User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3239 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ed
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    I am not allow to spoil anything and that was the deal for getting an early copy of MGS4 but guys this game is worth even the $85+ for the collectors edition.

    it has all you need in a game full of action and espionage.
    that 90 minute scene crap is all nothing but flamebait.
    If you are an early MGS fan you wont be disappointed
  2. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    This game follows the greate path of the rest of the MGS games. The controls, grapichs, and story is just plaine awsome. This game will emerge you deep into the world of Solid Snake for hours and hours and you wont get bored. This is truly a must have game, because you will have missed one of the gaming worlds Brighest pearls if you dont. 10/10, and i would rate it higher if possible:)
  3. TS
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    I would give this game a 20 if I could. This game, along with MGS1, MGS2, and MGS3, are the best games I've ever played. The game is full of emotional moments, and some of them brought me to tears. The gameplay is amazing, allowing you to stealth or shoot your way through the game. And the cutscene length is no problem, as they are really well done cutscenes, and you'll probably I would give this game a 20 if I could. This game, along with MGS1, MGS2, and MGS3, are the best games I've ever played. The game is full of emotional moments, and some of them brought me to tears. The gameplay is amazing, allowing you to stealth or shoot your way through the game. And the cutscene length is no problem, as they are really well done cutscenes, and you'll probably enjoy watching them. Amazing game, the #1 game on PS3, and the #1 game of all time {along with the entire series of course}. Expand
  4. It'sme,Mario!
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    The game is excelent in every way. Graphic, sound, gameplay, history... The game makes you play for hours and hours with a very good amount of fun.
    See those comments under here? The people who gave it a 5 just dont know what they say. The game is briliant, and if you dont like the cutscenes, you can just skip it.
  5. DavidP.
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    It's an interactive movie, nuff said.
  6. Seth
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    One of the best and most epic games I will ever remember! MGS4 = Mind blowing gameplay, challenging boss fights, emotional and laugh out loud cut scenes! People who say this game is garbage, dont have the attention spand to watch and pay attention to the genius cut scenes! Thats one of the elements that that makes it beautiful!! Both thumbs up!
  7. RoryB.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    A tour-de-force for the franchise. Compelling story and cinematography, so-good-I-can't-believe-it's-not-real graphics, a musical score that combines the best of Metal Gears past and present. Kojima should be incredibly proud.
  8. RichardB.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    It's been a long time since I've seen action and plot and game play integrated this well. Every time I think "that would be cool", the game turns around and does it. The characters and emotions seem so real, the action is smooth and still maintains the true stealth base that sets it apart, and the graphics are possibly the best I've seen in any game ever made. This game It's been a long time since I've seen action and plot and game play integrated this well. Every time I think "that would be cool", the game turns around and does it. The characters and emotions seem so real, the action is smooth and still maintains the true stealth base that sets it apart, and the graphics are possibly the best I've seen in any game ever made. This game doesn't do anything half way; anything it does, it does well. In addition to the phenomenal story and action, the game is OVERFLOWING with small nicknack's and secrets and inside jokes that make it feel REAL. From your octocamo, that I messed with for about a half hour, to a small coke-drinking monkey with an arms dealer, this game is everything a MGS fan could want, and something a non fan would be pulled in by. Expand
  9. MK
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    One word: WOW. This is the latest and the final installment of MGS saga. It literally answers every single question you had about MGS saga. Although I prefer some of stuff left to be unanswered, it does it nicely anyways. This "game" cannot be seen as a mere video game. It seems Kojima reached ultimate art form in interactive media. Some might argue gameplay might be lacking in ratio to One word: WOW. This is the latest and the final installment of MGS saga. It literally answers every single question you had about MGS saga. Although I prefer some of stuff left to be unanswered, it does it nicely anyways. This "game" cannot be seen as a mere video game. It seems Kojima reached ultimate art form in interactive media. Some might argue gameplay might be lacking in ratio to cutscenes. However, it all depends out how you play the game. You can play in easy setting and go all out Rambo-style and be done with a level within minutes. On the other hand, you can play in harder difficulties and sneak with out hurting anyone. Harder difficulties make Rambo-style near impossible due to various limitations, like increased damage. I found NORMAL difficulty for MGS4 much easier than previous MGS games. Thus, I was taking action/all out approach more often than previous MGS games. Almost all cutscenes have some sort of interactivity imbedded in them, similar to MGS3. You can often see what Snake is actually seeing or trigger flashbacks. Talk abut flash backs, Kojima plays with your nostalgia. It often makes funs of itself and previous MGS games to toy with your memories. Remember Psycho Mantis from MGS1? Remember how you defeated him? Try it on one of the bosses. People have been praising MGS4's visual fidelity. Yeah, it's amazing. It's given for MGS series to leap beyond any games in visual department. Actually, the sound in this game is the most impressive part to me. As a result of using Skywalker Ranch (used for movies) to do sound recordings, the game's 5.1 mix is superior to many feature films. With truely amazing sound and AAA film-like angles on cutscenes and gameplay, it make the experience much better than previous ones. Most reviews won't tell you that you need to install for 8 minutes initially, and for 3 minutes in between ACTS. Loading is lot more frequent than expected due to real-time cutscenes. Some cutscenes load after another. Little things, but they weren't too annoying. If you are a FAN or feel like take a role in an epic 15 hour interactive art film, be my guest and play it! THIS IS THE REASON TO OWN PS3. Expand
  10. EvanB.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    Simply amazing! I was amazed at how the cut scenes and the game play were seamless! I have never seen that before in a video game! This is the game of the year, over GTA IV by a long shot! I agree with IGN...if this game could get an "11", it would! BUY it!
  11. ThomasC.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    Unbelievable, I waited a long time for this game and it definitely made the wait worth it. The graphics are amazing, the story is well told as you play, and the stealth component is a lot of fun. This game contains a lot of 'wow' moments too. Certainty a must for your collection.
  12. PaulM.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    I'm a fan of Metal Gear Solid since the first one came out for PS1. They all took my breath away and made me laugh for joy like no other game. This one is no exception, in fact, it's a lot more than I expected. Metal Gear Solid 4 is more than a game. It's like the best novel, with the greatest storyline, the best movie, and the best game, all-in-one.
  13. sigma
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    By far the best out of the entire series. Hideo and his clan put together one of the most inspirational games ever made. So much detail, beautiful animations, compelling script and story telling. I am overwhelmed by the amount of content in this game. 11 out of 10!
  14. GeorgeH.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    The game of all games, one of the best games ever created. Actually it is more than just a game, it is an immersing journey for both solid snake and the player. Salute
  15. JulianV.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    All the praise this game has received is deserving and I agree with all of it! Any zero or one ratings are clearly not well thought out and therefore don't hold any weight. I think the main problem I had with this game was an internal one, as supposed to being the fault of the creators. Considering it is such an addictive and immersive game I felt a craving for more actual play time All the praise this game has received is deserving and I agree with all of it! Any zero or one ratings are clearly not well thought out and therefore don't hold any weight. I think the main problem I had with this game was an internal one, as supposed to being the fault of the creators. Considering it is such an addictive and immersive game I felt a craving for more actual play time (especially towards the end of the game). That said I am looking forward to playing it through again on a harder difficulty and trying to complete all the unlockable stuff. The fact that levels can be completed a multitude of different ways and that no two battles between the PMC's and the militants are the same should ensure that the game has good replay value. Expand
  16. KevinH
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    A modern day masterpiece! And the first "Killer App" for the PS3!
