User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3132 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    This game follows the greate path of the rest of the MGS games. The controls, grapichs, and story is just plaine awsome. This game will emerge you deep into the world of Solid Snake for hours and hours and you wont get bored. This is truly a must have game, because you will have missed one of the gaming worlds Brighest pearls if you dont. 10/10, and i would rate it higher if possible:)
  2. Dec 14, 2010
    10
    Absolutely one of the best games I've played on my PS3. I have all 4 of the MGS titles, and I kinda think this one is much better. It's not the graphics, though the graphics are amazing. But the storyline is incredible. The controls are easier and better, much better than the old ones. The villains look bad ass, some villain's and characters return from MGS, MGS2, and MGS3. I also like Solid Snakes new suit that camoulflages automatically. I can't find any problems with this game, except the extremely long cut scenes like the last 3 game. But, the cutscenes are pretty cool anyway but too long. However, this is an amazing game. If your a fan of the MGS series and have a PS3, this is a MUST GET game in the collection. Expand
  3. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    I was browsing through Metacritic and couldn't help but notice this game had a below-than-expected user rating. So I must do this masterpiece justice by writing one of my own. In my opinion, MGS 4 is a glimpse of what games will be in the future: movies in which you will interact. Right when the menu pops up you get the feeling this game is different.


    I won't lie, I am a huge fan of
    this franchise since I played Metal Gear on NES. I consider Metal Gear Solid 4 to be the best of all. Snake, the main character, has never been so likeable, and even those who never knew him will soon enough love this guy. He's old, he's fighting enemies far stronger than him. He endures pain throughout the game, yet he never gives up. And he still has time to make us smile with his "simple soldier" reactions as he interacts with the other characters. This game is flawless. The animation still competes and even beats most games. The movement of the different characters, vehicles, and natural objects is extremely well made. The atmosphere of this game is incredible. The sound effects are top notch and the music comes in at the right moment to add more intensity to what is happening on the screen. The graphics are still very, very good. I believe they finally were equalled a couple of years ago by a few other games. This game's scenario is perhaps the only bad thing about it. It's complicated even for Metal Gear fanatics. The cutscenes are long, yes, but they can easily be equals to movie scenes you watch in theaters. Many of them are breathtaking in terms of epicness, and others add more character to the different people involved in the story. You will forever remember how you felt throughout your first playthrough of this game, it's so intense that you will sometimes think about it after playing it.

    You can complete levels in various ways depending on your style. Solid Snake is an expert at CQC ( Closed Quarters Combat ), and once you are sure enough of your skills, you will enjoy knocking out your enemies a lot more than simply shooting them. You have many many gadgets to help you in your quest and you can unlock many more as you play. Many have a cartoony feeling to it, such as the legendary cardboard box in which you can hide to avoid detection. There are no trophies for this game since it was released in the pre-trophy era of the PS3.


    This game has an online mode and it's lots of fun. You can do pretty much everything you do in solo mode. There's even a game mode that allows people to be Snake and his remote controlled robot while both teams fight each other. Some players have become experts now, and you might have a hard time winning, which can lead to frustration. You can, however, access a training area and be trained by one of the experts who can teach you how to play online.


