User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3602 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. STFUX.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    Hey G P. I'm new to this series and I have to say this is one of the best games I have ever played. I guess some people just want gameplay and absolutely no story. All the people who are complaining about the cutscenes STFU and skip them if you hate great stories that much.
  2. PeteW.
    Aug 14, 2008
    8
    First off: outstanding gameplay, as usual for the series. There's nothing quite like sneaking through the middle of a firefight, or slipping up behind a guard and cutting his throat before he even knows you're there. And the boss battles are lots of fun as always. Also, the graphics were simply some of the best ever in a game, and the music, while not the best in the series, was First off: outstanding gameplay, as usual for the series. There's nothing quite like sneaking through the middle of a firefight, or slipping up behind a guard and cutting his throat before he even knows you're there. And the boss battles are lots of fun as always. Also, the graphics were simply some of the best ever in a game, and the music, while not the best in the series, was duly cinematic and epic. Now, The Cutscenes. I have one gripe with them, and one alone. I don't mind that they represent easily half of the total play time. I don't mind that some of the best action sequences in the game are things you just sit back and watch. But what I DO mind is when the plot of the game is hammered into my skull by having characters repeat the same few points over, and over, and over, and over. Kojima could easily have cut at least 1/3rd of the running time without losing any substance. Also, while I give the series credit for trying to have a more involved story than games usually do, let's not pretend that this is any deeper than a Tom Clancy novel, people. I get that war is bad, that the military-industrial complex is a threat, that genetic engineering is potentially dangerous, and all the rest. I wish the creators could have avoided pretending like this stuff is pivotal social commentary and kept things a bit snappier. Overall I'd still say that MGS3: Subsistence is the best in the series, but this is certainly a worthy new entry and good for a couple dozen hours of high-grade entertainment. Expand
  3. ToddK
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    Most excellent game. Graphics are spectacular, my one and only gripe is the final battle with Liquid where it is all CQC.
  4. MattC.
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    Ignore low scores, the Xbox Fanboys (Xbots) can't get this game and this is the best videogame ever made. So if people complain because they sucked with a Xbox 360.
  5. ClaytonC.
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    This is the first Metal Gear game I have played. I was a little unsure about buying it, but it turns out it was one of the best decisions i have ever made. The gameplay is smooth, the cutscenes are top-notch, and it's one of the few games that i could feel emotion from. The story is complicated, but amazing. It raises the bar for story-telling in games because it didn't get This is the first Metal Gear game I have played. I was a little unsure about buying it, but it turns out it was one of the best decisions i have ever made. The gameplay is smooth, the cutscenes are top-notch, and it's one of the few games that i could feel emotion from. The story is complicated, but amazing. It raises the bar for story-telling in games because it didn't get dumbed down because some people wouldn't like it, it went all out and it worked beautifully. Definitly one of the greatest games of all time. Expand
  6. CMP.
    Aug 23, 2008
    10
    This game has raised the bar so high that all games pale by comparison. It is like playing the greatest movie I've ever seen in my life. Masterpiece doesn't do it justice.
  7. YeahRight
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    Beats halo, beats Gears of war. Mgs4 was really a beautiful game. Shame its the last one.
  8. AndrewM
    Aug 30, 2008
    10
    A amazing experience that blow away most games on the market today, including the less stellar Halo 3 and with graphics better than Gears of War, its the reason to own a PS3. Don't listen to the negative reviews, those are just jealous 360 owners.
  9. Sheikh
    Aug 3, 2008
    10
    A timeless classic. Has a few minor issues but all in all a near perfect game. Epic story,Stylish gameplay ,breathe taking audio-video presentation and tons of replay value. Also Ships with metal gear online.
  10. FireSoul
    Sep 16, 2008
    10
    With every game of metal gear 1 , 2 , 3 you just keep saying there can't be better than this well , heido kojima keeps on surprising any human who hold a video game controller Yeah once again i said it ... MGS4 a game can't be better than this ( sill waiting heido kojima answer in MGS5 ) ... a master is a master and he is the master of games creation 10/10 for onr of the best With every game of metal gear 1 , 2 , 3 you just keep saying there can't be better than this well , heido kojima keeps on surprising any human who hold a video game controller Yeah once again i said it ... MGS4 a game can't be better than this ( sill waiting heido kojima answer in MGS5 ) ... a master is a master and he is the master of games creation 10/10 for onr of the best games in the best saga of all time. Expand
  11. AaronB.
    Sep 18, 2008
    10
    Story wise, this game is perfect. Graphic wise, this game is perfect. Gameplay wise, this game is perfect. Replayability wise, this game is perfect. I don't know how else to put it, but it got me hooked from the moment I picked up the controller. I bought a ps3 for this, and am not disappointed!
  12. ClemetW.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    10 years after MGS1, MGS4 comes along and pulls it off again. The best graphics seen on a console game this far, very improved gampeplay, and a story that makes up the perfect closure for one of the best series in gaming. Metal Gear Solid 4 will move any MGS fan!
  13. DanielR.
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    Superb, beyond reproach.
