User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3502 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CecilK.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    Okay, so it appears to me that more than half of the Users negatively reviewing this game are Halo-obsessed fanboys, who obviously can't understand and/or comprehend the absolutely amazing story this game has. I've played all of the MGS's (excluding Acid,) so I know what's going on and why. I suppose I can see somebody being completely confused just because they never Okay, so it appears to me that more than half of the Users negatively reviewing this game are Halo-obsessed fanboys, who obviously can't understand and/or comprehend the absolutely amazing story this game has. I've played all of the MGS's (excluding Acid,) so I know what's going on and why. I suppose I can see somebody being completely confused just because they never played 1, 2 or 3, but there's a reason that this is the fourth in the series. I mean, come on people. If you're used to games with incredibly expansive story-lines, then you'll probably be fine. If you're not used to the concept of "story" in a video game, (Yeah, I'm talking to you, Halo-fans) then either rent the first three so you can understand the story and become immersed in this wonderful game, or piss off. I mean, don't just rate it down because you can't go around head-shotting aliens for the entire game. Putting all of that aside, I have simply 3 problems with this game. 1) Meryl is too buff. Seriously, it's creepy for a girl to be that muscular. 2) Snake needs to stop getting it on with the ground. The slow-crawl looks way too...odd. 3) Beginning-game is way too slow paced. That being said, I bid you all farewell. Expand
  2. JorgeP.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    Undoubtedly the best Metal Gear ever, the best game and story ending ever made. Kojima's Masterpiece!!!!
  3. Nate
    Jul 4, 2008
    10
    Being someone who only played any of the other games for brief amounts of time. I had a pretty good idea of what was going on, this game is still pretty damn near perfect for what it is trying to do. It's the most cinematic and engaging games in a long time. I rated it a 10 because of that reasons. There may be quibbles but any of which are easily forgotten and overlooked. If pure Being someone who only played any of the other games for brief amounts of time. I had a pretty good idea of what was going on, this game is still pretty damn near perfect for what it is trying to do. It's the most cinematic and engaging games in a long time. I rated it a 10 because of that reasons. There may be quibbles but any of which are easily forgotten and overlooked. If pure action is your thing, you may or may not like the game. The action is fast and precise when it needs to be or slow and calculating if you so choose. Play it with an open mind or don't play at all, but don't knock it for going out with a bang. Expand
  4. PeterD.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    It is fair to say that MGS4 is one of the best games of all time. My only complain is that you need to have some background knowledge of the Metal Gear Saga to fully appreciate the story. But all-in-al dont miss out on this one.
  5. AnonymousMC
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    Dave N:" There's WAAAYYY too many cutscenes!"
    I disagree. I liked the quantity and quality of the cutscenes.
    Dave N: "The gameplay itself is boring!" I disagree. I found the gameplay great. Dave N: "The original games were infinitely better, because they had sensible cutscene lengths" I disagree. I remember the other games having 30+ minutes cutscenes too. Moral of the
    Dave N:" There's WAAAYYY too many cutscenes!"
    I disagree. I liked the quantity and quality of the cutscenes.

    Dave N: "The gameplay itself is boring!"
    I disagree. I found the gameplay great.

    Dave N: "The original games were infinitely better, because they had sensible cutscene lengths"
    I disagree. I remember the other games having 30+ minutes cutscenes too.

    Moral of the story: Hideo Kojima wanted to blur the lines between games and movies. Did he succeed? According to both negative and positive reviews, he sure as hell did. The problem lies in the assumption that a game should only have a story to complement the gameplay, but why can't it be the other way around? When people say "If I wanted to see a movie, I would've done so", I start wondering why they didn't. This is a game centered around the story and the cutscenes, it's your own fault expecting otherwise. You don't watch a Disney movie and complain about the lack of tits and decapitations, likewise, you don't play a MGS game and complain about the amount of cutscenes.
    Expand
  6. DavidA
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    This game is absolutely amazing. If you own a PS3, then you need to have this game in your library. Fans of the series are the ones who will find the most to love about this game. But even if you are a newcomer to the series this game will get you hooked into the Metal Gear mythos.