    This game was already a classic the day it came out. It will forever be remembered by those who played it. In retrospect I believe nobody can give this game a bad note, it has to be 9 or 10. Those who gave it a lower note should not be worthy of writing reviews. This game is pretty much a cornerstone in video gaming and was, to me, the symbol of what PS3 ( and other same-gen consoles ) were going to do in the upcoming years.
    Expand
  4. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    Only one word can describe this game...... EPIC one of the most anticipated game of 2008. Here comes Solid Snake in his final stands the well and awesome story,genius graphics, the return of many old characters (especially Raiden made a cool change)and finally the answers for some unanswered question.
  5. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    Almost 4 years after it's release date, Metal Gear Solid 4 remains one of this platforms crowning achievements. In fact, upon its release it set the standard for next generation gaming content with it's deep, emotionally engaging story, state of the art visuals, unprecedented sound design, and enough extras to encourage over 100+ hours of game play. A standard that remains exceptionally high, even in 2011. Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    I feel like Hideo Kojima's message isn't just designated towards the Metal Gear franchise, but at the gaming industry itself. In the sea of garbage video games that are released today, Metal Gear Solid 4 is the hidden gem and the final swan song of the once stellar business.
  7. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    this is easily the best MGS game in the series . the amount of guns is mind blowing , more freedom in the game to go where you want , the new octocam is sick , the story is entertaing , and you finnaly get to drive a metal gear ... hell yeah. they also made Raiden not seem like a whiny **** any more he actaully seemed cool in this game . the voice acting is top notch as usaul . the graphics are just amazing . the boss fights are alot of fun . every thing feels answered in this one . i finished this game happy that i know the whole story now . if you never played a MGS game then rent this first if you didnt like them before dont bother pickin this up. MGS fans apply only. Expand
  8. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    I do respect the points of view of the users who have given this game a bad review as what most of them say its true, it does have some of the longest cinematics i have seen in a game , but to me , this is not a flaw, because you really need to see these to fully understand what Master kojima wanted to you to feel about the story, yes they are long, but they add so much to the overall feeling of the game ..... The final mission of my favorite character (hence my nickname) , the legendary soldier , now an old man , ready to tackle the impossible just one last time before he can rest in peace, you can see him struggling , His unbreakable will and his skill are his only advantage against a legion of enhanced soldiers much younger than him ....... if you are a fan of the series , this game is an absoulte masterpiece , this game alone is worth the 500 dlls i paid for my ps3 when it was launched ...... The graphics, the soundtrack (In the final battle , i was losing but when i started to hear Snake Eater i made a comeback and bamm!!!!), the controls , the variety of ways you can complete this game is amazing...... Feel like sneaking in ? do it .... Feel like going guns blazing? .... go ahead..... this game has raised the bar in some many ways that it has become the best game of the past 10 years. The only game that i have ever played that made such a huge impact in me was The Legend Of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. This game was launched on 1998 , i never tought that i would see a game that could top this ...... yeah , there have been great games these past years , Uncharted 2, Gears of war, COD4, Metroid Prime , Mario Galaxy , Mass Effect 1 and 2 , God of War 3 , The Elder Scrolls 4 Oblivion....i have played and finished all of these awesome games , but none could come close to Ocarina of Time.....until i played Metal Gear Solid 4 .....Thank you Master Kojima ....i am a 27 year old man , parent and husband ......but you Sir made a game that made me remember why i loved this Hobby so much back when i was 10 years old. Expand
  9. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Unbelievable. If you've ever wanted to and cum in your pants at the same time, play this game. It tops Snake Eater and Sons of Liberty. The story is better than most movies, TV shows or whatever
  10. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    I just bought MGS4 on 3/4/2010 I've always own both a Xbox 360 and a Ps3 and have been playing action games since doom 95. I can honestly say that MGS4 is the best game in existence. Regardless of MGS4 being a few years old, I would still recommend this game to anyone who hasn't played it yet... When I first put the game in I said to myself "WOW, what a fkn Splinter Cell rip off!!!" But within the hour I honestly couldn't put the controller down. MGS4's original and has an amazing story that most games lack now a days. Simply a masterpiece. Expand
  11. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = A Cinematic dream. A Work of art. This IS Metal Gear Solid 4!!
  12. Dec 16, 2010
    10
    Truly one of the best Metal Gear Solid games of all time, I recommend you play this if you're a true hardcore fan of the series.
  13. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    This game truly was magnificent... I agree with most that it will stand the test of time as one of the greats of all time. There were a few "cheesy" moments in the story if you ask me that didn't add much but as far as the scope and magnitude of this effort it is right up there with Grand Theft Auto IV. This brings stealth, action, weapons, upgrades, and a fantastic story with epic boss fights. A truly memorable experience every gamer should check out. I'd give this a 94 out of 100. Expand
  14. May 3, 2011
    10
    its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the best game ever !! its the
  15. May 5, 2011
    10
    This is a fun game for the PS3 its story was great and it kept me playing the game till the end GREAT GAME! its a game ALL PS3 owners must have and play till the finish.
  16. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    i just beat this game for the fifth time in the past years since it came out, and i have to say, it still holds up and even beats some games out graphically. Game play did indeed change between series to fit a more casual audience, but it was for the better, as it made the game into a more fluid experience during those big set pieces. There's a ton of stuff aimed at fans that they will understand FAR more to players who just pick it up because of the Hype factor. GOTYAY Expand
  17. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is no doubt the greatest single player experience ever to grace a console. The multiplayer is also pretty good, but I'll get to that later. Casual gamers may be turned off by the heavy reliance on strategy, especially for a shooter, but just because you aren't noob tubing across the map doesn't mean it's anything shy of an amazing game. Hideo Kojima delivered a complete package, with stellar graphics that, even 3 years old, beat anything on the market today. The character models are so real you'll swear it was filmed. The environments aren't original, but look spectacular. Now, as many gripe, the game does have plenty of cutscene. HOWEVER, a mere push of the start button brings up an option to skip a cutscene, and letting you get right back into the action. Gameplay revolves around either trying to be stealthy and remain undetected, or going out guns blazing and over powering the enemy. Each course of action has its own consequences - and get this - in the GAMEPLAY, not in the cutscenes (which remain constant on every play through) as with RPGs. With 69 weapons in your arsenal (plus 1 secret weapon), the options are incredible. You can set a C4 on a guard, and let him walk into a group, then blow them all up at once, for example. You could avoid detection by a chopper, or load up a stinger, then dive into the nearest dumpster. The sheer amount of possibilities for every obstacle brings this game to an unprecedented scale. Now the cutscenes are long, and frequent, but they are interesting and engaging. Anyone with an IQ higher than 80 (on a typical 50-150 scale) will be hooked, and absolutely engaged by the clever plot twists, background plots, real world references, series references, breaking of the 4th wall, and that scary sensation that Kojima has delivered (since the original MGS) that the (at least political) events of the game COULD ACTUALLY HAPPEN and may be happening as we speak (watch the infamous MGS2 "patriots" cutscene, and you'll always see the world in a new light). Even the casual, passive gamer won't help but be able to watch in awe at the more epic points of the story. The multiplayer is built on great mechanics, but the menus aren't user friendly, it takes a while to load, it taxes your internet connection, the expansions are far too costly, and it has become less and less active over time. Keep in mind Kojima did not plan on making Metal Gear Online, and it really is just a bonus to the amazing single player game. Kojima planned on delivering an unforgettable experience to his faithful followers, and he did just that. Many believe that MGS4 may have saved the PS3. That could very well be the case, and if so, it was more than successful. After all, "Just like your father... you're pretty good!" Expand
  18. Jun 25, 2011
    9
    Fantastic graphics, a great story (which is heavily tied in with the other Metal Gear Solid games) and excellent stealth gameplay round out the last of the MGS games. The biggest issue is that the game simply doesn't let you play it enough; it'll probably take a little over 20 hours to beat, but expect more than half of that to be taken up by cutscenes.
  19. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    Kojima and Konami had the same vision as the fans as to what next generation console gaming should have been. Many had that vision, but very few could achieve it.
    MGS4 shows how incredible games would be today if developers still poured their hearts into their projects regardless of how long it took and didn't have to constantly give in to shareholders and publishers. The story, visuals,
    music, boss battles, controller mapping, everything in MGS4 was flawless. I wish more games were this complete.
    9.7
    Expand
  20. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    well i just started to review games because ive noticed a change w/ metacritic and decided it was time to view my voice, which is a non-biased and opinion of the overall exp with the game im rating. well to those who have yet to play this game.. now is a good time,lol.. 5-10 bucks to add one of my favorites to your library because i believe this game should be in everyones either have played or own category. MGS4 well there is a lot of ground to cover with this game and there isnt enough space to describe the details and wonderful examples of developing perfection along w/ pretty cut scenes and visuals. this is one of those games which i cant help but smile when i think about it. there are many ways to tackle this game, many items to find and plenty of choices to make in regards to how you engage into the next act. stealth is my weapon of choice but can be very challenging which i always welcome in a game, a good but not frustrating challenge. it is a well thought out and designed game. snake has many gadgets and devices which allow him to be able to complete his missions in a tech savvy manner, also has an ipod to help him ease his mind along the way. he does smoke like a chimney but cigarettes help ease his nerves. snake faces the harsh reality of what is transpiring and his hunt for truth is emotional but he is a mans man and faces what ever it may be head on. people often take away from mgs4 because of some lengthy cut scenes , but i loved every moment of them and trust me when i say that the cut scenes do not take anything away from the gameplay or campaign, it adds a compelling story to it and i welcomed the story with open arms and was delighted with every part of this game, as far as glitches or bugs, well i will say this. NOTHING takes away the pure, wonderfully crafted game which i am a proud owner of. i bought this game years ago and to this day i do not see many games that can compare with the overall exp. yes games have new tech hence better capabilities as far as graphics etc, but in my honest opinion this game could be released next week and still would rank as a pure bred contender w/ "next gen gaming" thinking of this game is tempting me to put the disc in, thats how much i enjoyed it after playing through it 2 times already.