  17. MgsForever
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    I have never played a game with such breathtaking visuals, innovative gameplay, and well-rounded characters. My only complaint is that it was too short. Some people say that MGS4 is a bit to chatty, but for me that doesn't serve a problem unless there's more gameplay like in MGS2. And Kojima did an excellent job in tying up the knots for the MGS storyline (that is IF you played I have never played a game with such breathtaking visuals, innovative gameplay, and well-rounded characters. My only complaint is that it was too short. Some people say that MGS4 is a bit to chatty, but for me that doesn't serve a problem unless there's more gameplay like in MGS2. And Kojima did an excellent job in tying up the knots for the MGS storyline (that is IF you played the previous games, otherwise you won't understand much of the story). Expand
  18. JasonH
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    First of all , MGS4 is a "must have" for all PS3 owners! As far as why? It's pretty simple, this is one of the finest crafted games ever made. Every angle is thought out, the gameplay is spot on, the options never stop, and the graphics are ill! My only knock would be that some of the cutscenes can go long...but even they've been done perfectly. If you don't own this game First of all , MGS4 is a "must have" for all PS3 owners! As far as why? It's pretty simple, this is one of the finest crafted games ever made. Every angle is thought out, the gameplay is spot on, the options never stop, and the graphics are ill! My only knock would be that some of the cutscenes can go long...but even they've been done perfectly. If you don't own this game but you do own a PlayStation 3, then go directly to a retailer and make the purchase. Expand
  19. AndrewLittle
    Aug 29, 2009
    9
    Loved it, thought the gameplay, graphics and gameplay were awesome, the story line was good as well except the fact that Snake was around 60 and yet able to run around shooting... i know it kinda explains it in the story but i dont think that was a good move by Hideo Kojima !
  20. DarrnK.
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    I have to say this is one of the finest games ever made. Kojima really outdid himself with this game, I mean all the customizations are noticable in the in-game cutscenes and even those are just using in-game graphics. This game also comes packed with an Online mode which only increases the value, this game is a must have.
  21. SteveM.
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    Simply the most immersive, emotional and downright brilliant game the PS3 has seen.
  22. PhilY.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    This game is virtually flawless, its so well polished and detailed its unbelievable. This game truly beckons next gen gaming.
  23. GordonR.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. It is.... words can't describe. It's so far beyond anything else out there that there is nothing to compare it to. Just play it.
  24. TysonB
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    I will give this a 10, mainly because this has shown what PS3 can handle. Yes, Kojima said himself that it wasn't up to his expectations, but he is a Perfectionists. He was expecting more than he could do, which honestly was expected. He was probably expecting a video game to pretty much come to life with "real life" graphics. No matter what, in today's world, that just I will give this a 10, mainly because this has shown what PS3 can handle. Yes, Kojima said himself that it wasn't up to his expectations, but he is a Perfectionists. He was expecting more than he could do, which honestly was expected. He was probably expecting a video game to pretty much come to life with "real life" graphics. No matter what, in today's world, that just isn't possible. The Cell can handle way more than what PS3s graphics card can. Anyways, besides all of that, this game is insane, in a very good way. Graphically it's beautiful and stunning. Story wise it is truly something else, it lives up to expectations that many were wanting. Game play it's different and makes you keep wanting to play. Yes, it does have long cut-scenes but it does not off set it from the true colors. Replay is definitely a 10/10 on it's own, since skipping the cut-scenes opens up a lot of game play. Yes, the game could have been better in Kojima's eyes. All great minds end up not liking there work, it's a fact. It's just that way, can't fault the game because it is very perfect. Expand
  25. BenWalker
    Jul 15, 2008
    9
    I did not know anything about the Metal Gear story before playing this game which made the story hard to follow. I even found myself skipping some scenes because they were so long and I just wanted to get back to the gameplay. I liked the game a lot, I just wish the cut scenes weren't so long. I am looking forward to playing through the game again so I can skip past all the cutI did not know anything about the Metal Gear story before playing this game which made the story hard to follow. I even found myself skipping some scenes because they were so long and I just wanted to get back to the gameplay. I liked the game a lot, I just wish the cut scenes weren't so long. I am looking forward to playing through the game again so I can skip past all the cut scenes and just "play the game". Expand
  26. GabrielN.
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    Oh boy, what a mind blowing experience ! MGS4 screams quality and inspiration, from the first pixel that appears on screen, to the very last. I can't imagine how these guys managed to always pull it off and make the next MGS game better than the last, but MGS4 is the pinnacle of the series in every single aspect. The story is beatifully crafted in both writing and cinematography, Oh boy, what a mind blowing experience ! MGS4 screams quality and inspiration, from the first pixel that appears on screen, to the very last. I can't imagine how these guys managed to always pull it off and make the next MGS game better than the last, but MGS4 is the pinnacle of the series in every single aspect. The story is beatifully crafted in both writing and cinematography, smart, elaborate and so incredibly poignant, think the end of MGS3 and multiply it by 5, that there are scenes where you litterally feel all your senses soaring. It is a moving and deeply profound experience, unlike any other. The gameplay, graphics, sound, music, everything is pretty much as good as it gets. This one is, without a doubt, for the history books. Expand
  27. AlexC
    Dec 28, 2008
    10
    Unless you're just in it for the exciting online aspect, this one isn't for the casual gamer. No time is taken to explain the meaning behind the onslaught of terminology that peppers the sprawling cutscenes that make up most of this very narrative title. For those who endure the windingly intense cinematic sections are rewarded with barrel-blazing vehicle chases, unforgettableUnless you're just in it for the exciting online aspect, this one isn't for the casual gamer. No time is taken to explain the meaning behind the onslaught of terminology that peppers the sprawling cutscenes that make up most of this very narrative title. For those who endure the windingly intense cinematic sections are rewarded with barrel-blazing vehicle chases, unforgettable boss battles, NINJAS, giant robot battles, NINJAS, classic secret agent action (or a frantic Gears' style shooter if stealth isn't your thing) and NINJAS! Expand
  28. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    The true sequel to my best game ever (MGS2). I played MGS4 when I first bought a PS3. Since I had forgotten a lot of the details from the series, I got half of the exprerience. Now, I decided it was a good time to refresh my MGS storyline, so I played through MGS, MGS2 and MGS4 (I plan to continue to the Big Boss games). Now that I have a full idea of what's happening and why, and alsoThe true sequel to my best game ever (MGS2). I played MGS4 when I first bought a PS3. Since I had forgotten a lot of the details from the series, I got half of the exprerience. Now, I decided it was a good time to refresh my MGS storyline, so I played through MGS, MGS2 and MGS4 (I plan to continue to the Big Boss games). Now that I have a full idea of what's happening and why, and also I've grown as a gamer, since 2008 is 5 years back, I can firmly say that it deserves a perfect score since it ticked all of the boxes and even beyond as a great sequel and as a story ending.

    This is Kojima at his best. Both gameplaywise and storywise.
    Expand
  29. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    I was browsing through Metacritic and couldn't help but notice this game had a below-than-expected user rating. So I must do this masterpiece justice by writing one of my own. In my opinion, MGS 4 is a glimpse of what games will be in the future: movies in which you will interact. Right when the menu pops up you get the feeling this game is different.

    I won't lie, I am a huge fan of
    I was browsing through Metacritic and couldn't help but notice this game had a below-than-expected user rating. So I must do this masterpiece justice by writing one of my own. In my opinion, MGS 4 is a glimpse of what games will be in the future: movies in which you will interact. Right when the menu pops up you get the feeling this game is different.