  7. AnonymousMC
    Jun 3, 2009
    9
    really, people who gave this a low score are either xbox fanboys or have real bad taste in games. yes this game has some faults but when i finished the game for the first time i had to take time out to catch up with what i had just played. i read a review on here from someone giving it a 3 and saying how bad it was only to say that he passed it for the 3rd time b4 giving it away. wow.really, people who gave this a low score are either xbox fanboys or have real bad taste in games. yes this game has some faults but when i finished the game for the first time i had to take time out to catch up with what i had just played. i read a review on here from someone giving it a 3 and saying how bad it was only to say that he passed it for the 3rd time b4 giving it away. wow. really its so bad that u have to play it 3 times? cmon. Expand
  8. Ahseb
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    This game is so freakin' awesome. I'm so glad I bought it, I'll never, NEVER, give it away. Every time I play it I'm astounded by the graphics, which won this game more Graphical Awards than any other game for quite some time, the story is so in-depth and beautiful, I don't care about the long cutscenes. I'm too busy trying to keep my jaw off the floor This game is so freakin' awesome. I'm so glad I bought it, I'll never, NEVER, give it away. Every time I play it I'm astounded by the graphics, which won this game more Graphical Awards than any other game for quite some time, the story is so in-depth and beautiful, I don't care about the long cutscenes. I'm too busy trying to keep my jaw off the floor because I'm so impressed. The gameplay and controls are the most tighest I have ever witnessed in a game, I swear. And I'm not the only won who thinks so. MGS4 is the best-selling game for the PS3, with over 4.75 million sold. That's more than GTA4 and COD4 (for the PS3). It's also won more GOTY awards than any other game in 2008. Just look at what the critics had to say about it: IGN: "Is it possible to give a game an 11? If so, this is the game that would merit that score" Gamespot: "MGS4 is the most technically stunning video game ever made" Gamepro: "The Playstation 3 finally gets its "savior", Kojima gets his masterpiece, and gamers get one of the best games of all time. " Anyone who gives this game lower than an 8 is obviously retarded. The above explains why. LONG LIVE HIDEO KOJIMA! Expand
  9. JalexD.
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    It sounds cliche, but for nearly four months, I have thought of this game as THE greatest game ever. All the amazing things one can do in the game as well as all the amazing cinematics make this a truly incredible game. It innovates even more than previous 'Metal Gear' titles and polishes every single game mechanic to an absolute shine. It's great drama. It's great It sounds cliche, but for nearly four months, I have thought of this game as THE greatest game ever. All the amazing things one can do in the game as well as all the amazing cinematics make this a truly incredible game. It innovates even more than previous 'Metal Gear' titles and polishes every single game mechanic to an absolute shine. It's great drama. It's great fun. It's great immersion. Expand
  10. MGSforever
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    The graphics will blow you away. The stroy will blow you away. Everything will blow you away. The gameplay is extremely innovative. One level you're blowing up a bunch of baddies in the middle east, next you're traking down a scientist using only your wits, then one level you get to actually CONTROL a metal gear. I swear that particular level was THE funnest level out of any The graphics will blow you away. The stroy will blow you away. Everything will blow you away. The gameplay is extremely innovative. One level you're blowing up a bunch of baddies in the middle east, next you're traking down a scientist using only your wits, then one level you get to actually CONTROL a metal gear. I swear that particular level was THE funnest level out of any game I have played. Kudos to you Hideo Kojima. You have done it again. Expand
  11. AustinH.
    Oct 3, 2008
    10
    What can I say? MGS4 is, in the simplest terms, a masterpiece. The story-telling is simply phenomenal, the story itself and character design is a work of art, the graphics set the new standard in consoles, the sound effects and voice acting are breathtaking, and the end result is THE game of our generation. Of course, the game will have its fair-share of "haters", but as you can tell by What can I say? MGS4 is, in the simplest terms, a masterpiece. The story-telling is simply phenomenal, the story itself and character design is a work of art, the graphics set the new standard in consoles, the sound effects and voice acting are breathtaking, and the end result is THE game of our generation. Of course, the game will have its fair-share of "haters", but as you can tell by the universal acclaim, it's an astonishing step-forward in gaming. Expand
  12. RichardR.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    I have been waiting for this game for 4 years, and it has met and exceeded my wildest expectations. Arigato Kojima-san.
  13. BobM.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    It's the small things that count, right? MGS4 definitely excells in this and all other areas. From the animations to the way Snake acts, everything is perfection.
  14. TimNA
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Metal gear solid so far for me has greatly exceeded my expectations, and the reviews for it thus far on here have truly been piss poor the sheer quality of this game. Edge is obviously a sell-out magazine now after giving GTA4 100% despite the OBVIOUS Fps issues in the game, yet gave MGS 80, GTA learned from hindsight aswell. The graphics, voice-acting, story and game play completely Metal gear solid so far for me has greatly exceeded my expectations, and the reviews for it thus far on here have truly been piss poor the sheer quality of this game. Edge is obviously a sell-out magazine now after giving GTA4 100% despite the OBVIOUS Fps issues in the game, yet gave MGS 80, GTA learned from hindsight aswell. The graphics, voice-acting, story and game play completely immersed me in playing, one game that has actually been able to grab me and force me to play on and on, I can't tear myself away, Immersion is a rarity in games these days. MGS even has comedy in the game to boot, As usual Fruity Koj has added some things in the game that will make you jump up and go "Holy crap i get that". Best game I've played in years, probably the best purchase I've done in my life. Expand
  15. LeonF.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Since everyone reviews it already b4 its out. I'll give it a 10.