    its a bargain bin game by value, but it is a gem by design and always will be.
    p.s. if you have the game you can download the official guide/mgs4 encyclopedia for free. that in itself was very impressive and large in content/detail.. great game
    Expand
  21. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games I've ever played. I love this game so much. I've beat it on all difficulties. Every single person who gives this game a negative review is out of there mind. They can't deal with a game like this "everything has to have guns going off every 2 seconds" this is what COD has done to the gaming community. Its just a bunch of people who play this and say that this is to slow I have to go back to my FPS. And that is really sad. These guys will bring the downfall of good games in years to come. Everything will just try to be a FPS. Expand
  22. Aug 29, 2012
    9
    I decided to pick this up again after the August trophy patch. It is a beautiful game in my opinion. The controls have been modernized so it took some adjusting to (I had been playing the MGS HD collection). The movies and cut scenes are excessive though well done. My girlfriend will sit and watch and attempt to follow the story, as ridiculous as it is. Overall this is a fantastic metal gear experience and I'm glad I had an excuse to play it again. Expand
  23. May 28, 2012
    10
    To rate this piece of virtual art any less than a 9 is a crime (and I would only rate it that low if I wasn't familiar with the series). I had high expectations for the final chapter of Solid Snake, and not only did the game fulfill, it completely blew me away. Due to Metacritics wall-o-text, I'll have to use brackets to make it easier to read. [Graphics: Beyond 10, the amount of detail on faces, the environment, and combat on a console game is mesmerizing. Watch the ripples of wind from a helicopter hit Snake's hair and clothes.] [Sound: 10, The guns are loud and echo in the distance. Metal Gear Gekkos, however, sound strangely like cows.] [Music: 10. Nothing less of orchestra and mixes of old and new electronica to give MGS4 a truly epic feel.] [Voiceovers: 9, worthy of a summer blockbuster movie, although I'm getting tired of Snake's overly scratchy, guttural voice.] [Gameplay: 9, the same sneak and disable (or kill) mechanics of the past Metal Gears are here, and are better than ever. Your advanced sneaking suit can camoflage to any surface, giving you a new level of stealth. A new feature includes holding an enemy hostage and firing over their shoulder. There is also a VERY wide array of weapons at your disposal, each coming with a detail description of their histories and capabilities, as well as upgrades. Another new option is switching between over-the-shoulder and FPS view for your firearms, which can be clunky or smooth depending on your settings. There's a slight learning curve for these new mechanics, especially if you're new to the series, but once you get used to it, the game is an absolute blast to play.] [Plot: 10, more interactive movie than a traditional game. MGS4's story is a bit convoluted, but becomes clearer as it moves along. It's themes of war, change and freedom is going to inspire a lot of philosophical discussion. Ultimately, once you discover Solid Snake's ultimate fate, you'll realize the overall direction of the story is more tragic than it is triumphant. Of course, for those who are impatient or have OCD, you can simply skip the cutscenes.] [Replay Value: 9. Four years after buying this game, I am still playing it with joyful glee.] Conclusion: MGS4 has showed how far video games have come as an art form, and will forever stand as one of the pinnacles of gaming. Expand
  24. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    By far the best video game I've ever played, I have played this so many times and it just keeps getting better, and the people giving it bad reviews have no taste in games
  25. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)Sem duvidas um dos melhores jogos que já joguei até hoje,um marco na história dos games,no começo até achava que o MGS3 era melhor,mais com o passar do jogo ele me surpreendeu muito e superou o MGS3,incrível,muito triste o jogo,muitos momentos emocionantes,magnífico,o melhor da franquia e um dos melhores jogos de todos os tempos. Expand
  26. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    Personal favorite in the series followed by Sons of liberty, the original, and then Snake Eater, a game which happens to become better when the series is complete. Guns of the Patriots includes all the great things from its predecessors and follows with its own brilliant work. Play it if you have not yet done so.
  27. Nov 25, 2010
    9
    Just remembering about MGS4 brings a smile to my face. I avoid playing a game more than once (after I finished), but, with MGS4, I just can´t help it, it is so pretty and so fun that I keep coming back for more, like a crack cocaine addict...
    If you own a PS3, YOU MUST BUY AND PLAY THIS GAME.
  28. Sep 5, 2012
    9
    An exquisitely crafted title that has as much stealth or action as you want.The story is very well told,but quite laughable unless you've invested the years to follow it (Sometimes even then).The very lengthy cutscenes are skippable,so no real drama there.The creator has a strange affiliation with cleavage,no matter the age of the woman,which annoys at times,as well as the action consistently interrupting itself with cut-scenes.Even cut-scenes get interrupted with more cut-scenes.That minor gripe aside,MGS4 is a superb title that doesn't really achieve a masterpiece level status,but is pretty awesome nonetheless. Expand
  29. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    i absolutly loved this game and yes the cutscenes are very long but if they shortened them then you would not have the same feeling of attachement to all the characters when they do it like this you actually find yourself worrying about the characters and wheather or not they will be alright or if they will face a tradgic end. also the game play is solid and the graphics are very good and even better than some of the games coming out today and some of the lines are genually funny. i am disapointed though that this is the last game they will make in this series but it is a good way to end a very succesful series Expand
  30. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    Overall best game I have ever played. Amazing story. Amazing Graphics. Funny. Serious. Sad. Corny. Unbelievably intelligent. Incredible replay value. Beautiful soundtrack. Great implementation of Sixaxis controls. There's absolutely no reason to give this game anything below a 10. The first game that I have ever decided to keep forever. Absolutely amazing.
  31. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    In my opinion the greatest console game of this generation. Unfortunately MGS4 caters completely to the fans and those that don't rate this game highly are those that have not played the previous ones.
  32. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4 is the epic finale to the Metal Gear Solid series. The series's well known protagonist, Solid Snake, is now aged, an ancient man, lower back problems, coughing from his years of smoking. The graphics.. this is the Ocarina of Time of our age.. and god help me for using that comparison since I personally don't think much of Zelda games. Over all, this game is a legendary thing, and at such cheap used prices nowadays, YOU GOTTA GET! Expand
  33. Oct 22, 2011
    9
    This game is deeper than almost any game you'll ever play: Kojima and co. really thought of everything, way into the smallest details. It looks stunning, the gameplay is good, and there is a good story too, supported by the many amazing cutscenes. Sneaking is a lot of fun, and it requires some skill too, since you have to pay attention to many things - direction of the wind, how nervous you are, et cetera. Sounds difficult, but is a lot of fun. The many easter eggs and small references to the world outside your PlayStation keep the game fresh and fun. Expand
  34. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Magnificent! This game truly is the complete package. Stunning graphic's, smart physics, excellent appeal and just an all around great game to play. The PS3 fails in comparison to the Xbox 360 but this game excels far above any average PS3 game. This is the one game on the PS3 that I Love to play and can game this for hours on end. The setting of the game is just fantastic and the story and characters are even better. This is the greatest shooter game I have played with a great story to match. This game is to good to rate!!!! Unreal!!!!! Expand
  35. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Ahh....MGS what more can i say that ALOT of people don't already know, the game is amazing. i never played any mgs games until Guns of the Patriots came out soo i went out and bought all 4 games at once and i gotta thank Kojima for giving me one of the best summers of my life.
  36. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    I will start of by saying this is the best game i have ever played, this is the BEST game ever made! the graphics beautifull and the story is riviting, the action is crazy, your usually crawling throug and action packed war zone and its so awesome, the custimzation of snake is groundbreaking. MGS4 has set the bar for video games ona cinematic sense. The cutscenes should win an oscar for best picture, just a flawless game, go get it, you will cry cause its so good! Expand
  37. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    Flawless, this game is perfect. Playing Metal Gear Solid 4 was the most fun I have ever had playing a video game. The weapons are cool and the graphic's are great and the game play is amazing. This game was my all time favorite video game. There should really be another one cause I adored this game so much. Absolutely terrific!
  38. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    First off, let me say that I have played metal gear since I was a child with a playstation 1. I have grown up along with the metal gear series, and loved every experience it provided. The metal gear games have always been perfect in the genre they created: tactical espionage action. For the people out there who talk about their dislike of the gameplay or complex controls, I suggest they read the cover of the game or look at the back-of-the-box features listed on any game case to see what kind of game it is. For example: are you a gamer who likes only RTS's? Than look at the game case and see how it reads: tactical espionage action. These are not words that desribe an RTS. So you probably shouldn't buy the game. Are you a person who doesn't like watching lengthy cut-scenes in a game? Well look at the back of the game case and you will find the words "Experience a stunning cinematic adventure that will keep you hooked until the very end". These words are obviously meant to say "Hey, we like fast-paced games as much as the next gamer, but we like to create a game with a deep story and interesting plot that engrosses you in a wonderful fictional world that has been telling a story since the first game." The metal gear series has always had lengthy cut-scenes and it is what has helped make the metal gear story the most compelling and awesome story in the history of video games. For those of you out there who are fans of the series or stealth games in general, I highly recommend you play this game. The controls are the best in the series, the graphics are phenomenal, and the set-piece moments will stay in your memory forever. The game sums up every plot questions of the entire series and the last hours of the game are the most emotional you will spend outside of a book or movie. Metal Gear Solid 4 is without a question a masterpiece, as not only is it an amazing game, but it is devoted to the fans that have loved the genre for so long. Expand
  39. WEL
    Apr 7, 2012
    10
    Last time I played this game was when it came out in 2008 but I started playing it yesterday again and got to beat the Laughing Octopus (and did the photo shoot secret! so sexy) and save Naomi and let me say that this game is still as incredible as I remember it. The music, the gameplay, the graphics aged considerably well, the long cut-scenes which everybody complains about are still awesome too. Now I can't wait to see Raiden again on the next chapter... Metal Gear Solid 4 truly is one of the best games of this generation and I hope Kojima comes up with a MGS5 soon even if it's just a pre-quel. This series is way too good to disappear now. Expand
  40. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    Awesome graphics, gameplay and sound.

