getting better and chasing ranks. Expect high-level gamers posting speed runs on youtube that will surely expose how the game can truly be played. I give this an 8.5 but the scoring system only allows whole numbers. Don't really care about story though i do wish there were options to change language and subtitles like in Vanquish. I dont consider this to be Platinum's best game, which is understandable given their circumstances and time constraints. But if they are given the chance at a sequel i bet they can create a true masterpiece. This game is still fun for what it is and therefore receives a good score from me! Have fun with this one. Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 61
  2. Negative: 3 out of 61
  1. Apr 9, 2013
    89
    Improvements need to be made, but Metal Gear Rising has already established itself to be an action game well worth buying.
  2. Fact is, when Revengeance is firing on all cylinders it’s a great, albeit short (six hours, tops) action game. [April 2013, p78]
  3. Mar 24, 2013
    75
    Its shortness will dissuade many, but cut deeper and an innovative parry system impresses. [Apr 2013, p.70]