  16. MikeG.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Simply Stunning, what more can I say.
  17. MikeM.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Simply incredible. This game is a masterpiece.
  18. KritU.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    The best game I have played in a long time. who cares if the cut scene is long when they are high quality ones. Who cares if there isn't as much shooting. Do your research "gamedaily" MGS series have never been in FPS gene. My bottom line is, who cares if this is the first and might be the only high quality exclusive PS3 offers so far. It's far beyond the 360's The best game I have played in a long time. who cares if the cut scene is long when they are high quality ones. Who cares if there isn't as much shooting. Do your research "gamedaily" MGS series have never been in FPS gene. My bottom line is, who cares if this is the first and might be the only high quality exclusive PS3 offers so far. It's far beyond the 360's exclusives' qualities combined. Then again, that's only my opinion. Expand
  19. SteveG.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    A stellar game for veterans of the series.
  20. FarooqA.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    So immense and "COMPLETE" ! I would've given it a 13/10 if there had been an option... no words to express this game, you just NEED to experience it first hand, for crying out loud!
  21. JimB.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    The game simply lives up to the hype. I am not a MGS fan from long ago, never played it until recently. This game appeals to all kinds of players, and styles. Graphically it pushes the PS3 to the limit. The storytelling is the best I have ever seen in a game. Finally, the online is simply fun with the automatching making things interesting. If you have a PS3 you must own this game.
  22. JasonS.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    I couldn't ask for a better game. Blew me a way!
  23. AnonymousMC
    Jun 13, 2008
    9
    Great game, not quite up to the hype but never was going to live up to it. The gunplay has been vastly improved by adopting the option to use a gears of war or call of duty perspective. The camera is now free to move like in portable ops which is much better and the octocamo is fantastic, so many options on how to play the game depending on your tastes. If you liked the other games in theGreat game, not quite up to the hype but never was going to live up to it. The gunplay has been vastly improved by adopting the option to use a gears of war or call of duty perspective. The camera is now free to move like in portable ops which is much better and the octocamo is fantastic, so many options on how to play the game depending on your tastes. If you liked the other games in the series then you will like this but if hated them then this wont change your mind. Only grumble is with the respawning enemies in certain areas and it could of done to be longer. Expand
  24. Chris
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Wow. What an experience. This game was not meant to be a shooter, the main complaint I've seen thus far. It was meant to be one of the greatest stories told in video game history. RPG's don't even reach this story mastery very often (except Mass Effect). The experience this affords can make you smile, laugh, and cry. Just pick it up and see for yourself.
  25. BryanJ.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Awesome new PS3 game! It defines the PS3 because it has such revolutionary graphics and gameplay and it couldn't be a better end to the snake series. Buy now!
  26. PedroS.
    Jun 13, 2008
    9
    An excellent finale for the series. Pretty much exactly what I expect from a new metal gear game.
  27. DanW.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    Who needs Hollywood? This game is absolutely stunning.
  28. MitchellD.
    Jun 15, 2008
    10
    One of the greatest games to be released, MGS4 is the pinnacle of video game storytelling and high-octane action. Absolutely brilliant, loads of fun, and heart-wrenching.
  29. JasonM.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Epic on all fronts, possibly the most enjoyment i have ever obtained from a game and that says a lot.. so much fan service and just utterly glorious gameplay... a must own for all gaming fans.
  30. AlexA
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Absolutely breathtaking. The greatest game ever created. Kojima has achieved something which other developers can only dream about. The BEST.
  31. Tonydannie
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    A Masterpiece! The gameplay is great and the action levels are very well designed. But what makes it even greater is how it wraps up the Metal Gear Solid saga! This is "The Godfather " of video game sagas!
  32. WillD.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    10/10 Fantastic. The sites / magazines that gave this game 8 are a discrace to media journalisim, they obviously didn't understand the game.
  33. MattR.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing. captivating cutscenes where the faces emote and fingers type even in in-game graphics engine. eat your heart out GTA 4.
  34. JosefB
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    One of the best games that I have played in a long while.
  35. AdamZ
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Finished it in 21hrs, the best game ever created full stop. even if u havnt played the other games or it isnt your thing still check it out, its worth it !!!!
  36. JohnnyF.
    Jun 17, 2008
    9
    The game was simply amazing. The story was great, along with fantastic gameplay. The only bad thing was that this was snakes last run. still the ending could only be describe with one word: badass!!!