  14. JCS
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    Being a hardcore MGS fan since its origins, it didn't take a second's hesitation for me to purchase this fourth and final chapter as soon as I got my PS3. I knew it would get mixed reviews, especially from users, because MGS4 closes what is surely the video-game series with the most intricate story-line ever created. Kojima definitely didn't have an easy task on his Being a hardcore MGS fan since its origins, it didn't take a second's hesitation for me to purchase this fourth and final chapter as soon as I got my PS3. I knew it would get mixed reviews, especially from users, because MGS4 closes what is surely the video-game series with the most intricate story-line ever created. Kojima definitely didn't have an easy task on his hands... He needed to tie together everything that had occurred over the past 3 games (including the mess he left behind in MGS2's ending that left everyone puzzled), and miraculously make it all work. OBVIOUS consequence: 20-minute cutscenes here and there, and between them, classic MGS gameplay (i.e. perfect for the real MGS fans). The people that aren't happy with this formula, the length of the cutscenes, and the story-line (which is and always has been the core of all MGS games) are simply not enjoying the game for what it is. The transition from MGS1 to MGS2 was a let-down for many, as I'm sure this one will be too. For me personally, it worked fine. You either accept it or you don't, it's as simple as that. Everything else, from graphics to OST to gameplay is outstanding. So, maybe it's not the best MGS ever, but it does its job. Expand
  15. DavidS.
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    This is the pinnacle of video game storytelling. A good plot full of twists and turns, well developed characters, great action sequences and more than one tear jerking moments make MGS4 my favorite game this generations. If you don't mind long cutscenes check it out, it'll keep you glued to your screen from beginning to end.
  16. JS
    Mar 31, 2009
    10
    I am a hardcore gamer, I play all sorts. At this point I try and only play games I really want to play just so I have time for a life. I have always wanted games to become truly deep on every level, its like from 1990-2000 there has been more GAMEPLAY innovation (think about it) than from 2000-2009. This game shatters all my requests for a deeper game. It is the highest quality game I I am a hardcore gamer, I play all sorts. At this point I try and only play games I really want to play just so I have time for a life. I have always wanted games to become truly deep on every level, its like from 1990-2000 there has been more GAMEPLAY innovation (think about it) than from 2000-2009. This game shatters all my requests for a deeper game. It is the highest quality game I have ever played, it is an extremely rewarding experience, its only fault is its brevity and lack of choice, however these things could simply not be any other way given the nature of the game. It is as close to perfect as a subjective experience can be. For anyone that likes depth, MGS, great games, great stories and amazing experiences play this game. If you cant be bothered figuring out the nuanced control system (which is tricky but very rewarding and has less limits) and would rather just moving aiming and shooting, or anyone who doesnt want to see a great deal of the best cutscenes ever made in gaming history (COME ON!!! lots of the best ever made! WHAT ARE YOU COMPLAINING ABOUT!!!!!! You can skip you know!) and also if you just dont like violence (the most forgivable reason for not wanting this game, and I would point out it is quite eloquently anti-war) you probably should not get this game. Bottom line is the reasons you would rather play some rubbish shooter than this are the same sort of reasons somebody would watch Freddie VS Jason rather than Shawshank or 12 angry men (watch them if you havent) anyway, to anyone who like video games and isnt an idiot this game will more likely than not instantly become your favourite game ever. Only memories of my first adventures in Morrowind compare, but thats just me. Expand
  17. anthonyL
    May 26, 2009
    10
    A truly epic masterpiece that wraps up the saga nicely. Kojima outdid himself this time with a very wide range of gameplay from the classic stealth, to the motorbike sequence, to the metal gear rex segment. MGS4 also includes one of the most memorable and climatic boss battles I have ever experienced from an action game. Although the story may be a little hard to digest fro newcomers to A truly epic masterpiece that wraps up the saga nicely. Kojima outdid himself this time with a very wide range of gameplay from the classic stealth, to the motorbike sequence, to the metal gear rex segment. MGS4 also includes one of the most memorable and climatic boss battles I have ever experienced from an action game. Although the story may be a little hard to digest fro newcomers to the series, it was well executed with well done cutscenes. Expand
  18. DeepF
    May 27, 2009
    9
    I'm not going to oppose you guys Dave N and Voodoo, this game may not as funny as the original one for a MGS FAN like us. But, as far as I know, there are really less gamers who can afford such difficult in MGS1. Kojima have accepted that he have given the most of freedom he can ever provided to the players. In this way, many people around me use the SUPER STUPID WAY finished their I'm not going to oppose you guys Dave N and Voodoo, this game may not as funny as the original one for a MGS FAN like us. But, as far as I know, there are really less gamers who can afford such difficult in MGS1. Kojima have accepted that he have given the most of freedom he can ever provided to the players. In this way, many people around me use the SUPER STUPID WAY finished their game and get a Pig Rank 8). Just as what we thought, they've never played the MGS. But for us, we can set a challenge for ourselves, this may looks stupid, but that incredible complexy rank system have told us what Kojima-san want this game looks like. In this way, everyone can enjoyed game right? About the cut scene, as a game developer myself, I can imagine how brave he is that can have tryed to change people's mind towards a game. Just like the film, as an entertainment product, it may not only bing funny but also soul-searching or something like that to us. Expand