    I won't lie, I am a huge fan of this franchise since I played Metal Gear on NES. I consider Metal Gear Solid 4 to be the best of all. Snake, the main character, has never been so likeable, and even those who never knew him will soon enough love this guy. He's old, he's fighting enemies far stronger than him. He endures pain throughout the game, yet he never gives up. And he still has time to make us smile with his "simple soldier" reactions as he interacts with the other characters. This game is flawless. The animation still competes and even beats most games. The movement of the different characters, vehicles, and natural objects is extremely well made. The atmosphere of this game is incredible. The sound effects are top notch and the music comes in at the right moment to add more intensity to what is happening on the screen. The graphics are still very, very good. I believe they finally were equalled a couple of years ago by a few other games. This game's scenario is perhaps the only bad thing about it. It's complicated even for Metal Gear fanatics. The cutscenes are long, yes, but they can easily be equals to movie scenes you watch in theaters. Many of them are breathtaking in terms of epicness, and others add more character to the different people involved in the story. You will forever remember how you felt throughout your first playthrough of this game, it's so intense that you will sometimes think about it after playing it.

    You can complete levels in various ways depending on your style. Solid Snake is an expert at CQC ( Closed Quarters Combat ), and once you are sure enough of your skills, you will enjoy knocking out your enemies a lot more than simply shooting them. You have many many gadgets to help you in your quest and you can unlock many more as you play. Many have a cartoony feeling to it, such as the legendary cardboard box in which you can hide to avoid detection. There are no trophies for this game since it was released in the pre-trophy era of the PS3.

    This game has an online mode and it's lots of fun. You can do pretty much everything you do in solo mode. There's even a game mode that allows people to be Snake and his remote controlled robot while both teams fight each other. Some players have become experts now, and you might have a hard time winning, which can lead to frustration. You can, however, access a training area and be trained by one of the experts who can teach you how to play online.

    This game was already a classic the day it came out. It will forever be remembered by those who played it. In retrospect I believe nobody can give this game a bad note, it has to be 9 or 10. Those who gave it a lower note should not be worthy of writing reviews. This game is pretty much a cornerstone in video gaming and was, to me, the symbol of what PS3 ( and other same-gen consoles ) were going to do in the upcoming years.
    Expand
  30. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    Kojima and Konami had the same vision as the fans as to what next generation console gaming should have been. Many had that vision, but very few could achieve it.
    MGS4 shows how incredible games would be today if developers still poured their hearts into their projects regardless of how long it took and didn't have to constantly give in to shareholders and publishers. The story, visuals,
    Kojima and Konami had the same vision as the fans as to what next generation console gaming should have been. Many had that vision, but very few could achieve it.
    MGS4 shows how incredible games would be today if developers still poured their hearts into their projects regardless of how long it took and didn't have to constantly give in to shareholders and publishers. The story, visuals, music, boss battles, controller mapping, everything in MGS4 was flawless. I wish more games were this complete.
    9.7
    Expand
  31. Dec 14, 2010
    10
    Absolutely one of the best games I've played on my PS3. I have all 4 of the MGS titles, and I kinda think this one is much better. It's not the graphics, though the graphics are amazing. But the storyline is incredible. The controls are easier and better, much better than the old ones. The villains look bad ass, some villain's and characters return from MGS, MGS2, and MGS3. I also likeAbsolutely one of the best games I've played on my PS3. I have all 4 of the MGS titles, and I kinda think this one is much better. It's not the graphics, though the graphics are amazing. But the storyline is incredible. The controls are easier and better, much better than the old ones. The villains look bad ass, some villain's and characters return from MGS, MGS2, and MGS3. I also like Solid Snakes new suit that camoulflages automatically. I can't find any problems with this game, except the extremely long cut scenes like the last 3 game. But, the cutscenes are pretty cool anyway but too long. However, this is an amazing game. If your a fan of the MGS series and have a PS3, this is a MUST GET game in the collection. Expand
  32. MarkWood
    Sep 23, 2006
    10
    From The Stoneage of 3D gaming came MGS1, a rev olution in gaming. With the next generation came MGS2, pushing the boundaries of graphics and gameplay. The PS3 is near and it is innevitable that hideo kojima will produce another game that will bring the joy back to games again
  33. CodyB.
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    If it is possible to give a game an 11, this would be the only game in the world to reach that score. I'm not even an mgs fan but I just LOVE the series as if I were a fanboy! MOST people love this game to death for the glowing angel of an epic masterpiece it truly is, while SOME people diss it because of the long cutscenes (THEY HAVE TO BE LONG OR YOU WONT GET THE STORY), the If it is possible to give a game an 11, this would be the only game in the world to reach that score. I'm not even an mgs fan but I just LOVE the series as if I were a fanboy! MOST people love this game to death for the glowing angel of an epic masterpiece it truly is, while SOME people diss it because of the long cutscenes (THEY HAVE TO BE LONG OR YOU WONT GET THE STORY), the dialogue (those people who say this game has terrible dialogue are just angry because they are just to damn retarded to understand what the characters are actually saying, too much high-class words for them), & the story itself (PAY ATTENTION TO WHAT THE STORYLINE IS TELLING, SUCH AS THE HORRORS OF WAR, ABOUT MORALS IN LIFE, ACCEPTING DEATH, AND SOOO MUCH MORE). 89% of gamers all over the world who experienced this epic masterpiece praised the storyline as well as the characters and presentations, hideo kojima was extremely plesed with the final version of the game as he said in the metal gear 20th anniversary party, however he was dissapointed with the early versions though but that's in the past. Millions of gamers preordered this game way before it even came out & even camped outside malls & outlets for days & nights just to get their hands on this game!! Only 11% of gamers around the world who played this game were dissapointed but nobody cares about them anyway, they're dumbasses, they're way too mentally retarded to understand the complexity & substance of the epic moments this masterpiese presents (too many big words for inexperienced gamers who hate this game because they don't understand it?). Anybody who rates this game low is an INEXPERIENCED gamer who has NO LIFE and understands NOTHING of videogaming...or life AT ALL, get this game or be like one of them. I SWEAR TO GOD this is a true masterpiece of EPIC proportions!!! Expand
  34. HassanAlArafat
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    Easily the best game of all time. Why? You'll just have to play it. Never mind the people with no brains to understand the story, or not appreciate the cutscenes, because the humor, the tension, the excitement, the stealth, the action, the bosses and everything that makes a game so close to being perfect. It's the best thing you'll ever play on PS3, no, sorry, the best gameEasily the best game of all time. Why? You'll just have to play it. Never mind the people with no brains to understand the story, or not appreciate the cutscenes, because the humor, the tension, the excitement, the stealth, the action, the bosses and everything that makes a game so close to being perfect. It's the best thing you'll ever play on PS3, no, sorry, the best game of all time, period. Expand
  35. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    Personal favorite in the series followed by Sons of liberty, the original, and then Snake Eater, a game which happens to become better when the series is complete. Guns of the Patriots includes all the great things from its predecessors and follows with its own brilliant work. Play it if you have not yet done so.
  36. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    Overall best game I have ever played. Amazing story. Amazing Graphics. Funny. Serious. Sad. Corny. Unbelievably intelligent. Incredible replay value. Beautiful soundtrack. Great implementation of Sixaxis controls. There's absolutely no reason to give this game anything below a 10. The first game that I have ever decided to keep forever. Absolutely amazing.
  37. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    In my opinion the greatest console game of this generation. Unfortunately MGS4 caters completely to the fans and those that don't rate this game highly are those that have not played the previous ones.