    There are however to many too long cutscenes which can not be skipped and it lacks a bit in the lasting appeal aspect (multiplayer not so great and there are no trophies).

    Overall, awesome game to an awesome game series: 9/10
  41. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    This is one of the greatest achievements of this generation, the perfect combination of excellence in all aspects of the game. A beloved game without flaws and a great ending for the saga of Solid Snake.
  42. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    A must have for ps3 owners, metal gear solid fans, and people who enjoy stealth action games. The most satisfying conclusion to any video game series ever. The graphics are the BEST ever seen on any game system. The ending fight scene is epic and really ends the series on a great note. Komina productions even added an online mode to keep players into this game for months at a time.
  43. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    best game i ever played ..perfect in a every way,u feel like playing real soldier,best story and best aspect of drama,,u must play this game and if u dont own a ps3,,immediately turn off internet and go to shopping,,it is worht it,
  44. May 27, 2012
    9
    This game is a masterpiece. Just so awesome.
  45. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots It's, probably, the best PS3 game ever. With the stealthy and strategic gameplay, great and realistic graphics, unforgettable and interesting story Metal Gear Solid 4 is a game that revolutionize the series even more. (9.7 actually)
  46. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of The Patriots is the most fascinating game ever. The stealth gameplay is perfect, and the story is outstandingly written. The cutscenes are lengthy and perfect, and technically is amazing. Characters are perfect, and the voice acting is top notch. Not only the amazing, lengthy single player is here, even the addictive and fun multiplayer. If you have a PS3, you should buy this game, because It's just perfect. 100 out of 100 Expand
  47. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    The true sequel to my best game ever (MGS2). I played MGS4 when I first bought a PS3. Since I had forgotten a lot of the details from the series, I got half of the exprerience. Now, I decided it was a good time to refresh my MGS storyline, so I played through MGS, MGS2 and MGS4 (I plan to continue to the Big Boss games). Now that I have a full idea of what's happening and why, and also I've grown as a gamer, since 2008 is 5 years back, I can firmly say that it deserves a perfect score since it ticked all of the boxes and even beyond as a great sequel and as a story ending.

    This is Kojima at his best. Both gameplaywise and storywise.
    Expand
  48. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    The final act of Solid Snake is here, a perfect ending for his story. PROS: Plot, Graphics, design, music, voices, gameplay, online... As usual, mostly. CONS: Only fans of the saga will enjoy completely the plot of this game. The story is very intricate and complicated, so if this is your first time with a MGS game... Is the easiest MGS, isn't too difficult like others games in the saga because we have more options and helps in our mission.