  19. AhsenA.
    May 7, 2009
    10
    First note, it's pretty obvious that Dave N and JW has not played MGS4. Dave goes on to exaggerate grossly to an extent that totally disrepects the game and is very misleading. And you know where JW goes wrong when he says that the graphics are great and 5 minutes of gameplay is followed by 20 min of cutscenes. And if the game was so bad, why did you play it all the way through? Now First note, it's pretty obvious that Dave N and JW has not played MGS4. Dave goes on to exaggerate grossly to an extent that totally disrepects the game and is very misleading. And you know where JW goes wrong when he says that the graphics are great and 5 minutes of gameplay is followed by 20 min of cutscenes. And if the game was so bad, why did you play it all the way through? Now to explain why MGS4 is so awesome. A game which gets 10/10 from both IGN AND Gamespot, which has only been accomplished by 4 other games in history, cannot be described by mere words. If you have not played any MGS game, do so now. You will become addicted. MGS4 carries the beautiful emotion, the greatest choreographed cutscenes of any game, and gameplay and controls that always surprise me with their outstanding tightness. The graphics have been chosen by an overwhelming majority of media outlets as the best of 2008. It's story and music have been praised to the sky. Just count the number of 100s on this page itself and you will be amazed. The game has also placed itself as the best selling game of the PS3. This game is just that awesome. Expand
  20. JoseC
    Jun 25, 2009
    9
    I'll write it in spanish, translate it if you want:

    Es un gran juego, la calidad de graficos es impresionante, hace mucho qe no vei un juego qe te absorviera tanto en la trama, si hay cosas qe lo hacen un muy tedioso juego, como las escenas, 40 minutos no esta bien, pero sigue siendo un gran juego para todo aqellos qe sepan criticar, cada uno tiene un punto de vista diferente, pero
    I'll write it in spanish, translate it if you want:

    Es un gran juego, la calidad de graficos es impresionante, hace mucho qe no vei un juego qe te absorviera tanto en la trama, si hay cosas qe lo hacen un muy tedioso juego, como las escenas, 40 minutos no esta bien, pero sigue siendo un gran juego para todo aqellos qe sepan criticar, cada uno tiene un punto de vista diferente, pero se tiene qe admitir qe esos idiotas qe le ponen 1 o 2 o 3 son unos idiotas completamente y qe no saben de juegos y creen qe el Ocarina es lo peor, eso es todo.
    Expand
  21. MattiM.
    Oct 14, 2006
    10
    CS:S Rocks.
  22. MarkB.
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    This was the next installment in the genre-defining game, Metal Gear Solid, that began to showcase the possibilities of the Playstation 3. With amazing graphics, a gripping, cinematic storyline, and satisfying gameplay, Metal Gear Solid 4 has proven to be a must-have for PS3 owners.
  23. James
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    This is simply the greatest game I have never played, and also the best MGS game IMO, fantastic gameplay with brand new elements such as the octacamo, breathtaking graphics, easily the best looking PS3 game, brilliant cinematic experiences, the cutscenes are nothing less then epic, and a the exellent addition of Metal Gear Online in the box, what more could you ask for? Remember though, This is simply the greatest game I have never played, and also the best MGS game IMO, fantastic gameplay with brand new elements such as the octacamo, breathtaking graphics, easily the best looking PS3 game, brilliant cinematic experiences, the cutscenes are nothing less then epic, and a the exellent addition of Metal Gear Online in the box, what more could you ask for? Remember though, this is mainly a game for the MGS fans, a present from Kojima if you will, so if you ain't an MGS fan, you probably wont enjoy it as much, but who knows? :D Expand
  24. BD.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Amazing game. The gameplay, the graphics, the story... everything oozes quality. My only gripe is the amount and length of cutscenes at the end. It could definitely used some better editing.
  25. JHolmes
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Best of the best. This game is a thing of beauty.
  26. RaulF.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    An absolute masterpiece! It's everything you would want in a game.
  27. MauriceK.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4 is by far the best game I have ever played in my life! This will be the Defining videogame of this generation!
  28. [anonymous]
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    All those losers who give MGS4 less than a ten or a nine have seriously something big up their arse! Possibly the best game ever made and don't forget that! This is the PERFECT game with beautiful graphics and spendid gameplay to complete the unforgettable story of Solid Snake. And to all you people who complain about long cutscenes,if you don't like them, you are playing the All those losers who give MGS4 less than a ten or a nine have seriously something big up their arse! Possibly the best game ever made and don't forget that! This is the PERFECT game with beautiful graphics and spendid gameplay to complete the unforgettable story of Solid Snake. And to all you people who complain about long cutscenes,if you don't like them, you are playing the wrong game! The cutscenes are what makes this game famous so never ever dis them! Expand
  29. FariedM.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Unbelievable! Easily the best game I have ever played. Epic from start to finish.
  30. IOWNanXBOXtoo
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    This just might be the best game ever! Besides for the terrible shadows the game looks to be the best visuals I have ever seen. I always like a deep story and this sure delivers that!
  31. AnthonyE.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Amazing is probably the best word to describe the masterpiece that is Metal Gear Solid 4. I have never really played a Metal Gear / Solid game in my life, and still, this game never ceases to amaze me. Kojima is now my new hero.
  32. Dan
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    It has been a long time since a game has had mixed story with play. Something that is needed in the industry if it wishes to grow. Too many games are released without story and are over in 5 hours. MGS 4 has renewed the life of story telling and brilliant visuals. Amazing graphics, stunning story and a beautiful ending to a legendary series!
  33. RandyM.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    This is the best mgs and one of the best stealth/action games EVER.
  34. PaulL.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    If there was ever a game that deserved 10/10 this is it. Normally all games have slight faults in presentation, graphics, gameplay, sound etc but i can't fault any part of the game. The story is fantastic. The sound just rumbles your windows, the gamplay is unique, responsive and sweet. And my god the graphics shines out especially on a HDTV. First game to truly feel next gen. If there was ever a game that deserved 10/10 this is it. Normally all games have slight faults in presentation, graphics, gameplay, sound etc but i can't fault any part of the game. The story is fantastic. The sound just rumbles your windows, the gamplay is unique, responsive and sweet. And my god the graphics shines out especially on a HDTV. First game to truly feel next gen. Coupled with 20 plus hours of playtime and multiplayer aspect it's highly replayable. I just cannot express my admiration for this game in enough terms. If you are a gamer then you must simply buy this game. Trust me you will savour every moment of it! Expand
  35. MichaelR.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    This is the game that brings all the promise of the "next generation" of gaming to fruition . From presentation to gameplay this game delivers the goods!
  36. JamesB.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Such a great game in every way, satisfies the fans and newcomers alike. Boss battles are amazing, the way the story and gameplay intertwine is immersive, gripping and uniquely metal gear. The combat is better than it's ever been and when you're done you can put ours into Metal Gear Online! Go buy now!