  38. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4 is the epic finale to the Metal Gear Solid series. The series's well known protagonist, Solid Snake, is now aged, an ancient man, lower back problems, coughing from his years of smoking. The graphics.. this is the Ocarina of Time of our age.. and god help me for using that comparison since I personally don't think much of Zelda games. Over all, this game is a legendaryMetal Gear Solid 4 is the epic finale to the Metal Gear Solid series. The series's well known protagonist, Solid Snake, is now aged, an ancient man, lower back problems, coughing from his years of smoking. The graphics.. this is the Ocarina of Time of our age.. and god help me for using that comparison since I personally don't think much of Zelda games. Over all, this game is a legendary thing, and at such cheap used prices nowadays, YOU GOTTA GET! Expand
  39. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Ahh....MGS what more can i say that ALOT of people don't already know, the game is amazing. i never played any mgs games until Guns of the Patriots came out soo i went out and bought all 4 games at once and i gotta thank Kojima for giving me one of the best summers of my life.
  40. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    I will start of by saying this is the best game i have ever played, this is the BEST game ever made! the graphics beautifull and the story is riviting, the action is crazy, your usually crawling throug and action packed war zone and its so awesome, the custimzation of snake is groundbreaking. MGS4 has set the bar for video games ona cinematic sense. The cutscenes should win an oscar forI will start of by saying this is the best game i have ever played, this is the BEST game ever made! the graphics beautifull and the story is riviting, the action is crazy, your usually crawling throug and action packed war zone and its so awesome, the custimzation of snake is groundbreaking. MGS4 has set the bar for video games ona cinematic sense. The cutscenes should win an oscar for best picture, just a flawless game, go get it, you will cry cause its so good! Expand
  41. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    Flawless, this game is perfect. Playing Metal Gear Solid 4 was the most fun I have ever had playing a video game. The weapons are cool and the graphic's are great and the game play is amazing. This game was my all time favorite video game. There should really be another one cause I adored this game so much. Absolutely terrific!
  42. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    First off, let me say that I have played metal gear since I was a child with a playstation 1. I have grown up along with the metal gear series, and loved every experience it provided. The metal gear games have always been perfect in the genre they created: tactical espionage action. For the people out there who talk about their dislike of the gameplay or complex controls, I suggest theyFirst off, let me say that I have played metal gear since I was a child with a playstation 1. I have grown up along with the metal gear series, and loved every experience it provided. The metal gear games have always been perfect in the genre they created: tactical espionage action. For the people out there who talk about their dislike of the gameplay or complex controls, I suggest they read the cover of the game or look at the back-of-the-box features listed on any game case to see what kind of game it is. For example: are you a gamer who likes only RTS's? Than look at the game case and see how it reads: tactical espionage action. These are not words that desribe an RTS. So you probably shouldn't buy the game. Are you a person who doesn't like watching lengthy cut-scenes in a game? Well look at the back of the game case and you will find the words "Experience a stunning cinematic adventure that will keep you hooked until the very end". These words are obviously meant to say "Hey, we like fast-paced games as much as the next gamer, but we like to create a game with a deep story and interesting plot that engrosses you in a wonderful fictional world that has been telling a story since the first game." The metal gear series has always had lengthy cut-scenes and it is what has helped make the metal gear story the most compelling and awesome story in the history of video games. For those of you out there who are fans of the series or stealth games in general, I highly recommend you play this game. The controls are the best in the series, the graphics are phenomenal, and the set-piece moments will stay in your memory forever. The game sums up every plot questions of the entire series and the last hours of the game are the most emotional you will spend outside of a book or movie. Metal Gear Solid 4 is without a question a masterpiece, as not only is it an amazing game, but it is devoted to the fans that have loved the genre for so long. Expand
  43. WEL
    Apr 7, 2012
    10
    Last time I played this game was when it came out in 2008 but I started playing it yesterday again and got to beat the Laughing Octopus (and did the photo shoot secret! so sexy) and save Naomi and let me say that this game is still as incredible as I remember it. The music, the gameplay, the graphics aged considerably well, the long cut-scenes which everybody complains about are stillLast time I played this game was when it came out in 2008 but I started playing it yesterday again and got to beat the Laughing Octopus (and did the photo shoot secret! so sexy) and save Naomi and let me say that this game is still as incredible as I remember it. The music, the gameplay, the graphics aged considerably well, the long cut-scenes which everybody complains about are still awesome too. Now I can't wait to see Raiden again on the next chapter... Metal Gear Solid 4 truly is one of the best games of this generation and I hope Kojima comes up with a MGS5 soon even if it's just a pre-quel. This series is way too good to disappear now. Expand
  44. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    This is one of the greatest achievements of this generation, the perfect combination of excellence in all aspects of the game. A beloved game without flaws and a great ending for the saga of Solid Snake.
  45. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    A must have for ps3 owners, metal gear solid fans, and people who enjoy stealth action games. The most satisfying conclusion to any video game series ever. The graphics are the BEST ever seen on any game system. The ending fight scene is epic and really ends the series on a great note. Komina productions even added an online mode to keep players into this game for months at a time.
  46. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    best game i ever played ..perfect in a every way,u feel like playing real soldier,best story and best aspect of drama,,u must play this game and if u dont own a ps3,,immediately turn off internet and go to shopping,,it is worht it,
  47. infamousbutcher
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    well 9.9 coz theres no such thing as a perfect game. but this is as cose as you will ever get. This game plays up to the Metal Gear series.now im finding it hard to describe coz i dont know where to start. If you havnt played the series, go out and buy MGS, MGS2 and MGS3 subsistance (metal gear 1 and metal gear 2 solid snake included) then play this game, you will be in for a story thatwell 9.9 coz theres no such thing as a perfect game. but this is as cose as you will ever get. This game plays up to the Metal Gear series.now im finding it hard to describe coz i dont know where to start. If you havnt played the series, go out and buy MGS, MGS2 and MGS3 subsistance (metal gear 1 and metal gear 2 solid snake included) then play this game, you will be in for a story that changes direction more than you change your underwear. It is without a doubt the best game series and story in existance. Expand
  48. OwnedL
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    This game is the final one with Snake in it and has untold amounts of blood, sweat and tears into this. I thought that it overall had great gameplay, visuals were very good, and the audio was a bit under my tasted. The video was remarkable, having dust fly up ontu the screen when you enter a dusty area. Blood will also fly onto the screen. Though I hate to see Snake leave the seen, he is This game is the final one with Snake in it and has untold amounts of blood, sweat and tears into this. I thought that it overall had great gameplay, visuals were very good, and the audio was a bit under my tasted. The video was remarkable, having dust fly up ontu the screen when you enter a dusty area. Blood will also fly onto the screen. Though I hate to see Snake leave the seen, he is old, tired and lonely (lol). You desreve your rest we salute you. Expand
  49. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    Only one word can describe this game...... EPIC one of the most anticipated game of 2008. Here comes Solid Snake in his final stands the well and awesome story,genius graphics, the return of many old characters (especially Raiden made a cool change)and finally the answers for some unanswered question.