    Install each act.
    Expand
  49. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    I am a huge fan of the metal gear series and mgs 4 is one of if not the best one yet. the game is well polished and i find it hard to criticise it. if i had to say one bad thing about the game it would be that the game can sometimes seem to be more cutscenes than gameplay but if you are a long time fan of the series you will be used to this and it will be but a minor problem. overall kojima continues to deliver a high quality gaming experience with great gameplay, cutscenes and story telling Expand
  50. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    What an amazing conclusion to Old Snake's story. The gameplay may be smaller when compared to other games and in the opinion of gamers that are more gameplay than story. The story is unrealistic but when has a game had a vivid and realistic story. The story is the product of a genius and it is even more rewarding if you've played the entire series. While the gameplay may have been short it was still was enjoyable and ran smoothly. No game-breaking bugs or glitches actually I don't believe there were any glitches or bugs. Graphics are so good that even games today can hardly compare them. AI corresponds and adapts to your difficulty with BIG BOSS EXTREME being the most difficult. The only this game a 9/10 is because so many gamers dislike the cut scenes so I do to be fair. This is not a game for people who don't the time to enjoy the story because in the end the story is the supreme feature of this game. Conspiracies, check. Old Snake, check. Stealth and espionage, check. Guns, check. Camouflage, check. Greatest video game I've ever bought, triple check. Expand
  51. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    I could go on and on about how amazing and completely flawless this game is, but all I am going to say is Kojima himself predicted that "The Best Is Yet To Come" - And so here it is, the best video game to date. From story to graphics to gameplay to characters to soundtrack - Completely flawless. A masterpiece!
  52. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    I have to say this is an awesome game but I only recommend it to people who are fans and have followed the metal gear story. The story provides a fitting end to Solid Snake's final mission and answers a lot of unanswered questions and also gives lots of suspense. The game play is also very good everything has been improved and gives players lots of variety in choosing from lots of equipment and customizing weapons. Expand
  53. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    Metal gear solid 4 is the perfect game that tells that ending of the legendary hero Solid Snake and this game completely pull down the curtain on MGS Saga.If you have been following MGS Franchise.You won't regret about getting this game at all.

    PS:This game almost made me shed a tears T_T
  54. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    Ratified I still play the game until today! And to whom I can never do without! The network also play a very awesome and sweet and beautiful and long. Means surprised at some of the public are selling the game on internet sites! ..? Important to the game must be preserved whatever be due to the strength and beauty of the game in the network and in the story. Thanks by / adil khojah - saudi arabia jeddah city Expand
  55. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    Need I say more about this game other than it being a complete masterpiece? Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots is one of the few games that have a truly cinematic experience that works equally with the gameplay.

    Too many games nowadays take the cinematics for granted and they start to lose their charm when abused. When done right with games like Uncharted, Zelda, Mass Effect or
    Metal Gear Solid, the games are just absolutely gorgeous and are visual and playable treats.

    Solid Snake, even as an old guy, is still a badass.