  37. CeyhanC.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    One of the best game that I've played in my life. Video games are a part of art ( for me ), and this is the "chapelle sixtine" of video games . What I can say, it is like a movie made by Cameron, characters are perfect (looks, voices, moves ... ) and the history is the best that I saw in video games, Kojima's team made a great job!
  38. StevenN.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Amazing game, loved it from start to finish.
  39. StevenM.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    It's an amazing game. I've had friends come over the past few days to share the experience with me. We've played non stop, taking breaks to smoke during the installs... But besides that, the cinematics are gripping and the gameplay is quite invigorating.
  40. BradJ.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    Awe inspiring. Yes, there are hours of cinematic where you are not mashing buttons for a while. deal with it. Get over that and you will have the most unique gaming experience. I would have to say it is the closest to an interactive movie as you can get. graphics 10 sound 10, etc etc etc. the only questionable thing is the use of cutscenes. guess what - if you don't like it you can Awe inspiring. Yes, there are hours of cinematic where you are not mashing buttons for a while. deal with it. Get over that and you will have the most unique gaming experience. I would have to say it is the closest to an interactive movie as you can get. graphics 10 sound 10, etc etc etc. the only questionable thing is the use of cutscenes. guess what - if you don't like it you can skip them however any mgs fan would never do that - well on the first time through anyhow... definitely did not disappoint in any aspect for me. just finished about 6 hrs ago after 36 hrs straight - now to play ONLINE!! Expand
  41. MattB.
    Jun 14, 2008
    9
    A superior game that finally shows off the PS3s capabilities.
  42. BTR.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Can't believe how much they've improved the series in every way. Hands down, this represents the best game I've ever played on any system ever, and I've been playing since I was 8 years old (I'm 31 now). From the graphics and sound to the voice acting and cinematography to the gameplay mechanics and multiple styles to play, MGS4 excels in every area and mixes a Can't believe how much they've improved the series in every way. Hands down, this represents the best game I've ever played on any system ever, and I've been playing since I was 8 years old (I'm 31 now). From the graphics and sound to the voice acting and cinematography to the gameplay mechanics and multiple styles to play, MGS4 excels in every area and mixes a lot of humor with gritty dialog and a compelling, twisted storyline. Amazing game and well worth buying a PS3 for. Expand
  43. AlanZ.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Simply put, Metal Gear Solid 4 is one of the greatest pieces of entertainment ever created.
  44. DerekG.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Quite simply the most engrossing and perfectly crafted game in history.
  45. Ben
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Very good. Quality is awesome. Never played the first metal gear solids, and wish i did, this is a really awesome game!
  46. BrianP.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Considering selling all my other games/systems and playing this the rest of my life. It's that good.
  47. KamilC.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    This is by far the best game I have played all year. Finished it last night and returning to the battle today. War has changed and after this, Gaming as a whole has changed.
  48. MrMyagi
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Game of the year! I sat through it from beginning to end with a huge grin on my face. Amazing graphics, second play you can try totally different tactics, superb surround sound and tricky at first but becomes great controls. Intriguing story, good mixture of FPS and stealth and little touches that make you smile. If only every game was like this. Sublime! Happy to play it all over again!
  49. ScottM.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    An epic game in every department, the ultimate bridge in between cinema and gaming, bravo Mr. Kojima!!
  50. DamienL.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Absolutely stunning. Hideo Kojima is a genius.
  51. BobJ.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    This is the best installment in the series, the game is worth every penny, the graphics and story are A+. More game developers should take what Konami and Kojima did and learn from it. More games need this level of development!
  52. JoseR.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Act 4 best part of the game for me. It made me remember when I was 15yrs old. I almost cried. I'm 26yrs old now and I'll have to say this is the best game I've ever played. No other game has made me feel this way. Thanks Kojima!!
  53. JJD
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Wow was this game amazing. Production values are insane, some of the best graphics this gen....and a story thats just wow. If your a fan, you already own the game...but for everyone else, this game will be an adventure for you too (just make sure you read up on some of the mgs lore).
  54. MichaelK.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    It's Metal Gear Solid.
  55. TonLoc
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Edge, eurogamer and gamedaily gave the score of "8" because it would benefit them in the end where their site would be visited daily for hate email. Its a purely business tactic enrage the fans to get more business. Other than that, MGS4 is an outstanding game, even though it has long cut scenes, it still an outstanding game... much better than GTA IV. The cut scenes are meant to tell the Edge, eurogamer and gamedaily gave the score of "8" because it would benefit them in the end where their site would be visited daily for hate email. Its a purely business tactic enrage the fans to get more business. Other than that, MGS4 is an outstanding game, even though it has long cut scenes, it still an outstanding game... much better than GTA IV. The cut scenes are meant to tell the story. But remember MGS fans, there will be a directors cut to this game within 5-6 months. Hopefully we will be able to hear the japanese sound track and have updated MGO maps in the Subsistence version of MGS4. Edge, Eurogamer and gamedaily should have their reviewers fired for such a bad review. Expand
  56. [Anonymous]
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Major question. How come there's 80 from GameCritics but they don't rate games? Weird stuff. I'm old and grumpy gamer who's hard to please but MGS4 got me on my knees.
  57. MiKE
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    I had a hard time getting into the game, but after an 1 hour. I liked it more and more! AMAZING graphics! and this is coming from a PC gamer! The gameplay is great as well, and you have to love the cut scenes! Its feels like being in a movie rather then playing a game! HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!