  37. JohnT.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Any one that doesn't rate this game in the high 90s dosen't deserve to rate games. This game is unlike any thing to date. The detail, sound, and story is untouchable.
  38. MisterH.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Some reviewers have chosen to mark this game down for being designed to please MGS fans, instead of homogenizing the experience into a lowest common denominator shoot 'em-up, of which you can find dozens of on store shelves any day of the week. It's the last of its line, and there'll probably never be another game like this. Bless Kojima for making the game he wanted.
  39. JustinR.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    The best game I've played in years. It met every bit of the hype and left nothing wanting, except for it to keep going. I've already beat it twice and will go through a third time, absolutely amazing!
  40. KevinR
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    This is the greatest game ever made. From its rich and intricate storyline, to its immersive and varied gameplay, every detail is so well-crafted that the player is not left wanting in any area. Oh, and there's an awesome online mode that trumps just about anything else out there. I repeat, this is the greatest game ever made.
  41. RosemaryB.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Believe everything you've heard...well, except what you've heard from those four twats who gave it 80%.
  42. BenC
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    I haven't been in this much awe since i played Half Life 2 through for the first time (on PC). Absolute perfection, and finally a real reason for PS3 owners to shout out about their console. The gameplay is fantastic, with the best console FPS action i've seen, along with the customary stealth play. The choice is amazing, and the 'over indulgent' cutscenes should be I haven't been in this much awe since i played Half Life 2 through for the first time (on PC). Absolute perfection, and finally a real reason for PS3 owners to shout out about their console. The gameplay is fantastic, with the best console FPS action i've seen, along with the customary stealth play. The choice is amazing, and the 'over indulgent' cutscenes should be described as 'perfection incarnate'. It's obvious that some reviewers cannot appreciate true greatness when it is thrust upon them. Expand
  43. AldoM.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Spectacular, mindblowing and the end of the greatest story ever.
  44. CesarG.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing, it's soo epic and an excellent way to close off this legendary series. It deserves every 10/10 score it receives... Anyone who rates it 6 or lowers are obviously xbots that want to rate the game lower... it's pathetic really.
  45. PeterV
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    No game, no developer compares to MGS4 or Kojima.
  46. RodrigoR.
    Jun 21, 2008
    8
    Pros: great voice acting, nice action sequences, octocamo is just unbelievable, nice control scheme Cons: huge installation and load times between stages, too much cinemas hurt the pacing, the graphics are far from what was promised, enemies still walk like robots, cluttered story for first time players.
  47. JamesP.
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    Probably the best game I've ever played.
  48. ChristianG.
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    This game was simply amazing. A true masterpiece, gameplay was LOADS of fun , story line was so unbelievably amazing. Kojima put a lot of effort into it and it shows. Honest can say in the top 3 bets games ive ever played. A masterpiece
  49. Chris.P
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    The best game I have ever played in my lifetime. Hideo Kojima and Konami should be proud.
  50. PatrickM.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    Greatest game ever
  51. Nick
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    Absolutely epic. Cannot stress how fantastic this is. Yes it's more movie than game. But what there is to play is awesome. The cut-scenes look great, and really heighten the thrill when playing. At times I almost cried. Not forgetting you're getting the awesome online mode too. Think I shall be happy for a long long time with this.
  52. AnikS.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    This is one game to rule them all! The best PS# game of 2008 and definitely worth buying, playing and spending money and time on it. A memorable cinematic game that will make you think how war transforms us into technological savages.
  53. DonC
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    I've seen many people play it and I'm getting a ps3 just to play it. Keith B., it's called patience. If you can't wait and watch extremely outstanding scenes, how do you play other games with cut-scenes; what more, games with stories/graphics that have less impact(games that are not as good) than this one?