    This was the first MGS game I ever played, and it is still the best, followed closely by MGS3.
    Expand
  56. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    Is it possible to give a game an 11? If so, this would be the game that would merit that score. Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots is a title that exceeds all of the hype that was attached to the title.
  57. nop
    Mar 3, 2013
    9
    PS3 is worth buying for this single game. For me at least. Production values, quality of storytelling, character designs are top-notch. One must be warned though that every Metal Gear game contains many references to previous games in the series and you are losing a lot of fun if not playing them in correct order.
    As other reviewer said, this game is made for fans. Yes, it is over the
    top, story is extremely convoluted and only works if you are familiar with characters already. Yes, I admit that I didn't have patience for some stealth segments because I just wanted to see story unfold or get to next awesome boss battle. Yes, this is a game where story makes up for all the minor flaws and quirks in core gameplay.
    And those who complain about realism should just grow up. Yes, games are not real, get over it.
    Expand
  58. Sep 18, 2010
    10
    There's shooting, and shooting for a reason. If you just wana shoot to waste time, there is kinda stupid games like left4dead. But if you want to know WHY you're shooting, then there is MGS4 (and the 3 elders). If you want a smart-close-to-real story witch will stick u to your couch till the end, and when you've finished it, it make you THINK about what you did, what you didn't or what you should have done, there's MGS4. I bought my PS3 only for this game, and i still play near 2 years after my purchase this a Monumental Gaming Story => this is M G S. Expand
  59. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    The latest entry in the Metal Gear Solid series brings the age of Solid Snake to a fitting and beautiful conclusion. Not only the best game in the series, but far and away one of gaming's true masterpieces, a testament to the vision of Hideo Kojima and the dedication of his crew to letting one of gaming's all-time greatest characters go out with an earthshattering bang.
  60. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    This is not just a regular game. You need to come to this game prepared for an "experience" think of it as a conclusion to a series of books/movies/games/media you have been awaiting for a long time. If you take all of this into consideration you will appreciate it for what it is and it's a masterpiece at what it does.
  61. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    It might have a lot cutscenes, but it's still very memorable gaming experiene. Great soundtrack, amazing voice acting and nice gameplay... And too bad people start with MGS4, they're always complaining for those cutscenes, but we all know that MGS is like a movie since 1998
  62. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    Considering MGS4 just a game is a pretty limitative point of view: in fact, it is so absorbing that its fruition will broaden your gaming horizons up to a new level. Those who rated this game with negative votes didn't understand this work of art. This is actually the best multimedia experience I've had in my whole life.
  63. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    Wow, I can't believe people are complaining about the cutscenes. I mean, there is a skip button!!!!!! The graphics are still up to par and this is 2010. What are you people playing? It's a classic MG game for this generation's console! If you didn't know you were going to be playing a true Hideo Kojima game, then take it back because you truly get your money's worth with MGS4!!
  64. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    WOW! I am 4 years late on this one. That said the graphics look cutting edge. The atmosphere, storyline, game physics and attention to detail are beyind sublime. Play this game how you want. Whether it be stealth, blatant combat or a bit of both. The sheer depth of skills , items and weapons Snake can utilise (and customize) are mind boggling. MGS4 is the game of it's genre ever made. The last MG I had played was on the ps1 and that was some piece of work. Metal Gear online is defunct unfortunately but this is a purchase that doesn't need online , as a stand alone single player game it is pure class. Highly recommended. Expand
  65. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's awesome. A masterpice. Fantastic story and character. Great game play. Large selection of weapons and itens. Lovely cut scenes. And for plus you get Metal Gear Online, a very good game. Expand
  66. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    I think this game was absolutely fantastic, great gameplay, superb graphics and a stunning story.
    But this game is not for everyone, some people love this game because of its long cut scenes more unique gameplay and the complex but amazing story and people hate it for the same reasons. I personaly fell in love with this game and it was my first Metal Gear Solid game since i tried MGS2 a
    couple of years a go and that did not click with me right away. Only minus for me is that has to install every act but that doesn't ruin the game at all. Expand
  67. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Without a doubt one of the best games ever produced to date. The finale is spectacular even surpassing many works of cinema. From 0 to 10 the game is worth 11 for all of your script and the final scene worthy of a genius. Expand
  68. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing and its the only reason I've bought PlayStation 3. I've played first 3 games on PS2 and I loved them but this one is a pinnacle of the MGS series. You should buy it immediately.
  69. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    MGS4 is without question one of the most remarkable gaming achievements to date. Never has a game, or a series for that matter, delivered epic and epic and continued to get better and better and at the same time keep you engrossed. The amazing thing about MGS4 is that it achieves everything it sets out, literally. Guns of the Patriots is an exceptional game and a rewarding one too but never I felt more fulfilled by a game than this, Snake's final chapter. It's vintage MGS you know what your getting the best there is to offer. In terms of visuals the game has continued to stand the test of time, like Snake because the cut scenes are breathtaking. The best part of the game is without doubt the emotional roller-coaster journey you embark upon, never has a game had me so involved and hanging on a characters every move, it is an absolute epic in every sense of the word. The boss battle with Liquid is something to savour and the final moments of MGS4 are some of the most moving yet satisfying scenes for anyone who has followed Snake from the start because the game raps up every loose end from previous encounters. Make no mistake this is something truly extraordinary, you won't experience anything like this, basically, its the must have title on the PS3. A true definition of the word Masterpiece. Expand
  70. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Easily the best game I've ever played, and likely ever will play. Touching story and characters, incredible ergonomically correct gameplay, fantastic graphics, and more. I'm shocked to see this has below a 98 by critics...
  71. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    A masterpiece and brilliance that is Hideo Kojima, and the endless heroism that is Solid Snake. The Best game ever created an all platforms, the story is oscar worthy if ever this game goes to the silver screens i truly hope that it will some day
  72. Jul 12, 2011
    10
    This final chapter of Metal Gear Solid proved to be an excellent summary to the Solid Snake saga. Hideo Kojima employs many fluid characteristics throughout. There were many interesting plot developments within the story. Amazing technical tools are utilized as well. The single player campaign is a story that no one should miss. Now, I honestly take great exception to the multiplayer portion of MGS. Hideo Kojima forces you to sign up for a special MP service that is somewhat of a hassle to use. The system is very non-sensible in practice and I believe that this hurts what could have been a perfect game. Expand
  73. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    what can i say????this game is AWESOME.it is my favourite stealth game....second is splinter cell conviction.mgs4 has a awesome battle scene like vamp vs raiden and snake vs ocelot ..i like their fight scene....snake can camouflaged himself to a wall or a floor.and i like to watch raiden vs vamp battle scene...
    and i always like mgs4
  74. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    I don't think I could come up with a legitimate complaint about this game if I tried, the only negative is that the cutscenes can be on the lengthy side (30-40 minutes!) Every gameplay related problem I had with previous Metal Gear games like the camera is gone, replaced with an excellent third-person over-the-shoulder camera that properly allows you to see each enemy is. Controls are tight and fluid, and it feels as though I'm finally being allowed to SNEAK. The problem is the gun mechanics and battles are so enjoyable, that goes out the window immediately. Forget sneaking, shoot everything. Expand
  75. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    Simply an epic conclusion to an epic series. This game set the standard for what a conclusion should be from beginning to end. Everything that needed to be cover was covered and everything that I personally wanted to happen happened. Excellent story and gameply my personal favorite game on the next generation of games and maybe of all time.
  76. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    I actually understand why many people do not understand why MGS4 has numerous 10/10. I, too, was an impatient run and gun type of guy. With many games nowadays being released with a quicker pace and a mediocre plot line, I can somewhat relate. I have tried MGS4 so many times, and couldn't decide what to think of it. I finally caught on when I sat back and PAID ATTENTION. It's an art, the slower pace towards the beginning may turn many off, but it's a perfect time to perfect your controls and understand the game mechanics. This is the type of game you cannot DIVE IN, and trust me, I have tried to dive in. Finally, after my 5th try to like this game... I finally understood the 10/10. It's an absolute marvel.

    Moments after the introduction, I quickly noticed that you'll be required to learn the controls on your own. Many games released after the PS3 went on market has tuned it's gameplay to focus on accessibility for those that have an inability to memorize control functions. Aside from that, the gorgeous cut scenes really place a deep tone that will follow throughout. It's a wonder how they pulled everything off in time for Guns of the Patriots release.

    Stealth is available to purist and gunners alike. It just depends on how you, yourself, will want implement it. Just keep in mind that you will not be able to rely on one type of gameplay. Your arsenal will not only consist of various types of weaponry, but also futuristic camo suits and even an ipod to change the mood of a firefight. The AI are something short of fantastic, but more than mediocre. You'll find them waking up their comrades that you have tranquilized and they can even become suspicious when you follow them whilst hiding under a box. They didn't give me much of a challenge, but enough of one to make it interesting.

    Action sequences in this game are unbelievable and sometimes jaw dropping. I found myself putting the controller down distracted, only to find out that I was still playing and was being killed. It's a game that will put you at the edge of your seats. The extremely deep plot may have many confused, and it may well be because this sequel is so tightly interwoven with its predecessors. I have only played MGS2, and was introduced to an overload of information that will only be mentioned once... SO PAY ATTENTION if you want to FULLY understand what is at stake in the game.

    Overall, it is a serious game with serious game mechanics with an insanely deep story that will keep you enthralled.
    Expand
  77. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    I really enjoyed the game. I felt the graphics are good but not amazing. The story line made the game so much more interesting. The stealth was a little disappointing but it worked really good, I was waiting for the MG1 stealth unit to show up but it didn't. The weapons are really good and customising them was actually impressive. This is one of my favourite games
  78. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    Fun game. There is much cut scenes which may feel too long for most of MW2 players. There's much new to do and it's look great. I can recommend this game for most of player.
  79. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    A fantastic game. Although there are too many cutscenes that are too long, the game is fun to play and due to the ammount of unlockables there is some good replay value in MGS4.