  58. AaronP.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Game of forever! Best game I have ever played!
  59. PhilS.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    This is the release the PS3 has been waiting for. I have friends asking me whether or not to buy a PS3 and i show them this game and they are sold after like 10 minutes. I bought this game on the midnight release and played it straight for 20 hours with only a couple of bathroom breaks. Simply couldnt put the sticks down.
  60. Troy
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    Simply one of the best games I've ever played. Very few games even come close to how good this game is. Everything is top notch, graphics, sound, story, everything.
  61. DeanC.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    MGS4 delivered 10 times over. I have followed the series since its nintendo days and i could not be more happy. The Story is Imersive, the gameplay is outstanding and the graphics are top notch. If you are a fan then it is a must buy, if not i think you will find the game very enjoyable and will find something very special in this game I sure did. Kojima you couldnt have done beter and MGS4 delivered 10 times over. I have followed the series since its nintendo days and i could not be more happy. The Story is Imersive, the gameplay is outstanding and the graphics are top notch. If you are a fan then it is a must buy, if not i think you will find the game very enjoyable and will find something very special in this game I sure did. Kojima you couldnt have done beter and thank you for the experience. The BEST game i have EVER played, hands down. Expand
  62. DavidH.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    There have been many games through out this latest generation of consoles worth looking at and occasionally playing. MGS4 is the first title to warrant the purchase of a console in this generation and will hopefully be a starting point in epic games to come out. Never predictable, well (& longly) explained, MGS4 has moments of Mission Impossible stealth story with loads of action to fill There have been many games through out this latest generation of consoles worth looking at and occasionally playing. MGS4 is the first title to warrant the purchase of a console in this generation and will hopefully be a starting point in epic games to come out. Never predictable, well (& longly) explained, MGS4 has moments of Mission Impossible stealth story with loads of action to fill the gaps. Although the cutscenes are heavy handed (over 8 hours), MGS4 is a great example of how video games have surpassed film and music as the highest entertainment. Thank you Hideo for raising the bar! Expand
  63. ABen
    Jun 21, 2008
    9
    Pretty good game, cut-scenes are long winded but thats Metal Gear for you. A much needed improvement over MGS3, which was a boring game and soured me on Metal Gear altogether. But 3 years later, another generation passes, and this is how I am rewarded. Now I just hope Final Fantasy 13 can deliver like this title did and my Xbox 360 will be a permanent paperweight. Stop the hate and enjoy Pretty good game, cut-scenes are long winded but thats Metal Gear for you. A much needed improvement over MGS3, which was a boring game and soured me on Metal Gear altogether. But 3 years later, another generation passes, and this is how I am rewarded. Now I just hope Final Fantasy 13 can deliver like this title did and my Xbox 360 will be a permanent paperweight. Stop the hate and enjoy the game children. Expand
  64. PaulS.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    Awesome game, the first mgs game I've played, decided to get it after i bought the ps3 seeing as everyone was raving and wasn't disappointed, now starting run number 2.
  65. TylerH.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    This game is the best game i think i have ever played, that includes the legendary LOZ ocarina of time. I truly have no idea how GTA IV got a higher score than this masterpiece.
  66. TomE.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    This game did everything brilliantly. The gameplay was awesome, the graphics were beautiful, and the voice over work and music was some of the best I've seen in a game. I usually don't feel anything one way or another when I'm playing a game, but in MGS4 I actually cared, and was moved by the cutscenes and all of the emotion and action they contained. MGS4 ended the story This game did everything brilliantly. The gameplay was awesome, the graphics were beautiful, and the voice over work and music was some of the best I've seen in a game. I usually don't feel anything one way or another when I'm playing a game, but in MGS4 I actually cared, and was moved by the cutscenes and all of the emotion and action they contained. MGS4 ended the story with an epic finish, and I consider this to be one of the greatest games I have played of this or any of the past generations. Only one other game I've played has made me care about the characters, and that was Chrono Cross. Expand
  67. JesseL.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    By far the best and most in depth Metal Gear game in the series. The story line swept me away as everything from the previous games came together. I almost shed a tear at the end of the game. The only thing that upset me was that I wasn't able to play as Raiden.
  68. ChrisT.
    Jun 23, 2008
    8
    Beautiful cut scenes, although sometimes a bit long. For me there is NOT enough action in the gameplay. Sneaking around all the time gets old. Also I feel that the aiming system is a bit off at times. But still the game is fun, it's just so much more that could have been done with this. Overall I feel that this game is a bit overrated by the big boys, not sure why so many rated this Beautiful cut scenes, although sometimes a bit long. For me there is NOT enough action in the gameplay. Sneaking around all the time gets old. Also I feel that the aiming system is a bit off at times. But still the game is fun, it's just so much more that could have been done with this. Overall I feel that this game is a bit overrated by the big boys, not sure why so many rated this game a 10, it just simply isn't. Expand
  69. JonathanM.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    This game is simply amazing the graphics blow out of the water every game on every platform that has gone before and they are third in quality behind the perfect sound and a story which Akiri Kurosawa would be proud of! If you have ever seen Seven Samurai or played any MGS game you will be brought to your knees by the sheer quality of this game!
  70. JoshD.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    Incredible game. I was worried when I bought my PS3 mainly because of this game but it definitely paid off. Game of the DECADE.
  71. RayS.
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    Best game I've ever played. That is saying a lot cuz I play a lot of games.
  72. RayG.
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    Incredible story and gameplay, this game deserves all the praises that it has received from the press. In my opinion, the best game I've ever played... just WOW!!
  73. MarcA.
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    This game looks so good, it feels like hi-definition on a standard-def tv. Also, be prepared for long, but awesome cutscenes and perfect gameplay with incredible battlefield awareness due to the new ''Solid eye'' Snake wears over his left eye.
  74. SeanR.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    Epic. Gameplay is spot-on, cinematics are memorable, and everything comes to a close in a way I never thought possible.
