User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3046 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    3
    Got this because I loved MGS Snake Eater. Played mgs4 once, then twice, then some more. Thought it was great. Played it recently, it was ok. The cutscenes were horrifically long to the point where I was nodding off. The graphics were good. The thing that I hated the most was the europe mission, following the Resistance member. That was so boring I had to quit and come back later and listen to music to kill the boredom. Expand
  2. Aug 6, 2011
    0
    Do not buy MGS4. MGS3 is such a better game. Metal Gear Solid 4 does not encourage being stealthy in any way, shape, or form. This game is so boring when trying to be stealthy. In order to be stealthy, you literally go 1 centimeter a MINUTE. Snake is painfully slow in this game. All this game did was make me want to play Metal Gear Solid 3; where I don't go 1 centimeter a minute.
  3. Jun 16, 2012
    0
    METAL GEAR AVERAGE metal gear solid 4 is the biggest letdown in this console generation its not a bad game, its a great game but its nowhere near a triple A game compared to this generations great games- uncharted, mass effect, halo reach- metal gear solid 4 is a disgrace to the metal gear name graphics- some of the textures and backgrounds are SUB SD sub SD on a so called HD console- is a downright disgrace for a tinshop small company-
    but for one of the ps3s premier game developers this is unacceptable
    its not that kojima productions makes up for this with detail- the landscape has basic detail- average draw distance- average overall is the best way to describe the graphics
    MGS 3 was ps2 was a powerhouse- MGS4 could be done on the wii
    unchartered 3 or mass effect 3 look a generation ahead of MGS4

    sound- 10/10
    harry gregson williams has done anotrher amazing job- the intro screen is some of the best music in the entire franchise- the music is suitably epic

    controls- average- there is a HUGE shooter emphasis now- before (back when kojima made games for himself and didnt ass kiss the western audience) MGS was 90% stealth 10% shooting

    MGS3 was 70% stealth 30% shooter- a happy medium

    mgs4 is crap- there is no reason for the game to have any sneaking anymore- it could be called gears of solid- with extra long cutscenes

    it feels rushed- what was kojima doing for 4 years- the story is barebones- barely trying to put everything together there is no stand alone adventure- just old rehashes
    the graphics engine looks s**t next to uncharted 2

    the ANIMATION work is playstation 1 level- its so bad- no one at konami has a clue about mo cap animation work- if snake is crouching and you turn the stick- he turns ON WHEELS WITH NO ANIMATIONS

    DISGRACEFUL IN THIS GENERATION

    radio chatter in MGS 3 was taken to the next level- MGS 4 has none of that charm or brilliance- again= you find yourself asking- what was kojima doing
    youre talking to otaBORE for most of the game- there is the STUPIDEST ADDITION OF ROSE AND A PSYCHE GAUGE- which adds less than nothing
    the radio chatter is a disgrace

    this feels like a watered down MGS3 with shooter elements replacing the brilliance