    I almost cried at the end......
  80. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    I just finished MGS4 for the first time and at first I was skeptical. I thought that a game made in 2008 would not be able to match the quality of 2012 games. Oh how I was wrong about that! Metal Gear Solid 4 is now one of my favorite games of all time.

    It's important to note that this game focuses heavily on story. In fact, you'll spend most of your time looking at cutscenes, some 30
    minutes long or more. As a movie-lover, I have no objection to this. The quality of the cinematics, story and voice acting were enough to keep me interested all the way through to the end. Character design is fantastic and I can't help but liking every single person, even the bad guys. Fans of the previous games in the series would also be glad to see the references made to those classics. Hands down, Metal Gear Solid 4 has the best story in any game to date. Gameplay wise, MGS4 falls short of the quality of it's cutscenes. I could describe MGS4 as a movie first and a game second. The gameplay feels like filler segments between the cutscenes. An Act starts off with a 20 - 30 minute cutscene, you play for about the same time, then watch another half hour cutscene. But like I said before, I have no objection to this. I like the story driven nature of the game. If there is one thing Metal Gear Solid does differently in the gameplay category is that it isn't about combat as much as it is about stealth. I guess that's why they call it 'Tactical Espionage Action'. I'm more of a run and gun type of gamer, but that kind of thing gets you killed in this game. But it's a nice change from games I normally play. One downside for some gamers would be the lack of trophies. I think that trophies add a lot of replay value to a game and unfortunately they are missing here. However this does not take away from the experience. I played through without caring for trophies at all. I am glad that I decided to play Metal Gear Solid 4 and even today it is still one of the best games ever made. Fans of the Metal Gear series would not be disappointed. I think this is the only game I have played from beginning to end without raging a single time, despite all the deaths. I would definitely recommend it for any PS3 gamer. 5/5 Expand
  81. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    I don't have words to describe this game, it's the best game of all time! This have all qualities of a perfect game need to have, outstanding graphics, perfect storyline and cutscenes, one of the most charismatic character of the all time ( that's Snake ), incomparable sound and soundtrack, great single player and multiplayer.
  82. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4 was a game that showed the world that games can be art!
    People who complain about the cut scenes probably haven't played all the Metal Gear Solid's
    they explain the story of the game in a sad touching way to tell you what to do next or what's going to happen next.
    The music in the game is both great and sad.
    Our hero Snake will live on in the world, he was a great
    character and will be missed. Expand
  83. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    I know I'm years to late for this rating but I needed to get my 2cents in anyways,great story and great multi-player,get this game now,you dont wanna miss out on an adventure of a life time plus the graphics still look great after 4 years.I do know that making a online account for multi player is a hassle but once you get done be ready for action.
  84. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Good gracious. An amazing game that is definitely worth the time spent as well as the money paid. The campaign is so amazing and nothing is flawed. What an astonishing piece of work. The plot and plot twists leaves the gamers, including me, in a tearful trance and other times, super excited state. Ever since MGS1, I have always cried at one point or another in this game. That to me shows how integrated the story is and how connected the story is, to the most important person, the gamer! Must buy, super duper gameplay. If you buy this game, you will not regret it, but rather thank me and the thousands, matter fact, the millions, who have recommended this game to others. Expand
  85. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    I can't describe this amazing game, i just started playing it again, this game is one of the best games i have ever played, if you think this game is any less than a 9 then sorry to say, but you have a bad taste in games, this game is almost perfect imo, scratch that, it IS perfect.
  86. May 31, 2012
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4. Four years ago the trailer for this game cost me £280. Four years later and I know I walked away with a bargain. I jumped aboard the good ship Metal Gear in 1998, when I won Metal Gear Solid for the psx in a great competition in CVG magazine. I cannot think of any other game series that has even attempted to remain as consistent over such a period of time as Kojima's legacy, let alone a series that constantly improves and refines. Metal Gear Solid 4 brings to an end 20+ years of tactical espionage action, unforgettable characters and convoluted post-modern plotlines. With the sheer amount of essential engrossing cutscenes that take up your playtime, It's almost criminal that the game mechanics have been refined to such high standards this time around. But you won't care, because none of this is filler; with regards to certain pivotal moments in the story, Kojima has even found a way for you to watch and play at the same time. In this way it's a game of compelling opposites; cutscenes infiltrate the great gameplay, fourth-wall hammering innovations subvert the dominance of the sweeping story, and even though the game ends the tale of Solid Snake with such bold finality, I expect nothing more than his triumphant return. Expand
  87. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4 is a classic. Breaking of the 4th wall humor, deep story, great stealth gameplay, and the traditional long cutscenes are the good points of this game. If possible, I might rate this over 10 because this game is outstanding. IF YOU LIKE STEALTH GAMEPLAY WITH THE BEST STORY, GO BUT THIS GAME NOW.
  88. May 8, 2012
    10
    this game is an absolute masterpiece in every sense of the word metal gear solid 4 does not only end a trilogy but ends a generation the right way i dont think anyone would have had it any other way
  89. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    mgs4 shines so brightly its beautiful this is how games should it has stealth and has solid shooter mechanics. the story has twist and has alot of action in this story . This time around snake is old but he can still put up a fight with his octocamo suit. and a wide variety of weapons in his arsenal. The boss fights are amazing the story and gameplay are blended perfectly together along with a story that will have you on the edge of your seat till the games final conclusion. The multiplayer is also pretty good I would recommend playing the campaign first which I found very enjoyable. This is a must own for any ps3 owner. Expand
  90. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Big Boss:"This is good...Isn't it?"
    A Lazy review you say after all those years passed by?
    But i better be lazy or i'll run out of 5000 characters limit we're talking about an end of a solid sake saga right here it's a LONG story.
    Let's just say quality wise there's "No place to hideo!"
  91. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns Of The Patriots is a pretty old game by now, but does it still hold up on today's standard's? Let's find out.