  54. LeonardW.
    Jun 26, 2008
    10
    Halo is utter muck, and the desperation of it's deluded fanboys shines through all too clearly on these comments, as does the pathetic agenda of people who admit to not even owning a PS3, or laughably suggest the piss poor Gamecube 'remake' of MGS1 is in the same league as any of the actual Kojima helmed masterpieces(Didn't even look as good as MGS2). MGS4 is quite Halo is utter muck, and the desperation of it's deluded fanboys shines through all too clearly on these comments, as does the pathetic agenda of people who admit to not even owning a PS3, or laughably suggest the piss poor Gamecube 'remake' of MGS1 is in the same league as any of the actual Kojima helmed masterpieces(Didn't even look as good as MGS2). MGS4 is quite simply the best game yet this generation, no matter what fanboys or M$ bought reviewers try to pretend. END OF! Expand
  55. Tyrile
    Jun 28, 2008
    10
    I've played Metal Gear Solid 1 and 2, and unfortunately didn't have the time for MGS3. But of the 3 i played, MGS4 definitely is the best one. And friends who played all MGS so far say the same. It's simply amazing how this game absorbs you from the first second. Before even starting the game, and just looking at the Menu and waiting for several seconds procures an "epic" I've played Metal Gear Solid 1 and 2, and unfortunately didn't have the time for MGS3. But of the 3 i played, MGS4 definitely is the best one. And friends who played all MGS so far say the same. It's simply amazing how this game absorbs you from the first second. Before even starting the game, and just looking at the Menu and waiting for several seconds procures an "epic" feeling. This feeling is carried through the whole game. There wasn't one second I wanted to put my controller away, I could play this game for months to come. The cutscene's never felt too long, I actually wouldn't even have a problem if Kojima would just release dozens of movies with this incredible engine Konami created. There has never been any engine with this unbelievable detail. Rockstar created an awesome engine - Rage - as well, but it focuses on different Details. The gameplay is great as well. The game offers you so many different way to play through the level because of the countless elements options you get offered. The boss battles are so different from each other, and many of them are tricky to master, especially for those who never played a MGS before. The 5 chapters vary widely, and give you a little retroperspective as well. I could go on and on... all I can say to everybody is: buy this game, lock yourself in a room, and play through it! Definitely the best game this Generation so far and it deserves nothing less than a perfect score. Expand
  56. RCJ.
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    This is the most beautiful and the best game I've ever played. Everyone should try it.
  57. AdamskaS.
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played but THE best game I've played this generation.
  58. RogerB
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Absolutely the most enthralling cinematic game experience I've played, ever. Addicting gameplay, plenty of options, weapons and equipment to satisfy war junkies, and varied action along with intense character development make this game excel on all fronts. The audio design and visuals set a new bar.
  59. ZeraP.
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Truly an amazing game.
  60. CaidenC.
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    Amazing game and even more entertaing ending. An irreplaceable icon.
  61. CarlosO.
    Jul 14, 2008
    10
    The best game ever made. It made me feel more amazed by the history than most of the movies i have seen, it has a incredible combat and gameplay, amazing final battle and music and great online. Everybody who didn't liked it did not finish it or played it
  62. JuanF.
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    Great game!!! I only played a level or 2 on some of the old Metal Gear games but I still loved this game. Before this game COD4 was the best gaming experience I've ever had, but no more. I haven't even played my GTAIV game since I bought this one.
  63. DenarP.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    I will be surprised to find someone not liking this game. The feel of epic, as it is the final chapter of a saga. This is really the title that should be praised in years to come.
  64. DavidN
    Jul 30, 2008
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. It refines everything and truly is a next-gen masterpiece.
  65. BrandonN.
    Jul 4, 2008
    10
    MGS4 in short is a masterpiece that should definitely be played by the fans of the series and non fans should take a look at... a truly epic experience
  66. JoshuaMo.
    Jul 5, 2008
    10
    Mesmerizing from beginning to end, everything about this game just exudes craftsmanship, in my eyes Hideo Kojima is not just an auteur but a creative genius.
  67. NakulK.
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    A truly great game, with excellent gameplay, a gripping story, and amazing graphics. Without the half-hour cutscenes, it wouldn't be Metal Gear Solid!
  68. JonathanL.
    Jul 7, 2008
    10
    Saying this game is good is an understatement. After 20-years of a storyline that went completely unrivaled, the series comes to a close. Metal Gear Solid 4 shows the power of technology and how creative a human being can aspire. The graphics, audio and overall quality make for a delightful experience to anyone who enjoys action, and the gripping storyline and series ending make for an Saying this game is good is an understatement. After 20-years of a storyline that went completely unrivaled, the series comes to a close. Metal Gear Solid 4 shows the power of technology and how creative a human being can aspire. The graphics, audio and overall quality make for a delightful experience to anyone who enjoys action, and the gripping storyline and series ending make for an emotional experience for those who are a fan of the series. Expand
  69. KyleS
    Jul 7, 2008
    10
    Hideo Kojima is a complete genius. There is no doubt about it. This game had me captivated from beginning to end, with so many different ways to play, should I use my grenade launcher and barge straight through an enemy post, should I carefully snipe them all silently or just avoid them all together and sneak through. It really is amazing, by far the best game on ps3. Perhaps even the Hideo Kojima is a complete genius. There is no doubt about it. This game had me captivated from beginning to end, with so many different ways to play, should I use my grenade launcher and barge straight through an enemy post, should I carefully snipe them all silently or just avoid them all together and sneak through. It really is amazing, by far the best game on ps3. Perhaps even the best game on any console ever??? Expand
  70. Notafanboy
    Jul 9, 2008
    8
    A fairly good game, not EXCELLENT, but good nonetheless. The graphics aren't the best, but they are very close. The range of tactics is surprising and will leave you replaying the game to see what would've happened if you'd gone about each route differently. Too story based, even though the story is satisfying. The cut scenes are ridiculously long, though. If I wanted to A fairly good game, not EXCELLENT, but good nonetheless. The graphics aren't the best, but they are very close. The range of tactics is surprising and will leave you replaying the game to see what would've happened if you'd gone about each route differently. Too story based, even though the story is satisfying. The cut scenes are ridiculously long, though. If I wanted to watch a cutscene for that long I could go find a movie. This is a game, not a movie, I don't want to watch a game, get it right. Expand
  71. RodgerM.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    Emotional, supremely playable, highly stylized and graphics that are simply head and shoulders above any other console game. Perhaps the best thing to happen to gaming in the last decade.