  50. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    Almost 4 years after it's release date, Metal Gear Solid 4 remains one of this platforms crowning achievements. In fact, upon its release it set the standard for next generation gaming content with it's deep, emotionally engaging story, state of the art visuals, unprecedented sound design, and enough extras to encourage over 100+ hours of game play. A standard that remains exceptionallyAlmost 4 years after it's release date, Metal Gear Solid 4 remains one of this platforms crowning achievements. In fact, upon its release it set the standard for next generation gaming content with it's deep, emotionally engaging story, state of the art visuals, unprecedented sound design, and enough extras to encourage over 100+ hours of game play. A standard that remains exceptionally high, even in 2011. Expand
  51. jasonAnsari
    May 31, 2008
    10
    i dont have words to explain how good the visual quality of the game is, i mean from the moment game starts everything seem real and as if ur are playin a movie....gameplay mechanics are tigher and interchange b/w first person and third person is smooth...also the drebin points improves longevity of the game...but all i can say about the game is from the moment its starts and ends....u oni dont have words to explain how good the visual quality of the game is, i mean from the moment game starts everything seem real and as if ur are playin a movie....gameplay mechanics are tigher and interchange b/w first person and third person is smooth...also the drebin points improves longevity of the game...but all i can say about the game is from the moment its starts and ends....u on every occasion u praises KOJIMA for his fantastic work..and playing game show how much sweat and tears they have shed making it possible...its an experiance u must have...game requires 0 prior knowledge about MGS series...this game cant be more perfect...must buy for every ps3 owner and the one on the fence..here ur chance to buy ps3....go for it... Expand
  52. JamesC.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    I just knew this was gonna end the series badly, but this did it amazingly. Kojima is brilliant, everything was beautiful and (spoiler) when raiden was holding his sword via his mouth, I must say I started to believe in god.
  53. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Unbelievable. If you've ever wanted to and cum in your pants at the same time, play this game. It tops Snake Eater and Sons of Liberty. The story is better than most movies, TV shows or whatever
  54. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    i just beat this game for the fifth time in the past years since it came out, and i have to say, it still holds up and even beats some games out graphically. Game play did indeed change between series to fit a more casual audience, but it was for the better, as it made the game into a more fluid experience during those big set pieces. There's a ton of stuff aimed at fans that they willi just beat this game for the fifth time in the past years since it came out, and i have to say, it still holds up and even beats some games out graphically. Game play did indeed change between series to fit a more casual audience, but it was for the better, as it made the game into a more fluid experience during those big set pieces. There's a ton of stuff aimed at fans that they will understand FAR more to players who just pick it up because of the Hype factor. GOTYAY Expand
  55. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)Sem duvidas um dos melhores jogos que já joguei até hoje,um marco na história dos games,no começo até achava que o MGS3 era melhor,mais com o passar do jogo ele me surpreendeu muito e superou o MGS3,incrível,muito triste o jogo,muitos momentos emocionantes,magnífico,o melhor da franquia e um dos(Translate from Portuguese into English)Sem duvidas um dos melhores jogos que já joguei até hoje,um marco na história dos games,no começo até achava que o MGS3 era melhor,mais com o passar do jogo ele me surpreendeu muito e superou o MGS3,incrível,muito triste o jogo,muitos momentos emocionantes,magnífico,o melhor da franquia e um dos melhores jogos de todos os tempos. Expand
  56. KeithLamprecht
    May 28, 2008
    10
    Truly as good a story teller as any movie! This story has been developed over 20 years to provide the finale to one of the greatest video game series of all time. In Snake's final chapter we learn about the Patriots and Liquid's last stand. Relevant to foreign policy today, PMCs and global uprisings create a history that one can truly get enveloped in. On the PS3, a systemTruly as good a story teller as any movie! This story has been developed over 20 years to provide the finale to one of the greatest video game series of all time. In Snake's final chapter we learn about the Patriots and Liquid's last stand. Relevant to foreign policy today, PMCs and global uprisings create a history that one can truly get enveloped in. On the PS3, a system that can provide such great graphics, sound, and realism, this game will blur the line between games and art. Expand
  57. ChrisLou
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    In short, Metal Gear Solid 4's gameplay takes the best of the previous MGS games while mixing elements from Resident Evil 4.

    The story does a spectacular job concluding Old Snake's journey that will please fans over and over.

    This game is truly one of the greatest and most memorable games to date.
  58. MarcBaicu
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    This game is one of the best ever made. I just wish that the last review (80) would just be deleted or something, because the reviewer obviously has no idea what he is talking about. We should start up a petition to remove the last review, its messing up the average!
  59. ZackM.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    I love t. It is definetely my best game of all time. It even beats COD4! Graphics better than anything before it!
  60. JC
    May 28, 2008
    10
    Game of the decade! No question about it!
  61. JohnB.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    I've played it for a couple of hours, and its amazing!
  62. AnttiA.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Absolutely the best game you can have for PS3. Now go get it if you don't already have it. About 60% is game play and rest is video and codec talk. No too long sessions but they might get way if you aren't interested in the story. MGS4 has story unlike no other. It's long, it's got lots of tight twists and it's well written. I am pretty sure that even a person who Absolutely the best game you can have for PS3. Now go get it if you don't already have it. About 60% is game play and rest is video and codec talk. No too long sessions but they might get way if you aren't interested in the story. MGS4 has story unlike no other. It's long, it's got lots of tight twists and it's well written. I am pretty sure that even a person who doesn't have previous experience of the MG/MGS games gets a grip of the plot. Not too much is placed for plot thought. Graphics just blow away GTA4 for example with all the small things it has. I'd recommend playing this on a HDTV with HDMI and all the necessary HDMI adjustments done from PS3 settings. Expand
  63. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    this is easily the best MGS game in the series . the amount of guns is mind blowing , more freedom in the game to go where you want , the new octocam is sick , the story is entertaing , and you finnaly get to drive a metal gear ... hell yeah. they also made Raiden not seem like a whiny **** any more he actaully seemed cool in this game . the voice acting is top notch as usaul . thethis is easily the best MGS game in the series . the amount of guns is mind blowing , more freedom in the game to go where you want , the new octocam is sick , the story is entertaing , and you finnaly get to drive a metal gear ... hell yeah. they also made Raiden not seem like a whiny **** any more he actaully seemed cool in this game . the voice acting is top notch as usaul . the graphics are just amazing . the boss fights are alot of fun . every thing feels answered in this one . i finished this game happy that i know the whole story now . if you never played a MGS game then rent this first if you didnt like them before dont bother pickin this up. MGS fans apply only. Expand
  64. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    I do respect the points of view of the users who have given this game a bad review as what most of them say its true, it does have some of the longest cinematics i have seen in a game , but to me , this is not a flaw, because you really need to see these to fully understand what Master kojima wanted to you to feel about the story, yes they are long, but they add so much to the overallI do respect the points of view of the users who have given this game a bad review as what most of them say its true, it does have some of the longest cinematics i have seen in a game , but to me , this is not a flaw, because you really need to see these to fully understand what Master kojima wanted to you to feel about the story, yes they are long, but they add so much to the overall feeling of the game ..... The final mission of my favorite character (hence my nickname) , the legendary soldier , now an old man , ready to tackle the impossible just one last time before he can rest in peace, you can see him struggling , His unbreakable will and his skill are his only advantage against a legion of enhanced soldiers much younger than him ....... if you are a fan of the series , this game is an absoulte masterpiece , this game alone is worth the 500 dlls i paid for my ps3 when it was launched ...... The graphics, the soundtrack (In the final battle , i was losing but when i started to hear Snake Eater i made a comeback and bamm!!!!), the controls , the variety of ways you can complete this game is amazing...... Feel like sneaking in ? do it .... Feel like going guns blazing? .... go ahead..... this game has raised the bar in some many ways that it has become the best game of the past 10 years. The only game that i have ever played that made such a huge impact in me was The Legend Of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. This game was launched on 1998 , i never tought that i would see a game that could top this ...... yeah , there have been great games these past years , Uncharted 2, Gears of war, COD4, Metroid Prime , Mario Galaxy , Mass Effect 1 and 2 , God of War 3 , The Elder Scrolls 4 Oblivion....i have played and finished all of these awesome games , but none could come close to Ocarina of Time.....until i played Metal Gear Solid 4 .....Thank you Master Kojima ....i am a 27 year old man , parent and husband ......but you Sir made a game that made me remember why i loved this Hobby so much back when i was 10 years old. Expand
  65. OtekaOmaru
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    Haha! Those euro sites look like right arseholes right about now, don't they? Everyone gives the game 95 and up while they just sit there with their 80s. Need I remind everyone, that both Egde and Eurogamer, gave Halo 3 a shining 100. That says it all.