    Metal Gear Solid 4 is made by Kojima Productions. The story of this game is great! Metal Gear is know from it's great cinematic experience, which i don't mind, but i know some people will get annoyed by the very long cut scenes. The story is about Solid
    Snake who is very old in this game, and his mission is to stop his brother Liquid from well... taking over the world with his new thing called The Guns of The Patriots. The story might be a bit complex at times if you haven't played the older Metal Gear games(Even thought you should have played them! )but, it is still a great story. The gameplay is more of the same sneaking that other MGS games are about, but it's fixed. Now you can move while aiming, and if you want to just shoot your way trough the game. There's also a new feature called Drebin Shop, which is a weapon shop. You could complain that this feature will make it easier, but that is more fun than search for the weapons. There's also some tweaks to the movement that are also good. Multiplayer is also added to the game, but i didn't really care about it. The graphics are STILL excellent sure they aren't Crysis 2 graphics , but hey! It's a 3 year old game. Cut scenes are also done very well. Animations are great, the graphics are overall great. So i think that MGS 4 is a great game, and my personal favorite game of ALL TIME. Sure some people are not going to like this cause it's slow paced at times, and the cut scenes are long, but give it a chance
    you might like it.


    The Story: 10
    The Gameplay: 10
    The Graphics: 10
    Score: 10
    Expand
  92. Jun 24, 2012
    9
    What all the complaining about? The worst things about this great gameare the cut scenes!while they are long its not like your forced to watch them just skip them & enjoy some of the best gameplay ever created! For me though I never skip the scenes their to well made to skip like when your fighting the gekko's while theirs a live cut scene of raiden vs vamp which is truly epic!! Now some people say its only for fans but not really...if you want to no the entire history of metal gear then yiy can download it from psn for free. Theirs also a huge list of assault rifles smg's,shotguns and snipers to choose from even nudy mags to slow the enemy plus lots of attachments for your weapon of choice! The best thing about enemy engagements is HOW you can engage the enemy, you can snipe them all,sneak by them,or directly assault them...hell you can even make them laugh/cry/eager uncontrollably and just walk past them like a boss!! This game is near perfection with great graphics its story and the way you engage the enemy people with short attention span's need not ally here Expand
  93. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    This game is the one game that rose the standard of gaming for me. This game taught me what a video game could be, it taught me to look at games with a critical eye, and in a way it ruin video game for me since I have yet to play a game that's in the level of this game. I had never played any metal gear game before this and only had a basic understanding of the story. It started out as a rental because of all the rave review it got, and I was not expecting to much and planed to return it after I beating it, but boy did it surprise me. The story captivated me and was one of the few games that made me tear up in the end. I understand some complaints about the long cut scene but for me that only made this game so much better. In the end not only did I go out and bought myself a copy of the game before I beat the rental but I also bought MGS1, MGS2, and MGS3 just to experience the whole story. It's amazing that a game that I jump into in its fourth iteration without playing any of the previouse can still make me fall in love with the characters and plot. This game showed what so much more video games could be and because of this I never view video games the same again after playing this game. I went back to play some previous games that I find exceptional only to find it less astounding after experiencing MGS4. This game was a beautiful masterpiece and I dare to call it an art in par with some of the greatest movies and stories ever told. Expand
  94. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    es perfecto lo amo, es uno de los mejores juegos que existe en el ps3, me encanta, las grafiacas la historia y el humor de kojima que nunca falta. es grandioso. .
  95. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    This is the first game I've played in the series, and even though I'm struggling to understand the story as a whole, I am still in love with it. I'm playing this game January of 2012, and I can say that this is a 10/10 for today's standards. Although some dialogue and scenes are incredible cheese, the amount of cinematic flair is unbelievable. I can't believe I have not played this game earlier.
  96. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    This was easily the best game I have played. I was wowed by every aspect of the game. I had only played MGS 2 before this and while I ranked it number 2 on my list of best PS2 games ever ( Behind only JAK 3) I thought it was slightly flawed.
    1. The game was not in any way designed for combat which made some boss fights difficult. 2.Sometimes I was left alone not knowing how to proceed to
    the next stage.
    3.Weapons and equipment were hard to find and amo was scarce until I knew that you could find ammo by picking enemies up and dropping him
    However MGS4 addressed both of these issues. The game was equally geared towards combat and stealth. The weapons feel solid and the stealth mechanics work perfectly. You could run through the levels like an armored tank or you could sneak through like a ninja. Also the objectives were clear and even though the levels were less open you never feel like you are confined. Drebins shop also added lost of variety by allowing you to choose what your play-style was by buying your own weapons and equipment. The cutscenes were beautiful and the story is one of the greatest I have ever encountered in fiction. I enjoyed the cut-scenes immensely although I understand how others may find them tedious. All in all this is one of the best stories ever wrapped in some of the best graphics and game-play ever even now in 2011. I highly recommend that you buy this game especially now that you can buy this game for only 15 euros
    Expand
  97. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    A superb ending to a superb legacy. MGS4 is graphically, story wise, and gameplay wise on a whole different level. It's a beautiful story driven game, which has an excellent worked out gameplay. Snake's arsenal of weaponry and skills is equally impressive. The only reason this game doesn't deserve a 10, is because of the ability to buy weapons on the go which is a compromise to modern gaming which is below Kojima and lessens immersion. Expand
  98. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    This has the most confusing storyline ever and i love it it makes you think the game is full of so many memorable bosses and areas when you beat the game youll be sad this is a stealth game but if you are good you can make it through certain things run and gun after you beat the game you can play the awesome multiplayer its one of the most tactical experiences ever buy this game its a masterpiece
  99. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    i heard this game was coming out for ps3, and i was so close to selling my xbox just to pick this game up. i didnt do that, luckily i had a friend that had both so i just borrowed his ps3 and copy of the game. not gonna lie here, this game is a good bit different than the other titles, but i think they were changes for the best. it plays more like a traditional shooter with stealth elements and choices. they kept the camo system and they have modern and futuristic weapons. snake is an old man in this game which i would prefer a playing as a younger snake but its cool. you can do tons of stuff in this game, shooting off your back, moving in a snake/ hump motion on the ground which is good for a few laughs, and the game has outrageously long cutscenes, bring some popcorn. cool story line, great graphics, nice gameplay, it finally feels smooth. 10/10 Expand
  100. May 13, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ending of a great man, solid snake. I always liked the solid snake more than big boss so this might be the best, epic, last solid snake appearing game in the series. Bosses are a bit lame, and some conversions are a bit long (especially on the plane and briefing scenes). Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Guns of the Patriots is almost intimidating in the consistent quality of its ideas, invention, and execution...Even by the series' stratospheric standards, MGS4 is a remarkable high point. [June 2008]
  2. 99
    If you've ever loved any one of the Metal Gear games, or any moments from the series, there will come a moment when MGS 4 will send your spirits soaring. If you've loved them all, well then there'll be many, many more. It’s a masterpiece.
  3. Guns of the Patriots is a frustrating, fractured game that turns Metal Gear Solid's world upside down several times over, but never changes it.