    kojima hasnt made a truly great game since mgs3- and that was FAR from perfect

    this is a step down

    7/10 is very generous for this mess of a game

    the story is so bad i dont even want to score it
    Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    0
    Japanese games never impresses anyone. All this stupid anime cliche's are just too stupid to be taken seriously. Reading a porno mag regenerates your life? (Really Kojima? REALLY) And again back to the stupid hide in the box nonsense. Yeah the gameplay, graphics, and stroy are great, but let's face it. I respect MGS to be the godfather f the stealth genre, but seriously people wants realistic stealth nowadays. Hiding in a box is just too childish. Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2012
    3
    Calling this a "game" is false advertising. It's a movie, and a bad one at that. The storytelling is nonsensical. Load times are bad. Every now and then they interrupt the movie with some occasional gameplay. The ratings for this one are proof that if you throw enough shiny and PR budget at something, you can convince the critics to like it.
  6. Apr 21, 2013
    4
    I have played through this game twice and cannot find an enjoyable moment in the whole thing. The cut-scenes drag-out its length, without them i'm not sure there is even a game here. As someone whose followed metal gear solid since the start and has enjoyed them all a great deal until this point, i am very disappointed. 4 for effort?
  7. Oct 6, 2010
    4
    Usually I tend to write more in my reviews of games I haven't enjoyed than of those that I have, as I feel there is more of an obligation to explain and justify a negative opinion. But for MGS4, I simply can't be bothered. I couldn't take the time or effort to finish the game, so I'm hardly like to afford much attention to reviewing a game I hated. Let me some up my experience of MGS4:
    Long, confusing cutscene; Level 1 - got down on my belly and crawled through to end; Long, tedious cutscene; Level 2 - got down on my belly and crawled through to end; Long, weird cutscene; Level 3 - got down on my belly and....turned of PS3 and stuck the game on ebay.
    Part of the game's big selling point was its stealth mechanic. Spiderman 2 had a better stealth mechanic. I appreciate that the story only makes sense to those who are fans of the series, but in a way not having played any of the other games makes me more of an objective review of the game as it stands alone. And MGS4 stands silent, in the shadows, preparing to crawl along on its belly so that nobody else notices how poor it is.
    Expand
  8. Oct 13, 2010
    4
    This is one of the most boring games i have ever played, just because the game is made by an asian does not mean it is clever, what was so clever?, the 1 000 000 hour cutscenes, is there any gameplay? Oh yes that brief moment between the cutscenes, the random weird typical japanese names such as Snake, Vamp, Otacon and Liquid, what the hell !!!!!!!!, the **** menu and weapon selection, the fact that the only thing Snake can do is crawl and hump the ground and smoke all the time!!!. And the disease that exhilarates ageing, lets just say that invisible fairies kill all life on the planet. The graphics for 2008 was good but when played in 2010 it doesnt look so pretty compared to Uncharted 2 or GOW 3. Expand
  9. May 25, 2012
    4
    Tried this based on overwhelmingly favourable reviews and it just doesn't feel right. Not a bad game by any stretch of the imagination, but overly long cutscenes, poor controls and confusing backstory for a newb to the series make it a waste of time.

    Strong AI & stealth are the only saving graces for me.
  10. Sep 3, 2012
    1
    This game is really, really bad. The story is ridiculous, convoluted and even when you try and take the time to understand it, is quite bad and immature. You play the game for 15 minutes then are bombarded by hour-long cutscenes. Video games are meant to be played, not watched.

    The characters are hilariously bad, in true Japanese fashion. Are Japanese people all autistic and unable to
    portray real characters? It seems that way sometimes.

    Anyway, the graphics are good, I guess. Good character models. But the gameplay is almost non existent and quite bad. The game advertises itself as a stealth game but will always throw unavoidable confration and action scenes at you. And don't get me started on the dreadful boss fights. This is a really bad video game.
    Expand
  11. Nov 2, 2012
    3
    I couldn't stand this game for several reasons: Really cringeworthy writing (way to go Hideo Kajima). Pretentious and boring long cutscenes. Fart jokes and generally bad humor. Poor gameplay design and variation. Killer robots saying "mmoooooo!" Stealth elements are not surprisingly just as weak as they have been since MGS1. Want a good stealth-action-adventure with a mature tone, I would recommend any of the Splinter Cell games over this any time of day. There's also Dishonored and any of the Hitman games. Expand
  12. Nov 28, 2012
    4
    I never playey any Metal Gear before and i was disappointed in this Game. The Action Sequences and the Graphics are great, but most of the Time you are watching endless cutescenes. The Epilog lasts over 1,5h!!! Thats not the right way, to tell a story.
  13. Feb 12, 2013
    4
    I'm dumbfounded at how positive this game was received. This was not a good game. The storyline was complete and utter nonsense, and I dare anyone to trace back through the metal gear solid series and define a coherent plot throughout. I had loved this series initially, and really thought MGS3 was a great game, but this one just put the nail in the coffin for me. Some of the cutscenes were so long and nonsensical that I literally was praying for them to end so I could get back to playing the game. The gameplay was good, but there just wasn't enough of it. Expand
  14. May 16, 2013
    1
    It truly boggles my mind how many positive reviews there are for this epic piece of garbage. Playing through MSG4 is an exercise in frustration and a true revelation in just how much senseless melodramatic pieces of cutscenes a game maker can cram into a Blu-Ray and still have the thing called a game.