  66. DavidSchmidt
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    This game did the impossible and surpassed the hype that it had built up behind it. It wrapped up every loose plot point of the previous game while giving you an emotional experience that no game has yet achieved. It's not the kind of game for people who need to headshot something every couple minutes, but if you want a story full of believable and sympathetic characters and actionThis game did the impossible and surpassed the hype that it had built up behind it. It wrapped up every loose plot point of the previous game while giving you an emotional experience that no game has yet achieved. It's not the kind of game for people who need to headshot something every couple minutes, but if you want a story full of believable and sympathetic characters and action sequences that rival most Hollywood movies then you need to play this game. When I had finished this game all I immediately called up my friends to talk about how incredible this game was. This game is truly a single player masterpiece and if you haven't played it yet do yourself a favor and go buy/rent it. Expand
  67. MikeWinter
    Jun 15, 2008
    10
    I've been playing video games for, about, 25 years (got an intellivision around 1983), and this is, simply, the best game I have ever played. I am a huge Metal Gear fan, and being so does enhance the experience of playing this game, but even if you have no, prior experience playing this series, I think It can still be a very rewarding and unique experience.
  68. KamilNie?
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    MGS4 is very good game, if game is so great as others MGS games it must be great. Fuck hamurgers that can't see nothing out of Gears of War or other games with so inteligent history. Now I understand why other side of earth say that americans are the most dumb country in the world!
  69. LarryGrauss
    Dec 26, 2008
    10
    This game just blew my tiny little mind to pieces. The graphics are undoubtedly the best ever made. I do not exagerate at all. MGS4 is the only game to take up the whole 50G of the Blu-Ray, and that's after extensive data compression. This game was one of the reasons I returned my XBOX 360 and got a PS3 (thank God I still had the receipt!)
    And what is it with hating the cutscenes?
    This game just blew my tiny little mind to pieces. The graphics are undoubtedly the best ever made. I do not exagerate at all. MGS4 is the only game to take up the whole 50G of the Blu-Ray, and that's after extensive data compression. This game was one of the reasons I returned my XBOX 360 and got a PS3 (thank God I still had the receipt!)
    And what is it with hating the cutscenes?
    The cutscenes are jaw-droppingly amazing and quite enticing. And the story is complex, but it is also the best of any game so far.
    10/10.
    Expand
  70. AJHill
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    Overall best game I have ever played. Amazing story. Amazing Graphics. Funny. Serious. Sad. Corny. Unbelievably intelligent. Incredible replay value. Beautiful soundtrack. Great implementation of Sixaxis controls.

    There's absolutely no reason to give this game anything below a 10.
    The first game that I have ever decided to keep forever.
    Absolutely amazing.
  71. MartinAndy
    May 30, 2008
    10
    Epic from start to finish. I received an early copy of the game, and for a MGS4 it is nothing short of pure brilliance. You will NOT be disappointed. If you have been a fan of the series, this is utter perfection. Enjoy on June 12th.
  72. DanielDunn
    May 22, 2008
    10
    I have yet to play it but since 140 other people who have yet played it can score it I will to, The first 3 (not including the 2 original) were great games with great story's, so I cant wait for MGS4, I also game it a 10 to help balance out all the BS reviews from PS3 Haters and Xbots.
  73. AlexAguilera
    May 31, 2008
    10
    I loved this game from start to finish and a great way to end the story of snake. I wish I could play as Snake when he was younger, but everything else in th game makes up for it. It's the whole package: Graphics, Gameplay, Presentation, Tilt, and Replay Value. Three words :Buy This Game! You will not be unsatisfied.
  74. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    I feel like Hideo Kojima's message isn't just designated towards the Metal Gear franchise, but at the gaming industry itself. In the sea of garbage video games that are released today, Metal Gear Solid 4 is the hidden gem and the final swan song of the once stellar business.
  75. AtratusS.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    I had high expectations for this game having been a long time fan of the series. Hideo Kojima's latest iteration of the series exceeded my expectations in every regard. If you own a PS3 this is a must buy. If you don't own a ps3 but are serious about games, consider taking the plunge. MGS4 is one of the greatest games of all time. Make sure you've got some free time set I had high expectations for this game having been a long time fan of the series. Hideo Kojima's latest iteration of the series exceeded my expectations in every regard. If you own a PS3 this is a must buy. If you don't own a ps3 but are serious about games, consider taking the plunge. MGS4 is one of the greatest games of all time. Make sure you've got some free time set aside because you're not going to want to stop playing until you reach the end. Expand
  76. MiguelM.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    A game like this comes only every so often, a remarkable culmination to a remarkable series.
  77. DustinU
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    Wow, seems to me like our friends from across the pond (in the UK) don't seem to like Kojima's latest masterpiece.

    Fine and good. I will at least maintain some respect for those who didn't like it because it was their first time playing an MGS game, however much they were warned that they wouldn't know what was going on unless ALL 3 previous games had been played to
    Wow, seems to me like our friends from across the pond (in the UK) don't seem to like Kojima's latest masterpiece.

    Fine and good. I will at least maintain some respect for those who didn't like it because it was their first time playing an MGS game, however much they were warned that they wouldn't know what was going on unless ALL 3 previous games had been played to completion beforehand. But to the others that are just bitching and moaning about how slow it is, if you don't like it, go back to playing Halo.

    THIS GAME WAS MADE FOR THE FANS!!!!!!! There, I wrote it in big letters so the half-brained members of society can read it and hopefully (yet in futility) try to understand what that means. If you loved MGS1 but found your interest start to fade in MGS2 and 3, you WILL NOT LIKE MGS4, so do all of us a favor and remove yourself from the ranks of those who play it, because you simply don't deserve to.

    And before I go, I feel the need to ask Bob R. to kindly remove himself with extreme prejudice from the human gene pool....this man's sole complaint was "You can't even molest Sunny, game was a let down.".....
    ......
    ......
    ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME?!?!?! That's not even the least bit funny you total failure of a human being.
    Expand
  78. DradleyD.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    An extremely impressive swansong to a peerless and pioneering series that never fails to amaze.
  79. MansourG.
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    This is easily the best game you will play ever itthe PS3 system, and if you are a fan of the series this game will rock you,, its kojima at his best, the story finaly ends here, you will be shocked by who are the patriots, and who knew about them!
  80. StevenOnraedt
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    There is no game in the past present or near future capable of removing this game of its pedestale.. Epic scenes,innovative gameplay and a story to sank your teeth in,this game has it all... It is with a great divided sense of grief and joy i say goodbye to Snake,but he' was,is and will always be the single greatest achievement and character gaming brought forth.. Truly incredible...
  81. JohnN
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Simply amazing , couldn't put the game day! Everything was above my expectations, story, graphics, game play. MGS4 was the perfect end to a 20 year saga. I feel most game companies are worried about their profit more than creating a place in gaming history. I have wasted my time with way too many games, but Mr. Kojima has created such a masterpiece.