  72. VictorM.
    Aug 17, 2008
    10
    An amazing game and truly the best game of all time. The story was top-notch, multiplayer, as some say rivals COD4, gameplay was amazing, graphics got close to Uncharted and sound... superb! Still, the big twist at the end, revealed by an unexpected character, is kinda stupid, you will know it when you see it and after you get every weapon, FACE-CAMO and emblem, you can still play it but An amazing game and truly the best game of all time. The story was top-notch, multiplayer, as some say rivals COD4, gameplay was amazing, graphics got close to Uncharted and sound... superb! Still, the big twist at the end, revealed by an unexpected character, is kinda stupid, you will know it when you see it and after you get every weapon, FACE-CAMO and emblem, you can still play it but it will be quite boring. For all it's shortcomings, MGS4 is an absolute MUST-BUY. Do not hesitate to buy a PS3 for this. Expand
  73. DanM
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    How do you make a game that transcends traditional gameplay? You make an incredible story that is completely interwoven into the game; not to mention you put in amazing graphics and super fun gameplay. If the opening theme in the main menu doesn't get you in the mood, you don't know good taste!
  74. FahdR.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    A near perfect game. Embarasses every other game released this generation.
  75. Carlos
    Aug 3, 2008
    10
    Play the game i dont care who you are just play it 10 best everything.
  76. StephenH.
    Sep 10, 2008
    10
    Metal Gear Solid is one of (if not) the best game I ever played. I would definitely say if you are a Metal Gear Solid fan to buy this game, you will love it. If you aren't a Metal Gear fan, still give it a try, you may fall in love. The gameplay is the best out of all the Metal Gear games and the graphics and story are top notch! A Game of the Year contender for sure!
  77. MattJ
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    Great Game You Really get to kno everyone and feel for them cause you dont want them to die it like playing movie and you can wait for the next video just so you can see what happens next this game keeps you hooked till the end
  78. AnonymousMC
    Apr 19, 2009
    10
    In my opinion a masterpiece. I have only played MGS2 but the story line still made sense to me. Just because this isn't a cliché FPS people give it 0. I'm not a fan boy but you cant ignore genius.
    To all the people saying it has bad graphics, what are you blind?
  79. Zmobchomper
    May 13, 2009
    10
    If I could, I would give this game a 9.8 or 9.9 out of 10. As a long time Metal Gear Solid fan, I knew what this game was. It's a game meant for the fans, first and foremost. Most of the _amazing_ parts of the game are only felt by those that've followed Snake and company for the past decade. It even made me tear up at times. I'll concede that the cutscenes do get lengthy If I could, I would give this game a 9.8 or 9.9 out of 10. As a long time Metal Gear Solid fan, I knew what this game was. It's a game meant for the fans, first and foremost. Most of the _amazing_ parts of the game are only felt by those that've followed Snake and company for the past decade. It even made me tear up at times. I'll concede that the cutscenes do get lengthy and at times are extremely cheesy and overbearing. Still, you have to understand that the devoted fans will understand what Kojima was doing here. The subsequent times I played through, I got a glimpse at what others complained about. For those that aren't totally attached to Metal Gear and it's universe, the cutscenes are way too lengthy. The military jargon becomes tedious and far too frequent at times. It feels as if Kojima wanted to take down every military term he'd ever heard in his life and tie it into his story somehow. It makes things convoluted and is mostly unnecessary. On any difficulty lower than Hard(Naked Snake? I don't remember), the game turns into a shooter. It's relatively easy to beat, even if you aren't very stealthy. For real fun, try the game on Big Boss extreme. It becomes very difficult, but if you enjoy stealth games(assuming that's why you played/want to play MGS4), you'll love what the Kojima Team offered. Blahblahblah yaddah yaddah. Ran out of ideas. Expand
  80. ChrisL
    May 17, 2009
    10
    Some people obviously don't know what a true video game is. It isn't just about the gameplay, it's also about the plot and story. Metal Gear Solid 4 has the best storyline of any other game I've played so far. The story has drama, romance, comedy, and action. When bad things happen to the characters, you actually feel sad. Yes I agree, the cut scenes are a bit longer Some people obviously don't know what a true video game is. It isn't just about the gameplay, it's also about the plot and story. Metal Gear Solid 4 has the best storyline of any other game I've played so far. The story has drama, romance, comedy, and action. When bad things happen to the characters, you actually feel sad. Yes I agree, the cut scenes are a bit longer than they need to be, but if you listen to it, the story really blows you away. The gameplay can also match up to the story. Unlike other stealth games, the controls are fairly simple. The way you play the game is also very unique. While other stealth games pretty much forces you to play stealth ALL THE TIME and slows down your action gameplay (very boring), MGS4 allows you to choose your gaming style. You can either shoot your way through the game or sneak around your enemies. There are many weapons and items you can choose from and you can use those items in so many ways. From using the syringe to heal your Psyche or weaken your enemies, to Playboy magazines to distract your enemies. MGS4 is able to take off some of the seriousness in the game and just let the gamer have fun. Expand