    The entire story is nonsensical. A monkey with a crayon and a 8.5x11 piece of paper
    can write a more coherent plot than the writer of this game. The dialog is horrible. Characters make all kinds of guttural sounds, hums, haws, and grunts continuously for no reason.

    The game play, what little there is sprinkled through the vast hours of retarded cinematic CGI, is boring as hell.
    Expand
  15. Apr 16, 2013
    3
    I do see alot of positive comments on this game but mines not going to be that ways. I have like some of the previous MGS games but kinda grew out of it with the.... toooooo much talking and how unrealistic it is. The talking while in plain sight Im suprised none of them did not get headshotted by a sniper. When the villians do get the upper hand that dont go in for the kill but get theirs in the end. Stopped playing after Raiden(YOU TOOK THAT FROM MORTAL KOMBAT!!!) STOPPED this HUGE ship from crushing Snake..... almost like a roach stopping a door from closing.... The hell is up with that black guy!!! He knows toooo much info on these chicks that try to kill snake kinda like he was there. I did not play the online though so if it is good then I missed out but the game...... eh I just gave it to a friend free. Sorry done with it Expand
  16. Jul 15, 2014
    0
    sometimes Boring, sometimes It makes me cringe. It's worst game in all of the MGS series(bestest is MGS3). DO NOT PLAY THIS GAME IT IS JUST SH*T......
  17. Jun 2, 2014
    4
    Considering the potential scope of the material, "wasted opportunity" is more than an understatement. Global conspiracies, mechs, mercenaries, a world embroiled in conflict etc. It's all familiar stuff but still effective; in theory.

    This is the pinnacle of fan-servicing. I have never seen such bad writing in a game of this caliber. Hideo Kojima was always a terrible writer but the
    stuff he's come out with here is just beyond words. Somebody should have broken the man's fingers or at least put him into cryogenic freezing for 200 years in the hope that when he would reawaken Konami would be long gone, and there would be no company that would have his repugnant brain in employ. Some cutscenes go on for twenty minutes... some go on for two. It doesn't make any difference because by the time they get to the point you have already forgotten what you wanted to find out. The characters (protagonist(s) and antagonists) are all repugnant and two dimensional. I do not care about their hopes, dreams, desires, fears; they can all go jump in the lake.

    Oh yeah and 'uncompressed audio?' **** you.

    Gameplay mechanics are still as faulty as ever in true lovable MGS style. Restrictive environments aplenty and horrible control scheme. Movements are too jerky and unrefined to produce a smooth and subtle stealth experience. Stick to Splinter Cell (or Dishonored etc). The game also looks like garbage and this is inexcusable considering how long it was in development for... This is the same year that we had Dead Space and Far Cry 2 and they still hold up today. The biggest visual problem is that amount of really cheap cover ups, 90% of the textures are smeared and the brick walls look like an armada of pasta bakes lined up next to each other.

    The MGS series was groundbreaking at one point in time, although the golden years have long since passed. MGS might have been the first human to ever take a dump in a toilet but it missed the bowl completely. If you love Hideo Kojima then go right ahead and disregard what I have said but if you want to play an actual game then steer clear
    Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Guns of the Patriots is almost intimidating in the consistent quality of its ideas, invention, and execution...Even by the series' stratospheric standards, MGS4 is a remarkable high point. [June 2008]
  2. 99
    If you've ever loved any one of the Metal Gear games, or any moments from the series, there will come a moment when MGS 4 will send your spirits soaring. If you've loved them all, well then there'll be many, many more. It’s a masterpiece.
  3. Guns of the Patriots is a frustrating, fractured game that turns Metal Gear Solid's world upside down several times over, but never changes it.