  82. Chris
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    MGS4 is fantastic...unbelievable. It's truly unlike any other gaming experience ever in terms of immersion. It's true that there are long cut scenes but you can skip them if you like. The game literally re-invents itself at every turn. I did not buy my PS3 for MGS4 and I'm not a fanboy so this review is not biased, it really is an amazing game. I can see how reviewers mightMGS4 is fantastic...unbelievable. It's truly unlike any other gaming experience ever in terms of immersion. It's true that there are long cut scenes but you can skip them if you like. The game literally re-invents itself at every turn. I did not buy my PS3 for MGS4 and I'm not a fanboy so this review is not biased, it really is an amazing game. I can see how reviewers might not understand some aspects of the game. Like for example I was playing it with my friend who's into games like Call of Duty and he thought it was stupid that there were robots and playboys and other unrealistic or silly elements... but all the Metal Gear's before this one were the same in terms of 'believability', so if that leaves a bad taste in your mouth after playing it then I guess you can't like Resistance or Halo or any other game like that either. Expand
  83. jakerake
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    wow wow i just want to say who are the patriots and wow who ever thought eva was snaks mum that is weird but this game is so awsome it reminds me of army of two but wy better for any mgs fans this is like the cherry on the cake or pie if u prefer
  84. kyuudmc
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    HAY READERS!!! just ignore all those idiots who rated the game so badly! this game is definitely one of the verrrrry best video games the history has ever known! just take a look at the 100s above! if you ask 4 my opinion .. I'd say it's probably (THEE) best game! ..... you'll definitely like it. even if you're an ANTI-MGS guy you wont give it less than an (8) unlessHAY READERS!!! just ignore all those idiots who rated the game so badly! this game is definitely one of the verrrrry best video games the history has ever known! just take a look at the 100s above! if you ask 4 my opinion .. I'd say it's probably (THEE) best game! ..... you'll definitely like it. even if you're an ANTI-MGS guy you wont give it less than an (8) unless you're one stubborn idiot that is (respectively ^^) anyway whether you like what's written here or not . the game is a MUST-HAVE for every gamer .... NO, even for non-gamers XD Expand
  85. Drogo
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    This game moved me like no other game could. I kept my attention 100% threw the whole game and I could not of asked for anything better than this. A Instant classic. Don't believe the haters on this game I believe they are all XBOX fan boy :P j/p :D
  86. KyleMorgan
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    I know some people complain of long cutscenes, but you have to understand: this game franchise is older than many of you. Don't complain about ridiculous cutscenes because you don't understand the characters and the plot. Anyway, the shooting mechanics are new and refreshing for the MG series. I love the emphasis on teamwork in MGO and the catapults. For those of you whoI know some people complain of long cutscenes, but you have to understand: this game franchise is older than many of you. Don't complain about ridiculous cutscenes because you don't understand the characters and the plot. Anyway, the shooting mechanics are new and refreshing for the MG series. I love the emphasis on teamwork in MGO and the catapults. For those of you who didn't play the original MGO you don't understand how lucky you are. In the old MGO people just camped on top of buildings and waited to shoot those coming up ladders. You now have the luxury of a catapult. Expand
  87. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    I just bought MGS4 on 3/4/2010 I've always own both a Xbox 360 and a Ps3 and have been playing action games since doom 95. I can honestly say that MGS4 is the best game in existence. Regardless of MGS4 being a few years old, I would still recommend this game to anyone who hasn't played it yet... When I first put the game in I said to myself "WOW, what a fkn Splinter Cell rip off!!!" ButI just bought MGS4 on 3/4/2010 I've always own both a Xbox 360 and a Ps3 and have been playing action games since doom 95. I can honestly say that MGS4 is the best game in existence. Regardless of MGS4 being a few years old, I would still recommend this game to anyone who hasn't played it yet... When I first put the game in I said to myself "WOW, what a fkn Splinter Cell rip off!!!" But within the hour I honestly couldn't put the controller down. MGS4's original and has an amazing story that most games lack now a days. Simply a masterpiece. Expand
  88. Dec 16, 2010
    10
    Truly one of the best Metal Gear Solid games of all time, I recommend you play this if you're a true hardcore fan of the series.
  89. May 5, 2011
    10
    This is a fun game for the PS3 its story was great and it kept me playing the game till the end GREAT GAME! its a game ALL PS3 owners must have and play till the finish.
  90. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is no doubt the greatest single player experience ever to grace a console. The multiplayer is also pretty good, but I'll get to that later. Casual gamers may be turned off by the heavy reliance on strategy, especially for a shooter, but just because you aren't noob tubing across the map doesn't mean it's anything shy of an amazing game. Hideo Kojima delivered a complete package, with stellar graphics that, even 3 years old, beat anything on the market today. The character models are so real you'll swear it was filmed. The environments aren't original, but look spectacular. Now, as many gripe, the game does have plenty of cutscene. HOWEVER, a mere push of the start button brings up an option to skip a cutscene, and letting you get right back into the action. Gameplay revolves around either trying to be stealthy and remain undetected, or going out guns blazing and over powering the enemy. Each course of action has its own consequences - and get this - in the GAMEPLAY, not in the cutscenes (which remain constant on every play through) as with RPGs. With 69 weapons in your arsenal (plus 1 secret weapon), the options are incredible. You can set a C4 on a guard, and let him walk into a group, then blow them all up at once, for example. You could avoid detection by a chopper, or load up a stinger, then dive into the nearest dumpster. The sheer amount of possibilities for every obstacle brings this game to an unprecedented scale. Now the cutscenes are long, and frequent, but they are interesting and engaging. Anyone with an IQ higher than 80 (on a typical 50-150 scale) will be hooked, and absolutely engaged by the clever plot twists, background plots, real world references, series references, breaking of the 4th wall, and that scary sensation that Kojima has delivered (since the original MGS) that the (at least political) events of the game COULD ACTUALLY HAPPEN and may be happening as we speak (watch the infamous MGS2 "patriots" cutscene, and you'll always see the world in a new light). Even the casual, passive gamer won't help but be able to watch in awe at the more epic points of the story. The multiplayer is built on great mechanics, but the menus aren't user friendly, it takes a while to load, it taxes your internet connection, the expansions are far too costly, and it has become less and less active over time. Keep in mind Kojima did not plan on making Metal Gear Online, and it really is just a bonus to the amazing single player game. Kojima planned on delivering an unforgettable experience to his faithful followers, and he did just that. Many believe that MGS4 may have saved the PS3. That could very well be the case, and if so, it was more than successful. After all, "Just like your father... you're pretty good!" Expand
  91. May 28, 2012
    10
    To rate this piece of virtual art any less than a 9 is a crime (and I would only rate it that low if I wasn't familiar with the series). I had high expectations for the final chapter of Solid Snake, and not only did the game fulfill, it completely blew me away. Due to Metacritics wall-o-text, I'll have to use brackets to make it easier to read. [Graphics: Beyond 10, the amount ofTo rate this piece of virtual art any less than a 9 is a crime (and I would only rate it that low if I wasn't familiar with the series). I had high expectations for the final chapter of Solid Snake, and not only did the game fulfill, it completely blew me away. Due to Metacritics wall-o-text, I'll have to use brackets to make it easier to read. [Graphics: Beyond 10, the amount of detail on faces, the environment, and combat on a console game is mesmerizing. Watch the ripples of wind from a helicopter hit Snake's hair and clothes.] [Sound: 10, The guns are loud and echo in the distance. Metal Gear Gekkos, however, sound strangely like cows.] [Music: 10. Nothing less of orchestra and mixes of old and new electronica to give MGS4 a truly epic feel.] [Voiceovers: 9, worthy of a summer blockbuster movie, although I'm getting tired of Snake's overly scratchy, guttural voice.] [Gameplay: 9, the same sneak and disable (or kill) mechanics of the past Metal Gears are here, and are better than ever. Your advanced sneaking suit can camoflage to any surface, giving you a new level of stealth. A new feature includes holding an enemy hostage and firing over their shoulder. There is also a VERY wide array of weapons at your disposal, each coming with a detail description of their histories and capabilities, as well as upgrades. Another new option is switching between over-the-shoulder and FPS view for your firearms, which can be clunky or smooth depending on your settings. There's a slight learning curve for these new mechanics, especially if you're new to the series, but once you get used to it, the game is an absolute blast to play.] [Plot: 10, more interactive movie than a traditional game. MGS4's story is a bit convoluted, but becomes clearer as it moves along. It's themes of war, change and freedom is going to inspire a lot of philosophical discussion. Ultimately, once you discover Solid Snake's ultimate fate, you'll realize the overall direction of the story is more tragic than it is triumphant. Of course, for those who are impatient or have OCD, you can simply skip the cutscenes.] [Replay Value: 9. Four years after buying this game, I am still playing it with joyful glee.] Conclusion: MGS4 has showed how far video games have come as an art form, and will forever stand as one of the pinnacles of gaming. Expand
  92. DanM.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Haven't got it yet, but have seen a leaked sending video, it will blow your mind with the ending alone, such a greart way to warp things up, I expect the rest of the game to be very playable just like the previous ones, but it deserves a 10 just for that end sequence in my eyes. Kojima please make a sequel to Snatcher now!