  81. watwat
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    To all those who say "omg, this isn't a game, it's a movie, too much cut-scenes": Your whining is like going to see Kill Bill or Rambo and get disappointed because there's so much action, but guess what, THAT'S THE EFFING POINT. Including all the cutscenes is exactly what Kojima wanted. He wanted to fuse movies and games together , and according to your comments, To all those who say "omg, this isn't a game, it's a movie, too much cut-scenes": Your whining is like going to see Kill Bill or Rambo and get disappointed because there's so much action, but guess what, THAT'S THE EFFING POINT. Including all the cutscenes is exactly what Kojima wanted. He wanted to fuse movies and games together , and according to your comments, that's exactly what he's achieved. It's one of the reasons the fans love the series, we expect them. You can always argue the quality of the action in Rambo or the cutscenes in the MGS series, but saying that there's too much cutscenes is just plain stupid. You might just as well give all the Madden games 0 just because you don't like football. The goal of reviewing is to rate how well something is executed, not what the goal is. Expand
  82. PeterY.
    Oct 18, 2008
    10
    Just finally found the time to beat this game and it is easily one of the best games I've ever played. The presentation is fantastic. The flashbacks, the use of the split screen, the great cutscenes, and the music combine to form a unique, emotional experience that cannot be found anywhere else. The gameplay is varied, fun and rewarding. The different difficulty modes caters to both Just finally found the time to beat this game and it is easily one of the best games I've ever played. The presentation is fantastic. The flashbacks, the use of the split screen, the great cutscenes, and the music combine to form a unique, emotional experience that cannot be found anywhere else. The gameplay is varied, fun and rewarding. The different difficulty modes caters to both extreme hardcore gamers or just the casual gamer. The biggest knock on this game is the story, or more specifically, MGS2's story. Kojima did his best to answer all the questions in the series' history, including ridiculous questions like how Liquid's arm could take over Ocelot's body. As a result, the story kinda jumps from place to place or goes on a bit too long, as they try to tie up all the loose ends. And one other thing was the acting, which varied from good, to great, to downright bad. There are also a couple of cheesy scenes that I thought didn't really fit into the flow of the game, especially at that point in the game. My actual score would be closer to 9.5, but since Metacritic is on a 1-10 scale, I rounded up. Expand
  83. GaryB.
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    One word for this. MASTERPIECE. If you are a person who dosent like lenghty cutscenes at all, then I wouldn't really recommend this game. However, if you even like just a little, this game is meant for you. It has loads of gameplay action, and near the end the cutscene are beautiful and emotional. There are so many people who admitted that they cried at the end of the game. This is One word for this. MASTERPIECE. If you are a person who dosent like lenghty cutscenes at all, then I wouldn't really recommend this game. However, if you even like just a little, this game is meant for you. It has loads of gameplay action, and near the end the cutscene are beautiful and emotional. There are so many people who admitted that they cried at the end of the game. This is how moving it is. This is how great it is. This is Metal Gear Solid 4. Expand
  84. JeremyS
    Oct 9, 2008
    10
    I had never played an MGS game before this one, I simply read up on the backstory before going in to play it and I must say I was impressed. I'm a bit more of a passive player I suppose when it comes to single player games, and I actually liked having a buttload of cutscenes. I'm one of those mutants who genuinely enjoys spectating in an online game; I enjoy watching a good I had never played an MGS game before this one, I simply read up on the backstory before going in to play it and I must say I was impressed. I'm a bit more of a passive player I suppose when it comes to single player games, and I actually liked having a buttload of cutscenes. I'm one of those mutants who genuinely enjoys spectating in an online game; I enjoy watching a good show, and that's what the cutscenes provided. The gameplay was enjoyable, certainly better than Splinter Cell in my opinion in which stealth is far too important. Overall, the best console game I have played in years. Expand
  85. JoeK.
    May 31, 2008
    10
    GREAT GAME!