  75. GeoffG.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    This is by far the most entertaining, engrossing, and gorgeous experience ever created in the field of video games. If you have a PS3 and don't pick up MGS4, you are violating a sin worse than all seven deadly at once.
  76. Dr.Ghettoblaster
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    Anyone who hates on this game is simply ignorant. It is a landmark achievement, just as all previous MGS games have been. Oh, and surprise surprise, I own a PS3 and a 360. Fanboys are ridiculous little kids who can't afford to wipe their own a$$...
  77. BrettH.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    If you haven't played the series up to date, I suggest doing so. This game is FANTASTIC. With the cutscenese being interactive all the way to the ending which will blow your mind. Metal Gear Solid 4 is THE first game that has taken my emotions and thrown them against the wall, the floor, the ceiling and out the door. This game is simply amazing, I would Guarantee this as game of the If you haven't played the series up to date, I suggest doing so. This game is FANTASTIC. With the cutscenese being interactive all the way to the ending which will blow your mind. Metal Gear Solid 4 is THE first game that has taken my emotions and thrown them against the wall, the floor, the ceiling and out the door. This game is simply amazing, I would Guarantee this as game of the year if it wasn't up to magazine reviewers claiming GTA4 as the best game of all time (even though that game has many flaws and repetitive story line to kill yourself over). A must have for ALL PS3 owners! Expand
  78. WJ.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    This game is by far one of the best games I have ever played, and thats having played over 400 games. The story is neatly wrapped up closing off every plot and twist there has ever been in the series, all of it managing to link together rather well. The down side to that if your a lazy gamer is the cut scenes which are very long around 3 hours, however you can always skip these if you This game is by far one of the best games I have ever played, and thats having played over 400 games. The story is neatly wrapped up closing off every plot and twist there has ever been in the series, all of it managing to link together rather well. The down side to that if your a lazy gamer is the cut scenes which are very long around 3 hours, however you can always skip these if you don't feel like watching a master piece. The gameplay is excellent, the FPS mechanics have been greatly improved although not really needing to be as the game is a SNEAKING game. I have already played through the game 3 times adding up to a total of 20 hours of singleplayer gameplay and have played MGO for about 20 hours as well. This easily makes the game a very affordable piece of entertainment. I highly recommend this to anyone with a PS3 and anyone who is a fan of the old games. I even know people who had never played MGS before but love this game. Game of the Year contender easily. Expand
  79. BrianB.
    Jun 26, 2008
    10
    Don't mention the overrated repetition fest Halo 3 in the same sentence as THIS masterpiece fanboy morons! Just accept how incredible MGS4 and get on with your empty little lives!
  80. MikaelL
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    Best game I have ever played. I was sceptic at first because i never found the MGS games interesting enough to play then. Nevertheless I bought this the day after it had been released and i was overwhelmed. The Game delivers in every aspect you can think of. Graphics: 10/10 the most beautiful game i have ever seen. The cutscenes are simply amazing and what suprised me the most is the Best game I have ever played. I was sceptic at first because i never found the MGS games interesting enough to play then. Nevertheless I bought this the day after it had been released and i was overwhelmed. The Game delivers in every aspect you can think of. Graphics: 10/10 the most beautiful game i have ever seen. The cutscenes are simply amazing and what suprised me the most is the flawless transition from cutscenes to gameplay. There is almost no difference. This game is one of the few games who truly shows the potential of the PS3's superior hardware compared to the other consoles. Gameplay: 10/10 AMAZING gameplay. I was skeptical at first if the game could entertain me, because i never really liked the stealth-mode games. I was surprised to find out that you can play this game as a true action game if thats what you want. But what surprised me the most was that after having beaten the game the first time I actually found myself wanting to play it though again but this time as the game was meant to be played (stealth mode). This gives the game a totally different look and it works brilliantly. Controls: 10/10 nothing to complain about here. The controls are solid and work good both in stealth and action gameplay. Story: 10/10 nuff said. Expand
  81. Rasta
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    Truly awe inspiring, jaw dropping and nothing but greatness spews from this game... I was always a fan of MGS, ever since its PS1 debut, but after playing MGS3, I was a bit disappointed so when MGS4 was coming out on the PS3 leading up to the release, I wasn't as hyped as I was with GTA4... As soon as I got word, and had my go at it, I knew I was truly underestimating this game... Truly awe inspiring, jaw dropping and nothing but greatness spews from this game... I was always a fan of MGS, ever since its PS1 debut, but after playing MGS3, I was a bit disappointed so when MGS4 was coming out on the PS3 leading up to the release, I wasn't as hyped as I was with GTA4... As soon as I got word, and had my go at it, I knew I was truly underestimating this game... with MGS4, it really takes the whole series to another level, even if you weren't a fan this game. You will love it, I mean the action, the freedom to choose how you want to play, the mechanics... everything that this game does truly churns out an epic experience. It really makes you want to play it over and over, I don't really feel this way with most games, if any (except for maybe GTA, even though I might not play through all the missions, I still continually play the series) This current iteration is like playing MGS on the PS1, in the sense that you are playing for the first time something of a revolutionary game... only I'd say 1000X better.... Even over GTA4 (being a hardcore GTA fan) I would say MGS4 should be considered GOTY, if not GOTC or even GOAT (Greatest Of All Time)... Def would of never considered such a notion before its release, but after playing it I have fallen for this game... big time. Expand
  82. AndréB.
    Jun 28, 2008
    10
    This game is a perfect closure for the MGS Saga. The story is perfectly driven by videos less than by codec, which is great. Maybe that's why it only fits in Blu-ray. The game has an awesome but not easy gameplay. Problems: The first briefings are kinda boring.