  93. mikeso
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    Most complete game created on a next gen system. Amazing gameplay and story this game will not disappoint.
  94. ColinM.
    Jan 30, 2009
    10
    ***FOR ANYONE WHO WANTS TO BUY MGS4, READ THIS*** First of all, I can easily say that MGS4 is hands-down the best game I have ever played. Why? That's what I'm about to explain. First, obviously the graphics. MGS4 is the second-best looking game (second to Crysis) and has the best Character Animation so far. Yet an overwhelming majority of readers and editors across many sites ***FOR ANYONE WHO WANTS TO BUY MGS4, READ THIS*** First of all, I can easily say that MGS4 is hands-down the best game I have ever played. Why? That's what I'm about to explain. First, obviously the graphics. MGS4 is the second-best looking game (second to Crysis) and has the best Character Animation so far. Yet an overwhelming majority of readers and editors across many sites give MGS4 the Best Graphics of 2008. Thats because of the way the game blends graphics with drama and story-telling. Its one thing to have mind-blowing graphics like Crysis, but its another thing to actually use that to amazingly enhance the game. Just watch the Raiden-Vamp fight (http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=R61cCBUWNQM&fmt=1 and you'll know what I'm talking about. Secondly, the Story. Now this is where newcomers get turned off. True, the story can get sometimes convulted (*cough* MGS2 *cough*) but the story and the way its presented with all of its twists and revelations, that makes your stomach flip 10 times over and takes your gut through an unrelenting roller-coaster of emotions is more superior than the likes of Half-Life, Halo, Fallout, etc. Its very sad that newcomers will not understand what I'm talking about. Why? It all has to do with the previous games. One of the greatest mysteries in the life of everyone who played MGS2 and MGS3 is "Who are the Patriots". We spent 7 years pondering that. 7 years! And now in MGS4 we get the shocking revelation that flipped our worlds upside down. Every single loose end of the series has been tied up. Spectacular. And the way the emotianal mood affects you during the end of the game is enough to make you cry. Thirdly, the Gameplay. OMG! This game is so professionaly designed! I mean, look at fallout 3. Those controls are unresponsive, broken, and the HUD sucks! But then look at MGS4. The HUD is beautiful, and the controls are extremely responsive. And the inovation in Game content is amazing! The Boss Battles are the best of 2008 and are so well-designed. The REX Vs. RAY battle is so astounding! Lastly, the epicness of this game. Of all the games you will play this year, you will remember this one the most. Even if you are a newcomer, and you play through the whole thing, you will be left speechless. VERY IMPORTANT! Even though this game is a masterpiece, not many will be able to appreciate it. These are the types of people who will not enjoy MGS4: -You hate cutscenes. No matter what game ur playing, you skip the cutscenes. -You are, how should I say, not so smart and cannot understand complicated conspiracies -All you like to do is blow sh*t up. Nothing Else. If you are not one of the above. Go out and buy the game. If you are a newcomer, play the previous games or go on wikipedia and search up the previous stories. Seriously. GET THIS GAME. Expand
  95. FunkyUncle
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    This game is utterly mindblowing along with the rest of the games in the series (especially MGS3). The graphics and presentation are the best I've seen in years. The audio work is also very good. Although the plot could be a bit more polished, the gameplay is superb. The variety of weapons and gadgets you can equip is huge. Games like this don't come by very often. I would This game is utterly mindblowing along with the rest of the games in the series (especially MGS3). The graphics and presentation are the best I've seen in years. The audio work is also very good. Although the plot could be a bit more polished, the gameplay is superb. The variety of weapons and gadgets you can equip is huge. Games like this don't come by very often. I would recommend this to everybody who owns a PS3. For those who gave this less the 8, you obviously don't know how to play Metal Gear Solid 4 Guns of The Patriots. Expand
  96. MazS
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing! It's just incredible the storyline is fantastic soo in depth you can definitely tell that they have put ALOT of effort into this game each subject has it's history each little detail has it's story. Find me another game like this and i'd buy it straight away.
  97. RyanRafferty
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    MGS4 is a necessity in every mans life. The greatest game I have ever played. Hideo is a legend. This game WILL move you. I promise. Story is brilliant. Word of warning! Make sure you have a box of Kleenex tissues next to you because your eyes will start to rain. It's that good.
  98. jamiec.
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    Anyone who has given this game below 8 is nit picking and for thoese giving ti scores of 1 and 2, just ignore them, this game is what a game should be like, an absorbing story with brilliant graphics and the ability to play the game how you choose, this game deserves more than a 94, its far better that gta5, this is the best game of the current generation, and one of the best games ever Anyone who has given this game below 8 is nit picking and for thoese giving ti scores of 1 and 2, just ignore them, this game is what a game should be like, an absorbing story with brilliant graphics and the ability to play the game how you choose, this game deserves more than a 94, its far better that gta5, this is the best game of the current generation, and one of the best games ever made, it is a work of art, and beautiful work of art! it deserves more than 10, for thoes who say there is hardly any game play, they are lying, there are so many small things you can find and do hidden in each level and will take weeks to uncover them all, the cut scenes and voice acting are mind blowingly well done and all using the ingame engine. Dont let anyone say this game is awful, thats blasphamy. Expand
  99. TomG
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    This is the greatest game ever made, anyone that thinks otherwise is nothing but a simple X360 fanboy, as i know for a fact that if this game came to the 360 they would buy it and praise it as i do.
    Everything is perfect, gameplay, story, graphics. It doesn't get any better than this.
  100. Nov 25, 2010
    9
    Just remembering about MGS4 brings a smile to my face. I avoid playing a game more than once (after I finished), but, with MGS4, I just can´t help it, it is so pretty and so fun that I keep coming back for more, like a crack cocaine addict...
    If you own a PS3, YOU MUST BUY AND PLAY THIS GAME.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Guns of the Patriots is almost intimidating in the consistent quality of its ideas, invention, and execution...Even by the series' stratospheric standards, MGS4 is a remarkable high point. [June 2008]
  2. 99
    If you've ever loved any one of the Metal Gear games, or any moments from the series, there will come a moment when MGS 4 will send your spirits soaring. If you've loved them all, well then there'll be many, many more. It’s a masterpiece.
  3. Guns of the Patriots is a frustrating, fractured game that turns Metal Gear Solid's world upside down several times over, but never changes it.