  86. SamayL.
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    Amazing graphics, oh so wonderful gameplay, I loved the first 3 but this just blew me away.
  87. MartinW.
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    Everything is wow...the gameplay is solid, the graphics are the best I've seen this gen, the cut-scenes are amazing, again the best cut-scenes EVER! The story is great although a little hard to follow at times. The 5.1 sound is amazing...if you've got a 5.1 Digital sound system crank it up you'll think you at the movies. This game is so awesome...I wanna go play it!
  88. DaT.
    Jun 12, 2008
    9
    Incredible graphics, wonderfull gameplay. The only thing I can complain about as the very very long cutscenes, and I really didnt mind it all that much.
  89. AndyS.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Great game. Graphics are great, uncompressed sound actually sounds a lot better, and great storyline.
  90. DavidB.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    The extreme immersive nature of MGS4 brings me closer than ever to the intense story line. It was definitely worth the wait. I can't imagine a better ending to the most brilliantly ingenious video game series I have ever played.
  91. WilliamE.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    It's not a masterpiece, it's THE masterpiece.
  92. MatthewL.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    This game was a thrilling experience. The last game that gave me this much fun was released in 1998. Deserving of this 10 and should be a must for anyone who even thinks about considering themself a gamer.
  93. AB
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Through the first half of the game.. Most groundbreaking game so far this year.
  94. PaulH.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    A worthy conclusion to snakes story! Awesome from what I've played so far!
  95. GeorgeBailey
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    The end off the series, and what an end it is. Think Metal Gear Solid 3, but not in the jungle. The Octocamo is superb, and everything that made the MGS series great is still here, including Kojima's fantastic sense of humour, and some exhilarating action sequences. And who can forget the plot? This game promises to be the best in the series yet, and I have no doubt that it will be. The end off the series, and what an end it is. Think Metal Gear Solid 3, but not in the jungle. The Octocamo is superb, and everything that made the MGS series great is still here, including Kojima's fantastic sense of humour, and some exhilarating action sequences. And who can forget the plot? This game promises to be the best in the series yet, and I have no doubt that it will be. I've already played it for hours today, and I've also been on Metal Gear Online, the online mode that comes FREE with the game. What can I say? It is fantastic! And it's free, 2 games in 1! Harry Gregson Williams returns to do the musical score, and it is as phenomenal as usual. No more needs to be said, this game is a must have, whether you're a fan of the series or not. Expand
  96. dralph
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Havn't played previous MGS games but i am enjoying this, it's fab! As good as half life 2 IMO
  97. DavidD.r
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Best game I have ever played. Most intelligent game ever made!
  98. WarrenR.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Best in the series! Best of the year.
  99. JohnC.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Fantastic game. Very very indepth and can be slightly intimidating for non-stealth fans. But extremely well put together and the AI is impressive in their search tactics.
  100. DerekC.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4 marks the end of an epic saga of espionage, double crossers, cardboard boxes, and walking tanks. War has changed, and along with it the stealth platform has evolved, into something that totally grips you and won't let go. The story does an incredibly job of wrapping up every loose end in the franchise, and does it in a very entertaining and emotional way. Metal Gear Solid 4 marks the end of an epic saga of espionage, double crossers, cardboard boxes, and walking tanks. War has changed, and along with it the stealth platform has evolved, into something that totally grips you and won't let go. The story does an incredibly job of wrapping up every loose end in the franchise, and does it in a very entertaining and emotional way. Snake's final mission is over, our time has ended. MGS4 is a true benchmark in interactive entertainment. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    100
    Guns of the Patriots is almost intimidating in the consistent quality of its ideas, invention, and execution...Even by the series' stratospheric standards, MGS4 is a remarkable high point. [June 2008]
  2. 99
    If you've ever loved any one of the Metal Gear games, or any moments from the series, there will come a moment when MGS 4 will send your spirits soaring. If you've loved them all, well then there'll be many, many more. It’s a masterpiece.
  3. Guns of the Patriots is a frustrating, fractured game that turns Metal Gear Solid's world upside down several times over, but never changes it.