  83. JeremyD.
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    Best game I have ever played. Controls are better than on any platform on any game ever. This is ridiculously great!
  84. aaronl.
    Jul 11, 2008
    10
    if you are borderline intelligent, able to understand storyline that exceeds "aliens are invading therefore i shall shoot them all up and save the world, then shoot them all up in their mothership to save the universe", and is looking for a game that finally isnt just another clone of another game. then this is for you. from gameplay, graphics, story, storytelling, outright ridiculous if you are borderline intelligent, able to understand storyline that exceeds "aliens are invading therefore i shall shoot them all up and save the world, then shoot them all up in their mothership to save the universe", and is looking for a game that finally isnt just another clone of another game. then this is for you. from gameplay, graphics, story, storytelling, outright ridiculous features (oil drum? playboy?) and stunning details, this game is perfect for many of us out here that are increasingly getting bored of the same old format of the new shooter games. i was never a fan of the MSG series, but this game and its captivating story and atmosphere has turned me into one. the longwinded cutscenes seem to be a let-down for many people out there, but i enjoyed every second of it, dialogues are somewhat cheesy and sometimes funny (when it's not suppose to be), but i guess that's all part of the experience, and some of the scenes are so well made it felt like i was watching a movie. Expand
  85. SolidSnake
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    after 10 years of waiting,its worth it.... to those dimwits whinging about something in this game,i dont give a damn bout what u say,just play the game and try to keep ur mouth shut! all i can say is....for an MGS fan who waited a deacade, this is not just a game to us...
  86. JackC.
    Jul 14, 2008
    10
    Great final battle is epic,great game . This fight is everything for the ones that follow metal Gear Series umbeliaveble scenes the expressions of Old snake and (Ocelot) take at the the gam experience at the limit Sony PS3 Rulez.
  87. JosephA.
    Jul 16, 2008
    8
    After playing through this game twice, the swan song of the MGS series is a good tune, but hardly one of perfection. My main complaint is along with many others, the cutscenes. While yes, this is a Kojima game and cut scenes are almost inseparable to the series, he went overboard with them, not only are they too long and contrived at times to make sense to beginners (The proposed After playing through this game twice, the swan song of the MGS series is a good tune, but hardly one of perfection. My main complaint is along with many others, the cutscenes. While yes, this is a Kojima game and cut scenes are almost inseparable to the series, he went overboard with them, not only are they too long and contrived at times to make sense to beginners (The proposed flashbacks, are at best, a quick Drebin point maker.) but the way the game pulls it off at certain element, hokey and melodramatic to the extreme, eschewing drama for the sake of characters, more often than not making a quick patch up to a plot point in order to get it done. The secondary reason is for anyone shooting for a higher metal or ranking in game will realize, there is very little gameplay to speak of in relativity. When twenty hours of cumulative time consist of fifteen hours of watching a bastard-mix between Hollywood's and post-modernism's worst traits, and five hours of superb gameplay. Despite my heavy hand on the story, the gameplay is as mentioned, great. While the camera could use some work, it is for the most part, unobtrusive and functioning. The stealth elements are still intact form previous games, with a reworking of the camo system to be more efficient. (And for those of you who like me, couldn't sneak past blind, deaf, and dumb people, the shooting is much more relaxed.) Along with a superb first and second sections, it would be worth the experience by itself. The problem lies with a lack of effort on the level designers part for the next three chapters. While the third isn't as realized as the others, the elements of a decent level are in place but not elongated enough. The forth level (Shadow Moses) is proof positive that they were making up excuses to not delivering their work. While the level in and of itself is a nice throwback, if it wern't for the history behind it I would scoff it off as a pathetic attempt at game design. All in all, the "game" itself is accomplished, but lack some finesse that comes with more work. (NOT ON CUTSCENES, though they could use some work too.) Along with a semi-slow paced shooter MGO, this is a great buy, but only if you either enjoy the series to death, or don't care for story as to skip most of it. Expand
  88. EricZ
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    A magnificent game with a truly deep emotional attachment. Don't miss it.
  89. ChristianB.
    Jul 27, 2008
    10
    MGS4 is an amazing game. The story line is crazy, the cut scenes are great but you want them to be shorter. But once you play, you can't put it down. Customising your weapons to take out the next soldier means you can even go through the single player game again and again using different tactics. Glorious graphics, fantastic sound, faultless gameplay. THE best game of this generation MGS4 is an amazing game. The story line is crazy, the cut scenes are great but you want them to be shorter. But once you play, you can't put it down. Customising your weapons to take out the next soldier means you can even go through the single player game again and again using different tactics. Glorious graphics, fantastic sound, faultless gameplay. THE best game of this generation and the game to put the PS3 back on the map. Hey, I even sold my 360 to buy this and a PS3!! Expand
  90. KevinL.
    Jul 28, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. Story line is well-interwoven into the game play, and many of the cut scenes pay homage to quite a few action movies. Multiple threads to approach the game, such that you can go back and play it differently. Definitely one of the best games of all-time and a must for PS3 owners.
  91. ChrisG.
    Jul 29, 2008
    10
    Single player campaign is perhaps the best I've ever played, as long as you enjoy a deep storyline and long, cinematic quality cut scenes (I do). Still ,plenty of actual gameplay to get you through and you can approach it any way you like, from run-n-gun to all out sneak. Tons of easter eggs and level-ups. Solid replay value. Metal Gear Online (multiplayer) is very good, as well. Single player campaign is perhaps the best I've ever played, as long as you enjoy a deep storyline and long, cinematic quality cut scenes (I do). Still ,plenty of actual gameplay to get you through and you can approach it any way you like, from run-n-gun to all out sneak. Tons of easter eggs and level-ups. Solid replay value. Metal Gear Online (multiplayer) is very good, as well. Though it may not quite rank with the top PS3 online experiences (e.g. COD4), it does have it's merits and offers a slew of level-ups to keep you going. Expand
  92. ChristianH.
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing. From the graphics to gameplay. Long stylish cutscenes replace long boring codec calls, and the boss fights are amazingly fun. A complaint I have about this game is that it's so damn short! Most of it was movie and not gameplay, but it's all good when it comes to MGO, and being able to get the big boss emblem should give you a trophy. The normal mode is This game is amazing. From the graphics to gameplay. Long stylish cutscenes replace long boring codec calls, and the boss fights are amazingly fun. A complaint I have about this game is that it's so damn short! Most of it was movie and not gameplay, but it's all good when it comes to MGO, and being able to get the big boss emblem should give you a trophy. The normal mode is easy, but new controls, awesome gameplay, and there is nothing about this game that is a major let down. Haters out there are just mad because they don't have a ps3 and have to stick with that piece of shit halo. Expand
  93. NickS.
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    I am truly addicted to this games style of game play. Instead of trying to shoot and kill people (which results in them out numbering and over powering you.) You are trying to sneak past them and, or take them out silently. The online portion of the game puts you up against millions of other stealthy assassins to test your skill.
  94. AlainG.
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    Best game I've gotten so far for my ps3 played it like 10 times which is rare for me to do trust me it is!!! Online is awesome one of the best i've played even though it needs some polishing and better maps.
  95. thebossman
    Sep 19, 2008
    9
    An excellent game, fitting of Solid Snakes last adventure, but it's hampered by far too many cut-scenes. If they were shorter, this would get a 10 from me.
  96. SuleimanM.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    What Hideo Kojima has done is too much to fathom, and he concluded my favorite video game series with such a conclusion that I feel like I'm in debt to him some how. To type how phenomenal this game is would take over ten pages, one page for each mark, so I'm going to keep it short, a legendary ending for a legendary soldier, and a legendary ending for a legendary series. Best What Hideo Kojima has done is too much to fathom, and he concluded my favorite video game series with such a conclusion that I feel like I'm in debt to him some how. To type how phenomenal this game is would take over ten pages, one page for each mark, so I'm going to keep it short, a legendary ending for a legendary soldier, and a legendary ending for a legendary series. Best game I've ever played and my pick for game of the year. Thank you Solid Snake for the years of entertainment you've provided me with, and most of all thank you Hideo, when your game can bring me to tears by the end of it, you know it means something, Thank you Hideo, Thank you. Expand
  97. SahilD
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    One Word: MASTERPIECE. Metal Gear Solid 4 is the true definition of a gaming masterpiece. Boasting unmatched graphics, brilliant gameplay and an amazing score MGS 4 deserves all the perferct scores it receives. Still dont know why everyone makes such an issue of the cutscenes. In my opinion the deep story of the Metal Gear franchise made them a necessity, and anyway they're immensely One Word: MASTERPIECE. Metal Gear Solid 4 is the true definition of a gaming masterpiece. Boasting unmatched graphics, brilliant gameplay and an amazing score MGS 4 deserves all the perferct scores it receives. Still dont know why everyone makes such an issue of the cutscenes. In my opinion the deep story of the Metal Gear franchise made them a necessity, and anyway they're immensely enjoyable (remember Raiden Vs Vamp in South America - jaw-dropping!) A legendary sendoff to a legendary character by a legendary designer. WE SALUTE YOU SOLID SNAKE...u too Kojima-san. Expand
  98. anthonyv.
    Feb 24, 2009
    9
    This game was absolutely amazing. a true epic of story telling crafted a master at its best. and thats the problem. this was som much a game with an amazing story as a story with a side of gameplay. the fact that u could actually spend less time playing the game than watching it is a downturn for me and prevents this game frm receiving a perfect score. this story is far too in depth for This game was absolutely amazing. a true epic of story telling crafted a master at its best. and thats the problem. this was som much a game with an amazing story as a story with a side of gameplay. the fact that u could actually spend less time playing the game than watching it is a downturn for me and prevents this game frm receiving a perfect score. this story is far too in depth for the limited gameply. the graphics are stellar and the voice acting is perfect. this is a modern classic for sure but could do with lengthier gaming segments. it makes you feel a little cheated that you didnt get to control more of this amazing game and were actuall relegated to be a spectator for the most part. still this game impresses with the parts you do get to play. with literally dozens of on screen soldiers and robots all simultaneously performing detailed action this is a technical marvel as well. but still the gamer in me wants more. Expand
  99. AnonymousMC
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    The best game i have ever played!!! For all of those people out there bashing this game for the cutscenes, you're an idiot who doesn't know how to skip them, and don't understand the greatness of the story. I have played all of the metal gears, (yes the 8 bit ones) and i think this game is the best one yet!
  100. IamF
    Apr 13, 2009
    10
    This is the greatest of all tactical, action, 3rd person shooter-, simply the greatest game! The game's visuals, prfound plot and characters, sounds, and most of all cutscenes, distingiush this game as one of the greatest. This game leaves fans waiting for more and hungry for more of Hideo Kojima's ingenuity.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    100
    Guns of the Patriots is almost intimidating in the consistent quality of its ideas, invention, and execution...Even by the series' stratospheric standards, MGS4 is a remarkable high point. [June 2008]
  2. 99
    If you've ever loved any one of the Metal Gear games, or any moments from the series, there will come a moment when MGS 4 will send your spirits soaring. If you've loved them all, well then there'll be many, many more. It’s a masterpiece.
  3. Guns of the Patriots is a frustrating, fractured game that turns Metal Gear Solid's world upside down several times over, but never changes it.